Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Dorset B&B and inn reviews
  4. Bournemouth B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of The Strand Hotel

Reviews of The Strand Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

19 Westby Road, Bournemouth, BH5 1HA, United Kingdom

#16 of 49 B&Bs and inns in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 548 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    Ten out of Ten
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! It turned out to be everything that we needed. We were visiting overnight for a show. The information within the room was extremely helpful and we enjoyed a great meal at a local bar.

    A warm greeting, clean rooms and toiletries, towels and slippers. Ideal location for the beach and BIC. Parking outside. Extremely helpful staff and a quiet location. The breakfast choices were superb as was the cooked breakfast. A real little gem.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Great little hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Rowan was friendly courteous and helpful. The room was clean comfortable and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent and my need for an early start was readily met.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.5
    Good, if on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The creaky floor boards. Parking in the area wasn't great. You really have to get there early if you expect a space. Having to share a bathroom but I guess that is reflected in the price.

    Location & price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    8.8
    Friendly efficient staff, really big airy bedroom with ample...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is restricted parking, due the location, but the manager was very helpful in securing an off road slot.

    Friendly efficient staff, really big airy bedroom with ample sized bathroom with excellent shower. No fuss breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    9.6
    One Night in Bournemouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and comfortable room. We had a king room with on-suite bath. Room and bath were a good size. Nice garden area in back. The TV lounge is nicely and comfortably furnished. Our room was overlooking the garden and very quiet. Staff was very nice. English breakfast was tasty. Short walk to Boscombe Beach and Pier.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    8.3
    Nice cottage feel hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice cottage feel hotel. Friendly. Well located; we were going to the 02 arena, which was a 5 min walk away. 6 free parking spaces outside. There was one available when we arrived.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    The staff were brilliant as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff were brilliant as usual. The location spot on. Room was very clean. Stayed here twice and already booked twice for next year. Thanks to Karl and his staff for a wonderful stay. See you next year.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly happy with my stay and will stay again when I return to Bournemouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room furniture was dated dark wood, like your gran would have, but was perfectly functional.

    Free parking for 6 cars outside the property was an unexpected bonus. The breakfast was a good cooked offering and plenty of choice of cereals, etc. This was good, solid bed and breakfast fair that was will worth the price. The room was comfortable and the en-suite was clean and adequate for my needs. Slippers and fluffy white towels were an added bonus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely little place to stay, would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can hear other occupants through the walls, especially when the shower was in use, but everyone seemed quite respectful! Would prefer some nicer coffee than instant.

    Felt very safe and cosy as someone staying alone. The breakfast was such good value, lovely full English and so many cereals to choose from!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.5
    Adequate hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was extremely hard. I had the worst night's sleep ever. Breakfast was good but we were told we would have to wait as they were cooking for the adjoining property first. I had to ask for extra water for the kettle, butter for the toast, juice to be refilled. Having said that, there was plenty of choice.

    Staff were very hospitable. The bathroom in our room was lovely, and spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a great location too!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely sunny weekend and just stayed overnight so was hood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed updating a bit . Had to park in car park one road away £5 for 24h so not bad . On a road but I slept OK but not partner

    Welcoming . Nice breakfast . Clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, friendly, and immaculately clean. What more can be asked for?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not fault my brief stay in any way. Though I could find no one to play table tennis with on the table in the cute back garden!

    Very pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and helpfulness of all those at the hotel. Immaculately clean and nicely appointed room (I also had a peek at other rooms). The breakfast was a joy and kept me going all day. Next time I am in the area, this will be the place for my family and me.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only thing I wasn't so keen on was the sausage at breakfast ! But as I wasn't even expecting breakfast It's not even a complaint ! Everything else was perfectly cooked and I'm really fussy about my scrambled egg.

    Really friendly welcome , room was small but had everything I needed , bathroom was a decent size and nice hot shower. Bed was super comfy. Breakfast was fab as well. I know where to stay if I'm down again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.1
    Cold atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have shared bathrooms, and unfortunately the number of bathrooms is limited. So it can happen that you find the bathrooms occupied several times. The location was not ideal for us, downtown Bournemouth is a very long walk (back we took a taxi). The beachside is nice, the suburb in which the guesthouse is located woud be as well, but everything closes very early. For a B&B the atmosphere is cold, we even didn't get a 'good morning' when the staff entered the breakfast room. The house is full of CCTV and we saw that in the backoffice those could be observed on TV screens.

    The rooms were nice and quiet, everything very clean. The staff was friendly (buld not really communicative), Karl even speaks German. Free parking lots in front of the Guesthouse. Little garden with a table and chairs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely little seaside hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disliked nothing about the Hotel, but the Boscombe shopping area is very run down & we didn't feel safe outside at night. Such a shame as the hotel deserves better.

    Very clean, very tidy, nice little room. Lots of information provided about our stay & the area in the room. Breakfast was good. Close enough for a short walk to the beach. Owner very kindly posted my dresses back to me after I left them behind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    10
    Proprietor very friendly and welcoming, very clean excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Proprietor very friendly and welcoming, very clean excellent breakfast with plenty of choice including 'Free-from' alternatives. overall a very pleasant stay, I would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant for couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bigger room and close together rather then being across the whole floor.

    Breakfast was excellent . One of our rooms was a bit on a smaller side for double but ok for couplr of nights. Staff was friendly and helpful .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much parking available lucky if you get a space. Didn't like the shared bathroom between at least 5 rooms. Bed a little uncomfortable so neither of us slept very well.

    Very good location handy for restaurants and beach. Very good breakfast in morning and felt all staff very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    8.8
    This is a lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price was a bit high for a room with a shared bathroom.

    This is a lovely hotel! The owner and some of the staff are really friendly and Very accommodating of any requests we had. The hotel is quaint and just like you'd imagine a b&b to be in a beach town. The breakfast is good. The hotel is fairly close to the beach...about a ten minute walk. We loved it and are already making plans to stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    10
    The staff were friendly and courteous at all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were friendly and courteous at all times. The food was freshly cooked and excellent, the room was comfortable and clean as was the showers and toilets.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    7.5
    Great Bed and Breakfast for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room 5 probably the smallest room I've ever stayed in. Comfortable and clean for one night but I would not have wanted to stay longer

    Great location , clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.6
    Warm hearted and homely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were extremely friendly and very attentive. They couldn’t have been more welcoming. The facilities were great and the hotel is really good value for money. It’s right near the beautiful coastline and not too far from Bournemouth town centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    Very good value
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good provision of information. Nice and quiet. Comfy bed. Room cheaper as not en suite, but did have wash basin (also separate toilet was right next to my room - v handy). Excellent freshly cooked full English breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    7.9
    Owner very helpful and pleasant very comfortable room and value for money
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem i had was finding the Strand I should have got a taxi but as i am a walking fanatic I wanted to walk but The Strand was in Boscombe and not Bournemouth, there are two piers and two beeches which made it difficult to find everyone i asked sent me a different way .

    Room very comfortable and very clean Breakfast excellent I was only there one night for a meeting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    10
    The bed was incredibly comfortable and we had a great sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a small point, and it is really small but the only way to fill the kettle was using the tea cup filling it from the tap then tipping it in the kettle. Just found that a bit awkward. Otherwise everything was excellent.

    The bed was incredibly comfortable and we had a great sleep. Parking was good too, 6 spaces in front of the hotel but if they were full you could park free on the streets. The rooms was lovely and clean and nice toiletries available. Location was good. The staff menwber Rowan was really friendly! Would Defo stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.2
    It is a reasonable distance from the beach, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a reasonable distance from the beach, friendly staff, good full English breakfast. Having one bathroom shared on each floor was not as bad as I thought it would be. Good for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.6
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is very good, it is not free as stated by some reviews. Hotel is very close to a sandy beach that is more peaceful than the main Bournemouth beach. It is also very close to a small shopping centre. Staff are very polite and accomodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.9
    It has the very homely feel offering the basic but of high...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s the peak of Summer when we stayed for over night, and since the property has no AC, daytime seemed to be too hot. A small fan was provided in the room. Being a Victorian property, you hear squeaky noises when somebody walks up and about in our floor area. The bathroom is well ventilated but perhaps fitting in an exhaust fan will be beneficial.

    It has the very homely feel offering the basic but of high standard of sharing the bathroom, lounge, dining area and outside garden. Everyone who have checked in at the time of our stay were very nice people respecting each other’s privacy especially in sharing the bathroom. Me and my husband really enjoyed the free full breakfast👌 cooked by a good chef and definitely you will enjoy it too! The whole property was well kept, clean, smells good and nicely decorated. So comfortable and relaxing sitting outside the garden by the pond and inside the lounge. The bedroom was quite tiny but the small sink by the window is a bonus. I liked this idea as I always wanted to have an easy access to water especially for hand washing. The room may be small but has the space for two with small luggage. You get two sets of keys during your stay, one for bedroom and the other for the main door downstairs. Staffs seemed to be very busy all the time but will be there to assist for anything and they are so polite, and helpful. Rowan, was on duty when we checked in and he has welcomed us warmly with gentle smile and clearly explained all the house rules and where to park free in case all spaces from front of the property are all occupied. Thank you so much guys! Keep up the good work. If you get hypo and needed to boost your sugar a little bit after a long drive, there’s a bowl of sweets at the mini reception area on your left as you enter. The beautiful beach is quite closed to the property, you can either drive there or walk which probably may take you 15-20 mins. We were granted a room on the roof top as requested which offers a nice view of the back garden and that even in the evening it’s the calming and soothing cold breeze made us sleep through the night. The property and few other small hotels lies in a quiet residential area with easy access to a local shop from the main road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    A friendly homely place with the best cooked breakfast around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of any thing

    We stayed at the strand for two nights. The room was pretty, quaint and comfortable. The staff were very kind and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. There is a breakfast room with lots of cereals, yogurts and jams. The cooked breakfast was amazing. Really good quality and cooked to perfection. There is a lounge with a widescreen tv and books and huge comfy sofas. There is a ptretty garden with a pond and gazebo with fairy lights. We sat outside one night talking to the other guests staying there. A very enjoyable stay at the strand. The beach is about a 5 Minuit walk away and has the most golden soft sand and stretches for miles. We walked to Bournemough pier (1.5miles away) there is a quaint land train that takes you all round the centre if you didn't want to walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Strand was Brand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good hotel,great location,freindly staff,clean room,quiet had a lovely stay,defeiinetly return again.nice

    Nice garden,parking at hotel,every thing about are stay at the strand was exellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    I was pleasantly surprised: clean, quiet, comfortable, good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small but comfy and very clean and the staff were lovely. The shared bathroom was also perfectly clean. I didn't have time for breakfast, but it smelled nice! Excellent for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.8
    great location at a reasonable price, huge breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 8 nights

    liked it all

    Great location, just a few minutes walk to Boscombe shopping precinct and 10 minutes walk to Boscombe pier. I had a single room with a comfortable bed, TV, tea/coffee making facilities, cleaned daily. breakfast was full English each day with help yourself cereal, toast, fruit etc. A nice touch was a bowl of sweets in the hallway which you could help yourself when going or coming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    A unexpectedly good stay at the Strand Hotel.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the hotel was unable to give us a room wit a walk-in-shower, which as I have a mobility problem was a pity. Also the property further out of town than we usually go for. However, in view of everything else, because we had the car it didn't matter. Outside the property needs some upkeep.

    The room was lovely and we were even provided with a DVD player. A DVD selection was provided in the lounge/breakfast area. The bathroom had a bidet; not usually found in properties of this level. The breakfast was exceptional. Plenty of selection in the way of cereals, even gluten-free selection. We stayed two nights and so had 2 breakfasts. Something I finished off one morning was replaced by the next day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    What a Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved my quirky single room. Just perfect for the solo traveller & great value for money. The dining room offers a huge breakfast cereal selection plus fruit, toast and yoghurt. Recommend the full English breakfast. There is a very comfortable lounge and garden just off the dining room. I will spend more time in the lounge & garden during my next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was the first time We stayed at this place, when we arrived we were greeted by the owner Carl who was friendly and helpfully from the start. The room was excellent, the bed was comfortable and just a pleasant place to be in. In the morning they cooked us a lovely fresh breakfast. If you’re planning on visiting Bournemouth I couldn’t recommend this place enough..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    6.3
    Not as hoped
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very tiny and narrow family room which made logistics with a child difficult. The bathroom was communal and the door handle stiff and noise which in the night was a problem creating a significant amount of noise

    Location. Only 7min from the sea front

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.0
    Good enough for a overnight stay/ only need to tell us the rules once we are respectful people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I knew it was shared facilities so did not like that but my own fault for leaving to find somewhere so quick but that worked out ok except for the fact we was next to bathroom and had a lot of noise from others using the bathroom though the night also my wife is registered disabled and our room was the very top of house so she did not cope with the stairs very well plus the walk back was very uphill so it was taxis as the little train stopped at 17.00hrs The Cat screamed on heat all night in garden under our room we have cats ourself so i knew the noise . Also I mean this in the nicest way try to be a little less formal when booking guests in we was told about smoking in the room about 5 times although i did not smoke my husband was told the smoking rules over and over before we was given room key and he felt a bit like he was being warned and not told to the point where we was told to be careful using the kettle spraying hairspray using decordrant all would set off fire alarm we almost stood to attention when we got key. And last did not like the kettle being filled with water as did not know how long water had been there and there was no drinking water upstairs so we went and got bottled water ourselves might be nice to put a bottle of water in each room as can be bought for as little as 20p in main supermarkets and would be a nice touch

    The breakfast was very nice but felt rushed was making my tea when waitress asked me what i wanted and i asked for 2mins to make my tea so i could sit at table and look at menu with in 5 mins two other people asked me what i wanted so did not realise the choice was only a half brealfast or a full found this a bit embrasssing as the 3rd time the waitress asked a different table and they pointed at us as the people tht had not give our order perhaps it would be a idea to put the choice in room so we know what to order as the waitress,s seemed very eager for me to choose quickly. But on a good note the owner was very helpful as we got lost in bournemouth so we rang hotel and he kindly directed us on how to get back . Walking distance to shops 10 min walk downhill to boscombe pier but could get the little train for £5.50 return or bus to bournemouth from high street. B and B was good for overnight stay but not suitable for us due to my wifes mobilty problems we would not have booked if we had known we would be on top floor but will put this down to us not asking but feel we could have been told has we rang the night before going to ask about disabled parking in area if we could not get parking at hotel but again our own fault for leaving so late to book

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    8.8
    We stayed here because my wife and I were going to the O2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little uncomfortable.

    We stayed here because my wife and I were going to the O2 Academy which was less than a 5 minute walk away. We enjoyed Breakfast the next day, and then walked to the beach which was only 10 minutes away. The host was really friendly (but professional) and very informative. If you stay here I highly recommend grabbing a drink and food at Chaplin's & The Cellar Bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.3
    For a cheap hotel, the place was very comfortable and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    For a cheap hotel, the place was very comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful, freshly cooked and superb. Good selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruits etc...would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    everything was perfect and at a great prices!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was perfect and at a great prices! only thing is the hotel only has 3 car park spaces but lots of parking close by but during week you may have to pay.. we were ok as stayed on a sunday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    9.2
    Fab B&B with great access to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of on-site parking, which you'd expect as it's in a residential area (not a large scale hotel). Easy enough to find a space to park on nearby streets (free).

    Great location, short walking distance to the Boscombe Pier (beach). Plenty of restaurants nearby. Room and shared bathroom were very clean. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely little place close to the action
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't like the shared bathroom but that's personal preference really, not the hotels fault.

    The garden was absolutely lovely. The location was perfect for the short town centre break we had there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Value for money. Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sky TV was not working properly and we couldn't watch TV at all. We stayed one night so I didn't bother asking to fix it. I gave them feedback though during the check out in order to take care of it for the next customer. Very few parking spaces.

    Nice breakfast, nice area, close to the beach, friendly staff, clean, spacious room,quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    I am stayed for one night because of the Coach came at Boscombe after 08.00am,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I prefer Room No 5 than Room No 2 !!! but I am not really fussy because only for one night,

    I like your Hotel very much because of Lounge is my favourite room, very comfortable to sit with nice decoration and nice tidy garden, Good layout for my Buffet Breakfast and pleasant Staff, I like the plan of Dining Room, Hallway with stairways,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    We had a very enjoyable stay and were made very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we had a problem with the single bed, but as it was beneath the window we suspect people had stood on it to adjust the windows and blinds.

    The cooked breakfast was excellent. The staff were very helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    10
    Little gem close to the O2 Academy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom and bathroom were much bigger than expected, very clean and slept really well on the bed. There is a great little garden at the back which really catches the sun, and if you're lucky you might see the cats Ginger and Flash out there lounging in the sun. Although we didn't have breakfast as we were up and out before 8am, the other guests we spoke to rated it highly. Quiet street. We attended an event in the O2 academy - only 5 minutes walk to the venue so an excellent location. Just over 10 mins walk from Pokesdown train station. Will definitely stay in this little gem again if we are heading to something in the O2.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable and I felt I was at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our host Rowan was so helpful, and the breakfast was great. The hotel was spotlessly clean and there were fresh flowers in our room and in the dining and lounge. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.3
    You will not get better value for money than the Strand Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In high season you may not get a car space in front of the hotel and will have to park in a marked bay on the road but at least they are free and with no time restrictions. Room layout could be a bit better . We thought that it was a bit cluttered . Get rid of the glass topped table , fix the TV on the wall then get rid of one of the sets of drawers

    very clean establishment. over 20 choices of breakfast cereal and a very good cooked breakfast. nice warm room and good shower. Plenty of cupboard space - maybe too much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable stay, will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really apart from parking near to the property which could be a problem in the summer months when it's busy. My partner is disabled and one night we had to park the car down the road from the hotel; there were no spaces on the forecourt.

    We were made to feel very welcome and felt at home. Lovely staff severed an excellent breakfast; there was a choice of large or half size cooked breakfast as well as a huge selection of cereals. There were a selection of gluten free cereals as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    9.6
    Entirely happy with the hotel.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Globe was appalling. I do'nt want to relive the ghastly experience, suffice it to say I was ignored when I entered the building and then ignored after placing my order. I will not be returning.

    Entirely happy with the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    8.8
    Our room came with one double bed and one single bed, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi isn't particularly good when trying to access it using a laptop. Works fine on mobile devices though!

    Our room came with one double bed and one single bed, which was a bonus since I was travelling with a friend. Room size exceeded expectations, beds were comfortable, shared shower and toilet was always very clean and available when we wanted to use them. Amenities were good, and most of the staff members were friendly and efficient. There was a great range of cereals, spreads and drinks for the breakfast buffet, cooked buffet was good too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    10
    Would definitely go back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress had seen better days, bit saggy with age.

    Tastefully decorated, spacious, comfortable room. Friendly staff. Quiet. Managed to park outside the front door! Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    10
    Excellent Bed and Breakfast, Brilliant Breakfast and wonderful friendly Staff, would stay here again
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Brilliant B&B, Room was lovely and clean, en-suite was small but functional, Excellent Breakfast, Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Room was Lovely and Clean, a little too much furniture in the room, Blinds could do with a dust? and one window didn't seem to close shut properly which caused a draft.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Lovely stay, good location, helpful & friendly staff, lovely breakfast - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleased with stay at The Strand - good location, friendly & helpful staff, comfortable room, good amenities, lovely breakfast - could not have asked for more. Will definitely be coming back and wouldn't hesitate in recommending. Very happy!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    9.6
    Welcoming, friendly & very clean. Would recommend.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't a big deal really but we were not too keen on the shared bathroom facilities. However, everything else made up for it, especially when their beautiful cat, Flash, paid us a visit in the lounge!

    The cooked breakfast was excellent, plenty of it and good and hot. We were amazed at the choice of cereals on offer & as many hot drinks as we wanted was a bonus. The hotel was spotlessly clean & the proprietors were extremely welcoming & friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay for someone who is travelling for business and mainly just wants a place to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was warm with a radiator but the corridors and other areas outside of the room were a bit cold in the morning. The bed was a bit short in length.

    Staff were all friendly and helpful. The place was really clean. On my floor there was an extra toilet in addition to the shared bathroom/toilet. Breakfast was great - the normal times for hot breakfast were 8-10am. I required breakfast earlier on one of the days and they accommodated earlier breakfast for me at 7am. I strongly recommend they consider serving hot breakfast from 7am by default as it suits those that have to be elsewhere early in the morning or early birds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    8.8
    Attention to detail was first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old building with creaky pipes.

    Attention to detail was first class. Received an email with sat nav directions and parking places a few days before visit. Fantastic breakfast with a wider choice of cereal than any supermarket.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    Loved staying at the strand, was very welcoming and definitely worth the money.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a little uncomfortable and lumpy so had broken sleep

    Staff were very welcoming, very close to the o2 academy, room was very cosy, bathrooms were very clean and to a good standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    This hotel is great value and the perfect location if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I disliked about this hotel.

    This hotel is great value and the perfect location if you are going to a gig at the 02, just a few minutes away. The bed was really comfortable and the hotel on a quiet street. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    7.9
    The purpose of my trip was to see a show at the O2 Academy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bit more rigid than is preferable. From my room, I could hear a loud noise every now and then that sounded like a mini waterfall. It was either the toilet next to me or the toilet in the hotel next door. Take some headphones and you'll be fine.

    The purpose of my trip was to see a show at the O2 Academy, which is on the main street. This hotel is just round the corner. The hotel's street is very quiet with little to no traffic outside. I turned up quite late at night but was still greeted and treated very kindly by Rowan. I also got a key that could fit in my pocket. So that's a good thing. Some hotels haven't learned that yet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    I would like raccomend this place for couples, because is really nice and calm place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was brilliant, consist of real english breakfast and also we could choose from many types of cereals, drinks, marmelate, and others. Staff was very friendly and so carefull. Our room was cleaning every day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Great value for money, clean comfortable and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed here as we were going to watch a band at the O2, which was a few minutes walk from the hotel. The room we stayed in was large with a king bed and ensuite bathroom. It was very clean and comfortable with plenty of amenities. The breakfast was outstanding. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.2
    Warm welcome and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy neighbours

    Breakfast selection was excellent. Freshly cooked Full English, and so many cereals to choose from. Juice, toast and plenty of tea and coffee

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    5.4
    Clean, adequate accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wardrobe needs to be repositioned so one can use it and the heating could be better.

    The dining and lounge areas were very nice. Big choice of breakfasts. Nice garden (with a fish pond) where one could smoke if they liked. My requirement for soya milk was met. The room was small but adequate. The wardrobe door opened awkwardly in that the opening was on the wall side and therefore difficult to access. I was cold at night but did not mention it at checkout as the owner was nowhere to be found.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    8.3
    Comfy, cheap night away. Perfect If your going to the O2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Boscombe isn’t a great area but it is still walking distance to Bournemouth.

    Really comfy and tidy for the price, no issue with the shared bathroo. Great place if you are attending the Opera House

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    9.2
    had a wonderful week and am already planning to go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    excellent breakfast. great location. 3 minutes walk to the beach and even less to the main street. nice and helpful staff. loved the garden at the back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    10
    Pleasantly surprised by this lovely homely B & B. Comfortable with lovely touches.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot fault this place!

    We were made to feel very welcome on arrival. Comfortable accommodation with lovely touches. Enjoyed the lounge and playing table tennis in the garden. The breakfast was wonderful. I cannot believe what good value this place is. When booking I was unsure as to the shared bathrooms but there was not need to be as they were immaculate. We will stay here again if we have need to be in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    9.6
    No major complaints, parking minimal, smokers would have liked a shelter. We will be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For those that smoked, a shelter would have been appropriate

    Value for money all accross the board All our party had an excellent stay with abdolutely no issues.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.2
    excellent value for money, great location, staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can offer no negative thoughts about our stay, it was all good

    excellent cooked breakfast plus loads of serial choices and juices, fresh coffee etc service was very good, they even let me leave my car on driveway after checking out so we could pop into Bournemouth for a few hours

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    10
    Fab size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All great

    Fab size room..loved the little touches basket with slippers and a great host who made us more than welcome....would have loved to have stayed for breakfast but had early morning ferry to catch

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    10
    Lovely, cosy room in a charming house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't keen on parking down the road with all our luggage but that was the only downside

    Lovely, cosy room in a charming house! Very nice and helpful staff. Will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, helpful staff. Very clean. Fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking isn't that great.

    Great location for Bournemouth central area. Quiet neighborhood and freshly cooked breakfast in the morning was wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    9.6
    Great location near the beach - excellent hotel with comfy rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Nice double room with comfortable bed. Clean throughout the hotel. Excellent hot cooked breakfast. Great value for money, would visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Lovely room, great breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room, great breakfast and friendly staff. Walking distance from Pokesdown train station and a 30 minute stroll along the beach to Bournemouth town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    A great value homely hotel less than 5 minutes walk from centre is Boscombe and O2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was a little cool in the evening but for the price I'm not going to complain because was warm again by the morning.

    The hotel was spotlessly clean including my room. My room had premium quality complimentary soaps for a shower with soft towels with also tea and coffee with kettle along with tv. The bed was very comfortable and in the morning breakfast was very good with a full cooked breakfast and a choice of premium brand cereals or toast and jam. The hotel manager was very friendly and welcoming and explained everything on arrival,also asked if I had enjoyed my stay on departure.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: