Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sumner Hotel 4 stars

54 Upper Berkeley Street, Westminster Borough, London, W1H 7QR, United Kingdom

#298 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 718 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn’t look very welcoming from the street. Doesn’t even look like a hotel.

    Really nice breakfast and quite a varied choice. Very quiet and comfortable. Nice part of town and really handy. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was bad experience with no one to help with luggage for intl passangers and rooms were extremely small and non airy Bathroom very dirty and leaking No one to help despite many calls

    It was bad experience with no one to help with luggage for intl passangers and rooms were extremely small and non airy Bathroom very dirty and leaking No one to help despite many calls

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was below the main entrance so heard every footstep in and out maybe have a rug or carpet to lessen the noise. No kettle in the room although hot drinks were available on request and delivered to you room.

    Room was very spacious and the staff were friendly and helpful especially the night staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff are fab ! , the bed was a good size bed, but mattress wasnt the greatest. nice space for bedrooms, bathroom very clean. breakfast was good , would recommed to friends

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be nice to have tea and coffee in the room. The public areas were light and cheery. The room was a little tired; for example the floor tiles in the en-suite were cracked and loose.

    Very comfy bed. Excellent breakfast. Lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing executive about the room we stayed in. The room location, the bathroom and the smell. Just a few things .. we didn’t like. Being assigned a lower ground room is the generally the reason our stay was negative. Probably would of been different if we had stayed on a upper ground floor. Especially spending over $1000 for 3 nights I expected more from the facilities. Also .. house meeting keeping left our window open and we didn’t return till late at night, lucky nothing was missing. As our room is viewable by the sidewalk. All in all - not happy with our stay and we made a few complaints the first day we checked in and the staff handled it as best as they could .. but it wasn’t enough for the amount of money we spent.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were Met upon arrival with a receptionist without Any sort of experience on How to treat guests professionally. Therefore The firsthand impression were poor. The staff The remaining days were okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although breakfast was very good with a wide choice, the breakfast room was rather cramped.

    The staff were very helpful. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. Bathroom small, but also very clean and a good selection of toiletries, and a good hairdryer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception desk could have offered more information proactively.

    Location was superb. Loved small size of hotel. Liked that it included a simple, but more than adequate breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was roasting hot on arrival. Had to open all the windows.

    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Comfortable accommodation. Good Breakfast. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again if visiting London.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little uninspiring and the croissants were v dry. I would rate it as a romantic hotel apart from the breakfast and the soulless dining room.

    The room was extremely clean and spacious. The shower was great. The communal areas were extremely pleasant and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Fantastic location and very quiet considering how close to Marble Arch you are. Very lovely frontage to the hotel too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is in the basement, but they light it up well with fresh paintings. Otherwise, everything was up to expectations.

    The lobby was cozy and charming. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was basic but enough. The staff were helpful. Location was great, 5 min walk from Marble Arch Station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping staff was too loud early in the morning. Walls are paper-thin, it’s impossible to sleep if your neighbour is awake. The sink in the bathroom was congested and they couldn’t fix it in three days. (Yes, even the sink-blocker is removed completely)

    Excellent breakfast. Very good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not really anything that I didn't like, but I think that the breakfast was a little bit limited compared to other business-class hotels, for example there was no yoghurt and a choice of only 4 cooked items, but the quality was very good.

    Lovely residents lounge, and very comfortable bedroom. The property has been converted from a couple of traditional townhouses, so it has a bit of a quirky layout, which was a little bit confusing to start with, but for me this added to the charm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water wasn’t the best, until we asked one of the staff if it could be made hotter, with in a couple of hours it was.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - best value hotel for location.

    Gergana at reception was super friendly and efficient - 9 colleagues - 6 rooms and we all arrived at different times but all reported the same professional welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating on the bathroom did not work, and the heating at the bedroom was almost none. There were no power outlets near the bed.

    The staff at breakfast was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room view would be better at the street side, especially if your room is in the first floor.

    The surroundings of the hotel were very charming, little there are many nice restaurants in the neighbourhood. The staff in the hotel were nice and friendly. And the breakfast was versatile and tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean but a little dated compared to how modern the rest of the property was.

    Location was brilliant,just a short walk from Oxford Street,staff were really friendly and helpful,bed was comfortable and hotel was spotless,breakfast was fresh and there was a great choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room decor was a little tired but nevertheless clean. The milk and orange juice at breakfast were warm, whereas the croissants were cold - the wrong way round I think!

    The hotel is in a really good location, just off Marble Arch. The rooms were clean and the hotel staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked tea making facilities in room, however, tea and coffee was provided if requested at reception

    The friendliness and helpfulness of all staff would be a good example to all. The hotel was very clean and there was a good variety for breakfast which was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was leaking, making a constant noise at night. We mentioned it at the reception desk but no real effort was made to fix this. The beds are of average quality, matrasses need replacement

    The lobby has a nice feel and the service at the breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff behavior. Uncomftanle beds, maintenance, breakfast. This hotel is worse worse! Just agree with location! Stuff are tired and don’t care about anything!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 109 was cold and the bedroom area old fashioned; hardly a boutique hotel as advertised!

    No heating in the room apart from an old portable oil radiator which was barely adequate. I asked the staff to with fix the heating or provide another radiator, neither of which was done!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coldest weekend of year, heating room not working. Offered portable heater after third mention of no heating. Had to request extra bed clothes. Room very small

    Location excellent, hotel clean and tidy, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was out of service for most of our stay. Heating wasn’t working in our room so we ended up with a portable heater that my husband had to carry 4 floors up through the stairs himself, as staff didn’t.

    The room and the bathroom were clean and relatively spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room they showed us was cold, and felt as though it hadn't been heated for a while. There was an electric heater provided but that was because the radiators in the room did not come on when we tried them.

    It was served in a terrible basement room without any windows

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glow in dark fire safety sticker was a little off putting. Whilst tea and coffee was available via reception, it would have been nice to have this facility within our room.

    Receptionist was very helpful, and the location was good. It was quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasional loud traffic noise from the street, however it was not too bad, since traffic was not very busy on the Upper Berkeley Street during evenings and nights

    Location is excellent for those who would do shopping on Oxford Street. Staff was very helpful. English breakfast was good. Beds were excellent. Had a very good sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sign on the side of the door is hard to see from the street.

    The hotel was in a good central location with easy access to the Marble Arch tube gate. It is small and quiet. We had a room on the street (#109) but there is an extra layer of storm windows to block out more sound. We had rooms 109 and 110 with friends. The two rooms are on their own "half floor," so we saw other people only at breakfast. Breakfast was a good standard meal with a couple hot dishes, fruits, yogart, toast, croisants, coffee, tea, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked tea and coffee in the room. Came back from theatre and would have loved a cup of tea or coffee. It said these facilities were available if requested but at 10.30 pm if seemed a bit late and no one appeared to be around. Would consider taking own travel kettle if I stayed again as I liked the hotel.

    Ideal location. Clean. Great breakfast. Pleasant staff. Usually use large hotels when staying in London but decided to try a small hotel and would consider this choice again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our double bed was two singles attached together, and the thingy in the middle was very uncomfortable. The doors and walls are thin; if your neighbour isn't quiet, you'll wake in the middle of the night.

    Stayed in room 104. Small room. It faces the inner utility shaft, so no view, but awesome privacy. Pillows were nice, towels super fluffy, water was warm and with good pressure, sheets had a wonderful faint lavender scent, and stayed put all night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street until the early hours of the morning.

    It is extremely noisy from the Pub a few doors down. Would possibly be better to book a room at the back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the price that I was quoted online when I reserved the room was NOT the price that I was charged - I was actually charged almost 100lbs more than I was supposed to be - this is quite annoying and frankly it is NOT good value for what you obtain. for that price I would have booked a more up scale hotel. - small additional annoying issue - the pillows are massive but impossible to sleep on since they are foam - and do NOT give - so after the first night I had to make my own pillow from a towel and sweaters - the tea at breakfast was so weak it was horrible and the coffee tasted horrible - also my bathroom door jammed shut and I could not use it one morning - and had to leave and asked the hotel staff to repair it - good thing I was NOT locked inside.

    the staff were very nice - and very polite -

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was saggy, seemed worn out.

    We were delighted with the breakfast buffet, the warm and friendly staff members made genuine hot chocolate for my daughter upon request. Our top floor room faced the back and was very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nousy Room in the basement despite had requested as preference in the booking reservation an upper floor and quite room. Breakfast very poor with cheap industrial products

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Limited cupboard space,not enough for two people. The promised consigner service non existent. Could not get a knowledgeable answer to any question asked and even got a very misleading information

    The room comfortable with large comfortable bed. Bathroom modern and well equipped. Very good breakfast. Good location, (5 minutes walk from marble Arch underground station.)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    External traffic noise all night, breakfast was a plus but felt the serving area for multiple guests gets crowded.

    Excellent welcome, courteous staff, and very well located. Comfortable, spotless room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an excellent stay at The Sumner Hotel. Amazing location. Walking distance to everything. Excellent public transport links. The hotel was really nice, small, boutique feel. The breakfast was lovely and a nice bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely helpful. We ended up here after being stranded by the BA computer failure, so we needed some assistance. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I felt it was a bit far from the evening entertainments - 2 trains from West End.

    Hotel was a lovely townhouse on a quiet street. Breakfast was great, staff was good and helpful, rooms were clean and spacious. About 4 blocks from Tube. Neighborhood felt very safe. Good location close to Wallace Collection, Marble Arch, Hyde Park and Oxford St shopping.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have Tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Boutique hotel in a great location just 2 minutes walk from Hyde park, Marble Arch and the underground. 10 minute walk from Oxford Street and easy access to anywhere in London. Room was small but comfortable, Mini bar and TV (neither of which we used). Lovely shower in bathroom. Breakfast was nice in the basement dining area. The lady serving was fabulous going the extra mile to provide my Mum with Gluten free bread on the 2nd morning after only having crackers on the first morning. Such a lovely touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water was adequate, but a little erratic. Better mixing valves might help.

    Location is great--Just a few short blocks from Marble Arch and the Central line. The breakfast room is bright and cheerful and the food selection is varied and good. There are a dozen restaurants within a block or two, many reasonably priced. The staff were VERY helpful and friendly. The rooms are reasonably sized for an old London hotel, but don't expect American-sized rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plug in the wash basin did not work and the shower was poor but the water was lovely and hot.

    Everything and everywhere looked sparklingly clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the reviews I was expecting a haven but it didn't quite meet our expectations. The room though large for London was a bit dated with no frills though it had a vey small modern shower room and toilet, which, unfortunately had a leak so we ended up with wet feet. There were warning signs all over the walls. I'm all for health and safety but it made the room feel a little unwelcoming. Why install a slippery floor in the bathroom? No tea making facilities but you could request complimentary tea and coffee in your room, I particularly dislike having to request a cuppa so didn't bother. This approach seems to be quite common with chains but very unusual for a boutique hotel. Our room was quite noisy and the curtains didn't close properly, so it wasn't that peaceful overnight. Thankfully it was only for one night. I am always hoping to find a little gem of a place I can return to when I'm in the capital, I'm afraid I'm still looking .

    The hotel was in a convenient location with easy access to the underground. The hotel is very nice from the street and throughout the public areas., with a very bright comfortable lounge. I didn't have much interaction with staff other than check in check out. so can't really comment on that aspect,but from what I experienced they were quite pleasant. The bed and pillows were comfortable but the duvet was strangely on the small side ??? There were USB chargers in the room and for foreigner travellers adapters. The towels were soft and fluffy. Breakfast was adequate usual b&b fair. They did serve a selection of different types of milk and as someone who doesn't drink cows milk, it was very nice to see.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains that closed.

    The room was clean and tidy although the one curtain didn't shut properly and we had to use a clip to keep the curtain closed. Very good value for money especially as it was just a five minute walk to Marble Arch tube station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't realise that our room and the dining room would be in the basement, so we didn't get a lot of natural light. The decor of the dining room is very basic and doesn't match the luxury of the rest of the hotel.

    The room was a nice size with a really comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At the end of our stay, we still didn't understand how the shower actually worked. We think that something was wrong with it.

    We liked the location in the city center, but yet quiet. The breakfast was very good, with fresh fruits like grapes, strawberries, etc. We staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and cosy. The salon was nicely decorated and had an Apple computer and a lot of literature.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevators and stairs connections are a bit unusal and not perfect if you have problems walking in narrow stairs.

    We arrived late at night, nearly 11 o'clock and we were warmly welcomed. Very good breakfast we think. We like to have a bit more than a toast or continental breakfast. Not overloaded breakfast table, but just enough if you want scrambled eggs, bacon or sausages, youghurt, cornflakes, bread instead of toast and a couple more choices. No problem asking for coffe in the reseption. Very quitely inside the hotel and very little traffic noise from the street.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not open window during the night as street was noisy. Cupboard very small. Pillows very hard and spongy. Step into bathroom lethal although signed.

    Breakfast was brilliant. Lady working in breakfast room was charming and very helpful. Staff very friendly in general and ready to serve teas in lounge. Location is great. Amenities very good. Lots of plugs to charge things plus a European plug enabling to charge without adapter.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, the only complaint that we had was that the room was far too hot. But that's about all we didn't like.

    The room was comfortable, the staff really welcoming and helpful - particularly at breakfast. We also enjoyed the coffee and tea on tap. Thoroughly worth it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration of the room was into my taste too concervative, the living room at the hotel was really beautiful, why the same interiation did not continue at the room? Also the lightning at the room was too dark

    Excellent location. Very quiet hotel rooms which is always a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both bedside lamps didn't work and the shower barely got warm and our checkout receptionist had all the personality of the grim reaper!Also the door lock was faulty. Shame.. Would we go back? Yes. But only just.

    A nice boutique style hotel close to the action. Very clean and tidy and classically modern.Goid breakfast but needs sausage's!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location near Marble Arch & really lovely and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. We arrived very early after a very long flight & we were able to check in.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is so small you can hear the people in the hall easily, but it was only bothersome if we were trying to take a nap during the middle of the day because of jet lag.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Brought tea whenever we wanted and wouldn't accept a tip. Housekeeping was very pleasant and quick yet thorough about cleaning. Great location, small and quiet. Actually got the chance to pretend we lived there for a week rather than being tourists.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing that I dislike

    excellent location 5 min walk to Marble Arch underground Central line station. So many shops including Primark, Top Shop, Boots, etc. Very strong wifi all around the room, reception. Breakfast is rich: english breakfast, fresh fruits, 4-5 cheese options, cereals & pastries. Pub food, fine dining, deli, pastry, etc in the next door.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the check in could have been a little more welcoming

    Overall stay was great, had a quiet room and space which is not normal in London hotel rooms, it was clean, breakfast was very tasty and the complementary tea service was a big plus!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small and basic Bathroom - not worth 200 per night. Basement room noisy as next to breakfast room. Could hear music, talking and clattering around through walls / door in the morning. Breakfast buffet was very limited.

    Large Room. Central location for Oxford Street. Held luggage till evening.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed Hard, Breakfast ok but some food a bit out of date. basement room very noisy. could hear water running all night and people upstairs walking around all night. Not anything great to say really. Could get better ... Larger hotel would have been cheaper. Its a B&B not a hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on ther 4th floor so a bit of a pain with the luggage as even though there is a lift,it does not go to the actual floor.

    The room was v warm and had everything you needed. The building is a very nice period property.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the cleanliness and the facility are bad for me to use. there are no any boiling kettle and tea bag or cafe bag

    the staff here are quite friendly and the quality of the breakfast is good and worthy .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are located half floor from the elevator

    The location is great, near Marble Arch tube station ( central line ) and oxford street, the breakfast was exactly what we needed to start our day. The hotel is very clean and stuff was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are about 5 stairs from the elevator to the room. Problematic for the elderly.

    Great breakfast, great location, wonderful staff. A bit expencive but worth it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, room was a good size, with a large comfy bed. Although near the road it was very quiet. Fridge in room but no kettle to make a hot drink, but the staff are happy to supply you with complimentary hot drinks brought to your room, complete with a biscuit. The buffet breakfast was delicious and set you up for a days exploring. Spent 2 nights at the hotel for my husbands birthday and it was ideally situated to do lots of sight seeing and within walking distance to many. Would definately return and recommend.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit creaky but still comfortable. Personally would have preferred tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Brilliant location for shopping,theatre and transport. Beautiful lounges and the rooms were spacious. Tea and coffee available anytime in the lounges or delivered to the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    Overall excellent. Second visit and will certainly go again. Very secure and if alone you will be confident that you will be safe.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities but service was very quick when we ordered tea.

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle in the room. Staff were willing to bring hot drinks to the room. Being able to make a drink when needed makes a place more relaxing and comfortable.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were misled by the rave reviews we read and the description of the hotel as luxurious and designer decorated?!? The room was small. The mattresses were soft and uncomfortable. There was a tiny wardrobe, no shelves or drawers. We lived out of our suitcases (for which there wasn't really room) for 4 days. The room had ironing facilities but no kettle. The bathroom was also very small with a tiny shelf.

    The location was great.The staff were helpful. The room contained fridge.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Sumner is in a great location (Marylebone neighborhood) near Hyde Park and Oxford Street. I stayed here for a 7 days and was able to get around without any issues, the Marble Arch Underground station is a 5 minute walk away. There are also plenty of restaurants nearby as well. The hotel itself is cozy and quaint, and you'll literally wake up to the smell of bacon from the breakfast room downstairs (with a good selection to start your day, and super friendly staff!) The room isn't huge, but has plenty of space for solo travelers or couples. I stayed on the third floor at the rear of the building, and the noise level (outside and within the hotel) was practically non-existent after 9pm, so you'll absolutely get the sleep you need. The bathroom has all the amenities you'd expect, and the shower is one of the best I've used in Europe so far. Only small downside was no iron/ironing board provided in the room. I also have to mention that the hotel staff is exceptional in their service! I had a minor dispute on my check-out folio, and they gladly corrected the issue while being back in the states. I highly recommend this hotel for any first-time travelers to London!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One time our room door was left unlocked (closed but ajar) by the cleaning lady. Luckily during the cleaning we were having breakfast and returned to our room before we left sightseeing so it wasn't open for long and nothing was missing. Perhaps just by mistake. We told this at reception, they apologized.

    The room was really nice: clean, stylish, roomy. Comfortable bed, quiet room (to the inner court). Nice breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cold & as we were first in dining room at 0730, couldn't think why it should be. Didn't have time to wait for replacement hot food. Also, my sister left a small mirror in room 208 and despite 3 phone calls and promises to ring back, she is still waiting!

    Friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired. Curtains didn't quite lose properly. Sheets were stained - clearly hadn't been changed from previous occupant so I had to sleep on top of the duvet. No bath.

    Good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very clean room. Bathroom big enough for two and functional. Comfortable beds with cool fresh linen and sufficient pillows (a big plus for this!).Good choice for breakfast. Would have liked fresh toast or real croissants but nevertheless was good as it was.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very cheerful and accommodating. Our room was large and the bathroom was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for its excellent all round facilities and location.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Sumner Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: