Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Swan

1 Church Street, Bradford on Avon, BA15 1LN, United Kingdom

#20 of 21 hotels in Bradford on Avon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 483 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No net curtains in the bathroom meant the blind had to be closed when using it. One of the beers in the bar was infected

    Comfy bed and lovely Thai meal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very poor and was unusable as no hot water. Cold water tap on sink was broken. There was only one towel for 2 people.There was no air con in room so was very hot. Only 1 pillow per person so sleeping was uncomfortable

    Very nice location. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite dirty, there were stains on the bed, floor and walls. A group of teenagers turned up to ask if the room needed to be serviced so this explained it somewhat. The cups for tea and coffee were heavily stained, enough to make me think they are rinsed out in the room rather than cleaned properly

    The staff were friendly and lent me a phone charger when I realised I had left mine behind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was shocking, one of the worst we’ve ever come across. There was absolutely no power to it, very disappointing as on appearance it looked good. No selection of fresh fruit for breakfast, only tinned!

    The bedroom and bathroom looked great, good size and decor. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheers in the bedroom were old and crumpled, there were none in the bathroom, where they were needed. I mended the bathroom roman blind, a five minute job that no one had bothered with. Light bulbs were missing. The cold breakfast was poor. The home made jam and marmalade was so old it had turned to sugar!

    the bed was comfortable. The location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host asked us to wait to check in while he was talking to a staff member; didn’t offer to help us as we exited with luggage through narrow doorways.

    Location, very comfortable bed, good sized room and good refreshments in room. Good Thai food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thai meal in the bar was poor and overpriced. At breakfast a chimney sweep arrived and began to clean the mail fireplace chimney: we had to move because of the smell and grit. Unacceptable circumstances.

    Central location. Good bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are a lot of stairs in the hotel with no lift so not recommended for people with difficulties to walk. The blankets were super fluffy but with feather and I'm unfortunately allergic. I realised that it was feathers when going to bed only at around 10.00 pm and it took a long time to get it sorted. My boyfriend had to go to the reception himself to get a new blanket. But after that, all good! The breakfast was good but they ran out of eggs royale when we went there so that was a bit disappointing!

    The location of the Swan is just amazing as it is really central and Bradford is such a lovely place! We got upgraded upon arrival from small double to standard double so that was nice of them. The breakfast was ok but we had it on the terrasse, in the sun so that was just lovely!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we booked the swan last minute as we were having a family meal in the pub across the road, i couldn't believe this was available at the price, we were only looking to get our head down, but ended up sat chatting with locals, and meeting 1 of the nicest people we have ever met (the land lord) what an amazing friendly person as were the bar staff, we visit Bradford on Avon regularly, but now we have found the swan we will be back more, especially to visit the land lord and staff, thanks for an amazing warm welcome, cant wait to be back , Andy & Tash

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The adaptor plug in the room had loose wiring and needed attention.

    The manager welcomed us and allowed us to check in even though we were early, and we were upgraded to a deluxe room with lovely view over the picturesque street outside. The four poster bed was very comfortable and the breakfast excellent. We were grateful for advice on how to explore the delightful town with its historic buildings, canal, country park with river flowing through and stunning views. Great base from which to travel 12 minutes by train to Bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the upper rooms the wi-fi perfromance is very poor, even unusable a lot of the time.

    The Swan is located in the centre of the town, making it an ideal location for exploring the area and for easy access to local amenties.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the plumbing leaves a lot to be desired,took an age to get hot water to the basin,the shower didnt work properly.the radiator in bedroom didnt work(thermostatic valve faulty} therefore bedroom was cold

    the staff,the bed,the food and the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for the location, the size of the room and the poor breakfast

    Very very small room (too small for two people). A lot of stairs to get to the room. In a very small but pretty village near Bath in car.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed too soft for my liking - but that's just a preference.

    good breakfast and excellent Thai food - cooked fresh to order. very easy central access with car parking. Good facilities and friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was awful. Very uncomfortable. Value for money poor. The food was mediocre. Our shared starter felt like we'd just rolled out of Iceland and for £16 was 'offensive' My burger was poor value and quality. Home made chunky chips were good but the portion size was laughable. My wife had the Thai curry and rice which was lovely, but again poor value.

    Location and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When events are on the car park is very full and guests cannot park. Irritating. Surely guests should be given priority. Most of the events are attended by locals who could use the Public Car Parks.

    Staff very helpful. The breakfast young lady is so helpful. Breakfasts are very good value. Location of the hotel in central Bradford is well worth the visit alone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Night time and early morning road traffic was a slight problem on a weekday, quieter at the weekend.

    The choice of two different food cultures was nice and the food was excellent both evening and breakfast. Staff were friendly and the room was comfortable with plenty of choice of water, tea, coffee etc in the room. Nice to have cushions on the bed and the shower cap in the bathroom was useful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldnt get either side of bed but we did book a small room! Thai tapas and cocktails not available

    bed very comfortable. food great. Thai or pub grub.Staff excellent friendly and helpful especially Gareth who was a fountain of all Knowledge. Central location in a very interesting little town. really interesting Gin menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was a little disappointing. There were no pastries.

    Location was perfect, parking is a bonus in Bradford.Bed was super comfy,room was quiet. Love the quirkiness of the old building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a bit shabby and dated, and the shower took an age to warm up and rarely managed to get any better than lukewarm. The walls are very thin - the person in the next room kept me awake with their very loud snoring. My computer struggled to connect to wifi and my iPhone and iPad couldn't connect at all; on the rare occassions when I managed to get a connection, it was so slow that it was basically unusable.

    The staff were very friendly and courteous and the Thai food served in the restaurant was delicious and very high quality. The location, in the centre of town, was in the perfect position for getting about.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike?

    Gareth - Barman was at reception when we checked in at about 21:30- very friendly and informative. Had a nice meal in front of the fire - then met owner James later - again very friendly didn't hurry us off when time to lock up left us to enjoy our wine at our own pace.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior public areas needed tlc. The Buddhist influence including a shrine on a landing was a bit unexpected in such a very English olde worldwide setting and rather off putting. No decent decaf coffee at breakfast.

    Outside of building was very attractive and it was a convenient location for visiting Bath by train.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t work - when I told the manager he insisted several times that he gave me instructions when he gave me the key which he didn’t - his colleague gave me the key and didn’t mention the showrer - very inconvenient and I was charged full price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked the Hotel very much but attention should be made for the older visiter as the stairs are steep and some floors are not level, the building is old.

    The staff were excellent and the location was what we needed to an attend event. The food was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest my stay there was enjoyable nothing could've been done better

    The Full English Breakfast was lovely and hot and you didwnt have to wait long and the staff were very frienly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a struggle to get larger bags in and out of the hotel as well as up and down the stairs.

    We stay in a superior room and both rooms, 11 and 12 I think in this class are very well fitted out and very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a charming property particularly because it dates back to early 16th century. The place really has a character. Our room was not big but it was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout for Christmas lunch could have been better if some tables had been pushed together in 4's or 6's to encourage more conversation with for those couples who wanted to be more sociable.

    The Christmas Carvery was superb even with a Thai selection for anyone who didn't want to have the traditional turkey, ham, or beef! Very friendly and helpful staff. Warm and cosy for a 16th century building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was terrible. Warm smoked salmon and a rubbery poached egg. Most of the buffet was the cheapest stuff you could buy in the supermarket. The service was attentive and polite but not great. I wouldn't blame the guy who was looking after us as he was very nice, but it felt like they needed more staff. For £120 per night I'd expect better quality. The management needs to look at their competitors and up their game considerably.

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm went off for a few minutes at 3am and presumably woke up the whole hotel. The bass from the music was reverberating through my room all morning when the breakfast was on and was pretty annoying. There was a moth in my room when I arrived and the bath plug hole didn’t drain when I had a shower. All the shelves in the bathroom are poorly attached and therefore slant downwards. Floorboards are very creaky so I could hear every time someone walked past my room. There was only 1 bath towel provided. Carpets are very thin.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast on the Saturday. The scrambled egg was poorly cooked. Solid and unpleasant. Smoked salmon portion was also meagre.

    Excellent staff experience at book in. Excellent staffing at Friday breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay in beautiful old Hertiage Hotel, with plenty of pub charm and excellent food and drink. Brilliant bedroom with huge and very comfortable four poster bed, plenty of space for luggage and also a really big bathroom. Free water, biscuits and tea and coffee in the room daily along with a great breakfast included in the price. Great to have parking onsite, just outside the back door. Really friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely be staying here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked it all.

    What a lovely hotel. In the very middle of the town which was a great bonus. With the walls of the hotel being so thick, noise from town is no problem. Staff were attentive, professional and friendly. Room was delightful, plenty space, clean, tidy, some lovely extras in the room. The bed was so comfortable, never slept so well. The owners had kept as much as possible the character of the building, with real floor boards, original walling, fireplaces, a delight to see. Food was great. Will definitely stay next time we are passing through that area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very cold, shower Luke warm, no breakfast tea bags in room, food in bar dreadful, breakfast poorly managed and slow service

    Good commute to Bath Xmas market

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful location. Stayed in double deluxe room no.8 with huge on suite bathroom. Friendly staff and lovely full English breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Available food - Restaurant closed for refurbishment when we visitted.

    The score would have been higher had it not been for the fact that the hotel restaurant was closed the weekend we visited and was due to refurbishment of the bar & dining area. We intend revisiting in the New Year to sample the food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small double room.Bed pushed against wall.Had to climb over partner to get in bed.Towel rail not working in bathroom.This was reported but not acted on.

    Friendly staff.location Very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was OK but ridiculously hot. Bathroom was very tired and needed updating. Shower was only just adequate. 45 min delay for breakfast that wasn't worth waiting for.

    Bed was comfortable but the room was very overpriced for what it was. Location was OK but parking was absolute nightmare.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meal on our first night was lovely but marred by the first course as we believe this was a frozen product and not handmade. The room was perfect, a little noisy on our second night but it was short and sweet, the only thing that needs updating in our opinion is the bathroom. Apart from this we have enjoyed our stay, James was our host and the staff - especially our barman whom served us on Saturday night regarding snacks and drinks for the evening with great music, multitasked guy who cooked the brilliant breakfast the next morning on our last day. Many thanks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the mattress was very uncomfortable the room cold of been cleaner i left 2towels in the shower cubicle to be changed and they where therewhen we returned from our day out so i assumed they dont change towelshad

    location breakfastnice thai meal was very

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very good choice of cooked breakfasts was offered. In addition to full English there was eggs benedict, eggs royal and kippers. The old building had a lot of character. It was a short walk to the station for easy and picturesque run into Bath by train.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beware, there are stairs to lug up your bags (though it wouldn't be an authentic 15C hotel without it!).

    Very comfortable bed. Breakfast & was delicious - a lovely selection, dining room light and airy. Friendly, helpful & personable manager, friendly staff. In a fabulous location, right in the heart of beautiful Bradford-on-Avon - step into another world straight from the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking wasn't the easiest to find and was quite tight but other than that we really enjoyed our stay.

    Staff were super friendly. Amazing location. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping team need some training. Carpets need to be hoovered daily and public area carpets need cleaning. Finger nail by the bed and clothing tag on the floor as soon as we walked in. Not looking for them, but obvious. Bathroom in room 10 needs redecorating particular attention to be given to green shower head, external wall (looks like damp coming through) and curtain needs hoovering at the top. Rolled up carpet in the corridor next to a seemingly abandoned wardrobe gives a poor impression. With strong competition from Timbrells yard at £5 cheaper a night for B&B, The Swan needs to up it’s game. I would recommend The Swan but only after checking for availability at Timbrells yard.

    Friendly team. Lovely breakfast with large pots of tea and plenty of selection. Excellent location. Large room. Generous amount of water and good selection of tea and cooking in room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communal areas were run down and not particularly inviting. The breakfast was very disappointing. Small potion and very cold.

    Staff were polite and friendly. The room was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of total refurbishment. Shower was cold on both days, did report it but didn’t appear to have been anything done. Do not book room 5. Tiny room, bed very hard and against wall, up 3 Flights of stairs.

    The staff were lovely, breakfast okay. Location excellent , although very noisy. Value for money was reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poorly cooked and cold breakfast. Room in need of redecoration. Plumbing in serious need of attention. Had to fill the bath from the shower as the hot bath tap had only a dribble of water.

    The building, location and staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bath room not clean hair in bath plug

    For the price food parking. Staff fab. Room not clean dirty curtauns and thick hair in bath plug For that price expect more

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great, staff really friendly, we loved the four poster, and the location was perfect, and the town is gorgeous. Thank you very much - great break away!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was a bit tight but adequate.

    The room was comfortable and large with windows that allowed the flow of fresh air during the night. The hotel restaurant offered a much wider menu than we found in other pubs including a beautifully prepared Thai option. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. The owner/manager being particularly helpful and knowledgeable about local places of interest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very old inn so it's not surprising that it's a bit quirky in parts. But for the money paid I would think some updating is in order.

    Staff very friendly and efficient. Bed comfy. Location good as in centre of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff really made our stay both Amy and Gemma were very friendly and informative. A good Thai meal in the restaurant too. Breakfast was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed could have been bigger it was a very small double bed but quite comfy

    Good location friendly staff very good breakfast comfortable room and nice bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite could do with refurbishment as hot water from power shower not available. Noted electrical shaver point non operational and fan was not a run on one.

    Great breakfast available following a night's rest in a very comfortable bed! The hotel is sited in the centre of the town making it extremely convenient to local amenities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was a let down. It was under cooked and I found a hair in my hollandaise sauce.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. Very clean and the staff were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking through booking.com will usually guarantee you have the most basic room in the hotel. Room 5 was very small/ not pictured on the site either. Had no bath which i requested when booking. The road outside is a Little noisy with traffic.

    Very clean hotel. Staff were very friendly. Rooms were comfy and very clean. The hotel itself was lovely and quite at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a superior room at 1 night for £110. It was grubby and basic. The shower constantly dripped after use and all the grout in the bathroom was mouldy. The curtain over the window was stained and had mould spots. The carpet was filthy and stained. The bed was extremely uncomfortable,we both woke with backache. Finally, I had a terrible breakfast. I ordered eggs benedict and was served 1 egg on half a muffin. It was luke warm and the hollondaise sauce was very buttery and too thick. Really disappointed as this was meant to be a relaxing night away.

    The chap who checked us in on Friday evening was friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We asked to be in our room a little earlier and there was no problem. A very old building made exceptionally good. The information given was very good. The breakfast was very good. We may go back again sometime.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apparent cost of breakfast £15 per person.

    Great location right in the centre of town, convenient for all shops, restaurants, river and canalside walks,. Friendly staff. Quirky room. Good parking - allowing us to remain parked after check out time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room.

    We had a good breakfast but being three stories up in the servants quarters was very cramped. The Swan overlooks the main road so there is much traffic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was in our opinion just average, main course in evening the same, basically what we paid £280.00 plus food for two nights was considering all in all slighly excessive.

    We were in room 8, comfort and size was good inc on-suite was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Average breakfast, very tired and out dated decor with tacky (and dusty)Thai accessories dotted around the place. I'm sure the Thai food served in the restaurant was delicious but it felt like complete over kill to have the theme throughout the hotel especially if like us you chose not to eat in the hotel restaurant it was totally out of place in what could be a beautiful old building. We felt it was over priced for what we got. I believe it has recently changed hands so maybe it will receive the tlc it deserves!

    Lovely staff, v friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel very old, but could do with new carpets,(threadbare and frayed), Lights flickered all the time, Shower pressure pathetic. Hotel felt tired and grubby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for a deluxe double room and deluxe it certainly was not!! Pictures are very Miss leading, only 1 of the rooms was as shown in the pictures! When I spoke to the owner about my displeasure he just said well I'm sorry if the pictures are misleading.. The room I had was not what I was expecting and certainly wasn't worth the money

    Some of the staff were very helpful but unfortunately not all of them

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly the worst breakfast we have ever had. Poor quality bacon, badly cooked scrambled eggs and mushrooms direct from a catering tin.

    Beds very comfy and bathroom more than adequate

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had the last occupants crisp on the floor,the bath room had lots of hair on the floor which was discusting,I couldn't use the bathroom,it all felt very grubby,just glad it was only 1 night.wnt be going back.The whole place needs a paint.

    breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was a small double - and it was small!! That was fine as we expected given the description, but it was a very tired room in need of some TLC and a deep clean. The carpets were grubby, the toilet bowl was brown, there were watermarks on the ceiling, the windows didn't close properly or have 'keepers' to hold them safely open, the shower head was covered in lime scale and needed a good scrub, the grout in the shower was discoloured, there were dirty cotton wool pads left by the previous occupant in the shower so it's fair to assume it hadn't been cleaned. There were no other rooms apparently available during our stay, which was odd given on the Saturday night we were going to eat in as the Thai menu sounded tempting, but the bar/restaurant was actually empty!! Just a couple of staff members hanging about and that was it. This put us off and we went across the road to the more lively Dandy Lion. Didnt feel like we got value for money at all.

    Location was ideal, staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, eggs benedict lovely!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift would have been a help as I was up 2 flights of stairs but managed ok, one of the staff helped with my luggsge

    The location was perfect, in the centre of the Town, staff very friendly & breakfast varied & pleasant surroundings, delightful young waitress, very welcoming & helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paid for a bed and breakfast. 2 night £270 for the best room. The mattress was filthy, the breakfast room was cramped and the staff lacked any smiles. Also when we asked for a second tiny cup of coffee, after grumbles of wait a minute I am laying tables we were told there was some at the bar if we wanted it. £270 should be a treat as it is half of one of our months wage. The payment was for BED and BREAKFAST and feel that both was lacking.

    Bar staff and position of hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was comfy, the room large and the towels were lovely and big. The food was first class. Last but not least the staff were all cheerful, helpful and hardworking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel. Rude Staff. Could not even get additional tea for the room. Bed very uncomfortable due to sloping floor the bed was on. Shower did not work properly. Very expensive for what was to offer.

    Outside the hotel the area was beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was extremely noisy - every time one of us moved, it creaked and squeaked! The shower only produced cold water - it was unusable. When we mentioned this to the manager / owner on the way out for the evening, he insisted it worked but didn't offer to come to the room to check it. There was no spare toilet paper in the bathroom - it had to be asked for. Although the staff were welcoming the unusable shower let down the whole establishment. I was asked to pay at check in and no refund for the unusable shower was offered.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing not to like

    were looked after very well food in the restaurant supurb.car parking is secure and only for residents.staff great,will be going back.alan and pam from cornwall

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park was hard to find and to access. Breakfast was limited eg toast machine and no plain yoghurt. The decor was rather tired.

    very convenient location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels wasn't very busy even though according to the website we booked their last room. We thought it was expensive for an old bed and breakfast. There was a Cellar bar which advertised live music for Friday and Saturdays which wasn't open.

    The staff were friendly and provided a good breakfast. The Thai meal we had on the first night was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: