Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Swan at Stoford 3 stars

Warminster Road, Salisbury, SP2 0PR, United Kingdom

#25 of 26 B&Bs and Inns in Salisbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1045 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    Needs a good clean and lick of paint
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disgusting and I struggled to find a clean plate I must say the staff where all very good and helpful during our stay but the overall cleanliness of the hotel was very poor and even though I knew about the £10 dog charge I think it’s a bit cheeky as it would imply that this covers extra cleaning costs incurred when a dog is present and as far as I could see this doesn’t happen especially in the public areas of the hotel which are very run down and dirty. needless to say I won’t be recommending the swan to any friends looking to stay in the Salisbury area

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.6
    Area was nice hotel disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deco was poor and the place was not very clean. Bar had no malt whiskey and I am not sure that the staff working at the bar knew what malt whiskey was. Couldn’t offer full range at breakfast because the oven was being cleaned. Lack of flexibility by kitchen staff re child menu.

    Location was okay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Not somewhere we'll be returning to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a well loved pub. The entry is shabby and unhelped by the fag ends on the ground just outside the door. The room was clean enough but the windows, the carpet, the wall behind the bin, were all dirty. The breakfast was billed as a highlight but in fact wasn't. The food wasn't very tasty (eggs very white, coffee stewed, bacon not very well cooked) and the table where we ate it sticky. Half of the cereal bowls out were dirty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Super Friendly! Super Food, Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything for us was perfect!

    The staff, thanks Vicki were exceptionally helpful and friendly, super meal in the evening and the breakfast was superb! The room was pleasent and the beds very comfortable. Highly Reccomend and super location to Stone Henge!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.6
    The rooms were clean and the staff were accommodating.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check your room statement and receipt after you have checked out. We were charged extra for a bar tab that wasn't ours! If your room is at the busy road side don't expect much sleep! The food is not the best and far from value for money. We have stayed here several times before, (Through necessity rather than choice) and have had issues on every stay.

    The rooms were clean and the staff were accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.8
    Very small room, all needed updating. Nothing like the pictures shown on website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though checked in the next day on return to the hotel all our stuff had been packed up and taken out of our room without our permission and took a while to locate our belongings, obviously were not happy and the response was not compassionate saying he only just come on shift.

    Meals in the bar were nice. One member of staff was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Excellent service and comfort
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff made me and my dog Frank very welcome. Lovely dinner over the road with friends and even was brought my breakfast outside for me as I had my dog with me - highly recommended

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Made to feel welcome, always helped when asked questions.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Made to feel welcome, always helped when asked questions.good atmosphere, veggie breakfast really nice, continental breakfast look good but too full to try.made fuss of our old retriever always,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Great Holiday stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road outside quite busy and have to cross road to car park. Had a small toddler with us so had to be careful of road but info does tell you parking is opposite so we were aware when booking.

    Overall very good. Staff friendly, food good, beautiful surrounds. Room was great with its own private terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took some time for me to be noticed when I wanted to eat on the evening I got there. Others who came in after me were served before me.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    Never again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place needs a good dose of looking at to bring up to a reasonable standard. Evening food seemed precooked presumably so they can serve at anytime of day. Breakfast was passable. Shower was pathetic . We would have had a river view had the windows not been filthy on the outside. Booked the Swan as being one of the more expensive options we had hoped for a higher standard. Stuffy room meant an open window & the traffic is continuous all night which was anticipated but not conducive to a good night.

    Staff , polite & helpful were the only saving grace to the stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    double bed excellent single bed foam mattress was worn out...
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed and no view from balcony

    double bed excellent single bed foam mattress was worn out and I didn't sleep. balcony lovely but no view just fencing which was a bit disappointing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Lovely comfy bed but had an awful metal frame that squeaked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the interior decor could do with a refresh. Especially upstairs leading to the rooms. Sound proofing isn’t the best as we could hear people in the next room talking.

    Lovely comfy bed but had an awful metal frame that squeaked every time you moved. But lovely breakfast and choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Fine for a stop over, the staff try hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed very uncomfortable. Was little short of a camp bed. The place is very tired, and for the rates charged, should do a lot more

    Location, bar the A36 running between building and garden, the river is a joy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    not again
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Swan is directly located at a heavy traffic road, also with trucks. Nearly no rooms on the backside. To open the window was nearly impossible because of the traffic noise and vibration. Therefore the room after a while was sticky and warm. No aircondition.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice old hotel with lots of atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location, outside Salisbury was fine, despite being on the A60. Room was quiet, except for occasional louder tourists. Restaurant offered ample meals at reasonable prices. Breakfast was more than enough, with lots of choices. Parking on opposite side of street. Easy to get into or away from Salisbury. 15 minutes from Stonehenge. Shared toilet was not a problem. Manager very friendly. Wifi reasonably quick, but would occasionally bump us off for no reason.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, met my requirements, friendly staff,good food.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking fee did not show the £10 charge for a one night stay with a dog. This should be clear on finalising the online booking.

    The friendly welcome by a staff member in late evening arrival. Relaxed atmosphere in the bar. The room and facilities were good, breakfast was varied,well presented and again polite service with a smile. Notable was the pet bowls and water barrel available in the entrance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Cannot recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was OK but the mattresses were worn out. Outside the room the place was shabby, smelly, and door handles and light pulls visibly dirty. Entrance reeked of something vinegary. Wireless not reliable. Not a pleasant experience.

    A selection of cooked breakfasts included in room price. Beer garden next to the river with an old bridge is probably lovely in summer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second guest booking for Sat was cancelled by the The Swan staff and only by chance was found out and had to be reinstated by one of the managers. Breakfast was not available to my client onSat morning as it started too late at 0800 hrs.

    Not applicable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Would not choose this accommodation again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quality of the mattress - twin bedroom, sat on one bed decided to sleep in the other but this in the end was no better. VERY soft and uneven. The lighting in the bathroom was strange - difficult to switch on, including over washbasin and the shower isolator switch. On returning to my room for my second night's stay, the yale lock on my room had been left in the open position, so presumably, the room had remained open since being cleaned. On checking out, I was not asked if my stay had been acceptable only whether my bill had been paid. Opted for the room with "river view" - description failed to state that that the main road and followed by the car park were positioned between my room and the river.

    Level of cleanliness of the bedroom especially the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    Expensive compared to other places which were more welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was very small with the double bed pushed against the wall. The kitchen needed a really good scrub and it was difficult to converse with the cleaning staff as their English skills didn't appear to be that good. The fridge needed cleaning out and it looked like there was mould at the bottom of the fridge. Unable to use the bathroom soaps provided as the contents were in communal bottles. I had no idea if other people have tampered with the contents of the shampoo/body wash products. The kitchen table was wobbly and lopsided, very easy to break if you weren't careful.

    good location and able to walk into Oxford. The sitting/lounge area is a good space for meeting other travellers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice room, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average, although plentiful. Mushrooms in breakfast were over cooked. Poached eggs were hard. Table was sticky.

    Nice room, good location. Coffee cup in room was dirty and stuck to saucer. Not enough milk provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    When it comes to quaint English rural pubs by a river, The Swan is the real deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet, in our room which was a budget room by choice, could have done with a dry clean.

    The staff were very pleasant. It's a great example of a rural English pub/hotel, situated by a river which actually has swans in it. Parts of it are in some need of repair, but that didn't hinder our enjoyment of the place. A generous breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing for such a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was incredibly noisy on the front of the property, the noise of people passing the room door was ridiculous. Small dirty room with a paper thin foam mattress

    Set in a pretty location, food was adequate

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Overpirced for business traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very stiff, and I found it abit pricey for what it was. Didn't eat at the resturant cause it looked rammed, am sure I could have eaten if I tried, instead decided to explore the countryside and find elsewhere to eat.

    As a work traveller it was within 5 minutes of my site, with ample parking. Set in a stunning part of the world with Stonehenge just a stones throw away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    Plenty of free parking. Very friendly staff. Clean room. Food was excellent with plenty of choice - evening meal and breakfast. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    The people at the hotel made the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unaware until arrival that the main A35 ran through the property, but it is well sound-proofed.

    The whole atmosphere was enhanced by the manager, 'Vinny' An old hotel kept well up to standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Ideal for a family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Set in a beautiful location, room was clean we had a shared bathroom but again this was spotless so don't let that put you off. Staff we're friendly and welcoming. Will come back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Really friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better soundproofing, there was a gap under the door so everytime someone walked down the corridor we could hear it. Mattress could be a bit more comfy but wasn't bad by any means

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Vinnie was brilliant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    A cut above the rest ,congratulations
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving so early.We had to check out at 10am.

    The staff made us welcome,cozy bar,good food and clean room just what we wanted after racing at Salisbury.le av

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    Not relaxing or professional as we would like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pets were allowed to stay in the rooms. Room smelt of dog and urine. Dog hairs everywhere. We were kept awake by dogs barking and whimpering all night long. We could here the other guests walking in and out of there rooms,talking.etc. One member of staff quite clearly has an alcohol problem.downing 8 jager bombs after his shift,along with pints of larger..he also decided to approach my partner and offer him an arm wrestle..very arkward. He then attempted to tell us all his problems. Really not professional at all what's so ever. Really disappointed with this place. We do not recommend at all. Shame the place has alot of protential.

    The room it's self was a lovely large room.size wise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    Dreadful. I left after 2 hrs and booked into a Travelodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A towel was filthy as if someone had cleaned their boots with it. The room was a tiny single with a very basic toilet and bathroom along the corridor. The whole hotel smelt sour like 'wet dog'.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, fantastic food and very dog friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly blackout curtains could be useful and unfortunately the bed wasn't as firm as I like but it is just personal preference as everything else was great.

    Loved the fact we could take our dog. Good location and great evening food. Very friendly and a good range of things to eat for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortably historic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearer signage, or info on the website, that parking is opposite the inn. We drove behind and had to turn round in a very narrow lane to get back to square one.

    We liked that it still felt like an old coaching Inn. The creaking, wavy floors were very atmospheric! But we still got a lovely modern bathroom, flat screen TV etc. Breakfast was in a lovely sunny room and was generous, hot and delis. And an amazing thing was zero traffic noise despite the Inn being immediately against the main road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing, fun and very comfortable. One of the best nights sleep that I have had in a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff and the wee character touches in the bedrooms with the towels. The beds where very comfortable. I think it would be nice to have a specific kids menu so that the children can have a bit more choice. The food was lovely but very rich for children in some places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Found The Swan to be just what we wanted for a short stay within close proximity of Salisbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was excellent except for the coffee creme brûlée where the caramelised topping was rock hard.

    The mattress was very comfortable, which is really important for a good night's sleep. Restaurant service was friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable stay although I felt overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was average. We had one breakfast included and paid for breakfast another morning. Says on the menu plural sausages for example but you only get one as with hash browns, this was a bit misleading. Toast was burnt the first morning we paid for breakfast. Continental buffet was nice and had a good selection but again a lot of the pastries were over cooked. Teapots/coffee glasses/sugar containers didn't look the cleanest.

    Room was nice and comfortable, friendly staff. Location was brilliant loads of nature trails around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.5
    From the outside looked fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager's attitude was dreadful. I had booked a room and not noticed that it was not en suite so wished to upgrade. All he would say is that because we had booked on line it would be impossible to do so and we would have to book again at the full cost of an en suite room. We walked out as his manner was so poor and actually the place looked very average.

    From the outside looked fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    A 250 year old hotel, a bit quirky and different. But room standards were very good and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV reception (freeview) was very poor because of the poor signal. I really recommend that the property upgrade their Ariel system. It was so bad at night, I switched it off. The mattress appeared to be the memory foam type, which my wife had no issues with and my sons (adults) staying in a separate room found their's fine. It may just be a personal issue, but I don't like them. But I stress, to me this is a minor issue and wouldn't put me off staying here at all.

    The room was clean, tidy and of an great standard. Wifi was good with no problems. I recommend paying £5 more and getting en-suite. The bath room it'self, was lovely. Modern and clean. Overall it was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Short notice, good food, great sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls between rooms are very transparent, acoustically. The intimacy is too much between strangers. They could invest in some sheets of plasterboard to thicken them up.

    A very warm welcome, cheerful and accommodating. Wonderful 'towel sculptures' in the room, a delightful touch. Garden opposite would doubtless be a lovely spot to sit and admire the river, but at a warmer time of year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Best avoided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin and so noise was clearly audible from rooms on both sides. A good night's sleep is hard to find! The food is passable at best. The beer is not well kept. The busy road outside precludes opening windows overnight.

    The staff tried hard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    The service if the staff was the one that we will remember the most
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap in the shared toilet.....dispenser was empty

    The one staff that deal with us was really nice....from our arrival, serving breakfast and during our departure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Great food and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities could be better, having a shared bathroom is a shame.

    Friendly staff, Great food both in the evening and at Breakfast. My room was clean and comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful river location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full hotel on our 2nd morning and had run out of croissants. Shower head broken.

    Naomi the waitress and the American manager (don't know his name) were amazing at service. Bent over backwards. Evening meals amazing. Had game pudding ..amazing..and hearty beef and dumplings...good Lamb steak ....amazing and veg curry....good. came with a dog ...No issues.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Even though the hotel is right next to the very busy A36,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the hotel is right next to the very busy A36, the soundproofing in the room was excellent, and I was not disturbed by traffic noise at all through the night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    The beds were horrible, we could not sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were horrible, we could not sleep. Both beds had foam mattresses that were worn down, we could feel the (loose) slats through the mattresses. And they had a generator of some sort going through the night, it vibrated through both rooms. And the shared bathroom is not up to standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    The room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness, toilet and bathroom of poor hygiene. Dirty walls.

    The room. Overall the hotel was so English in style. We loved it anyway. We were looking for a hotel that resembles ´Faulty Towers´ the only thing missing was Basil Faulty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Our stay was very short, but enjoyable and The Swan has a lot of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was on the opposite side of the road, which was quite busy. The room was very small and access to it involved many stairs, fire doors and passages with twists and turns. Whilst undoubtedly quaint, this was not easy to negotiate with heavy luggage.

    The Swan was a charming place with a lot of history. The room was clean, the food excellent with generous portions and the staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Safe clean friendly environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old hotel so there were signs of age such as worn carpet, lumpy bed etc. Not a big deal for me but those are the things that were good rather than excellent.

    Safe clean friendly environment. I’d stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Good to know about when visiting the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stoford is not the centre of the universe but handily placed for visiting Salisbury (although at the moment, March 2018, few are doing); however this means that the pub/hotel is rather isolated. Fortunately, the food in the bar is excellent, especially the home made savoury pies. Real ales available too. I stumped up the extra few quid for the 4-poster bedroom which was spacious but could have done with a tea table between the two easy chairs. The decor was pleasant, the bed comfortable. Good breakfast Very good value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was situated very close to Stonehenge, it was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was advertised as a river view, the river is actually the other side of a busy road, car park and pub garden. We opted for a private bathroom, however could hear other people loudly using the toilet very close by. The shower overflowed quickly and meant my partner had to do some emergency maintenance. The booking also included free breakfast, im glad it was free... it was completely opposite from the quality of the evening meal. However, if you are a couple with a good sense of humour this is a nice pub with a few quirks, close to the henge

    The hotel was situated very close to Stonehenge, it was a scenic drive from the henge. The bed was comfy and the room was warm. The evening meal was really tasty, we were a little worried after the reviews but the blue cheese burger was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All was brilliant

    We had to stay in the hotel as my daughter ( age 4 ) was due an operation is Salisbury hospital so the location was just perfect! The man that helped us called vinny was absolutely love very friendly he was just outstanding with me me partner and our daughter he really made us feel welcome. More then happy with our rooms my daughter was over the moon when she see the swing in room 10. Bath room wasn’t in the same room but this was no problem for us. The best hotel I’ve ever slept in and believe me I’m fussy but this was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very approachable and helpful from the minute...
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a lick of paint here and there.

    The staff were very approachable and helpful from the minute we met them, till the day we left. Nothing was too much trouble, and watching them, they are like this with everybody they come into contact with and not just us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    We stayed here 1 night and couldn't really complain for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a tad on the hard side, comfortable enough to get a good night sleep though

    We stayed here 1 night and couldn't really complain for the price and location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Close by Salisbury and Stonehenge which is what had us in the area. All in all a great place to stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay with your dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that you can hear all noise in corridor but as it is an old building it is understandable.

    Very comfortable. Staff very hospitable. Very dog friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    2.9
    Never again. It's about a 0 star hovel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally everything, poor location on the A36, parking opposite the hotel necessitating crossing the A36 with suitcases and little children, room not cleaned well at all.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Super stay in a super place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little worn, silicone round shower etc was old and come away in places, just needs the doing to beaten up! I know that’s picky, but that’s all, a really good stay!

    Great Location, friendly staff, lovely room, good food, skittle alley is awesome fun! Garden opposite on river is superb!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    Ok for overnight stay but don't eat there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in the room was only but it squeaked every time you moved. The food was awful in the restaurant in the evening. Everything we ordered off the menu was not available and so my husband had the turkey curry which was disgusting so much that we refused to pay for it and he went to bed hungry. We weren't alone either as customers on another two tables complained. The waitress coped well but was on her own whilst two of the bar staff stood talking...felt very sorry for her as she was dealing with complaints and serving on her own.

    Breakfast was good and good range of cereals etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Overall good stay, good value for money. Wouldnt want to share a bathroom again though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared bathroom needed a bit of sprucing up - a bit too dated and cold. Could hear people in shared toilet next door to bedroom - bit of soundproofing wouldn't go amiss!

    Friendly lady greeted us and same lady waited on us at breakfast. Room was well apointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Oh crumbs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told "this is the last of the white bread" at breakfast. Another younger guest got up to toast some white bread and was told the same thing and was also told that there were more guests to come down for their breakfast. Poor lad almost looked ashamed as though he had done the wrong thing!

    Dog friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Good location for visiting Stonehenge and the Magna Carta in the nearby town. It was a scrumptious english breakfast in the morning which definitely made a difference.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Had to move rooms as the bed was very creaky. Upgrade agreed at no extra cost. Staff excellent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was poor and not value for money.. cost of food too expensive for what was given. Pies so hard you couldnt eat them ! Breakfast choice was more limited than the menu offered !

    We like the upgrade and the value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Only stayed for a night but was pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking us the other side of property. Scary crossing the very busy road.

    The room was good size for family and like the bathroom - nice big bath and very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing after previous better stays here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft and saggy to be comfortable. Wifi was intermittent. TV was missing lots of main channels even after retuning. Dinner wasn't great (Sweet potato curry). Noise, it's on a fast road, so I came prepared with earplugs for sleeping, then with loud coughing fits from room next door, and shouting from the street around closing time it wasn't that relaxing.

    All the staff are pleasant and efficient. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. I've stayed here a few times in the past, and enjoyed it, less so this time unfortunately.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Friendly welcoming staff. A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    We loved the atmosphere, very friendly staff. Room's were very clean. Loved the towel & toilet roll display. Would definitely stay here again. 😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    Not good for light sleepers.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed was uncomfortable: the mattress was very soft and the structure of the bed was very noisy. You can also hear your neighbor as if you were sharing the bedroom. Wifi signal is ok but the connection is very slow (not good to work). Check-in and check-out went smoothly and the room was very clean.

    Double bed was uncomfortable: the mattress was very soft and the structure of the bed was very noisy. You can also hear your neighbor as if you were sharing the bedroom. Wifi signal is ok but the connection is very slow (not good to work). Check-in and check-out went smoothly and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Adequate for our purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearly a genuinely old property no flat surfaces but we expected that.We have got used to ensuite in hotels so having to share with 3 other rooms is not ideal.

    We did not need to worry about finding parking in Salisbury. We used Park and ride to go to museum.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just not the most accessible location

    The location is somewhat remote if you don’t drive but I was impressed by the rooms which were very clean and modern. We stayed in the family room and it was very comfortable. Breakfast was good and the staff were very welcoming. Will definitely recommend for families

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    the breakfast was wonderful I had full English children...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    busy main road outside of pub/hotel

    the breakfast was wonderful I had full English children pancakes with banana and honey and pancakes with bacon and egg they wolfed them down great service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.4
    Low price avoid the food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival at 9.25pm I asked about some food as the kitchen advertises being open until 9.30pm. Guy asked through kitchen door & was told kitchen closed. He checked as I requested just a sandwich or something quick and was told Kitchen is closed! Room basic but fine for price paid. Breakfast - The milk at the tea station was off(and looked/smelt like had been for some time)...it was replaced at my request. Ordered breakfast and what came was mostly inedible. Sponge like microwaved sausage, microwaved bacon and I like a runny egg but not the white bit! Maybe I had a lucky escape not being served for dinner

    convenient location for me & low price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.4
    okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place needs a good refurbish. The carpets are very old and dirty. It is typical of UK Pub accommodations, not very inviting, bar as well, we stayed one nite only.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast nice and food hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen extractor vent was right outside our bedroom window that vibrated until 10 at night and then restarted at 7.30 in the morning 🙁 the mumming noise was annoying It could be easily moved I'm sure so it's not attached to the wall Child's bed squeaked The cups and sauces in room were dirty and only 2 tea bags and 1 pack of biscuits (2 inside pack) for 3 people in room. Two bottles of water would of been better than just one. Bedside lights need dusting And wall lights need to be de-dusted. There was no hand towel in communal toilet. Entrance carpet needed good Hoover Some comfy sofas would be nice In bar area to sit after eating.

    Breakfast nice and food hot Skittle alley Location near Salisbury Bedroom bedding clean, nice clean towels and clean carpet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    The Swan.. definately recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little details such as artistic folder towels and toilet rolls. Very comfortable beds. Really lovely freshly cooked breakfast and the coffee is fab! Staff are always really friendly. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing because of poor night's sleep with busy day to follow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms are at the front on a busy main road. We are not used to traffic noise and head lights on and off throughout the night, this made for a poor night's sleep. Most (all?) rooms are at the front.

    Breakfast was very good. The room clean and tidy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Will go again. Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight criticism is the lack of choice on the menu for Gluten free options. Only two choices which is difficult if you have coeliac disease.

    The staff were lovely, made us feel very welcome. Room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Swan at Stoford traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: