Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Swan Inn

Knowle Sands, Bridgnorth, WV16 5JL, United Kingdom

#7 of 15 hotels in Bridgnorth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 262 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom sink was a little small but was no real problem.

    The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The food was excellent. The view from the room was stunning. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access was difficult from the car park as I am the driver and have mobility problems. I did request a ground floor room, was advised that that was not possible but was not warned about access.

    Excellent food, lovely room friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Decor was good location great with fab views and the staff were so nice and welcoming Good locally sourced food and great choice of menu really enjoyed our stay and would recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needs a bit of a spruce up in the bedrooms.Our room had not been serviced fully. Very clean linen/towels.

    The food was very good, staff very pleasant. Really good décor comfy seating areas. A good bar selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little tricky but worked eventually - being fixed I’m told.

    Staff were excellent as was the evening meal and Gin selection and superb breakfast in the morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ensuite shower room was the size of a small wardrobe. Grouting in the shower was black and peeling, shower door seals hanging off. No shelving in shower for toiletries. Handbasin tiny and glass shelf above it made cleaning teeth a bruising experience. Toilet seat stained underneath. Room lights dismally dim and main fitting needed dead bugs removing from cover. Mattress stained. Room noisy overnight with central heating expansion/contraction and equipment noises. Heating pipes around room always on. Access from car park to hotel involves steep steps and many corners, and was disappointingly scruffy. Staircase in hotel steep and uneven and headroom on top floor limited - watch out if you're tall. Breakfast options disappointing - very focused on a fried breakfast offering. One does wonder if the owners of hotels ever try staying in their rooms as a guest would. They would soon realise the need for basic improvements.

    Restaurant was good with an interesting menu and quite nice views to the river (and a factory...) Staff well organised and tried hard to please Bed was a good size and comfy with decent duvet Car parking quite spacious and seemed safe Room generally well equipped with DVD player in TV and even some DVDs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was poor. Shower head didn't stay in holder and shower head hose falling to bits. Tiles missing off walls and toilet barely flushed.

    Bedroom was good, food and beer good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was in need of upgrading, especially the shower.

    Beautiful view from the restaurant. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was superb and offered a very wide choice of menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom basin was a little small.

    Lovely room with great views & an enormous comfy bed. Friendly service & very nice food. Very helpful with gluten free options, which I unfortunately need. Plenty of parking space & easy access to our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor wasn't complete with holes in skirting board and I could hear everything from the room across the hall. The bathroom was a and I couldn't bring myself to use the shower. I design bathrooms and found the use of space poor. A wetroom would have worked.

    Beautiful food. Lovely welcoming staff. Clean. Couldn't do enough for us. Lovely bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for Easter with family lovely & clean very friendly staff made feel very welcome , breakfast excellent beautiful views bedroom very comfy cleaned every day would stay again and recommend it to others x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that cold water tap didn't work in the bathroom hard to brush teeth and have a wash . Would have liked a shower not the bath .

    Food lovely bed comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en suite bathroom to our room was very cold and therefore uncomfortable to use. The lack of a radiator or under floor heating with a ceramic tile floor was a poor choice of planning. This was not made up for by the portable electric heater which should not really have been used in a bathroom but was used to try to pre-heat the room before use.

    The public spaces were pleasant and the atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was friendly and warm. Dinner was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of any note!

    Very pleasant and extremely helpfull staff. They gave us some wonderfull assistance during a difficult time. The food was really good and the facilities excellent. Views of the river and Severn Valley, and only a mile from the SVRailway. Would highly recommend and will be staying there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was OK but the scambled eggs were disapointing. Location good on a good day but the morning I left it was thick snow.No taxis could get there.Had to walk just over a mile to get back into bridgenorth in thick snow.NOT THE HOTELS FAULT.

    lovely position overlooking the river severn just outside bridgnorth.Excellent dinner and two real ales available and in good condition. Massive bed and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was nicely decorated, the tables were nicely laid...Little touches like the hot water bottle covers and the prints on the walls were lovely. The initial welcome by one of the staff set the tone beautifully. Well done.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome with very friendly helpful staff Room very comfortable with great décor. Evening meal relaxing with comfortable bar area for pre dinner drink, excellent menu choice and food. Breakfast served in the lovely sunny conservatory with beautiful views over the river. Not my first stay here and will certainly return .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We recently stayed at the Grovsner in Chester and the bed was the same size (very big) which was brilliant. Over all everything was perfect. Will definately stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Failure of the hotel to acknowledge that if as I was forced to, you have to cancel at the last minute due to travel caos (my flight from Stuttgart was delayed due to snow) the hotel charge should be credited which was refused by the Swan!

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny comment and nothing to be done about it but would have preferred a bit bigger bathroom. But all worked fine and I loved the spices in the shower head!

    Cosy country pub feel, welcoming and friendly staff, spacious bedroom with comfortable bed and great decor. The owners have tried to think of everything - loved the hot water bottles and bottled water. Food was delicious. They even called me earler in the day to check if I would like dinner as it was Valentines night and they were very busy. Didn't feel at all out of place as a business traveller - or on my own on Valentines! Great selection of wine and cider too. All in all excellent value for money and a very pleasant overnight stay. Would love to go back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t say there is anything I didn’t like

    Fantastic location beautiful place rooms were lovely staff friendly and so polite food was outstanding and one of the lovely bar staff Abbie who took my drink up to my room because the taxi arrived before I could finish it outstanding place will definitely be returning

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the kitchen closed at 230 & Taxi’s are a nightmare to get to book 1 so the relaxing afternoon we had in mind was delayed due to having to drive to get a meal

    The bed was amazing as was the evening food & breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to adverse winter weather I barely entered and - in the morning - left the parking with my RWD car. I would prefer a choice between a shower and freestanding bath (with no shower) - although maybe I should have asked for assistance with a mug provided (didn't think of it earlier, could have finished in a big PLUS instead). No commercial invoice on check-out.

    The room was stylish and clean with a decent sized desk and a really comfortable bed. Very good wifi, additional sweets, stylish bathroom with a freestanding bath. While I was struggling with my car in the snow, staff was eager to help (boys and girls) and they did help me out. Fantastic view on Bridgnorth, river Severn and Severn Valley Railway right from the restaurant. Really great cooked to order breakfast with some nice additional touches (yes, a lemon curd!).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaner although wasn't too bad. Worse thing was that the shower wouldn't get hot even on hottest setting and left to run. Which is not great this time of year. Also the lighting in the room was awful. Really dull, even the bathroom, and the light above the bathroom mirror didn't work either. Very difficult to get ready for an interview in semi-darkness! Sadly I didn't have time to ask the staff for help, but they weren't the type of problems you could fix instantly anyhow. Also the WiFi worked in the pub/restaurant but not in the room. Had the room been cleaned more thoroughly and the lighting and shower been better, my experience would have been great!

    Lovely pub, open fires etc. and really cosy, all done up for Xmas, and great view from restaurant. The staff were very nice. Only ate toast so can't rate the food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ok through no fault of their own the original room was very smelly probably due to a blockage so we were re-located to a twin room which was not too much of a problem. I had made an 8 o'clock meal booking but was told they had no record of this even thou I had email confirmation,as a result we did not start eating until 9:20 that evening. The last issue was the temperamental shower started stone cold for at least ten minutes warmed up for a couple then went hot too cold for the duration of the shower. I must say the owner was fantastic could not say sorry enough, he offered us a free night stay in the new year as a way of an apology however we were unable to do this so declined and received a discounted final bill.

    Staff extremely friendly, food in the restaurant was exceptional and the breakfast was equally as good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a child but was not offered a small bed for him. Not sure if it was a family room.

    Very clean and great welcome from the staff. The food was very nice and great service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed not very comfy...too soft but ok for 1 night. Shower room needs a redesign and modernisation.

    Great staff, good food especially breakfast and a lovely view from the conservatory across the valley to Bridgnorth. Liked the shabby chic decorating style for this pub/restaurant/rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows could have been cleaner.

    We had a lovely room with a beautiful view. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the food was plentiful and excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place to stay if visiting Bridgnorth, it's about a 20 minute walk into town. The view from our room was beautiful, would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were really friendly. We only had a light lunch in the restaurant, the meals the other customers had looked really nice. Great full breakfast the next morning, perfect start to the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely welcoming and accommodating. We were there for a funeral ad they let us stay in our room a bit later to get ready. Great steaks. V good breakfast. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely bedroom but Ensuite had creakey door handle (that woke the other person during the night) and no radiator to warm it or dry out towels on When these issues were raised with one of the owners he was reluctant to acknowledge them and even more reluctant to give a discount for the poor value for money of the room & ensuite When pushed he did give a small discount

    The service of the staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a busy road so you can here the traffic speeding pass. when pulling out of the car park its on a blind bend with fast moving traffic.

    Staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was clean tidy and cosy, plenty of room to park. Bar area nice and cosy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paintwork needs an update but as I said it's ongoing so nothing off putting..

    Loved the decor and lighting fab atmosphere..it's currently had a new conservatory for dining with fab views so the referb is ongoing ..very pleasant, staff are lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice accommodation staff were excellent and service good. Apart from breakfast which was excellent we would have liked to have sampled the evening menu. Unfortunately it was fully booked which gives an indication of how popular it is

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower room was cramped but useable. The shelf over the sink got in the way and the sink was too small. Shower head had a habit of falling off and it was heavy. Water leaked from the shower.

    Staff were very good and breakfast was excellent. Location to Bridge North first class and parking was easy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - we will definitely stay here again!

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast! Comfortable, clean rooms, family room big enough to erect a travel cot in. Nice terrace for outside dining and drinks with lovely views over countryside to Bridgnorth.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu in the restaurant had limited choice and was a little pricey for the quality of food. Last time we stayed the quality and choice was much better so we were left slightly disappointed by this. No bulb in one of the bedside lamps

    Great sized family room, good facilities and great location close to town and Severn valley railway. Second time we have stayed here and rooms are individually styled. If you're looking for a quirky hotel this is the place to stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day bed was not of the same standard as the main bed. The light bulbs in the bedroom lights did not give sufficient light to read by. We couldn't get the fan in the shower room to work. These negative things were trivial compared with the value of the hotel and its very friendly atmosphere.

    The food was very good, both the full English breakfast and also the evening meal. The service was excellent. The main bed was very comfortable. There was plenty of extra bedding. A good supply of tea,coffee etc was provided. The soft furnishings were of a high standard. The view from the bedroom window was beautiful . We looked out onto the valley of the River Severn. We would certainly use this hotel again and recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very good.

    The staff were all excellent. We heard no noise during the night. The evening meal and breakfast were good value, very well cooked and presented very well also.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you end up in one of the rooms with a bath (as opposed to a shower) and if you're tall, you will be very close to the ceiling. Please add a new guest book!

    The restaurant (in the hotel) is in a conservatory. The view is magnificent! Beds are confortable and rooms (and corridors) have been designed with taste. Very easy/quick to get from the hotel (by car) to the very nice village of Much Wenlock

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a room with a shower Got one with a bath!

    Quiet room although near a main road Evening food was good Breakfast was excellent including the drinks menu!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only negative is the duvet and pillows were feather and I would prefer anti-allergenic bedding, all was fine as I had antihistamine tablets with me.

    Extra comfortable bed, really friendly staff and delicious food. Overall it was a great stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only drawback was initial appearance on approach to the Swan Inn. Unfortunately the current owners are obviously dealing with a building that was left in a tired looking state. They have done a lot to improve the appearance and the new breakfast area extension etc is a great improvement. I am sure that the outside of the building and some of the communal areas are on the list of improvements to come, but this was the only thing that worried us, fortunately the rooms, food etc were so good, first impressions were forgotten quickly.

    Decor of the interior was brilliantly done. The restaurant area was very good and staff always friendly and happy to help. We stayed for 2 nights, but came back during the Sunday of our stay and brought more family members to enjoy the Sunday lunch menu. Tastey treats left out in the room each day were really delicious. Overall a really great stay and a bit of a hidden gem in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 1st room we were given smelled very unpleasant. We were told that they were having sewage problems. We were moved to another room which was fine apart from the air con from the kitchens which was situated on the outside wall behind our bed.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    From the warm welcome to the farewell we were treated like regulars, nothing was too much trouble and the food was faultless. The views were breathtaking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The Swan has a lovely restaurant and bar, so not far to walk to have an evening meal. The staff are friendly and helpful and it has a lovely view toward Bridgnorth.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs somewhere to put soap etc whilst in the bath.

    Staff excellent, service was really good, overall we had a really nice stay,would definitely go back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of paint on skirting boards and other woodwork took the shine off bedrooms that have otherwise been beautifully refurbished!

    We walked 13 miles to arrive at the swan which was beautifully renovated and a welcome sight! So many small details that added to total effect. Staff were warm welcoming and helpful. What a find we will return

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little basic

    You would need to drive into town really as it was a little far too walk but the hotel had everything you needed on site you didn't have to leave if you didn't want to

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was tiny, shower barely ran, no towel rail and wet towels were refolded and left for second day! they did put it right when we complained. Food service for evening meal was very slow even though they were not busy, and we noticed other customers were complaining

    Lovely quirky decor, friendly staff, good food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    What's not to like!

    Beautiful location, excellent facilities and well appointed rooms- large and comfortable and tastefully decorated. Friendly, modern and efficient. Loved it!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water pressure was low on the shower -but it could be the situation in the area, I could have done with an extra pillow - but that it just me .

    Nice big room, delicious food ( dinner & breakfast). We'll be coming back !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was not cleaned or made up the first day and waste bins not emptied through our stay. The room we stayed in could do with a bit of work i.e.: shower room poor. Needs bringing in line with recent renovated public areas.

    Food was excellent had breakfast and two very good evening meals. The public rooms were very well done.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are fantastic and very large! The staff are very friendly and make sure you are well looked after. Jem behind the bar is fantastic, even remembered a little joke we had the night before and left a cute note on my breakfast table the next day. Great little Inn and would have no problems recommending this place to anyone! :D

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a double room and when we arrived we were put in a twin room, bathroom very small and could do with updating, no where to hand anything in bathroom

    Staff were really friendly and welcoming. Food was good, lovely atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a great stay, staff were excellent and a real credit to the Swan - we are really going to try and come back again, and would recommend the Swan to anyone!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radiator made hissing sounds all night - but it was warm and quite otherwise! Would have liked WiFi in the room...

    Lovely spot, very close to rail station, free parking, lovely food and pub downstairs. No WiFi, but there were DVDs in the room if you wanted to watch a film, which which was really nice! Breakfast was wonderful, excellent poached eggs and beautiful coffee - can't beat it really!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower in en-suite, the water flow to the bath was a mere trickle!!, TV didn't work but I didn't need it. light in bathroom over sink not working so poor light for shaving(too late to ask for it to be fixed) kettle and coffee etc provided but no milk. Bar closed at 23.00 as I got in at 23.15 I was not served even though resident.

    good breakfast, very pleasant staff, comfy bed and the room temperature was nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a minor issue. We had a key for a side entrance as we came in late and no porter was on duty, which is a good idea. However the door was quite difficult to open and thought we were locked out! Fortunately fiddled with the key and it opened - just needs a new lock maybe.

    We loved the décor in the room and the bar areas. The breakfast was lovely and tasty. Will definitely be back again next year when visiting our friends in Bridgnorth.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Washcloths would be have been a nice addition to the linens, a very minor inconvenience, seemingly common in GB.

    The owners were most personable. The steaks were cooked to perfection. Nice accommodations, nice view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More lamps or better bulbs in bedroom, too dim to read. Please put the very nice food directly onto plates, it's so much easier to eat. I do not understand the current "wire basket" type of presentation.

    Interesting decor, very friendly staff and nice food. We all had a very pleasant stay at The Swan.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom grey walls very dark ! Also lights not bright enough to read by Would have liked the whole of upstairs brighter colours (very dark) !

    The resturant was very comfortable Cosy areas to sit , food nicely presented

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room access by steep stairs, car park at head of slope, both challenges for we with less than normal mobility.

    very good and personal service. excellent steaks and fresh produce. Good well served breakfasts.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Fantastic country Inn. Room was beautifully styled, clean and very comfortable. Meal in the evening was extremely good value for money. Will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom headroom was restrictive for taller people. Could provide more milk 'pods' so one could have more than 1 cup of tea/coffee in the room.

    Staff very welcoming - meals delicious & well presented.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm a bad back sufferer so the wery soft matress was not for me,but thats just me personally.

    Food,Staff,location for what we needed, to see The flying Scotsman and Tornado on the SVR.Everything was good for a one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room far too hot. note left on window to say 'do not leave open because of flies'. could not open window in evening until outside light had gone out, otherwise room would have been full of moths as well as flies. Perhaps a net over window to keep flies out would enable to get some air in the room. No specials on the evening menu. told menu changed once a week Evening meal not as good as last year.

    friendly staff. good cooked breakfast, comfy bed. Nice relaxing lounge and bar area. Have stayed before felt it was not as good as last time but last time we stayed in the room with the four poster bed which was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only enough milk in the room to make a cup of tea on arrival so none for in the morning and had to plug the kettle in on the floor at the door as no sockets by the tea table area. Lovely large mirror but no sockets to dry my hair in front of it? Got back to hotel at 10.40 went to order a drink before bed but was immediately notified that it was last orders, would have been nice to have got the drinks order in first maybe?

    Breakfast was delicious and elegantly presented by a lovely, polite and considerate man.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a heavy rain that time and as a smoker I couldn't find any roof under which I could enjoy my cigarette outside.

    I really like the conservatory like dining area on the ground floor and the retro style of the hotel. Also breakfast was great and staff was very pleasant. Great location - walking distance to bridgenorth town centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My dads room had a step down to it with no lighting or warnimg sign. He fell and broke his pelvis and ribs. The staff got an ambulance but in the morning when he was still in A and E the staff member I spoke to couldn't take on board that they should have signage, lights etc. Dad never got to use the room or facilities at all and as a gesture of goodwill I think the swan should have at least taken his cost off the bill. Experience for a very average room. Also my grandsons bed wasn't made up. Wifi didn't work. I noticed other rooms with steps down again mo warning or lighting above. My dad is badly injured because of poor facilities.

    Polite staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi did not reach upstairs to the bedrooms.

    Quiet location close to (but not in) Bridgnorth. Good food and drink and a comfortable and spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been firmer. No pavement on the road outside so although short walk into Bridgnorth, it was dangerous.

    Restaurant area and food good. Garden very nice. Area beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the twin room , the beds were very clean with crisp sheets but not very comfortable , could feel the springs and a bit narrow

    All the staff were very friendly and very helpful at all times, we had a lovely stay with an excellent dinner and very good breakfast, also catered for Gluton free excellent !!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot and they didn't have a fan.

    The food was great and the staff very good , nice selection of real ales. The breakfast eggs were fresh from the chickens and delicious .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Function room was VERY noisy on one evening and spoiled what should have been a quiet drink in the garden

    Very friendly and attentive staff; well decorated and comfortable room and superb food!

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: