Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Swan Taphouse

21 The Wharfage, Ironbridge, TF8 7NH, United Kingdom

#14 of 18 hotels in Ironbridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 B&B reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay in Ironbridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a shower in our room instead of a bath, a personal preference. We didn't realise breakfast wouldn't be at the property, and that no one would be there when we left, with no advice where to leave the room key.

    The location is excellent and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Staff were really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror needed in main room,shelf in bathroom, bin in bathroom. Room needs updating and redecorating.

    Staff were really friendly. Breakfast in a nearby hotel was excellent but why can't it be provided by the hotel you stay in?!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay for solo traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were quite a few flies and bugs on the bedroom ceiling. Saying that the hot weather might have been the reason for that.

    Staff were super friendly; made me feel very welcome and at home; room was cosy with an en-suite shower room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable & not to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better breakfast & single bed,, Bath cold water & drain not working, investigate noisy leaf blower at 7:30am Sunday morning on forecourt.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyed our stay here, I would certainly go back & stay there again next time, thank you..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only dislike was the mattress wasn’t great, it was a bit soft & tired but that’s just my opinion & preference..

    Really liked the pub, the location, the staff & food.. We can not fault any of the services they offered..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.5
    Nice stay in Ironbridge the hotel is easily found and is in easy reach of all the main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hand held shower in the bath was awkward, though the shape of the rooms wouldn't allow a walk in shower.

    The location was great and there was parking, though limited, on site.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.5
    OK for a cheap one night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fashionable industrial theme works well but should stop before the gents toilet which was frankly unnacceptable.

    Room small but adequate, breakfast very good although in another pub just up the road. Dinner was very good but don't order half a rack of ribs as they are baby back ribs, not ribs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.3
    I would not stay there again and i certainly would not reccomend it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    service at meal times (main arriving before starter no room service on one of the nights Wi Fi very bad bad language out side the window from the kitchens every night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff but a shame that there were no curtains in the bedroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no curtains in the bedroom! The light woke us up very early as a result. There was also not a proper shower over the bath. The light above the sink didn’t work.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Old property with quirky features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of shower and only bath, and no bath bubbles provided!!! Loud music until late so unable to sleep, lack of pillows. Tiny tv too far away from bed. Parking not guaranteed and can be an issue.

    Old property with quirky features. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    location right in front of the river beautiful view seating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not to my liking as cooked on grill pans not done well enough but was offered and alternative / breakfast however evening meal was very good

    location right in front of the river beautiful view seating area outside

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    A Budget Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was uncomfortable. Bedside lamp had no shade. Shower cubicle was extremely small. The light over the bathroom mirror did not work. Breakfast is served in a neighbouring hotel. Poor seating area inside for a drink.

    The location and staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    3.8
    Ironbridge is a beautiful town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman at check in could barely say two words, then when the girl came to cover him she wouldn’t look up, and carried on eating! First impressions definitely count and this was not what I was expecting for the money paid for one night!! we booked a family room, all beds were awful we may as well have slept on the floor! Although it was a FAMILY room only two towels were provided, we Only had one pillow per bed! A very uncomfortable nights stay. Breakfast was not included in the price and when we asked where we could gee breakfast we were rudely told over the road and couldn’t provide a price! Overall atrocious value for money!

    Ironbridge is a beautiful town!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful and friendly staff. The room and bed was comfortable. The Breakfast Menu had a good variety of choice and the full english breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the bit about wanting to check in early but it didn’t matter in the end

    I asked to check in early and was told I could check in at 1pm instead of 2pm. However once I got to the hotel at 2pm was told the room wasn’t ready!!! They were good in putting me into a different room and adding a single bed. Breakfast was excellent and fantastic. Overall fantastic value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    The Swan Taphouse review 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main attraction (Iron Bridge) was scaffolded up.

    The staff were very accommodating friendly and polite. We really couldn't have asked for better. Thanks to everyone at Swan Taphouse !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't very comfy couldn't get any cold water on the shower.And asked for family room with double and two single beds which wasn't actually ready

    Location wasn't too bad a hotel but I heard some bad reviews from someone

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good range of beers in pub and extensive food menu in the American Smokehouse style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bedroom which was changed when highlighted.

    One of the bedrooms was very small but was changed when mentioned. Breakfasts very good. Restaurant food choices very good and good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fans in rooms but this was rectified after our stay Deposit taken despite one of the conditions of the booking being no deposit required full payment taken at check in.

    Perfect location for what we needed. Lovely location on the river nice walk along the wharf up to the Ironbridge. There were a couple of issues but these were dealt with by the both during and after our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    staff very nice,the place was very old building so the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were in room 3 the double bed mattress collapsed no spring's on one side,there was a single bed which my partner sleeped in cause the double bed was very uncomfortable

    staff very nice,the place was very old building so the quirky uneven floors and small doors and small stairs didn't bother us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice pub but room was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit tired and didn't look like a lot of effort had gone into it or that it was well looked after. The curtains were not long enough so a lot of light was let in in the morning. That and the window being directly opposite the staff smoking area it was difficult to feel like you had total privacy. Also window could not be left open as kitchen staff were playing radio incredibly loudly outside the window. I didn't feel like this room did the nice pub below it justice at all. I have stayed in much nicer rooms charging less.

    Pub was nice and staff were very friendly. Breakfast and dinner were lovely. Location is great for Iron Bridge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location for Blists Hills Victorian Village which is possibly walk able as only 1 and 3/4 miles away, or a cheap taxi ride. Wonderful breakfast. Live music was a bonus too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terrible, springs bursting through the mattress. People came to the room opposite number8, very very noisy at 2 am. They carried on banging the door going in and out, laughing, talking loudly until getting on to 4 am. Dreadful. Cobwebs on the ceiling, light shade and smoke alarm. The bathroom smelt musty as if there had been a leak. No proper shower. Horrible decor. Breakfast in another building.

    Nothing, the manager at the bar worked hard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Thoroughly enjoyable, good value for money but room a little 'tired'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower rather small, damage to decor/fittings in bathroom, curtains too short and bed uncomfortable.

    Excellent breakfast and evening meal, decent beer, good live entertainment, and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    The young lady receptionist was very pleasant and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit tatty - the wallpaper was peeling in 1 place at a join behind beds and the rear wall of the wardrobe cupboard looked as though it had been kicked in and then a hasty attempt to cover it up had been made.

    The young lady receptionist was very pleasant and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    A gem of a place! Unusual and very comfortable'n'cosy. Loved our room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very pleased with everything just surprised by breakfast being elsewhere.

    Absolutely loved the room and decor. Was surprised that breakfast was in an adjacent hotel.only 2 mins walk. The breakfast was absolutely lovely. The area was very beautiful and of course, brimming with history. A very pleasant visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No curtains in the attic bedroom so a bit light in the morning. Breakfast choices were a bit unusual!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Apart from the Problems with the room [and i wasn't in it much]stay was very pleasent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attention to detail in room not very good, TV remote not working. no bedside light, Bathroom door not closing from inside room,

    Excellent location, staff very friendly, meals very good, Live music at night added bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    3.8
    Eat there but don't stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room certainly wasn't my idea of quirky - it was shabby & not especially clean, unless you like cobwebs & a black carpet which shows up everything. One of the bedroom lights didn't work (had to ask to get it fixed); bathroom cold tap ran constantly & impossible to have a proper shower due to rubbish fixing - the shower jetted straight at the wall so had to kneel down in the bath & hold the shower attachment over me. Best of all got up on the last morning to find the place in total darkness & no-one on site (is that even legal?). Luckily we found out from another guest that breakfast was served in a sister pub along the road - we weren't the only ones staying who didn't know either. No information in the room or elsewhere to advise of this - wouldn't have believed it possible if it hadn't happened to us. Think they need to seriously re-evaluate their idea of customer service.

    The food was very good - I don't mind waiting when everything is freshly cooked

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Location of the property was excellent, staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    New matress....

    Location of the property was excellent, staff were very freindly and polite, the room was excellent, clean and tidy. Bathroom was a decent size and again clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.5
    The position of the Hotel was ideal position for the gorge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little soft for our comfort . Would have like the choice of a shower. Would have liked another pillow.

    Breakfast was very good . Would have like more choice that did not include pork, especially at breakfast. However did enjoy what we had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Just what we needed after our hectic week with the granchildren. Very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we had a lovely view of the river the room was a bit 'tired' and basic.

    The staff gave us a warm welcome and were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. T Our meals in the evening and breakfast the following day were excellent......the fish and chips the best I've had in a couple of years.........the batter so light and the chips perfectly cooked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    just okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to discover the exit at backside of the house, when trying to find the place of breakfast. Arrival and service was okay, but could be more attentive.

    The breakfast was perfectly served at the neighbours place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    A good location with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our attic room was very low in the bathroom hence to use the shower head it was necessary to sit down in the bathtub. A bit awkward for us oldies.

    Hotel staff all very friendly and personable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Good apart from the two issues I raised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat broken reported it but wasn’t fixed. Also took prepayment two days before stay and had to pay again upon arrival, transaction is still pending been nearly a week left me short on money to spend. Very disappointing 😔

    The view from room was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    very helpful and friendly staff - happy to accommodate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was not available at the hotel but at another one which was slightly inconvenient to walk to as although it was near by it happened to be a very wet morning

    very helpful and friendly staff - happy to accommodate children

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Not what I was looking forward to at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast took a long time. Felt neglected as sat for ages without tea or toast even though only 2 tables to serve. Crockery was dirty even after new crockery was brought out. Room was poorly lit and poorly ventilated and quite shabby. The guest entrance from the car park was through a cigarette littered yard.

    Size of room Evening meal Pleasant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Great rooms, great food, great location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely comfortable rooms, staff really friendly and helpful, great staying in a pub with evening meals and breakfast provided. Great location - so close to walk to the little town and bridge. Rooms spacious, warm, and good ensuite. Triple room ensuite shower a little difficult to get used to - no shower door as shower over the bath and had to clip shower to roof but the bath was great and water hot. Food was great. Parking in pub car park included. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Very inpressed with town and and presentation of all it has to offer, good hotels , museums and bars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the Iron bridge was undergoing repair and shielded by scaffolding, obviously not any fault of the Swan but disappointing Unfortunately the Iron bridge was undergoing repairs and shielded by scaffolding, obviouslynot

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.5
    Was a big contributing factor in passing my 5 day course, excellent wifi
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Better cover on the ironing board.

    Good early breakfast allowed me to get to my training course in good time. Stress levels for me were very high during the day but what a pleasant place to return to, very welcoming and a great evening meal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Very friendly manager and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very friendly manager and staff. Excellent pub for evening meals. Tuesday night we had live music, in very socialable atmosphere. This pub is ideally placed for free parking and the first venue of the Ironbridge museums and Information Centre We will be booking again. First class.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice friendly staf good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stoped in there pub and every time we went to the bar to get the same drinks the price ranged from £6 to just over £10 for the same drinks The shower had one tempture hot but was a nice place and would go back soon but will question the bar staf

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two keys instead of one for our room

    Bed slightly uncomfortable - I guess due to it being different to my own The bath cold tap was broken but wasn’t a major problem

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    it served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no Wi-Fi in attic room. swirl pool bath did not work. only 1 pillow each. Asked for a vegetarian full English breakfast but didn't get any extra food but was still the same price as the full English

    the warm friendly staff were great. location was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Fab weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff the food all outstanding special thanks to Sam and Aussie Mel for making us so welcome...will be back highly recommend staying here in this lovely oldie worldy pub

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.8
    For the price we paid it was good value. If I had paid more we would have been dissapointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the room was cold! Radiators in the room were not operating (No hot water in them) We didn't complain as we were going out. It was nice to see a whirlpool bath unfortunately this didn't work.

    Quirky accommodation well presented in a very good location. Excellent Breakfast and the food at night looked very good but as we were out elsewhere we were unable to try, we will do in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Rooms adequate for 1/2 night stay wouldnt consider longer stay without updates listed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom facilities let the room down, bidet didnt work (note requesting not to use), old spa bath which had seen better days really let the room down, really need to install new bathroom suite. Our second room had a broken window which let in cold and noise from the road outside. Matresses need replacing, not comfortable.

    The location is excellent, easy access to all the attractions in Ironbridge. The rooms were warm and well decorated. Tea/coffee and biscuits facility available in rooms, plenty of storage in room (but lose the metal coat hangers).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.5
    nice place,lovely staff, lovely food, room maintenance needed more attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a problem with the shower, but was fixed. The bedside table collapsed, replaced. There were nail heads sticking up in the carpet,banged in. The light over the sink didn't work. The bed had collapsed on one side.

    Staff were very nice. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay but wouldnt have afternoon tea again unless they changed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a couple of points there was only a hand held shower attachment in the bathroom. We had the afternoon tea which was ok but there was no clotted cream with the scones just whipped cream and the cake was not particularly nice.

    Lovely old pub the food in the evening from the menu was excellent. Bedroom was clean and comfy. In a lovely spot just down the road from the ironbridge and a lovely view of the river

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tap on the sink dripped all night and we could hear it, and the "twin" bed, one was a small double and the other was a put you up, that squeaked and was also uncomfortable with springs digging in from the mattress..

    The food in the smokehouse was good, although the burger had a bit of a twang, but that is probably the seasoning. The room was nice with a lovely view.. Nice atmosphere in restaurant and bar, pleasant staff..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    Fine for purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed awful. ..lumpy springs! Nail protruding out of carpet Had to walk to next door b&b for breakfast....coffee was instant and awful it was the same in the room...we bought our own! No one around at end of stay to pass on comments or to give key to! Residents walk through was uninviting.

    Friendly staff nice food in restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable. There was no overhead shower, just a tap attachment in the bath. Coffee at breakfast was just instant.

    Superb location. Pub and restaurant were excellent, with a great menu at reasonable prices. Menu offered a good range of American smoked dishes and Engish classics. Portion size was good. We all felt pretty full after a shared starter and mains, but the pudding menu was so good that we all decided to stuff ourselves with pudding as well. There was live music, with some good old fashioned Rock and Swing, which really added to the evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Location ideal, room comfortable, good choice of food for ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area inside the entrance from the car park could have been tidier . This had no impact on our stay but it did not create a good initial impression.

    Location ideal, room comfortable, good choice of food for breakfast and evening meal-- most of all the staff were, without exception, outstandingly helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.2
    Very bad value for money have stayed in far nicer for far cheaper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pillow and it was solid felt like cardboard.The curtain had a hole in it. The kettle had loads of loose calcium in the bottom. The sink light didn't work.The iron was burnt black and tripped the power to the room twice. Plus the plaster board behind the bedside table had been very badly repaired and had a huge hole and cracks. Revealing the pipework Behind it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.4
    Basic. One above the YHA, but the YHA probably had better beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed had weak mattress support and bed covering looked cheap. Curtain in room didn't come down below the windowsill thus letting light in after daybreak.

    Fairly central location. Shower was good and hot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.4
    WE WOOD NOT STAY THERE AGINE ALSO WOOD NOT TELL ANY ONE IN OUR AGE TO BOOK A ROOM WITH OUT ASKING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OUR ROOM WAS IN THE ATIC NO WINDOWS BUT 3 IN ROOF NO LIFT AS WE ARE IN OUR LATE 70SNOT VERY GOOD

    WE HAD TO GO TO THE MALT H0USE FOR OUR BREAKFAST WHICH WE WERE NOT TOLD TILL WE ARRIVED NOT VERY GOOD

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced but not far off being right
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room was very small and over the top of the kitchen where there was loud fan from 0600 until 2300. The female chef was constantly arguing with staff which I could hear. The room looked out to the rear of the property with no views which was lit up all night, that last point wouldn’t be an issue, but the curtains didn’t fit the window so the room was lit all night and the bedroom furniture was shoddy. The toilet seat was hanging off and there were cobwebs in the bathroom. The breakfast was split over two places for the two days and had different menus, and was a bit disorganised (I believe staff had just taken over both properties). I didn’t mention any of this to the staff as they didn’t ask. It’s not far off being a good accommodation, but it’s currently overpriced at £55 plus breakfast.

    The location is excellent. The staff were friendly and I was made welcome, it’s a cycle friendly place, no indoor lock up as such but has a secure courtyard. The room was clean (except cobwebs in bathroom) and shower was excellent with nice orange smelling toiletries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.2
    I was booked for Sunday night Sept 24th.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was booked for Sunday night Sept 24th. The burst water main in the area closed virtually everything in the area and there was no certainty that the hotel would be able to function properly. I called in the hotel at 11-30 that morning to explain that there was no point in staying and that I would be moving on to the next stage of my trip. I was dismayed to find when a returned home that I had been charged the full price. John E Holden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.4
    Strange, but ideal location for visiting area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were advised breakfast would be in bar, when we came down there was nobody around, a note on the door saying breakfast would be served in the next hotel along the road, luckily they new about it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent staff, fabulous building and brilliant location. Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating could have been turned down a little bit... the bedrooms were very warm

    Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent (except for the eggs on the first breakfast), better on the second day. Only disappointing thing was no ground floor accommodation for disabled/elderly, who would really enjoy staying in a fabulous building. Thank you all for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfy and friendly atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was poorly lit and the toilet seat was falling off! Also the TV was tiny and the other side of the room so could hardly see it.

    The complimentary tea and biscuits and bottled water replenished every day was a nice touch. Also the quirky features in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Definitely worth a stay. But book well in advance if you wish to eat an evening meal!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whirlpool bath didn’t work. Neither did the shower & theres was nowhere to hook the shower head in our attic room. The Wi-fi would reach our room & it was very hit & miss downstairs.

    The staff was friendly & the food was good. It’s gets very busy, so you need to book a table if you want an evening meal, well in advance!! The rooms are very stylish, clean & comfortable. Definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.2
    Unlikely to return although the location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have twin rooms available if that is what is booked, acknowledged and paid for in advance

    We booked a twin room. On arrival we were shown to a double and advised there was not a twin available but they could put a 'put you up' in the room and we were not the first to arrive that day expecting a twin room and not available. As a young person this would probably have been acceptable but now in our 60s that is not the case. Eventually when it was realised we were not going to back down - even after being offered a full refund and to go and find alternative accommodation - one of us was offered a room at a property along the road. Not ideal staying in separate properties although we were advised we would not be charged extra for having single rooms! The second room was not en suite although did have its own bathroom across the corridor. The room was in between 2 suites who rolled back a 11:45 for a drinks party which ended at 1:45. The wall between the room and suite was nothing more than a stud wall and the bed may as well have been in the middle of the suite. I could tell you everyone's name, what they drink and that tonic doesn't go with sloe gin - who knew! The power sockets for the TV, kettle and hair dryer did not work. I did advise the staff on duty back at the Swan Taphouse and they suggested I speak with the staff at the second property which was all closed up so I asked them to pass on the comments about the inconsiderate guests and the power issues.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Good Atmosphere friendly place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sliding across a walkway to a very narrow staircase to then walk down the street to another establishment for breakfast

    Very friendly and helpful staff especially Richard and Amelia

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    nice restful room aboce a pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a bath with a shower wand. It would have been nice to have a holder for the shower wand.

    The staff were excellent and the breakfast tasty

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    Unfortunately due to a Severn Trent leak we had absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately due to a Severn Trent leak we had absolutely no running water during our stay so couldn’t shower/wash etc after paying £160 for the stay I was disappointed the manager was refusing to compensate in any way. I will not be returning to this hotel and can highly recommend the lion in broseley just a 5 min drive from ironbridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    Ideal for all attractions at Ironbridge which was the reason for our visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall appearance was rather tired. It's a very old building and the bedroom could do with a make over. No mirror in bedroom, faded curtains and the windows could do with a good clean.

    The food was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    The area is beautiful,the people were very friendly & the Ironbidge Museums are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the pub is a popular place, it was quite noisy in the bedrooms with people sitting talking outside the pub until late. We were so tired after a long day walking around it didn't bother us too much..but if you were going for peace & quiet it may not be the ideal place.

    The perfect place to base yourself to do all the Ironbridge museums. The staff at the hotel were helpful & friendly,& our evening meal & breakfast were tasty & freshly cooked. If you want to have an evening meal in the restaurant you should book before you arrive as it gets booked up,especially at weekends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money, redecorate in sympathy of building age and no Nescafe!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decent coffee perhaps a cafetiere brought to the breakfast table. Also decor a bit strange for age of pub, we had to go next door to malthouse in the morning (which I think belongs to the same owners) and I'm not an hotel inspector but I think Dennis the Menace lampshades belong in little boys bedrooms not in a pub/restaurant?

    Duty manager was nice and helpful comfortable bed . Breakfast (next door the first morning) was very good but maybe I'm mean , I thought the evening meals were a little expensive for the content.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing - Team could have paid more attention to essentials.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of cohesion! Staff willing but not efficient. Failed to mention that breakfast would be served at 'sister' pub up the road. Came downstairs (three down-flights and one up-flight) and set alarms off by exiting from residents access into bar/restaurant. All closed and note on the door to send us '30 secs up the road'. Back upstairs for raincoats as weather was heavy rain and windy. Arrived soaked and cold at restaurant. The explanation was that the two pubs take turns to serve breakfast, 'as it makes things easier for us' (rather than the paying guests?). They (both) were surprised no-one had told us when we arrived. Food good apart from limp pre-packed cheap wholemeal bread (listed 'on granary bread') for smoked salmon and poached (fried actually) egg breakfast, and sachet instant coffee at DIY tea/coffee table. Dinner ambitious, but with little attention to flavour mixing. Beautifully cooked 'pit bbq' brisket, but the hot cajun smoked hot dog came covered with overwhelming 'mustard fried onions' and coleslaw. Not a brilliant combination. The time slot for breakfast was limited - the local cafes' were not. Despite the room being pretty, it was freezing cold... I had to request that the radiators went on in the attic, this was dealt with by phoning the manager to come and 'flick the switch' as he had probably forgotten. Meanwhile we had spent the evening wrapped in bedclothes to keep warm. Also the shower was attached to the bath head, and had a makeshift plastic bracket screwed to the beam overhead to hang it from when in use, and spraying water onto the wall and floor, as there was no curtain. We bathed instead. The location was very good,across the road from the Museum of the Gorge, a couple of minutes walk from the Iron Bridge itself, and walkable to other museums, The Pipe Museum, Tile Museum etc all on the doorstep more or less.

    The building was lovely, and the location was excellent. The room itself was an attractive attic room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Overall, a pleasant room with beautiful surroundings but a few faults
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't cleaned for several days, as the cleaners don't seem to have a schedule for you to know when to be out of the room. However, even when cleaned, the sheets and towels were simply folded and not replaced, which isn't ideal for a longer stay. Walking up to the residents area from the actual pub would be difficult for those not too steady on their feet, as the stairs were very narrow in length. In addition to this, we didn't get to eat breakfast at the restaurant, as we felt it was too expensive (£10 per day) which was a shame as we would've liked to experience the food.

    The room was nicely decorated and had character with a dressing table, beautiful view of the river and nicely sized bath and toilet in the bathroom. Upon entering, the staff were friendly and made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    Bearable... but glad to be home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, awful shower, attic room with skylights without blinds, shabby walkways to room with soiled/missing carpets, difficult for luggage.... questionable fire safety escape from room.

    Staff and location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.2
    A quick stay to break up journey back home and chance to see family. But I would not stay longer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to start with cereal for breakfast because no second choice from cows milk. Allergic to cows milk.

    Full English was very nice. Everything else was basic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    4.2
    Needs a lot of upgrading. Corridors not carpeted in parts and rather dingy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to walk to sister hotel for breakfast which was very dark, breakfast greasy and coffee not very hot. Parking spaces not easy to access. Seems to be a permanent wire hanging over wall for someone charging their car.

    Dinner in pub downstairs good. Seems quite popular.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Very poor value for money, worth £30 no more at £55 and no breakfast just terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast should be included in the price and served from 08.00 not from 09.00. All upstairs rooms and whole place needs a big renovation. Would not stay there again

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75