Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Swan Hotel 4 stars

Market Place, Southwold, IP18 6EG, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 244 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel seemed to be more concerned with design rather than being practical for its guests. For example a double room with only one chair, nowhere to put toiletries in the bathroom, wardrobe that would not accommodate anything longer than a jacket. Staff very friendly but require training in customer service.

    Breakfast and its service was very good. Bed linen crisp and fresh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like!!

    Absolutely amazing break, exceptionally clean, very attentive staff nothing too much trouble, all needs catered for, a real luxury.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies toilet & disabled toilet were out of order due to the storms so we had to use a staff toilet in the public area, not ideal but out of the hotels control.

    Beautiful bedrooms & dining room, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel room was extremely hot; windows closed when we arrived

    Free loan of new bikes; lovely cycle ride to Walberswick. Hotel has its own secure car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The positioning of the curtains allowed huge amounts of light to enter the room. Exterior light lit up the room at night. Creaky floorboards from upstairs disturbed the night. Soggy skin on my chicken and the "gin poached" pear didn't taste like it had even seen any gin! The knives in the restaurant and very awkward to use - typically style over substance.

    Bed really comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nicely refurbished room with comfortably bed and everything we needed for the night stop over we had. The service was great and the food in the restaurant was amazing. The breakfast was great and set us up for a great day site seeing and time on the beech.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was crazy warm, had to ask for a fan but even with the windows open and the fan on full blast it was a very warm night. The street was pretty loud with a motorbike and cars speeding up and down, but fully understand this is out of the hotels control, but something to note if you have a little one with you like we did.

    Food was really good and staff where really accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a wonderful experience here, I was upgraded which was amazing and the staff were so friendly all the time. I loved it and would highly recommend this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Position of coffee machine in bedroom - located in alcove of wall unit made it difficult to remove and refit water tank.

    Comfy well furnished communal areas and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Beautifully and tastefully appointed hotel. Room 2 was fantastic - didn't want to leave it!! King sized bed was so comfortable. Bathroom facilities were superb. Staff are brilliant, friendly and knowledgeable. Well located in the centre of town and so close to the beaches, with the pier within half a mile. Breakfast is great with a nice selection of hot dishes. Good and secure car parking. Two restaurants serving good food albeit there's a significant overlap on the menus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel recently refurbished and in a great location, close to the beach and pier. Lots of shops early, and a great selection of places to eat and drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue with the room was that the pillows were too soft.

    We were lucky enough to have our room upgraded, and it was beautiful. Food was really good and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We loved the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. The decor of the room and hotel. The evening and breakfast menus. Everything about the whole weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were incredibly hot on an average day outside. Feather bedding was uncomfortable.

    Lovely location, easy access to the high street and local areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved every thing, every minute of my stay

    I loved every second of my stay here, first of all the town is beautiful. The location of the hotel is perfect, and it looks beautiful outside! It was easy to find their car park, which had lots of space. The lady who welcomed us and checked us in was so friendly, they upgraded our room as it was my birthday! Our room was beautiful, every little detail thought out - with lots of tea and coffee, treats, toiletries, ironing board and iron (which you hardly ever get anymore!). The bed was so comfy, I had one of the best ever sleeps I’ve had. Breakfast was delicious!! Everything was perfect, I couldn’t have asked for any more. The interior was amazing too, I’m an interior designer so I loved every detail - even got up earlier to explore and take photos!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the hotels fault but the weather could have been better but the stay at the hotel and the town made up for it

    Fantastic breakfast and dinner, well done chef and your staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast we had was avacado with bacon and a poached egg, which was lacking in flavour ( the avacado tasted sour ) and lacked seasoning.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food in the evening was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service good. Dinner service bad. Had to ask for coffee 3 times in tap room and waited an hour to order sweet in restaurant. Room wasn't cleaned until 4 pm and only then when I asked.

    Location good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a bit of a shame about the noise coming from the ground floor (we were on 1st fl) from the brewery trucks near by and the brewery tour bar underneath our rooms. View wasn't great for one of our rooms. It was basically a fire exit, so outdoor stairs, landing, building

    A lovely comfortable stay all around. Stylish decor, super clean rooms, delicious food and great service. Very well equipped rooms with a large variety of snacks and drinks, Nespresso machines and HD smart TVs you can login to for your favourite programs or films.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the modern decor a little at odds with the hotel itself and the town.

    The position of the hotel and the room although the bath was a little tricky to get out of!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing dinner but dining room staff dealt with our complaint promptly & courteously.

    The location & the helpful staff also the gin & tonic was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. Scrambled eggs were cool on both days

    The Hotel has been renovated and the decor and comfort levels are superb both in communal areas and individual rooms where even standard is excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the one thing that lets this hotel down is the food. We had chocolate cake in the afternoon that was very dry. We also ate in the restaurant for dinner. We were not impressed at all. The lemon sole was dry. The fish board was awful. No taste to it and we are sure the chef put sugar in the cockles instead of salt! We would not eat here again.

    We thought the hotel was beautiful following refurbishment. The rooms were excellent and have everything you need including some nice touches. There are public rooms where you can sit in the bar, restaurant and have afternoon tea in a relaxing atmosphere. The staff, especially the night porter were very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there is any criticism (and I'm nit picking now) the food and coffee could afford to be hotter.

    The staff were all very accommodating, friendly and helpful-exceptional service in fact. Situated central to the town and very convenient. lots to do and see - beautiful walks from the hotel. 2 nights of luxury and I wanted to stay longer. A little pricey but well worth the treat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a different menu in the bar to the main restaurant.

    Staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The hotel had a relaxing atmosphere and very family friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disturbed in our room by noise that should have kept out with better sound proofing.

    The decor was beautiful, extremely comfortable and sumptuous. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the menu would have more choice and not so basic .But still nice

    Staff were excellent and the room was lovely and it’s nice to see a busy well run bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the meal was rushed, in and out in an hour, £100 for a meal that I was hoping would be enjoyed over an evening.

    I really like the lounge at the front of the restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit perturbed that the diner menu lists every item separately. What happened to ordering a meal and getting a meal? To be fair though, looking around this seems to be a Southwold trend.

    As usual the staff were first class, the room excellent comfortable and clean. The signal on the television was a bit poor but other than that everything was fine. A bit expensive but again in Southwold this is to be expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was the only thing that wasn’t on-point. Need to be made with freshly ground beans, strong, hot, and fresh. This is the norm now at any small cafe.

    London style with Suffolk charm. Wonderful interior design and warm friendly staff, in our favourite holiday destination.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much left in the room in terms of free biscuits, but they did leave a small bottle of gin . Mirror in room dusty . Windows draughty Expensive for what it was

    Comfortable bed and crisp cotton sheets . Good breakfast but staff mixed up on timing bringing coffee and toast . Good reception staff Nice lounge and bars Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms décor would have been better if it was in keeping with the historic building rather than making it look like many other hotels, which is the current fashion. Plus the room was filled with tat.

    the staff were friendly and efficient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They never restocked the bar and snacks after first night

    The room was nice and big the bar had a nice feel to it nice to have a bath and shower nice to have a mini bar and snacks all the extras were nice the draughts board extras in the wardrobe

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, who seem to be very proud of the hotel. Southwold is a gem of a place. The contemporary decor is stylish, and has been executed to a very high standard. Love the star tiles in the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not have been improved.

    Superbly renovated Hotel. Contemporary design which congruously blended with the age of the Hotel. Very comfortable and styled room. Nice comfy bed and pillows. Super attentive staff. Had a late night snack of the nicest chips I have ever tasted. Yum yum The staff were all bright and helpful. Great Butler - curly haired chap whose name I think is Holmes? Lovely man. All of the staff made our stay very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to check that the main lounge is not booked out to any party as it is a central part of the offering Not somewhere for those interested in their wine as whilst the wines are pleasant, information is not provided that shows a focus on wine ie years not provided

    Chairs throughout the hotel comfortable which is big plus Lighting really good Decor attractive & enjoyable: bedrooms & public rooms attractive including the two dining rooms Staff excellent Food delicious as is the beer

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Sunday night we ate in the Tap Room. Enjoyed the food but the service let the experience down. My husband had to go to the bar as his drink didn’t arrive. I had ordered a sparkling water which didn’t arrive,asked a passing waitress,still didn’t arrive. A different waiter appeared on the scene and quickly sorted things out. The coffee machine in the room didn’t work properly. Someone came to the room to help with the coffee machine. Even after he had been the coffee still was only warm. The breakfast was average. No muesli, no cold meats or cheese. Not too good for £260 per night.

    Loved the hotel decor and comfort of large room. Situation of hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food served in the dinning room was not up to standard in fact it was awful I do not call a small piece of Sea Bass and three lettuce leaf a main course served on a cold plate the extra vegetables were cold as well I mean really!! When I complained the waitress just brushed it off I have eaten in the dinning room many times the food was always good and the menu was varied this menu is really very small and not put in a very clear way.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wished we could have turned the TV around so we could see it in bed.

    The decor is lovely, the room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was perfect. Loved the little extra touches in the room. The food in the restaurant was delicious although the tables were slightly too small for two at breakfast and the knives were awful (modern design/awkward to hold and use!)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a cookie the 2nd morning with our morning cuppa, otherwise no complaints.

    Bed & mattress so comfy was hard to get up in the mornings. Nothing to much trouble for any of the staff we will return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with exceptional decoration. We were upgraded to a lovely room at the front overlooking the market. Staff really looked after us and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. The Tap Room bar is lovely too. The room cost more than we would usually spend but it was filled with high end products so worth the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The welcome we received was excellent, very friendly, informative receptionist, I think her name was Sam. All the staff from reception, restaurant, bar, butlers and housekeeping were super friendly, which made the stay even more enjoyable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is challenging but they are trying to fix that

    Lovely hotel - we had a delightfully quaint room with a very comfortable bed. Staff are always really lovely and friendly. - great breakfasts too :-)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bathroom looked in need of attention outside, shower head also looked a bit in need of a polish.

    Huge room but many creaky stairs to get there. Discovered small lift which helps! Huge bed. Nice staff. Open fire. We were treated v well as our anniversary, and staff made a fuss of us and we were made to feel v special.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too soft No hair dryer or iron in room

    Opening windows in bedroom for lovely sea air Good parking space Very attentive staff Excellent cooked breakfast, a good start to the day

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner... Just wasn't as good as expected.. didn't finish it And very expensive for what it actually was .

    Location wonderful.. Room comfortable and had real character.. Breakfast very good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was seriously dated (décor), with squeaky floorboards and a bathroom a little worse for wear, but all was very clean. We felt a little disappointed for the price we had paid for two nights. The built in cupboard had no light inside so difficult to find things later in the evening.

    Lovely, helpful staff - very good finding a parking space for us and taking up luggage etc. Really nice breakfast, though the toast a little rubbery; great serving staff - polite, very pleasant and efficient.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food at evening meal too precocious: why have an amuse-bouche of soup before soup as our starter? Parking inadequate

    We were lucky with the weather Great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb Classic English style hotel. Decor and ambience is to perfection. A lovely place to stay for a weekend or long weekend stay to simply relax unwind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs in bedroom too low and soft for the elderly or with bad hips. Similarly bath side too high and unable to enter, even for a shower. Restaurant menu too quirky for the elderly.

    Bed and pillows very comfortable. Staff extremely polite and helpful and provided a solution for our shower problem (see next section).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is difficult to find any fault with the Swan so I will not even try.

    The room had just been refurbished and it was to a very high standard.The furnishings and decor were first class. The hotel maintains a modern approach with an emphasis on good friendly service while at the same time preserving the Georgian charm of the building. The food was fine dining at its best, the dinner was superb and is to be recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom rather drab and in need of an update, not keen on in-bath shower. But clutching at straws really as everything was in good working order!

    Traditional comfort,nice food, and the staff are just lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very creaky floorboards disturbing sleep. Whole building in need of renovations which I understand is planned. Cost high for present facilities. No safe or fridge for example. Small room, step to en suite, tripping hazard.

    Good linen and food. Staff excellent. Atmosphere good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The brewery adjacent to our room window starting work at 7am;the room was smelly and we had to have the douvet changed prior to use.

    The location relative to the sea front was good as were the breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general decor and a bit of modernisation!

    Hotel generally very tired. Its Southwold I know but nowhere near £185.00 per night standard room!!!! Were good enough to refund part of room rate after we raised this point! Look forward to seeing quality post refit!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely mini break - excellent can't fault it at all. Really comfy bed, street view, delicious breakfast and superb location. We will be returning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Radio 2 at Breakfast I suggest an additional light outside the building when walking from rooms to the restaurant in the dark

    Exceptional restaurant imaginative menu beuatifully cooked and presented. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we stayed in a " cottage" and it was pooring down with rain no umbrella in room so got soaked on way to breakfast

    Breakfast staff very nice. But food bit bland

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one vegie option on main restaurant menu. There may have been more if requested but not sure.

    Great location and beautiful old building with many old portraits (presumably family who owned the house but never got round to investigating this)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, thought at £165 room was just a tad pricey but overall a great stay which I would highly recommend

    Location spot on, room fantastic, breakfast excellent, (smoked haddock & poached eggs) staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was located next to a ventilation system which meant we had a disturbed nights sleep. Should have been warned or windows need to be double glazed. Room number 7 refers.

    Relaxed atmosphere and cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a fridge in the room. We stayed in a room outside the main hotel. It would have been nice to be able to have ice for drinks without having to leave the room.

    Location was fab. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complete lack of help or advice re parking when all car parks full. No map of town given or any advice from manager who didn't give a toss so we parked miles away. No apology and then the fire alarm being set off by staff at 4am. No apology given either. We were made to feel hotel didn't care and only interested in money not guests.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    £165.00 a night B/B. is very pricey. didn't think that the restaurant menu was varied enough and expensive

    best pillows of any hotel i've stayed in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to suffer stained bed linen on one of the beds, reception said it had been dealt with, they must have changes the sheets and not spotted the duvet, which had obvious stains, with that and the raging hot room, we were not best pleased, at £185 for the night, not right some how, just managed to get £50 off the bill, which was better than nothing, will use the restaurant again, but never stay over

    The restaurant was excellent , as were the bars and lounges

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking is a bit tricky but in view of the location there's nothing you can do about it really

    Everything,really,,the location,comfort,elegance and smartness of the public areas,quality of the food and service of the staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was OK and well presented with a lot of choice. Good tea at breakfast. However the fish was tasteless (scallop, prawns, sea bream) at dinner and I suspect it was frozen not fresh. A fire alarm sounded briefly at 5 am which woke us! Apparently old wiring in the staff block.

    Comfortable bedroom and bathroom. Excellent ceiling lighting for reading, bedside lights for gentle light, and nightlighting. Fluffly towels of a good size. Friendly helpful staff and very clean garden room. The garden room was very quiet at night, no traffic noise. The garden was pretty but hadn't been watered in the dry weather (maybe water shortages in Southwold?).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy extractor or similar outside of room made sleeping almost impossible - told reception next morning - nothing happened. Complained at midnight next night after trying to sleep for more than 1 hour we were then moved to quiet room and slept - not as long as we wanted to as we had a long journey home. Really spoilt our break.

    Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows in the room were too firm , there should be perhaps 2 soft and 2 firm .... Did not like being referred to in the restaurant when giving me my breakfast ...'here we are young lady ,,,,.!!!!! ...I am 69 and found the comment patronising

    Hotel in a Great position , was able to leave our car in the car park even after booking out !, overall very good , but expensive

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey people in room above. Shower over the bath didnt stay in place. Would prefer a separate shower cubicle.

    Lovely food dinner excellent. Room comfortable. Good coffee facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    Gave me and my wife a free upgrade , which was fantastic had a brilliant extra king size bed , which was nice and comfy 2 sinks in the bathroom . Breakfast was lovely as well .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice breakfast but the service was abrupt to the point of rudeness, as if the maitre d had just wandered in from a parade ground.

    A comfortable room in a fine old hotel/inn.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar food only average and having soup they forgot the bread but when we mentioned this just said sorry but made no attempt to bring any.

    Location and most of the staff were efficient and friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot in the dining room at breakfast. Must be terrible for the staff too. No aircon in the bedroom (but, thankfully, there was a large fan)

    Very friendly staff; lovley old building & well decorated inside; rear garden 'chalet' room I stayed in looking onto a central garden; free car parking on site; effective WiFi; good breakfast; great location in the town centre and near the sea front/beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though the hotel has it's own car, it is quite small and you may find yourself struggling to find the parking place or will be advised to park at the nearest Crown Hotel, which we found not very much comfortable.

    We enjoyed the stay very much. Perfect location right in the heart of the town. Cozy and very friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: