Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Tal-y-Cafn Hotel 3 stars

Tal-y-Cafn, Conwy Valley, Tal-y-Cafn, LL28 5RR, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Tal-y-Cafn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 66 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    A fantastic short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was beautiful and the room, although small, was clean with a wonderful bathroom. We were welcomed by the owner Graham, who was a knowledgeable, passionate about his business and a wonderful host. We expected just to eat and go back to our room, but instead we stayed in the bar area and had the best night we have ever had in a hotel. I would highly recommend a visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    The room is very comfortable with an amazing bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooked breakfast and they have music playing in the bar on Saturday nights which is below the room.

    The room is very comfortable with an amazing bathroom. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    The room was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooked breakfast. The continental one you can request is not the best but better than nothing.

    The room was very comfortable. The bathroom is amazing. They have a great looking restraint below but we didn’t get the chance to try it unfortunately. They have a refrigerator in the room for you to keep food and drinks. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.5
    Evening meal was good and there was a good atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cooked breakfast but option of continental delivered previous evening. No mirror for hair drying. Only one easy chair.

    Evening meal was good and there was a good atmosphere. Great shower and big fluffy towels. Comfortable bed and quirky furnishing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    Having got there we just had to roll with it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast. No visible staff. It isn't a traditional hotel, more a pub with rooms which wasn't made clear on booking with you. For what it is it is as expensive as nearby luxury hotel prices.

    The bed was comfy, but what croissants. With just two bedrooms and no breakfast this was an odd one. Once out of there in the morning it was impossible to get back in! The evening food was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Modern experience in traditional pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were surprised to find out that there was no breakfast available at all, so we had to drive away to get breakfast. The staff told us they plan to offer breakfast in the future when they expand the number of rooms.

    Excellent food in the pub, good selection of beers. Nice setting. Modern room and bathroom. Very easy check-in/check-out experience: we just got the keys on the first evening / left the keys last morning without any questions asked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Tal-y-Cafn - Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice bed room, and decor. Really nice bathroom. Location is great for Zip World, Betws y Coed, Surf Snowdonia. Friendly Staff. Great restaurant with great selection of beers and single malts !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Exceptionally lovely, excellent staff and can’t wait to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every member of staff we encountered was extremely lovely and polite, and went the extra mile to make sure our stay was perfect. The room was exactly to expectations (we stayed in the King Room, really lovely and cosy) and the bathroom exceeded them, the bath was especially amazing! We also ate at the restaurant downstairs and thoroughly enjoyed our meal, where the service was excellent. The location is great, we were never more than 15 minutes away from local towns. We will definitely be coming back. We are excited to see what the expansions will be like too. Thank you to everyone there, especially the manager, Rhiannon and the gentleman who served us our dinner!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful room, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be great to have a mini fridge in the room (for the sandwich or so) as there is no breakfast available.

    The room was nice and clean. We were very impressed by the design of the room. Although, constant noise was coming from the restaurant, it didn't disturb us and we even enjoyed the music. Liked that room had both - bath and shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everyone there was incredibly friendly and couldn’t do enough for us. The room was a spectacular especially the bathroom. View from our bed of Snowdonia was breathtaking and we will be rebooking there. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Bed was comfortable, The restaurant downstairs, Parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed two nights. On the second day they forgot to clean our rooms. Think the owner was away and the staff didn't remember to. The restaurant/pub opens in the afternoon, and no breakfast options. closest supermarket is about a mile away at National Beekeeping Centre.

    Bed was comfortable, The restaurant downstairs, Parking space, Free wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location, friendly staff, would come back to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in our room didn’t look like it had been hoovered as lots of bits on the floor likely left behind by other guests. Could do with having a mirror in the bedroom, as only one is in the bathroom so not able to use hairdryer etc in front of a mirror. Place does look to be under construction so could do with some finishing touches e.g minor paint work on walls, door frames etc.

    Very modern, especially the bathroom - loved the shower and the mirror with bluetooth and de-misting function built in. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We also had dinner in the restaurant and the food was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Well dressed and well mannered staff in a beautiful hotel perfect for couples away for the weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was perfect for us and worth every penny if the both of us were more than 5 foot nothing tall the roof slope would have been a problem 😁

    Main restaurant looks beautiful however we weren't eating The king room was well decorated especially the bath room and worth every penny

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Room not as advertised disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get the room which we had booked and seen advertised on booking.com. Room The room was advertised as the king room on booking.com with a photo of the family room (which we only found out upon being taken to the room). The hotel staff admitted they had put the wrong photo on booking.com falsely advertising the family room as the king room. This was very disappointing as the actual king room was much smaller and I thought I had booked a larger room for my husbands birthday trip. The hotel only brought a bottle of wine as an apology after I had to raise the issue with booking.com.

    Comfortable bed, modern bathroom and food in restaurant lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to go and get someone to make the bed and ask to have clean towels and fresh tea and coffee. There was no one around to check out strange set up like we were an inconvenience.

    The room was gorgeous clean and you could see the mountains from the bed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely room and stunning bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As you would expect, being above a busy restaurant, it was pretty noisy. Quietened down after 2330, when people went home though

    Lovely room and stunning bathroom. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was disappointing not to have breakfast on offer. Not only was it not included in the very high price but it was not on offer. I think it would have been better to offer a breakfast pack that could be eaten in the room with the tea and coffee. We were also disappointed that the radiator in the bathroom was not on as it was October. The room was not cold, but we needed to dry our hand washing as we were walking a long distance footpath (the North Wales Pilgrims Way). The staff did try to help us with that and also offered a tumble dryer, but the heating did not actually work in our room.

    I liked the bathroom. There was a really nice bath and shower. The room was nicely designed too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.0
    Some good aspects, but the rooms seem like a bit of an awkward add-on to the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived the floor had not been cleaned. Indeed, the lack of cleaning continued throughout our stay. Over the course of the three nights/days we stayed at Tal-Y-Cafn, we did not have any basic attention paid to our room; no bins emptied, cups replaced, or any basic cleaning. We left towels on the bath, as suggested in the note on the radiator, to have them changed after the second night, but these were not taken. In summary, our room was not serviced at all for the duration of our stay, which was disappointing. On the last night, we were awoken by the burglar alarm system activating outside our window. This turned off after around 10-15 minutes, however this did highlight another point. The only documentation we were aware of in our room was a menu for the downstairs restaurant. If, as assumed, there is not an on-site presence during the night for the Tal-Y-Cafn rooms, there should be a number available which can be called on occasions such as this. Further basic information in a Welcome Pack would also be useful. Breakfast is not included in the nightly cost of the rooms. This was fully detailed and understood on booking, and was re-iterated when we arrived. However, given the significant cost of the room per night, it is disappointing that this cost seems to be entirely ‘room only’ - i.e. no room servicing or provision of basic information.

    There were a number of positive aspects to our stay. The layout and quality of the room was very good; the bathroom in particular has been very nicely designed with the addition of slate into the walls. The bath and shower were also very nice. We dined in the restaurant on two nights; on both occasions the food was excellent, and we would definitely recommend this as somewhere to eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't know why there were so many flies(at least 8) in the room after we opened the windows.

    The design of the room was unforgettable. It was convenient to park the car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Pure excellence in every aspect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better.

    Food was excellent, as where staff at all levels, room was excellent, perfect location to explore all that the beauty of North Wales has to offer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The bedroom was spacious and the bed very comfortable with a modern well planned bathroom with excellent walk-in shower. Very good menu for the evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Absolutely beautiful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service. After a long drive this would have been ideal.

    The room was beautiful,the bed was extremely comfy. The staff were very welcoming ad friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loft rooms, skylight windows open but no view of river. Not really bad but a view would have been lovely.

    Quiet and clean. Wonderful bathroom. Helpful staff, good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Had a lovely bathroom, with a large bath and Bluetooth mirror with a cosy rustic room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    The room was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast or shop close by. You will need a car for sure as the road is pretty dangerous.

    The room was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    We loved the decor and the thought that went into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes at all

    We loved the decor and the thought that went into the facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely decor
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely decor Comfortable bed. Accommodating host who waited up for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    No breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and relaxing. Staff were very friendly and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited too long to check out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable, friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel didn't serve breakfast.

    The room was very spacious, clean, comfortable and modern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Tal y Cafn is such a beautiful village and area. We will be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only continental breakfast served at present.

    The food was excellent. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If i really had to put something it would be no air con in the room. But we took our own fan anyway.

    Lovely modern room. Bathroom very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Suited us but overpriced for a room and no facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast no fresh milk available for tea in the room Staff enjoyed the music louder when we went to bed 🤪

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Definitely worth a stay definitely would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't serve breakfast at the moment.

    The staff were really friendly and the food in the restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Good food and staff, accommodation very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect we had a great time Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea tray in room could have herbal teas and a biscuit.

    The bathroom was lovely. The Manager was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    No breakfast available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast available

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Finished to a good standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finished to a good standard

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    No breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast included

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    4.6
    The places is nicely furnished downstairs. Upstairs was dirty and smelly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelt of sewage and had leaves all over the floor. They do not provide breakfast.

    Restaurant was nice downstairs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Excellent food, excellent decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food, excellent decor. Nice welcoming feel, will definitely return

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Modern and very clean, excellent staff and very enjoyable stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42