Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Talbot Inn 4 stars

High Street, Ripley, Woking, GU23 6BB, United Kingdom

#7 of 15 hotels in Woking

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 753 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No crisps available in the bar, had to ask for more coffee, juice etc at breakfast and thought pancakes at breakfast were poor

    Comfortable bed and good location for our purpose

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really grubby, the headboard had a thick layer of dust on it In the evening we waited 20mins to be served at the bar. Then, being first in line not served and told to be more patient!!

    Nice welcome Fab shower Bar had lovely atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was too soft to our preference. The towel rail was boiling hot all the time even though it was 25C outside making room 6 very stuffy and uncomfortable. The switch with the red light turns the TV on and off and not the towel rail as suggested by the receptionist.

    Garden and restaurant area was pleasant. Quality of dinner menu. Lovely looking old building. Thoughtful touches to include a blanket and bowl for the dog.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit more variety of cereal and fresh fruit otherwise no complaint

    lovely little village, oldly world looking from the outside. quaint pub inside. quirky with low ceilings very pleasant staff receptionist very friendly. Had a meal in the restaurant at night and couldn't fault it. The breakfast was buffet (hot breakfast) good choice. A few more choices of cereal and fresh fruit would have been nice. Room was of a nice size , comfortable bed tea coffee provided , hairdryer etc. car park was of decent size. There was a wedding party on but it wasn't too noisy. Our bedroom was on the front so we heard the main road traffic but wasn't bad nothing to complain about , Would recommend it and stay again. Nice garden area and consevatory

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is on a main road with a lot of traffic, very noisy. A little dated decor. Not much privacy as walls quite thin. Staff very young and inexperienced. Breakfast a bit of a shambles, took 15 mins and asking 3x to get coffee and they ran out of most stuff. Back garden could be lovely, but there is a very noisy kitchen fan that ruins the atmosphere, such a shame!

    Nice period property, lovely area, cute pub

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinks served after 11.00pm. The bar is cleared and we were told if we wanted to drink later it had to be either in our rooms or in the garden. However we did manage to stay in the bar area until about 11.45pm whilst clearing up went on around us.

    Dinner menu was good and food well-presented but we had finished our first course before our wine appeared and the steak knives were supplied at the last moment. The impression was of a rather inexperienced ‘crew’.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff we re a little strange. We both felt it was a little strained and the manager/ owner a bit overbearing to be honest and at one point he chided the waiter for missing a bottle of wine on our that had been included and it was all a little weird. Also the lady on reception was pretty blunt/ direct and on appearances a bit grumpy! Sorry but as front of house it gets noticed and its the first impression you get so whilst it wasn't a major thing I wouldn't say it was a particularly/ welcoming experience. The waiting staff in the restaurant however were a whole different experience they were beyond lovely and we gave them a nice little tip as we felt they were being overly managed if you get what I mean!

    The hotel was really lovely/ quirky and the room was nice. Bed very comfy so it was good overall. Tea/ Coffee left a little to be desired i the room but the restaurant was really outstanding. A great place to eat/ bar and Id go back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not as good as dinner - we were disappointed. Sliced bread and no fruit.

    Room very comfortable and quiet, as requested. Quality of dinner was excellent. Good menu and well presented food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Self service breakfast a bit rare these days but food quality spot on

    good feel to the place, staff friendly and with a sense of humour. Location first class for RHS Wisley,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No on site parking on second evening No air con in bedroom Breakfast choice and service poor Could not check out till after 07:00

    Clean, comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast in the restaurant rather dampened our experience. We arrived halfway through the breakfast slot and none of the tables had been cleaned in the conservatory area where everyone wanted to sit as it was such a lovely day. We and all subsequent guests had to sit down at tables with dirty crockery and clear spaces to be able to eat. It was a shame because the restaurant is a lovely space. The staff didn't seem to notice the problem at all and didn't clear tables until the very end of the breakfast slot. Perhaps we just hit a day when the venue was shortstaffed or staff were otherwise occupied.

    Room was comfy and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was poor, young staffing need of training (how to great customers, show them to their table so they know where to bring tea/coffee instead of customer having to keep asking) restaurant looks lovely but floors not swept from previous evening (chips on floor) our breakfast was poor the pouched eggs were not runny, bacon was cremated, toast took three attempts to brown & Crockery was chipped.

    The bedroom was lovely and Clean with a very comfortable bed! A little TLC is needed to bring the rooms up such as mould in shower, corroded shower handle, door look knob missing not able to lock room from inside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a problem with the shower but this was soon sorted and we were moved to another room. Helpful staff so no complaints.

    Great location, lovely building and comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cups in the room were stained... probably clean, but not a great look.

    Beaut traditional English pub, but also updated; dining room opening out into the enclosed garden ... so great environment to relax and enjoy the beaut spring weather.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one big towel for the two of us, cleanness wasn't great, lots of dust, especially on the bathroom radiator. Service at breakfast wasn't great had to ask for lots of things.

    Coffee machine, tasty breakfast, good parking, nice decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner in the restaurant second evening - the fish was not cooked. However it was returned and were only charged for one meal and a glass of wine deducted from the bill

    Room comfortable and breakfast good. Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room felt pretty cold and was missing the centre section of the double glazing which meant the room was very noisy with the traffic. The carpet was heavily soiled and the room was not cleaned well daily - glasses and cups not cleaned. The service at breakfast was very hit and miss at the weekends - the breakfast buffet was disappointing and even though we were first in, the food was not hot.

    The coffee was great. The reception staff were extremely friendly and were very receptive and responsive to any issues raised. The bed was very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good, with excellent service. The location is lovely with lots to do near by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideally we wanted a bath i our room but it wasn't a deal breaker Breakfast could maybe be included.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff Nice big room which felt very clean cosy atmosphere decent parking well located nice and quiet great price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with air-con in the room, but was able to open the window so wasn't too much of an issue. Not sure what it would be like in the summer though.

    Lovely building, nice clean rooms, friendly staff, nice bar and restaurant. Plenty of parking as well. Quiet and the beds were comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The early morning deliveries outside our bedroom window and food wasn’t available, at all, after 21:30.

    The staff we a little ‘yes... can we help you...?’ at first but one of the guys (seemed to be the manager) was very helpful with our requests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in our room definitely needed a new one. Could feel the springs not very comfortable.

    Food at the restaurant was very good. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a four poster which looked great, sadly the mattress was not great. I had to send my breakfast back as I had asked for the bacon to be crispy, it came back just the same so i gave up - useless!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was expensive, no vegan option so made my own version but would have been nice to have some veggie sausages etc.

    The room was lovely, really comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, the buffet breakfast was a little on the cold side.

    This was a fabulous hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Excellent facilities of restaurant/bar. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room hadn’t been cleaned for some time so had to move. The garden room view we paid extra for was very limited. We moved and heating was unbearably hot. Thermostat wasn’t working correctly. Had to open window right up, but latch and safety catch not working. Shut window for bed, hot/stuffy at 1am, had to leave window gaping open on ground floor unsecured due to broken latches. Felt uncomfortable with that. Our meal in the restaurant was disappointing, bed was well used and soft. We expressed our upset on checkout, I got an apology. I wish they had compensated our upset then we will have been more understanding. Overall, poorly maintained and disappointed with the whole experience.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Venue has lots of potential.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast pretty mediocre / dinner the night before was fair - just but had the potential to be better than it was - get this right and take it up a notch then you have a great little hotel. Service was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was really nice and the restaurant. The only issue we had is we felt the mattress was a little worse for wear. We kept rolling into the middle. Also House Keeping came into the room exactly 11 o’clock as we were about to leave. The location is very nice and has a lovely English feel to it. The staff in the restaurant was friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have had a better place for the tea/coffee as desk was cramped when using laptop. Also, the chair was not really high enough for using laptop on the table.

    Room was clean, comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was an issue as there was no spaces, luckily was able to find one across the road however maybe these spaces should be checked with overnight guests getting priority.

    Modern rooms with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant from the management was terrible. My room was not what I expected at all especially for a deluxe room. It was completely wonky a glass would roll off the desk!

    The food was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally I didn't sleep well, the bed was almost too soft & the room so hot but each to their own you will never please everybody. The Wi-Fi was frequently dropping not good when travelling for business.

    Lovely charming retreat. Staff were super friendly. Food is amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow service in the restaurant. Seemed like we'd been forgotten after we ordered drinks. A second waiter came eventually and took our drinks order again. Things then flowed a lot better and we soon had our food.

    Nice place and friendly, helpful hotel staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glasses in the bathroom were filthy and looked like they were just wiped with a cloth rather than coming out of a dishwasher. Parking at the Talbot can be challenging.

    Room was nice and clean, as expected. We've stayed here many times, and will also return, despite minor issues.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator was on all night - room far too hot and couldn't seem to turn it off. If I was staying again I'd check on arrival that I could work the controls. Breakfast was a buffet, plentiful and good coffee but the cooked breakfast not as nice as if freshly made.

    Quiet and comfortable room in modern wing, good shower. Nice and cosy hotel bar, nice sunny restaurant for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only gripe was that the bathroom could have been cleaner, lots of grey dust clumps behind the door, it didn’t spoil our night away however and we would stay here again.

    Absolutely gorgeous hotel and centrally placed in the village. We had the 4 poster room, It was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. The facilities in the room were great too, tea, coffee and water were all supplied although we did have to ask for a few more t bags as we only had 1!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The history of the inn, which includes the fact that Horatio Nelson met Lady Emma Hamilton there on occasion I was visiting Wisley and very pleased to find that it is a pleasant walk across countryside to get there. The kitchen was in the throes of urgent repairs, but we were told this as soon as we checked in. We were shown the menu of available food, which was fine, and beautifully cooked. The dining room has been extended into the garden very sympathetically. The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was overheated, making it an uncomfortable nights sleep. Shower was luke warm at best in the morning Kitchen renovations happening at time so disappointing Dinner & breakfast

    Beautiful old building, with lots of character and steeped in history Clean & Tidy. Easy to find. Friendly & Helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast the table next to us had a dog which was allowed to have its own seat at the table. They then were given a normal bowl from the restaurant for the dog to eat from ! Put me completely off eating anything there I’m afraid.

    24 hour check in was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was warm when I got into it - very unusual for hotels to bother to heat the room until the guest is in it - but they had and it was wonderful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only flaw to stop me giving an "excellent" review was the evening meal. Potato croquettes with a hint of fish and breadcrumb coating were described as Thai fish cakes. The main course was clearly engineered down to a price. Disappointing. Very good breakfast, though.

    Full of character, history and charm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one small suggestion - maybe someone to check that the tv works straight from the remote and doesn't need to be 'reset' by turning on and off at the mains (standing on a chair..)?

    We stayed in the annexe which was great as there was no street noise at all. The room was bright, clean and airy. Great breakfast choices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Haven't slept in a single bed since I moved out of my parents 30 years ago :-) but that was down to my booking and not the hotel.

    Friendly Staff, Cosy Hotel with excellent food and a warm reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Food excellent. Restaurant was closed on Sunday night, but bar area cosy. Furniture and decor a little dated. More Christmas decorations would have been nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast could have been a little more attentive. Once I got coffee, that was it. I did the continental breakfast and did not need any assistance with that. On the breakfast bar, water and all juices had run out. It would have been nice had they stopped by to see if I wanted more coffee or needed anything additional. Example I was not served butter and had to go and find it on another table. I don't want this to take away at all from the very positive stay and the rest of the remarkable staff.

    It was a wonderful room, a great facility overall and I love the property. . The staff was extraordinary friendly and helpful as a rule. I would return and recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    I have a problem with stairs. I asked the person on Reception whether there a ground floor room available. Although the hotel was fully booked, it was a matter of minutes before she had found a solution and switched us to a very comfortable ground floor room with the added bonus of a walk-in shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park has a curb that sticks out and I fell over it in the dark. The eggs benedict was inedible as it was swimming in vinegar.

    the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice but expensive- especially as my colleague had got the stay at £55 and I paid double that! I felt it was expensive for the room- I would have thought it would be nearer £75 a night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing when we arrived but we switched the heating up to warm the place through Beds were extremely poor quality very soft and uncomfortable but the pillows and duvets were clean and well laundered. It was very expensive for room only and it should have included breakfast for the £90 we paid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Breakfast Very disappointed with breakfast - tiny buffet that was not refilled Only 2 dry croissant left - extremely dry Choice is very limited Not value for money - check in Receptionist was really not welcoming at least it was fast as very unpleasant

    Very nice service at the bar Room are confortable and clean Ok view but would have been very discounted to be in ground floor as lots of room has Parking view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Improvement on wait times at breakfast. Towel rail not working in bathroom. No bar available to have a drink after 11pm upon returning to hotel

    Close to relatives

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    first night staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help ,second night staff had changed and were very good but lacked the warmth of previous night, only did what they had to, but would happily stay again when in the area.

    good comfortably room,away from main hotel ,but very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We attended a wedding at the Talbot Inn, it was seamlessly organized and the room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. There seemed to be plenty of parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Real ale was poor quality and the selection wasn’t to my taste.

    C17th Hotel, original oak beams and low headroom doorways. Rooms in modern rear building. Breakfast self service but good quality. Several other pubs in the village.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food on the menu was pre cooked and warmed up which for something like liver is inappropriate. The cooked breakfast was not worth £14.90

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very child friendly. When booking for 2 adults and 2 children I was advised two rooms would be ideal. Only one under 16 can stay in the room free and thats sleeping in our bed, the additional charges for having two children, which I don't feel is out of the ordinary for a family size, were excessive and unreasonable.

    The rooms were spacious and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room floor didn't look like it had been hoovered for a while, TV remote didn't work, stain on one of the bed scatter cushions, brown sticky tape holding shower head in place!! and not enough milk for how much tea and coffee they supply.

    Staff are great and the location is superb. We have been coming to this hotel for the last 6 years for over night stays during the Ripley bonfire and fireworks night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located, plenty of parking, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, comfy beds and surprisingly quiet. Restaurant and bar on site which was perfect for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The initial room we were allocated was quite small, plus it was very hot due to a faulty radiator they couldn't turn off. We were moved though without it being an issue. The bar closed at 11pm sharp on Saturday night with no option offered for guests to have a drink after that. There was also no mini bar or fridge in the room, so you couldn't have a nightcap back there.

    The room we were moved to was spacious and airy. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mentioned to the front desk that rooms should have a mirror on the window ledge as lighting was poor (when putting in makeup) Without heating our room was very hot Our room didn’t have an iron Breakfast set up ie too many items set up leaving very little room for plates etc We left our bowls on the shelves do as to make more room to eat

    The building The dining areas Food was very good Friendly and helpful staff Clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had breakfast late and most of the cooked items looked past its best. The pastries were crunchy and there was a distinct lack of bread for toast. Nothing was being topped up apart from the OJ which was insufficient for the amount of diners and the size of glass.

    Nice location - friendly staff Rooms large, bright and comfortable - although a personal thought that the mattress and pillows were too soft.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to walk to the block with the rooms in it

    Very nice hotel to stay in. Good quality beds, nice bathroom etc, room nice and warm, and quiet. Helpful staff. Very nice bar and restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a few niggles which were dealt with in a very professional manner by the Manager It is worth noting that this hotel does not offer room service despite what the booking.com web site says

    Excellent location for family visits. I didn't use the restaurant or the bar but they both looked inviting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast on the Sunday was a little disappointing. TV in the room could be bigger & newer.

    Restaurant was welcoming & the waiters were very attentive. Good quality food on the menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a rip off, £15 for buffet breakfast..

    Comfy bed and great rooms, cute little bar. Wedding was taking place on the day so staff really busy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine .. one does need good directions it is easy to get lost from Wisley to Ripley!!

    Not a lot to add ..we came for an overnight stay to visit Wisley. We loved Wisley and the Talbot was close .. booked on line and was just what we wanted. Thankyou Talbot we may well come back in early summer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The annex rooms lacked the personality of the main building. The room was very generic, could easily have been a premier inn (not quite down to Travelodge standard!). There were hairs on the floor in the bathroom and the blinds didn't have a drawstring so were either fully open or closed (by the wonders of gravity). The blinds were certainly not black-out standard. There are better candidates close to this price range nearby, but it does have a niche at ~£100pn.

    Great breakfast. Beautiful main building. Staff were super friendly. Dinner was also good. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room with out of date coffee etc, dusty dirty mugs, dusty everywhere & many broken items inc phone! Pubes in the bath & sink! Eww!! Stained dirty carpet & I really feel we were put in a none full payers room for the people who book though booking.com or others, as this was not the Deluxe room I paid for going buy their advertised photos, I questioned the room & she said "it is a duluxe room & the photos are not accurate" I wasn't convinced! Even though I made a slight saving it still wasnt enough & i'm glad I didn't pay their full asking price if that was a deluxe room! Staff we're rude, service at breakfast was poor well basically we were ignored & we had to keep getting up to ask them for a pot of tea & coffee. Its a real shame as i had really high expectations :(

    The charm of the building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a bit smaller and less luxuriously equipped than I'd have expected. Some face the car park, others open fields.

    Nice old coaching inn with newer additions. Bar with decent beer, good restaurant in spectacular glass-walled garden room, friendly helpful staff. We very much enjoyed our dinner and breakfast and would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been more choice with the selection of cereals, fruit, etc. for breakfast, although this was in the week and maybe there is more on the weekend. Also, I would have preferred faster waiting service as I wasn't relaxing over coffee but off to work.

    Lovely room with great view of the garden, and comfy bed, which is always important. For breakfast, I highly recommend the fluffy scrambled eggs and perfect poached eggs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I disliked.

    The setting was picturesque, the accommodation was very comfortable and the food delicious. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the new building at the rear, no lift so had to lug suite cases up stairs, room was very hot, ( August) no air con but big fan was supplied,, which did not make much difference and was noisy.

    Very nice comfortable room, excellent breakfast, and friendly, helpful staff. We eat two diners in the restaurant which were both very good. We would stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was really small - an experience not to be repeated Wedding guests at breakfast appeared to stretch the staff - it was all a bit of a muddle. They even ran out of marmalade - a disaster !

    The evening meal was really excellent - beautifully cooked, generous portions. It's a beautiful old building. Despite a wedding party, we have a quiet night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in room, room was hot. Bathroom could be cleaned better. The shower a lots of limescale and the handle was not clean.

    Tidy room. Bed comfortable and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con in room was a big miss on a very hot day and night. Window only opens a little too.

    Service with a smile even when we had a takeaway delivered.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very tiny, massive stain on carpet and room wasn't fully cleaned. Was facing the road. Reception lady was foreign and didn't know what customer service is plus she didn't say sorry or welcome us. Didn't say times of dinner and breakfast and when we left she didn't ask how was your stay ! Food in restaurant was okay but breakfast was overly priced

    Area was nice and quiet, lovely village

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: