Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Thistle Inn

47 Dalrymple Street, Stranraer, DG97EY, United Kingdom

#20 of 23 hotels in Stranraer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 227 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little room at the inn which was the perfect spot to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely little room at the inn which was the perfect spot to stay for a night. In a good position with nice, clean facilities. The staff were so lovely and did everything they could to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.2
    Dated and facilities were substandard- no staff on hand-...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated and facilities were substandard- no staff on hand- didn’t see anyone during whole stay- bar was closed and representation on the website was misleading

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.5
    would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed-side lamp very dull shade was a wine colour so light didn't pass through even taking shade off was very dull need higher wattage bulbs

    self contained room possibly converted stables everything you need

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    We were only at the Thistle Inn for one night and it was a comfortable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the value, the Motel style room and property were good. While the room was fairly basic, it was private, well kept, and clean. There was also a parking spot right outside the room's door. What really made this experience lovely though was the proprietor, Freda. What a lovely woman - helpful, warm, and welcoming. It was clear that our comfort was Freda's number one concern. Thank you for the lovely stay, Freda! Dawna and Joanne

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Good overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good, just the job for overnight stays to get the ferry in Cairnryan. Safe off road parking. Short walk to shops and restaurant s. If you have time Portpatrick is not far and worth a look.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer looked old, however we didn't use shower so hadn't tried hair dryer.

    Warm, comfortable & had all basic amenities. Owner was a lovely lady, polite and welcoming especially as we had arrived late after a long drive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Would use again as an overnight stay if catching the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fans in the bathrooms were very noisy - woken by the people next door putting on the fan very early.

    Very friendly welcome. The room was scrupulously clean, beds and pillows very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Clean cosy and comfy.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy beds clean towels and bed linen, tea coffee making facilities. Owner made a personal visit to check all was ok. Stayed only one night to break up travel from norwich to enniskillin. Had a good night's rest ready for ferry crossing early next morning. Would stay again and would recommen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean, private, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one was present when we arrived. Needed to call for staff. We did not have a phone that worked so had to go to a pub and ask someone to call for us.

    Clean, private, comfortable. Good location for walking to town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was as expected and described

    Friendly staff, good price, ten minute drive to ferry terminal. Entry to room at parking area. Warm rooms with tea making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.0
    Useful to stay for Cairnryan ferry next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wobbly toilet bowl! Very cramped. Very dirty area of Stranraer. No one there when we arrived at 5.00pm. Had to telephone and wait.

    Gentleman who arrived gave helpful advice where to eat etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    great place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain about.

    On arrival I met a lovely lady who checked me in ,as she was preparing the Chalets and even helped me to set the alarm on my phone for the early departure the following morning. A lovely convenient place to stay,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Great location 2 minutes from shops and restaurants.
    • Family with young children
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location 2 minutes from shops and restaurants. Staff were friendly and the room was warm and cosy. The area was nice and quite. Parking on site was a great help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with knowing our room number in advance, but overall excellent.

    Bed helped my back problems, I have arthritis and it was really comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.2
    No one
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrive no one to check us in after waiting an hr still no one the door was open to one of the chalets so we waited there still no one so we stayed the night still no one in the morning to check us out 'the strangest hotel iv ever stayed in never again

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic..comfy.cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly rate this place..spotless user freindly..lovely owners who clearly take pride in what they do.will definately be back.better than any hotel.lovely self contained space.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Great for a night stay before catching the ferry to NI
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    We stayed in one of the family rooms in the chalets at the back of the thistle inn. It was clean, comfy and really close to the ferry port for our early ferry crossing in the morning. The staff were very welcoming too as we arrived late and had 2 young children with us (3 and 1). Plenty room on the floor for our travel cot too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Good & Comfy BUT would have been better with Breakfast & Meals served & to meet Owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No-one came to meet us but, we were told stuff over the telephone. We had to find eatery as what was said was total wrong answer to asked. O/side light not on to see where to put key in door. Front window difficult to open. Shower switch very difficult to turn off. Someones medicine found on shelf. Its felt theres a danger in the shower room which is shaver plug socket to the side of tiles right next to sink basin. Water splashes as we all know. All apart this was written down for owners. Sorry forgot.

    Had few small biscuites & tea bags coffee milk & sugar & asked for more & got. Beds nice & comfy. Good chairs for watching tv. Parking just few steps from disabled ramp. All was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    A pleasant stay for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really only there one night...

    Great location for stopover for attending wedding. Hosts so helpful.Very peaceful at night. Cute wee chalet style room. lovely and warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    It would definitely boost this destination's appeal if they could offer a breakfast option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dresser drawers rather temperamental,

    good bed, well decorated, large shower room, parking just outside chalet door, super friendly owner/manager team

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    A nice place to stop off for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because they have mounted the TV on the wall the sound carries through a little from the adjacent room, but it's not that bad.

    We arrived by ferry and had no problem here, we phoned up and were told the chalet number and they left us the key so even if we were delayed we could get in. The room was comfy and quite pleasant. We were there on a Saturday night and you could distantly hear the music from the pub but they do warn of that on the weekends and it wasn't really that bad. It didn't go on too late and we got a good night of sleep. This was ideal for a stop on our way home and the little chalets were nice to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    Not quite what we would have liked but the owners were nice.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all for a B + B they DID NOT DO BREAKFAST!!!!!!! The hot water tap did not have water hot nor cold. We were told that they were awaiting a plumber. We had to boil kettles of water for washing/shaving. The cold water tap required two hands to turn it off completely.

    The ownersw were extremely nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.2
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place being more up to date and a toilet in the room. Its a family room with no toilet. It was horrible.i had to walk the kids to toilet during the night along the corridor

    Leaving the hotel next day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    Basic and clean.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't provide breakfast although it does advertise outside as B&B. (To be fair however, we knew before arriving there was no breakfast). Our room was not ensuite so we had to go down the corridors for bathroom. Towels were a bit on the small side.

    Basic and clean. Landlady was very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    First.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking changed..trying to get my money second time yet i had paid.

    First..we didn't get breakfast and the booking says bed and breakfast I booked one double bed and a twin ..i was offered two twin rooms..totally inappropriate. They asked me to pay cash and i paid. Thirty minutes later they were calling complaining they couldn't charge my card..debit the entire bill from my card YET I had paid all the bill in cash.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    A very comfortable overnight stay in a lovely seaside town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the owner wasn't there and the door was left unlocked and as we were leaving we had to leave the door unlocked.

    The beds were comfy and the breakfast was lovely. The location was perfect as it was close to the town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    We've really enjoyed our stay at the Thistle Inn even though it was only for one night. The staff or
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you arrive you have to call the owners who are then coming over to bring you the key for your B&B. Somehow it didn't work for us (pretty sure it was our phone's problem) but things could have been sorted out earlier if we would have known it before as we had the exact arriving times.

    We've really enjoyed our stay at the Thistle Inn even though it was only for one night. The staff organized us a taxi which brought us perfectly on time to the ferry (only 7£). The room was very clean with nice decoration. The beds were comfortable and things like towels, a kettle and coffee were provided. Thanks for the lovely stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Great spot and we'd stay again, it's definitely not 5 star but it serves its purpose!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that there was no ensuite, we had shared facilities, but we had floor to ourselves so didn't matter. The roof was leaking in the hall and we had to put our bin under it because it was raining heavily. Was asked to pay when I arrived even though I had already paid when I booked. I had to dig through reservation and bank account to prove otherwise!!!

    Room was huge! Beds were comfy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    The owners were very welcoming and despite a mix up we hD to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dog barking all night but the owners were not responsible for that

    The owners were very welcoming and despite a mix up we hD to stay in the bungalow for the first night would have liked a 2nd chair instead of the stool as I got a very bad back sitting on it. However the owners and the lady who came into clean were very nice and made up for mini problems.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    The bed was Wonderful, fell into bed late Tuesday afternoon.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a slightly bigger table

    The bed was Wonderful, fell into bed late Tuesday afternoon..... and slept throughout the night till Wednesday morning ( due to travelling all Monday and Tuesday until 2pm)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    A convenient place for a short stay.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet/shower were rather small, but clean. There were enough toiletries too.

    The room was clean, tidy and adequate for overnight stops on the way to and from Northern Ireland ( by ferry at Cairnryan ). It was certainly very good value for money. There were ample tea/coffee-making facilities, bottled-water and tissues provided.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Great place, great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great welcome from the owners. Lovely people. The chalet rooms are similar to an American motel, room up front with shower at the back. All the staff friendly and helpful. They just want you to have a nice time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was what we paid for

    The location was just right staff excellent nothing too much trouble very friendly staff used the bar the customers were lovely so an all round great as t visit

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.3
    It was a comfortable place to sleep - and that is all I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no breakfast available - which would have been good. But local shops were available to provide this.

    It was a comfortable place to sleep - and that is all I was looking for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Very good overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here overnight in May for the morning ferry. The staff were very friendly and helpful, room was spotless and had everything you need. The bed was very comfy, no problems at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.0
    Comfy bed !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious room ! Comfy bed. Good wifi. We arrived really late, so they put the key in our room and we could enter ourselves. We were there for 9 hours in total, but had a really good sleep !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming and enjoyable, with all we needed for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food wasn't available but that wasn't a problem as meals can be obtained near at hand.

    The room was comfortable and warm, well decorated and had the convenience of being very close to the car for taking luggage in and out. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.3
    I'd book another place, given the chance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was difficult to actually find the staff -- someone to check us in and someone to pay. The advertised bar and restaurant were closed. The clerk didn't know how to operate the card reader. It was the most disappointing stay of our trip.

    It was close to the ferry.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Great stay at Thistle Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say there wasn't anything we didn't like during our stay.

    The chalet was lovely and the owner was more than helpful giving us many ideas of places of interest and also where best to eat he couldn't do enough to make you feel more welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Clean warm great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Clean warm great value for money close to poor great for stop over point in the town close to pub's shop's and lots of places to eat . Will stay again :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    3.8
    If all you require ids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water for showers. Being asked to leave before checkout time. Payment attempted before checkout. No dining or bar as shown online.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely basic wee b&b chalet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv a wee bit bigger or an arm that u can move it to see from both beds

    It was very central for everything, basic but very clean and comfortable and staff very accomodating

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.4
    Rough and Ready
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the room had not been cleaned. Beds were dirty . Found 2 pairs of men's pants in a drawer . Shown to another room and this wasn't clean either. Finally 3rd room was ok.

    Well placed for the Ferry and not to far to walk for something to eat.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    5.0
    My stay at The Thistle Inn in a disabled room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door requires a draft excluder fitted. The my access into car park is very narrow and not suitable for a wide car.

    The access for disabled person was good Room very clean and beds comfy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    5.4
    B&B without the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this B& B specifically to include breakfast. As a family of 5 returning from holiday in Ireland we had hoped to put our heads down for the night, have an early start with breakfast before completing the rest of our long journey. However we were not informed that breakfast was no longer provided and in accordance with the instructions in the room went to the breakfast room. We wasted 30 mins trying to locate the member of staff , waking her up eventually before being told we had got it wrong, that they no longer provide breakfast and that I could not have booked this. I had proof of my booking with extra charges for inclusive breakfast. I was assured these additional charges will be deducted, which I am hoping will be the case. I have not seen the invoice as yet. Regardless of this, I was disappointed with the attitude of the staff member, the manner with which it was dealt with and the lack of warning. We would not have booked accommodation without breakfast. I hope this will be made clear to future potential customers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.2
    Good location for getting Ireland ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not recommend as a long term holiday destination

    Location was ideal as an overnight for catching the Ireland ferry.. Room was adequate and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    2.5
    Is there a rating button lower than poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was filthy, hard to find, and over priced -- they didn't even provide towels, face cloth, etc -- left patrons to drip dry after a luke- warm shower. The area made us nervous (nothing says safety like 2 Police cars parked out front of your establishment). If it were possible, the Thistle Inn would score a 0 -- the point scale does not permit it. We recommend that no one stay here

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    6.7
    Practical stay in Stranraer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thistle Inn only open on a Thursday, Friday and Saturday (I think?), so had to walk down the road to find another pub and restaurant. Only 5 minute walk though ... and the "Rendevous" restaurant on corner served good food at a good price.

    Property was clean and comfortable enough for our purposes. Only a 10 minute car journey to Stena Line terminal at Cairnryan.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.9
    Weekend in Stranraer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cups a bit small prefer a mug,a glass also for cold drinks would be good.

    friendly staff, nothing to much bother for them cheery at all times, always busy making sure everyone was comfortable, making sure bedrooms etc were clean,ice box given on a hot day, very appreciated,would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    6.3
    Simple, convenient, close to the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked three identical doouble rooms: two had two beds, one had one. Bathrooms were small. One was very dirty. The rooms accessible directly from the parking lot. Poor soundproofing.

    15 minute drive to the ferry harbor. Parking right on the premises. Walking distance to town center, where there was no problem to find a place to eat (both dinner and breakfast).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    A good place to stay for sight-seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no breakfast provided, but I was able to make morning tea in the bedroom, so that was OK. The room was not en suite, but the bathrooms were very close, and ample for the number of bedrooms.

    I liked the kitchen, where I had a peaceful take-away meal after a long day out-of-doors. One doesn't always want to go out to eat. There was a fridge for milk or other food items. Also, I liked the bathrooms. One could have a bath as well as a shower. The room was large and comfortable. It was also very quiet at night. The bed was very comfortable. I slept as well as at home - if not better! The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    Perfect for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was brought to my room as I was the only guest for breakfast that morning, the host thought I might be more comfortable than in an empty dining room. Greatly appreciated. Bed was lovely, everything was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.8
    Free Parking and Low Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very compacted and dated. There were clumps of hair on the floor that our socks picked up and found its place on the beds. We could also hear our neighbor snoring through the wall.

    The location was close to a few locations for food. It is priced low, and about 15 minutes from the ferry port, making it a decent one night stop prior to taking the morning ferry. The host also accommodated an early checkout for us.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    6.3
    Slept OK but left hungry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no one around to give us breakfast, when this was queried with management, by phone, we were told someone would be there shortly. Breakfast should have been from 7.30am and we waited till 8.30 but no one came. Another guest told us that the same thing had happened the previous morning. Management knew about the problem but did nothing to help.

    Staff we met in the evening were pleasant and helpful room was clean and tidy and adequate for our one night stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.2
    Very good location for the ferry at Cairnryan....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - quite disappointing....!

    Easy to find, no problems with parking, accommodation basic but perfectly adequate. The two staff who met us were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice location, stayed in the annex rooms facing the car park...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were a bit thin so heard TV in next room.

    Nice location, stayed in the annex rooms facing the car park which were handy to keep an eye on our motorcycles. Nice breakfast & friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.8
    Very comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 16 year old grandsons chalet door wouldn't lock from the inside so we had to lock him in!

    The bed was very comfortable, liked being in a chalet . Very convenient for cairnryan ferry port ( we were catching early ferry)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron facilities

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Very reasonably priced and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly reception convenient for the town centre lots of restaurants nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfortable bed and very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    The thistle inn (value)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean and comfortable

    The people were very helpfull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    This really is a little gem in a lovely quiet but beautiful town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast option included

    lovely little gem -would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    One nighter in Stranraer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and polite owners made me feel very welcome and the room was perfect for all my needs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    lovely...cosy...clean and comfortable..near town centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Fine for a night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location for ferry terminal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was excellent, very friendly owners and near to the centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Great staff service in particular delaying with oxygen delivery for my mum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Review of stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very clean. Quiet and private. Easy access to town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and good sized room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and good sized room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was either hit or cold

    Clean, comfortable and friendly reception and informative regards local eating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money. Very clean. Good location. Fast internet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Was what it said it would be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner needed to hoover nearer the bed.

    Extra tea coffee, milk. Lady very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Was ok
    • Couple
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds

    Basic but very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    It met all our requirements.
    • Couple
    • Disabled-Friendly En Suite Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room nice and warm. Beds comfortable. Ideal place to stay.Central for shopping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    I would return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free beer

    Very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: