Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Three Swans Hotel 3 stars

117 High Street, Hungerford, RG17 0LZ, United Kingdom

#7 of 8 hotels in Hungerford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 381 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    A pub rather than a hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 'newly renovated' hotel the rooms were tired and unkempt. Bathroom was a bit grubby and just needed some love. The hotel has a large court yard which was right outside my room. There were a group of gentlemen who continued to shout expletives at each other until the early hours and the staff did nothing about it.

    The staff were lovely and really helpful. Breakfast was fab! Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely high airy room with an excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the food, whilst being quite expensive, was acceptable pricewise, I thought the drinks were overpriced - £1-80 for a ½ pint of lime and soda is pushing it a bit, I think.

    A very nice room with a large comfortable bed. No air-con but a fan was provided to try and keep the temperatures down. Very good staff, and excellent food - the gammon steak was the thickest I've ever had and impressed my fellow diners!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    We had a lovely relaxing evening, good food, comfy bed what more can you ask.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the decor, the location, the food. Lovely friendly hotel in lovely location, the staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble. The room was delightful and the bathroom was huge. Had such a nice ambience and the style of furniture was comfy and quirky.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Slap bang in the centre of Hungerford. Great high street. Parking just over the road not an issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff that were "on point!". Lovely comfy chairs. Great bed linen. quirky personality of hotel, nice to stay in something individual.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    If you actually want to get some sleep, stay elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was open as long as residents wanted so they stayed up making loads of noise until 4:30am which meant I had about 2 and a half hours sleep. It was absolutely awful. And the room was boiling, no air con and I wasn't able to open the window because of the noise.

    Food was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    A 5 star hotel without the 5 star price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A 5 star hotel without the 5 star price. Restoration done to a very high standard & food menus very good. Very clean rooms with plenty of space. Excellent stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    We’ll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park has disappeared!

    It’s just a generally brilliant place. And the staff totally make it. Will the manager is excellent and Fred behind the bar is a legend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall i had a great Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room located overlooking outside smoking area so noisy even at night. There is nothing listed regarding parking, I found out afterwards you could get a permit for the station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one negative. With only one window, which looks out on a bust terrace, the room we stayed in is likely to be warmer on some days than those accustomed to air conditioning will find comfortable.

    Nice clean room. Great breakfast. Convenient to rail station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The hotel was lovely. Great food. Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We also pr ordered a meal at the hotel. Not all food was delivered to the table on time. There was a bit of a delay. The cost of drinks was really high.

    The hotel was lovely. Great food. Comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and time to peruse some family history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding, for us, was too hot. We would welcome a blanket option.

    The huge bathroom with its large freestanding bath was a real treat. All staff were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location for exploring Hungerford, lovely decoration and glad we picked it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel car park.

    Recently had a big refurb, love the decor and room design. This is the sort of place I like to stay in. Had lunch there also and food was good. Nice outside area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Lack of parking - stayed there several times & not made...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking - stayed there several times & not made aware on your website that the car park had been sold - therefore had to park on street - luckily it was a bank holiday !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    We had a fantastic time! Will definitely go again and would highly recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    4 of us ate in the restaurant. The quality of the food was disappointing. I ate fish & chips, the fish was fresh and delicious, but the chips were soggy and greasy. My sister ate the Chicken which was good but the sauce was extremely salty (we all tested it). 1 of us ate Pizza... the first came with a burned base - but was exchanged with good humour & without delay. But perhaps the chef was having an "off" day because we have heard lots of good reviews, the menu choice was good and staff were excellent.

    Friendly welcoming staff... beautiful decor, very comfortable, and the rooms are top quality. Centrally located right in the middle of town. There's no free hotel parking, but parking outside in the main high street is usually possible - pay and display and not too expensive - about £8 for 24 hours. There are two large car parks 2 mins walk away that cost about the same. Our parking was free as it was a bank holiday. We had such a fantastic time that we added on another night's stay unplanned.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    A cosy hotel, individual style, all renovated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cosy hotel, individual style, all renovated. Nice and clean rooms. A outside beer garden to enjoy the delicious food they serve when good weather. The staff is very polite. All over a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Wet room - everything gets wet - whole floor, toilet - put a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wet room - everything gets wet - whole floor, toilet - put a dividing screen up Had to send a medium cooked steak back after having ordered 'blue'

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant if uncomfortable trying to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was unbearable hot, despite turning off all the radiators, the towel rail in the bathroom and having the windows wide open as far as they can go. Given it was mid-April, I can only imagine what it may well be like in the height of summer. Aircon could well be necessary!

    Nice breakfast, good refurbishment and a decent shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    We felt spoilt for 24 hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a niggle- we often find rooms are too warm and stuffy.

    Lovely refurbishment last year makes it comfortable and stylish. Good food served all day. Friendly, helpful staff. Extremely good value with 40% off normal price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Great place great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The phone reception is terrible and they where having trouble with Wi-Fi

    the central location, close to everything if you wanted to stroll down the high street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    It made my 70th birthday and my husbands 72nd birthday in the same day a real treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat wouldn’t stay up because the shelf above protruded too far! No parking on the premises.

    The staff, especially the male assistant manager m. They made us feel special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable & comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park being redevelpoed will benefit from this once completed.

    Very comfortable & well equipped bedroom, expansive shower, helpful ground floor access. Staff very friendly & helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    It was very pleasant and made more so by the friendly and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Possibly a slightly larger bedroom but the room was more than adequate and comfortable.

    The rooms were spotlessly clean and the bathroom immaculate, the staff all very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for a short break in Hungerford
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in our room was slightly underpowered, and not particularly hot.

    Beds really comfortable, room very warm. The location is superb, parking a bit tricky as have to use public car parks. Restaurant is pleasant and food good (easily cater for vegans when asked).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were beautiful, beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. The staff were all friendly, personable and professional. Great location on the high street in a pretty little town. Breakfast was tasty in really great surroundings. The recent refurb has been tastefully completed. We had two double rooms next door to each other, as we shared rooms with young children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    exelent location only 10 minutes from family and in the town near facilities if you needed anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't fault anything

    lovely staff really helpful nothing to much trouble food lovely room clean and good for the money plenty of selection on tea tray room service and night porter so if you needed anything there was staff on hand to help over all and enjoyable stay will return and stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    A very beautiful hotel with excellent food and friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is separate from the hotel and a bit of a walk (particularly as we had to carry special occasion clothes through the rain) None of the parking is free.

    Beautiful rooms with lots of quirky style from the age of the property. Great breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, would revisit. but bring a sandwich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening Main course meal was very small, I mentioned to the waiter but it was ignored with a "I will mention it to the chef". nothing happened. Lovely hotel, let down slightly by poor portion sizes, and one indifferent waiter.

    Management were very flexible with our late booking, highly commended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    excellent value for money, friendly, clean and very professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is an issue with on site parking,This is not the hotels fault that they have inherited a bad situation, when you have luggage to move from your car it not the best thing to have to have off site parking and also having to pay on a ticket machine etc, but understand that the hotel are as frustrated with the situation as the customers are.

    the hotel was lovely, the staff were wonderful and very helpful, the were very professional on all level of service and nothing was to much bother for them. we would definitely book again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, pleasurable hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely,professional staff.Good position in high street.Good t.v. and facilities in the room.Double glazing restricts any traffic noise if you are at the front like us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Good central location for Hungerford close to the station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no parking so overnight is behind the property in the pay and display station car park. My room was too hot (#115)

    Good central location for Hungerford close to the station and in the high street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little underpowered and not quite hot enough, but the weather was appalling so maybe the system was struggling. Corridors were chilly. Be aware you have to pay for parking in local car parks.

    Room was lovely and warm, bed and duvet were really comfortable. Sky on the TV... Restaurant was good and the chef willing to cater for vegetarian and vegan dietary requirements.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    A great place to visit to catch up with old friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found the room a bit small and the bed not so comfortable.

    Breakfast was excellent. We also used the lunch and dinner menus which were equally as good. The gin cocktails were also enjoyed!! Great refurbishment, an extremely comfortable hotel to sit and chat with friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    really enjoyed the stay, we would come back if in that area again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    when returning to hotel from days out, it did not matter what table we sat down at in the lounge area, the tables were not cleaned, there was always the stains of glasses left on the tables.

    All staff were polite and helpful, bedrooms very nice and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor point - I had a superior room in the new annex and whilst well appointed and had a very comfortable bed it was a bit on the small side for a "superior" room.

    Comfortable and well presented public areas and my room was well appointed. Staff were always helpful. Food was enjoyable. The central location is good for wandering around Hungerford and it's convenient for the train station. I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Should have gone elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kept awake by loud people as our room backed on to seating area. Rude staff. Told it was big enough for travel cot which it really wasn't. Told we would be able to check in early due to family funeral was made to feel bad for then mentioning about checking in early when we got there. I wouldn't stay again the staff let this hotel down

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Regular visitor. One of the best in the area but far from perfect.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a superior. Only got a standard room again. Do not pay for a superior. This has happened 3 times here. One member of staff is consistently rude and very arrogant. There's always one lol.

    Recently refurbished. Staff are amazingly good and very hard working. I've stayed 6 times in 2 months. Food is great. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely lovely - couldn't have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no dedicated hotel parking (although there was public parking close by, at a cost)

    The attentiveness and cheerfulness of the staff, the dog-friendliness, the excellent quality of the food, the generous breakfast, the fluffy bathrobes:-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fire alarm at 07.00 I was in the shower, when outside in the cold still wet with a very ill fitting robe only to be told it bluntly was a false alarm - the word sorry???? can we get you a hot drink.....! no they didn't care at all about the disruption to guests Not be able to park near by Being woken up at 06.30 by shouting in the courtyard - and the staff did nothing about this The staff being brusque and off hand The breakfast menu not having all the items advertised The bar staff spilling the drinks and not doing anything about it

    good bedrooms, nicely decorated and clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location and comfortable lounge, but that's all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No car parking. Window latch missing, some staff very rude, and most staff not very happy. Room window catch broken (part missing) and banged all night in the wind. No lifts or help with luggage. Hotel manager not available to discuss issues with. No veggie breakfast option on menu, and when asked for a veggie option, they conjured up a few mushrooms, beans, hash brownie and tomato. Total portion very small and veggie sausages awful, the worst I've every tasted ever!

    The general decoration and comfort good. Location also very good. Breakfast manager, Corina, excellent, and the only happy face we met among the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Room 108 - had no TV working.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 108 - had no TV working. The staff were willing to move me to a different room but was staying for a night did not do so. I would request its rectified soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Good rooms, needs parking desperately, staff were good when you could find them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking off site in Station car Park which only allows a stay to midnight, so if you are staying overnight it doesn't work as your ticket expires at Midnight. Other parks are free overnight to 6am, again not wanting to get up at that time to feed a meter. Cleaning staff knocking on my door at 8.50am to clean, (Sat am) check out is at 11am, better system between reception and House keeping required. Big gap under room door (107) which meant too much noise from corridor. Lack of staff at Breakfast and Checkout.

    Rooms were big and comfortable with good facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Not as expected!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was difficult as the previously attached car park had been sold! Room was small with difficult access into one side of double bed!

    Lovely bathroom and hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Old coaching inn, lots of stairs and steps, refurbished to a high standard, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold 8am no hot water! Contacted reception boiler problem solved in 30 mins. Included continental breakfast poor. Sat in wrong area until told otherwise, buffet split up ,missed juices location. Poor selection of cereals ,no breads other then croissant,had to ask for them as they ran out on counter. Coffee only one cup in caffateire had to ask for more.Car Parking very difficult and not owned by hotel.

    Room decor bed comfort etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice new clean modern hotel great staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not Hotels fault at all but parked over the road at 5.45 pm while we got out our bags but because of the confusion with check in when I got back had a parking ticket Free from 6pm Silly me

    Was a problem when checking in as unbeknown to myself I booked single occupancy in a twin room but Robert was able to sort that out for us

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    I only need one word... fabulous!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was exceptional... one member of the staff was coming off shift and offered to drive me to a better location for a trip I was taking to Stone Henge since it was on his way home. That was very thoughtful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Great place, very clean and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff gave me an upgrade and we had the suite with the most amazing bath. The bed was super comfy and staff were really nice and accomodating. The town itself doesn't have heaps to do without a car. But a great place to come to get out of London for the night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    New fresh look.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water for the bath was warm. No car park anymore. Used to be at the back of hotel but only after reading the book in the room I found out the car park was no longer owned by the hotel. Had to park on the high street.

    New fresh look. Lovely outside area. Room was fresh and the bed was one of the best beds Iv slept in. Will definitely stay in this chain hotel around the country.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    A very comfortable and clean room in a clean and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a complaint as such but worth highlighting that the hotel does not have a car park however there are car parks directly behind the property.

    A very comfortable and clean room in a clean and comfortable hotel. Pleasant staff and cosy bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    very friendly staff, nicely renovated rooms, great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    water pressure in shower in some of the rooms upstairs needs to be looked at, some new employees need a bit more training with dinner service

    very friendly staff, nicely renovated rooms, great restaurant and bar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Apart from the parking, excellent.;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no instructions for the shower controls., which would have been welcomed by me. Before the refurbishment there was on site free parking. Now you have to park in the municipal car park, (behind the hotel and its previously free car park). This is only free between 6 pm and 6 am.

    The recent refurbishment has transformed the hotel and restaurant and the staff, food, comfort and cleanliness were all excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Hungerford Highstreet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking area behind the hotel can still be used (Oct17) but the grounds are sold. It won't be long before parking here is impossible. Parking in the Highstreet is difficult and expensive so the only alternative will be the station parking, a bit further away and also costly.

    This hotel has reopened in august2017 after a complete make over of the complete building. So the inside (bar, restaurant and rooms)is totally new and gives the impression of a modern bouquet hotel. Vey nice. Friendly staff as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suggested that a luggage rack be provided in the bedroom which could easily be folded away at the side of the wardrobe. Also a long mirror inside one of the doors of the wardrobe.

    The property had been newly refurbished and was lovely and very comfortable. The food we had was good and the staff were beyond helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for us as it was within a short walk from the station and near to where we were going for the wedding we were attending. Also central to shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much to complain. If you get a room with a view on the street you can hear the town hall clock every hour but it's nothing which keeps you up at night.

    I like the way the hotel was renovated - the rooms are quite lovely and comfortable and warm. They clean everyday and bring in new towels. The service is really helpful and friendly. Breakfast is quite good, they have a very good omelette with tomatoes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    The Three swans hotel is the must stay hotel in the Newbury/Hungerford area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting around the area if you didn't have a car 🚗

    The staff were extremely helpful & friendly. The cleanliness & comfortability of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    The best hotel in Hungerford
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refurbishment that the property underwent paid off.This is like staying in a different hotel.I had a standard room which was totally luxurious.I had Sky Tv !!!! The food in the bar had been improved to a very high quality.All the decor throughout is to a very high standard whilst maintaining the historic character of the building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice rooms - but no water/showers available on the morning I checked out!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no water in the rooms at all on the morning I checked out, so I was unable to shower or wash - I had to use the shower in work. Perfunctory apologies offered by the staff, but no discount offered on the bill, which I really felt they should have for causing their guests so much inconvenience.

    The place has been done up recently, and the rooms and bar area are a big improvement on what they were like before.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous place to stay, beautiful Hungerford and surrounding areas...go there at Xmas its magical.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As its recently been refurbished to a high standard there are obviously a few teething problems, the bathrooms (as everything else) have been updated to a high standard but the showers were definitely in need of a tweak. V poor water pressure and barely got feet wet in shower, left suggestive comment with management who were very concerned and mentioned that it was a teething problem and would be sorted out, hope they do as that is the only negative.

    Extremely clean, friendly, welcoming, comfortable...great food and bar. Great stay for two nights and would highly recommend. Attention to detail

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely food, lovely rooms, lovely staff & a good central location on the high street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with the hot water feed in the room. So had a warm bath rather than a cold shower.

    Recently refurbished to a high standard. Rooms were decent size and well furnished with decent linen on the beds. Breakfast was great. All cooked freshly to order with coffee or tea on tap. Nice relaxed atmosphere & the staff were very accommodating with our small children.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent facilities and service, would definitely book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the front of the hotel so some traffic noise during the night and from drinkers outside until closing

    Very comfortable bed. Room and bathroom were spotless

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    By Far The Best Hotel To Stay In Hungerford
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all good

    I know Hungerford really well, there are two hotels of note, The Bear & The Three Swans. The Bear is not the hotel it was in the eighties and is looking really shabby. The Three Swans, however, has just been revamped and is now very good value. The rooms are very well-appointed and have all of the amenities required for a comfortable stay. The restaurant is well served by friendly although new staff and the food is very good. Certainly, the place to stay in Hungerford.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a phone call from the Hotel the day before my stay saying they had no twin rooms available would i be ok to have a double i said not really as i was going with a friend. when we arrived we have 2 seperate double beds rooms and was only charged for one as they were no twin rooms available. The rooms were lovely Sky Tv on a 32inch smart tv. very clean with a free water beside your bed. The room had everyrhing you could possibly need and more. staff were polite and very accommodating to any requests. Breakfast was top class again everything you need and want was available. Would recommend this Hotel to everyone who is looking to stay in Hungerford.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.1
    Good weekend away
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The problem about parking there was limited space. The evening meal I found to be expensive for what it was.

    Problems with the car park, The room was excellent the little details count I found the breakfast good but the evening meals were a bit expensive. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent staff both reception and dining areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedside light in room.

    Excellent staff both reception and dining areas. High quality food and excellent presentation. Joanna the assistant general manager was extremely helpful and seemed to have a good rapport with customers and work colleagues.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Huge bed, lovely room/bathroom it was spot on 4 what we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions too the car park before we arrived, also there was a delivery of some sort at 5am which we could have done without it woke us up, but i will still go back!

    Huge bed, lovely room/bathroom it was spot on 4 what we wanted, food was great as were the staff, nothing was too much trouble even though they were running around because more staff were needed! The walk along the canal is beautiful its a lovely area!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.4
    Let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was supposed to be a superior room but was very small, not clean and had stained carpets. I have stayed many times and this was by far the worst room. It seemed the good rooms had been over booked and I was given what was left. I would now think twice about staying again

    As usual the restaurant was very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Welcoming staff, good food, relaxing atmosphere and lovely convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a low ceiling which my six foot tall partner banged his head on repeatedly but everything else about the room was good.

    Lovely location . Really enjoyed walks along the canal path.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    3.8
    Deserva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: "Sorry, no yogurts ...... No, no boiled egg, you can have fried, scrambled or poached...we don't do boiled" ! "No, we've no marmalade, I'll see if there's any... I just managed to find some." SImall Bedroom had a vast bed pushed against wall to one side so not possible to get out that side. Despite having the presumed suitability of a 17th C inn, this is a disapointing hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    We had a very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like about the hotel or staff.

    The bed was a king-size and very comfortable. The room and the bathroom were large. The décor was excellent. Bathrobes and slippers were provided. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Full English breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and inviting, the staff make this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few cobwebs in the room that could have been easily cleaned

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Made us feel very welcome. We had our 4 month old son and they were very accomodating

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.7
    Staff and food great - room poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park was limited. beds were lumpy and room was very tired, but the new refurbishment will sort all that out. Worst aspect was Rooms 11 & 12 were located over a very noisy compressor or generator machine which ran all through the night. We had to sleep with ear plugs. Hopefully this machine will be sorted out as part of the refurb, because it spoiled an otherwise nice stay.

    Staff and food were great. Location was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Happy weekend in Hungerford!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole accommodation could do with an upgrade, but I understand this is in the pipeline. One thing that particularly struck me was the difficulty in telling the fire doors/exit doors from room doors or cupboard doors! In the case of emergency, that could prove to be a big problem. Perhaps different coloured doors, or glazed doors might be a good idea? Also, the room we stayed in was oppressively hot - even with the window fully open and the heating turned off!

    The staff were all EXCELLENT - very friendly, helpful and adaptable. Thank you all! Breakfast great. Bed very comfortable. Good shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    A treasure in the middle of Hungerford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv reception was intermittent - signal continuously dropped interrupting viewing of all programs. Bath/shower leaked creating quite a hazard in the bathroom. However the hotel is closing soon for a major refurbishment.

    Excellent location with onsite parking. Very friendly staff, & lovely food (breakfast & evening meal). Room was very comfy with tea, coffee, biscuits & bottles of water in room & extras like dressing gowns, ironing board.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    We will reyurn once the refit is complete!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As the Hotel will be closed for a refit for 3 months from 1st May, there is nothing to say

    Excellent location, food very good, dining staff very attentive

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel ruined by the car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking very difficult to find, damaged my car trying to back out of the car park next door entered in error. no lights or signs could be seen in the dark wet night .

    convenient for Warners Littlecote and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.9
    Staying in Hungerford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the smoker's gathered outside below our room and the load talking especially at one in the morning is very annoying. The hotel is closing on 1st May for 3 months for refurbishment hopefully they will sort this problem then.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: