Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Thurrock Hotel 3 stars

Ship Lane, Aveley, RM19 1YN, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Aveley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 904 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    2.9
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very helpful Moved us rooms Family room not enough beds No pillows No kettle Milk off/hard No window to outside lack of fresh air in stuffy room Very dissatisfied

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Not quite what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main point was the breakfast. It was a joke. Waited along time for for the food to come out and when it did it was cold. The coffee was cold, no sauces and when we asked for cutlery we had to wait until other people had finished so they could wash them and give them to us. !! 2nd point, if you advertise a coffee machine in the room, there should be one. 3rd point, we were going to dine in the restaurant ( although based on breakfast I'm glad we didn't ) but it was closed for a function. Advanced warning would be good.

    The staff were friendly and the room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.5
    poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the accommodation was pleasant, but the evening meal was poor. When you place an order for Nachos starter and it takes over 50 minutes to arrive with only 4 other people in the restaurant. The Belly of Pork was so well done you couldn't cut it with a knife

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    It was the location we needed for one night, and the room was nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath tub was so high, it was very difficult to climb in! There should have been a non-slip mat or surface in bath tub, and a safety bar to hold on - I think sooner or later, someone will slip and fall. Health and Safety should inspect and advise to avoid any accidents.

    Breakfast had a good selection on buffet. Beds were comfortable. Free parking, which was also secured by password barrier for guests only.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of road noise all through the night, even with the windows shut. Water was switched off without any notice for maintenance. Not great when you're trying to get ready for a wedding.

    Breakfast was good. Rooms were clean. Checkout was easy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.3
    Bed comfy,breakfast good water nice and hot for showers and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room located on top floor room 210 you have no lifts and this is not mentioned in your booking.com information, we didn’t realise there was 60 stairs to climb, served it’s purposewe are seniors luckily we were able to climb the stairs on this occasion but we would not rebook with you if our room involved a lot of stairs to be climbed. Radiators in the room not really adequate to heat the room comfortably, especially the bathroom which was freezing and we are only in September

    Bed comfy,breakfast good water nice and hot for showers and baths

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    All staff very helpful especially Robyn on reception.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal on the Friday night was not very good and not the normal menu. Mixer pump of coke and lemonade flat in the bar.

    All staff very helpful especially Robyn on reception. The rooms were nice, comfortable and also very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.3
    Room was nice but there was a function going on in the hotel...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice but there was a function going on in the hotel an my room was right on top of the room they were using so it was very noisy for some time of the nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    4.2
    Worse hotel we have stayed at.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in bad state of repair. Heating switched off upon arrival. Carpark badly maintained with car stranded in 4 inches of water. No cot in room despite request. Room up 6 flights of stairs no lift and no help. Breakfast poor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place, with some great members of staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room would have been great..!

    The customer service from Molly was exceptional. She put service, in the the word customer service!! She is the reason my stay was so pleasant..!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly got any sleep as dodgy window in room which I couldn’t shut & kept awake all night by traffic noise from M25friendlt

    The staff were very helpful & pleasant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    Good location, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My booking couldn’t be found then when It was my daughter who was also staying couldn’t even though our rooms had been booked since Feb

    Good location, comfortable stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    It was convenient and the room was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That my booking couldn’t be found and stress was added to a time I should have been relaxed and looking forward to the stay

    It was convenient and the room was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff where lovely offered help all the time compamenty ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a lift or a stair lift for the elderly as my mum stuggled with the stairs

    The staff where lovely offered help all the time compamenty tea for me and my.sister and mum x

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Rubbish not what we asked for at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms we had booked and paid for were not given to us spent half hour trying to get us our rooms and there was a disco going in which we wasn’t alerted to and the whole hotel was vibrating with the damn noise not what you need when you have come to sleep in a hotel and have this racket going on til 12. Also we asked for a lower ground floor as had a person with us who couldn’t walk well and there room was on the top floor very very bad

    Nothing only good thing was the staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointed we was not informed of a function at the time of our stay. Disrupted all night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music from under our room with people being very loud and swearing from the smoking area to early hours in the morning. At 2am people banging on our room door.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money apart from breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really poor. The scrambled eggs were dry, the bread slices were in the plastic bag you would buy them in the supermarket. The tea was cold. Ok granted it was £8 but still the quality could have better.

    The room size are huge for the price and it's very clean . It's a good venue for parties and very busy but you don't feel it in the rooms as the music is turned off at 12pm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    Displeased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unhygienic service of room service evening meal, inadequate facilities, two separate rooms with no contact to get help if required not available first room no telephone, second room telephone there but not working. travel lodge give better facilities.

    staff very friendly and helpful,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Staff not friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff attitude is rude....shut shutter in your face whilst still drinking. General attitude of take it or you leave it. Bedroom wall papers need fixing

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    To put it simply, what a little gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To put it simply, what a little gem... it's far from a Hilton or a Marriott in terms of fit and finish but this budget hotel has a superb proximity to Brandshatch and the M25, the most friendly and helpful of staff and is extremely cheap...it's clean and the food was very nice. I arrived late and the kitchen had closed, yet the chef happily reopened the kitchen to prepare me a meal, super customer service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The post code doesn’t get you to the hotel

    Clean, smart and tidy, staff welcoming at reception although the bar staff are a little rude, rooms are really comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    Poor customer services
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Behind the reception is filthy. Resource capacity as at times the receptionist is also a serving at the bar. The bar staff are less friendly and one light skin lady closed the shutter right in front of the customers. Pure disregard and disrespectful

    Nothing really

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.5
    Friendly staff, basic facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was clean but a bit shabby - e.g.wall paper peeling off the walls. Would have liked a comfy chair in room in addition to chair for dressing shelf Breakfast was a bit if a shambles - not enough staff - no eggs or mushrooms available on my first day. Second day no-one even came out to great me, check room number or offer tea/coffee

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Attended a Wedding Party at the hotel and had a very enjoyable time at this hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic Hotel could do with a bit of refurb. Shower didn't work No Lifts if you have heavy luggage No Air con in Rooms

    Comfy Beds Staff very polite and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    The evening and nights sleep where good. Let down by the breakfast and themorning team
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to be out promptly on Sunday morning. Read breakfast is served from 8am onwards. Get down to breakfast at 08:10 and staff where still setting up. The hot food wasn't brought out in time. No continental option even though advertised. Asked about pastries... got told rudely that there wouldn't be any. Staff where not very helpful. Had to keep trying to find them for things like serving spoons... kept hiding away and talking to each other.

    The room and the evening meal where good. The evening and bar staff where all welcoming and friendly. Quite a few functions where on that night and we didn't hear anything from our room. Had a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    A very memorable stay-don’t be put off by the outside of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the hotel is very dated but once inside it was perfect

    The team made our daughters wedding day and our two night stay a very memorable one. They couldn’t have done anymore for us and our many guests that stayed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 2 rooms which I’d of prefer near together than on the opposite sides of the building.

    The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious. Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Poor bar staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no phone in our room meaning we could not order room service. Also, the bar/restaurant staff were either absent or didn't know much about the menu. We had to wait for service several times

    Nice big room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Very handy for a party I attended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin and got a double. No side lights in room. With the main light on it lit 8 very bright halogen bulbs. Decorating had been done very recently and the smell of this in the room was quite overpowering

    Very handy for a party I attended. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.4
    Waiting 40 minutes for a plain sandwich so was able to drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn’t have very good training esp bar staff one girl in particular very rude and just looked like she didn’t want to be there until another staff member came along and she was full of smiles and loud conversation behind bar until she would have to deal with customers again. Walked up to reception one evening as my key card stopped working and she literally walked away as someone had yelled from the room behind reception to say that there was pizza ready? Was stood waiting for 3-4 minutes for her to return wiping her hands on her clothes but shouldn’t have expected anything more as the first time I arrived I was waiting a good 5 minutes to be even acknowledged by reception as there was no one there to check us in until a male member of staff finally came from the bar director laughing with another member of staff to check us in after a 12 hour journey of traveling you’d expect more. There didn’t seem to be any proper management in the hotel

    Waiting 40 minutes for a plain sandwich so was able to drink an extra pint

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    To be avoided
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom walls in poor state, windows so bad you could hear every car on the nearby M25 even over the loud party downstairs. Ordered a pizza from the room service at 8.45 and was told at 9.30 that the chef was gone?! Water would leak out of the shower and the floor was creaking so loud!!

    the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    If what we was there for it was great but not to stay in room 208 as not comfortable for any longer
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bedroom needed updating some what bathroom Badly in need of it and the bed well it was so hard it was like laying in a bed without a mattress also no good for people with a walking problems as no lift

    We had my daughters 40th held there and the room for that was lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Staff nice , clean and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More hot options at breakfast and maybe another staff member to help. Should consider update the carpet will make the hotel look even nicer

    Staff nice , clean and spacious rooms. Large rooms. Great shower. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Quick overnight stop!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any lift and we were given a room on the top floor with 2 children, and we checked in close to midnight

    The rooms were clean and comfortable too. There was an ironing stand and iron in the room. Extra bedding was also provided in the room already.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    A nice little find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV did not work, but that was fine. I only told them when we left. I'm sure they would have sorted immediately

    Clean, comfortable and spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Room nice and comfortable bathroom nice size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tuesday 21st August 2018 we arrived back at the Hotel to what we thought there was a party going on. Then realised it was coming from the room next door to ours loud music shouting swearing banging of doors this carried on till 6 am Wednesday others were telling them to be quiet. On leaving there this morning I mentioned it to member of staff which his reply was sorry I knew nothing about it. A gentleman leaving at the same time confirmed what I said, I would like to have booked there again for next June but greatly been put off.

    Room nice and comfortable bathroom nice size. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    I'll be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at the bar for drinks and food was very slow.

    Very spacious room which was clean and comfortable. The food for my evening meal was first class!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    The room was lovely
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm going off at 8am briefly like a test or something. The maid knocking on door shortly after that, I'm sleeping!!!!!!! Lack of staff

    The room was lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    The staff were friendly but not particularly interested in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is fairly ugly and the rooms have no air conditioning so ridiculously hot and uncomfortable. I didn't try the restaurant but definitely wouldn't stay here again.

    The staff were friendly but not particularly interested in customer service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.8
    Wont stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite old with no recent upgrade to it and the room was extremely hot and i was told they were out of fans 😡 so we slept in hell on our first nite ( horrible ) I insisted on a fan the next morning and the fan we were given was a small table fan which had no effect and did not cool the air in the room rather was blowing hot air - The air in the hallway was way cooler than the air in the room .The windows were opened but no natural fresh AIR coming into the room it was extremely HUMID n the noise of the cars on the street kept us up all night cos our room was facing the street . My boys could not spend one more nite in the room and had to go sleep on the sofa at a relatives house😫😩

    The manager on duty was nice and very helpful she had our room changed and apologied for the extreme heat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    For me Thurrock Hotel is the same as my home and because I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me Thurrock Hotel is the same as my home and because I know most of the people who work there and everyone are so friendly, that is what l like about the hotel. Thank you everyone, hope to see you soon. Hamedeh

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean, Smart & comfortable overnight stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel suffers from some traffic noise from its close proximity to the M25, and A13. The room i was in had some wallpaper peeling from the walls, and was due some redecoration But for what i paid, very good value for money..

    The Thurrock Hotel is very convenient for where I happened to be working last week. It is well situated, and great value for money. I have stayed there 3 or 4 times now, and have always been very satisfied..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was difficult to find even with the help of GPS.

    The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. The room was very large. For one night stay it was perfect. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Improvements needed to the standard of the food
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total disappointed with the food. Breakfast was a disgrace. Toaster not working food was arranged for 9 but not served till 9.45. It was cold . Dinner the previous night was cold and the main meal of chicken was so hard that the knife wouldn't cut it.

    Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    The thurrock
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was give a room full of tools then moved to a new room and it has cracks all up the wall look like it was gonna fall down no one at the bar had to wait ages for service No pastries at breakfast no bread run out of crumpets

    The bed and the colour of the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    Value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air con and the room was so hot that I couldn't sleep. Fan in the room would have solved that as the room faced the sun all day.

    The rooms were nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was well presented and clean all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we had a problem with was breakfast on one of the days as the chef was late and we had to wait around 40mins for food to brought out but there was cereal and fruit to keep us going but I do love a full English

    The hotel was well presented and clean all round

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Internet disappear and appears suddenly, probably some technical issues.

    Staff very friendly and professional. Everyone smiles and ready to help. Rooms cleaned every day, hotel clean and tidy. Nice and quiet, family friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Staff really friendly especially Richard who opened bar 4 us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit hit & miss, no bacon for over 10 mins, not good when u av all yr brekkie on plate x

    Staff really friendly especially Richard who opened bar 4 us lot who wanted a nightcap x clean x lovely bathroom x

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Made very welcome and staff very helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues other than maybe more staff behind the bar.

    We used the venue for our wedding. The staff were fantastic. The food good and the venue and booking staff were excellent. We asked for a DJ for the celebration and Ryan made the whole evening. We are going again in February as my neicell has arranged for her reception to be held there too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Out of cots
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here from a Saturday to a Sunday, when there were two wedding parties on. In one of the two rooms we had, we could here the music from the wedding party really clearly till midnight. After a day of traveling it was annoying to have to wait till midnight before to get any sleep. Second problem was that the hotel had run out of cots/net beds, so our little one had to sleep on a normal bed. It seemed that hotel did not have enough cots available. Hotel is somehow a bit confused, either convenient for travellers next to main motorways or a party and event location.

    The hotel was clean, friendly staff, spacious rooms. Location is convenient next to M25

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    It was clean and the staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed during the heatwave - unfortunately there were no fans available as the rooms were stifling There were three weddings with after parties going on to 12 at night not so much fun for us on our last night when we needed the sleep for a long journey home.

    It was clean and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Clean room. Lovely bathroom but we did not want to stay in a greenhouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our main issue was just how hot our room was. It was like sleeping in a greenhouse. It was very hot when was stayed but the corridors and communal areas weee so much cooler than our room. The fan in our roommwas left running non stop from when we arrived until we left. If we spent more time in the room we would have asked to move. The housekeeper also tried to come into our room one morning whilst we were dressing. She had been told the room was empty but when we spoke with reception they confirmed the room was showing as occupied. Both staff were apologetic but systems have fallen down somewhere. Continental choice was poor. Told pastry and croissant available but there was none. Juices very concentrated and poor fruit options. Very basic for the cost.

    Very clean especially bathroom and bed linen. Bathroom actually seemed very new with good powerful shower. Breakfast - hot food was fairly good quality and it was hot. You can place an order for specific types of eggs - poached, fried etc. Great access to M25, Lakeside, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent training event spoilt by very bad Wi-fi...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-fi is ridiculous....keeps dropping connection every 10 minuted when it connected...really bad service this day and age! Needs sorting ASAP as it really lets the hotel down. The room service food wasn’t good either, however the restaurant food and conference lunches were excellent.

    Conference facilities were great and the staff were very helpful indeed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    It was great thank you
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice apart from the wall paper hanging off in places but all on all very nice

    Was lovely hote, comfy bed, nice and quiet area . Had s nice stay the staff was very helpful and friendly too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    I liked the location, the front desk staff we lovely too.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but adequate, but because the hotel has old creaky floorboards and the room was situated next to the stairs I was woken up every few minutes with people walking past, and I’m not a light sleeper!! Stay away from room 225.. Also the night staff were rude, I wished one member of staff a good evening and was given the most awful look? It wasn’t the pleasant stay I was hoping for, which is a shame as I’d wanted to have an excuse to stay there for years, so when I finally did I was hoping for so much more.

    I liked the location, the front desk staff we lovely too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant is all i can say will deffintly be back when i visit family again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was well worth the money and i will be looking to book again when i am next down that way

    Very clean . Staff was polite . Food was lovely . Room was spacious and comftable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn’t as clean as it could have been, staff weren’t that helpful or friendly, breakfast was expensive for what you got!

    Bed was very comfy. The shower in the bathroom was nice. Spacious room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing check-in staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved our stay and got a free upgrade to the most amazing room. The best room I've stayed a so far in England. Great value for money and the food at the restaurant wasn't bad. Would stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    3.3
    Necessary for work would not return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was terrible & cut off lots. I got a really frosty welcome when ordered to sit in the lobby with no further information. No air conditioning. No lift & 2 flights of stairs! My breakfast never arrived either morning even after letting staff know. Found the staff quite rude, incapable & uninterested. Very disappointing stay. The hotel is located in the middle of an industrial area & you can not walk to anything cabs/car needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    No issues and comfortable stay. Comfy bed! I’ll come back again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi wasn’t very reliable and kept dropping out. Enough to make me give up on the computer.

    Very clean, smart, comfortable room. Nice and quiet. You can hear the M25 but with windows closed this wasn’t intrusive at all. Great room and can’t fault it. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff were friendly, place was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sunday morning woke to find the bathroom floor flooded, very dangerous, had to use towels to soak up the wet. The toilet system was broken causing the leak. Breakfast was lovely, expect for the sausages, unfortunately they were awful and orange juice watery.

    Staff were friendly, place was very clean. Room was lovely and the fan in the room helped very much. ]

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    A practical hotel for short stays & functions
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel IS NOT air-conditioned and is incorrectly described on Booking.com Breakfast on a Monday is table service not buffet style. The continental selection is very limited. Several elements of the English Breakfast were overcooked.

    All staff very friendly and helpful. We attended a function in the Garden Suite and it was spacious and well laid out. Charlotte on reception sorted out a mishap with our booking immediately and without any fuss. We found the rooms to be spacious but overly warm. (windows do open)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfy, friendly hotel and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived on a Sunday and we asked at reception if the restaurant was open in the evening; we were told it would be, so we had a drink in the bar beforehand only then to be told, while looking at menu that the restaurant was closed. However, staff were very good and we did manage to have a meal.

    Location is close to M25 and QEII bridge although if room is at the back of hotel then, with windows open, it can be a bit noisy with drone of traffic. Rooms are very comfy and showers very clean and modern. Staff very helpful and will do their best to ensure any problems are rectified.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    he staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was very comfortable but the shower a little small
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower was a little small, we had to wait a little while for dinner but the staff did apologise in advance and there was not a lift to the upper floors.

    the staff were very helpful and friendly,the room very comfortable, the restaurant food quality very good, breakfast very good and cleanliness was a good standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    We attended a family wedding .
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We attended a family wedding . The family were very disappointed with the wedding planner and arrangements and a family member had a iPod stolen from the room where they was getting ready. Cake that was arranged through the hotel was a absolute disaster, top two layers had sunk into the rest of the cake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    We won't be revisiting
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was tatty. I asked for Cinzano, or Martini Bianco and they had neither. I then asked for Bailey's and they had to go and find a bottle. The stair carpets were stained. We waited for ages after we ordered our meal for it to be served, the same with desserts.

    The receptionist was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Staff were friendly and helpful. Poor Staffing levels and restaurant service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor service in the restaurant for breakfast. Not at all prepared for number of guests that went in for breakfast. Not enough staff working. Hotel was well aware well in advance of numbers that would be staying at hotel but did not staff accordingly. Breakfast was very poor and mostly cold. Milk for cereal was off.

    What staff were on were friendly and helpful. The bedroom was lovely and spacious. The shower and bathroom facilities were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    The function room, staff were courteous but everything else was very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was chaotic and guests were left without hot food. There were only two staff members working. Guests were leaving with their breakfast which they had pre paid. Reception would not give a refund as staff said they had teach their threshold if refunds they could sanction that day. Enailed manager, thus far no response received. The shower was dangerous for children, it was not thermostatically controlled. One minute it would be freezing then burning, the shower trickled our and then blasted out, No air conditioning

    The staff were coureius

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    After a brilliant night at the party,the breakfast was a massive disappointment.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat was hanging off,breakfast was awful, nothing in hot plate,waited 30 mins for fresh to be bought out the milk was off,in the end gave up and hotel refunded our breakfast money,it was a bit like fawlty towers.

    Room was big and clean and a very comfortable bed,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    2.9
    Breakfast was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 people in the restaurant 45 minutes to wait for starters no gym although same advertised rooms were basic bar looks like something from the 70s badly in need of refurbishment

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Great hidden hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs! Too much especially for visitors I saw with children. The stairs are extremely noisy . That new pin system got you running out even in the rain for it to open so you can drive in and out the facility . Quite a boring surrounding outside the hotel but if driving it’s 30 minutes min to acces East London or areas that have things open much later and actual night life. .. tv needs upgrading to a bigger screen. Laying on the bed, you Struggle to see so far.

    Great welcome. Wonderful environment . Good value for money and lovely space in rooms . Love the idea of hidden look but it’s on a hill so you can see a decent view. Check out experience was even more friendly. Too cheap for such beautiful rooms, I love it!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little gem of a hotel from the friendliness at check in. To the bar . Where Sabrina behind the bar was first class at her job& friendly . Breakfast was great too. Superb room as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff need a lift
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and all bedrooms on floor 1 or above.

    ALL the staff are incredibly helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Excellent customer service and customer care.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    We got upgraded on arrival to executive suite, but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little basic and the shower was stuck on hot inout original room. However was sorted very quickly. And the rooms were very good value

    We got upgraded on arrival to executive suite, but the shower didnt work. So the. Got uograded again into the bridal suite. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: