Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Townhouse 5 stars

34 Old Elvet, Durham, DH1 3HN, United Kingdom

#2 of 14 hotels in Durham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 706 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous old building with a modern twist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Garden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One tiny negative was the pillows weren’t the comfort-ablest I’ve slept on but it’s a small negative from so many positives!

    Gorgeous old building with a modern twist...... the garden lodge was amazing, so cosy and warm, bathroom was lovely with the best shower I’ve every used! Lovely Milton brown products to use too!!! So private and peaceful Could have stayed in the hot tub for hours!!! Breakfast was included and was perfect too, service was lovely....

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little place with helpful staff in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Bijoux Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personally, I was a bit disconcerted by the clear glass partition between the bedroom and the loo end of bathroom - very odd, but it did have a curtain on the bedroom side. This is a listed building, so there are no lifts and it's quite a climb to the top floor, though the stairs are fairly shallow. We were there on a Sunday evening, and the restaurant was closed, but the menu looked good! (There's no shortage of decent eateries in the city centre, though.)

    We were in the Bijoux (sic) Loft, which sums it up really well. Very comfy, elegantly old-fashioned room with a remarkably large bathroom bearing in mind the limited space available. Easy walk into the city centre for shopping and the cathedral and castle - and Durham itself is a fabulous place to explore, of course.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel but getting out dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Cruise
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in room on ceiling above curtain silicone needed replacing in bath and bathroom handle loose. Ie bad job

    Staff great cosy room breakfast very nice location good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Thoroughly Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Ruby
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike.

    Everything! Excellent, Opulent, Quirky and FUN. Stayed in the Ruby room and didn't bother leaving the hotel from the minute we arrived till we checked out the next day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.0
    Staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was filthy, for the price you expect to be spotless. Mould up shower tray, all grout was black. Bath scratches all over with mould in scratches, tile beading thick of dust. Cobweb in corner of bathroom. Main door frame covered in dirt and dust. Bottom of bed frame had marks all over. Scuffs on all walls. No heating on when we arrived. Had to phone reception for them to have a problem to get it working. Hot tub had scum all on top of water. Someone's dirty pants down side of hot tub with cigarette buts. Breakfast I ordered their set breakfast of pancakes bacon and poached eggs. They served it with no eggs. They took it away to do eggs while my husband had to eat his. Massive disappointment as it was for a special occasion as we just had been married days before.

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Garden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite damp in room - it was a very expensive annexe marketed in a 5 start hotel and with a 5 star hotel price. This does not match the ususal 5 star hotels matching that price either in terms of quality of room or in terms of dinning

    Location, nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff were so welcoming and room was amazing and clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Garden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so welcoming and room was amazing and clean and the private hottub toped it off . So close to all the shops was a bonus We are already planning on coming back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely night away in the ‘Eden Lodge’
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy silicone in shower and bath tub cracked all along the wall...

    Amy who works at the hotel is an absolute star... i took my partner to the Eden Lodge as a surprise for our anniversary and Amy helped me keep it as a surprise as she took us in the bar for a glass of complimentary prosecco and then took myself only to the room to show me how to use the hot tub so my partner did not suspect the room had a hot tub... the lodges are absolutely wonderful and the staff amazing...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Garden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely we stayed in the garden room, however it was really small the bathroom was nearly the same size!we had use of the private hot tub in or yard this was lovely, breakfast was also lovely too! I don’t think I would rush back for £183 ur basically paying for the private hot tub as the room is just basic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Stayed in The Bijoux Loft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Bijoux Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in The Bijoux Loft. Beautiful liitle room however, the floor boards are very creeky which we were respectful of. However, the couple in the next door eoom, The Penthouse didnt have the same respect for the creeky floor boards, the volume of the TV or tbeir voices from 3.30pm til way past midnight......then again from 8am on a Sunday morning onwards. Shame cos with respectful neighbours,would of been amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Birthday break in Indigo Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Indigo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indigo Room was much smaller than expected as photos made it look quite spacious

    Lovely staff, great food both room service and breakfast, comfy bed and very grand decor

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    The location was great, very close to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like

    The location was great, very close to town centre. The room was lovely, very well decorated and the outside area was fantastic, having your own hot tub was amazing. The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    We couldn't of chose a better place to celebrate our engagement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out time to be later than 11am as we loved it so much we wanted to stay longer If you check in at 3pm it would be good to be able to check out at 3pm the next day

    The room and veiw were stunning and we loved the hot tub Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Coffee machine, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Garden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit more attention to detail with cleaning. Hot tub was like a chemical bath and could do with being replaced especially at these prices. Roof over hot tub was a disappointment and also hot tub was in direct sight neighbours windows

    Coffee machine, location. Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place - room needs maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Garden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the garden lodge and unfortunately I felt for the price (£252) for the night with booking.com it needed some touches up this is because one of the picture frames was cracked, the air-con had pieces snapped off, the paint job overall was showing wear and tear (marks and chips etc) and there seemed to be a blood stain on the lampshade. There was also a few spiders in the room as well as the water glasses were still wet and not polished.

    Lovely staff, and a warm welcome. good central location. Food was beautiful and well presented. Luxury toiletries and complimentary teas and Nespresso machine. There was a bottle of bubbly as requested in a bucket of ice waiting for our arrival. The hot tub was clean and well kept area and secluded.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Amethyst
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a tad too small for 2 people. Nowhere to put all our things. Any longer than 1 night and we’d have been struggling

    Amazing room. Amazing hotel. Amazing staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Great location but overpriced for quality of rooms and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eden Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Black mould in shower, jets in jacuzzi did not work and were not fixed 2 weeks later when my brother stayed. Service was terrible with one young man running front hotel desk. Restaurant front desk, waitering and the bar. The food was okay but the vegetables were raw, not aldente but raw. Someone else’s room overlooked our “private” jacuzzi as well which was not very nice.

    The location was fantastic, the front desk f the hotel looks great. Rooms were comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Edwardian express excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Edwardian Express
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little

    The room themes are very well done. We want to stay there more to try the other rooms. Breakfast is very well done with a great selection it will be the place I stay every time I have to visit Durham in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Good stay in Durham
    • Solo traveller
    • The Garden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few issues when we got to the room. Toilet door handle fell off, toilet seat loose and bathrobes dirty and smelly. However, all these were immediately rectified with no fuss.

    Perfect location, great staff, very novel idea on the rooms and great restaurant food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    Quirky bijou hotel great fun, but a bit hit and miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Bijoux Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a bit shabby, needs a bit of maintenance and deep cleaning. E.g. window frames a bit rotten and windows dirty. Chamber cleaning a bit poor, e.g., not cleaned behind bathroom door. Breakfast a bit uninspiring e.g., bland sliced bread and getting eggs right a challenge.

    The staff are excellent, friendly, helpful, patient, charming. The design and decor is great - quirky, amusing, surprising. Excellent central location, close to great pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    I booked the Ruby Room for one night to celebrate my partner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Ruby
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the Ruby Room for one night to celebrate my partner returning from a long holiday. The room was beautiful, clean and extremely comfortable. The staff were amazing - especially Linda in the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced for what you received. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here on our wedding night for 2 nights staff were lovely very friendly and helpful food was outstanding especially the eggs benedict and the cocktails tasted delicious we stayed in the le Jardin room and wow was worth every penny highly recommend this place we will definitely be going back thank you so much Stacey and anthony

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Loved the crazy room with the bath at the foot of the bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Ruby
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the crazy room with the bath at the foot of the bed, and the gold Rolls Royce as a lawn ornament (cant be removed without demolition of half the hotel. Breakfast was superb. Location was perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Townhouse Durham
    • Couple
    • Eden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were terrible padding missing in places .... hot tub situated beside height wall once walk out the room making it feel very clostaphobic .... had broken blinds .... did not lik how neighbours bathroom window facing hot tub ... and the same if we looked out of ours ....

    Staff very friendly and welcoming ... clean and walking distance to town few minutes

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    The room was pretty with good equipements.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • The Bijoux Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many steps ! With our luggages it’s a little hard. Parking is in the street so keep some money

    The room was pretty with good equipements. Excellent breakfast with differents choices

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.5
    Staff were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Garden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of.room was over looked couldn't swing a cat and the hot tub was hidden away in a brick wall to stare at and was dirty. The tolietdidnt flush and.when it eventually did took over an hour to stop running water

    Staff were lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff were extremely friendly and I enjoyed every second.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were extremely friendly and I enjoyed every second..stayed in Eden lodge and the privacy of the luxurious room is great. Fab room fab service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    My 50th birthday in Durham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Amethyst
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with querky but beautiful rooms in a great location. Ideal for visiting the Angel of the North.

    Durham Centre is beautiful full of fabulous architecture and it's a a short walk to the cathedral, castle, bus/train station shops bars cafes & restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Our stay was relaxing and we overall enjoyed it. Thanks town house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i wasn't happy with our bathroom bin was not emptyed from the previous people who stayed and dressing gowns were hard like they had be hung out to dry very creased

    We stayed hear for our wedding anniversary the man on reception placed a bottle of procecco in our room for our arrivel very nice of him and the lady who checked us in was polite showed is how to use the hot tube and gadgets the room... beautiful room. we had breakfast wich was delicious over all happy and will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down points about this place is very minor. Some decor is a a bit over the top and in the lodges next doors bathroom window looks on to your hot tub.

    Great location, easy walk in to town. Lovely room and food was amazing! We had a steak and it was cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Chilled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a damp patch on the carpet next to the bathroom which led to leaving a very pungent smell in the room which was unpleasant

    The room was great, we were led down to the room by a member of staff and shown how to use the hot tub

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location near the middle of town, restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Indigo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, even with the air conditioning on all night.

    Great location near the middle of town, restaurants and attractions. Full of character and charm, with a lovely bar and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous room with my own hot tub, what could be better than...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I couldn't have an evening meal at the property, this wasn't their fault in that it was graduation week, if I had known I wouldn't have stayed in Durham that particular week.

    Fabulous room with my own hot tub, what could be better than that? Excellent breakfast, very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    The opulent surroundings and the quality of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the catering could be improved but they did listen

    The opulent surroundings and the quality of the accommodation. The staff were fabulous and couldn’t have been more helpful. The location was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Would definitely return with my wife for a leisure break in Durham
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Amethyst
    • Stayed 1 night

    No non-dairy milk or spread at breakfast (I supplied my own).

    Large spacious bedroom with a roll top bath. Separate bathroom with wc and walk in shower. Helpful, friendly staff. I only had continental breakfast as I don't eat meat, dairy or eggs so can't comment on the quality of the cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Exceeded all my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eden Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the hotels fault but there is only charged parking outside the hotel on the street. Minimum for an overnight stay would be £7 We stayed 2 nights and our parking bill was £19 Not life changing amounts I know

    Where do I start. The hotel and the room and facilities exceeded all my expectations. The receptionist was very efficient, polite and professional young man who walked with us to our room and explain all the many gadgets we had in our room. The bed was huge and very, very comfortable. The TV must have been 55 to 60 inch. We had a power shower and a large classy looking bath also with a hand shower. Very useful. Then we went out into the garden, it was completely enclosed but still had the sun in the afternoon. The best thing of all about our stay at the Town House was the Hot Tub. The height of luxury in the two days that I stayed there I must have spent six hours in the tub. It was so relaxing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Was nice not sure id rush back tho.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is horrendous spent 25 minutes driving around looking for a space. Breakfast wasn’t what I expected. Restaurant was closed on the evening due to a private reservation which we werent told about. Had on girl working the desk and bar so took a long time to order drinks.

    Fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Edwardian Express
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, bathroom

    The room was filthy and the curtains falling down, the terrace bar wasn’t a terrace at all but a bit of ground with plastic chairs on. The room was tiny and dark, facilities weren’t as expected

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Out third stay here and the best so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out third stay here and the best so far. We stayed in ‘Le Jardin’ and had a fabulous view of the river meadows. Perfect location for visiting out student daughter and having a little treat as well. Lovely balcony and a hot tub!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great break will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Cruise
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have given us more milk for the room, when asked was told thats all you get in the room and no more, glad I like my coffee black but husband had to have very dark coffee

    Great hotel, lovely staff, breakfast is one of the best I have had in a hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    The room is very stylish, the bed is comfortable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Edwardian Express
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the bath is a little bit hard to control.

    The room is very stylish, the bed is comfortable and the staff have been extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast is also delicious. Everything is good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious and enjoyable, will visit Durham again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Garden Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and managed to park accross from hotel, we went in and asked straight away about parking, we were told we had to feed the meter, we went straight out to do this (literally no longer than 5 mins) and the traffic warden was issuing a ticket. We feel the hotel should have informed us about how keen the wardens were, he must have been sat waiting for us to leave the car. Bed was a little hard for us.

    We stayed in the garden room, with hot tub. Room was excellent, as was the bathroom. Breakfast was lovely, not too much, didnt overface you. Bar area very luxurious. Close to town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was good room was a let down over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Garden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was over priced very dark room cobwebs in bathroom paint flaking of walls cracked glass on picture in bedroom not wat you would expect from a 5 star

    How close it was to Durham city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Bijoux Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outside the centre of Durham, but easier to access by car. Be prepared for several flights of stairs and no lift ...it's an old building. On street parking is all that's available and metered from 8-6.

    Lovely room ...quite spacious considering it's an old building. Nicely updated bathroom. Great staff and pretty restaurant where they serve a good breakfast. The pub looked nice, but we didn't try it..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Can't recommend
    • Couple
    • The Garden Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't deserve its 5 stars : the toilets were dirty, tried to clean it with the toilet brush which was broken, problem with the paint in the bathroom, one of the wall art was broken. The decoration in general is not classy at all but funny. For £200 a night, I expected a room perfectly clean at least! The picture of the terrace and hot tub doesn't match with the garden lodge. They used a pic of le Jardin which is not honest.

    The location, the hot tub

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great bijou hotel with themed rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Bijoux Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t cooked fresh. The bacon, egg and mushroom were hard and old. But tasty. Tap in the sink was stylish but I think it’s designed for a bath. Wastes a lot of water

    Well designed rooms, great bed beautiful hotel. Good shower, nice products. Good touch with a welcome letter on the bed. Be warned this is an old lady this hotel so no lift. Great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very welcoming and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot and there was no air con. A small fan was provided but wasn’t significant enough to cool the room

    The staff were very welcoming and polite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Cruise
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could do with a spruce.

    The hotel was a couple of mins walk from the main town area so the perfect location. The bedroom (The Cruise) was really small but comfortable. The bed was lovely and comfy. The bathroom could do with a spruce (discoloured sealant around the bath etc) and looked a bit grubby in places. That's the only thing that let it down really. The hotel manager was very friendly and couldn't do enough. Breakfast was really tasty too. We'd definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    An interesting hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Indigo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small but perfectly adequate. It was quite expensive overall.

    The decor was quite amazing with very ornate furniture and soft furnishings. An excellent location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly boutique hotel
    • Couple
    • Rouge
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little over the top but that also sort of adds to the fun of staying here.

    Cosy & sunny room, bathroom a little tight but great shower, bar is a cheerful place to relax with an excellent cocktail or good value glass of wine, restaurant is very good and the made to order breakfast is included with your stay. The staff are all very kind friendly people who work very hard to make you welcome. Some nice pieces of art in the stairway if you look closely. Close to Castle and historic center and easy walking distance to Durham University locations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Overall an ok experience would would not stay in this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Cruise
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very overpriced for the size and quality. For a 5 star hotel there was not the little touches which you would expect, there was also some worn/broken things(tables, toilet roll holder, sealant around bath etc) which did very much let the experience down

    The staff were very helpful, lovely hotel with lovely food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Mostly excellent; a couple of minor issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Cruise
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Limited choice of cold breakfast; no croissants, no cold meets or cheese Toilet paper let down the overall luxury feel of the hotel

    Cooked breakfast excellent Staff were brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved staying here ! Staff are so polite and couldn’t do enough for you, the room was gorgeous With hot tub and the views were the icing on the cake. Breakfast was made to order and the staff were on hand to answer any questions good variety and good value for money. Will definatley be back. Close to the centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Tired and needs a rethink
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Ruby
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for the quality of the rooms and the A la Carte menu doesn't deliver sadly.

    Location was very good, close to the centre and amenities. Room was comfortable, particularly the bed and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Cleanliness not of the standard expected given the price,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness not of the standard expected given the price, accommodation is quirky and not to everyone’s taste. Overall not value for money, unfortunately wouldn’t use again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Le Jardin room which was lovely however it could do with some redecoration. The wallpaper was chipped, carpet was dirty and to top it off there was hair all over the bath tub, so clearly with that the room was either poorly cleaned or not cleaned at all. The hot tub was amazing but there is no cover at all, it rained when we were there and quite heavily so had to keep coming in and out where as ithe room next door to us seemed to have cover over their hot tub so they could enjoy the experience a lot more

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    If I return to Durham I would certainly stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Bijoux Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I didn't like.

    I loved the room. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Location walking distance to Cathedral and other sites.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    A charming hotel and town. Plan to return when we can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Cruise
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On street metered parking but we had no problem getting a space.

    The cooked breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly. The hotel had the right ambience for a romantic getaway. The location for Durham was ideal in a quiet street but within a 5 minute stroll of the centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Cruise
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area was cold

    The friendly night staff, I didn’t get his name but when we returned to the hotel he took the time to talk to us and make us feel welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Great room and location, sound proofing of the room could be better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Bijoux Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a top floor room and sound proofing was not too good...the next door was quiet but could still hear his TV and him walking around...was not and issue as he turned the TV off early in the evening

    Alot of character in the decor...16th century feel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Well presented property in a great location the rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Bijoux Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking up the stairs at night some of the automatic lights did not come on stright away but only a small fault

    Well presented property in a great location the rooms were spot on and the hotel was warm and welcoming on a cold night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.7
    Got what we paid for in terms of the room, but definitely would only have drinks at the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt funny when we first arrived and was far too warm but opening the door and a spray of perfume fixed that. Tried to turn the heating down with the remote but it turns out that unless you point the remote at it, it says it's turned down in temperature, but hasn't. One dressing gown was great - a towel material, but the other was fluffy and not so good when you get out of a hot tub! Constantly dripped on with rain because there are trees above the hot tub, fine if it's not been raining but a little shelter above would have been a good idea. Also nowhere to hang your towels and dressing gown so everything put on a chair. Little hooks on the wall would have been a nice and inexpensive touch. Bought dinner at the restaurant and really wish we had gone somewhere else! It specialises in steak and seafood but instead of pan fried, the steak was flame grilled and just tasted burnt which is a shame when you spend so much on a gorgeous ribeye which just shines by itself. I didn't return it because I knew nothing could be done to resolve it except for a smearing of mustard.

    The hot tub was great, the view was nice when we could see it (arrived after 6 to avoid really expensive parking) Drinks were lovely at the little bar, breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    The Townhouse Durham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Bijoux Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the Bijou Loft, small but comfortable room, clean, staff friendly and breakfast lovely, very quirky hotel but lovely character building, would stay again definitely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    Thankfully we booked at a discounted rate, for the Full amount I would not have been pleased.
    • Couple
    • Edwardian Express
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a themed hotel. The Bathroom door was themed on a train carriage, the door was thickened with a curve which made it difficult as it took up so much room in the room. The themed draws & wardrobes were difficult to open and close. The theme looked quite nice but wasn't the best practically. Then on top of this the simplest thing to age theme was the telephone which was a modern normal telephone.

    Breakfast was good but not a great deal of choice. Plus we were never asked if we wanted extra coffee or anything else.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Excellent, looking forwards to next time.
    • Couple
    • Indigo
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating wasn't working right but plenty of blankets kept us warm enough.

    Room was of a strange layout, we stayed in the "Indigo" room, large shower seemed to be in the middle of the room with glass walls... tre bizarre. Breakfast was very nice, Eggs Benedict, normal portion size (unlike the full English which is small).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Front house staff was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast pretty much just included different versions of eggs. Would have been nice with some differentiation. Some vegetables or fruit or something "fresh". And they didn't have any soy milk or lactose free milk even after me asking for it.

    Front house staff was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Penthouse
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet stunk of smoke Bed was uncomfy

    Staff where amazing!!! Breakfast was to die for Cocktails where yummy Such a pretty hotel and amazing location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Excellent short relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is now showing small signs of age. Cracked bath, extractor fan not working. Flickering lights, decking in need of repainting. All very minor things.

    Staff were excellent. Le jardin room very clean and tidy. View from room was decent. Hot tub very nice and powerful if need be.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Cruise
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbery scrambled eggs which were left, and nobody asked if everything was ok. No-one asked how our stay was when we left. Our room was small and the decor very tired. Including, hooks falling off walls, scratched furniture, black grout in bathroom.

    The location was perfect. The bed was comfy. The bath was deep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    4.6
    Not worth £175 per night easy and simple as that..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rouge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room Other people staying at the hotel looking at us as if we shouldn't be there just because we were a young couple even tho we had paid exactly the same as them?? Location of the hotel isn't as near as described online.. Way over priced wish I had of took notice of reviews and stayed else where Check out time was way too early Fire didn't work, staff obviously aware as there was a electric heater next to it?

    Free breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Stayed whilst visiting son at university.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Bijoux Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed whilst visiting son at university. Cosy boutique style hotel in super good location for access to all city attractions and uni colleges. Staff were very friendly and a good source of local information, particularly regarding the best places to park. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty- would happily return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, close to Elvet Bridge, would definitely stay here again for business or pleasure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Ruby
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the second floor, and If there is a lift in the hotel, I wasn’t guided to it or offered use of it. I suspect that because the property is a listed building that building regs may prohibit the installation of a lift, but it does mean that it may restrict access for some guests.

    Beautiful listed building property that has retained a lot of original features. I stayed in the Ruby Room, very comfortable four-poster bed, which as a business traveller was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    fantastic hotel and restaurant would highly recommend the hotel for a stay in Durham city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Edwardian Express
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the hotel is in a good location close to Durham city centre the room was fantastic and the restaurant was 1st class with a good choice of food on the menu would highly recommend the hotel and facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Love it here! Quirky, friendly, relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to pick something I'd say the outdoor areas / garden could do with the leaves picking up and a general clean up... but it honestly didn't bother us 😊 It is January!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Staff extremely friendly and helpful lovely hotel for a...
    • Couple
    • Le Jardin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint is parking not really the hotels fault as Durham city parking

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful lovely hotel for a romantic break with a loved one

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: