Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Twelve Knights

Margam Road, Port Talbot, SA13 2DB, United Kingdom

#2 of 6 hotels in Port Talbot

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 528 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    very good, will call again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no large cups for tea/coffee at breakfast, more of a chose of what to have for breakfast, full breakfast too large, a smaller breakfast at a cheaper price would give the customer better value. ie bacon/egg and one other.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Top place in Merthyr tidvil
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pollution from the near by foundry which must be very frustrating for the owners and the staff

    All the staff were friendly nothing was to much trouble made us feel very welcome food was great and so was the atmosphere highly recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Pleasantly surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only improvement would be to have frosted windows or net curtains as the room was overlooked by a busy road and a bus stop.

    Large room and large en suite bathroom, both very clean. Although the room overlooked the road and was above the bar area, it wasn't at all noisy. Staff were all friendly and helpful. A comfortable stay and very handy for the coast path which was only 5 minutes away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely pub, great beer, and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price they could have offered better coffee - it was rather weak and for all I know instant. The orange juice also tasted like it came from a tetra pack. I don't expect 5 star but a tenner for breakfast should give you just a little more.

    Bed was comfy, room was clean staff were super friendly, and very accommodating when I arrived late for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    A warm welcome from the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nets at the window would have been helpful as we had to close curtains even during day to change

    The staff were most helpful and approachable even before we stayed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Clean and comfy with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    It was clean and comfortable with large rooms staff were lovely and helpful. It was not the Ritz but was perfectly clean and comfy with nice sized rooms would stay again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Great value for money and a good base from which to explore the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent. Very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Beds very comfortable and room a good size with good size bathroom. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Myself and my friend enjoyed our stay a the the Twelve Knight, we went there for a friend wedding.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place could do with a bit of renovation...ie painting etc

    The staff were lovely and very friendly, nothing was too much bother for them. Breakfast was excellent. There was tea, coffee and biscuits in the room and the beds were very comfortable Although the place was a bit tired it was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Friendly place worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know when we booked that the pub closed at 12 so after that you can't get in or out and can't see it saying anything about that in our booking confirmation either. Our room was smaller than looked online and the tv is room was very small. Over looked as close to houses on the back.

    Excellent staff let us check in early, No problems in letting us have a large jug of ice water to take to our room. Ample tea and coffee, nice clean kettle and yummy biscuits too. Breakfast was great offering self serve continental and also served cooked breakfasts with a good selection to choose from their menu. Staff very accommodating nothing too much trouble for them. Comfortable beds and big bathroom in room 4 which is a triple room. Overall a good stay over a nice large pub with good offers on food. Would stay again as for £90 including breakfast it was worth what we paid for myself husband and son.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Good location straight of the M4 and ample safe parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location straight of the M4 and ample safe parking. Bar staff very helpful. The food and drinks both excellent and good value. The room was big for a single room and very clean and airy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    It is called Twelve Knights but ONE night was enough.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi signal very poor. Shower cubicle had lots of black mould around the edges (see photos). Room very basic, bed hard, lots of stains on carpet. Windows looked as though they were last cleaned around 1950. Building in general needs serious updating and refurbishment.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, food was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Good night's sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like! We used it as a stop over - perfect place.

    Looks beautiful on the outside. Great views. Lovely clean hotel. Comfy beds. En suite. Lovely food. Friendly staff. Hairdryer in room. Large car park

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Great.Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a value for money hotel So much so my partner who is a lorry driver will have his evening meal here when he's in Port Talbot.Our room was a very good size.Bath and shower.Tea coffee plenty of milk biscuits and even two bottles of water.The staff were friendly from check in to departure.We were shown to our room which was great.The lady who took our breakfast order was lovely.Cant speak enough of the food.Evening meal was great ,great choice of menu and great value for money same for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the facilities are good the room decor is tired bur suited the amount of time we spent there, also it would have been handy to have a smoking shelter even around the back for guests

    The staff were brilliant helpful and very attentive plus breakfast was brilliant x

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice stay for 2 nights 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was fine for the price you pay Value for money .

    Nice clean bedding and towels and a good breakfast, staff helpful and friendly , lovely bar area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Great neighbourhood living.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is unfortunate that the kitchen is closed for renovation during the period we were there. So we have to drive out to Swansea City (about 20 minutes drive) for food.

    The friendly attitude of the people of Swansea. The pub is just downstairs and convenient for a nightcap before bed. We have always wanted a countryside out of town living and this hotel fits perfectly. Moreover, the location is in the middle of a clean residential neighbourhood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was light and bright, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was the largest bathroom we've ever had in a hotel. The shower worked perfectly. The flower widow box outside our bedroom window was appreciated and so was the view of the mountain.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we did not like

    easy access, comfortable, ideal location, clean & friendly, there are no restaurants nearby but we went into town for meals, cannot say about the food as we did not have any too busy visiting family

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Good room for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy on Friday night with pub & live music. Very hot in room, though a heatwave was happening at the time. Entrance to rooms through pub, so little privacy. Alarm set off if leave room before 7.30am. Breakfast was priced at £9.99 on booking.com but the pub breakfast menu showed it at £5.99. If pricing of breakfast was clear, may have tried it out.

    Spacious single room with generous size en-suite. Little extras such as biscuits & bottled water as well as tea & coffee were appreciated. Good security with door to room. WiFi was useful. The landlord was very welcoming. The room was cleaned during my 2 day stay.Decor & furniture were up to date.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.3
    Woefull. never to recomend anybody to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleanliness. interior dust, carpet stains, uneven flooring carpet, constant odour from nearby industrial chimney stacks, banging of doors in passage ways, stained pillows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    well situated for several local nature reserves & coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    FOOD ORDERS WERE NOT EXACTLY AS ASKED FOR.. eg two eggs given when only one requested. Towels all changed when notice in bathroom stipulated if you left towels on rail they would not be changed. Both issues just wasteful!

    GOOD CHOICE OF REASONABLY PRICED MEALS. REAL ALE. COMFORTABLE ROOM. FAIRLY QUIET ie TRAFFIC WISE. WITHIN EASY REACH OF SEVERAL NATURE RESERVES.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not amazing, didn't seem like there was much around. However, you can always just go to the pub under the room!

    Spacious room, comfortable beds. Breakfast was nice. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly, ample car parking spaces and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly, ample car parking spaces and very clean and comfortable rooms. We stayed here for a gig being held at Liberty Stadium, so ideal location for a 20 minute drive into Swansea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Not a place to stay for leisure but okay if you need a place for work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had some stains from ceiling leaks, it was kinda expensive for its location. It's not a place for a holiday.

    Good breakfast if you arrive early, and good size rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Good value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view, no lift, carpets needed cleaning.ok for overnight stay.

    Good value for money. Plenty of parking space. Large bathroom. Well soundproof from bar area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Alright for two nights no longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from our bedroom window and the kitchen extractor fan outside our bedroom window and there wasn't any view at all except the upright extractor pipe and rubbish.

    The Staff and food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Would visit Wales again, staff, food and experiance worth the travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plumbing could be better (took cistern a while to refill). No telephone in room, had to to use one at bar.

    Staff were very friendly, could not fault them in any way. Meals were great value as was the breakfast. Rooms was very comfortable. Even when in room could not hear noise downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    1 night stay for cycle event next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm, no air-con. Large extraction fan from kitchen outside window that started up at around 06:00. No plug socket next to bed to charge phone. No shampoo in bathroom.

    Location to the event was great, cost was good, food was nice. Tea and coffee in the room well stocked. Bed nice and comfy. Ok to take bicycle into room. Room good size. Price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    stayed one night with work and pleasantly surprised lovely place lovely staff lovely clientele.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good no negatives here

    the staff where fantastic and so friendly we booked through booking .com but for some reason we received confirmation but this had not been relayed to the hotel so on arrival we were informed of this but the manager informed us that they were in fact full but he managed to sort us a room thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    I’d revisit! Great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 miles from train station and no early morning taxis at 6.30 am ended up walking it

    Fabulous food and portions in the restaurant! Very comfortable room and very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    A very pleasant stay and lovely staff. Thank you for your help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The radiator in room 9 needs a really good clean. The room could have done with airconditioning or a fan. It got very hot. The machinery outside the windows was turned on at about 6.30/7am. Very noisy and disturbing Asked for twin beds but given double.

    .breakfast was very good but would prefer thinner toast. The sponge cake we had with a cup of tea was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked for a quiet room as per their special requests and got one above where people went to smoke and it faced the main throughfare. The room was not very clean with dust on most surfaces and the hallway to the room smelt like people had been smoking in it. The was mould on the shower fittings and tile walls. The food was below average on the first night so we chose to eat elsewhere for the remaining 2 evenings.

    The shower had very good pressure and the bed although on the small size was comfortable. That is where it stops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Reception very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had broken hose,more water came out of it than the shower head.apart from that room ok for price paid. Hotel had no record of booking from Booking.com

    Reception very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor on changing towels and replenishing disposable glasses which were provided rather than proper glasses in the bathroom Meals in the evening varied from terrible , cold chilli to poor garlic mushroom starters to great mixed grill. When complained no compensation

    Great staff. Good location very good breakfast. One of our six rooms was noisy but staff moved guests without question to a much quieter room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bad comments whatsoever.

    The staff were excellent they couldn't do enough for you. Lovely clean and spacious room. Good atmosphere in the bar as Well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    We didnt enjoy our stay as much as the first time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were three radiators in the room, only a small one worked, so the room was quite cold. The bathroom door didn't have any lock, the step into the shower was very high, the bathroom was very cold with no heating. The breakfast was not as plentiful as the first time we stayed.

    We stayed in Room 4, a family room. It was spacious with a double and single bed, plenty of seating. Despite being above a pub we couldn't hear any noise. However, just down the hall is a door to the outside where smokers could go, and this door clicked each time it opened and closed which was annoying after a while.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfy bed and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty radiator and skirting boards. Shelf above sink dangerous and in the way when washing. We reported this last year but it hasn't changed.Towel railing hanging off wall. Shower temperature dial came off each time used.

    Comfy bed and good breakfast. Friendly staff. Location suits us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Value for money, very comfortable bed, nice warm duvet, you can sleep well in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from room was not great, but this is Margam, so you have the M4 to the North and Steelworks to the South. And I did not come for the view, it was a one night passing through visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Lovely staff and great food, rooms required a little tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt our room dated and needed a good refurb. We didn’t find the room as clean as I would have expected, the skirting were all dirty, the fittings in the bathroom were falling off the wall, the radiators were all flaking with old paint. The runner on our bed was all marked with god knows what. The plug socked behind the bed was broken and there are no bedside lights which was annoying at night time.

    The food was really good and very reasonably priced, a great beer garden and the staff were so nice to us. They do an amazing cooked breakfast and the bed although a bit small was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    It was a friendly atmosphere. The food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hair dryer in the room would’ve been nice, instead of having to go to reception for one There was a big damp patch in the corner of the room, but no smell of damp. Not enough shelf space in the bathroom.

    Fab full English breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    ghost hunt stop over
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the starter on the menu. I had Frank's hot wings and they had no flavour and hardly any sauce.. expensive for what you got too.. only the starter though..

    the rooms were really lovely and clean. beds were extremely comfprtable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.3
    It was rainy so we could not do the sightseeing we wanted to do but we certainly experienced culture
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room. Mattress is a little soft but overall great experience. Would be nice if there was an elevator but we had staff help us with our bags, which was very nice.

    Nice room. Mattress is a little soft but overall great experience. Would be nice if there was an elevator but we had staff help us with our bags, which was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and corridors could do with a fresh lick of paint because they were very tired and a bit grubby

    The room was large with a comfy bed and large bathroom, and lots of nice touches like bottled water

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was clean and pleasant. For the price it was an absolute bargain. Breakfast was a good size and decent ingredients. Staff were very friendly and allowed us to store bikes. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and Helpful
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room was FAR too got even with the radiator turned off. We were moved and the second room was much better although still a bit warm for us.

    Helpful & very friendly staff. Dealt with.our heat problem very efficiently

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed but could have been warmer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coldness of the room compared to my first stay with you but this was a different room

    The bed was comfortable and it was nice to celebrate my birthday in a comfortable place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    The location, rooms and service made the short stay enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was a little to do it yourself for me as we have previously stayed at the Rode & Crown in Nottage and was expecting a similar style of service. Food and what service we had was fine

    Location perfect for us as we were playing golf at Porthcawl.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Extra big bathroom, very comfortable beds and good phone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast being included in the price

    Extra big bathroom, very comfortable beds and good phone reception. Best hotel breakfast I have had in a very long time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Friendly Staff, Nice Pub. Tired Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Accommodation wise we were disappointed. Towel rails hanging on for dear life as were the toilet roll holders two of them? We stayed in room 10 which was quite comfortable and the only noise we had was from the kitchen staff playing football right below our room we had to close the windows to stop their smoke drifting up to our room. We both think that an easy fix to make this a great place to stay is to have someone (maintenance) spend say one hour a week going into each room. it's all small silly little things that need addressing. I was tempted to fix some of them myself.

    All things considered this is a very handy place to stay, Staff were friendly and drinks reasonably priced. Food was great both in the evening & at breakfast. (orange juice tasted funny) All in all i would not mind recommending Twelve Knights to friends but i would warn them to stay clear of the wannabe Beckham's play ground out the back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Spur of the moment decision to stay overnight. Good prices. Would stay here again, and recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too warm, couldn't turn the heat down.

    The food was really good. The breakfasts were huge. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Even though the rooms were above the pub we couldn't hear anything in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    The stay was ok room was small and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in did not have a view the only view we had was on a brick wall and air vents system when you looked at the window or you can see Wes fag box that was room number 9 not recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    Budget priced hotel, average pub menu but food was nicely cooked, welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a double bedded and a single bedded room as that was all that was available. It was really cold weather and the single bedded room had draughts which I tracked down to a window in the bathroom that I couldn't shut properly. Also, a single duvet is never adequate for an adult even on a single bed - I kept waking up cold and shivering with the duvet falling off which would not happen with a larger one. It's something easily fixed! Not slept in a single bed for years and would ask for a larger duvet next time or make sure a double bedded room was available.

    Nice food - especially breakfast. Very welcoming staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    Plenty of parking, tea/coffee in room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Damp on ceiling in room 3 and within bathroom. The bathroom smelt of wee to the extent I had to keep the window open all night. Pretty poor.

    Plenty of parking, tea/coffee in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    My first time to Wales, my first stay at Twelve Knights, I was made to feel so welcome. loved it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the bed quite hard, in room 8 and I had trouble with the heating even if you turned the radiator off it still was kicking out heat, so I ended up leaving windows open to regulate the temperature of the room. There was a couple of deco issues but very minor.

    My first time to Wales, and my first stay at Twelve Knights, from when I booked in I was made to feel very welcome my room was very big and the bathroom was 3/4 the size of the bedroom so there was plenty of room. The room had all that you needed nicely laid out nice deco very clean. I would definitely recommend this to anybody visiting that area, I was on a course a few miles away and I recommended it straight away where the course leader had the guest attending from all over the UK for his courses, so hopefully I can help send more guests to this lovely hotel / great restaurant/pub. Loved it would definitely stay again. 10/10

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    I booked a family room.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have had full rating if room had been warmer. Radiators was barely on, on maximum.

    I booked a family room. Was plenty big enough for 2 Adults and 1 Child. Received a warm welcome on arrival. All Staff was friendly and helpfull threw out our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    It was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was amazing the bed was so comfortable and it was very clean the staff were very friendly and accommodating and we are looking forward to staying again in a few weeks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    I travelled from Staffs to go to a close relatives funeral...
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled from Staffs to go to a close relatives funeral the next day . Due to adverse weather conditions the wake was cancelled. However, your stafff came to the rescue and ensured that all of us were looked after with food and drinks. Thank you Vicky and colleagues for saving the day. Very much appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Good stop for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did have a problem with a leaking roof, but this was promptly fixed

    Nice pub/hotel. Rooms clean and large. Had tea/coffee making. Good position near M4

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    comfy friendly and location great for my purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    advice only keep the bathroom door shut when having a bath as steam etc gets inot roomand dampens the air, but decent room.

    enough boiling hot water to supply half of wales welcome after a long day, nice selection on menu

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    Comfortableconvenient
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot at night. Noisy with cooling/extractor fans going all night. Mould on bathroom ceiling

    Breakfast was fresh and good quality. Generous portions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    We had a great stay in Twelve Knights - good size room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dim lightning - we would welcome more light in the room and the bathroom too.

    We had a great stay in Twelve Knights - good size room, great customer service and nice breakfast! Place to be booked again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location for business people, big let down by the state of the rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold on the walls in en suite is unacceptable plus spreading to the bedroom. One member of bar staff was happy and cheerful, the rest need to go on a customer aware course and learn to smile

    Comfy bed Sensible prices of drinks and food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Value for money with bubbly staff 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some damp in the corner of the room. Nothing major though.

    Staff were amazingly helpful and so friendly. Breakfast was outstanding good and cooked fresh to order. Bed was firm but very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Spot on.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't go looking for problems. I reflect. And I hope they change nothing.

    Not homogenised, and always a pleasure staying here. Spacious rooms, great staff, comfortable, quiet and just a minute or two off the M4.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love eveything about the twelve knights

    Love the twelve knights very welcomein friendly staff location is great Julie a member of staff is outstanding and a great asset to management thank you happy new year to eveyone see you again next year god bless to you all

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    6.3
    Food highly recommended Comfortable overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flush on toilet did not work on times The whole place was far too hot...Staff not able to control the temperature Facilities including room tired and dated No hairdrier

    The food was excellent both lunch (. I had 2 others within me all rated it as excellent) the full breakfast was really good and value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Easy to find, good location, friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over hot room. Better than being cold but unable to regulate. Also in shower, difficult to get water cool enough.

    Location near crematorium . Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Great stay, friendly people and good food.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts start time from 7.30 AM

    Friendly staff, excellent service , made to feel welcome. Great food. Had to leave early the first morning, so could not make breakfast, staff made up a snack pack to take with us which was very much appreciated. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Great overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here before and again we had a good stay , the rooms are comfortable and excellent value for money , the bar areas are exdellent and we had a good evening meal as well. The breakfast was also very good.The staff are all very friendly and helpful and we will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.8
    Not great really apart from the staff, they were very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housekeeping on the day we stayed. Being told we had to wait up to an hour for dinner as they had a group to see to first. Went to an Indian rest. it was fair.

    The staff were very helpful when we encountered a serious problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Get exactly what you pay for, if I was going alone again I’d definitely stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in at the end of the bar wasn’t great when it’s busy,

    The breakfast was great, I stayed in a single bed, which wasn’t a problem, really comfortable, room was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Good location, quieter area not far from the town centre, good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit cold when we arrived and it was a very wet and stormy day the heating did not appear to be on as the radiators were cold. Soon warmed up with the help of an additional heater provided in the room.

    We found the hotel was in a good location, not too far from the town centre. Food was very good - especially the breakfast, and the staff very helpful. Our room was a good size with the largest bathroom I have ever seen!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    It was ok food and staff excellent. Poor rooms let our stay down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a good size could hear no noise. The bathroom spotless clean. The bedroom needs improvement dust & dirt behind beds,on pictures, ceilings & walls. Bedding & room was damp smelt musty. Would not stay again.

    The food is excellent value for money good portion sizes. Hot Breakfasts are amazing freshly cooked. Lots fruit yougharts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Bedroom and bathroom were basic but adequate for a...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scrambled eggs were tasteless and the bacon dry and hard to eat. No pastries available

    Bedroom and bathroom were basic but adequate for a night's stay. Dinner in the restaurant was very good although kept waiting because of the large party. Given that the party had pre-booked (both table and presumably food), it was not explained why the kitchen could not accept any other orders during 7pm-8pm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.2
    It was bad and I wouldn’t go here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn’t flush. Shower / bath was dirty Blanket on bed was awful it may as well of been a sheet it was so thin, My radiator had three feet therefor wouldn’t stand up so couldn’t put it on. Room was cold Room smelt old and dirty View was awful Very very loud

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: