Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lord Byron Inn

Church Lane, Cambridge, CB2 9LA, United Kingdom

#41 of 58 B&Bs and Inns in Cambridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 692 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff fantastic food great room the grounds were good garden could do with a tidy up but it didn’t stop us having a fabulous time and we will be returning try the burgers they are fabulous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full English breakfast was great but breakfast room a little dingy and cluttered.

    Lovely location - very convenient for Grantchester and Cambridge city centre. Staff were very polite and helpful. Comfortable bed. Excellent value!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress could not speak English very well. Our breakfast order was wrong even after we had clarified the order. The dining room was incredibly dark.

    Rooms were clean. Surrounding area is very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some noise from above us on a couple of occasions, we couldn't work out why.

    Clean comfortable room,great bed. Breakfast was good and staff very friendly. We were visiting our grandaughter at university and she joined us for breakfast one morning and was made very welcome. Easy access to city centre, bus stop close by, but we walked it in 45 minutes.this is our second visit there and would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in a poorly built annex with the landlords accommodation directly above. Every footstep made by those above could be heard and felt in our room and even made the bed shake. The lack of cleanliness in bathroom. No TV reception in room, bar staff asked the landlord to investigate but nothing resolved. (Other rooms had the same problem). The breakfast was poor and served by staff dressed in what can only be described as their grubby gardening clothes.

    Convenient parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the tea bags supplied in the room were awful! Worst tea I've ever tasted! King size bed needs a king size duvet - not a double one. A few safety handles would be useful in the walk in shower; my partner has only one leg and was disappointed he couldn't take a shower safely.

    Very clean, spacious room, very comfortable bed and plenty towels and complimentary toiletries. Quiet location,but less than 10 minutes from city centre in a taxi. Rooms separate from pub/restaurant, so quiet and peaceful. Staff friendly, helpful, and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel was friendly, food good and good value. Staff very welcoming, breakfast great staff willing to do eggs as you like them etc. We went to visit Duxford air museum it has been on my brother in laws bucket list and he loved it so ideal situation to visit this museum. Lovely village, quiet and everyone friendly great stay thanks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was slow. Sometimes signal disappeared in my room. WiFi was for free only 30 min in the bar area. Annoying registration procedure to log in.

    Quiet and clean place. Restaurant is available. Close to the city center and not very far from the railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fine. Shower was cold in the evening but fine in the morning. Pub and dinning area looked tired.

    Location to Addenbrooke and park and ride. Nice setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows hard, duvet too thick for summer, shower tray needs anti slip mat, & drained very slowly.

    Good varied menu, quick service & meals tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit uninspiring in a rather dark gloomy room, little choice.

    We were warmly welcomed and room 8 was lovely and quiet. Ideal for our needs. Our TV had a problem but it was promptly rectified.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a damp smell, the toilet was unstable and the shower very little power . It was very noisy on the Sunday night until quite late , but given it was a hot night and a Holiday One cannot complain about people having a good time in the garden . However that is one reason that I would not normally stay in a pub as we have have had that experience befor Would have appreciated a little language control .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was pretty poor. Lots of fat on the bacon and the plate was greasy, cold beans and eggs; had to ask for mine to be put in the microwave. Slow service, had to ask for more toast, no vegetarian option other than minus the sausage and bacon. I think there was only one staff member on so perhaps she was understaffed but I guess trying her best!

    The bar staff were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was cold. Everything on the plate. Checking out we had to search for it next to hand our key in to.

    The evening staff were great, food in the evening was lovely. Room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. Brilliant location and a really nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful pillows. Carpet needed hoovering. Bathroom particularly the shower needed a good scrub. Staff not welcoming at all and generally not very friendly. Quality of ingredients at breakfast poor.

    Nice large bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inn itself is a beautiful old property in an idyllic location. Staff super nice and helpful and the food excellent. Rooms alas are modern, but clean and comfortable. Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay here, the rooms were clean and comfy, there were free toiletries and tea, coffee and bottled water. We checked in early as the rooms were ready. The location was lovely and the bar was good, staff were great and we ate here after our trip to the city centre. There were 12 of us and everyone really enjoyed their food. Would highly recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside pub. On sat. Night we noticed water dripping on table from roof in corner. And I also noticed maintenance outside and. In needs attention to detail very poor on outside and inside. Also needs. Few things. Seein to

    We like the rooms. At the side. Nice clean comfortable. Room was cleaned daily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a handicap room, without being told. It had no shower enclosure. We booked a double room and got two single beds pushed together. Room generally tacky, carpets worn.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar looking a bit tired and I hate having to walk through the smokers outside to get to room. Also lots of smoking debris left around outside which is a shame

    Good location near to Park and Ride into Cambridge. Lovely motel style room in nice garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building itself was in disrepair, chairs had ripped covers on and not very comfortable. The exterior met my expectations but greatly disappointed with the interior. Due to this we ate elsewhere.

    The bedrooms were excellent. The location was good for our visit. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast had plenty of choice and was substanbtial.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a very large menu in the evenings - could have done with some more choices. Also there was nothing on the website to say they did not serve food on a Monday evening.

    The breakfast was delicious and so much of it. The staff were all lovely although we never saw the same person twice. Nice and handy for all the attractions and historic places in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor noise insulation between rooms.. I could hear conversation of adjacent room. no central heating.... manual convection heater in bedroom.

    poor outdated build quality. cold floor. manual electric heating... not centrally heated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did not seem at all interested in customer. The fruit in bowl at breakfast consisted of 3 old apples and a mouldy green orange that was actually half rotten. We must have used booking.com or similar over 100 times and always booked highly rated properties but for 83pounds a night this was disappointing. This is the first negative review I have posted.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried three times to phone and confirm booking and seek directions but nobody picked up? For some reason the post code didn’t match my satnav but found it anyway.

    Warm and comfortable room on arrival, pleasant surroundings, safe parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing really caused us any problems at all so have no reason to complain

    the general friendliness of all the staff, the excellent food and the location of this property. we were able to get to the park and ride easily, take a walk of an evening or move further afield if required

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it sounded at times as if someone was walking across the ceiling but I could not see an upstairs I would not stay in the summer as your room looked straight out into the garden giving you no privacy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality was non existant and the breakfast was the worst ive ever come across really poor the room needed a new carpet about 5 yrs ago and the shower is in poor working order and the bulb wasnt working on the bedside cabinet lamp and there was 1 bottle of water for 2 people to share and they take the money on arrival which is rude

    Bed was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside is that the mattresses were flat in the middle and uncomfortable.

    Nice breakfast and a short walk from a good chinese buffett. Close to Cambridge park and ride to the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No evening meals on Mondays! It was the chef's day off. Apart from that, the food was very good and the servings were generous. Good beer too.

    Room was comfortable and had one of those air-conditioning/heater arrangements, which was great. there was a supplementary electric heater too, if required. Nice, roomy wardrobe and spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lord Byron pub looked tired and in need of TLC, particularly in the bar area. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable but partition walls between neighbouring rooms were very thin. Staff could have been more attentive to the non-regulars/visitors.

    Good food and beer. Clean and comfortable room. Very close to Cambridge Park&Ride service and Cambridge Centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The actual pub was very tired and didn’t feel welcoming in terms of a drinking place. The breakfast was limited in option and the beans were cold. As a vegetarian the was no alternative to the full English... you just didn’t get the meat making it poor value and a sense of not being really considered

    The room was lovely, it was clean, comfortable and warm. The bed was comfy hence a good nights sleep. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our main grumble/disappointment was the shower, which was just a dribble with absolutely no power. The heating wasn't working but the heaters provided worked well so we weren't cold. Unfortunately the chef has a day off on Mondays so no food in the evening. However, there are 2/3 very good places to eat about 2 to 3 minutes walk away so it wasn't a problem for us.

    The fact that the rooms are separate from the pub and bar areas was great. The room size, the bed size (massive), the location (very near to the bus into Cambridge), the staff were great, the room was lovely and clean and no noise of traffic or other noises.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-out time is too early, 10:30. It would have been less stressful if it were at 12nn or at least 11:30. The rooms could use a fridge or at least a couple of bottles of water. The bottles of water from the pub cost a fortune. There are no useful information for the tourists such as bus times, how much they cost, a city map, etc.

    The breakfast was a decent full english breakfast. The staff tried to accommodate our early check-in, although in the end we just managed to check-in 30 minutes earlier as the rooms had to be cleaned.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities were a little basic & clinical

    Very big bed Room was a little cold but heaters installed were very effective despite the icy conditions outside

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Every thing was good value for the money, the breaffat was good value and bedroom was clean comfortable and Enough tea and coffee supplies. Issue was the to signal was pretty poor as half the channels didn't want to work. Wifi was better though. But a minor issue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was uncomfortable - it was 2 single beds pushed together which is never good, lights in bathroom did not work and the air con was very noisy

    easy to check out, breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite obvious that the ownership are just 'starting' in the hotel arena, needs a lot of refurb work in main building but a great start

    Very comfortable room with good beds/bedding. Rooms nicely separated from the main pub building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a couple of communication problems at breakfast. It didn’t affect me because I could eat what was brought, however, it wasn’t what I ordered. Others could be inconvenienced.

    Stayed before. Rooms very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms not heated before we occupied so had to use all the heaters to warm the room. There was a wood burning fire in the bar that was clearly usable BUT Not lit for whatever reason. although ALL the radiators where on the bar was extremely COLD. it was actually warmer in the toilets than the bar.

    Location, price and parking... The food was good quality both evening meal and the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating on in the room on arrival, radiator took along time to warm room larger heater didn't work. thought it was overpriced for what you got.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the floor above which was not rented out but used by the owners as their residence. Most annoying that this was allowed to happen. Also we arrived on Monday 12th February to find that the kitchen does not open on Monday's. This was very annoying as we had to venture out in the cold to find a restaurant where we really wanted to stay in the hotel.

    Nice room and very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Pub facilities. Morning staff

    Pub looks lovely from outside and is ideally situated for the restaurant we was visiting. Pub was absolutely dead in the evening, no atmosphere. Breakfast was terrible. My partners eggs were raw and the sausages were only just cooked. Morning staff didn't want to seem to help and spoke little English. Wasn't asked if we'd enjoyed our stay, or thanked for our custom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    The price of £ 72.00 for a good, comfortable pub/hotel only a mile from the centre of Cambridge is fantastic. If you want posh go somewhere else and pay double. Main point for post people is that it is absolutely clean. The bedroom had was spacious, warm and, importantly, on the ground floor. Dinner was first class plain food - but try the steak and Turpin ale pie - exceptional flavour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed ordinary rather than having its features exaggerated. In the bathroom, the shower was so small it wasn't possible to close the door (to the shower) and feel able to wash myself. It felt oppressive, and yet, the bathroom was a perfect size for a portion to be almost like a wet room. It wouldn't be that difficult as the tiling in the bathroon was continued into the shower, so it was only the size of the base and potential surrounding protection that needs enlarging. There was a child running about upstairs early in the morning that was unfortunate.

    This was a good location and right price for my purposes. Wanted an alternative to the usual higher priced hotels with an intimate, local and friendly atmosphere, plus decent food. It was all of these, although I felt there was something no quite perfect about the staff. The pub was quiet, which is fine, but I felt it was quiet because it may be quiet quite a lot of the time, which would make it difficult to finance the business properly. But I liked it, all the same.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer. Door broken and I had to climb out through the window to open it. Shower was not very warm and the bathroom very cold.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of external noise owing to our room being near the pub car park and opposite where all the drunk smokers congregated. After closing time and everyone had gone things quietened down and it was fine after that. In the morning, the cook/chef arrived late for work. Despite breakfast being advertised from 8am to 9.30am the cook/chef didn't arrive until about 8.10am meaning there was a queue of five people already outside, waiting for the pub to be opened. When my cooked breakfast arrived, most of it was cold. Beans were hot, though. Sausages were anaemic and full of fat (they burst when I cut into them and filled my plate with runny fat). Some people might like them like that, I guess, but not me. No one around when I went to check out so just left my room key on the bar. Couldn't help but think was a little over priced.

    Room itself was comfortable, spotless and well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very cold and there is no heating in bathroom that has a very cold stone floor.

    Check-in was friendly and consent given for car parking the next (check out ) day so we could go into Cambridge by bus. Worth staying in Trumpington for reasons of parking and good public transport access - regular 'park and ride' buses nearby. The evening meal and beer was more than adequate. Water, shower and TV were fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impressions on entering the pub were of a rather shabby tired place - the bar and dining areas would benefit from an uplift!

    Clean comfortable room with good TV and WiFi.Friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast in the morning was awful and the staff could speak little English and mixed our order and others

    Service food on arrival and through the afternoon and evening

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Idiots'guides to TV and heating systems. I got there eventually ! I stayed in the winter and it was very quiet, but the rooms faced onto the pub's gardens and play area. I could imagine on a late summer's evening it would be noisy until the last drinker went home.

    Size and room and bathroom, plenty of mirrors, adequate hanging and drawer space for short visit. Plenty of tea/coffee provisions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub itself was quite run down inside which was unfortunate as we would have eaten in if it was a nicer decor and more comfy. It needs the hotel inspector input. Having said this the rooms and breakfast was lovely so scored higher marks due to this..

    The rooms were comfy, clean and nicely decorated. Really nice breakfast too. Overall good value against other accommodation nearby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was left unlocked twice,there was only one hard chair in the room to sit on,there were people above you could hear every footstep it was loud and disturbing.

    The staff were great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the accessible room and generally was very pleased with it. The bed was huge (consisted of two beds joined). The toilet/shower room is spacious and has a shower chair, however, the chair is too high for someone who cannot stand at all, i.e. for wheelchair users with complete paralysis. Although the pub-part of the Lord Byron Inn had no level access from the main entrance, they had a removable ramp, plus there is an option to enter through an alternative entrance which does not have any steps.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a bath and hairdryer but no problem really.

    Large bed. Very comfortable. Option of travel cot if we needed it. Play area nice. Location great. Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The little lamps near the bed , did not work , you've got a trick to use them but I think they were broken... Did not want to go and ask the staff , maybe put a normal lamp instead of the touch lamp

    The hotel is very nice even if it's near a road , you can't hear any noise form your room . Room very nice , very clean , very quiet. BKF was perfect , everything that you could expect for a BKF ( full English BKF, plus extra ( Yogurt , cereals ect ...) Diner was very nice too. Staff very nice and very helpfull !!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Flooring very noisy carpet very very thin. Bathroom required a bit attention fe mould in the corners. Asked for porridge sorry none cereals of poor quality, bread for toasting not to our liking in our opinion. Main breakfast very good. No carvery as stated online. even the staff said it needs up dating? The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    The staff were friendly. The bedding and towels white and clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If your in a hurry to get somewhere in the morning, go early as the traffic is very busy on the road the hotel is on!

    Like a good night out at a Village Pub. Food was excellent, service good and rooms were in an outbuilding detached from main pub. Wifi in room, plenty of onsite car parking were good for work content, and pub atmosphere was great to relax!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean especially the carpet. Sheets were itchy. Rooms are ground floor and doors open onto an outside covered walkway so not very secure. Pub was deserted ona Thursday night.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    All as advertised. - no complaints. Note: It is on a busy rabbit run and can be busy with commuter traffic at peak times, but it is just 5 mins from M11.

    Typical English Inn. well placed for all Cambridge locations. Good parking & WiFi. Large Annex room, functional, warm and clean for one night. Pub food was a good standard and reasonably priced. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast I requested vegetarian breakfast more than 1 week before arrival, however no attention was made and thereby we didn't had fun vegetarian breakfast

    nice clean, warm room. Nice maintained outdoor area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Premises in serious need of refurb and update. lack of restaurant facilities meant finding alternative facilities elsewhere. Breakfast was average. I felt the price was expensive.

    Accomodation was ok, the bedroom good. Location close to Cambridge and park n ride good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Challette type rooms, cold, signs of damp, cheap electric heater weak shower, bar area depressing(description supplied by the barmaid), breakfast room dark ( lit by 3 standard lamps), restaraunt was closed so had to go and find evening meal. Paid £82.50 including breakfast place was worth £40 tops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom is in need of Tlc and needs a lick of paint Pub in general needs some renovating as there is potential for it. A bit overpriced considering it needs work doing to it. To sum it up a bit tired looking. There was no food on offer as the kitchen was not going to be open until Tuesday 28th.

    The breakfast was ok however on the 2nd morning of our stay some of the food was a bit cold. The dining room could have been made warmer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV wasn't working, as a women on her own I felt very I didn't feel very safe in the rooms. They were motel style rooms which faced a garden the door was thin and the lock wasn't very secure

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately there were some issues: the bathroom wasn't perfectly clean, and there was no hot water on my last morning so I had to have a cold shower. And make sure you bring earplugs - the walls and ceilings aren't soundproofed at all so you can hear everything...

    Bed was comfy, staff were very friendly and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived in time for dinner to find kitchen was closed for the night so had to go straight out to find a meal- not notified in advance No heating in bathroom- very cold Shower pressure lacking Pillows hard Room in annexe block and pub outside light shone through thin curtains cooked breakfast arrived with everything on- no option to discuss before and not everything hot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room desperately needed painting and a new carpet. Awful beds. Smoking area from the pub outside bedrooms with loudmouth louts until late

    Good bathroom and breakfast, good location for Addenbrookes and the M11

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property is very run down needed an update . the toilet seat being of plastic and not on straight .

    The bed was very comfortable and large . Breakfast was good with plenty .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed but no forewarning. Very average breakfast supposedly cooked tomato stone cold - how much of this breakfast was reheated? Tv in next room playing all night!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t see any management. We had problems with neighbouring rooms at 1:30am. No emergency telephone number in booklet. We phoned the main telephone number and no one answered. Wouldn’t recommend it for a single traveling women as rooms are outside and at ground level. Terrible beds.. new mattress needed and pillows.

    Nice breakfast..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No food available other than breakfast

    Location so close to Addenbrooks Hospital really good for the 7.15 appointments Breakfast very good Room comfy and bathroom a good size Timothy Taylor Landlord on draught

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed to find the kitchen was closed for refurbishment so no meals being served apart from breakfast.

    Breakfast was nice and there was plenty of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the furniture was homemade and the main door was not of the same standard as the remainder of the room.

    Room was spacious, and the bed comfortable. Breakfast staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were fairly basic but comfortable and clean, and everything we needed was provided. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the cooked breakfast was excellent. There was also a nice play area out the back for children. There was plenty of parking available, and it was an easy walk into the centre of Cambridge.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Lord Byron Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: