Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Unicorn Hotel Wetherspoon 2 stars

Market Place, Ripon, HG4 1BP, United Kingdom

#6 of 10 hotels in Ripon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1520 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact that paying with cash is not an option .pounds sterling is the currency of this country and I think I should have this option to use instead of credit card.

    Location, lovely comfortable rooms, friendly staff,everything worked as it should ,great value for money .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very helpful and friendly, even when extremely busy still smiling and courteous. All round excellent value for money, meals good value and served very quickly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I could see signs of refurbishment here and there going on which is great. During our first stay a while back, the stairs to the guest rooms were tatty but that has been improved so 10/10.

    The room was nice and cosy and everything worked ok. Beds and pillows snug.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was hardley any thing to eat from the menu , no deserts at all . the staff couldnt care less. my grandaughter left her comforters in the bedroom and the staff didnt care , they didnt find them and she is distraught. would not recomend this hotel and will not be staying there again.

    the bedrooms were comfortable and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room I was in with my 86 year old mother was very small. Had to move the fan that next to the desk at the side of the bed incase she fell over it. My brother and sister in law were on the next floor their room was massive and my daughter and her partner were in the top floor their room was big as well. We paid the same price for each room. I asked if we could all be on the same floor. No lift my mom struggled getting up the flight of stairs. I was disappointed and did speak to a member of staff who informed me they have smaller rooms than the one we were in.

    The location was in the centre of Ripon. It was clean. We were meeting family for a christening not able to book a table for 12 they did let us move tables as they became empty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Downside might be for some that there is 3 floors and no lift but am sure that the staff would assist arranging for luggage to be carried as per my positive comments below

    Excellent service. Disability recognised on arrival and catered for without needing to say anything. Receptionist and barman (at breakfast) both friendly and helpful. Room clean and tasteful. Restaurant in bar is good value so no need to eat out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was noisy, because it overlooked the street. But we understood we were staying in a hotel with a pub below.

    Can't fault the location, right on the market square. Easy to walk out to anywhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room.overlooked a dirty flat roof which housed air con units. There was a.lot of dirt, an old shopping basket, noisy air con etc. The only fault with this hotel.

    The property has character, bed was comfortable, good value for money and located right in the heart of Ripon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bit on the small side and we had 4 flights of stairs to get to the second floor. Parking was a bit of a problem as it was market day so couldn't park outside til later in the day. Sign on car park said no overnight parking but that was just on a Wednesday night ( checked with a Parking Officer) Beware if you have a disabled badge,the disabled space outside the hotel was for one hour only. We saw two cars with disabled badges getting tickets.

    We had a lovely room that overlooked the main square. Kettle,tea, coffe,water and biscuits in room, beds very comfortable slept very well. Would use again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    window of bedroom was grubby and did not stay open on a very warm evening

    Room was very comfortable and great value. Excellent breakfast and very pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very loud extractor fan in the bathroom had to be switched off and equally loud generator directly outside our room, which went on all the first night of our 2 night stay, disturbing sleep.

    Meals and drinks excellent value for money. Rooms were clean and adequate. Staff very friendly. Location great, right in the centre of Ripon, and ideal for our trip to The Races, where free transport to and from the Course was sited just round the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't pay for the room with cash. Had to go to the post office to put money on our card. Bit silly really

    It's a Wetherspoons soon food and drink amazingly priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food wasnt as good as other Wetherspoons we have eaten at. Cold chips and overcooked chicken.

    Bedroom and facilities very good although delivery noise from nearby Sainsburys began early in the morning and did awaken us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great staff very friendly, even shared a couple of shandy's with them, thanks Vicky, Vicky's mum, Angelina, and Sally. We had a great time, many thanks from Richard & Donna (204)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed Ripon and hotel was in a perfect position to explore, the room was good, we enjoyed our stay and we ate in the Unicorn the food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the 3rd floor, no lift, and 53 stairs to climb, and we are in our 70s. If we return, we would ask to be on the 1st or 2nd floor

    The Breakfast was wonderful,and great value for money. The Sirloin steak in th evening was just as I like it, and again great value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I overlooked the market square and was able to watch the nightly ceremony where the Watchman blows his horn and makes a proclamation - all from the comfort of my room - as the weather was diabolical. The floor of the room was not level, which is not surprising in an old property (probably a coaching inn originally) but it all added to the charm of the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No available parking despite being told there was parking. The worst outlook from the room, massive pipes and scrubland with used bottles and rubbish scattered everywhere. We immediately closed the curtains and they remained closed for the whole trip. We went into the pub to eat, dirty tables full of used crockery, and no staff attempting to clear anything. We queued ages to get served with drinks. We went round the corner to eat in a clean friendly pub and had good service. Very disappointing indeed!

    Hot shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was just above the bar's "back door" so some noise and cigarette smoke invaded our room. Not a major issue though we were woken up around 11.00pm one night. On site parking is limited and manouvering a large car would be a challenge!

    The staff were universally helpful and friendly. The location is brilliant for a short "city break".

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The room was on the top floor, which was a bit of a climb but no problem. The room was spacious and comfortable and was spotless. Wetherspoon prices for drinks and food an added bonus. All in all I would recommend the Unicorn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was on top floor 57 steps to climb. Sash window wouldn't stay open so wedged it with a toilet roll.

    Room and bathroom were clean. Plenty of tea/coffee/milk. Complimentary biscuits and water replaced on second day. Cumfy 5ft bed. Room was adequate for a two night stay. Good position in the market square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i booked through booking.com it said parking but full plus i could pay cash but when i got there was not allowed also my room must have been above the celler aa it was very loud

    Good value for money and great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheapish place to stay in an expensive town -- and the only place that had a room for the night I needed to be in Ripon. Room was large and clean, if pretty basic and gloomy -- but I was there only one night to sleep so wasn't too bothered by that. Very good staff: men and women who clearly know what customer service should look like, who interact with customers in a friendly, informal way, and who have the personal maturity and professional know-how to deal with any issues arising. They were also very knowledgeable. There's a pub on the ground floor. Not exactly gourmet food, but they have fresh items such as salad, and the calorie value of all dishes is listed on the menu so choosing something healthy is made easy. It's not exactly a place you're going to go to spend your honeymoon, but if you need a reasonably-priced bed for the night, then you can very well stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as 80 years+ would have liked to have been consulted on location of room 3rd floor 6 flights of stairs, TOO MUCH!!! and no lift! Quality of meals mediocre, cold plates, not enough attention to detail!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the third floor without a lift. Expensive on race days.

    Nice very clean double aspect corner room, overlooking the rooftops but very quiet, comfy bed, tea & coffee making facilities. All you need from Wetherspoons downstairs with inexpensive food and drinks. Staff very receptive and found us parking spaces-thanks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was wonderfully large however the mattress tended to a deep dip in the middle leading to us rolling in to each other when turning over during the night. The flooring of this old hotel is, naturally, old but this gave our bedroom floor an uneven surface, sloped from one side to the other. Appreciating that this was a public hotel with public bars however this led to meals being taken in a noisy environment, maybe the hotel could consider earmarking one of the bars rooms for hotel guests dining.

    We were very pleased with the bedroom and bathroom dimensions which were very spacious. The views from both the bedroom, which overlooked the market square, and the bathroom, with a wonderful view of the cathedral, were excellent. Also the very central location of the hotel made it easy to go out for walks around the centre of Ripon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel part is fine, especially for the money paid, but the Weatherspoons pubs are getting very grotty. Dirty tables and carpet, grubby furniture and poor food. Catering for the noisy cheap beer brigade.

    Town centre location so no need to use the car. Room was clean and bed comfy. Free water bottles provided and tea and coffee making facilities. Room I had on top floor was very quiet. Great for a one or two night stay but not for longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your room is at the front of the hotel, they fail to tell you that there is a telephone for the local taxis which is quite annoying as it rings till late & early in the morning. The stairways are quite narrow & steep which it doesn't help if your on the top floor.

    It was clean & the location is great. The car park behind the hotel was £2.50 all day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    issue with gluten free menu and unavailability of items. This meant one of our group unsecured to eat . staff impolite when questioned about the menu.

    lovely rooms .reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable and quiet, with a surprising but nice decoration, the staff friendly. When we arrived sunday afternoon, we liked the ambiance in the pub. Good place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don't know about croissants . The bed might have been extra comfy but the battle not to roll out of the bed due to the three dimensional gradient of the room floor (105) left me concentrating only on that aspect of the bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in a number of Wetherspoon hotels and this is of a very poor standard. Staff almost devoid of communication .

    Nothing There was no free WiFi in answer to your question Half of the food on the menu had run out. I ate elsewhere The early morning staff couldn’t have made more noise if they tried

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single-glazed windows looking on to the market square, so some noise from 6am. No dedicated parking, though the cathedral long-stay car park is nearby and only £2.50 per day.

    Although the breakfast was not part of the room charge, it was very reasonably priced. The evening meal was also good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't a lift and the older people in our group suffered with the stairs as they were on the top floor. It's worth asking for a room on group floor.

    Great location, right in the middle of Ripon Square. Clean and comfortable. Handy being a WeatherSpoons as the food and drink was very cheap. Would recommend to others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Excellent location, reception staff very welcoming & extremely helpful. Surrounded by restaurants, pubs, cafes, shops & places of interest all within walking distance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel didn't have a lift so the older people in our group struggled with the stairs.

    Great location, right in the centre of Ripon Square. Clean, comfortable room. Very handy it being WeatherSpoons as the food is ok and a reasonable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park very tight to get in and out but can park on Sainsbury's car park for £2.50 for 24 hours.We had steak in the evening asked for medium rare came well done did not enjoy the waitress said very sorry.

    The staff and room where great breakfast good we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was very limited.

    Room was quiet and warm and comfortable, clean and tidy with good facilities and a Hot shower. WiFi was OK. Good Location in heart of Ripon. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all fantastic

    Fantastic room, clean and comfy. Hotel located right in the market square - Fantastic value for money and wonderful breakfast available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room 204 for the first time. The TV was hanging off the wall, there was a horrendous stench-like smell coming from the bathroom, and there had been a leak on the ceiling above the bed. We did not complain as we recognised ourselves that the rooms are now ready for refurbishment and was only staying the one night. However, we had intended passing on our concerns on leaving, although the receptionist was extremely busy, whom we had not met before, and therefore decided to leave it. We than received an email to rate the hotel, of which afforded us the opportunity to illuminate the fact that these rooms are becoming worn and require some TLC to make sure that they retain their loyal customers that return ad-hoc throughout the year.

    We have been coming here for years and staff are always friendly and recognise us as returning guests, demonstrating excellent customer service. The location has always been a bonus too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have any problems or dislike anything everything was perfect. We didn't want to leave the place we wanted to stay longer.

    We loved everything about the property, the staff were excellent the food was amazing and the rooms were lovely! We didn't want to leave, we will definelty be going back. The kids loved the hotel aswell, they didn't want to leave either.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing stands out. Happy with everything so far.

    It’s a pub. Very noisy and rowdy but can’t hear a thing once in your room! Price of meals was exceptional and best chicken tikka I’ve ever tasted! It also included naan bread and rice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and hallway where we stayed were freezing! I would have expected the heating to be on in our room and if we desired we cold turn it down. It took us until the morning when we were leaving to find the heating switch. Fire alarm went off at 6am due to faulty sensors. Wisitng for a call from head office regarding a refund.

    bed Comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy, smokers outside the bar below our window, even with it closed, then the all too common banging in the corridor as people came in later, then the next room chatted until 3am, they weren't shouting but we could hear...

    Nice room, location on the market place is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like just not enough towels in the room but we managed 👍

    The family room was huge. Very clean and warm.beds lovely and comfortable even the camp bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Never seems to be enough staff in the bar/food areas - not much cleaning of tables goes on and staff seem to struggle to cope as this is a very busy place.

    Stayed a few times - rooms always spotless and well equipped. Reception staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    mattress was really soft Its Not A Complaint It’s just an observation That’s all!” 🤓🤓🙂

    Fantastic hotel with food being served all day, not worrying about having to go out or wait till dinner time 18:00hrs before you can have something to eat. The meal was delicious, service was Excellent In fact. From Booking In To Going Out Their Way To Making Sure That My Work’s Van Was Safely On Their Premise’s, To The Service Of Our Meal (Hot, Fresh & Delicious), Room Spotlessly Clean and Fresh Smelling and Temp Of The Room WAS EXCELLENT!!!! 😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not clean, hair on the bath and the bath was dirty. The noise from other guests was rediculous and continued until 4 in the morning. We could not complain in the morning due to the long line of guests also making complaints and us needing to get to an appointment.

    friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from customers and toilets (I was next to a it to could hear hand-driers) at the pub but not too noisy in general. Bathroom floor needed cleaning (footprints visible)

    Very friendly and happy staff. Great location with parking a short walk away. Late food and drink available. Rooms very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The absence of comfortable chairs in the bedrooms, and the scarcity of them downstairs!

    Considering that the bedrooms were above a large and busy bar, the rooms were very pleasantly quiet. The bedroom was clean and attractive and the bed comfortable. The only thing lacking was an easy-chair (I like to sit and read in the evening and morning). The only really comfortable seats were the sofas in the lounge/breakfast room, and there were not enough of those to go round. The location is excellent, with views out over the market place. The Cathedral is only a few hundred yards away; the bus station at a similar distance in the other direction. Breakfast was very nice; the other food was standard Wetherspoons - but if that's not your thing, there are two good Italian restaurants very close by. There was also a useful mini-Sainsburys two doors away. Overall this was really very good value for less than £60 a night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told that children under 16 had to leave the restaurant area at 9pm until we arrived. After driving for 4 hours for a family wedding my daughter then had to go up to her room. A member of staff then asked my son for ID and because we didn’t have any told him to leave and took his drink away. This should be explained at booking stage. There were about 15 if us wanting to spend time with the groom to be and we couldn’t.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 108 is above the kitchen and we could hear staff from 6.30am. Bottles thrown in the bins, staff stood under our window talking/arguing. We were told a few had cancelled so why were we given the noisy room?! The bar was freezing cold with cold air blowing, apart from Tuesday -quiz night - when there was warm air blowing but we had already eaten elsewhere to stay warm. Tables not cleared after breakfast - and rarely cleaned - and breakfast was cold. Room 108 could do with a hoover taking round the edges of the carpet, it is so dusty it's white.

    Our room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found bed too hard lighting very dim in room Really struggled to get hot water in a morning.

    Really good breakfast relaxed atmosphere great quiz on a Tuesday

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff in the hotel were excellent.A lift would have been great but the building is protected and so a lift is not possible.The rooms were very warm and very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not like the menu at Wetherspoons too many chips, burgers and fried meals for our taste. No hand rail in the bath and husband slipped getting out badly bruising his elbow and arm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Erm? Nothing. ........ Except the fact that all rooms are upstairs and there isn't a lift due to its age and heritage status. But this was easily overcome, for me, at least.

    We arrived on a very wet bust market day. Nothing was too much trouble for receptionist. Helping bring bags in and upstairs. As we were going to go visit friends we left soon after arriving. But not before arranging parking for our return due to my being disabled, the manager came out at 9pm and moved his car so that I could park in an accessible place. Just fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was very comfortable and warm with tea and coffee and biscuits and two bottles of water. The bed was really comfortable and although the room was large it was warm and cosy. We had a lovely traditional breakfast at our leisure and Checking out was simple and effortless. Thank you for lovely stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    Excellent location very clean with very good staff . Typically good value for Wetherspoons. This was our 4th visit it won't be the last.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    3rd floor room, no lift. No parking available so had to pay. Bathroom flooded due to poor plumbing. Light bulb failure over dressing table, reported but not replaced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The rooms are tastefully decorated and well equipped. When traveling for business it’s a bonus having all your needs on site including good value meals and drinks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    car park is very difficult to find and is very small, entrance is off a supermarket car park, locals park in the entrance of the unicorn car park and block it up!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was due to room being at front of hotel did get disturb with noise outside of people coming & going.

    Staff very helpful & friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the bathroom fan extractor was switched on, when we went to walk around the cathedral then we switched the fan off. On return we found the room to be musty and smell of damp. The room was on the top floor and evidence out the window showed blocked gutters on adjacent rooms once the snow had melted.

    Staff provided an extra duvet when one proved to be too small. It did snow that night!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I'd ask for is an iron in the room!

    Room was fantastic value, staff were very friendly and absolutely no noise coming through from the pub which we were worried could happen. Room size was great and very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift would make it perfect but I understand the layout of the hotel would make it difficult.

    Everything was better than what I was expecting. Was told it was a basic cheap and cheerful hotel so was delighted when I saw the high standard of my room. Everything I needed with plenty tea coffee and even biscuits. I will certainly use this hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The weather was bad so it was so good to have good food and selection of drinks on hand. The staff were excellent throughout and we had a lovely time during out stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just took a while to clean off our dinner table on the first night. Otherwise perfect.

    Super night's stay before a job interview. Got a family room for mysef and two adult daughters. Very comfy and quiet. Lovely food in the Wetherspoons downstairs. Good price for room and for food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cannot really say there was anything we didn't like

    stayed here before and the rooms are excellent value for money, very clean and spacious, food in the hotel is great value for money as it is a Wetherspoons, meals were lovely, staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Unicorn is in a good position in the city centre, a quirky hotel with interesting history , also an association with Lewis Carroll.

    Pillows were a bit too bouncy for me. My husband slept like a baby. Good view of market square from bedroom window... we were on the top floor, and although we are both in our 70s , we managed the numerous flight of stairs . Enough excerise for 2days.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say I can fault this property.

    The location is great, rooms are comfortable and for the money you pay have a great supply of tea, coffee, water and even biscuits which pleased my husband. The hotel was very clean and never heard any noise from below.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV in the room (204) is placed oddly and could be in a better position.

    Very good location, room is very good and has everything required for a short stay. Staff very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of tic needed but it is an old building after all .

    Nice clean comfortable beds and nice big bathroom. Only stayed one night but nice to have bottled water and tea coffee and biscuits too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of easy chairs would have been appreciated...watching TV in bed or straight backed chairs was not for us. Fried chips were were not hot.....something wrong with the system.

    Cleaning staff were excellent. Most meals were extremely tasty and good value.Menu well thought out especially breakfast for those not keen on traditional English.At last really tasty veg/vegan meals ! As usual the bar staff were right on form. Large comfy room....excellent beds and linen .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing...all good

    Great stay, staff helpful and friendly, food and drink excellent, family room (102) perfect overlooking the market place. Limited parking but £2.50 for all day parking at Sainsbury's. Only stayed for 2 nights, wish it had been longer!! Value for money and will definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin so you could hear other people easily, when another room turned on their taps or flushed the toilet you would of thought someone else was in your room with you.

    It was perfect for location and the room was a good size. Rooms were very clean and they always topped up the tea, coffee and biscuits each day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room 209 which was a family room, the only issue we experienced was a constant "thudding" noise about 11pm at night and then again about 6ish (sounds like a machine of some sort). It didn't bother us too much as we do get up early, but something to bear in mind in that room - We didn't feedback as wasn't a major issue to us. Not sure what it was, could be barrels in the pub downstairs being changed??.

    Myself and my partner stayed overnight, lovely location, very central and lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The only slight issue was the parking which is around the back of the property, a little difficult to find . Hotel provided a map which was useful. There is parking available nearby and great value, so wasn't a big issue. Overall, lovely stay, staff all friendly and all major attractions nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: