Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Victoria Hotel 3 stars

59 London Road, Canterbury, CT2 8JY, United Kingdom

#17 of 24 B&Bs and Inns in Canterbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1431 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    I like everything about Victoria Hotel. Came to Victoria Hotel the first time and there i met Anthony Mullen and the staffs. They are all very helpful and make my stay always comfortable. Public transport are very convenient and it just a distance walk to the Canterbury Centre. I will never go for another hotel in the future .. will always be with Victoria Hotel. Thank you Victoria Hotel for a pleasant hospitality 🙏🏻👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel exterior was a little tired and in need of some TLC.

    The room and beds were large and the mattresses really comfy. Plenty of room for clothes in the wardrobe and drawers. The bathroom was a good size with plenty of space for toiletries. The restaurant was again large and very popular with guests and non residents. The food was really good and plentiful and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Familyroom was comfortable, we had a flat with a small kitchen and two sleepingrooms. The personal was very accomodating and the breakfast delicious with fresh ingredients and fruits.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet / shower room was too small would not have suited anyone with disability or who is a large person. Bed excellent though big and comfy!

    Staff super friendly and accommodating. Great location and clean and tidy. Breakfast very good; room was a little compact for a single but had all the facilities you would expect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to fault

    room was comfortable and spacious enough, clean and quiet. good breakfast. It is not too far away from center of town to walk, and walk is pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We requested and received the central heating to be turned on during the cold evening. I was unaware when booking that breakfast was an additional £7.50. per meal

    Comfortable room on ground floor , Spacious car park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location.Clean & Comfortable. Efficient & friendly Staff. Good value for money. My single room was very compact and comfortable and the bathroom had a great shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My double bed was two singles pushed together (grrr).

    The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and tidy and well provisioned. Dinner was plentiful and breakfast was good too. Nice pastries. I slept well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a little bigger and cupboards were in need of some attention. The shower doors did not close properly and let water out if one was not careful. Having said that it was good enough for a couple of nights.I was out during the day.

    Did not have croissants so cannot comment Bed was firm and comfortable The staff were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The assistant manager Rosario was particularly helpful. We spent over half an hour trying to pay the Dartford Crossing toll on line, the website would not accept my payment, twice, so we managed to do it over the phone. I could not have done it without her patience and perseverance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More wardrobe space required. Was fine for 3 nights although friends lived out of their suitcase. It was a family room so 4 persons staying longer would need more storage space maybe chest of drawers

    Spacious bedroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well located. Easy to walk into town. Great, inexpensive breakfast. The staff were super helpful. We had to check out early due to a sick child. The staff told us they would refund our final night if they were able to see the room. They called us later in the day to say they had sold it. And have us a refund. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old. Would need refurbishment. Several little things not working: bathroom tap and shelf not properly fixed, means shelf close to falling and things put on it slide to one side. No toilet paper when I arrived.

    Very welcoming and friendly staff. Immediately brought toilet paper and apologised. Very good breakfast. Only 14 mins walk from city center. Large free car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a very spacious family room. The location was good - a decent walking distance from the Cathedral - and the staff were responsive to any issues. The heat in our room had been turned off when we arrived and they quickly got it sorted out for us, though it did take some time to heat up! Overall a very positive experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People in room above banging around at 3.30 am not hotels fault Wish we could have stayed another day

    Front of staff gentleman very helpfull with instructions of hotel and directions Into canterbury centre which was only 5 min drive so walkable . Restaurant was still open when we got there Beds massive and comfortable Easy to find which is always a plus when travelling for 5 hours Plenty of tea and coffee In room Easy reach of white cliffs of Dover and margate which we did before continuing our journey

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They tried to charge us for drinks we did not have at the bar but in the end we did not pay so it was ok. The building is very old and there are no elevators to take the luggage

    The staff was very helpful and the hot chocolate delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is easy to find and there is adequate parking. The family rooms were great. It is an easy walk into town. We will be booking again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would BAN mobile 'phones in the restaurant. They are like the black plague and inconsiderate users, in line with the medieval times analogy, would have them placed in the stocks!! If their wretched 'phone rings, make them leave to restaurant to answer.

    Choice of fruit at breakfast was good, cooked breakfast was excellent , likewise everything else.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing to mention here was a Wifi failure on our last evening which they tried to fix but couldn't. These things happen, and it didn't have any impact on us.

    The room was quite spacious, with very comfortable beds and all the usual facilities, kettle, TV, a clean, well-planned bathroom, and decent if somewhat corporate decoration. The plus was the helpful, friendly staff and a first-rate restaurant where we ate every evening. And there was a good, big car-park. We'll be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi in my room was on the blink for the first day or so The pillows were a funny size .... slightly too large to have two, not quite large enough just to have one

    The room was clean, a decent size, the bed was comfortable .... the bathroom was a nice size and shower really good, with plenty of towels The hotel is not too far (i.e a pleasant walk) from the city centre The hotel has plenty of parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed to know if the water in the room was drinkable I asked staff and they helped but would be nice to have a note telling us

    The room was spacious ,good car park lovely little garden to sit in the sun!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Full time receptionist

    Big room and very nice rear garden. There is a very nice pub and restaurant as well. 15 minutes of relaxing walk to the high street. This hotel is perfect for a city break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Lovely atmosphere. Liked the garden. Bar area nice. Reception were very welcoming. Friendly place all round.nice big bedroom (triple).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well this is a difficult question...it was all positive.

    The staff were so accommodating! I would recommend eating in their dining room...the day we arrived, there was a fresh turkey right out of the oven! Yummy buffet breakfast OR you can order hot breakfast! We toured Canterbury for a day....they looked after our cabs and we left our bags with them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was just too hard for me.

    The room was very spacious and of good quality, good range of drinks available in the room. Nice shower. The bed was very wide.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One slight issue was with the free WiFi signal but that's no issue

    Everything the food the drink the friendliness of the staff and the facilities top notch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here on a pit stop to Dover and I was more than happy with this hotel. Me, my partner and 3 year old felt really relaxed. Our visit was short but pleasant.. the staff were lovely! The rooms were comfy and bigger hhan expected. It was quiet and clean. We would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were happy to walk into the City which took around 15 minutes. Although one route takes you along the river it probably wouldn't be advisable after dark.

    The staff were welcoming and the room very comfortable. The cleanliness was first class and the towels and bed linen exceptional. Being away from the City Centre it was very quiet with a large car park. Wi-Fi signal was good and breakfast varied with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything ! It was all better than we expected given the price we paid.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived early and we were able to access our rooms straightaway. Single Rooms -clean and comfortable and quite spacious. Ate in the restaurant a couple of evenings and one lunch time. Nice atmosphere - Good range of food at reasonable prices - waitresses were patient, helpful and efficient. Location was perfect. We enjoyed the walk into the city each day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was the family room flat and it was a good space, but it had some maintance issues in the bathroom that need to be addressed. Water leaks from the shower and is causing the floor to buckle. The bathroom was brand new and looked beautiful except for the floor near the shower and some rusting on the vanity underneath. The carpet in the main living room was very worn and dirty.

    The staff was amazing! So helpful, so nice! Our flat was a good size. The view was of the garden and that was nice. It was a good place to stay for the night and pretty good value especially compared to other places in Canterbury. Just a 10 minute walk to the heart of Canterbury. We enjoyed the walk a lot. Beds were very comfy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had some pictures on bedroom wall - suggestion !

    Good sized Carpark. Room spacious, warm and clean. Bustling restaurant with good menu choices - food excellent and service friendly, sociable and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our room was comfortable. We were travelling with our granddaughter aged 8. Staff were friendly and accommodating which we appreciated. If we were in the area we would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I was unable to stay the following night that had to be cancelled due to matters outside my control.

    Room 104 spacious clean large comfortable bed good supply of beverages.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it was all good, I have stayed in this hotel 3 times now it has always been excellent and will be booking it again for Christmas as it is so close to where my sister lives.

    The choice for breakfast, you can choose to opt for a continental breakfast only or you can add a full English cooked breakfast, choosing what you want from individual items. Nothing is too much trouble. The continental was £5.95 and to add the cooked was an extra £2 it was very good value and cooked to order.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows! Why does everywhere use those awful pillows that collapse to nothing, provide no support, and attempt to suffocate you?!

    It had nice rooms and good common areas. It was in good repair and all the equipment worked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid £158 for two nights inc. Breakfast, £79per person, £39.50 per night.... What can there be too complain about?

    The bed was very comfortable & big and we had a very good two nights sleep. The room was warm and cosy and very quiet considering we were on the path into the hotel from the car park on the ground floor. The breakfast was very good, excellent choice, fresh produce and we love hash browns so were very happy. The room was cleaned well, the water hot throughout the day and shampoos etc.. provided. Towels nice & big and fluffy. The tv had lots of programmes available. The tea/coffee facilities were varied with hot chocolate, biscuits, lots of milk and most importantly you were given a mug instead of a silly little cup. The hotel was located a short distance from the town centre, 10mins to walk in. Big car park available, We had a very enjoyable stay and it was very good value for money. Will stay again & highly recommend to others :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Underrated hotel and very reasonably priced. Rooms were spacious , comfortable and exceeded my expectations. Staff were very welcoming and helpful upon arrival. Would definitely stay here again only a 15 minute walk to Canterbury West station and 10 minute walk to the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Nothing

    - Personal (Check in 1 hour before and attending every need !) - Nice and clean room / Good badroom - Good bed - Good breakfast - Parking facilities - Walking distance to Canterbury center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion on check in. Unable to serve small medium sherry at bar. No shower cap supplied. No face cloth supplied No water pressure if another room showering, ie no hot or cold water from tap. Decor and furniture very tired. Thin walls.

    Huge bed. Lots of coffee,tea,drinking chocolate in room. Nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit far to walk back from town my only gripe

    The staff were great we ended our last day in the restaurant and bar was a great feel and really nice food at a great value 🤗

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The grout around the tiles in the bathroom needed cleaning. The restuarant was really really cold There was a flickering light in the bedroom and we reported this on the first day. Sadly, they didn't fix the problem before we left. The kettle didn't turn off - they said they were waiting for new kettles Wifi was really really slow most of the time but this seems to be a general issue in Canterbury as there was limited connection in the town The cavery was Ok with a good selection of veg - the meat was dried up and the turkey inedible

    we liked the location, breakfast, comfortable beds and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only had issues with heating in the room, was a bit cold and heating didn't seem to be working properly. But a minor thing really, everything else was very good!

    Lovely hotel in a nice area, in walking distance from Canterbury West rail station. Caring staff and helpful people, just above a nice pub serving very good local ales. Cosy atmosphere and reasonably priced - overall, recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi fi was terrible, it kept stopping and the signal was very poor. The place needed some TLC, it looked tired and needed a coat of paint.

    The breakfast was good. Plenty of free parking and only a mile to walk to the centre of Canterbury.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing it was perfect

    perfect in every way,all the staff were brilliant .the staff and management are proper nice people.thank you guys for making us feel so welcome.nice bar. the rooms are very clean,a massive car park.the bathroom very clean,a very large restaurant, the food is top draw. thank you again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole building needs redecorating and my room did smell pretty musty.

    Friendly staff - who were quick to change a faulty kettle and a bulb, comfy bed and pillows, lovely large bath and shower, quiet. Breakfast very adequate and cooked to order if you want the full meal. Good parking and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weekend we were there was pretty cold and the whole hotel could have benefited from being warmer. The room was nice but would have been improved with a full length mirror. Also we only had full milk and we don't know anybody who takes full milk!!!

    the staff were pleasant and helpful. The food was very nice, (the liver and bacon casserole was excellent) and nicely presented.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in need of general maintenance, nets discoloured, silverfish in bathroom, pillows hard and lumpy.

    Staff great. Breakfast worth the cost. On site food quite good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. All was good.

    Clean and comfortable. Staff welcoming and friendly. Restaurant reasonably priced. Good parking. Close to town and close to M2 for travelling home.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got a bit chilly at night (the heating stopped working after midnight) there wasn't a fan in the bathroom so it got very damp and smelt a bit bad when we arrived

    The beds were very comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was another to dislike.

    Excellent service, very polite staff, Excellent breakfast. Easy location to get to. I have enjoy my stay at the hotel. and I will return in the near future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Greeting at reception on Friday evening was a bit luke warm - particularly after a two hour drive.

    Comfortable room and plentiful and varied breakfast. Good to have parking and not too far from town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One light not working. Room chilly on arrival as window open.

    Value for money. Ease of check in and out. Pleasant bar and restaurant. Lovely bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful decor inside, very clean, amazing room for the three of us and the staff were super attentive to our needs and that of our toddler. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in the hallways had an overpowering strange odour,dated decor in the reception area. Breakfast could be better e.g. A selection of breads would be nice,only sliced bread on offer, I prefer crusty bread also stronger coffee,it was very weak.

    Good size rooms comfortable large beds, very good restaurant meals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got seated at an isolated table corner for dinner in the restaurant and the waitress completely forgot to take my order for 20 long minutes, while she actively served a table of four who had arrived 15 minutes after myself... Please sort this out next time.

    The room was really spacious and comfortable for such a low price! The staff left lots of teabags, coffee packets AND scrumptious biscuits on the tea tray as well as a hairdryer and fan in the wardrobe, amazing service!! The room was also cleaned very professionally and I was given a room next to the beer garden, allowing plenty of fresh air in :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glad i had a car to travel into town. Unsure how comfortable it would be if busy.

    Comfortable and good shower and restaurant. Value for money and good parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift Had to ask to replenish toiletries Tv remote battery went flat - had to ask twice to get replaced or fixed Not easiest to walk to from train station with suitcase in bad weather

    Updated ensuite Big bath as big as the bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included. Having to lug my cases up to the third floor when you are elderly is difficult.

    It was nice to have a bathtub and the bed was very comfortable it was also good to have biscuits on the tea tray. My room was quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs not so comfy,one upright one armed chair.Not ideal for TV viewing.

    Hot food available for breakfast and dinner, warm room,comfy bed,useful spare bed,proper enclosed wardrobe, shampoo soap supplied.Staff happy to help.Large modern TV with Freeview.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I only ate one evening meal there because that was enough to not want to eat there again. The vegetables were cooked badly, the fish pie had been microwaved to warm it and the presentation was not good. My bathroom was not cleaned on the 26th but the rest of the room was.

    The breakfasts were good except for the fresh melon which was always chewy. The room , and bathroom, were very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its dated needs modernizing, net curtains ripped furniture old. Health and safety needs looking at cleaners equipment all over the place trip hazard. We had to step over sheets vacuum cleaner.

    Bed was comfortable bathroom clean tv wi fi fine

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the proximity of the hotel to the city centre. We also liked the fact that even once we booked out we were able to leave our car in the car park to enable us to walk to the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that lets the Hotel down is the Reception area. When you come in and see the pretty awful carpet you think ‘oh dear, I think I made a bad choice’ but then the rooms are really lovely, and the whole experience was great. Pobably smarten it up with minimum investment, with a polished wood floor or a plain modern carpet.

    The staff were first rate - very friendly and super helpful. The bedrooms were really smart. The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location was further than stated Pipes music from reception on a loop irritating as it was quite loud in bedroom Booked 2 rooms at the same time and didn’t expect to be at opposite ends of the corridor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not served before 8 a.m. room was cramped, grotty, and difficult to get to with luggage - no elevator/lift. Wifi password in guest guide was incorrect. I don't like when fire doors are blocked open.

    Not much

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bit of signage on road as right on busy roundabout and easy to miss, more storage space, Few more vegetables on carvery

    good selection of fresh fruit, extra large crossiants cereals, help yourself good as you could have as big or small portions, Cooked breakfast also available and cooked to order.Friendly staff, not a lot of storage space only two very small drawers on dressing table and small shelves in wardrobe. Accomodation right on busy roundabout and easy to pass a bit more signage would help Enjoyed stay would recommend . Tried Carvery good value but a few more vegetables like peas, sweet corn, onions

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift in the building. This wasn’t a massive issue for me, but would impact users with wheelchairs.

    The staff member I checked in with was very helpful and gave me a map of the city showing some interesting tourist points.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very warm, even though all the heating was turned off throughout my stay, but I prefer it cool to sleep (17 degrees or below) so I often find this problem with hotels, still, it would be good to have more control over the heating.

    Breakfast was great, lots of options, and the cooked breakfast was nicely done. Room had all the things I needed, plenty of sockets for charging phone & computer, staff very pleasant & helpful. I had a work parcel of equipment delivered there in advance to save me lugging it on the train, and this seemed no trouble - many thanks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were given the wrong room when we arrived but the staff were very apologetic. The room was about to have work done but the decorator had rung in sick. Second room was much better. Very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However, the dinner menu was perfect and the food was excellent. Wish we had stayed longer so we could have tried some other dishes Maybe we were just lucky but heard very little from other guests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dated.

    Plenty of parking on site; easy to find and away from the city congestion. A small single room, comfortable, a little cramped but adequate for a short/weekend trip, well equipped (hairdryer, digital tv, controllable radiators, decent shower above bath, basic tea & coffee, kettle) and clean. The hotel is just 10-minute walk into the St Dunstan's part of the city and another 5 minutes into the heart of the city, so restaurant, bars and cafes etc are plentiful and the main city attractions (Marlowe Theatre, Cathedral, lanes & parks etc) are close, and the location is good for accessing the surrounding towns, countryside etc via main roads. I didn't go to the hotel's restaurant & bar, and only saw the single room, so can't comment on other facilities. Overall, good value for a short stay; a reasonable alternative to more expensive city centre hotels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff at Reception could’ve given more welcoming smiles. We tried the hotel carvery lunch and other items on the menu. Overall quality is average and reasonably priced. There’s no elevator and no one help with luggage moving to rooms located above ground floor!

    We had 2 rooms booked. When we requested housekeeping to look at our room bedside light which didn’t work, they were very efficient and came almost immediately. But my daughter and her boyfriends room seemed to have problems with the key cards and heating was not turned on for some reason, it was fixed after reported to hotel staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hotel with British character, which I enjoyed as a foreigner. A Clean and a comfortable place to stay, close to the city. The area around it was very beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cash-point in hotel, 5 minute walk to nearest shop for cash.

    Staff very pleasant, and helpful, we did love the large bed (upgraded for us) very comfortable, room and facilities fine. Parking easy, just off the roundabout. 10 minute walk into town. Never had cooked breakfast, but there was lots to choose from if you wanted to overindulge!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small problem, at times the WiFi didn’t have a good connection in the room.

    The staff were extremely helpful and always ready friendly. The room was extremely comfortable and clean and heating could be adjusted to personal preference. Breakfast was good value for money with plenty of variety, as well as large portions of cooked breakfast. The Carvery provided a tasty hot meals for good prices in a friendly atmosphere. All round a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was on the second floor and there was no lift. This was not made clear when I booked. Staff did however carry my bag up to the room for me. The toilet made loud noise (macerator?). It didn't bother me but it could have woken others in the night.

    Friendly staff. Nice restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Victoria Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: