Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Vincent Hotel 4 stars

98 Lord Street, Southport, PR8 1JR, United Kingdom

#2 of 16 hotels in Southport

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1398 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    5.0
    Comfortable but very over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't tell you that £50 security deposit is needed per night you stay. Doesn't say it anywhere when booking. Bathrooms absolutely stunk and not just in our room. A few friends where staying and they also complained about the smell. Very overpriced £22 for a bottle of echo falls same one in a shop £6??

    Beds are really comfortable, food was nice and staff where great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location as attending a wedding at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to do my make up for the wedding was difficult due to the low lighting and smoked mirrors. Even the bathroom lighting and mirrors made it difficult. Also found chewing gum on the tissues by the bed. Reception staff sent housekeeping straight up when notified but just glad I’d noticed the prices of gum before grabbing a tissue to use for my 7wk old baby.

    Perfect location as attending a wedding at the hotel. Room was nice and spacious, very good shower and selection of items in the fridge was a nice touch.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    10
    The decor is very dark with very subtle lighting throughout ...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very dark with very subtle lighting throughout , looks lovely but not practical if your eyesight isn't good. Also mattress very soft, rooms very hot couldn't work the air con but it didn't spoil our visit at all . Will stay here again .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.6
    The hotel and the rooms are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resteraurant was not good. It was noisy tables close together could here the next persons conversations. A limited menu and slow service. And quality of food not good

    The hotel and the rooms are excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dark and the minimal lighting especially in the bathrooms means that you can’t see to put your make up on day or night. This was really frustrating

    Lovely hotel, great location, food excellent and the staff are outstanding, especially the porter and lady in the restaurant who were really accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    The staff were friendly and efficient nothing was too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting could have been brighter. Travelled with a person of limited mobility so a shelf in the bathroom by the sink would have been useful.

    The staff were friendly and efficient nothing was too much trouble for them. Able to park right outside in a disabled bay for the duration of the stay thanks to the aid of the portering staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay in a modern comfortable hotel with fine dining facilities. Location also very central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the rooms were quite dimly lit, I would have liked more light in the bathroom for make-up etc.

    I liked the design of the hotel, lovely central location with the dining room overlooking the main tree lined road. Breakfast buffet with all that you could wish for and dinner the evening before was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great staff, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was that we didn't like the sushi platter we had at dinner

    Very comfortable bed, attentive staff, great value, loved the short deep bath

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.5
    needs a repaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is looking tired....needs a repaint and some maintenance and lots of little annoyances with eg running taps

    Great location with valet parking and a huge bed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Great apart from the above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • V Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being allowed in the bar after 8.30 with my 9 year old son as children were not allowed. Was not told this when we booked. Not very family friendly.

    Very modern

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negatives are. No black pudding or hash browns. Breakfast abit cold. Strange deep hard to get into bath. No good if your old.

    Lovely hotel. Friendly staff. Room was really comfortable Recommend this hotel it’s central for restaurants and bars

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.0
    A good short break in a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chilli meal wasn’t very good. Would have liked compote with the breakfast. Ordered newspapers, but the receptionist forgot and had to send out for them each morning. Problems ordering poached eggs one day, but the other day the waitress remembered.

    We liked the decor and it was very convenient for the centre of Southport. The room was comfortable with a well equipped bathroom. We had two dinners in the restaurant and most of the food was very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.1
    A nice birthday night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t seem as clean as it could have been. There was a hole in one of the chairs, and sticky marks on the desk. Also a pet hate of mine is two single beds pushed together to create a bigger bed, so I was disappointed to find this is what we had in our room. When I return I will ensure to request one full bed.

    The staff, the food and the cocktails were fabulous. On arrival we were greeted by the front of house staff who instantly made us feel welcome. We decided to eat at the hotels restaurant and were not disappointed the food was beautiful. Again the staff were chatty and friendly without being annoying... always ensuring our glasses were topped. We then returned to the hotels bar to enjoy cocktails and drinks in the beautiful cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff in restaurant and perfect food really...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no parking area near hotel. Valid parking offered by hotel £20 per day that’s not fair and they should be shamed. The receptionist wasn’t very welcoming

    Very friendly staff in restaurant and perfect food really delicious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.1
    Big clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole 5th floor like an oven. There is NO bath as advertised, none of the rooms have a bath. Ordered room service meal to the room which was very, very poor.

    Big clean room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    3.3
    Awful, overpriced waste of money place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough space to put all complaints with 2 or 3 sentences, bathroom awkward with Japanese type shower/ seating bath Base of shower glass rubber seal filthy, got additional room for daughter her partner and her son. No bed in room had to go down and ask even though had pre-booked; this is not a 4 star hotel; the cost did not match the standard too overpriced; booked stay with Booking.com in Stuttgart last week for third of the costs here, submitted a glowing appraisal thank you booking.com but sorry you let me and my wife my daughter her partner and their son down with vincent's hotel was not good. My daughter's room (she has PhD in Microbiology she is also a gp so she knows when a place is clean she also complained but staff gave reasons that basically dismissed our complaints, no please do not place "VINCENTS hotel" on your recommended or available site. Daughters room was also at the front of the Hotel with noise until 0400 hrs and the smell of the restaurant then drunken boisterous people at 0600 hrs what stupidity to put people with a 2 year old child in the front of a noisy main street hotel. Awful, awful place with rude senior staff if this goes in the public domain (I hope it does or I shall not submit any reviews again) do not stay in vincents hotel southport.

    Not much.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed it was so comfy i just wanted to stay in it my wife slept 9 hours which she has not done in such a long time. The scrambled eggs were gorgous as was the rest of the breakfast. It was more than we wanted to pay but i really enjoyed my comfy night and the delicious breakfast. The whole hotel smelt devine too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.1
    I wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel gave the impression of being trendy for the sake of it. The room was comfortable, but very dark. Putting on make-up was a problem as I couldn't see what I was doing. The bath was ridiculously high, and very slippery. I am please I booked this hotel in advance and saved a lot of money. I would have been very annoyed to have paid more.

    The staff were very good, even leaving soya milk in my room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    No information in the room, about breakfast, room service,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information in the room, about breakfast, room service, no extras in the room like biscuits, for the price you would expect that, room very dull, needs more lighting

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    September night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a disabled room and it had a wet room which smelt strongly of drains. Also all facilities in the wet room were very low which isn’t great if you’re tall!

    Lovely big comfy bed and great staff. Ate in the restaurant too and the food was delicious. Would happily stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.0
    Very much style over substance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking expensive, lighting in rooms appalling, no mirror at desk, view of back of a pub and bins not appealing. The WiFi does not work and on complaining were told it’s because we were on the 5th floor. Maintenance man walked into the room without knocking in the morning. Coffee machine in room rubbish. Water in rooms chargeable. No biscuits, no laundry bag, no pen or paper, tv and radio signal poor, only movie channels chargeable at £7.50 a film.

    The bed was comfy and the location was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Good value but needs some updating and staff need to be more professional
    • Group
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When in the restaurant a loud argument broke out in the open kitchen and we could hear aggressive shouting and swearing. There were families with young children in the restaurant and this was unacceptable behavior. One of the waiters had to tell the kitchen staff to be quiet as people could hear them. The room was a bit tired with some scuff marks on the wall . Needs decorating. Room also overlooked derelict buildings and was not what I expected from a four star hotel.

    Staff mainly friendly apart from one receptionist who seemed offhand when checking in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    Best Hotel in Southport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little too soft for my liking

    With the warm welcome and the amazing food in the restaurant, staying at the Vincent is a must if you visit Southport

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    the hotel was not aware that our breakfast had been paid for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    resturant was over subscribed on saturday night therefore a reduced level of service

    the hotel was not aware that our breakfast had been paid for at time of booking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.0
    The restruant was good nice food - but thought it was like a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 6 months earlier ! 2 ladies we were given a disabled room ! At the back looking at back entry and drain pipes ! The room was very dark and depressing ! As for the bathroom ! Great if your in a wheelchair but as two very smart bussiness ladies , no shelves for our makeup a sink that was so small and low , nearly broke my back leaning over it !! Could not wait to get home ! We did complain & had £30 taken off the bill ! We were very disappointed with the hotel as we were having a special trip to see Jane MacDonald ! I must add - the concierge was extremely helpful ! Thankyou - Won’t return , will go elsewhere , probably cheaper ! We were told the hotel was full ! Not our problem as we booked in February , and paid ,

    The restruant was good nice food - but thought it was like a bistro ! Main bar on the first floor ! Not much ambience ! Only sold fever tree tonics ! Not my favourite with a Gin !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.6
    terrible-reception lose the bags, fail to deliver gifts paid for by guests-no apology by staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff not doing their jobs-failed to deliver our bags, put them in the wrong room, so only got them delivered at 6.45am the next morning-no help from the staff whatsoever. Luckily it was a family member's room they put them in, so we got it back, but anyone else could have taken our things and we would never have got them back. As it was our wedding night, we only had our wedding suit and dress on, so faced the prospect of going home in these-not the end to our wedding day we were expecting. Also, didn't deliver bottle of prosecco bought and paid for by one of our wedding guests-only found out when they asked if we had enjoyed the surprise-terrible staff all round.

    not a lot

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    The service was very good and the hotel had a nice feel to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was a little expensive seeing that we were staying at the hotel. I would think that some ladies might not be to impressed with the picture of the ballerina on the sliding curtains.

    The service was very good and the hotel had a nice feel to it, warm and friendly. My partner and I had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    A lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were surprised to learn that there was absolutely no WiFi reception at the hotel and could not connect to it at any point and we only had a 3G reception on some occasions. Also we stayed for two nights and our room was not serviced at all in that time (despite having sign on door). At one point a bag of clean towels were just left outside the door but nothing more.

    The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful and although we only ate breakfast at the hotel, we had no problems with it at all. As has been mentioned before the hotel is dark with very subdued lighting and dark wood everywhere but the room had everything we needed (apart from WiFi) and the bed was huge! It is a lovely hotel and although the view was not ideal (back of hotel) the room was quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Simply Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a hotel user staying away for sometimes 5 months of the year. Staying at some of the best Hotels in the world, this hotel is every-bit as good of some of the so called 5 star i stay at if not better. Simple, superb. Superb staff, Rooms great, location fantastic. Message to Hotel. Please dont change anything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    I was pleasantly surprised that the rooms were contemporary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Options for parking were metered in front of the building or valet parking for £20 per night. I asked if I could park the car in the hotel car park myself but this was not allowed?

    I was pleasantly surprised that the rooms were contemporary and very confortable. I loved the window screen which provided ideal black out rather than curtains.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.8
    Southport NO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Studio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for a two night stay with breakfast and were advised on arrival it was bed only the very patronising reception staff changed it to B&B, parking was limited unless you paid £20.0 per night valet parking. Our first day walking from the hotel on lord street was poor lots of shops closed down with homeless people in most doorways begging for money not a very comfortable position to be placed in, and the evening walk was worse, it felt like a evening from ‘thriller’ with addicts walking the pave way and one guy beating his partner up as we passed, we didn’t stay the second night, however the receptionist said all the nice bars and restaurants were a 10 minute drive away, if we had known that we would have booked a hotel their. Would we do Southport again definately not , especially as the hotel valet porter said the town had gone strange

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    The staff were welcoming, warm and friendly from arrival to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were welcoming, warm and friendly from arrival to departure. The room was pretty spacious, very clean and such a pleasure to stay in. I like small personalised touches, and the welcome message on the TV was something I liked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.5
    Great position, very helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Studio Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that what we paid for our Friday to Monday stay this time, ( we have relatives who live in Southport so have stayed at The Vincent before ) was extortionate considering the overall quality level of the hotel. It was hugely more expensive than when we stayed there earlier this year.

    The service from the Staff was exemplary. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast and again the Staff were extremely efficient. Our room and the hotel generally was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Very nice we shall return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting could be better in the room when applying ones make up.

    The staff were on hand to take our luggage from our car to the hotel as we were early our room was not ready but our luggage was taken away and on our return it was already waiting for us in our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    good value, watch what room you get, ask for a front one. great food. alcohol bit pricey as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only problem we had was the view was looking onto an old pub to the rear, hey its not the ritz, but thats reflected in what you pay to stay there, for people who dont like it, go and pay a bit more

    central location and modern hotel, breakfast the best. staff were very friendly and helpful, parking near hotel not great, but plenty nearby, lots of restaurants and pubs round about. we would certainly return

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was far too soft. Sperm on the ceiling above the bed. Breakfast was not cooked well. Bland and not much variety of choice. Shower ceiling too low and at 6ft 1 tall my head was pressed against the ceiling in the shower. Reception staff unhelpful and unknowledgable about questions regarding their hotel.

    Good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Hotel great, people friendly but council need to clean the Streets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the streets of Southport to be very dirty, there was cigarette ends all over and no one cleaning the streets. the landlords and landladys need to come outside and have look and clean there part up it look's amess. I was there about five years ago and it was lovely, most of shops have closed down, cause people are going to Liverpool One we was told.

    The location was good, plenty of bars and food places to go.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    My watch was left in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My watch was left in the room. I called within an hour and then 4 more times to be told they didn't have it. I have made a complaint and it still hasnt been dealt with acceptably. Terrible customer service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant, stylish hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival after 6pm our room was confirmed as ready but on entering we found that the bed appeared slept in, no pillow cases on the pillows, empty discarded toiletry boxes left on the bed and a glass with lipstick on the bedside cabinet. The reception staff dealt with our complaint very promptly, discreetly and we were immediately moved to another room, which was similar but overlooked the front of the hotel so perhaps an upgrade. Quite expensive for one night room only but this was probably due to it being a Bank Holiday weekend.

    Modern comfortable room. very comfy bed. Hotel restaurant very pleasant and food excellent. Great atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Lovely smart hotel in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked a little more lighting in the room, especially above the mirrors, as although the dim lighting adds to the cosy atmosphere, it is not very practical for getting ready :-)

    Everything at The Vincent is very smart and fully lived up to our expectations. The room was lovely and the huge bed was very comfortable. The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of town and only a few minutes' walk from the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Perfect night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't just take your card details in case of damages etc. They take a £50 refundable deposit. Luckily I had taken my card with me as I didn't have prior knowledge of this.

    The room was extremely clean. The bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to move. The breakfast was worth every penny.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Excellent, we'll probably do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above, only the parking issue

    The Restaurant was extremely good (food & staff). The rooms were comfortable with a large bath and good, fully functional shower. I thougt that car parking was expensive, either 'sort it out yourself on strett pay at the meter' or £20 valet parking. I thought valet parking at £10 per night would be more reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    I expected more for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv could have been bigger. Although the room was a good size it was rather gloomy as were the corridors . we expected more for the money......

    the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Dark!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looking a bit tired. Way too dark in rooms, this is not a brothel! Reception staff, management need to do some intensive customer care training.

    Breakfast staff, excellent customer care

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    VEry comfatable enjoyable and so relaxing
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was amazing the whole hotel was amazing the service and staff wer very warm welcome and so helpfull and the resturant was enjoyable food was great would like to come again for sure

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff very polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt feel it was worth the price we paid cocktail bar is far to small was completely packed out had to go else where for a cocktail

    The staff very polite

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Good sized room proportions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door sticks, difficult to close. Being at the rear of the hotel and in a city centre location there was no view. Pillows could do with updating.

    Good sized room proportions. Comfortable bed. Nicely decorated in rich colour. Friendly staff. Very central location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Decent hotel but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall a reasonable hotel but very expensive for a fairly average place. Nothing particularly wrong but I suspect has little competition in the area so they can charge a disproportionately high price. Breakfast was very good and the service was helpful. The room was poorly lit and the bed was comfortable. It is just £50 a night higher than you would pay in a larger town or city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Relaxed, chilled, friendly rlegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was elegant and yet had a chilled, relaxed atmosphere.Excellently located for all amenities with its own fantastic Sushi restaurant and bar.All the staff were delightful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good and we will come back for a third time!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet not great to access. Cocktail bar not attended and had tomwIt for bar tender

    Size of bedroom. Breakfast - quality of food and its presentation

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Pretty good hotel but could be better with a bit of effort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it’s too dark - you can hardly see in the corridors nor on your room. The staff - not very friendly to be honest. At check in, when I asked, we were told we could either pay £20 for valet parking or drive round and try and find somewhere. I didn’t think that was very helpful nor did the redotionsi smile or seem in anyway to hope we had a nice stay. The actual car drivers were friendly and the breakfast staff too.

    it’s classy and has good decor. It’s vdry central and the rooms have lots of little touches that make them nicer than average e.g a deep, sunken Japanese style bath, nespresso coffee maker, comfortable and large bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Not too ba d really comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like them takin 200.00 pounds on arrival for anything we might have ordered car parking very poor and expensive

    Really lovely room clean and spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    best in southport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i love this hotel if you can stay in penthoues do it amazing we have stay,d there 3 times and let are 8 old stay with us for 2 night she loved the hot tub on the roof and its all light up fab of a night time and tv in the bath room kids love it and lots more 👍🏻👌🏻❤️ big thanks to all the staff cant wait for are next stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant and served us with a good breakfast.
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room poor. No dressing table to sit at and do your makeup or hair. No fan in the bathroom. But lovely hotel n staff

    Bed was good, pillows in our room not great. Breakfast was very good, everything was there help yourself. Tea and coffee brought to your table. Staff pleasant and polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had heavy duty tape holding the shower head!? Paint peeling from above the shower. Bathroom door had no lock. Toilet not secure to wall/floor. Bins being emptied at 6am!

    Staff where super, very helpful. Bed was very comfy and the room was clean. Breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of choice. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Lovely comfy bed, good size room, nice bathroom, really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark which made it impossible to put make up on, had to stand in front of the window to see anything.

    Lovely comfy bed, good size room, nice bathroom, really clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.5
    Ok, not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I honestly felt that this hotel is overpriced for what you get. I've stayed at lots of lovely hotels and felt that the rooms were a bit tatty, marks on the wall and furniture. The 2nd day we stayed after housekeeping had been in there were still sticky marks on the bedside table where it had not been wiped clean. The lighting was also really poor in the room when trying to get ready.

    The reception staff were friendly, and greeted with a smile. The breakfast was good, lots of choice and and very tasty sausages

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Loved the stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, air conditioning a little frustrating.

    Great service, wonderful restaurant and room was lovely. Only issue was air conditioning...might have been user error!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very smart modern hotel staff were very very helpful comfortable room and bed with everything you would need , great location handy for everything . Would highly recommend it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    3.3
    Nothing really room was a lot smaller than last time we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room one day then key didn't work the next day even though I kept it away from my other cards.

    Nothing really room was a lot smaller than last time we stayed. Like a cupboard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Clean good room size staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for stay in advance when arrived was informed that I would have to pay £50 a night cover charge in the event of if I purchased anything say drinks from the bar or items in mini bar in the room was informed whatever balance was left that it would be transferred within minutes back into my account paid the £100 for a two night stay on arriving home checked mini statement from my bank even though I didn’t purchase a single item they had not transferred the£100 I telephoned the hotel night reception said sorry check your bank account in the morning you’re money will be transferred into your account by then guess what no it wasn’t telephoned hotel who said it will take three working days for it go through in all the hotels I have stayed in I have never been asked to pay £50 per night in the event of making a purchase do the maths imagine if you stayed a week there’s £350 from one room it’s not in the hotels term or conditions as I looked at it left a very bitter taste as I don’t even think Booking.com is aware of this I could be wrong

    Clean good room size staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with a revamp we have been coming here for years and it’s getting tired, also they don’t do a loyalty scheme which would help us when coming across 3-4 times a year

    Location is great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Overnight seaside stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden extras- 20 valet parking(this should be noted on web site), not inclusive breakfast. Room 311 not nice view, air con loud outside our window🤔 not all rooms can have nice view but noisy air con needs looked at or window(wich was closed) soundproofed.

    Staff very helpful and friendly, nicely located close to all attractions. Suite modern decoration and furnishing huge comfy bed, big tv, lovely bathroom, tea/coffee maker but no biscuits and have to pay for bottled water. Breakfast nice and plenty of Selection. Overall nice hotel and I would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in an excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only small little thing was the time it took to bring tea/coffee to the breakfast table in the morning (approx. 1/2 an hour) but the staff were extremely busy and we got it eventually :)

    Excellent hotel in an excellent location! The bed was possibly the comfiest that I have ever slept on, and the Japanese sunken bath was amazing too. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant which was good, however it did take them over half an hour to bring us tea/coffee so decided not to order a fried egg. Food was running low when we arrived and took a while to be replenished, but won't let this put me off as it was a very busy Sunday morning and the hotel/staff/facilities are excellent. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress could be a tad firmer but that’s my own personal preference.

    The doorman was very helpful with parking suggestions, food in the restaurant was tasty, room was spacious n excellent location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Last minute ideal getaway with excellent location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fab, but if I am being really picky I would say the floor in the shower/dip bath is very slippy when wet and could do with a mat of some sorts, and the pillows were a little hard. But as I said - really picky!!!

    We were upgraded when we arrived which was a nice surprise. The room was very comfortable and a great view over Lord Street. The service at Reception was excellent. We pre booked breakfast and it did not disappoint. My husband ordered porridge every day which was steaming hot and made to order and I had boiled eggs one morning cooked to perfection. All staff were courteous and ensured our stay was everything we hoped it would be. A very last minute booking that was fabulous, even the weather did not dampen our spirits.We will certainly be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was very nice 1 of the reception people was abrupt and...
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff over charged me £19 for breakfast that we didn't have then looked at my statement n they re imburse me £9 so will b ringing up this week 2 rectify it.

    Hotel was very nice 1 of the reception people was abrupt and not helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel - just a few moans!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms 206 thru to 216 (may be others) noisy. Aircon unit outside runs all night and neighbouring bar's karaoke/entertainment is clearly heard til midnight.(clearly not a problem if you are not an early bedder) Squeaky bathroom doors. £20 per night for parking!

    Great location. Comfy bed in a spacious room. Super shower (not for those with mobility problems) Breakfast (extra) is FAB and worth the extra cost. Dinner at night equally so but not for a quiet meal for 2. The noise level, between the other diners high decibel talking and the bar staff constantly throwing bottles into a receptacle, broke the sound barrier! In fairness, it was extremely busy-great food, though. Staff all friendly and attentive. Concierge Carl deserves special mention for outstanding service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    Pretentious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost nowhere to put your clothes and nowhere for a woman to sit and apply make-up and dry hair. The room was dark and the Japanese sunken bath is pointless and just a space saver. Takes half hour to fill. Awkward to get in and out. Parking is also an issue. £20 for valet parking or find an overnight car park.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think breakfast should of been included for the price of £98 a night. Also supposed to be a luxury hotel???? There were no luxuries what so ever, room was small, no welcome booklet, no advice/ suggestions of places to go. Wouldn't recommend. Although the staff were lovely. Found the room very dark impossible to get ready for a night out and get ready in those mirrors

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Still a great stay, but starting to show its age
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Studio Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance is starting to fall off. The lift lurches and creaks, and the rooms are more than ready for a deep clean

    Great location, comfortable rooms, friendly service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • V Corner Studio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under 18 not allowed in bar but only advised us of this when we had bought our drinks. My son was 17! Not a toddler. We had to go back to our rooms to have a drink. Not family friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Unfortunately a fellow guest left his car outside the front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • V Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately a fellow guest left his car outside the front door knowing his car alarm would go off all night 😪as he gave his keys to reception to reset it! It started at 1 am and was still going off when we checked out at 10am. The reception staff did apologise and I felt sorry for them but our nights sleep was ruined 😪

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • V Residence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room was large and looked attractive, I found the bed and pillows lumpy and uncomfortable for a 4 star hotel, slept badly on both nights. The double glazing did not keep out the noise of passing cars or pedestrians.

    Location excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Vincent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • V Studio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our TV didn't work and there was no instructions for the coffee machine. We asked for help with the tv but they didn't really fix it apart from switching it on and off and hoping for the best.

    The bed was very comfy and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: