Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Vines Inn 4 stars

Burford Rd, Alvescot, OX18 2PF, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Alvescot

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 268 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best to order the more basic fare at the restaurant as pizzas and pasta looked better than our duck. Nothing to complain about per se, but other fare looked better.

    Great friendly staff who were incredibly helpful and accommodating. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Good value for location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Ok...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was not like the photos on booking.com....very disappointing. The photo showed lovely windows and garden view but as you can see from my photos it was nothing like that (that is my stuff on the bed !) I don't think I could have spent more than one night...felt too closed in. The shower was terrible.

    The room was clean and size was ok for a one night stay. Staff were good. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    The Vines inn was very comfortable and the staff made you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Vines inn was very comfortable and the staff made you fell very welcome. The location was in the county in a beautiful village. It is close to RAF Brize Norton, so we were able to visit family working there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Location ideal for raf base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the annexe. V basic bathroom No sound proofing... Heard many auto bathroom fans thru night and someone very ill who sounded to be in our room! Very sleepless night. A table next to self serve area in dining room would make it easier when getting breakfast.

    Friendly staff. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Excellent choice of food and drinks at breakfast and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Excellent choice of food and drinks at breakfast and the staff was most helpful if you wanted to change something slightly on the menu if it was possible to do and they had the ingredients and time to do so they did all they could do to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Our room was in the annex. It was on the ground floor and had a little patio area with a table and two chairs, which in this hot weather was very welcome. There was a good choice for breakfast and it was cooked well A very relaxing stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast elements hadn't been kept hot.

    Peaceful location. Very comfortable beds. Plenty of parking on site. Would also recommend the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Just little niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just little niggles. The shower was very poor. We thought perhaps,on Fairford weekend there would be provision for an early cooked breakfast. Other than that we had a very enjoyable weekend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next the the cellar chiller extraction vents which was very noisy. Also the window frames were very dirty with what looked like soot?? Not a vey good night sleep because of the noisy and a slight smell (fumes?). Spoke to proprietor who appeared unconcerned and didn't offer discount -even though it was a birthday break. Not impressed - maybe the owner should try sleeping in the room!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Black Bourton is a lovely village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, blood on the bed sheets and compressor unit outside the window makes a lot of noise all night. Breakfast wasn't very exciting and portions were a tad small. No maid's service or fridge in the room. Shower pressure was low.

    Black Bourton is a lovely village. The bar and restaurant were nice. The dog is very pleasant. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely country getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Vines owner was exceedingly lovely and helpful, the inn was charming, and the room was very comfortable and well designed. It was easy to find by car, and near a charming village. Parking was abundant and convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    We wanted a base in the area to sleep, shower and breakfast The Vines provided this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shampoo and shower gel was not refilled for the second day. I was with my 21 year old son and we would have liked more than three cups of breakfast tea between us on the second day of our visit and three biscuits between us.

    The cooked breakfast was very nice both days and the lady who served us was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were comfortable , overall wouldn’t recommend to a friend again ,will chose another one
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before booking we were not told that reception area and bar would not be open 24 hours ... on Easter Sunday they closed the bar and the reception area which was very uncomfortable , we would have liked to just sit in the Lounge with our friends , but couldn’t so we were stuck in our rooms before going out to dinner in a another town ... we finally went to a great gastronomic pub called the Fleece in a beautiful neighbouring village of Witney , wish we chose a hotel there !

    Clean rooms , the dinner served the first day was good , except the duck we ordered was a bit chewy and would have preferred more of the orange sauce ... returned it and got lamb chops , where okay but had a strong smell .,,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Really basic accommodation, not very welcoming but good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 3 rooms for 3 couples. One was in the main Cotswold stone building, the other two were a walk out through the car park (my room was out here). Basic small room which was clean. The shower room was like the sort you would get in an NHS hospital and to be honest, if I was staying longer than one night, would have looked elsewhere. Bed very uncomfortable. On arrival (about 3pm), the bar was closed, the lights were off and the only place to get a cup of tea was your bedroom (with long life milk). We were having a family get together so had to go out and find somewhere else to start our weekend.

    The breakfast was very good and the lady taking the breakfast orders was very accommodating when asked for something that wasn't listed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the room! Very dated and ugly room. Radiator was behind bed so room was cold. Heating suddenly went off altogether so had to approach staff to ask for it to be put back on. They did oblige. Offered another room but said it was very small so declined. Shower room had no heating. Shower head fixed, hardly any pressure,luke warm. Old and very low standard mattress.Towels greyish white, and not very fresh smelling.Very small TV. Photos totally deceiving.The place needs updating.There seems to be a lot of penny pinching going on which is a shame as the building is pretty and the position good. Other reviews have said similar things but owners seem to be ignoring them.

    The meal in the restaurant was good and the waitress friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't switch bathroom proximity lighting of so came on when anyone opened the door

    The attention from the staff at all times they couldn't do enough

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    We booked to have an evening meal in the restaurant for both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed to find our room had a wet room instead of a proper shower cubicle. Because of this it made using the bathroom unpleasant after showering and could only enter with shoes on. There was also a rather unpleasant smell throughout the building during the whole stay. Slightly disappointing breakfast with no fresh fruit or croissants/pastries.

    We booked to have an evening meal in the restaurant for both nights but were a little unsure what to expect. The atmosphere was great, the restaurant and bar area were filled with guests and locals and both the food and service was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Great stay.. would definitely recommend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab little gem of a place . Comfortable and cosy. Friendly and helpful. Restaurant is lovely with great menu and well cooked food. Lovely little village location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, nice friendly people and a lovely venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the en suite bathroom decor, felt like a hospital facility, same flooring you would find in a hospital....

    Delicious dinner on the night of our arrival, excellent standard and good value so knew breakfast would probably be ok and it was delicious too....we will definitely return if the need arises to be in the area again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    👍🏼☺️
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sensor light In the bathroom because the light went off when In the shower and there was no window to open for fresh air

    The room, tv and facilities, helpful staff, lovely food at the property,value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.4
    Cold,noisy people above , no one on site,bed very uncomfortable,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please see above (l have filled in the box)

    No breakfast available on Boxing Day.. single beds extremely uncomfortable..your quote stated £94. One night stay with full English breakfast .the vines contacted us after confirming our booking with you, that breakfast would not be available on Boxing Day, on arrival I requested a discount in leu of breakfast,l was told the £94.was the discounted price. Slightly different to your on line quote.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    A good place to stay as friendly hosts, clean and comfortable. Maybe 3 not 4 star accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited vegetarian and no vegan choice on the evening menu. The area is very quiet which is good but no local shop or pub. Music in the dining area to improve the ambience and turn off the TV!

    Clean room and a comfortable stay Friendly hosts Good choice for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t say I didn’t like anything. It was a lovely stay.

    The owner was fab, very nice man, lovely wife to. It was a very pleasant stay and I’d go book again. Thanks for the lovely break 😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room; the wet room which meant you constantly walk in the wet; noisy neighbours in the room above us.

    The breakfast and the breakfast staff were very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    Hotel could do with an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the room above the restaurant which is very very noisy. The hotel needs to invest in some soundproofing. No baths in any of the rooms either, only showers.

    If you’re visiting the Wildlife Park then the location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.8
    Would I stay here again? As Simon Cowell would say .. "110% No!"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper thin walls. Hearing every step of every person walking up the stairs as the staircase was next to our room. Our room door rattling in frame every time someone in the annexe (where we were put..) shut their bedroom door. Waiting an hour to be seated in the restaurant before waiting another 20 minutes for the food. Not enough shampoo/toiletries in the room. Super uncomfortable bed with cheap pillows and cheap bed linen which equated in zero sleep, sore neck and generally grumpiness the next morning AND baring in mind, that I paid for all of this (more fool me...)

    The Dog...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    It was ok. Not worth the price paid though
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the wet room, it flooded in the adjoining room. Decor was a bit dated and there were wires hanging over one of the beds where my child was sleeping, so had to remove that.

    The bed was comfortable and the ability to have an adjoining room for children was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Only stayed one night on our way to Wales. Perfectly adequate for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband's cooked breakfast was tasty and well cooked but wasn't very big. Overall I think the accommodation was a little overpriced.

    Lady that greeted us was friendly and helpful. The room was clean but wasn't in the main building. The breakfast was nice and the evening meal in the restaurant was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.0
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was the Merlot room, and initially i had no hot water, was told it was just an issue with the timer. The next morning I still had no hot water and had to ring the hotel on my mobile to get them to sort it out which they did. The room had a few cob webs on the ceiling, and the tv remote didn't work. In addition in a morning you can hear staff in the kitchen below chatting away.

    Breakfast was great. This hotels in a nice location, and my friends who stayed in one of the chalet room, said they had a great room, with the bar and restaurant being very smart. I felt that with a bit of extra effort my stay could have been excellent rather than good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    Friendly staff and nice location but tired accomodation and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value. For £104 a night I was expecting more luxury. Room was in what appears to be a converted block of flats. Bathroom had unpleasant odour and no windows.Generally appeared tired. Ate dinner at the restaurant first night as we arrived late which was overpriced for what was definitely frozen pizza topped with cheese and not homemade as "from the pizza oven" led us to believe. All in all we were rather disappointed as reviews and photos on line promised more. I'd fork out the bit extra next time and stay somewhere nicer down the road for a treat.

    Friendly staff Close to Caswell House wedding venue.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main building is just the restaurant. Accommodation is in a fairly shabby block round the back. The bathroom was industrial and in poor condition. Rooms were dated and depressing. The breakfast was terrible. All pre heated and you serve yourself. No marmalade and not even Heinz ketchup - just cheap sachets. They couldn't even be bothered to bring boiling water for the tea bags (typhoo - the worst/cheapest). It was served from one of those office flasks and was lukewarm. If this was £50 or £60 it would all be justified but for £100 it's extremely disappointing especially as you're presented with a high quality hotel when booking online.

    the bed was comfortable but only one pillow. My evening meal was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The place was lovely, the room was clean & comfortable the staff where excellent. Would return again would recommend to family & friends

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Nice enough, but needs better cleaning, food, and customer service (especially from the owner).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner/manager was rude when I (mistakenly as it turns out) disputed the bill, started bragging about his occupancy rates and was aggressive in his manner. Another guest who was paying at the time, and witnessed our interaction, commented that he was "the rudest landlord" he'd ever seen. Rooms not overly clean (cobwebs and spider in bathroom top corner). Wet room instead of a proper bathroom (felt a bit like a shower in a school gym). Facilities rather dated for the price. Breakfast below average - truly awful "poached" eggs with rock hard yolks (also saw another customer send these back).

    Plenty of parking, comfortable bed, easy access straight into room and nice little veranda outside door. Good jumping-off point for exploring the Cotswolds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Wish we had stayed another night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wish we had stayed another night. Room was clean and spacey. Breakfast was excellent in a lovely restaurant area. Staff very friendly Place to stay for the Cotswold

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of signage further out, perhaps a set of directions when booking would assist.

    It was a pleasant surprise, comfortable and quiet. A little difficult to find at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely scenery, hotel had lots of character and very friendly, attentive Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it was beautiful countryside, it was a bit remote unless you had transport. Our room was above the bar, so it was a bit noisy in the evening and the walls were a bit thin too, I could hear next door snoring for most of the night! Apart from that, it was a very enjoyable stay.

    The Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was exceptionally clean and we loved the old stone, it gave the building a lot of character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    nice location accomodation fine, quite expensive for what it was but fitted our needs, unlucky when
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no real ale on tap both hand pumps off, menu restricted on a Saturday evening we suspect due to staff shortages , restaurant areas were nice but only three tables lacked ambience on the evening we were there , staff friendly food good .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    I would definitely recommend the vines. I intend to stay there again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a bit fancy for my daughter and me. I would of preferred a more basic option. A little bit pricey too but the steak was delicious.

    You need a car to travel around. Only downside, no shop near by. However, lovely little village about 5 mins drive away. The Vines is a lovely establishment and ideal if you want a peaceful experience and to be close enough to all the places you intend to visit. The grounds are perfect. My daughter and I watched the wild rabbits from our bedroom window.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Comfy, very welcoming and in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely owners who were very welcoming, the evening meal and breakfast was also excellent with a wide variety of food on the menu. Would definitely recommend although the bedrooms were quite basic. Clean throughout though.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    Barely adequate and very tired overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tired carpeting; the barely adequate tea/coffee making facilities; the dreadful mattress; the tiny TV and the breakfast.

    Not a lot to be honest. While the staff were pleasant, the hotel left a lot to be desired. I felt it was stuck in a 1980s time warp with poor furnishings and overall a poor level of comfort and facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Location was good and suited us well. Hotel was adequate in every way, though I wouldn't rate it 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little ordinary. Hardly any fruit and items apparently from the cash and carry. Cooked breakfast was fine but not special.

    Bed was very comfortable. Dinner was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Great for a quiet time away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was only available for two hours in the morning, not good if you like to lay on your day off. Was only on until 9am. The website said 24 hour reception. I went out to a function that evening and got back to a closed hotel, with all lights turned off. I had to ring them to find out there's an additional key on my bunch which is for a back entrance. This would have been useful to know when checking in. Also the information pack in the room had taxi numbers that didnt work and no timings on the breakfast menu, again, would have been helpful.

    Comfortable room, with tea and coffee was nice. Very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Rabbit Watch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not letting us know that there was a private function one evening so had to dine elsewhere. Could have tidied up the nettles but probably would upset the rabbits!

    Breakfast and evening meals lovely especially lamb cutlets and risotto. Staff very friendly and helpful. Loved watching the rabbits.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Bitter sweet vines
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the attitude of the reception staff who dealt with us, who appeared defensive in some remarks.

    We liked the secluded situation of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was very small but for a weekend it was perfectly acceptable.

    The bed we were in was so comfy. The breakfast in the morning had everything we wanted and service was quick.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, lovely staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was ok, but fresh baked goods (croissants) etc would be nice, and expected in this level of hotel. The room was very hot (heating was on for some reason in July) and because of the doors opening out to the carpark it was not possible to open the door while I was sleeping for security.

    The vines is a lovely hotel, the staff were all very nice and made me feel welcome as a lone female traveller.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Secluded in a charming village town with lots of outdoor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs rooms had really weak showers, downstairs room had some water pressure but shower was broken. Had burnt toasts on one of the 3 mornings we were there.

    Secluded in a charming village town with lots of outdoor space and parking near the rooms. Breakfast selection was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Classy restaurant and accommodation set in rural surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small things, toilet seat needed replacing and I like peppermint tea and none were available in room. For the price I would have thought these would be available

    Rooms are set behind the old stone building which holds the restaurant and bar. Staff extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent, really good products and although busy had little wait.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great digs for RIAT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Full English breakfast on offer but at the same time you have access to cereals, yogurts, fruits, jams, fresh juices, coffee, various types of tea so you can easily fill your belly up as much as you want and not forgetting a breakfast pack if you don't have time for brekkie. Around 15-20 minutes walk from RAF Brize Norton as there is a gate from which you can see some aircraft parked up. Plus the Vines is in a fab location for the annual RIAT airshow too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Good value, food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Supper was extraordinary, though breakfast was not great The owners and staff were very obliging and kind. The owner even gave us a lift to bambton

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Reasonable hotel with good evening restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast quite poor! Quite bad coffee, standard industrialized bread :(, food of relatively poor quality, especially when served buffet-style where food was served from metal containers instead of being displayed in a more favorable way! The lamp in bedroom didn't function! Some noise from the military airbase close by!

    Good facilities in the room, e.g. iron and ironing board, electric plugs for foreign plugins! Reasonably quiet! The evening meal at the hotel restaurant very good and reasonably priced!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not good. Self service cooked breakfast. Cross contaminated food..... spoons were being dipped in multi dishes i.e. mushrooms, beans and scrambled eggs. Scrambled eggs were awful...... other choice of eggs was poached but you had to ask for that. Becon was virtually raw..... awful.... awdul..... awful. Other people at the hotel were all saying the same.

    Comfy bed and large bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Stayed overnight after time at brize Norton
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom . Hair all over room . No net curtain up , so people can see in room . No light if u close curtains . Very noisy crowd who got into rooms at 3 am and slammed doors . Unfair . Not really worth £104 per night .

    Lovely breakfast buffet and nice staff. Lovely walk in the morning to the church next door . The vines has good car park . Nicely presented . Clean in the bar and food areas .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to drive into town, but knew that in advance. Short, easy drive.

    Although they don't do room service, when my wife wasn't feeling well in the evening, they put her dinner on a tray for her to take back to the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Good Italian Dish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dark in Shower Room. The shower water pressure was very low, though hand wash water was all right. I showed the owner some probable failure in water pipe. Hope improved already.

    Good Italian Dish. Much better if more variety in Wine Choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    Satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a stale smell and there was evidence of damp on one wall.Bsthroom door was difficult open and close. Choice at breakfast was limited.

    Comfortable bed and room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too keen on the fact that if you wanted to use the loo during the night, as soon as you opened the door, the light came on and a noisy extractor started up. No way of switching it off. So we ended up with the extractor/light waking each other up during the night

    Comfy bed. Parking right outside rooms, which were in a separate block to the main building. Decent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    No frills, adequate value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were soul-less. Very functional good for serious walkers, wet-room bathrooms. A good base but not very romantic. Excellent cooked breakfasts but rest of meal was self-service, help yourself mediocre coffee and tea. The building we were in was similar to a motel, on the back of the charming old house, showed lack of imagination.

    The location is excellent, set in beautiful countryside next to Black Bourton church-well worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location with easy access to wonderful Cotswold countryside, the Thames and nearby Oxford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms separate from main house and looking a little dated by modern standards. Perfectly acceptable for short stay.

    Location was excellent. In a small Cotswold village but within 20/25mins of Oxford. Breakfast very good and staff friendly and helpful. Very relaxing place to stay would have liked to explore area and spend more time there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.4
    Nice location but rude staff ruined our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man that worked there was extremely rude, from the beginning until the end. We were shouted at to move our car minutes after we arrived, even though we'd just parked it in the car park. His attitude was awful, and both he and another member of staff were just in shorts and t shirts behind the bar – not what I'd expect from an upmarket B&B charging £95+ per night. There was no beer on draught and we couldn't sleep in our bedroom because the curtains were thin white drapes that let in all the light. I expected much better.

    The location was great and the room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    The restaurant was nicely laid out & the food acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are awful & would not compete with my local hospital let alone other local hotels

    The restaurant was nicely laid out & the food acceptable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    pleasant and friendly country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't dislike anything anything, but, as indicated above, felt the breakfast could improve for the rate charged.

    Very good dinner. Extremely friendly staff keen to make the stay enjoyable and wanting to help. I though the B&B rate was a tiny bit pricy especially in view of the breakfast which was fine, but not special, and missing a few items like fried tomatoes and rolls or croissants. On the other hand, eggs were freshly cooked as required.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    Good for a one night visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but there were a few spiders (I know that these are not possible to always get as they arrive when they want to) and you could hear everything from the other rooms. The room was also very cold. There was a heater but unless you tried all the switches you would not have know how to do it. The room I was in was small and for the money I would have liked slightly newer towels and room, mainly in the bathroom. The sheets also had very minor marks on them. I feel it was slightly pricey for what you got.

    The food and staff were lovely and the location was well sign posted.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Just a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a lovely hotel..... really really pleased with it. Relaxed and friendly and the rooms were beautiful. Clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend it. Good food too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Blackbirds singing (but not in the dead of night)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    The Vines is in a very rural position and if you are in one of the rooms next to their big field, you can hear the birds singing as though they are in the room with you. It is also conveniently close to Bampton.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.4
    Location and staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor condition of the room, lack of space in toilet and shower (poor water flow in shower) and generally sad state of maintainance both inside and outside of the hotel

    Location and staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely B&B near Burford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault it. As I said, it fit our purpose for one night stay.

    Staff attentive and Polite, Clean room, Lovely and well priced food and drinks downstairs. It fit our purpose for one night stay (In transit from Costwolds to Oxford).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Charming period pub/restaurant with modern accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Excellent combination of a charming period property housing the bar and restaurant, and a modern accommodation block set discreetly behind it with views over farmland. I did not dine on this visit, but sampled the ale which was locally brewed and very good. Accommodation was modern (shower was a wet room), spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was a selection of cereals croissants, etc plus a cooked 'full english'. I would recommend it for either leisure or business, and I intend to stay again when next in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.0
    Give it a miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived to drop bags off on way to wedding. They had an event on and didn't approve of us wanting to park near the room. Had a horrendous night not sleeping due to young children above us running around from 5.30. Breakfast average. Wouldn't recommend

    surrounding countryside

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Good Value and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice place to stay. Friendly people, good food, quiet and comfortable room. The village and church in Black Bourton are very pretty, a pleasant evening stroll.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous location for a Cotswolds weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was disappointing with low water pressure.

    The room was very bright and comfortable. Good choice of food in the restaurant and well presented and the waitress was very sweet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.8
    Details need attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Details need attention..... like hook needed on back of bathroom door fir clothes. Room rather full of furniture as it was a small twin room. Staff very ni e but it seemed like they neefed more staff to tidy garden areas etc and make the venue look a bit more cared for. Appreciate its a busy hotel and family run Great to have all fresh food in dining room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went above and beyond to accommodate my mum and I as the restaurant was closed when we arrived. The staff happily made us pizza which was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    An adequate place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small (and I am used to small rooms since I travel to Japan a lot). We had a lot of noise from some kind of generator or motor outside the room (part of the kitchen, I think). We could also hear a lot of noise early in the evening (from the kitchen area, maybe?) but it quieted down later in the evening.

    The location is very convenient to Blenheim Palace. We were in a room in the main building and it was a bit dated and not as comfortable as the rooms I could see in the outer building. I thought it was a little disappointing. The staff was cheerful and helpful, though, and the breakfast was filling and good overall. It was a convenient location but I was not overly impressed with the room itself, given what we paid. The restaurant menu looked interesting but we did not eat there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls - we stayed in the Merlot room and could hear the staff talking and clearing the kitchen/dining room downstairs until around 11.30pm, and most of the conversations of the people staying in the neighboring room in the morning. It was only background noise, but enough to disturb a nights sleep.

    Great location, easy check-in, helpful staff, clean rooms with comfy bed & great breakfast. Would recommend :)

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: