Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Waldorf Hilton 5 stars

Aldwych, Westminster Borough, London, WC2B 4DD, United Kingdom

#295 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2089 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Room wasn't ready on time we had somewhere to be at 4pm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't ready on time we had somewhere to be at 4pm and got in the room at 15.40. Free drink and executive lounge were nice but rushing around in 30 degree heat isn't

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Ideal location but poorly run hotel. Breakfast is charged at £25 per person and was very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not very helpful or apologetic when things went wrong which they did, we arrived to a collapse of Hilton Computer systems worldwide.

    Location for theatres restaurants and Covent Garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.2
    Underwhelmed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor value for money. No hairdryer, very limited toileteries and coffee. Expected much more. Just a very average Hilton hotel

    Bathroom was a decent size

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    It got better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room on the 4th floor was extremely small (for a three person room!!) and smelt of smoke/cigars. I’d paid a lot - for exec room & did not expect this.

    I was somewhat disappointed with the inti room I was allocated - but Astrid on reception said she would try her best to rectify & she did.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Glad we were only staying here for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible pillows ! Room is very basic for this standard of hotel . Walls are a drab colour . Need updating . Very disappointed ! Very overpriced ! Reception dont answer the phone when we rung down from our room Not the luxury i was expecting compared to the Waldorf in New York

    Doorman very pleasant and helpful Valet parking good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar service was disgraceful. Very slow. We waited over 45 minutes for a drink. We had to ask twice for our suitcases to be taken to our room. We were kept awake most of the night by loud music. Got overcharged initially for breakfast.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean . Very good food and service . Perfect position to go to a show or visit the west end . The rooms are nice with everything you need in them including air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    The staff were lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property looked very tired. The bathroom door in my bedroom was extremely grubby. Furniture worn. Beds made poorly.

    The staff were lovely. The location convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    OK but we would look elsewhere next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service was not as good as a top quality hotel. The people at Reception seemed a little inexperienced. We had booked a special deal but didn't get what was promissed.

    The location is excellent for the purpose of our vist which was to attend a performance at the Royal Opera at Covent Garden. The hotel was comfortable and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    nice stay in the theatre district
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con in room was not great as very warm despite it being on maximum. Pool was not a good standard needs updating - as shared with DW Sports a bit dirty and tatty which was not expected and I expected a little more from the Hilton Chain.

    Super location very central next door to the theatre we were going to visit, and service from staff excellent , very attentive enjoyed the lounge for cocktails.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Generally breakfast was a very poor show. Overpriced accomadation. Will not be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff seemed miserable, and inconsiderate l, with exception of front desk and porters. Watery breakfast juices. Cold beans, hard fried eggs. Tasteless sausages.

    Excellent pastrie selection, yogurts and fresh fruit. Considering how busy the breakfast hall was, it was very clean. Highly efficient staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.8
    Awful from start to end. I would strongly suggest booking elsewhere where you might feel welcomed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process is conducted in a reception that was full of smoke smells, the room was dreadful and when we complained, the service was awful. At check out no one asked if we enjoyed our stay. The staff just couldn’t be bothered. Not what I expect from any hotel, irrespective of price but certainly not when paying £400+ per night!

    Absolutely nothing about this hotel was satisfactory, from the moment we checked in to the check out process

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Good but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was on wheels so moved a lot if you sat upright. Mini bar fridge could have done with a clean. Breakfast room not big enough for amount of guests at hotel, we had to wait jan queue for 15 minutes before being seated.

    Breakfast had a good selection of foods. Staff all very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    All right prob won’t go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was rubbish baco sausage eggs all cold or lukewarm how can you put hash browns in one of those steam things. They were soggy. Waste of money

    Location didn’t use pool cuz of time constraint

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    On problem after another
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Hilton Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty despite bringing it to the managers attention it was not resolved. Dirty milk jug at breakfast, no toilet paper in "public" toilet. Long delays in serving food in the Good Godfrey bar. Luggage not delivered to the room despite two calls to reception, and being advised the bags would be in the room. When shown a table for breakfast pulled out the chair to find it covered in crumbs. Beverages not delivered to the table. In all a bad experience!

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was way over priced for the way we were treated, My wife and i have been to this hotel three times so we have given it a fair crack of the whip, The house keeping is very sloppy, 1st visit I pre ordered a bottle of wine to be in the room on arrival as it was my wife's birthday, there was no wine placed in the room on arrival. i phoned reception and it took 30 minutes for a bottle to arrive, we drank some and decided to go out, we left a note saying do not remove, needless to say it was removed, I phoned reception and 30 mins later a bottle arrived, this of course took the shine off the reason for ordering it. On this last visit there were no cups in the executive suite for breakfast we had to wait 15 mins for cups to arrive, we arrived back from shopping; got all the way up to our room and the key cards did not work, so i had to go back to reception where the problem was sorted, no apology though. Also on entering the room there were no hand towels provided, the used ones had gone but no replacements so i had to ring reception for them 45 mins later they arrived. Also on the second day we were there no one attended to tidy the room, I think they advertise it as a turn down service, when we came back from town the bed was still unmade and nothing had been done. the house keeping department just can't get it together in this hotel so what they offer has just not come to fruition for us. Sadly we have decided not to use this hotel any more its just too much money for to little service..

    the beds are comfy the room was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and comfortable hotel in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and welcoming hotel. Twin room very comfortable, bedding soft and inviting, charming bathroom. Room service food was good - breakfast and evening meal. Location is brilliant for touristy weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    We had a lovely time and very handy for the theatre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheet on our bed had a mark ion it. Breakfast could have been included as we did pay £277.00 for 1 night.

    We like the feel of the building and the staff were pleasant. Our bathroom was lovely and the products were nice. Use of the pool was good to relax and unwind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Good size rooms with excellent beds and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No doorman to help with luggage on arrive - but was OK when we left

    Good size rooms with excellent beds and pillows. Great selection to cover all tastes at breakfast with no waiting to be seated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    VERY VERY difficult to do anything other than just book a room - such as add extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We bought Hotel stay as a treat for as relative together with a theatre visit for a special occasion. Reservation was made through Booking.com. Tried to speak to the Hotel on 4 occasions to explain that we were paying paid for their room and breakfast and wished to put £50.00 on their account to spend in the bar. Twice was routed through to central res in the States who couldn't find the booking but offered me a room at £200 more!!! Finally spoke to the Hotel to explain what was to be done and to request an Aldwych facing room. Were advised room would not be ready before 3pm. In actual fact, it was not available until gone 4pm. Hotel did not take notice of our payment request and charged our guests for their breakfast and visit to Godreys, which was really embarrassing for them. Notes were written in the system but the reception staff did not take notice of the comments - not the service I was expecting after all the effort I had made TRYING to get through to Reception. Luckily I went to meet our relatives on day of departure and checked with Reception that I had paid for the extras only to be told that the guests themselves had been charged. NOT HAPPY......

    Bed and pillows very comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    3.8
    Over priced for the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 5* hotel, it would require an urgent refurbishment first. Insufficient staff on reception (only 1) which meant we had to wait to check in, not great after a long exhausting journey. The concierge was miserable and seemed to have left his manners at home. You would think he was doing me a huge favour storing my bags for the afternoon, surely that's part of his job - felt like I was inconveniencing him.

    Hotel in a fab location, easy access to all attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    After check in, good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in receptionist treated us as though we were poor people off the street.

    Check in receptionist was very unwelcoming towards us. People checking in with other receptionist was very polite. Otherwise a nice stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were given a room on the 8th floor,nobody told us the lift only went to the 7th floor and there were two flights of stairs to the 8th. We asked for a change which thankfully was very quickly done. We also thought that the bed was quite hard.

    Closeness to the Aldwych Theatre which we were attending.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    An enjoyable stay in London for a midweek break. Not quite the luxurious experience expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom comfortable, bed could have been a little bigger. Bathroom very hot. Aircon worked well but only for room. Gentle shower. One tiny little vanity bin in the bathroom- no actual waste paper basket which was a bit annoying. Breakfast was a bit chaotic both mornings. Tea and Coffee never arrived. Our first morning we were "put" in the overflow area and completely ignored! Engineers coming and going doing various readings from vents and a party of wedding planner and clients arriving for a look round whilst we were trying to eat.... Second morning, long queues and panic table clearing and wiping..all a little unsatisfactory. A bit mediocre and a few people walked out.

    Expensive, comfortable room. Lovely toiletries an fluffy towels. Comfortable bed.. Pleasant staff on check in and excellent Doorman. Fantastic location. Good breakfast with excellent selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 807 is in the roof. The bath isn’t really fit for the sloping ceiling. Difficulty getting out and bruised my knee on the ledge. I’m not elderly. It was just very hard getting out with the ceiling and the additional tiled ledge that surrounds the bath. Whilst hanging on to the hand rail inside the bath. My room wasn’t ready until after 4pm. I was offered a different room but told it would be noisy so I opt d to wait. My bag wasn’t in the room so had to come back down and get it. Sounds Petty. Inconsistent prices charged for same rooms for my friends

    Great location. Reception team very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very helpful and made my wife's birthday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we registered they explained that there was a function on that night and it would be noisy until 11.00 -12.00 pm.

    The staff were very helpful and made my wife's birthday special

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Nearly perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is excellent and staff great. Room is comfortable and location is perfect for theatres. I do however think that at £350 per night for 2 people that breakfast could be included in the price. Alot of modern hotels have phone charging docks/ports(multi) in rooms though this didnt which i felt was a shame as its a great touch that makes the difference

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent staff and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The rooms are furnished to a high standard but the front of house bar area is looking a bit tired and the chairs weren’t very comfortable, needing reupholstering and recovering.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.0
    We did enjoy our stay but not the best we have experienced considering what the Waldorf Hilton stand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the breakfast not what we would have expected. We was down for 8am and the buffet breakfast was not freast. Warm not hot. Dry and fried eggs very poor. As normal toaster never does the bread only warm it through unless you want to stand and put it through the again and the breakfast would be even cooler than when you started Tea and coffee in the room. Only two coffe, milk and two tea would expect some consideration that one would drink more than that. I no one can ask for more but really should we have too at the price of the stay?

    Location was great as we went to the theatre Hotel itself was good. Staff excellent and attentive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Rather disappointing thought the Waldorf would have been outstanding but have stopped in far superio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty we had to change rooms also another guests handbag and hand luggage was in our room, had extras added to our bill which we never had, and breakfast could have been hotter.

    The location, as it was a special treat for my husbands special birthday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit on the small side for four people. A little trouble with the air conditioning but it was fixed promptly.

    Breakfasts were excellent. Plenty of choice. The beds/pillows/duvets were all very comfy. The whole room/bathroom/shower was exceptionally clean. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We also liked the history behind The Waldorf and the location is fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very slippy marble floor around the pool, made it very difficult to walk without slipping. Pool was very cold! I ordered a dessert on room service and it wasn't clear that the price on the menu wasn't the final price and an extra £5 'tray charge' would be added on top.

    Room and bathroom were very comfortable. Great selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the shower was broken, the breakfast was served cold and the staff were unkind.

    The location was fantastic for the west end and for the theatres. The room was also pleasant and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Apart from the saucers... lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The saucers in the room’s didn’t have the dip in the middle, as a result the cup containing the hot beverage almost slipped off of the saucer, scourging me!

    The staff were very polite and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    We were there for one night. It was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decoration very drab and a little tired.

    Bathroom very nice. There weren't enough toiletries provided for 2 adults i.e. one of everything. I had to ask for extra. Room ordinary. I expected better. Staff friendly and keen to help. Facilities in executive lounge good. I appreciated the cake and card for my birthday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely clean hotel in great location especially for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was basic and definately overpriced!!

    Lovely clean hotel in great location especially for a theatre trip!!! Breakfast was at an extra cost but was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel, good location, check if Swimming pool is open before you book
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was broke, alternative they offered was not good for family with children. They could have alerted us prior to we left that the Swimming pool was broke but decided to not tell us and kept promising it would be repaired the day after. We felt tricked. For this they offered an additional discount which was nice but it did not take away the feeling of beeing played.

    Location, size of the room and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.5
    Fabulous & refreshing one night stay, perfect for Aldwych Theatre & Tina Turner Musical!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location for Theatres & Covent Garden. Beautiful interiors, stunning Homage Dining Room, superb food & cocktails. Delightful room on 8th floor with all comforts expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Booked a 3 bedded room but when I booked in was asked if I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a 3 bedded room but when I booked in was asked if I would like to have a suite but it would involve extra cost refused as only staying 1 night. Went off to the theatre came back at 5pm went to room and it only had facilities for 2 people contacted Reception & had to wait for a bed, cups bathrobe etc. Disappointing start as Ihad gone there with 2 girlfriends to celebrate my birthday. Couldn’t complain about anything else. Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    A little dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. The breakfast was a buffet, which was better in a travel inn. The staff on reception in the evening were very unhelpful.

    Everywhere was very clean. The reception staff on arrival were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Good stay tinged by breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    25 min wait for advacado on toas ands had to ask then. Partner had finished. Waitress said it was on the house but charged for it.

    Ambience and attention

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    We were allowed to book in early to leave our luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allowed to book in early to leave our luggage. The staff were incredible nothing was to much. Would recommend everyone to stay the will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.5
    All in all a good stay, the staff were very professional and could`nt be more helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of a Bacardi and coke,I think £15.00 is over the top plus the room we was in ( room 101 ) the view was rubbish , it looked like a mucky old greenhouse roof.

    Beds were very comfy and the breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Great classic London hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upholstery on the chair arms in the dinning room were threadbare and the chair in our bedroom had a stain on it. But this didn’t affect our enjoyment.

    The building was beautiful. The staff were friendly and attentive. The bathroom was spacious. The afternoon tea was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor service at breakfast, including someone who misdirected us, lack of staff to show you to a table, too few staff serving, and really too small a room for such a big hotel

    Lovely spacious room. Very friendly reception staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location, clean rooms but disappointing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing breakfast experience. We were given the wrong serving times for breakfast when we queried it at check in (we were told breakfast finished at 10.30am) we arrived at 9.45am and had to queue to be seated in the restaurant. Once seated we waited 10 minutes for tea/coffee to arrive and were then told we had 5 minutes before the breakfast buffet would be cleared. We quickly grabbed some fruit and pastries before staff started to clear everything away. Didn’t manage to get any of the hot buffet that we had paid for. Our grievances were expressed to reception on checkout but no apology or recompense was offered to us. Not really the breakfast experience we expected from a 5* hotel.

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    I wouldn’t go back sadly. The room experience was not worth money spent. It was my birthday trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My air system didn’t work come evening. Bad timing as London was experiencing warmer weather. They brought us a a small fan, but we literally slept in 80 degree room. Sooooo uncomfortable. I’ve never slept that hot. The bed mattress actually scooted off when you sat or came in contact with it. Not what I’ve come to expect from a Waldorf property. Overall, I was disappointed by the experience. Sad as staff and location were phenomenal.

    The location is everything. Near shopping and bars. Nice hotel bar. Staff is exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent we felt very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing not to like. It is a beautiful hotel and we personally could not fault it.

    I mentioned in the booking that it was my husband's birthday and they very kindly left some cake and a bottle of wine in the room. We thought it was a lovely gesture and it made his day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    Fantastic room, very friendly staff with nothing too much trouble. Front desk staff welcoming and friendly. Executive lounge great with nice breakfast. Foyer vibrant and a great place to meet colleagues. Concierge services very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Apart from breakfast the hotel was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a total let down we had breakfast in the executive part the first morning very poor choice for breakfast and I asked could get anything else and we told in one word NO and then she walked away nice service not, the next day we had breakfast in the main breakfast hall I placed an order from the menu then had to wait 50 minutes for it to come after getting up twice to find out what was happening to my breakfast and the when it came it was cold and my wife had finished her breakfast 30 minuets before mind had come. All in all the breakfast service and quality for the two day was very very poor for this hotel, I did bring this up when we where booking out but seem to fall on deaf ears 9/10 rating for breakfast sorry

    Centre to every where we needed to get to

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing and not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in, computer was down at the desk we were at, however other computers were working and people who came in after us were checked in and away and we were still waiting, we should have been moved to another computer. Not a good start. Room was not ready when we arrived at 12.30-1pm and we were told 3pm, however again other people checking in no problem and not being told you have to wait till 3pm. Room not up to the expectation we had of a Waldorf Hotel, paintwork on doors and walls grubby, waste bin in room still had a floss stick with blood on it, therefore not checked or cleaned out properly. Housekeeping not up to a 4 star standard. Used the Bar on return from Theatre and ordered tea and coffee, again people who had come in after us received their drinks and we were still waiting. Eventually Waiter apologised for delay and gave us the drinks on the house, but the damage was already done. We will not be returning to this Hotel again. Overpriced for the one night at £325!!!! Checked in 3pm checked out the following day at 10am!!!!

    The location of the property, my daughter and I were going to a show and the theatre was located about 100yds from hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    hotel excellent, nearly ruined by booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very unhappy with booking.com who had not forwarded my booking to the waldorf. As such checking in was very difficult and the hotel were extremely busy. This was a birthday treat, so having such aggravation did not start the weekend well and in the process resulted in my partner learning the cost of the treat.

    The staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff were excellent, hotel had old fashioned class. The cocktail lounge and pianist was a good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be a little better. Paid for breakfast for first day, but the free breakfast in the executive lounge the second day wasn't too much different, so a bit of a waste of money.

    Cocktail lounge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Loved the location most, and the hotel while not the NYC Waldorf experience, was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished the hotel had a bit more of a lobby. There was no where to hang out on the ground level besides the bar or restaurant which was surprising and disappointing.

    Location was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable the issues we had were manageable , the dining room staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electronic keys failed to work 1st time, our room was 520 a long way away from reception and we didn’t have much time to get ready as we were out to the theatre early evening. That said the the man on reception reprogrammed keys and accompanied us back to the room to make sure we got entry. There was a bottle of wine in the room we were not sure whether or not this was complimentary so we left it.

    The bed was extra comfy, the staff were friendly, I like the location, and the general ambience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    Must Read - Mouldy Sandwiches / Curdled Milk / Disgusting Toilets / Lost Luggage / Falsely Charged f
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would certainly not consider myself an expert on hotel reviews but I can certainly distinguish between a good hotel and a poor hotel. We booked rooms for a special occasion under different names and upgraded them from the original "standard room". Upon arrival, we further upgraded 2 of the rooms. I will put our experiences into 4 sections - 1 - On entry into the room, first thing I noticed that the room, although upgraded 2 tiers was like a matchbox and we had the wrong luggage in the room so I politely called Reception and advised them. A helpful lady offered us another room so we accepted and were moved. This room was better but still nothing like the photos that are shown on their site so when i received another call, I said i was still disappointed so was again moved to another room. (The lady in reception that dealt with this was very apologetic and helpful). The 3rd room was actually decent and represented more like what I had seen on the website apart from the toilet seat that was not fitted correctly and would move around when you sat on it so couldn't use it properly but we didn't want to make a fuss so put up with it and our luggage was brought to the room later on once they found it. This whole process took around 1 hour in which I was sat in the rooms staring at the walls waiting for instructions. 2 - We had plans to go out for the evening (there was 4 of us in total) so met in the bar beforehand when we told our friends / family what had happened. To my disgust, our friend told me that she had had some problems in her room too - There was a fridge full of old food, mouldy sandwiches, cheese and milkshake. The toiletries in the bathroom were empty and had not been refilled. She went to make a cup of tea from the in room kettle and when she poured the milk from the little cartons, they were lumpy so couldn't drink it, probably curdled.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Completely lived up to my expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Hilton Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Waldorf staff are excellent, they couldn’t have been more helpful. The location is also perfect. The hotel is old, so it has charm, but also has all conveniences.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed in the hotel and the room. I was expecting it to be more higher class as it was the "Waldorf Hilton" especially for the price we paid. Not sure I would stay again.

    Brilliant location for what we wanted

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    Overall good but don't expect a drink anytime soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service was very slow. For some reason you had to sit and be served, took a lot longer than simply serving drinks. Very awkward watching bar staff wait to pour drinks when other staff had not taken an order. Poor.

    Location, cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay, however Hotel wasn't quite as expected for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in room was set out all wrong, you couldn't adjust the temperature until you were in the shower due to position of on/off switch, hence you have to stand directly under shower head under cold water!! the soap bar was positioned behind the shower, even if you didn't want to wash your hair you had no choice! very bad design!!! (room 225)

    convenience to theatre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    All aspects were brilliant for us, it was a one off stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam room a little cold

    All aspects were brilliant for us, it was a one off stay rather than an an expensive budget hotel, cost more than the budget hotel but well worth it..,, will stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting into room organising everything, getting ready as we would be back late and on returning later on hotel staff had been in the room and tidied everything up put everything l had arranged ready for getting back away! I am a carer there with Work support learning disabilities. Everything I had prepared had been moved. The cost he paid £355.00 for that room and didn’t get breakfast I thought that wasn’t good. Only Nescafé Orginal coffee sachets x2 in room no other coffee without buying coffee at £9.00 for 2 coffees from room service. After paying so much for room not even being able to make a drink I room for as not good.

    The bed was super comfort

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location with lovely staff, clean and amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being told that access to the executive lounge meant I didn't have to book breakfast with the room.

    The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The food was good and the executive lounge was great with very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Hotel position and staff were fantastic. Facilities were lacking in quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poolside had sign for slipperiness-however it felt dangerous and needs resurfacing. Steam room was cool and staff member told us that was how it was supposed to be. Then when we said we had spoken to a member of the gym he then said they were waiting for parts. Felt he was lying and this tainted visit. One of the reasons we chose the hotel was for the spa so we were very disappointed and wouldn’t recommend it for that. The steam room was also very small. The gym looked well equipped although we did not use it.

    Staff excellent. Position perfect. Bed very comfortable. Pillows lovely. Sauna was good although very small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.0
    Rain shower was not working properly i.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rain shower was not working properly i.e was cold. Wanted to shower just before check out but unable to be fixed in time. Grateful for the 1 hour extension on check out time given, but very disappointed overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable stay and we'd be happy to recommend it to friends and relatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the breakfast was average, there were no vegetarian sausages on the menu and although the fried eggs looked good, the white around the yolk was uncooked.

    Excellent service from all members of staff, the concierge parking service was really appreciated, the room was comfortable, we slept well and the location couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    We visited London to buy a wedding ring in Tiffanys. The Waldorf we thought would be perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not go into the Palm Court as it was closed off for a Wedding, big disappointment as we wanted to take photo's due to it's history. We had 2 coffee sachets in the room which we drank immediately, we asked reception for more but they never arrived. Room 107 was quite cold the inner widow did not close correctly. Our room key did not work and had to be reset. At breakfast my fiancée's chair was more than wonky. No Waldorf written on dressing gowns. TV was very wonky and made a lovely room look a bit shabby in our photo's.

    Beds were very comfortable and pillows amazing, breakfast was good, location fantastic for Lyceum Theatre and Covent Garden. Tea and coffee in room is always good to have, nice Eater decoration in Lobby with free little chocolate eggs and sweets. Doormen were smart and friendly. Free Wi fi and I pad to send Facebook messages. Lots of lifts and very efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel failed to have the WOW factor that i thought the property would have. Room not ready at 3.30 had to wait till 4.30 which meant we had to rearrange a meal reservation pre theatre.

    Bed very comfortable, btreakfast good. Nice to have fresh air in the room as opposed to air con

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    Expectations definitely not met - expected luxury and lavish. standard hotel inside lavish exterior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor - same menu as the room service menu. Very little choice of cereal and fruit. No pancakes. Supplement of £8 for begian waffles. Most hotels offer these as a standard breakfast items

    Location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast food, cheap bacon under cooked and cheap sausages, not the unusual standard of Hilton. Did not like seeing people laying full length on sofas in reception area in the morning on the way to breakfast, not something you would expect to see at The Waldorf.

    Lovely Italian young lady on reception who recommended Italian restaurant and rang to book a table. At breakfast the poached eggs were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Will never go back there again or recommend it restrant need to read there bills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of car park £55 a day especially when staying there bar prices were you got them from bottle beer and a vodka £12 50

    nothing really no what we expected

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous,
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow Cold water and very slow drainage in bathroom sink Room 138 A saucer for the cups would be more practical than a plate as cup slides all over

    Staff were exception, polite,friendly and very warming

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Conveniently
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have got preauthorisation on my card for room rate and after check out and full payment, the pre authorisations are still frozen in my account after a week. Which is quite annoying. As if I have paid twice for the rooms so far!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    Unforgettable for all the wrong reasons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unbelievable noise coming from the private party being held in the function rooms, that was so loud it was vibrating through the floor of our first floor room. Made all the worse by the response of duty staff, who after advising the party would continue to 1am, thought it was appropriate to offer us a transfer twin room, 3 times before suddenly finding a king double. Moving rooms after midnight is not what you expect when staying at ‘prestigious’ name hotels!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    We wanted to stay in one of the best and classiest hotel in london, and we did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Hilton Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather but I think that was out of your control lol

    Your staff were very polite and courteous and made my partners birthday weekend even better. Loved the cocktails. We will be back

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: