Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Walnut Tree Inn 3 stars

Station Road, Northampton, NN7 3DS, United Kingdom

#3 of 6 B&Bs and Inns in Northampton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 552 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor sound insulation between rooms made for a wakeful night. Bed was a bit too soft; bathroom rather tired. Staff friendly but amateur (except the owners - friendly and more accomplished). Couldn't be nearer to the railway line - but with a room on the back, we weren't really disturbed by trains.

    Friendliness. Sense of life and community in the pub in the day and evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trains running at the front of the hotel. So make sure when you book you don’t get rooms 3,4,5,6,7 & 8.

    Obviously the location. It was good value for money. The breakfast and dinners were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little shabby round the edges in bedroom and bathroom but clean

    Food was excellent and the staff couldn't of been more helpful. Bonus was the live comedy night too which we attended free of charge as a resident of the inn, fun night!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A 4ft 6 bed. Rooms are too small to accomodate a double bed due to age of the building. Wouldnt stop me staying again

    Friendly, helpful staff. Comfy bed, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms n bed rooms need updating

    Waitress in the bar, she was bubbly and happy, great at her job n efficient oh and extremely busy due to being on her own besides the bar man. Good work

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy place to stay. Constant trains going past at all times of day and night, I was aware of this from comments on line but after I booked. What I was not expecting was the incessant noise from next doors toilet, unbelievable, apparently some rooms have a ‘special’ toilet (information of which is in your room but this does not inform you of the noise it makes). It takes an age to get any hot water, but you are informed of this. The hot water tap in my bathroom rotated when used, this is a simple thing to fix and must have been like this when the room was cleaned, I suspected it hand been so for some time.

    The bar and restaurant were very comfortable, food in bar and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was on the road side so the trains passing is quite noisy. Free ear plugs could help ! Moreover there were noisy pipes from the room next door, not sure if it was shower or toilet but very loud in the morning, not quite as enjoyable as waking up by the sound of birds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was terrible,very loud fast trains outside across the road that shook the room. We had booked a double room which was obviously a single with a double bed squeezed in as no room for a 2nd bedside table and tiny wardrobe space. There was mould everywhere in the bathroom. We asked to be moved to a quieter room but was told by the receptionist that we should have known there was loud trains as they do not hide anything! After cancelling our 2nd night we were then finally upgraded to bigger quieter room. The facilities were very poor and bathroom again mouldy. Only good thing was the food and friendly restaurant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to trainline.

    Very good property. Large room (order back of house, away from trainline). Good ales and very good staff. Bed linen very good quality. Would go here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel faces the North/South fast rail line and trains I found noisy and annoying and therefore a room at the back of the hotel is advisable.

    The hotel is in a good location, is very clean, the staff are amazing and the food is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed breakfast but would have liked more choices especially fruit juice as only orange juice on table.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value stay. Quality and cleanliness exceeded expectations and staff very accommodating. Beautiful walk into the village via canal and easy drive into Northampton to visit family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely warm welcome, at 10pm, room was good, beds comfortable, bar was busy with quick service from the friendly barman, Saturday night and they had a superb band playing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comment - generally happy

    Only stayed for a quick one-night, but everything was absolutely fine. There was a comedy night on, so the bar was very busy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nearby rail line, but it was quiet in small hours of morning and I would still visit again.

    Comfy bed, nice cooked breakfast, cheery staff, good bar and restaurant. Would choose to stay here again if in the area. Everything good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the bedroom was a standard double, I would hate to think what a standard single looks like. Bed snug against wall so only accessible by one side and foot of bed. Not enough room in room for 2 people to exist comfortably. Had we seen photo, wouldn't have booked. (No photos of standard double on websites) Bathroom fittings/hot water supply substandard.

    Pleasant staff/owners. Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was bad it could just have been better ie the dining room furniture didn't match, the light fittings weren't dusted, bedroom wasn't perfectly sound proofed etc. All very minor but could be improved.

    The hotel was OK, nothing stood out as either particularly good or bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't worry me but it is next to a mainline railway. Hot water slow to come through ROOM COLD, radiators not on, needed an electric heater

    Unusual menu, great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recommend requesting a room at the rear of the hotel as we were in a front of hotel room and close to the railway track. Although the noise of trains did not wake me and I slept soundly, but my husband took a while to get to sleep because of the trains.

    The staff on reception, bar and restaurant were all very welcoming and friendly. The evening meal was delicious - crayfish cocktail starter, rib eye steak with portobello mushroom, cherry tomatoes and shallots with triple cook chips for main course - too full for a dessert! Breakfast was great too all freshly cooked and you could choose what you wanted and was brought to your table. Room was fairly small, but clean and everything you needed for a comfortable one night stay in a countryside location. Near to Silverstone where we were visiting the following day only 15 mins drive away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Country pub style hotel- lovely room on the front of the hotel - roomy and with good facilities. Great staff and a hands on approach from the owner was evident. Dont be put off by the train line opposite the hotel- the glazing was very good and we were not disturbed by it. Great bar with a lively mix of locals and visitors. Food was exceptionally good- a focused menu but of very high quality- we were there for a birthday celebration and we couldn't fault the whole experience. Close to Northampton and a good alternative to chain business hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a sandwich for may main food and it had been out too long before being served. The bread was dry and the fish fingers had gone cold. The bed was rather small for two people and the bathroom door just didn't shut properly. Small things like this stop it being an excellent review

    The evening food was mostly great especially the tapatisers. The beer was excellent and the other drinks were good. Room was bright and the bathroom a decent size. Breakfast was freshly cooked and enjoyable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on a Saturday night and there was a live band playing downstairs which did not stop playing until 11:45 PM. 🙃 Perhaps if a member of staff had four warned us this may have prepared us a little considering we had kids with us. We had to be up early the next morning so this was a little disruptive for us

    Great sized room with comfy beds ideal for party of four.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a good size but they hadn't taken the oportunity to put in a couple of small but comfy chairs & a small table. It would have made such a difference. (Especially as we had asked for comfy seating for 2 as we don't like sitting cross legged on a bed in order to watch TV.) As the Saturday night entertainment is so popular bear in mind booking a table in advance as we were unable to get a dinner table.

    It was Saturday night & they had a great Band playing. Its close proximity to Gayton Marina where we were going the following day to hire a narrow boat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location isn't ideal being so close to the railway line but hit the jackpot when the lines were closed overnight for maintenance! Toilet left a funny smell in the bathroom but to be expected with a saniflow system

    Great size room Very comfortable bed Excellent value for money Dvds to borrow in the hallway was a nice homely touch Fabulous customer service from all staff Breakfast was second to none Could not recommended The Walnut Tree Inn highly enough. We have found a real gem here and would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the trains which can’t be helped. No iron or ironing board in the room. The TV is a bit small

    The food was excellent as were the staff. The bed was very comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet area was particularly old and stained on the floor and behind the toilet, the shower was up/down a large step and very cramped needs updating. Breakfast was a bit megre, 1 slice of toast with scrambled egg and one slice of bacon and a bacon sandwich with 1 piece of bacon it in and doorstep bread.

    Staff we all lovely, bar was lively and well stocked and entertainment was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is near the railway but then it is historically the old railway hotel. Bedroom was double glazed so it did dull train noise.

    Staff were really helpful and welcoming. Dinner and breakfast were lovely and the bar area/restaurant were a beautiful space.. Bedroom was huge and well stocked with tea/coffee and tissues. Bathroom was spotless and also spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed matress was very very poor condition and quality.

    Staff were excellent, smiley and calm, Restaurant was lovely as was the food. Decor and ambience was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the staff were really friendly and interested in helping. Lovely food in the restaurant. Individually cooked breakfast. Quiet and calm interlude while working in Northampton.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 24 hour 0train line across road but actually got used to it quite quickly

    The staff great all round. Rooms comfortable and clean. Breakfast freshly cooked. Poached eggs perfect!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting and availability of electric sockets in the room.

    The staff were helpful and chatty. The bar area was very pleasant with live music on certain nights. The food was excellent! The mainline rail line runs opposite the hotel but the double glazing means that this was never a problem, day or night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little remote ,

    Staff very friendly, every where clean , we had a large bedroom , nice walk in shower in bathroom . Food presented well , and very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downside was the noise of the trains from the line opposite. I live on a busy road so used to noise but other people may find it noisy.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was very good. Great breakfast. Rooms were really clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit hot for us but just personal preference.

    The staff were all amazing. Very friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent. For the first time in an inn/pub I had my gin served in a proper gin glass.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor main meal, cod not white inside it was grey and dark red, they did not wait are in taking it off the bill though. Breakfast average.had to change room as there was an awful smell in the bathroom but again no problem in doing this.

    Lovely modern rooms, polite staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Radiator kept making dripping noises, a bleeding would solve that. Breakfast service took too long and no fruits available at all. Virgin HS trains run literally at the front of the property, whenever they went past the room was shaking a bit. Nothing major, but spoiled it for me.

    Very clean rooms, hotel bar staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Dinner
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the shower takes a little time to heat up (this is mentioned on the hotel details card in the room though). This is not a dislike as we were aware of this beforehand, but note that this is outside of Blisworth, perhaps a 20 minute walk (mainly down the canal, but part on country road) to the main village centre. High speed trains pass by outside and can be very loud.

    Very nice history to the place (see the information board opposite the hotel). The dinner was very good and excellent value (we had booked half board so three courses were included for a great price). The staff were very professional although I feel perhaps on the days we were there they were understaffed. Saying that, everyone we met who worked there was polite and helpful, just a little rushed but that is not their fault. I liked the big dispensers of soap/shower gel in the bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the guest's were loud and swearing, there were young children present and they were asked by another guest to curb their language which they did for a while but odd words were let out. It seems that these guests were regulars. Not very pleasant for those in earshot.

    Dinner was very good, accommodation exceeded expectations staff excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Dinner
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and basic but ok for a one night stay. The ensuite, though it looked fairly new, needed better extraction as very strong smell of ?damp in there. Semi rural location so definitely need a car to get around.

    We stayed one night superior double room, dinner b&b. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food very good with good sized portions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps more comfy pillows and a softer duvet

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was good pub food. We felt that the establishment were very proactive in making the Inn a venue. Lots of people in bar and at the evening show, not necessarily hotel guests but it had a cheerful buzzing atmosphere. The hotel was not massive and seemed like a family concern in a genuine period building. We would happily return if we were in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very large party ( noise) on arrival so had to change rooms to a very small room. No heating in the bathroom and the hot water was sporadic. The external uplighters pointed to the bedroom windows and so sleep was limited till they were turned off. General aroma of disinfectant around the whole property.. usually a sign of trying to mask something!

    It was very conveniently located...the morning staff and breakfast were very good. Bed was very comfortable. This accommodation as adequate as I spent the daytime at my relatives house.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a pity that accommodation in buildings like this the UK are legally obliged to have those green ceiling lamps on all night - it means the room is not dark, and kept me awake. Blindfold recommended. Room 9 has a fairly noisy extractor fan outside (from the kitchen); although not on all night, I think it was on until 11pm or later, and on again around 7am. Earplugs recommended.

    Friendly and attentive staff (reception, bar and breakfast) Location away from busy road Facility to have dinner and drinks Nicely-cooked breakfast Easy to find Decor is pleasant, clean and well-maintained Reasonable price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to the mainline railway and uncomfortable bed.

    Staff were all extremely welcoming and helpful. Excellent service from everyone. Lovely food (we had dinner & breakfast). Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drains in bathroom were smelling in the morning. Towel were very rough and tatty- new linen in bathroom. No one manning front desk and breakfast room at 8am

    Spacious, clean room, friendly helpful staff. Very happy to have breakfast served very swiftly after waiting 20 minutes to order as need to leave by 8.30.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main part of the hotel was warm but the room I was in was through a fire door at the end of the hotel and the Room and bathroom were very cold and the radiators did not work. There was an electric heater but you couldn't take that into the bathroom. TV Used freeview which froze. Shower head would not stay in place so had to hold it by hand. Single occupancy in a double room but it was so small there was no where to put the suitcase. Stain on the duvet cover.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom very noisy with mainline trainline outside window, last train 11pm start again 5.30am so limited sleep. Sparodic wi fi in room

    Breakfast was excellent and staff friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train line runs on the other side of the road and trains run into the night.

    Friendly and comfortable atmosphere. Great breakfast and friendly staff. Lovely location not far from M1 but far enough to be secluded .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom a little small. Real ale could have had a better head. Railway noise not really a problem.

    Courteous service. Friendly helpful staff. Good clean facilities. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My concerns relate directly to the room I was allocated. It was smaller than indicated on my booking at the full price. The bed was squashed into the corner of the room, the bedside table was an upholstered chair so impossible to put a drink on it. The room had an extremely unpleasant smell of sewage. The entire tap rotated upon turning it on. There was no heating in the bathroom hence it was utterly freezing. There is no warning on the site that there is a railway line about 50 metres from the hotel. Fast trains thunder past the window to this room with relentless regularity from about 4am until late at night.

    Staff delightful, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Healthier breakfast please.

    Lovely room, perfect temp. The tv would be better place opposite bed , not to the side of bed.nice touch to have choice of DVD's , thank you. Dining room nice and nice menu.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room 10 over the kitchen - strong chip fat smell and noise from extractor fans - although a VERY comfortable room

    NB - do not drink coffee- so rating above not relevant Great location Great value stay Good sized room and bathroom Very helpful manager & lovely breakfast staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel inside is a little “tired” and needs a good make over to bring it up to £92 per nite. It’s very close to the main train line.

    The dinner and breakfast were both excellent. Great cooking and the dinner was well presented.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to a main train line. Breakfast doesn't start until 8am on Saturday. Small bed (length). Noise macerator pumps in toilets.

    Nothing was notably good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to mainline railway - so a room at the back is the best option

    Large room (with 4 beds?) - main double was not so big - good bathroom and excellent breakfast - helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit on the small side and too hot as the radiator seemed to be permanently on. Some fruit at breakfast would have been nice.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the bed comfortable and we had a good breakfast. An evening meal in the bar was good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a club sandwich at 8:30 when we arrived. I felt that the bread hadn't been toasted properly as it was soggy, so I ate the bacon and chicken and left the 'toast'. The bedroom was very cold when we arrived and we had to have a heater placed in the bedroom to keep it warm, but this still left the bathroom cold which meant our towels were always wet. The shower had green algae growing on the outside and really should be replaced as it was covered in lime scale. It took a good 5 minutes for the shower to heat up and it wasn't very powerful or hot. At the front of the hotel is the main Birmingham to London railway line which ran from 6 in the morning til midnight, with trains running every few minutes.

    the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed and pillows very comfortable and the breakfasts very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would like more choices at breakfast other than just full English.

    Everyone was really friendly. The location was good and the room a good size and comfortable . Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the trains, if your in a front bedroom, the room was also a little cold as the heating was not on yet.

    Great staff, very welcoming and food amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have done with some blinds or curtains on the bathroom window. I felt quite exposed at night, as I'm sure the frosted glass still shows silhouettes when it's dark outside and the lights is on in the bathroom.

    Friendly helpful staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV didn't work in the room .

    Fresh cooked breakfast was tasty. Food in the pub was good with a decent selection of real ales. Staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible location if you are not a train spotter. I am NOT a train spotter. The Virgin mainline trains pass frequently outside the front of the hotel, during the day, part of the night and start again in the early hours of the morning. If you are lucky enough to have a room at the back of the hotel, then you have the noise of the kitchen's industrial extractor fan and noise from the car park. The hotel needs triple glazing and air con. Smelly bathroom, caused by the plumbing system.

    Great location if you are train spotter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was travelling on business and needed an early start the following day and was only told about the beer festival, canal festival and live music as I booked in that evening. It was all great fun but I didn't sleep well.

    The building, the atmosphere, the bar, the food, the friendliness of the staff, the location etc etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room (2) cramped with double bed against the wall, strong smell of sewage in toilet , door handle loose on toilet, hot tap loose, no chain on plug in sink, shower not very clean, towel was old and a bit threadbare, toilet roll holder fell off. Breakfast slight meagre in quantity and choice. Very close to railway line being very noisy although no trains ran after 12:00pm staring again at 07:00am

    Not a lot !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    The Hotel was small, friendly and extremely comfortable. Food was excellent. Bar had live music at weekends which was entertaining.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the location in the dark was a bit tricky as there is no street lighting. The trains are close by and the noise is something I am not used to.

    Efficient. No stress stay over. Calm atmosphere. Pleasant staff. Lovely hand wash.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't notice any negative points during my stay.

    The room we stayed in was spacious and pleasantly furnished. The staff were approachable, friendly and eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Overall, the Walnut Tree Inn is excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding a table for our evening meal was a nightmare, would reserve next time but this time we weren't sure what time we would arrive.

    The look of the property was great. Room was lovely and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Evening meal was cooked beautifully. Staff very very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to train station which it doesn't state, sounds like a nightclub downstairs. Good place if you like noise, but not if you want a good nights sleep...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very good but limited menu choice, value for money. Rooms basic, clean adequate facilities , value for money accommodation. Stayed in room 7 and read reviews on trip advisor re noise from trains, there were plenty of trains went past but after 11.15 did not notice any noise and we had windows open, got up following morning at 8 and again no noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The trains!! The hotel is next to the railway track and the trains are going past about every 10-15 minutes during the day. We were told that they stopped at midnight.......wrong. They didn't go past as frequently (every 30 minutes or so) but they were very noisy and we couldn't sleep as we had to have the window open. What a shame as the hotel is very good otherwise.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant in the evening was very good and also the breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    be advised it is near a train track that runs until late 11ish, but otherwise all good.

    Staff in bar were excellent, it was busy and they were run off their feet only two of them but the service never faltered. The food was good so was the beer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's position adjacent to a very busy West Coast main railway line makes it very noisy. The breakfast lacked any fruit or yoghurt. The bedroom is looking tired and is basic for the cost.

    The food in the restaurant in the evening was superb. If you like live music the this is the place for you ! The staff were very helpful and mainly cheerful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inn was not within walking distance of the village - nowhere to walk to at night. The noise from the express trains passing by was extremely loud in the bedroom - luckily they stopped at about 11pm but started up again at about 6am. Extra double glazing would be valuable.

    Staff excellent, helpful and friendly. Food was delicious and well presented. Bedroom was comfortable and clean .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is situated very close to main line train line. Had I known this I probably wouldn't have booked this hotel as windows are poorly insulated against the house of the trains which passed every 5 minutes. However had I got a room at the rear this may not have been such a issue. Shower in bathroom could have been hotter and a lot more powerful. Full English breakfast was minimal too.

    Room was large with comfy bed with nice linen. Bathroom was also Spacious. Food and ambience in the main hotel was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the bathroom left a little to be desired and the management needs some training in communication to change the tone of the terse sign about not putting things down the toilet at risk of a surcharge on the bill if you happen or dare to block it! The killer is the proximity to the mainline railway just across the road. We had read reviews about this and asked for a room at the rear but we were still given one at the front. Fast trains rush through regularly shaking the building and rattling the windows. Fortunately there was a bit of a lull between midnight and 5 AM so we managed to get some sleep, Don't expect a peaceful 8 hours if you are in a room at the front. Not cheap either.

    This is a pleasant country pub hotel with an interesting menu and good ales and wines available. The staff were all pleasant and accommodating and the food and drink was very good. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order with a field mushroom instead of the tasteless little button variety. The room was a good size and there was plenty of parking available at the front and rear of the building. Good facilities for making tea or coffee in the room including real coffee bags.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Walnut Tree Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: