Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Waterloo Hotel & Bistro 3 stars

113 Alexandra Road, Newport, NP20 2JG, United Kingdom

#11 of 27 hotels in Newport

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 487 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Building interesting with original features
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double glazing needs upgrading Venetian blinds between window and inner secondary glazing rattled all night noisily as outside window open unable to reach to close.

    Building interesting with original features

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Second Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to the parking is narrow

    Independant Hotel with great customer service. The restuarant food is very good and the location was great for us as we were visiting the Newport velodrome. Secure parking (locked over night). The building has great character. This is my second stay, and I wasn't dissapointed. I don't know how they do it for the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    it was very nice hotel, the bar area was like walking back in time with alot of original features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only one downfall no shower

    breakfast was very good, room was really comfortable extra bonus was a settee, very spacious room. staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    The food is incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and the bedroom furnishings were very dated. The carpet in our room was very old as was the bed and pillows. The shower curtain was also mouldy at the bottom. Of you can look beyond these things then it's great.

    The welcome was lovely, the bed was big, the shower was powerful and the food incredible!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Hotel is not what the pictures and description suggest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pictures suggest a nice boutique hotel - reality is a tired, hotel in a very run down area. For a stop over, or work, this hotel would be fine, but it is not a hotel for a leisure holiday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Spacious room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel's fault, but the road was noisy with a few idiot drivers speeding noisily past. Pedestal of toilet was dirty, as it was obviously overlooked during cleaning.

    Lovely, huge comfortable bed! Very spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Warm and friendly b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very hot after showering, could maybe do with a built in extractor fan?

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. The location was a bit out of the way but a short taxi ride into the city centre (about £4.00). Breakfast was lovely, the room was spacious and all in all this hotel does what it says on the tin! Great value for money!😁

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful Waterloo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Characterful building, well preserved. Staff friendly and helpful. Food service quick and food of excellent quality. Secure car park. Transporter Bridge attraction nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    Great staff but poor location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm, no view and near a main road.

    Not in a good part of town and few buses cover the area. The staff were great but the hotel is quite rundown.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    The room was very spacious and the bed was huge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television in the room could have been bigger considering the distance from the bed to where the TV was placed and the breakfast lacked the options for beans or sauces other than that no complaints at all.

    The room was very spacious and the bed was huge! Very comfy too and the bathrooms are absolutely fabulous!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Adequate for my needs staying again soon
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtain pelmet hanging off, mirror filthy dirty.

    The breakfast was gorgeous. Staff really nice, room was big but overall apart from the restaurant which was lovely its very run down.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Was in South Wales for the Speedway GP in Cardiff. Enjoyed my 2 night stay. Hosts are very friendly, room very comfy, lovely breakfast, usual fare, fruit juice, choice of cereal, freshly cooked English, tea/coffee, toast and jam, just the job. My visit was made memorable when I was having brekkie., and in walks Barry Briggs for his. If The Waterloo is good enough for a legendary former World speedway champion, then. . . you know what I'm saying. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable, relaxing& just what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices of the evening meals were a bit pricey& only a couple of options available

    It was a lovely room with a huge bed! Clean&tidy. Staff were great& we just had such a relaxing time

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    The room was surprisingly large and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it’s all wonderful.

    Underfloor heating in the bathroom wonderful, bed so comfortable and food fantastic! It was a special occasion and kitchen staff and host were wonderful when they brought sticky toffee pudding out! Thank you 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is intimidating for the taxis or cab for the night after sunset! I don't know why I've asked for 4 drivers and everyone tells that place them don't go. When I found one taxi driver accepted him asked for more money to go to Alexandra road. But I don't find any other issues, only the night taxicab!

    Gentle staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Stay was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and professional nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The approach to the hotel was difficult to find even with sat nav we had to drive aroundd a feww times to find entrance. Sadly the area leading to hotel was very uninviting and narrow entrance to carpark was tricky to manover.

    The ambience of the hotel felt very historical. The owner has put alot of thought into attention to detail with memorabilia. The staeff offered a warm greeting nothing was too much trouble. Bed was very comfortable and enjoyed the homely touches of hair dryer, biscuits, ironing board, tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Breakfast was delicious but sadly minimal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.0
    Diamond in the rough
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was the only bad thing about this hotel but it really was a diamond in the rough,

    Gorgeous hotel with loads of period features the food is awesome and overall was a really pleasant place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff were really friendly and the room was spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When arriving it wasn’t quite was I expected but I actually had a really good stay and it was very nice.

    The staff were really friendly and the room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Interesting building but not really close to anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was too warm and stuffy. Would like to have been able to open the door. Sofa in room was wearing out and carpet as well.

    Interesting building, large room and bathroom. Nice to have restaurant in hotel. Food was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Vegan friendly, relaxing and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am a light sleeper and the road was a bit noisy. I think one of the double glazed window needed attention, so this could possibly be resolved. Otherwise this would be 100%

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. I really liked the ambience of the bar. Most importantly this is a very vegan friendly hotel. I rarely get given three options for an evening meal! Having a vegan breakfast was also really straight forward and all freshly cooked unlike the buffet options in the larger hotels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Generally a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but far from excellent. No buffett

    Good location and close to a tourist attraction the transporter bridge. Rooms are of a good size

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value characterful hotel in Newport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could do with some updating here and there but it's nicely 'shabby chic' as it is.

    Secure car parking, huge room, character building which was very interesting, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff were so friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park gets locked after a certain time which we weren’t told unfortunately, but there is other parking nearby the hotel

    The staff were so friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    A real gem will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv very small for the room and the windows and blinds could do with updating - would not deter us from going back though

    A real gem will definitely go back. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly staff and comfortable room made up for inconvenient location too far to walk into town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tomato soup of the day needed sieving to remove the tomato skin which had somehow been chopped up into sharp little needle-like bits. It tasted ok but it was like trying to eat a very bony fish!

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Greeted upon arrival, talked through whole process of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeted upon arrival, talked through whole process of checking in, lady was super friendly and even accommodated us staying an extra night due to my partner working in Newport. Rooms spacious and airy WiFi really good bath filled up in seconds! Genuinely really happy with hotel was a lovely stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, nice room with good WiFi, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled damp and musty even with the bedroom window the whole time. Probably due to the fact that the bathroom has no extractor fan and the window doesn't open. Bearable with the bedroom window open overnight. This was mentioned to the staff. Toilet was also stained.

    Friendly staff, nice room with good WiFi, very comfortable. Breakfast was fine and the car park was OK if a little tight to get in to. Area not great but a 25 minute walk gets you to the centre. Flat fare £4 for a taxi back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor

    Lots of money has been spent on this hotel and although the location is not the best we did not need to leave the hotel It had everything we needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Welcoming and helpful staff, fine food, and extremely reasonable prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been good if the Doombar and/or Dr James pumps were working when I visited, but there were plenty of other good things to choose from in the bar.

    A fascinating old building with a strangely-decorative interior and a mad turret thingy on top, whch makes it too distinctive to miss when you arrive. A warm welcome, a comfy room, trouble-free wi-fi, and a high-quality restaurant, all at highly economical prices. An interesting feature of the menu was the "Un-four-seen" option -- four courses, selected by the chef. Try it and expand your horizons -- I never would have guessed that I like liquorice ice-cream. My car decided that it didn't want to leave, and wouldn't start when I was ready to go on Sunday morning. The owner gave me (or rather my car) a jump start, and, when the power steering failed when I started to move, called my roadside rescue service for me (I don't have a mobile phone) and kept me up to date on their expected arrival. Highly recomended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice Hotel, shame about the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've never been to Newport before, didn't realise what a dump it is. I walked to the hotel from the train station, not a good idea. Room just needs to be updated. There was black mould around the bath. I did have music thumping until midnight, so not the best night sleep.

    The Bar and Bistro area was really nice, lots of character. Food was really good. Staff were warm, friendly and helpful. Room was OK, lots of space. Nice shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    very friendly and helpful, very comfortable accommadation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue are boy racers on the dual carriageway can keep light sleepers awake during the night but not a fault of the hotel as have fitted secondary glazing to help reduce road noise.

    Very friendly and kept room available until 2pm to shower after completing the marathon. Put on an early breakfast as well for the runners. Locked car park if needed or can park on side street with no issues

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    The building had a lot of character!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too much really.. The bedrooms could have done with a good clean. The room was very dusty and with cobwebs (not just my room, my mum’s also) The bed would be much better if new duvets are provided.

    The building had a lot of character! Lovely bar area! The staff were lovely and very welcoming. The Bathroom was lovely with a great size bath and nice hot water! The bed was lovely!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Great, as always!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we live nearly 300 miles away .... far too far just to pop there for dinner!!!

    As ever we enjoyed our stay at the Waterloo. It is run by lovely, friendly, helpful people. Not a great part of town, but absolutely no problems walking into town and the car park is locked at night so cars / motorcycles are totally secure. But the best thing about the Waterloo, apart from the Grade I listed bar which is fantastic, is the food. The chef here really knows about flavour, and packs it in to the food in barrelfulls. Ace ingredients, well cooked (the fish is always spot on), sauces with real depth of flavour, some good drinkable house wines, and really reasonable prices. Can't wait to go back .....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.0
    an unexpected oasis of style and welcome in a starkly industrial district
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front rooms are a bit noisy (from the now-and-again truck movements outside) if you leave the window open for fresh air

    Staff were great, they offer that sort of 'not-quite-friends-but-sort-of' style of interaction. Food was good (for dinner, I'd recommend the steak and the panacotta) Bed was comfortable. Oh, and squeezing a car through that archway to the parking area was, well, a satisfying challenge!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area it is located is very run down.

    Pleasantly surprised as the Hotel seems to be trapped in a Victorian time warp but this is the charm of the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel and Great value for money. A Gem not to be missed !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, except the shower in the bathroom dripped when knocked off causing slight molding on the floor tiles, wall tiles and the shower curtain, just needs a little housekeeping done. No nightlife or alternative restaurants in the area as a taxi would be required if needed.

    A beautiful Hotel with a great history, carefully modernized to assist with todays requirements but still keeping the feel and atmosphere on the original building. Breakfast was great and the whole stay was brilliant. We will be back again soon. Thank You !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Sits on the Trail - NCN 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small en-suite - junior staff at dinner very green

    Very friendly couple in charge - safe and secure storage for my bike - good breakfast selection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Great decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a main road . Traffic never stopped. Very noisy. little expensive for location . Pillows were hard. The hand pump bitter (beer) could have been kept better

    Great decor.nice bed. Old, well kept hotel.nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    A little gem. We shall certainly stay there again when we next visit Newport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. The location isn't great (it's right next to the docks) but don't be put off .... it is easy to get to and felt safe and secure. We walked most places and felt perfectly ok.

    Great building, with interesting decor - the tiled bar is magnificent. The food was great .... much better than many hotels charging much more. Entrance to car park might be tight if you are driving a huge modern SUV, but plenty of space in the car park, and felt very secure. Right next to the transporter bridge which is really worth a look - Victorian engineering at its best. The owners were really nice people - friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.0
    bad location, noisy rooms, dated rooms. nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i paid for double but i got two singles pushed together. the room was a bit dated with old fashioned pictures on the walls and boring magnolia paint. the area is a dump and as it's very close to the docks the noise of traffic disturbed my sleep both nights ( no the hotels fault i know! just an observation) the breakfast was very nice and the staff were very good however i don't understand why the room cost £60 when you can get a hotel in the centre of town for less?

    the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay! Will definitely be visiting again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delighted with our stay at this lovely hotel. Close to city centre and amenities but with grand, old fashioned character and charm. Friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay - much more character than the faceless branded hotels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating was a bit hard to control! I had to ask for help.

    Very friendly independent hotel with unique bistro restaurant decor and good choice of menu. Spacious room, with everything I needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely stay here again , a great Hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very welcoming Hotel, with fascinating original décor and also extremely comfortable bed. The Manager was really friendly and helpful, as were the Staff, and the food was excellent; I have the Roast Duck and Pidgeon Breast which were perfect. Breakfast was also enjoyable, and freshly cooked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Rooms great. Evening meals excellent. Staff lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area is a bit 'interesting'. Good job food is so good that you don't need to go anywhere in the evening. Taxi drive can easily sort out this problem.

    Lovely room. Very large and comfortable bed. Room was very big with loads of space. Plenty of towels. Food in hotel was excellent from evening meal to breakfast. Rooms were lovely and warm. On site car parking. Very close to transporter bridge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    It was good value for money but I would stay elsewhere in the future.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy with a room next to the road, location run down, television channels absolutely rubbish

    Comfortable bed, easily adjustable heating, nice towels, breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    I slept really well, so the bed was comfy, the heated floor...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The headboard of my bed was damaged and could have been repaired at minimal cost. The shower and shower curtain were visibly mouldy which left the towels etc with a mouldy odour.

    I slept really well, so the bed was comfy, the heated floor int he bathroom was a bonus and breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Great for short stay in Newport, we had a hired car so was easy to get around local area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Good cooked breakfast - just what was needed. We took advantage of a 3 course evening dinner with entertainment (Swing Band Night) - good food and music, really enjoyable evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park entrance was very narrow, so took a bit of manoeuvring to get the car through. Service at breakfast was a bit slow, but not a huge issue for me.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terri was a fantastic host, organised taxis for us to get into and return from Cardiff. Also arranged for juice and toast for our night out casualties that could not make a very good breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Lovely nights sleep stopped for two nights, went to the rugby fab weekend. Thanks Terri 👍😄

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Period features and history.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative for this grand old building.

    Period features and history. From reception to management everyone was extremely helpful. We had lunch and dinner there, both were of a very good standard.A return taxi was booked for us from reception to Cardiff. Overall we were impressed with the service and friendliness of a compact team.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    3.3
    Poor ...its not suitable for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty carpets

    Unfortunately the room was very dirty .. carpert stains ( could easily be cleaned) ... friendly but its not suitable for families.. its more a business person stop over .. food was ok ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Weirdly located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was average. Other guests were served before me, in fact I was ignored by who I assumed was the chef.

    The room was lovely. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Ideal for our needs. Will use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Decor was ideal for the style of building. The staff were friendly, efficient and approachable. Excellent evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    The location is out of town, but it's next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area seems to be dedicated to the restaurant, though they will serve you a beer at a push.

    The location is out of town, but it's next to the transporter bridge which is an interesting bit of industrial heritage. The building itself has lots of original features so there's a good sense of history about the place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    A really nice Hotel in an unlikely spot, good Breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really nice Hotel in an unlikely spot, good Breakfast, fantastic good value dinner and very friendly. Lets hope that the whole area gets redeveloped to this standard!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.2
    The staff were pleasant enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faulty Towers! The hotel states it is in the middle of a regeneration area, what they fail to say is the regenerating hasn't started yet! The area is rough with buildings boarded up and really doesn't feel safe. The Bistro...well there is no bistro or bar!! We were told it doesn't open and we were directed to the pub across the road.A classy joint with a fly problem.The food pics on the website must have been pinched from Jamie Oliver as there was certainly no cooking going on!! Questionable stains on the bed linen and lumpy beds. Decor....not sure what they are trying to achieve. Stuffed animals all over the place. Breakfast...no choice at all on the cooked breakfast. We were asked if we wanted one, then within a minute it was brought to the table. It was mediocre at best and bizarrely we were each served just half a black pudding and half a mushroom. Not sure what they do with the additional half if they have an odd number of guests. I think they purchased the purchased the sausages from the Tiny Sausage Shop! To top it off a friend left her earings in the bedroom and when she called to ask for them to be returned they're nowhere in site. Stick to a travelodge.

    The staff were pleasant enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.0
    Not memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was 2 singles pushed together with a crack down the middle.Breakfast room or I suppose the Bistro smelt of stale tobacco or beer.Breakfast was basic and not very plentiful by today's standards however I can't expect any better for the price.Newport is very short of good quality hotels next time I will be better staying in Cardiff.

    Not very much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable, staff very friendly and approachable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike!

    The room was excellent, very comfy bed, spacious bathroom and very clean. The food was delicious and plenty of choice in the bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    friendly at meal times and more than welcoming on all fronts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls on 1st floor meant other room doors would slam shut it would reverberate the whole room.

    Happy to help with specific room booking, friendly at meal times and more than welcoming on all fronts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    A great place to start our holiday after drive from Heathrow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff very friendly & helpful. Food & service excellent. Had a live musicians & singing very pleasant & pleasing vocals on Sat evening. Lots of ambiance as original building 1729 & refurbished to suit the old pub & hotel. Rooms large.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny sausages for breakfast

    Staff were very welcome and accommodating. The hotel had some beautiful features and surprisingly it was very quiet. I feel that the star ratings should be at least a 4. I’m going to book again at the end of the month.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The obese and a bit shaky will find egress from the showers a bit challenging!

    Do eat in. Food is really good. Wonderful old building nicely restored with ceramic bar fronts and plush seating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Very good value,friendly family orientated hotel which had a bistro attached. Good breakfast on offe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was stained in the room and there was some damp on the walls.

    The staff were particularly friendly and helpful and the breakfast service was very efficient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel! Friendly staff, great food, great (big) rooms, awesome old building, good facilities - a true gem. Location wasn't marvellous, but in the end, was fine (we ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel, so had no reason to leave)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Bed was fine and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little poor and not much of a range only Full English Breakfast Available. So does not cater for vegetarians or for those who do not eat pork.

    Bed was fine and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay and will definitely use again as we have relation in Newport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the outside the area and property look a little run down.Once inside The Waterloo it's a different story .It take you back in time...amazing bar with old tin advertising signs etc.The room was great and very comfortable .Breakfast was lovely and plentiful , a great start to the day. Teri who runs the establishment was very helpful and friendly. The room overlooked the Transporter Bridge...a must at £3 return for two.Luckily we managed to do it before it closes for the winter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Characterful hotel right opposite the brilliant Transporter Bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite close to the A48 Southern Distributor road so there was a certain amount of distant traffic noise in the evening and early morning, though we did sleep well. It's not really within walking distance of the town centre but a local taxi isn't too expensive.

    Lovely old building, lots of character with a great old Victorian bar. We were particularly impressed with the Transporter Bridge which was just across the road and could be seen from our bedroom. The food was very good - we ate in the restaurant in the evening and very much enjoyed the tasty breakfast. Staff were friendly and easy going.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Really nice renovated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Indie 500 going on all night up the strip, too noisy.

    Lovely bar area, very well restored back to the original features. Comfy large bed with ample room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being picky - would have preferred a room with a shower instead of bath plus hand-held wand (water went everywhere as there was no shower curtain!), and plate at breakfast was cold. Narrow entrance to car park challenging - and you need to use Google street view to even find it!

    Good food, comfortable, great ambience, and amazing Victorian decor! Loved the stained glass windows...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fault found with this hotel at all.

    Everything about this hotel was lovely, the ambience, service, comfort and location. I will certainly be using it again., and recommending it to our aquaintances. It is great value too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay at the Waterloo and bistro. 👍
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very spacious, clean and beautifully laid out. Everything was easy access and the staff made our stay a very enjoyable one.would definitely recommend, there's not much more you could ask for and when I return back to Newport I know where I will be staying.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Welcoming, friendly, lovely. Thank you
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent - friendly and accommodating, the atmosphere convivial, and the food excellent. It is often uncomfortable being a lone female traveler in an unknown location, but I would happily return to the Waterloo Hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Very warm welcome and the receptionist was very helpful,...
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome and the receptionist was very helpful, sorting taxi and showing us on a map where to go, as we had to get to the Royal Gwent Hospital. Food was excellent both evening meal and breakfast, owner was very attentive and helpful. Would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Will come back - nice staff and comfy and spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very nice and the service is really good, starting from the owners to the evening staff at the restaurant. The food is also pretty good and really nice cooked breakfast. The facilities are scarce but the room is big, clean and the bed super comfortable! Would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay. Lovely owners and helpful staff, fabulous building, great bar and excellent breakfast. The location is a little run down but don't let that put you off staying here, it's a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: