Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Weigh Inn Hotel 3 stars

Burnside, Thurso, KW14 7UG, United Kingdom

#13 of 16 hotels in Thurso

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 42 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a little cooler, but all it took to rectify was opening a window.

    Location was convenient. Staff very friendly and helpful. Pillows were SO comfortable!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly welcome from staff and a great double room with view across to Orkney made us feel comfortable after a rough ferry crossing. Bar meals tasty, reasonably priced and good value for money. Plenty of free parking and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have loved to have an ice bucket in our room so that we could enjoy a drink away from the noisy bar. We were given a glass of ice but that melted quickly.

    Lovely breakfast served quickly as we had to catch a ferry to Orkney. Great location for the ferry - maybe a 5 minute drive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I received insect bites from the bed , I did not have them on arrival. Felt like a lepper due to having a dog with us. My wife would not have stayed in that particular room if by herself. Felt threatened . Whole hotel room etc very tired and dated.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many instructions were given upon arrival, at breakfast we didnt know how to move or where to ask.

    Very big structure with plenty rooms and parking space. Good view of the sea. Good selection at breakfast which is to be ordered to the waiter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with bath/shower water temperature

    We had a really large corner bedroom with really good views. Bed really comfortable. Good food. Friendly staff. Good parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything negative

    For a little extra we got a large room with two double beds and an amazing view over to Orkney. Had an excellent meal in the bar restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything from our arrival when the receptionist couldn't even be bothered to explain where our room actually was "it'a upstairs and you'll find it", the restaurant which is actually a grubby bar frequented by locals playing pool and darts and drunk. The room which was dated and dilapidated, the list goes on...We can't offer an opinion on the breakfast as we didn't fancy eating in the grubby pub again so left. Ultimately, anyone expecting to spend a night enjoying relaxing in a 'delux' double room will be sorely disappointed. Ultimately we left very disappointed by our experience of this £124 per night hotel, although apparently this price point isn't the fault of the hotel, they need to charge so much because Booking.com charge then such extortionate commission that they need to be so much! That's what the reception explained to us when we complained on check-out!

    Very little.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last time we visited the bar was open in arrival but we were informed this time that it wasn't open til 5,after a 10 hour + journey this was a little disappointing. This is the only minus I could find and maybe changed for when we visit next time.

    Excellent breakfast,service,comfort,impressed as usual.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    80's decor and food.

    Large bedroom and views of Pentland Firth and Orkney.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    people were great

    All good but the restaurant was cold in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complained about radiators in room 205. No satisfaction it was cold

    Good food and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow service.

    Large room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is very good and the staff are lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not especially clean. Very young staff and not a very inviting eating area. Very bog standard

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Huge room,a pleasant surprise! Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of Thurso. Very dated decor. Staff not the most efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my humble opinion, a little expensive.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N complaints at all

    All very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely cook to order breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Hotel)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for catching the Scrabster ferry to Stromness. Modern hotel with good furnishing and decor. Excellent views.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    See above

    Location and room were ideal for an overnight stay. Restaurant in hotel a bit too pub-like. We chose to eat on a sister restaurant - Upper Deck - in Scrabster which was very good.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lounge to unwind or curl up on a sofa with a good book, lets the rest down.

    Nice convenient Hotel for the traveller, for the age of the building it was surprisingly clean and well maintained, big bedrooms, small bathroom but sustainable.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was great but would have been nicer served in the resteraunt rather than the public bar.

    Although the hotel was busy the room was quiet and peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WLAN much too slow and not possible to use nearly all day long, bath room has been dark, to repair the light did not work while our overnight stay, flushing the toilet did not work very well like in many hotels in UK

    Very nice view on the Thurso bay, breakfast, very easy check-in and check-out, big facilities re relaxing and living, quite big family room we get

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    First morning took 15mins to get my breakfast order taken then had to leave for work before it arrived. Stuck with cereal from then on. Bed wasn't made well - top cover just put over without smoothing out bottom sheet which was all crumpled and untucked. Wifi didn't work in my room for 2 days of the 4. Perhaps minor things but having paid £105 per night wasn't what I expected.

    Comfortable bed. Spacious room. Large tv with good reception. Good views over the bay. On site parking. Easy to find and well located for onward travel.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bar staff seemed more interested in their life rather than customers

    Comfortable spacious room

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Television went off on last day at 4pm and never came back on

    Location. View

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good, comfortable room. Food was simple, but good in the restaurant. Very handy for the ferry port to Orkney.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff meals were excellent as on my previous visits

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Squeaky bed

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No more than average breakfast

    Evening meal

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: