Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Wellington 3 stars

The Bulwark, Brecon, Brecon, LD3 7AD, United Kingdom

#16 of 19 hotels in Brecon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 844 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff was a bit poor, plus quality of coffee pretty awful

    Excellent location, John the manager was brilliant- stayed late to let us check in and then even later to serve us drinks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift or air conditioning. Staff assisted with taking luggage up the winding stairs. Unusually warm weather during our stay, so slept with window open. Weather is normally cool in this area. Stairs were not a problem for us.

    The staff was kind and helpful. This is a very old building in a country town with a charming late 19th century architecture. Views of the Brecon Beacons from some hotel windows and all about the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as above

    Expensive rooms. The place is badly run; Cider came out of a beer tap; no guest info in the room; a wait of 20 minutes for a simple cooked breakfast was inexcusible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests banging doors. Not hotel's fault but they could put slow closers on them.

    Lovely hotel, clean, comfortable, nicely decorated, excellent breakfast, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned. Wifi not working or very slow. Even tv in the restaurant was displaying 'no connection' and they did not seem to care. Some staff very friendly but many others were not. Food was very basic. Medium rare steak came very cooked.

    Not that much. Nice building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room clean with comfortable bed but rather cramped,particularly ensuite. Individually operated bedside lights would also be an improvement. Decor generally dated. Costly for a relatively basic room.

    Staff obliging and helpful. Da iawn! Everywhere seemed clean and organized. Good service at breakfast and in the bar. Vegetarian breakfast - freshly cooked and tasty. Liked the art work of local scenes on walls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no parking at the hotel and not many car parks in the town. It didn't affect us as we travelled by bus.

    Excellent location and the room was a good size and very clean. Good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very clean and comfortable, there was some road noise from the road behind, but less than you would expect from a town centre hotel. Access after hours could be difficult so if you're going out late then I would let the staff know. Good breakfast but not buffet style

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is limited but we found somewhere not too far away.

    Quick check in and considerate staff, we were made to feel welcome from arrival to departure. The food was lovely and the hotel itself is a delight - it's not a modern faceless box!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a very comfortable stay and cannot fault the friendliness and willingness to help of the staff. Both housekeeping and front of house staff were excellent and we look forward to returning in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cold water often ran more hot water than cold. There was no hook to hang towels on the back of the bathroom door. The slight gap under the bedroom door meant that we heard more noise from other guests' allowing their doors to slam closed.

    We requested a quiet room and were pleased to be located away from potential noise from the bar and restaurant. The room was clean, bright and modern with comfortable bedding. The bathroom (with shower over bath) was 'compact' but very clean. The towel heater/radiator didn't appear to work but wasn't needed as the weather was warm. The breakfasts were delicious and well prepared. We had been worried as the hotel doesn't have a car park but they had thoughtfully organised free parking with the Morrisons' store nearby which was only 5 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Visit got off to poor start when, after long journey, we could not take up our room owing to previous occupants not having vacated it (double-booking mix-up). Eventually sorted out amicably: staff tried hard. Carpet on stairs to top floor had evidently not been troubled by a vacuum cleaner for some time.

    Excellent breakfast: quality ingredients. Excellent central location. Decor maybe not pristine but not shabby like so many British hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. Tweeks to improve customer experience are under way. Extractor fan in bathroom didn’t work,we didn’t report it so obviously they wouldn’t know. Grab handles on bath we loose.same we didn’t report as we weren’t overly bothered about it.

    Location is unravelled to go exploring.Beautiful canal and riverside walks.Staff are super hard working and go the extra mile for you. Sadly booking.com did not pass on my request for 2 ground floor rooms as my mum is not steady on stairs.but staff member managed to sort it out for us. Cooked breakfastsi are great. Would like to have berries or better variety of fresh fruit available though, no pastries either. Rooms are fine,bed comfy,bathroom good size.all the usual.bit noisy being at front of hotel as there’s lots of people passing (youngsters) after night out.too hot not to have window closed too noisy to have it open. !!! Take earplugs. New manager seems keen to bring hotel up to scratch.would recommend a stay here for sure just dont expect perfection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff seemed preoccupied. The evening meal we had was skimpy and mine overcooked. Breakfast wasn't brilliant, but OK, but my partner's sausages weren't cooked enough on the second morning, so he left them. We used to come here before it was a Brains Hotel and bar, and it was well used then. We have been since Brains took over, and were a bit disappointed on this stay compared with the previous. There was a message for guests to phone the manager on his mobile if there was a fire, after phoning 999, which we thought was a bit odd. There is no parking, but we left the car in the pay for car park near the canal.

    The hotel is right in the centre of Brecon, which is ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice modern rooms the family room was very spacious with a view to the front of the property.

    The central location was excellent and building had great character and within walking distance of everything in Brecon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent hotel in the center of Beacon. Breakfasts were great and the evening meals were great as well. Fine selection of draught beers. Staff were very helpful and chatty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely hotel with lovely staff!!

    The room was very comfortable Clean the staff was very friendly Kevin couldn't do enough for us, The breakfast was very nice and plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheet in room stated breakfast 07:30-11:00, sign downstairs said 10:30 finish, was nearly turned away at 10:32.

    Clean, comfy, convenient location in centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much parking, but a couple of "disabled" spaces outside which we could use with a blue badge. Staff seemed harassed and not very welcoming. We were shown to our room like in a whirlwind. The bar was often unmanned.

    Lovely old building recently refurbished and in ideal location opposite the cathedral. Bed was very comfortable. Good breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff seem to busy to run a pub and a hotel at the same time. Unnecessary long wait to check-in and to place our breakfast order. Also the hotel does not offer any parking facilities.

    Great location and newly refurbished rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given room 2. Which is ideal for disabled guests, because it has only a wet room. This I found to be very true because when I had a shower it got VERY wet the drain was obviously blocked and water was heading out the door to the bedroom. I cut my shower short obviously. I reported this to management who didn't seem too concerned and said had reported earlier in the week????? We were disappointed we didn't get a room with a bath as on the website it states all rooms with bath.also had to ask for loo roll cos there was next to none.

    The location was good for what we needed, night at the theatre. Breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was broken and we were charge the full price until I informed them of the issue and then they did refund so money. The room was really shabby, wall marked and paper hanging off.

    The breakfast was very good with lots of options. When there was an issue it was deal with quickly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Possibly the view from my room but not that important.

    All was great, good value for money, very funny staff ( ! ) and excellent location. Well done Wellington - keep up the good work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They seemed slightly understaffed - there only seemed to be one receptionist on who was busy checking out guests; so it took a while to replenish the buffet table of things it was running low on, and to take the cooked breakfast order.

    Excellent location, clean room, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor niggles Bathroom door wouldn’t shut or lock. Double door at top of first flight of stairs bangs loudly when people open the wrong side first. Fire alarm flashes every 20 seconds

    Family room double bed, single bed & double sofa bed all made up so son pleased to have a double! Beds comfy, rooms clean, bathroom good. Breakfast delicious and plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, the room and bathroom were ready and clean although it was clear that the carpet hadn’t been hoovered as there were ‘bits’ everywhere including pieces of Easter eggs from previous guests. Didn’t ask for the room to be serviced after the first night but did on the second and third and both times the carpet still hadn’t been hoovered. The bed was made, tea/coffee etc replaced but the bathroom not cleaned either so it did feel as if the ‘cleaning’ was no more than a token gesture. Apart from that, the only other issue was having to move the car before 9am but there again, that got me going out early for my rambles..!

    The Wellington is a good hotel in the centre of Brecon town. The staff were friendly and helpful and I had a very comfortable stay there for three days. The room (N.2) was a good size, warm throughout the stay and quiet as it was at the back of the courtyard. Being on the ground floor there was no view from the small high up window but it wasn’t that important. The bathroom was huge with a wet room style shower which was excellent. On arrival and throughout the stay the staff were friendly and the food served in the restaurant was fine with a particularly plentiful full Welsh breakfast (served from 7.30am which is useful before a long day rambling). (The menu is very standard pub fare - Wetherspoons style - but what I eat stuck to their clearly ‘safe’ continuous formula and was well made.) After a day out walking I returned to the hotel after 6pm and always found free parking very close. The parking regs are “Free from 6pm to 8am after which it’s free for a one hour limit so you have to move the car before 9am. The hotel is part of the ‘Brains’ chain so the ambiance lacked the ‘Local independent’ hotel charm but the decor was pleasant and tasteful. Overall I’d recommend the hotel for a comfortable stay in Brecon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs up to the room were very steep. We had a view of the Kitchen roof with the ventilation chimney which was very noisy in the morning. At times it was a competition for noise between that & the bathroom fan! Also the room was very warm.

    The bed was comfortable & extra pillows were in the room if needed. The bathroom facilities were good. There were tea & coffee facilities with biscuits & menus listing all meals available in the hotel. There was a folder with details of things to do in & around the town. Excellent full Welsh breakfast included and it came hot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dirty (used earbud on floor!) Red hot electric towel rail burnt my child (dangerous). Meals not cooked as requested and staff inattentive. Shame as building is nice, but needs a rethink. This is the first negative review I’ve posted in 10 years!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great location for access to the the Brecon Beacons. The staff were friendly and helpful, good selection of food and drink too at reasonable prices. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location but the parking in Brecon is difficult, with the main car parks charging from 8.00 in the morning! Ended up parking on the road a few minutes walk from the hotel, no big deal but not ideal.

    Good sized room, nice and quiet. Good breakfast, more than we could eat! Evening meal was good and service was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literally the only issue was the noise at night when other guest came back from an evening out, it certainly wasn’t excessive and it wouldn’t put me off staying again. In fact we have already started looking at dates.

    The location was fantastic! The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast brilliant!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wrong from check in to check out. Cold breakfast, under trained staff and a dirty room. Definitely not my (short, blonde) hair in the bathtub.

    Brecon is a beautiful town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    although they call themselves a hotel, it actually is a pub, and you cannot get anything after 11pm which we were disappointed with. All rooms are up many stairs,.

    situated in the heart of the town, accessable to everywhere. excellent cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small for what was a king room (looking at the fire escape chart it may have been the smallest of the king rooms) and the manager's customer service was poor.

    The location was good and the welcome on arrival was lovely. The room was clean and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The male at the reception desk was surly and outlandishly rude and so was the head waitress. The second night we stayed we chose to another restaurant rather than face such rudeness again.

    The go to bedroom was excellent and so was the food. The position of the hotel was central.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 3 star hotel I thought the restaurant could of had a better choice. The nearest car park was about 1/2 a km away.

    Very friendly staff. Good comfortable room. Good location in the centre of brecon. Real ale choice and quality was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy doors in corridor, people coming+going all through the night+early in the morning.

    Plenty of choice for breakfast, beautiful building, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A.

    Overall experience was excellent. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and well presented throughout. Good sized rooms with en-suite/wet-room. Breakfast was excellent. Location couldn't be more central.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was terrible Service was poor Bar was poor Room was unclean Service poor

    Overall the stay was poor. The only bonus being it was central

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manageress: could have been friendlier! Bath water not hot enough! Gap under door a little annoying.

    Most staff(manager / bar man) very pleasant accommodating and helpful. Although the manageress could have perhaps taken a leaf from his book in my opinion! The rest of the staff were warm, friendly and efficient. The room exceeded my expectations with only a couple of flaws; ie: the gap underneath my door was quite annoying as it let the light and noise from the hall outside in, I rolled-up a blanket to use as a drought excluder; it did the trick! Also, no matter how hard I tried I could not get the hot water to run my bath, Luke warm was the best I could do and managed with this. I realise I could have rang down to reception but it was rather late and I was aware there were staff problems due to unforeseen extreme weather conditions hindering transportation! Overall I was very happy with the room and will definitely be staying there whenever I am in Brecon again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was only the standard size. The parking was annoying in that I had to move the car at 9am to avoid getting a ticket!

    Very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff. Wonderful real log burner to set next to during the cold weather! Great for morning coffee too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radiator in the room did not function. We were concerned because the night was very cold but, since the radiator on the adjacent wall in the lobby was on full, the room was not cold. I regret to say that, in the area by the bed, there was a distinct odour which I rather think was stale urine, probably in the carpet. We only stayed one night and would have been prepared to overlook these matters when writing our review, but for the incident with the fire alarm.

    The room was spacious and, in itself, quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Everything in it functioned. We ate lunch at The Wellington, and it was good pub food, which came promptly. The Wellington is well-placed in Brecon, which is a charming town, a very good base for walking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here Friday 23 February, the fire alarm went off at 3:15, all guests went to the reception area but there was no member of staff on site to take control of the situation. After about 10 minutes one of the guests phoned the fire brigade and they had no notification that the alarms were going off in the hotel - the alarm was not connected anywhere! The fire crew arrived and were very alarmed that there was no member of staff on site - and no contact number to call somebody. All the guests were kept in reception until 5 am then returned to their rooms but by then we were unable to sleep. When looking in reception for a contact number a book was found where members of staff were commenting about guests and the comments were disgusting. The following morning a young member of staff said he was sorry for the upset and that there should have been an emergency contact number! Our breakfasts were not hot but after reading the comments book we were afraid to complain.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is the only issue with this place - there is no hotel car park so you have to find a side street or use and pay for a public car park

    Very helpful and friendly staff, comfortable hotel, great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat was broken. Staff not very attentive and we had to wait at check out, in the end people behind us just left their keys so we followed suit. A very expensive room in comparison with what is available in Cardiff for similar prices. No parking.

    Close to town centre. Clean room. Warm and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to find own way to room and no offer to carry bags. Room small, noisy, no secondary glazing. Bathroom awkward. Childs meal dry and unedible. Host watching TV show, so had music and TV fighting for volume, had to sit in b'fast room.

    Sadly, nothing to recommend here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking anywhere close, had to park in a residential area 5 minute walk away from the hotel. The floor wasn’t straight in the room or the hallways, constantly walking or stood lobsided.

    Staff were very kind and helpful, food was nice and a great selection of beers at the bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really was nothing I disliked about The Wellington Hotel.

    Lovely hotel with some beautiful period features. Nice room,clean and well laid out,good size Bathroom too. Extra blankets and pillows provided too. Warm room with lovely comfy bed and soft pillows..Dinner was well presented,Steak was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was really lovely also. The Gentleman on Reception that afternoon also was our waiter that night,he was attentive and hardworking.Our Breakfast waitress was friendly and obliging. We stayed in a room across from the hotel we had to cross the pretty Courtyard Garden. There was a little noise from traffic but nothing that prevented sleep. Can't wait to make a return visit in the near future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating wasn’t on in room considering it’s winter. No extra blankets. WiFi not accessible in room. Had to walk through a courtyard and external gate just to enter main building.

    Staff were polite and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very limited. Only boxed cereal, bowl of fruit and tubs of yogurt. Coffee machine available so you could get your own coffee but you had to ask for tea. Full cooked breakfast was available on request as was toast with beans/eggs.

    Lovely room with kettle, tea/coffee, bottled water and TV (with a good range of channels). Comfy bed with extra blankets provided. Very nice clean bathroom with bath and shower over it. Wash products provided. Plenty of towels. A very comfy and warm stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is atrocious. Very inconvenient, because you would have to go out before 8am to feed the meter. This is, of course, not the fault of the hotel.The sta

    Dinner was well cooked as was breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We turned up at 21:00, staff were grea, checked in and made sure kitchen was open so we could get evening meal, great service from staff, excellent food,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking arrangements./ Item on Dinner menu 'NEVER' available/ Had to send food back / Room not made up one day.

    Excellent 'front-line' staff. /5+ Breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking! Or lack of it I should say. The nearest car park is quite a way away and if you’ve got stuff to carry it’s not easy. Parking outside the hotel - if you can get a space - is limited to an hour only. The car park itself is quite expensive although free 6pm-8am. To get free street parking you would have to go up to a mile away.

    Everything was absolutely fine - our room was cold but when reported we were instantly moved into another warmer room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No car park - had to rely on small off street parking area and only available until 9am. Quality of evening meal mixed (puds and some mains/first courses good, other a bit dry and over-cooked)

    Good location in centre of town. Comfortable warm room. Enormous, very tasty breakfast. Good value room and evening meal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    The Staff were very friendly and keen to help, the accommodation was good and clean and the location was good. The Hotel is considered to be a pub with rooms but this does not do it justice as it is a Hotel, I was pleasantly surprised.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold on first night. Heating not working. Had to go out and buy our own heater! Bathroom window didn’t close. Was minus 3 outside. Was freezing cold in room. Coffee pot at breakfast stewed.

    Comfy bed. Coffee behind bar good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hairdryer in the room but they did supply me with one from Reception.

    A great location in the center of town. The rooms were clean and comfy with a good en suite with a proper bath. Nice welcome hot drinks and waters.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather could have been better! But seriously it was all fine

    The food was stunning especially the breakfast and the room was ideal as was the location and the staff were most helpful when it came to assisting also a ideal location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking . Room was not clean at all . Carpet was not hovered from weeks . Toilet was not flushed hairs in bed . Dust every where. We booked room for 2 days . But only stayed 1 night .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of car parking at premises. Having to park in street and car parks was an inconvenience.

    Warm friendly staff / Excellent accommodation / Superb food / Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we stayed there was a party in the function room. We wanted an early night as we'd had a long day and had an early start, and weren't told about the party when we booked. You would think, no drama, these things happen but the music was so loud that in our room we couldn't hear the TV and the walls were vibrating! This went on until 12.15pm. We asked if the music could be turned down a little, someone did "ask the DJ" but there was no appreciable difference. It appears that the venue intends to make the most of the function room, which is directly below the bedrooms, suggesting that this will be a repeat issue. Therefore very disappointing and could have been avoided by informing us when we booked.

    Not ever going again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO parking, so had to get up before 8am to go and pay at a car park not close. Room had bad smell and was not clean, bath had shower but you could not run the bath via the tap you had to hold the shower head to fill the bath, property was on a main road so very noisy, breakfast was burnt and staff were not very friendly in check in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Short on staff , same guy for 2 days always seemed harassed and under pressure . One ale in here pint of Brains SA dead no lacing and dull ....off to the brilliant new wetherspoons for rest of stay. best spoons for ages solid recommendation to try welsh menu.

    Ground floor room in an annex. good sized room and 3 pillows each and sheets on the twin beds . Amazed an actual blanket in the room ! , brilliant not everyone can sleep under 13 tog quilts in centrally heated rooms. I actually bring a blanket with me everywhere I stay ,to ensure a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another private party going on with loud music until 12pm. Residents bar wouldn’t serve after 11pm. Should have told us and communicated better

    Value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Lovely clean, newly refurbished throughout. Meals were great.Staff were very efficient & friendly at such a very busy time ( Christmas Market) Also had a really nice Christmas Showcase free buffet in the evening. Lovely trip for us 3 pensioners and one other guest. Highly recommended!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room & Batthroom & staff laxity

    Not good, given a disabled room even though hotel was not busy, staff seemed confused by everything and they even slated Booking.com

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast generally good (especially cooked part) but could have been more imaginative in choice of cereals and breads. Toast should be brought after the hot food so that it can be enjoyed separately.

    The recent refurbishment made the hotel more appealing. Everything was fresh and clean. The bed was comfortable, the shower worked well. The room overlooked the main street, but was very quite at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The creaky stairs! 😊 Parking problems not the fault of the hotel - road closures because of the Xmas Fair

    After reading some imif the reviews for this hotel, was expecting something worse.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For some reason when I got up at 5:30 am to head out for the day, there was no power in the room. You can hear you neighbours in the other rooms.

    Nice staff and good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room backed on to the air-conditioning machine which was quite noisy and worked throughout the night so I had a restless night.

    Centre of town, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly young guy at reception gave us helpful information about local area. Upon finding out it was our first trip to wales bought us some welsh cakes to our room. Lovely gesture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As said above the final staircase was not easy to manage and I had to take extra care. Also parking might have been problematic if the fair had not been outside the hotel. The hotel forgot to tell me about the fair arriving. This meant that the roads were closed off. However because of the brilliant staff, I managed to find a parking bay.

    The bed was a single bed but not too small. It was comfortable. TV screen reasonably large and good reception plus wifi. The only problem with the hotel is that it has no parking attached. I was lucky in that the fair was there so I managed to find a parking spot. The room was right at the top with no lift, so at 75yrs, this was not easy. The staff though were excellent and carried my things right up to my room. I was tired and carrying the case and other property so far up a difficult stairway could have been dangerous for me. I would have liked to know in advance the location of the room. It was not cheap at £125 for two night stay for a small, but adequate room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I found unpleasant, it is exactly what you pay for.

    15-30 mins(drive) away from a selection of lovely walks, information centre 5 minute walk away from hotel for details on the walks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no mention of stairs only to bedrooms second flight of stairs was not easy when fire alarm went of at 4.30 am did cause problems and every time I had to go down and/or upstairs, they did not supply a daily paper service in the mornings which is an easy one to solve

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: