Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The West Country Inn 3 stars

Bursdon Moor, Clovelly, EX39 6HB, United Kingdom

#7 of 9 hotels in Clovelly

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 143 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    OK, but wouldn't return or recommend.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cost of the room was too high for the standard of accommodation, not value for money in my opinion. Location a little out of the way. This was a late booking and I thought I would take a chance, didn't work for me this time.

    Reasonable standard of accommodation, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Exceptional service - nothing was too difficult.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Somewhat lack of lighting in room but given historic age of establishment proprietors may be restricted in what they are permitted to do.

    Exceptional service - nothing was too difficult. Arriving somewhat late one evening and not really wanting a full meal chef made two gorgeous prawn cocktails by request. Food choices were varied and of good quality produce.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful 4 day break lovely food and staff and facilities would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of Breakfast wasnt in with price of room and also facilities were extra

    The staff were amazing always willing to make you feel comfy and help with any queries

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    The friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    to start with the staff were to busy to let us in the building. the heating was on in the bedroom and so we were boiling. The shower door was broken. False advertising about the spa. We had to wait in the bar for 20 minutes until we got a key for our room. They also couldn't find our booking reference when we got there.

    The friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    it has a relaxed nature for a place that appeared to be in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    waiting for a breakfast, which the dog enjoyed more then i did, forgetting the toast and we were banned to the pub area as dogs not allowed in breakfast area

    it has a relaxed nature for a place that appeared to be in constant chaos

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We booked this last minute and we were not disappointed. Everything about this Inn was excellent. Food, cleanliness, location, room, comfortable beds and friendly staff. I would highly recommend the Westcountry Inn for a relaxing and peaceful break. Situated between Bude and Bideford it is in an ideal location to explore the local area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    2.9
    Local rumour business for sale. If true explains disrepair and rudeness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast mediocre and overpriced, bedroom shabby, bathroom too old and unhygienic to use plus a cracked basin. The room was smelly and noisy above the kitchens. Unprofessional and challenging management.

    Leaving. Worst experience I have ever had in a hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.8
    The two members of staff that we met were friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They appered to be short staffed and were rushed off their feet. I wanted to step in and give the owner a hand. Too much unnecessary clutter which didn't reflect on the inn and showed up the lack of cleaning.

    The two members of staff that we met were friendly and welcoming especially Corey.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    3.3
    Miserable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unhappy and the facilities were often closed such as the gym and hot tub. Don't have the breakfast it was terrible. The rooms were noisy at night. People smoked outside the windows so you couldn't open them at night. Not a great place to stay sadly.

    The staff were unhappy and the facilities were often closed such as the gym and hot tub. Don't have the breakfast it was terrible. The rooms were noisy at night. People smoked outside the windows so you couldn't open them at night. Not a great place to stay sadly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Great place to stay, the family room was big and thay seved good valued tasty family foods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some parts of the building needed a bit of TLC. The hot tub was very hot!!

    Very friendly staff and good value food. The Sunday lunch was very nice and tasted homemade.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Ideal if you want a quiet time away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a shame we didnt stay for longer

    After reading previous reviews i would like to start by saying, the property was being repainted whilst we were staying there, facilities,room,staff and food was great, what more can i say.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    Basics there but sadly run down and lacking attention to detail for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's tired, lacks attention to detail, the outside looks run down and on arrival despite ringing the bell and phoning we had to wait in the car till someone turned up. It was gone 5pm.

    The lady running the pub was attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    restaurant standed food served in a traditional local pub .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    first impressions from out side are poor an wood put off passing trade . once inside a warm welcome an lovely stay

    restaurant standed food served in a traditional local pub . clean tidy well kept interior nice room an breckfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Old world charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's right on the A39 so traffic noise could be intrusive for some people. It didn't bother us though. Ample parking space around the back.

    It's a beautiful old place and will be having a new coat of paint very shortly. We loved the atmosphere and the decor and found it most comfortable. Top marks to the kitchen staff who prepared some really appetising meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    good value. great food friendly staff..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is just a dripple but again gets enough to strip the days grime away

    Food is great there. The menu presention does not really inspire to try the wonders that come from the kitchen .some colour pictures would be worthvshile

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    Not for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole building was absolutely freezing cold our room was bitterly cold . We appreciated it was an old building but... it also needed TLC everything was very old and tatty .

    the owner was really friendly food was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.3
    Adequate hotel but overpriced for facilities advertised and available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Description of property was somewhat misleading. Negligible facilities and need to update rooms. Original room allocated (R2) was dark, small and had little natural light.

    Room 6 was their largest room and pleasant. .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    4.6
    Very tried and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impression was the smell, it hasn't been either revamped or deep cleaned after the smoking ban or people are still smoking in the building. The bedding was very creased, could have done with a press. Tea at breakfast came from a machine not a tea pot also cooked breakfast was on a cold plate which with the cold room the food didn't stay warm. I also had issues with health and hygiene, breakfast was served and cooked in jeans and hooded jacket.

    I'm sorry but there was nothing that stood out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.0
    Unwelcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one there at arrival had to find someone in kitchen Food very average burger tasteless We're advised Breakfast delayed due to owners needs (school) no negotiation Left without breakfast

    Nothing really

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect Location. Lovely Staff and Food. A few improvements could turn it into a hotspot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't sleep at all well as the mattress was rather aged and had a definite roll to a trough in the middle, headboard wasn't attached to bed so every time you moved it knocked against the wall behind the bed. Lovely location, and a few little touches like sorting out the mould in the shower and fittings in the bathroom could turn it into a lovely little 5 star gem.

    Very friendly staff, well stocked bar, food looked good but didn't eat there. Breakfast was nice. Perfect location for exploring the local coastline.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.0
    A rustic inn, could do with an update, but on the whole OK for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had one evening meal, the chicken dish that I had was nice but swimming in the sauce so you couldn't put the vegetables on the plate, it would of been better to serve the mushroom sauce in a separate jug so you could serve your self and also the plates were just warm so they went quickly cold spoiling the dinner.

    The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Out of the way, but nice atmosphere and helpful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't all that comfy, and shower a bit slow, but it was about what you would expect at this type of accommodation. A bit dated, due for a bedroom revamp I think.

    We loved the staff and the homely atmosphere. Parking was great at no cost.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress on the bed was totally worn and there was no mattress topper so I could feel the springs and had a terrible nights sleep. Desperately needs to be changed.

    Food was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    It was a lovely old style hotel and the host were very friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi water wasn't clean, when the bubbles started there was scummy brown dirt sticking to the sides

    The small gym and jacuzzi was great and the food was good too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Good stop both friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not great. But the rest of the room was cute.

    Chose this property for ease of parking (compared to town locations) and with our itinerary was in a good location to end our day. The people were very friendly and made us feel welcome and almost like new friends. The morning breakfast was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff, good food, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly friendly staff, went out of their way to make our stay special, great food, amazing location and even a gym!! Next time we're passing through, even if we aren't staying, we will stop off for some food, I recommend the gammon and chocolate lumpy bumpy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Good place close to Clovelly if you have a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Still expensive for what it is. Those place in UK are usually around 90 for 3 people, which is already expensive compared to Europe. This one was 120.

    Nice place, typical English, nice room, manager is nice, friendly, speaks French, good breakfast. 15 min by car from Clovelly, one of the nicest villages on the coast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Very oldie worldie with bags of character, gorgeous 16th...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was slightly limited

    Very oldie worldie with bags of character, gorgeous 16th century building. After mentioning we were celebrating our anniversary We were upgraded to a bigger room for free of charge!!! The food/drink was great and at a reasonable price. The hot tub was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Great stop for food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that Booking .com did not have a box for pet and consequently the owner was not expecting one we were charged an extra £12 for a dog per night, despite the fact we had typed in dog friendly hotel when searching with Booking.com. Mattress on one of our beds was sloping and partner fell out!

    Food was very good and well priced. Friendly helpful staff. Quaint .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Lovely meal in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit tired and could do with refurbishment. Hostess needed more help - she was rushed off her feet.

    Lovely meal in the evening. Hostess was friendly and helpful. Room was warm as it was cold and raining

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    3.8
    Moon-base Alpha!! (No atmosphere!) I suppose if there is nothing else....... or your'e a Biker...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Awful dirty, musty, stale old mop and bucket kind of smell throughout the hotel. Even have plug in air fresheners to hide the awful smell in the rooms didn't disguise the stench. Not very inviting. Staff more interested in their mobile phones than serving customers at the bar. Sometimes waiting over half an hour to be served. Beer of atrocious quality and when brought to the attention of the staff, there was a dismissive answer of 'Its got to be alright as its a new barrel!' And no offer of a alternative to replace it, without having to pay for it. Appalling!! Cleaner had an aversion to cleaning the toilet. We don't mind cleaning up after ourselves, but not after the previous residents... No outside door key provided to allow access at any time outside of bar opening times. Very very unusual attitude to hotel ownership. If purchased in a cheapie package then its OK I suppose, but for their usual room rates of over £90.00 its way too expensive. Maybe, as he is now a resident of Cornwall, a great chance for the Gordon Ramsey Hotels Team to pay a visit!! A massive pub with no regulars.... Seems to tell another tale.... Not that we travelled with our dog this time, but a £12.00 per night charge for a dog to stay is way too expensive. And looking at the state of our room, it wasn't for extra cleaning.

    The Chef, Martin, was Brilliant. If it were not for his interjection, we would have left and found somewhere else to stay. The menu food a little 'greasy spoon' rather than restaurant and over priced, but the specials were of great quality and reasonably priced. We had a room on the main road and didn't find the traffic problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    sign posting to the hotel was clear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait an hour for dinner, fish and chips. And there were only 2 people ahead of us. Bedroom was located directly above bar area, and music and conversation was clearly heard. However, it did not go on too late.

    sign posting to the hotel was clear. The location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing was very noisy. Loads of B&Bs seem to have saniflo systems and they are incredibly noisey. Very annoying. Maybe a little expensive for what it was.

    Lovely old property. Breakfast was really good. Great location. Great room. Massive bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing l can think of is that the door closer on the connecting door outside my room didn't work, so when someone walked through it, it closed with a bang.

    Friendly welcome from the owners. Lovely view over the countryside from my window. Comfortable bed in a room with some lovely original features, and nice thick curtains. The evening meal was really good. Wouldn't hesitate to book again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.8
    NOT FOR ME AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No staff before 8:25 am. I went to their gym on both days which was good, but could not get back into the main building until someone turned up, got quite wet on one occasion. No keys or system to get around this.

    Chef was running the place and he was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    4.6
    below average
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cracked sink,shower poor, and no hot water one night. Kitchen ventilator right out side bedroom window which was noisy and smelly until approx. 21.00h when cooking stopped. Breakfast not available at the early time required (07.15). Would not stay again.

    Evening meal fine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Lovely, lovely, lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite expensive for the size of the place, considering there isn't much around the hotel. You have to drive for a while before you reach the next town.

    Cute hotel, good food and drinks. Lovely service from the owners, fantastic atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.3
    Clean and comfortable but felt it was a little over-priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great for a wedding which was 1.5miles away however no local taxi companies would charge less than £70 which were needless to say didn't go with.

    Parking was great and staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    We have stayed in much better hotels for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size and position of room. Hotel only had 3 rooms occupied but we were given a room upstairs at the far end of the hotel. Also overlooked the main road which was quite noisy throughout the night. Room quite basic, only had 3 hangers in the wardrobe.

    It was comfortable and adequate. Certainly not luxurious. Food was good not great. Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.0
    Had to ask about most of the facilities, wasn't told ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail

    Had to ask about most of the facilities, wasn't told , room 5 ,, fix the lights and the shower head holder ! Also bring the TV into the 20th century, or bring a pair of binoculars. Staff where nice, but try and put a bit of atmosphere into place .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.9
    A good solid place for an overnighter on A39
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub/ hotel is old. Realise it is difficult to keep it completely dust free and to be honest even damp in the plaster free entirely. There was both in both the rooms we took. But it was ok for the night we stayed. Oh and an ask for larger mugs in the bedroom. The coffee cups provided just do not make a cup of tea.

    Breakfast was great. Didn't eat dinner there because to be honest out of season and couldn't smell any food. staff lovely. They have a bikers Tuesday which took me back a few years to my younger days. Nice to see a group all together. Beds were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely short family break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need a little tlc. But apart from that it was lovely

    Being able to just go down stairs for a drink and a nice warm fire, staff super friendly. We had our baby and they were really accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    6.3
    Old country pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold. We were the only guests. Whole place could do with a makeover. Looks very shabby from the outside,

    Nice food and friendly staff Was nicer inside than it looks from outside the building.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Fab New year stay at the West Country Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit chilly when we arrived, but the fire was soon stoked up.

    Character of property, friendliness of staff. Breakfast was great with plenty more of everything, toast, juice etc. Sunday lunch was fab, lovely roasties and lots of veg. New Years Eve we were treated to a glass of Champagne by the owner, what a lovely traditional touch.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    8.8
    Stay here to feel special.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area is terrible for good Internet Access but there is not a lot the owners can do about that.

    Really nice old fashioned Inn, great hospitality comfortable room and super food at very reasonable prices. Great having bar with log burner, and pub games for entertainment, pool and darts.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Thank you. It was great :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. There is nothing we didn't like.

    The staff and Laura, the owner. The feel of the place. Good food and drink. How much everyone cared about our stay and the attentive service. The Halloween decorations. The bed. Our room. Parking arrangements.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    An excellent staging post on the journey west.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot think of anything as we enjoyed our night and will definitely stop here when we are next passing through the area.

    A great atmosphere with extremely friendly service. First rate food (the slow roast belly pork was to die for!). The room was very comfortable and was quiet despite looking out on the road.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    4.6
    Cheap, but don't expect anything more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from party at the bar, drunk guests in the corridors, no sound proofing to busy road outside. Could hear the world's loudest toilets from all over the building.

    Central Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    3.8
    Drive past
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was very poor,this was pointed out to the member of staff who said "Well thats a first" and walked off. On arrivital at 3.00pm place was locked, it was raining, could not get in

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    based on traditional Devon Longhouse.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that the en-suite was on the same floor level as the bedroom, also that the wash basin was not cracked in half and reconstructed with epoxy glue

    room was comfortable the staff where very friendly, meals quite acceptable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    5.8
    Ok but tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived was difficult to get in, door was opened by another visitor. Same problem when checking out had to search for a member of staff to pay our bill. Room was clean, as was bed linen although it was fairly old. Cover on bed was rather grubby although it was ok once turned back. Feel rooms need a bit of TLC.

    Hot tub was lovely and gym was small but good. Food at dinner and breakfast was excellent. Lovely old country inn feel in bar area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    3.3
    worst place in the world to stay !do not stay here .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was uncomfortable and noisy from cars on the main road only slept for a hour or two was the longest night of our lives ,the carpet felt damp as if it had been washed ,the toilet had a masserater which was very noisy as was the ones in the other rooms which we could hear ,the shower had mould all over the ceiling as did the wall in the bed room by the window,bathroom was not fully decorated with bare plaster . the front of the hotel looked shoddy .very disappointed was looking forward to staying in a 16th century coaching house hotel would not recommend this place . we left first thing in the morning i offered to pay for the one night as we had two booked but the land lady insisted we paid for both was not happy felt ripped off !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, warm, inviting, friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold on first night, otherwise fine

    Relief manager excellent, very friendly, very attentive, very clean and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Amazing short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly ! Went out of their way to accommodate us . Food was amazing bedrooms very clean and comfortable . Great parking facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    The food was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated

    The food was ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Food fantastic with ample portions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was completely rushed off their feet. Felt awkward in asking for stuff

    Dinner was absolutely fantastic - ample portions

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    The staff are amazing,, so helpful, food was great,, the gym...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are amazing,, so helpful, food was great,, the gym is really well equipped, hot to great,, clean throughout

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.9
    Glad to leave. Left at 5:00am to get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen unironed and stained. Room filthy. Turned away on arrival due to staff shortage. No food. Beer undrinkable. Bathroom filthy

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to a very busy road - a lot of traffic noise

    Staff very pleasant. Food and drink good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Excellent staff excellent food generous parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff excellent food generous parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food , nice staff, nice place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Will definetly return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant character and very accomdating of customers. Nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food good

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    K & K U.K. holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quaint little country inn, very clean and comfortable. Food was very good and staff and owner made you very welcome. Enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    As discribed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.4
    glad it was only 2 nights !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was not aware hot tub was in another building. No mirrors in room at all. need new beds

    the restaurant food was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Bed was comfortable and fantastic food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable and fantastic food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay. All needs met
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit run down in parts

    Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly Poor service Holes in towels

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    very comfortable. weather could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    good would certainly stay again food was well cooked and tasty friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    The whole experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel, brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Great ambience, as an old inn, hopefully the weather will be better next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room service could be improved with more servers, long waits for meals.

    Food was good & plentiful. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: