Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of West End Hostel 3 stars

35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, EH125AU, United Kingdom

#117 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1024 hostel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 18 bed mixed dormitory shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What this hostel is lacking is comfort and customer service. The three bed-bunks are logistically uncomfortable and they put them as close as possible in the room giving you absolutely no space. I also found it odd that you needed keycard access to the bathroom- what if you get up in the middle of the night and forget it? Your answer should be just to go ask reception but you're SOL as reception closes for the night (what happens if arrive on a red eye or night train?). Speaking of the bathroom there are only 2 toilets and three showers for two rooms of 18 beds each. For two days one of the toilets was totally out of toilet paper and every shower I used was out of soap. Interesting enough I found an adult magazine tucked in my bed from 2016 so I'm not sure if no-one has checked the bed for 2 years or someone like to travel with a stash of old mags...

    The rooms themselves were clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bunk Bed in a 12 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a hot evening and the room was stifling hot with 12 bodies in it

    Great location, and the food and drinks were very reasonably priced. Food was fresh and very tasty too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 18 bed mixed dormitory shared bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just one thing we were not very satisfied is that the height between each bed is very low. We couldn't sit straight on the bed and even hit our heads against the bars. If this hostel does something with the space between beds, it will deserve higher reviews.

    The bedroom and restroom were very clean. The staff were friendly. Very good location, near the main street

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 6 bed mixed dormitory with ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bunk beds are extremely close together and surprisingly the 9 person bedroom had more space than the 6 person. It is also a bit of a walk to the city center, which can be a bit of pain if you go out

    Checking in and out is super flexible and convenient and the staff are quite friendly and flexible. The facilities are some of the cleanest I've ever had and the showers the best I've had in a hostel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bunk Bed in a 10 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot sit on the bed, triple bunk beds are not comfortable to me. The room space are too narrow to place things.

    Staff are friendly. Great shower and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 12 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man behind the bar was very very rude. He was short and bald.

    The location of the hotel is excellent as it is a 5-10 minute walk to the city centre. I love the fact that you can use the kitchen downstairs and buy your own groceries and cook if you are not looking to spend any money eating out. I was disgusted with the shared bathroom as the hotel do not provide you with towels. They did not even refill the body and shampoo dispenser even when I told the girl that it was empty when she came to clean the room. This is a 1 out of ten. And that is being generous. Would not stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 6 bed mixed dormitory with ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of hot water on the Sunday after the marathon, just my luck.

    Easy to find, not far from the night life/shops. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 12 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being treated with hostility

    The building, and the bedrooms we're more than adequate, even quite nice. But there is something called dignity, and being treated well, and the staff here could learn, and practice s thing or two in this regard... The ethos is one of legalism, lockdown and restraint. If you place a your outside of their made up boundaries WHAM!!! Off with your foot! Case in point... Bookings.com offered a payment option to pay at check in with Paypal, which I chose. When I arrived the staff were demonstrably annoyed, and trigger ready because I mentioned that as my preferred method. Response:They don't offer that. I have to pay immediately, with an immediately ready source of payment. Later all of us who we're enjoying the quiet area for guest, street he'd up and commanded to leave, complete with threats of treatment non compliance would bring. Moments later, outside on the porch with others just outside the hotel a staff member demanded that all of us return to the inside area immediately. Ready to comply, I had my laptop, phone, and a beverage to negotiate that move with so I said "could you give me a moment" to gather everything up? Suddenly this man dissolved into a answering, threatening, angry beast of a person, sitting that I could have the police called on me, and I could be forced to leave the hotel. It read egregious and over the stop, bc and truly this was the final straw. And though other people were present I felt scared, CV and unsafe to stay at the West end hostel due to the excessively angry behavior of the staff on more than one occasion.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in a 18 bed mixed dormitory shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in a 18 people room for one night and during the night someone stole my phone from the charger (it was on my bed). The reception was closed in the morning and I needed to go to the airport so I called the hostel later and they told me that they could not do anything. They didn't even pay me back the night. The rooms and the toilet are very dirty and there are 2 toilets and 3 showers for about 30 people. They do not assign you a bed so we arrived at midnight and we needed to find two empty beds in the dark. I don't think that the room was big enough for 18 people to be legal. I called the police to report the theft and they were surprised as well about the number of people in one room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 9 bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue is that the beds are triple stack bunk beds. However, given the price, this is acceptable.

    This has to be one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. It was neat, clean, well situated and clearly well cared for. I had an extremely positive experience at this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 24 bed mixed dormitory shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower required you to hold onto the power button. However that said when reported the staff were friendly and responsive

    24 hour staff. Great during emergency stays

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 6 bed mixed dormitory with ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want towels, you have to pay extra. The negative was the size of th roo. It was too small to fit in 6 persons! We were four people in the room and we could barely walk side by side.

    It turned out to be a good choice for only one night. It's close to city centre to go on foot. We stayed in a room with six beds and a private bathroom. The bathroom was renovated and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 9 bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The space between the beds is very small, so you can easily hit your head. The wifi was not working in the night.

    It's a very nice hostel, I loved the design! it looks more like a hotel to be honest. there are little lockers in the room to place the valuables. Kitchen is ok and the bar is super nice. Each bed has its own light and power socket, included USB for charging the phone without needing an adapter!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 24 bed mixed dormitory shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities hadn’t been cleaned completely but this was due to guests rather than the venue not being equipped properly.

    The staff were amazing. Totally friendly and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 24 bed mixed dormitory shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food of the bar is not that good

    Everything... the manager is great and let me watch Juventus' game in the bar. The waitress that works in the evening is hot. The location is nice as well and the place looks clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 12 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was bad on the second floor. there was a problem with my booking, so i couldn't get into my room one evening, staff helped quickly though.

    The kitchen had everything i needed and everything was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 18 bed mixed dormitory shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good. Just confused in the beginning since there is no real reception, only the bar but it was all great!

    very friendly staff, very clean rooms and bathroom, good blankets and a safe to keep your things inside. Adapter available at the reception/bar. Breakfast very cheap (2 pounds = bread, butter, jam, milk, musli, orange juice, coffee)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Bed in a 10 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basement kitchen and dining area is SO dirty. Of course everyone should clean after themselves and many of the people do. But a lot do not do that. And random people should’t clean the kitchen floor.... So the kitchen was horrible, so if you are cleaning freak consider that there is no kitchen in this hostel, so you will have to use bar. Also the chilling zone/dining area near the kitchen is dirty as well and cold as hell.

    The room was clean and cozy, the location was walking distance from the city centre. There is a bar that serves food and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 12 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my first time in three tier bunk beds and I don’t like it much. I do a lot I of hostel travel and the top was too high for me and almost impossible to make the bed properly. The middle bunk, which I was in, is tiny and feels like a hutch or a coffin. The room was exceedingly hot and uncomfortable. The bathroom light was on all night and there is no door to the main bathroom area. The kitchen area was cold and nowhere comfy to eat your food. The computer was okay but the mouse didn’t work so almost impossible to use. Could do with a hangout area other than the bar.

    The location and the bar area was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 6 bed mixed dormitory with ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The three bunk bed thing is really uncomfortable, not to mention dangerous

    Staff was really friendly and welcoming, havent experienced that before! The shower was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in a 9 bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and particularly the bathroom were a bit cold.

    The receptionist was extremely helpful! The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet but we were lucky enough to have only one more person in a 9 bed room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in a 9 bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have never seen three beds placed in a row. So if you are closer to the floor it can be very uncomfortable; nobody is going to help you with your luggage and sometimes the badge to open the door does not work (be patient..seems normal).

    The bar at the reception is very cozy, perfect area to rest or drink something; even thought the hostel is not close to the center of the city, it is placed in a nice and calm area. I think is a bit expensive for what it is but it is the worst experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 9 bed mixed dormitory with ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not a real reception so you have to go to the bar and the breakfast need to have more options, you have to pay 2 pounds but the options are just a few and . not very atractive.

    the staff was very nice and the facilities are very beautiful and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 12 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fact that it's newly refurbished makes everything looks new, cleaner, and looked after. The bar/reception area is nice, spacious, and well day-lit , it's nice to work in there as it was all rainy and wet the day i was in Edinburgh. There were sufficient facilities such as lockers, hairdryers/straightener, ec inside the room that i find really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in a 6 bed mixed dormitory with ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed sheets were dirty and had hair all over them when we arrived. Also, the kitchen had several signs warning travelers to clean up after themselves, however the entire area was a mess. The 6 person room we used barely had enough room for everyone’s bags.

    Staff were lovely and the location wasn’t too bad (about 30 minute walk to the castle and Royal Mile)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 10 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator! travelling with luggage is a hassle to go up and down especially when is kind a heavy.

    Great location. Walking distance to tram/bus/train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 12 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were triple-deck beds, so the vertical space was small. There was a bar on the ground floor, so it was noisy on Friday and Saturday night because you can listen to live music there on those night.

    There was a toilet and a shower room in a dormitory room. You can rent a towel for 1 Pound.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in a 9 bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a 20 minutes walk distance from the centre and for 30 from the main attraction

    The room was very clean and it was very comfortable. Staff was very helpfully and ready to recommend you places if you ask

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 12 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is cheap but not amazing - cereal and toast, that's it. You can do better, guys! And the automatic light at bathrooms are not good, once you'll be in a total dark after some minutes showering.

    The spaces are clean and organized, and very well decorated.The location is good - not city center, but you can walk that easily. I paid a very fair price!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in a 10 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding could be a little cleaner, but that's being fussy. Nothing much to complain about really!

    Great rooms which were bright and nice to stay in. All beds have individual plugs and a light which is great and lockers in the room. Kitchen facilities are great and the bar downstairs is a cool idea. Location is great only 10 mins from Haymarket station and an easy walk into the castle etc. It's also close the the Leith of you fancy a walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 10 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay extra for a towel.

    Staff are super friendly. Very friendly Australian girl at check in, super helpful. I loved that there is a kitchen to cook your breakfast/dinner if you want.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 10 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 floor walk up, be prepared if you have heavy luggage

    Really cool location, old converted house! Rooms were clean and modern, each bed has its own light and charging station. Sink, toilet and shower were all in their own room, perfect for a room with 10 girls.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 6 bed mixed dormitory with ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I order a 6 bed rooms but they give me 9 bed, after I tell them, they said the 6 is too small but if I want to change I can. The thing is that you should tell me about it at first time, not until I ask about it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in a 10 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a tad cramped because of the amount of bunkbeds in it, but it was only a minor inconvenience.

    The location was great, with easy access to bus stops to go into the city center. It also wasn’t a problem to walk into the city center—roughly 30 minutes or less. When we didn’t want to go into the center, there were still a number of nice restaurants and pubs a few blocks from the hostel. The room was clean, and the bathroom facilities were very nice and well maintained. The staff was kind enough to let us leave our luggage in storage when we arrived too early to check in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in a 12 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet can be poor in the rooms but works fine on the bar / kitchen area.

    Staff is amazing!!! They are very helpful and friendly. By far the best hostel staff I have even seen. Thank u all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 9 bed mixed dormitory with ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent place all round cant fault it would highly recommend this hotel/hostel very good value for money food was v good and much appreciated 20% discount on food and drinks will certainly come again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 9 bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the room was full it would have been very hot and very squashed as with the triple bunks there is no space for anything underneath. Also th lights never go out properly in the bathroom meaning the room was a little bright when trying to get to sleep. Also it’s hard to get into the middle bunk gracefully as there’s not much room but sure that’s not a real issue I feel you’re careful.

    I stayed next in a 9 person dorm, there was only 3 of us in there which was great and meant there was a lot of space and never a long wait for the bathroom, beds were very comfy too. Own charging points and night light were useful and the shower was especially powerful and always very hot! Staff were all very lovely and friendly and the bar was very nice to relax in during my free evenings. It’s a great location, about 25 minute walk into the centre and a 8 minute walk to a train station Which goes everywhere which was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in a 10 bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one toilet and one shower for potentially ten women -but I was OK as there were only four of us. The room was on the third floor, and the second floor was being renovated. But how can you complain when it is cheap, clean and comfortable? And pretty central.

    It was quiet, and only four peoplle in a ten-bed room, socket beside the bed, secure locker inside the room for valuables, clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was not very clean and mixed dorm beds where not comfortable no charging sockets

    Stayed at West End hotel for couple days for work due to early shift needed something so close to city centre. First booking was a mixed dorm which was okay however the beds where not very comfortable felt a bit uncomfortable the next morning request if I was able to transfer to female dorm the manager was very helpful he did explained they will be an extra charge however he was kind enough to made the changes free very helpful. I must say the female dorm is excellent usb charging sockets next to your bed really nice en-suit Morden bathroom nice cosy room it will be excellent for group booking with the girls if you looking somewhere reasonable to stay close to town if you staying in Edinburgh will definitely book again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 6 bed mixed dormitory with ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This room has been completely refurbished with bed level lighting, usb charging points, non squeaky bunks and, wait for it..., new mattresses. Throw in an equally spruced up en-suite bathroom and the place to myself for 4 nights and a great view - it was bliss!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bunk beds were pretty noisy and squeeky.

    Welcoming helpful and friendly staff and a very clean well kept place. The location is excellent with many shops and restaurants close by and its only a short walk to Princes street. The kitchen well well equipped and they served a good breakfast deal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds squeaks with every movement and if your sleep is not very deep you hear the sound of your bed and the beds of others. Really annoying.

    The hostel is in nice old building

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms could do with upgrading, but they're clean and there's great hot water.

    I liked that the bunk beds weren't all cramped in together without room to swing a cat, far less pack and unpack a suitcase! Really looking forward to the new mattresses (pictured) being put on.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaking tap in the bathroom meant floor was wet and couldn't be avoided and beds were very creaky. Location is a little off the beaten track, but only 10 min walk from Haymarket. Stay would have been fine except for other very noisy guests in communal room, but that's hardly the hotels fault!

    Stayed here as needed a very short term stay before an early flight, it was well enough located for airlink bus and was very cheap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 6 bed mixed dormitory with ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to thanks for the hotel because I made a mistake in my booking and they are so nice and polite with me . I really recommend this hotel, the location is perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was noisy with the music downstairs in the restaurant. The sheets were very thin and the room smelled a bit (of feet). You have to exit your room to get to the toilets and use your room key to get back into the room. Overall, didn't get a very good night's sleep.

    Location was very good and they had no problem with me checking out really early for my flight.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in a 9 bed mixed dormitory with ensuite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Easy access to the building, anyone can walk in, and they did, we had 2 people sharing a single bed in our 9 bed dorm. On questioning the staff how they account for the people staying there, answer was mmmmmm (not sure). No control of people entering or leaving. Secondly, they have live music every Fri/Sat and believe me there is nothing worse than being in a party hostel with people shouting, entering and leaving the rooms at 5am drunk, shagging and being complete idiots.

    I liked that the rooms were modern and very stylish easy access to the building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bunk beds do make a lot of noise and there could do with being more plugs. The continental breakfast is a great price but it would have been even better had fruit been available - that's a nitpick though rather than criticism.

    Wonderfully friendly staff and a very pleasant environment. The room was very spacious and any criticisms I might have I believe that they're tackling with the refurbishment. Good bed linen and clean bathroom. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is a bit filthy and difficult to use (no place to put toiletries). The kitchen is not 24-hour open which makes it difficult to grab som water at night.

    The location is great - 10 mins walking from Haymarket. The hotel itself has a bar which looks nice and cosy. Good place to hang out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everyone was friendly, and professional, and any queries were answered and dealt with immediately. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were comfortable, and the rooms were warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no soap in the dispenser in any of the showers. The sanitary boxes were over flowing for 2 days. Toilet roll was not replenished for the duration of my stay in one toilet.

    The bar has a good atmosphere. Good value for money in the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 18 bed co-ed room was overfilled (had extra beds on the ground in addition to 9 bunk beds), and was not well ventilated. Loud people, but that isn’t the hotel’s fault. However, for the price, we were not expecting much else. The bathrooms, on the other hand, were a little more disastrous. Our bathroom’s window was cemented open, and the freezing Scottish air was NOT fun right after a shower. The hand dryer also did not work, which was annoying. However, it was nice that they had a second bathroom for women on the ground floor that also had hair dryers for if you wanted to get ready in a place with heating.

    The staff was AMAZING. Best part of the hotel. Downstairs bathroom was great! Loved having the hair dryers. Beds were okay, not great but not horrible.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I like everything but there is one thing. Light. In the bathroom light goes off after 10,15 min and to have light again you need to go out of shower room so sensor, which is outside, can sense you are still there in the middle of shower naked out into room with guys. So thats really not right. So this could be changed and sensor should be installed in shower room. However I understand the purpose as if room has 12 guests, one would get in and enjoy half a day and rest could never see any shower just toilet. oh well, but its lovely place so I forgive it. Just take smartphone torch and you'll be good and shower half a day. Or tealight.

    Surprisingly lovely place. Quiet, comfortable, very elegant. I love this little garden in the back of the property. Boutique hotel rather than just hostel. I am very pleased I have found this place. And location is just great. National Galleries are just around the corner,where I assist, I can see one from my window☺

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were extremely uncomfortable. All of them creaked at night and it was terrible to have to sleep through more than 18 beds creaking at different intervals in the night. It was also very chilly in the room.

    I really liked the fact that we didn't have a curfew or didn't have to pay more for a late access. Reception was really helpful and kind about answering all our questions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think the bed is clean...I can feel the itchiness when I lay in the bed on my first day. Because I’m quite sensitive about hygiene, but anyway, then second day seems better. And furthermore, I cannot understand why there ain’t any electric port beside the bed! I know it’s for safety reasons. But still, I cannot understand why. It’s really not okay. Not convenient at all.

    Nearby to the Haymarket station. And it took only a 20 minutes walk to the city center. I love the location, very convenient for me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Hotel very central - convenient for most locations in Edinburgh. Staff friendly and helpful. Good value for central Edinburgh - cost of overnight stay, breakfast very cheap. Toilet and shower facilities OK - dining area clean. Breakfast very good value at £GB 2.00 for coffee, cereal and toast. I enjoyed meeting the other guests in our small dormitory - all younger than me and great to chat with.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only 1 toilet and 3 showers on one floor, and it is for mixed gender. Also, the sockets are not next to the beds. It might be a bit hard to charge your mobile at night.

    The bed is comfortable and the duvet is warm enough! The staff is kind and helpful! There's live music at night in the bar inside the hostel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some staff are not ok.and they don't monitor the visitors that are already check in or indide the room.like what happened to me,my bags are in my bed and some stuff and then when i come back to my room after my whole day stay outside.i saw someone sleeping in my bed already which makes me disappointed and annoyed..

    accessible & affordable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, there's no lift. So if you end up to sleep on the 4th floor...it's a good exercise 😂.

    It was clean. There is a shared bathroom in the girls dorm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are not many good restaurants in the area, that is very quiet and residencial. You need to walk at least about 10 - 15min to get to the main road and commercial places. Walking up the stairs carrying a bag was a huge pain in the ass.

    They upgraded us to a bigger bedroom with no extra charge. The room was confortable and had everything we needed. We had an private bedroom, but it looked to be a good place to stay at a dorm as well, since it was clean, in the downstairs bedroom and common areas. Location was perfect, walking distance from the train station (haymarket) and main touristic attractions of Edinburgh. We did almost everything on foot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better selection of hot drinks needed in room and no complimentary toiletries offered, and shower cubicle needed clean up from mould on sealant and grout between tiles. Also, guests fridge store facility in basement was crammed with mixed rubbish and needed a good clear out.

    Good service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were squeaky and hard to find accessible plug-ins for a computer, had to go down to the bar or guest hangout room in the basement.

    The staff was friendly, location was excellent! The hostel was also very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The constantly banging off the toilet door on first floor near the dorms all through the night had no sleep ,,the bed was two singles pushed together and you could feel the springs off the mattress,the shower was ok but not very clean no blind on shower room window so any on outside can see strait in ,,room very small ,,overview is rubbish total rubbish will not use again and will not use booking.com again if this is there standard off hotel

    Nothing realy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single beds are maybe to narrow... Or maybe I'm too big... :)

    Our rooms was nice and clean. Despite the fact that this palce is in general a hostel, it wasn't crowded or noisy. The breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the attitude of the member of staff who was not very friendly. The place was like a Halls of Residence with lots of drunk, young people from all over the world, banging doors, shouting, kissing (outside my door), taking selfies (outside my door), playing music into the early hours of the morning. That is not a hotel to me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had too many people, it had a bad smell and the sheets were stinky as well.. When I woke up I was feeling so dirty... the staff was ok but the breakfast was so poor ... I paid 2 pounds but it should be free..

    The location and the bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom can do with a bit of cleaning, bed made too much noise at a slightest movement.key only function till 11pm.

    There are shops nearby. Tram to airport as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no wall sockets to charge your phone, only a series of mini lockers in one corner of room and half of the sockets didn't work. It was really inconvenient and I had to charge my phone in the bathroom area, but it was very cheap so can't complain too much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds have squeaky springs and an alarm kept going off during the night. Not sure if anything could be done about the alarm.

    The people that work there are amazing. Located in an excellent part of town. The facilities are excellent and rooms cosy. Everything one could need was provided. Probably one of the best hostels ever!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many bunks in dorms,very noisy after hours,no respect for other's sleeping.Only one sharing bathroom on each floor for 36 patrons!!This is rubbish. The bunk beds need replaced,mattresses done and beds frames squeak on slight movement for all beds!!Internet was poor and does not work in certain area's of the property.Owners plan to increase the bed capacity, I hope they increase the bathrooms and shower facilities. Could provide a free buffet breakfast.

    Nice location easy for transport links.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little far away from the city center. The room is near the street, with very light street light and noise, not very good for sleep. The washing room and toilet is very small.

    The room is clean and tidy. There are very helpful staffs and cheap breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    less stairs would have been nice pity they can't install a lift then it would have been outstanding

    the fact you could get a cooked breakfast, evening meal if you wanted

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Group
    • Bed in 12 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rules regarding breakfast wasn`t clear on stage of reservation making. I was disappointed when staff informed me that there is no way to change decision on place and order full version of meal. Terrible cold on corridors in the evening.

    Hotel is located in quiet neigborhood. Friendly service. Clean rooms. Good place to stay for a short term to discover Edinburgh :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom very very very small. We arrived at one o 'clock The girl who did the check in was totally uninterested en said over her shoulder that check in was after two o'clock.

    It was clean. Location OK.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 18 Bed Mixed Dormitory Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was quite bad and sagged in the middle, although that may have only been my bed.

    Staff were polite and facilities were relatively clean. There were hairdryers and straighteners provided which was a nice surprise! And breakfast for an extra two pounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse West End Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: