Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Westbourne Bed & Breakfast This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 2JR, United Kingdom

#11 of 39 B&Bs and inns in Bowness-on-Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 618 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room, clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very friendly welcome, good location within walking distance of the lake, on-site car parking. Lovely breakfast, served with a smile! Quiet residential location away from the hustle and bustle. Room far better than any chain hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the bedroom and ensuite. Paid for an upgrade to a large double bedroom,but very disappointed with the size of the room. Not value for money

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent b&b very clean, very helpful staff, good quality breakfast 🍳, well situated for the town centre. Would happily stay again. Would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    comfortable, clean, and top marks for staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    would have liked more variation for breakfast although they were very accommodating when we asked for something not on breakfast list. We are used to staying in a more expensive hotel with a wide variation of breakfast but didnt stay this year as price was just too expensive, First year in a B&B so all in all good value for money

    comfortable large room with settee and table with large bed. Plenty of room to move around. Good hospitality tray with varied drinks and biscuits.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.5
    Great location, friendly hosts, good breakfast, clen and tidy but fan would be great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was stifling hot with no fan. It mentioned that you could obtain a fan at reception but after 7.30 reception is closed and you obtain a key from the key safe. I would have expected a fan to be put in the room whilst it was hot ready for our arrival. Also would prefer to have the hosts there to greet us. We had to have the room windows open due to the heat and were disturbed by guests outside the hotel opposite shouting, laughing, playing a guitar. My husband had to get dressed at 12.30pm to go and ask them to be quiet! We mentioned this to reception on checking out.

    Good breakfast and location close to Bowness shops restaurants and bars. Free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is amazing, room 9 loved it. Love the fact we had our own little anex like room that isn't in the main building. Fantastic rooms, breakfast was quick and cooked well, lots of choice. This place is a gem and very reasonably priced. Will be back and definitely recommend. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely stay in this lovely hotel in the stunning Lake District again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was narrow and, therefore, tight for space. I wouldn't recommend the small room I had for more than 1 adult.

    I had a small bedroom, as per my booking, and it was very clean and cosy with a comfortable bed. The bathroom had very good facilities with an excellent shower and was also very clean. The breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty and the staff were courteous and friendly. There was no bar, however, there was a small lounge area with some drinks available, payment via an honesty tin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    8.8
    Would happily stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff. Clean room. Ours was a little small but was not a problem to us. Excellent cooked breakfast and very convenient location with good parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    5.8
    We had room No.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had room No.2. We knew it was a small double but the en-suite facilities were disappointing. The wash basin was approx 6x9 inch with a overhanging shelf about 9 inches above the basin making hand washing or shaving impossible. Had to be seen to be believed. We also found empty crisp packets behind one of the bedside tables. It was a pity as the staff and breakfasts were very good and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    A lovely place, very clean, lovely breakfast, comfy bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all

    A lovely place, very clean, lovely breakfast, comfy bed, staff wonderful and was very close to the town facilities, pubs, restaurants etc. will definitely return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    6.3
    the bathroom is very small, the sink is impossible to wash...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    except for the bathroom it was nice.

    the bathroom is very small, the sink is impossible to wash in , if you want to brush your teeth you have to spit in the loo because the shelf above the sink is in the way to learn over the sink, it would have been nice to have a menu instead of the waitress having to repeat to every table what was available for breakfast, but breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    fantastic always is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothink everthink is always perfect

    absoulutley my favourite hotel wouldnt stay anywere else location is fab rooms are perfect the cottage suit is faboulous we had room 1 this time that was great to lovely view breakfast is perfect nothink a trouble to them

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Lovely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    We stayed in the Cottage and loved the fact that we were separate from the rest of the B&B. I loved the living quarters upstairs and the fantastic bathroom with the jacuzzi bath and the powerful shower. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.5
    Nice breakfast quiet location and car parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were staying three nights and the room didn't have a wardrobe considering that we payed over £100 per night

    Nice breakfast quiet location and car parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just one thing that could be improved. The shower.....low water pressure and a leak in the shower hose that didn’t help. Other than this all pretty much perfect.

    Everything....Room, staff, location all brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Good relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower not powerful enough. Possibly water pressure problem.

    Full English breakfast excellent. Plenty of tea and toast if required.Staff very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Fabulous B & B in a beautiful location. Customer service exemplary and effortless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a thing!

    Everything was well thought out, well presented and fabulous customer service seemed effortless. Near enough to town to enjoy the facilities, but far enough out to enjoy the tranquility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.8
    Great location in Bowness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not find a plug I near a mirror to use a blow dryer and curling iron. The room was very warm.

    Great location in Bowness. Very nice host, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend break away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a small double, the room was clean with all the amenities that you'd need. The bathroom was too small though you couldn't really use the sink as it was that tiny.

    Very helpful and friendly owners. Would highly recommend. Very good breakfast. Situated in a great location with private car park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Loved our stay, will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If I had to pick anything - Dining room was a little cramped in the morning, but wouldn’t let that put anyone off!

    Great location, so easy to walk into the town/lake

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    chilled time and fabulous hosts at the Westbourne, we will difintley return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    We stayed in the cottage suite which exceeded out expectations, detached from main house but just around back. Sleeps up to 3 , modern refurb , high standard. Double downstairs with tv and sofa bed lounge area upstairs with tv. Owners very helpful and trust worthy with honesty bars through the property. Breakfast was no problem, you can have any type , full, bacon or sausage sandwiches, scrambles, fried , poached eggs, any amount of tea and toast, cant praise enough. Very central to Bowness main street about 10 min strolle, loads to do. We will be back soon and thanks again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Excellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The B.B. was very nice the people who run it were great.the B.B. is a short walk from center of bowness .the B.B. is in a very quiet area and at night there was no road noise,had very peacefull nights sleep.excellant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    10
    A nights stay and two full days away felt like a proper holiday! Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -A friendly and warm welcome -Beautifully decorated room and facilities -Amazing breakfast -Super comfy bed -Staff above and beyond offering help and advice -Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful staff and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not possible to switch on heating in the room as it’s on a timer. Replacement of bathroom toiletries and towels could be improved.

    Beautiful room and very clean. Well located to the lakes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place, charming, clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very comfortable bed, spotless clean room and bathroom, very nice staff (left keys and instructions in a key safe as we arrived late for check in; then kept a parcel for 4 days while we were hiking in the countryside so that we did not have to carry it all the way long - that was much appreciated!), and tasty breakfast. Excellent value for money overall and I would definitely return again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.3
    We were there for 2 nights to attend a wedding and this hotel was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was small, partly due to the fact that beds have got bigger these days, and finding room for suitcases, cushions from the bed etc. was difficult. Wardrobe very small and shower room tiny.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Bed very comfortable and we slept well. Excellent breakfast. A lovely sitting room downstairs with a welcoming fire, mini bar and extra tea and coffee if needed. Fresh milk on request. Although close to Bowness centre it is in a quiet situation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    10
    A fantastic stay in this small but beautifully formed self contained cottage in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cottage was very modern and finished to an extremely high standard. The jacuzzi bath was amazing and everything was immaculately clean. Brrakgast was delicious and plentiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfy. The room was a little on the small side but, as we were out all day, it didn't matter. The bathroom was compact. The public lounge was superb and the breakfasts were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower great but bathroom small but very clean - large towels

    Lovely room and views - 5 minutes to good restaurants and shops - near to great hillside views over Windermere and mountains

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    10
    Lovely cosy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    We’ve stayed in quite a few b&b’s in bowness and this is our favourite. Really lovely property warm and welcoming. Can never normally sleep in strange beds but the bed the pillows and the mattress was extremely comfy had a great sleep. Breakfast was lovely to couldn’t fault it. The honesty bar was a really nice and handy touch even just to get extra milk portions. Good location down to restaurants and shops and a lovely walk up the hill to the viewing point. Will definitely go back hopefully in the summer .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    Would recommend the Westbourne & will not hesitate to return again, most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike - Everything was great.

    Great location, rooms to good quality standard, free parking, great breakfast & the owners were fantastic - happy to advise on what to do & nothing to much for them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    8.3
    For a one night stay this is excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found the memory foam mattress a little hard and the bathroom although well fitted out was extremely small.

    Spotlessly clean hotel, room had lovely big windows so felt light and airy and had a partial lake view, There was a.beautiful guest lounge with sun room and honesty bar. The breakfast room was well laid out with a good choice on the buffet and menu. It was in a very good location for the town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff, accommodation and location close to all amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    The whole experience, both staff and accommodation were excellent and myself and my two daughters (over18) had a wonderful stay and will definitely return in the future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    9.6
    The bed was so comfortable, the staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were small

    The bed was so comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was very convenient to walk into the town. Breakfast was delicious. Amazing value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    10
    You won't be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We spent three nights at the Westbourne after the Christmas hols and was more than delighted. Great value for the price. The room was large with a nice en-suite and a very comfy bed. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent. You also get free parking. The B&B is tucked away in a great location just off the main street at the top of Bowness.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    10
    Cosy Cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check out time was quite early.

    Spacious cottage. Facilities excellent. Peaceful location. Jacuzzi bath. Upstairs lounge area. Comfortable size for 2 people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Lovely guesthouse close to restaurants and shops with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely guesthouse close to restaurants and shops with parking. Our room was perfect and spacious, the guesthouse has a gorgeous lounge to relax in after a long walk with honesty bar, books and games. Breakfast was delicious, we would definitely recommend and will be back, thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    Accommodating friendly and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Faultless.Very impressed

    Comprehensive high standards be it cleanliness food parking or bed moreover how very nice and trusting the owners are ...highly recommend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely warm cosy clean bedroom and lovely lounge room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely warm cosy clean bedroom and lovely lounge room and courtesy bar for nightcap😃 and finally great cooked breakfast served with a smile would recommend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, had a lovely 2 days, nothing not to like about our stay st The Westbourne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lost wifi signal, several times, but quickly reconnected. Could have just done with one more socket closer to the mirror, so I could see in the mirror when drying my hair.

    Cleanliness, comfy bed, welcome tray of drinks and biscuits, lovely breakfast, our hosts were helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    10
    My stay was amazing fab i loved every minute of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing amazing amazing . Rooms were fab and spotless . Breakfast was fab staff was lovely car park amazing couldnt of chose a better hotel . Will be booking again very soon

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    Absolutely first class accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing ,for us everything was just perfect

    Lovely clean room, proprioters very helpful with information and maps for our walks, and other activities for us. Outstanding breakfast in a morning with a menu to suit all tastes,absolutely first class accommodation , very highly recommended

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    10
    cosy, friendly, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking area was a bit small and if you aren't a great driver (like me, I'm rubbish) you end up parking on the road, as it is a narrow tricky space to navigate - when there is one free - but the road is quiet and wasn't an issue to park on please note the hotel is up a very steep hill, may be tricky for elderly and disabled

    Breakfast was beautiful, wide range of options with cereals and juices available. There is a mini bar in the main lounge with an 'honesty' policy, there is also a conservatory you can relax in. Bedrooms are lovely and warm, with very very comfortable beds, the beds do not have footrests either. Bathrooms are clean and modern, showers are nice and hot, Flat screen tv on the wall & towels provided. Absolutely amazing hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect for our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in the Cottage and didn't want to leave, it was gorgeous and the location was perfect. Will definitely be going back. The staff and the food were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    9.6
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It could be better if the bend and duvet sheets are softer.

    Good place to live. Make you feel like to live at home. The decorations of the whole house and room make you feel relax and free. Not on but near the main road, quiet to live. The breakfast is amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    10
    This was our first time visiting and we where very impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the small sink in the bathroom, the shelf they had over the top of the sink, was too low down, this made it that I could not get a proper wash or shave. remove the shelve would resolve it

    The Bed was very comfortable, nice room, Breakfast was really nice, staff very friendly, very clean and tidy. would have given all 10 marks, if it had not been for the sink in the bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness.the raiator was next to the toilet and it had urine on it. The room was very dusty. The bed was comfy.and the bed linen clean. It was in general need of a good clean.

    Location. Parking. Breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable Bed, and decent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I made a mistake and booked two rooms was informed when paying that I had double booked and had to pay fully for both rooms. This was harsh seeing as we didn't have two breakfasts or use the second room, a little off the full price would have been appreciated. En-suite was so small no room to get dressed, sink tiny not able to brush teeth in it had to spit into toilet. Grout in shower was stained and small black mould marks in corners. Dining room overcrowded too many people in small room opened door almost bumped into another customers chair and in the way when getting cereal of waitress as everything so tight.

    Comfortable Bed, and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    10
    Charming and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff and a lovely room. Bed was very comfortable and nice selection of tea, coffee & hot chocolate. The book in the room which listed the restaurants and bars in the village was a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    Excellent bed and breakfast. Good value, nice breakfast, clean, tidy and ideally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor issue was the Wi-Fi. It was limited in the room but if near the modem it was OK.

    This bed and breakfast is a real gem. The owners / staff are really friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and tidy and the bed comfy. The location is just 5 minutes’ walk to Lake Windermere water’s edge. There are pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. I would definitely use this accommodation again if in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect! We will be back.
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little bit far away from the centre then I had expected.

    The bed was amazing! So big and comfy! I didn't want to get out of it in the morning!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    Clean room, hot showers, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Clean room, hot showers, excellent breakfast....owners friendly and attentive. Just enough outside of the city centre to avoid the noise but close enough to walk too. Loads of cafes, restaurants, gift shops and plenty to do.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    6.7
    It's ok if you just want a bed near the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is extremely small that we can't even fully open my suitcase. The bathroom is ridiculously small too.

    It's located very near the lake and the environment is nice and quiet. There are plenty of on-site parking spaces as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    10
    Warm, welcoming and perfect position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was amazing, piping hot, excellent produce and well cooked. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly, service attentive service. Very knowledgeable about the area giving great advice on suitable walks which allowed us to get off the beaten track.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    10
    Excellent all round and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Rooms were clean, bright and very comfortable. Well equipped with a decent TV for a change. Pleasant owners and staff. Great choice of breakfast and lovely dining room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    10
    A most pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From the moment we arrived, we received first class service . The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We went on our way after a lovely well cooked and presented breakfast. We are certainly planning to stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    7.9
    An enjoyable stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were very cold as the heating wasn't on. We had to request it to be turned on as the temperature kept one of our friends up at night. The bathroom was quite small and difficult to move around in. We weren't given information such as wifi password on arrival (we did see this on a sign the day after).

    The breakfast was lovely. We were able to check in early and staff were helpful in informing us how to access our key and room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    10
    We had a very enjoyable night's stay and would happily use this accommodation again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a lovely guest house in a great location for all village amenities. The room was cosy and well equipped. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good car parking was available and easy to use.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and we’ll definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 2 owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and well presented. The lounge area was very quaint and welcoming. Location-wise it was perfect and not far from the pubs/restaurants of Bowness.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    9.2
    A lovely bed and breakfast in a beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi was terrible and constantly cut out. The bedroom and bathroom was quite small but this did not impact on our stay.

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff and clean rooms. The breakfast was great. It is in a lovely location, close to shops, restaurants and Lake Windermere. All were within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    7.5
    friendly staff, good breakfast, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very structured breakfast routine- food good, but could be more relaxed-i.e- use the spacious lounge for breakfast aswell as dining room

    Easy access to town and restaurants. Friendly yet unobtrusive staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Excellent would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car parking spaces very tight watched another guest having to get in passenger side.

    Lovely comfy beds, nice size room and en-suite and all really clean and fresh. Breakfast excellent 😊👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    10
    Comfortable friendly clean and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one thing, the bedroom wasn’t warm enough in the evening. The weather became autumnal and it was chilly. The small radiator in the the large bedroom 3 never became really hot just warm.

    Room very comfortable and tastefully furnished. Great position quiet but within very easy walking distance to attractions of Bowness-on-Windermere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    6.7
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was rushed before we finished cereal hot food was served on tables too small to place dishes.Eggs served slightly overcooked nothing special about breakfast but felt rushed.

    The bedding was clean and fresh .the room though not large was adequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended, will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, bed was a little uncomfortable for us but thats down to personal taste.

    Recommended an excellent nearby restaurant for evening meal and breakfast the following morning was perfect and hot!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful, comfortable bedrooms with great guest facilities and a delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms were beautifully decorated, with sparkling ensuite shower rooms and the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The guest lounge was well equipped with games, magazines and a courtesy fridge stocked with alcoholic and soft drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    Excellent service, great room comfortable with large bathroom. lovely lounge and the honesty bar was a great idea. we would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    9.6
    Great location at beaut b & b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather

    Nice wide steps to get to our room, small room but we're aware of this very comfortable otherwise and parking for our motorbike at front door - friendly staff and great breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee.

    Lovely room. Good size, larger than expected. Furnished to a high standard. Comfortable bed. Great shower. Lots of towels, etc. Hotel in good location. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    5.4
    Great location but accommodation could do with improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very uncomfortable when we looked under mattress the next morning all of the slats had fallen off the bed. First day we had to ask for cups as none had been left in room. ..second day we had to ask for toilet rolls as they hadn't left any.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    10
    Couldn't have been any better, definitely will return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely accommodation,spacious,fabulous breakfast, few minutes from the centre, the staff were great, friendly & very helpful, thanks for the recommendations .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    9.6
    This is a really well looked after b&b the stay for a week was very good, owners very knowledgeable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't' really find a fault

    The cleanliness is always important which it was, all staff were friendly location very good, breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    10
    Execellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast between 08:15 and 09:15 was a little too early especially on our last morning when we didn't have to check out until 10:00.

    Easily the nicest B&B we have stayed in. We had room 3 which had a lovely view over the village and was exceptionally clean. Great location which was close enough to the action but tucked away down a nice quiet street. The owners and breakfast staff were informative and polite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    10
    Good location, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi intermittent but not the end of the world!

    Clean & comfortable 'cottage'. High spec bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Beds comfortable with nice fresh linen. Plenty of refreshments available. Breakfast delicious with locally sourced products. Friendly,helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay in Beatrix Land!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked last minute and only stayed a night but had a lovely time. The location is perfect and you can easily walk into Bowness Bay with all its restaurants, shops and bars or down to the lake for a cruise. You can also walk the other way to Windermere (about 25 minutes), though there are many buses between the two areas too. The room at the front of the house was comfy and spacious. Free parking was super. Breakfast was hot and tasty. Though longer serving times would be good to allow one to relax and soak up the dining rooms ambiance.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: