Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Wheatsheaf Hotel and Restaurant 4 stars

Main Street, Swinton, TD11 3JJ, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Swinton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 114 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Idilic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a bit weak but I am being really picky.

    We were offered, and accepted, the cottage next door to the hotel as our accommodation. It was a beautifully appointed two bedroomed cottage with the best bed and pillows I have slept on for a long time. To quote Churchill "I am always satisfied with perfection". If you are, use the Wheatsheaf !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Super for short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few more specials on menu such as venison would have been great. Soup and fish of the day same two days running. Only one vegetarian main course,

    Friendly staff and most helpful. Specials

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Charming village hotel with great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The background music at mealtimes occasionally grated, especially on the third morning!

    Fantastic service - warm, friendly, faultless. Enjoyed talking to Michael at the bar about gin and whiskey! Food was top notch and delivered with broad smiles. Maybe a little on the rich side but bar food was available. Lovely views from our room overlooking the village green and the snow-capped mountains in the distance. Room was comfortable and a good size, bathroom was small but nicely decorated. Whole hotel was very stylish and we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Had a great stay, will probably visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi dropped out a fair few times, but is quick when connected.

    The staff are brilliant here, friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Not a single complaint from anyone in our group about any aspect of the stay! The food was fantastic, and you can tell its all fresh made with quality ingredients (the lamb was ridiculously tasty!!). The homemade bread was a nice touch, as was the homemade shortbread in the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Size of room given.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom a bit dated and requires some basic maintenance

    Size of room given. Bar and restaurant ambience excellent. Restaurant meals superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    2.5
    We were in an annex which wasn't heated on arrival.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in an annex which wasn't heated on arrival. The bathroom was with disabled access however the floor was constantly wet from the shower. On arrival, there was live music which was very loud and the hotel was crowded with non-residents. We could hear every movement of the people downstairs. Wi-Fi access cost 10 pounds. Not a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good felt well looked after thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and double bed small. Hated shower curtain would've been better with proper door on cubicle. Shower difficult to get to right temperature without getting wet with cold water! Food although excellent was pricy.

    Staff very attentive and professional. Food excellent. Location nice. Cozy bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Comfort and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything.

    The staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. We had to change for a wedding and were able to access our (lovely big) room before midday to do so, and although we only had a bowl of soup for lunch we were served as if we were having a 3-course meal. The breakfast was excellent for people who don't like a cooked meal, and the dinner menu and the wine list looked great, though we weren't able to eat in the restaurant on this visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.5
    On travelling up to Scotland an ideal place to stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    On arriving received a warm welcome, staff very helpful. The food in the restaurant was very good and I would recommend guests eat there. The bedroom was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with proper orange juice and home made condiments would highly recommend and will certainly be returning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Hospitable Comfortable Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely location in a quiet village yet close enough to main roads for travelers Hotel very nicely appointed with parking either off road in small car park or on road close by Staff are all excellent My room (no 9) was spacious and very comfortable Food in hotel restaurant is first class with a good variety of freshly cooked items Breakfast was comprehensive and tasty Overall a lovely place to stay, I will certainly be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    The staff were excellent really chilled and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    The staff were excellent really chilled and helpful. Food was very good and plenty of it. Room was lovely and clean, very spacious and comfortable. Very busy restaurant but service was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    I liked this hotel. I was travelling alone but felt very comfortable here. I would certainly stay a
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guest in room below had radio or tv on most of the night. Not very loud but constant. No fault of staff.

    Lovely room with large comfy bed and big bath. Nice choice for breakfast but I was meeting friends for lunch so only had toast and cereal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    A summer evening in Swinton, the Borders.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold on arrival and it was a chilly evening. I think hotels should make sure that rooms are warm when guests arrive. It gives a poor impression of the hotel if the room is cold.

    The bar was friendly and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Delightful stay - wonderful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose to dine in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Presentation along with the choice of dishes was very good . I enjoyed the haggis with panco bread crumbs followed by linguini with chicken in a cream, Parmesan and Famous Grouse sauce whilst my husband had the king prawns with chilli, which he said was delicious. Breakfast was also very good, with a large selection of cereals and fruit. There was also a good choice of cooked breakfast dishes, the scrambled egg with smoked salmon was delicious .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed had a footboard which: makes it more difficult for staff to make the bed is not good for taller people So, just remove the footboard and it will be better.

    Well laid out restaurant/pub area. Very good quality food, well cooked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints. One small issue was we had a disabled bathroom (wet room), but when I mentioned it to the manager he offered to move us the next day but we declined as nothing really wrong with the room.

    Staff very friendly and very helpful. Food excellent and great presentation Breakfast amazing and the cold buffet great, no small packets of butter or jam everything homemade. The apple and ginger jam very tasty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    From our experience and from what saw of the other properties in the area the Wheatsheaf was best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to hang up our clothes on window shutters and free standing mirror as the wardrobe was so small. Asked when booking for no feather pillows or duvet but 2 of the 4 pillows supplied were feather.

    Welcoming staff and excellent food. The log fire in the lounge. The Irish Coffee was the best we've had outside of Ireland.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Very pleasant & comfortable weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The chocolate fondant a little heavy.

    Spacious, cosy, well lit room; generous supply of good quality towels. Welcoming staff - nothing was too much bother. Good food served with a smile.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent hotel with good food and service let down slightly by bed and bedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed narrow for two and quilt not great. We slept badly. Staff very apologetic. Also door to bathroom hit the bed every time you opened it which was a bit annoying.

    Hotel immaculate, staff very good, food superb and generous. Room nice, cleanliness and service first rate.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful Wheatsheaf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This a common habit with all B&Bsand hotels - bringing tea or coffee and toast out way before breakfast arrives so by the time you get your breakfast your tea is either cold or finished or you've eaten too much toast. It would be nice if they asked if you would like your tea now or with breakfast. I realise some people may prefer having their tea or coffee first so not a big problem.

    We enjoyed the extra touches such as lovely smelling good quality bath products. Also the very generous basket of coffee tea chocolate and herbal teas. Staff were so kind and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.8
    Very nice would definetly stay again but would be reluctant to eat there again if nothing done about
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a meal in the dining room on Saturday which very tasty the only downside was there were no windows open and this created a very uncomfortable atmosphere which spoiled our evening

    Staff& surroundings a1 they made stay very enjoyable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably a new duvet is in order (was a bit thin) but comfortable enough. Please invest in a coffee machine- I would have paid extra for a morning cappuccino/latte.

    Lovely eggs benedict and fruit for breakfast. The staff were so friendly and welcoming too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    Wow! What a Gem of a small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Every aspect of this hotel was excellent. The food and the service was five star and the cleanliness and comfort could not have been improved upon. You would be hard pushed to find a small hotel that could outshine this establishment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    Well worth the detour off the main road!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a dressing table in the bedroom for doing hair& make-up. A suitcase rack would be hand too.

    Lovely room which felt really homely. Nice quality furniture, bedding & towels. Great tv & wifi provided too. Staff were lovely and could not have been more welcoming or helpful and the food and wine were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.6
    Great for a solo traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality of the owner and all of the staff was outstanding. They were cheerful and helpful, attentive to my every need. I felt I was visiting a miniature Downton Abbey: no sooner had I sat down there was Carson - I mean Joanna or Ann - asking politely if there was anything I wanted. If I wished to have a starter as a main course they didn't bat an eye (the roast scallops from Eyemouth are delectable). A breakfast table for one was always set each morning which as a solo traveler I greatly appreciated. Their homemade raspberry jam was scrumptious and it was hard not to eat too much. My room was cozy, spotlessly clean, and bright. The bed was extremely comfortable, the flat-screen tv great. It was lovely having tea, coffee, and hot chocolate in the room with an electric kettle. There is one thing, however, you must watch out for: the Wheatsheaf homemade shortbread. A small packet was left on the beverage tray each day in case you needed a little something to nibble on in the afternoon or before bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff extremely helpful and polite. Couldn't do enough for us. Excellent breakfast, really wish we had had the opportunity for an evening meal there. Very quiet location. Room very clean. Would definitely stay again and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    Five Stars in a Quiet Village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corbie Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing not to like

    This really is a five-star establishment. We stayed in one of their cottages, which was a total delight. Exceptionally well-equipped kitchen (the hotel's own food was also excellent), neat little sitting room and an extra-large and comfortable bed upstairs. First-rate internet,sound system etc; nice breakfast in the hotel itself. The location is a quiet village street - there is a pretty village green - and you can park immediately outside. The hotel staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. We will very happily stay there again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful stay in Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The food was of a particularly high standard. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Advertised as a restaurant with rooms it really was not your average pub stopover. A really lovely venue. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    I will be back there that’s for sure
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will be back there that’s for sure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    A lovely find and definitely to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect.

    Friendly staff, Very comfy beds, spotlessly clean. Food fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed my stay here , the room was nicely decorated with lovely comfortable bed , the staff were very nice and helpful , had s great sleep 👍🏻

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    the place was beautiful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i thought that the single person was charged to much when my friends were only 30.00 more for two

    The bed was great food was great great staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Five stars from me
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to dislike about this hotel. FIVE STARS FROM ME.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Food was great at dinner and breakfast. Hope to return and explore the area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed my stay . Certainly stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All just perfect

    Really friendly staff. Great evening dinner. Lovely comfortable rooms . Great nights sleep and superb breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent food and service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food and service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds superb. Lovely staff, excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Room was good size and comfortable. Staff all lovely. Felt comfortable even though alone. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The food was amazing and the service was fantastic! A real find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was amazing and the service was fantastic! A real find!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, friendly helpful staff and a lovely home made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, friendly helpful staff and a lovely home made shortbread in the room :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing stay in a very well run establishment. We will certainly return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent service, superb food and wine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Wheatsheaf stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The meals were particularly delicious and the staff were all keen to help. Hope

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    Shower had no pressure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had no pressure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Many thanks to Michael and his staff for a wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    What a professional service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well decorated. Lovely warm feeling.

    really clean and very comfortable. Loved the log fire.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Stopover travelling North
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were very comfortable and we liked the fresh fruit at breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    There was nothing I didn"t like!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    There was nothing I didn"t like!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    The Wheatsheaf was ideal for the reason we had booked, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wheatsheaf was ideal for the reason we had booked, and that was to attend a wedding nearby. It was a pleasant short stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Management and staff kindness is remarkable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management and staff kindness is remarkable. Rooms are perfectly cleaned and warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Our stay in Northumberland / Scottish Borders
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all good

    Very clean and comfortable accommodation. The staff were very courteous and attentive, a nice place to stay - would recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Good food, excellent service and the staff were first rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could offer ordinary bar food

    Good food, excellent service and the staff were first rate

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent evening meal.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent evening meal. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Booked without any previous recommendation but absolutely delighted with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front entrance could perhaps be brighter.

    Food excellent. Staff all very very friendly and helpful. Bar cosy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    We wanted a quiet night away with excellent food for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted a quiet night away with excellent food for our anniversary, this hotel managed it all perfectly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Very comfortable hotel with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good food and very comfortable room. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A large very wet wet room when you had showered

    Excellent food and service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The welcome from the staff, their helpfulness. clean comfortable room and a good breakfast with plenty of choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Great venue for attending a family wedding at Wedderburn Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Generous accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent food and very good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food and very good service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable accommodation. Superb food and excellent stuff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommended especially for service and dinning
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decoration

    First class restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Borders retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No issues at all.

    Warm and welcoming. The food and facilities were excellent. Friendly attentive staff made our stay very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Always welcoming and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Decent place to stay, bar, the food is spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was terrible.

    Decent place to stay, bar, the food is spectacular.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Food was terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor a little tired

    Food was terrific. Evening meal and breakfast 1st class. Served by really enthusiastic and considerate staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Excellent food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Staff and the atmosphere were outstanding and the hotel is very clean and food excellent.... thank y
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and the atmosphere were outstanding and the hotel is very clean and food excellent.... thank you Michael.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.6
    superb gettaway break.peaceful and relaxing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wonderful attentive staff,excellent food,spacious room with very good bathroom.roaring log fire in bar.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.3
    Real Scottish hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotell staff will treat you like a prince, really remarkable. The hotel rooms are warm and comfortable and the restaurant is simply great!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could benefit from double glazing as traffic outside can be noisy, even in a quiet village.

    Restaurant food. Service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    Another enjoyable stay at the Wheatsheaf
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly staff and good food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location, food, comfort, atmosphere all supberb!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.5
    Nice staff and food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff and food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Be back soon!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely wee hotel!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    Lovely friendly place with delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely , friendly staff and an amazing breakfast. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: