Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Wheelwrights Arms 4 stars

Church Lane, Bath, BA2 7HB, United Kingdom

#42 of 76 B&Bs and Inns in Bath

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 620 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missed having a shower in the room, though indulged in 2 baths.. Good coffee at breakfast and plenty of re-fills, Didn't eat here in the evening,but looked like nice relaxed place to eat with interesting menu and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A comfy seat in the single room might be nice... but otherwise all was great!

    It was a lovely location, perfect for picking up my daughter from the university. Very friendly staff, lovely room and toiletries. Dinner in the restaurant was very good too as was breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room above us and in the morning the noise from the creaky floorboards was not great but it is an old building so accepted there is probably not much that can be done about that.

    My friend and I shared a double bed but no problem as the mattress was the kind where you could not feel the other person move so a very good night's sleep. Breakfast was marvellous. Nice outdoor seating for a glass or two and the room was spacious and the bathroom was huge with a lovely big bath but no shower. Not sure what the other rooms have. This was my second visit and hopefully not my last.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was absolutely gorgeous, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, we had a sweet little bathtub in our room, and the bed was extra soft! Can’t gush enough!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow one track lanes leading to the property could be difficult in bad weather.

    The room was lovely. Food was delicious and staff helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good no negative comments

    I liked the facilities . The bedrooms had nice touches such as quality shampoos etc. Very nice restaurant and lovely staff. Great breakfast also!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely pub / Inn 2.5 miles outside of Bath city. Local walks from the front door. Room very spacious as a converted outbuilding. Evening meal excellent. Location nice and peaceful. Walk on canal from Bath to Inn was 6miles (2.5Hours). Very Pleasant on a sunny evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very creaky floorboards. The tap water was very chlorine-laden. If a 1.5lt bottle of either home-filtered (from a Britta or something) or cheap supermarket bottled water was possible, that would be great.

    The selection of teas and coffee etc was a very nice touch. The bed was very comfortable. The room was extremely quiet, although I don't think I had anyone across the corridor who were sharing the same front door. The shower and bathroom facilities were great too; nice touch with the variety of shampoo options available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely place. Will stay again and recommend. Dinner was lovely food and bacon at breakfast was amazing. Really lovely room too and nice finishes touches. The location was also a plus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better choice of vegan food, rather than just simply removing meat and dairy from existing dishes. They were advertising as vegan friendly on trip advisor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showering facility was a bit different but nothing that you would need to complain about, bathroom was stunning.

    Room was spacious, clean And had everything you would need. Bed was extra comfy and the bathroom was amazing. Location was stunning and not even a 10 minute drive into the city. The extra touches in the room were lovely and so peaceful too. Car park facilities were fine. Basically it was brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t very nice ended up leaving most of it, waste of money.

    Great rooms, Bath was lovely and liked the complimentary toiletries. Was very cold weather when we visited but the room was lovely and warm. Very pretty location. Easy to drive into bath centre took about 10mins.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    The room was beautiful - quirky, in keeping with the age of the place, and stylishly decorated. Lovely bathroom with lots of extra touches. And the beds were sooooooooo comfy! We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and both were really tasty, with lots of options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth mentioning really, You'd have to be very picky to find fault here.

    The Wheelrights arms is a lovely property in a quite village setting not too far from Bath itself. Started off with a nice welcome from a friendly lady who showed us to our room, nice clean room and a good size too. Excellent evening meal next to a real log fire, I think the meal was priced according to the quality that was on offer. Breakfast was another excellent meal, you could tell that some care was taken when cooking the full English breakfast which was perfectly cooked and well seasoned too. We only stayed for one night but would have happily stayed longer!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The bed and bedding was unbelievably comfy. - A large range of amazing L’occitane toiletries and bath goodies. - Attention to detail - roses and sweets on the bedside table, huge range of coffees, teas and hot chocolates, bath goodies etc - Amazing food (both dinner and breakfast -that was included) - Lovely location in the hills - Log fire in the restaurant and a great selection of wines and games. - Rustic feel of rooms - exposed floorboards and beams - real country and homely feel. The list of positives is endless - honestly one of the nicest hotels that I’ve ever stayed in and I’ve stayed in ALOT!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hooks for coats,maybe one or two could go on the back of the door? I couldn't find radio options on the tv. The skirtings in the ensuite could do with a clean and the bedroom has some cobwebs otherwise 10 out of 10.

    Very comfortable bed,lovely toiletries, fluffy towels and robe,fresh coffee,great thermostat on radiator to control room temperature, peaceful location with great walks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Meals in Pub very expensive, wi-fi - only downloading at max 7-8 Mbs, I could hear almost everything the person on the next room was doing, need to soundproof more. Breakfast doesn't open til 8am - not very convenient for the business traveller.

    Bathroom accessories, car parking, location, price I got for the room (good discount)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really think it should be a dog friendly inn. Most are these days. Seems ironic that the main picture above the fireplace is of a dog.

    Quiet, comfortable room. Excellent breakfast and lovely evening meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major. Telly needed retuning each time it was turned on. Lack of signal

    Quaint charm. Attention to detail with nice touches. Fabulous food for breakfast and evening meal. Would recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to flush the loo due to plumbing problem Mattress could have been better - advise replacement. Water leaked from above one morning Meal of Lamb ragu was dreadful.

    Country Inn with charming and helpful staff Lovely large room, Gorgeous art by local artist. Huge and charming bathroom with good toiletries. Close to Bath

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    An area with more comfortable furniture would have been nice, but the pub is small so appreciate their need to maximise space

    Big Room, very comfortable. Great food and friendly accommodating service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general rooms were very clean and tidy, apart from one thing being that the kettle had an incredible amount of limescale on it, I would really expect this to be replace in an otherwise very pleasant room.

    Dinners were very good, rooms were exceptionally comfortable, friendly staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The rooms are huge and come with luxury touches like bathrobes, a cafetière and a giant bath. We booked 10 minutes before arrival due to being let down by another booking, and this didn’t phase staff at all. They were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Food in the pub is great, as is breakfast, and the fire makes it very cosy. The pub is surrounded by beautiful scenery and a couple of great walks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature - turned it up to 35 eventually warmed up. However it is exceptionally cold atm so I'm sure it'll be fine any other time.

    Absolutely loved the bathroom, beautiful tub in the middle of the room with my favourite toiletries. The pub was lovely, especially Lorraine's cinnamon cookies! Easy to check in and out. The are was beautiful and only £10 or so pounds go get a taxi into bath. Would love to come back soon to do some of the recommended walks - perhaps in the summer!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good for me, but owners of a large vehicle may find country lanes tricky.

    Very spacious rooms/bathroom. All staff friendly. Lovely rural location. One of the best cooked breakfast's I have ever had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a little too hard and pillows a little too soft. Evening meal was delicious and staff were helpful and attentive but then breakfast service wasnt so, felt a pain asking for things which could quite easily have been gotten ourselves if provided. Eg very small coffee cups left us wanting more than one but the cafetiere was carried around by the proprietor and returned to the kitchen. No water available and juice jugs were empty by our sitting at nine o clock.

    Quaint, nice decor, airy room. Food was lovely and we loved the open fire in the bar. Good parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access both up stairs and the shower over the bath whilst great quality could be a little difficult if aged or infirm.

    Excellent accomodation in every way but make sure you get the location correct in your sat nav etc as its a bit of an isolated spot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately some noisy men in the room below.Arrived around midnight and talking very loudly for a while--very inconsiderate.

    Excellent value for money.Room was spacious and comfortable. I liked the Occitane toiletries!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing food. Dinner in the pub was delicious and the full English breakfast was equally good. The room was spacious and comfortable with coffee tea etc and top end toiletries. Comfy beds and very quiet at night. All the staff were very helpful including pointing me to the local bus service when I’d given up trying to park near the university

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water was cold in the morning but was fixed within 15 minutes of ringing reception who acted quickly.

    Lovely quiet room, good pub and food, great views of country side, 1 hour walk to Bath city centre or 10 minutes drive. Great for a break and place to relax.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Sunday roast wasn't seasoned and Yorkshire puddings not the best.

    I absolutely loved the location. Myself and my partner came to stay as part of a birthday surprise for 30th birthday combined with valentines day. It was a well run and brilliantly kept place to stay. We particularly loved our rustic room and the bath room with a lovely bath. You are close to the town centre but far enough to enjoy the beauty of the countryside. We will definitely be returning and would recommend to others.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked a second chair in the bedroom so we could watch telly in comfort. Because there was no shower curtain I managed to spray water all over the bathroom.

    Fabulous food, friendly staff, comfy bed, log fire in dining room. Beautiful setting, there were some supoer walks if we had time to do them. Very convenient for Bath

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom wasn't very clean, found hair on the side of the bath tub. Weren't enough toilet rolls in the bathroom.

    The breakfast was delicious. The room was cosy. The rooms were a good size. The bed was comfortable for a good night sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was great.

    The room was cozy and clean and the tub was fantastic. Ale and food at the restaurant were excellent. Breakfast was delicious. The staff members were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely wonderful place. The building how wonderful character and is located in such a perfect place with amazing views. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Loved every minute I spent there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but a dippy parent let her child bounce a ball on the floor above our room relentlessly. Again, not the hotels fault but our sat nav played up. Without it, the hotel is tricky to find.

    We had a lovely weekend, Easy check in, pleasant staff and lovely location. We had room 1, which is ground floor and very spacious. Nice toiletries are provided as well as biscuits, various teas and great cafetiere coffee. We ate dinner at the pub, which was lovely on both nights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints except I couldn't connect to the wifi, but that wasn't important.

    The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. There was an excellent range of hot drinks (including a cafeteria with ground coffee) and toiletries. My son was particularly taken with the towelling dressing gowns!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps there could be a reasonable bar menu other than the main menus.

    The croissants were extra flaky, the bed extra comfortable, the log fire in the lounge / bar cosy, good car parking facilities and accommodation close to the main building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft for me (personal preference).only a cafetiere cappuccino coffee in the room, nothing to make a straightforward Americano, but apparently there should have been.

    Old world charm with contemporary furnishings. Staff were very friendly and helpful and very informative.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were generally friendly, especially the gentleman I believe may be the owner in the morning, but one young lady did seem a little sullen. I’m not a morning person either though so can forgive that to an extent! Location is a little off the main roads so there are country lanes etc to be prepared for, especially in the dark.

    Loved this place! Beautiful surroundings, a quirky and interesting building, the room was large and the beds and pillows etc very comfy. The room was presented really well but the little touches really made it, lovely towels, high quality toiletries and refreshments in the room, easy access to plug sockets for phone charging etc, lamps on to welcome us into the room, a lovely bath to soak in etc. we also had breakfast included in the room rate which was tasty and fresh. The evening meals were also very good and priced as you’d expect for a quality restaurant in a rural tourist area (mains £14 - £22, steak being highest) I had the salmon and chilli crab linguine which was delicious and I thought reasonable for £16. The cost of the stay was also very reasonable, perhaps due to it being during the week but was wonderful value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little cold on arrival but blankets were provided. Breakfast only starts at 8 so time was rushed in order to get to the city centre in time for Business.

    The bed was beautifully comfortable and food was delicious. Breakfast was even served quickly when we asked as we were pushed for time due to a business trip. Rooms were cosy and well furnished

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Options for bath or shower not clear when booking room choice but did not effect our overall experience .

    Quiet and beautiful location ideal stop for visiting Bath.The staff were very friendly and very helpful .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower, menu disappointing for evening meal. Breakfast expensive. Kept awake by guests in room above ours. Noisy wooden floors and little sound proofing. Could even hear them talking! Room needed decorating, looked tired and a bit shabby although fixtures and fittings are stylish and quality.

    Location was lovely, beautiful countryside, close to Bath. Room lovely and warm (snowing outside). Lots of hot water, nice bath.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely no complaints.

    I could not fault this accommodation. We loved every aspect - beds were comfortable, bathroom and toiletries were exceptional. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and the food was delicious. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast started later than expected which was difficult due to work commitments (most places start breakfast around 7am) I also had a member of staff complain that I had apparently "flooded the bathroom" because I had to wash my hair over the bath due to the lack of shower facilities. I wasn't aware that this had happened but when he told me, he said that the people staying in the room below had had water dripping on them at 1am in the morning. Obviously this wasn't my intention and I was very apologetic but he said that this was because "the floor wasn't sealed properly" which wasn't great...

    The room itself was lovely and very comfortable but unfortunately there was no shower (besides a shower head on the bath) I really liked the nice touch of bath bombs included with the complimentary toiletries. The food was good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We arrived late having been to watch the rugby in Bath. The receptionist could not have been more friendly or helpful and showed us straight to our room which was spotless and extremely roomy. After the late arrival we ate a late breakfast which was beautifully cooked. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and pubs in my life. This was right up there and great value

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not being set on wall a bit awkward but nice to have a bath in stead for a change

    Lovely quant hotel/pub. Lovely staff, great food and perfect location close to Bath city centre (10 mins away & £10 in a taxi) would definitely return

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE PLACE WAS SHUT CHRISTMAS DAY AND BOXING DAY . I HAD NO FOOD NO DRINK .THE PROPRIETOR SUGGEST I GO TO BATH . YES SURE TRY GETTING A RESTURANT MEAL CHRISTMAS DAY.

    THE BAR WAS SHUT NO DRINKS CHRISTMAS DAY AND NO FOOD .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little things like cheap bread for toast, value muffin and some low quality ingredients in the food When we got there at 2 there was no facility for food until the evening despite the blurb saying lunch was provided until 3pm. Staff were not apologetic or helpful in finding an alternative and there are few facilities nearby The accommodation was a bit tired and looked grubby ie Finger marks on paint work although it was clean Rubbish pillows

    Good location nice big room and nice toilletries Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included with the price, room could be cleaner, although staff very pleasant and very welcoming!

    Breakfast not included in the price very disappointing, plus as a genius discount you will be given the rooms without baths! We were eventually given a twin room with a bath after complaining but still not a double room as originally requested.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a little bit dusty.

    One of the radiators wasn't working when I checked in and the young lady at the desk told me her manager would be up when he started work at 6....sure enough he appeared, and with a mobile heater.....that was much appreciated. Also, the smoked mackeral and potato was DEE-licious!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No will definitely be going back.

    Fantastic weekend would recommend, helpful staff and beautiful location ideal for Bath or just local walks and a great restaurant👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Beautiful scenic location (takes around 10-15 mins to drive into the centre of bath), excellent facilities in the room (we especially liked the l'occitane minis!), comfy beds and pillows and nice bath tub. We also had an evening meal in the pub which was very enjoyable :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom - it was very spacious but the only shower was over a freestanding and unscreened bath - very messy! Very surly reception in the morning when their payment terminal would not recognise my perfectly good card which I successfully used for the rest of the day. Another card was demanded with no hint of apology - quite rude. Unusual for this place.

    Large room comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It met our expectations, the room was comfortable, food was good and the staff friendly. If we visit Bath in the future we will book the Wheelwrights again and will recommend it to friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to addd.

    My favourite place to stay when I'm working in Bath; nice and peaceful but still with easy access into the city. Very accommodating staff, great food while sitting next to the log fire in the pub, comfortable bed - what more do you need. The check-out time is relatively late which would make for a great for a relaxing stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok but the mushrooms gave me a severe bad stomach after eating them. Also extremely salty. Extra toast would have been welcome especially as the price for the breakfast is £11 ! which I found pretty steep for what you actually get. Finally the bloody Jazz music playing pretty loud first thing in the morning drove me crackers. Total cost was £63 for the night which was not what I was originally quoted. There is a service charge added to your bill.

    Nice little room, clean, comfortable bed. Very quiet. Room wasn't actually attached to the main building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply brilliant! Comfy accommodation, well appointed, excellent shower, great modern heating with guest controlled thermostat for the room. Breakfast menu is amazingly comprehensive. Pub grub menu is worthy of their upcoming 2018 Michelin Guide entry. Staff team were friendly and welcoming. A delightful destination!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far from bath centre. Taxi £12 can run up your costs. Dining / bar area bit cramped, tables to close together.

    Rooms were outside in courtyard. Very cosy. Bathrooms very spacious with free standing baths. Toiletries excellent. Food menu limited and a little expensive. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    An amazing little hidden gem literally 10.mins taxi journey to Bath. Friendly staff and the most perfect breakfast all cooked freshly with so much choice - Full Breakfast,Kippers,Smoked Salmon etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow road to access the village.

    The food was pricey but excellent worth paying for both at dinner and breakfast. The room spacious and comfy. Staff were very friendly and knew just who we were every time we appeared.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much its a great place to stay

    Very warm welcome. Room adjacent to the main building was warm and comfortable with good, clean facilities. The location is ideal for exploring Bath and the surrounding areas of Somerset. a short distance from major attractions like Wells Cathedral, Wookey Hole and Cheddar Gorge. Great choice of menu for breakfast. Pub is friendly and has a real fire to give it a really cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the rooms being situated in an old building, there was no sound insulation from the floor above. It's a minor issue, and didn't spoil the stay, however, next time we might ask for the upstairs room :-).

    The Wheelright's Arms is in a great spot amidst stunning countryside, and really close to Bath. We had a lovely, spacious room with a very comfortable bed and a massive bathroom, and with its low ceilings and original beams showing, it was beautifully original and laid back. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the staff very friendly. We'll surely be back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely rooms with huge bathroom, great size bath and very comfy beds. Travelled with my 1.5 year old and they provided a travel cot with fresh bedding and blankets. Restaurant was excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet could be improved as it was quite slow

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. The property is maintained to a high standard and always looks amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't cleaned properly, dusty with manky sweets in a jar with hair stuck inside of jar. Breakfast although good quality not much variety with the full English.

    Bathroom was great ,lovely bath in bath.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like rooms cool so opened the window. It’s a little unfortunate that the room I had is on the car park level, because it’s fairly noisy with conversation and cars since it’s a pub.

    Some lovely touches in the room, like a jar of mints and a blanket. En-suite shower room is clean and well designed. The location is very picturesque, a steep but short walk into Bath. Food in pub was excellent, I had each of breakfast, lunch and dinner - the lunch flatbread really stood out to me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a stand up shower.

    The room was large, the bed reasonably comfortable considering that Europeans have not yet discovered queen and king size beds. We enjoyed the pub attached to the property and walking through the village of Monkton Combs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was situated less than 10mins from city centre. Really welcoming rooms. What really impressed us was how clean and cosy it was. It smelt beautiful too. Lots of choice of teas and other beverages. We have travelled plenty here and abroad and this is by far one of the best. Parking facilities great. We had dinner in the Restaurant and again the food was amazing. As was the breakfast. Staff were friendly too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny tiny country roads, but that no ones fault, just be cautious getting there.

    Beautiful and spacish downstairs rooms. Beautiful grounds. Pub had amazing meals, modern twist, yummy. Amazing views of countryside, quiet and so close to Bath.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a free standing bath with shower attachment and no screen and it was impossible to have a shower without soaking the floor. The bathrooms are huge and would accommodate a shower and a bath but I guess it would spoil the uncluttered decor?

    Beautiful large comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My friends room, in comparison to mine, wasn't that great. Very small and full of spiders which she hates. We were also quite far apart so I felt a bit bad about that.

    My room was great. Like a small cottage inside, everything made from wood and vines growing on outsides of the windows. The free standing bath was a treat each night to run and the complimentary bath bombs made it really relaxing after a long day walking around Bath. It felt appropriate for a city break.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful historical property. Very old cottage village atmosphere, with rooms that have been tastefully modernized to be warm and inviting. Pub/restaurant was also warm with tasty food and friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the room above quite easily because of the old wooden floors. However, I loved the character of the place and slept very well regardless.

    I was leaving before breakfast and had a tray made up of muesli with milk, fresh fruit, bread with jam, and a flapjack to have first thing before a big bike ride. No trouble at all. A lovely place. Wish I could have spent more time there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nails in floor projecting so cut foot. very dusty in between slats on bed head and under bed and ledges, I react badly to dust. The room and bathroom were very tired. Needs refurbishing, and floor should be made safe.

    The bed was comfy and the sheets. the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: