Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The White Hart Country Inn

1 Balsham Road, Fulbourn, CB21 5BZ, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Fulbourn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 290 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Everyone at the White Hart was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everyone at the White Hart was very helpful and friendly. The food, especially the evening meal was excellent. Fulbourn is very convenient for Cambridge and nice, peaceful place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, friendly country village pub accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small doubles are, as they say, small but everything is provided and they are very comfortable. Ear plugs are good for some of the rooms if you want to lie in, the road can get busy in the week.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great, Fulbourn is very convenient and pretty. Lovely village pub stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight moan is that breakfast sets up quite early so nowhere to sit in the bar if not eating from around 9 pm but in this weather you can sit outside in the garden which is great

    Great breakfast (leek and pork sausage was great ) restaurant food first class very quiet area so late evening so no problems sleeping , liked the way the hosts took you to the room nice touch, ideal for Newmarket races which are around 10 miles away - really no issue with noisy toilets as mentioned sometimes on here if bathroom door is closed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay and would definitely recommend to others. Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub closed at 3pm, which we were not expecting. We had to go elsewhere to get food.

    Lovely shower room and nice soaps and shampoo provided. Comfy bed. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice, well cooked food. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok stay, room small so wouldn't want to sleep 2 in bed but nice people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the main room into Cambridge and just too difficult to sleep despite secondary glazing. if you are used to that then nice spot. I just need quiet

    Lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Great food & service in restaurant for lunch & breakfast. Small, noise filled room - overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small. They forgot to service our room on second day. Macerator in bathroom was horrendous - loud drilling noise every 8 seconds on showering and every time you flushed toilet or used basin. Could also hear this noise from other rooms near. Complained but they could not help. Room very overpriced for size and this noise issue and shower was not great - no real pressure and not very hot.

    Staff on check-in were great - very friendly. Breakfast was excellent and nice staff. We stayed for lunch on arrival and food was excellent and nice ambience in the restaurant. Would highly recommend for meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    friendly manager, excellent breakfast and comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location beside a main road does mean that lorries occasionally rumble by, but the sound proofing was very good in my room.

    eggs royale (with smoked salmon) for breakfast and great coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    I would definitely recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was very nice and the bathroom and shower were by far , much larger than any B&B we have stayed at before. The staff was very gracious and we had a delicious dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice country pub, shame about the plumbing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly I got the room next to the cupboard containing all the other rooms’ shower pumps so was woken several times by those.

    Nice village, comfortable room, great staff, and a good restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous food and an enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    External stairs could be an issue for some visitors

    We had a great stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast in the pub which was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Very fine - invites to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the day, rather busy road just in front of inn, but no real noise problem

    Fine inn, very fine breakfast (choice, including smoked salmon & eggs), situated nearby Cambridge etc, but in small village

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Small changes could have made the stay much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Headboard movement kept pushing electric socket to off. Room cold and had to use fan heater supplied until hotel timer came on early evening. Feel should have been warned about this. Room very compact making it difficult to heat with fan heater. Hairdryer missing and when supplied was flimsy and cut off with burning smell, replacement hairdryer was the same. Scared to use after that!

    Meals and breakfast delicious and staff friendly and hospitable. Bar area comfortable and inviting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    friendly staff good food and clead
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived at Friday lunch time to book in and car park was full but was ok the rest of the stay

    Stayed in large double room (7 ) the bed was comfy room clean and tidy new owners in process of redecoration, our room was just little tired/worn, we were offered the recently redecorated room but declined as smelt of fresh paint. There was a good choice of breakfast, good portion,full english, cereals, eggs various ways and sausage/bacon baps.coffee was greet. Staff were excellent and accommodating. Ate in the restaurant two nights a little on the expensive side but it is A la carte and was delicious

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Very pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought it was a tad overpriced for the size of the room.

    The small double room was very warm and cosy the breakfast was excellent as were the staff.A very nice pub to go back to for a drink before bed after a long day sightseeing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    The White Hart was very convenient for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the restaurant was not busy at breakfast, the tables had not been cleared away so we were left to sit at a table which was too small for 2 people. It made us feel a little cramped with nowhere to put all the cups, plates etc.

    Breakfast was very good with tasty local sausages.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Exactly what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot. We cooled it down by opening the window, so it wasn't a problem, but some control of the radiator would be helpful.

    Very friendly staff, comfortable, quiet room. Excellent breakfast. On site parking. No complaints!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel and awesome breakfast. Very close to Cambridge
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The in-house restaurant/pub was closed each evening much earlier, than the stated time. So we did not get to try it. That was one of the reasons we had chosen this hotel. Toilet macerator in the room was very noisy The room window was impossible to close properly by just 1 person. Luckily we managed it together with the lady from the staff.

    Awesome breakfast Nice hotel and its surroundings Nicely renovated restaurant Welcoming staff Plentiful of parking spaces

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant and welcoming stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No veggie options for breakfast, access to accommodation up outside and slippery stairs, tap in bathroom wobbly and shower tray filled up and didn't drain properly.

    Attentive and polite staff. Room was cosy and well furnished with ample bedding and towels and bathroom accessories. Windows well glazed so traffic wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Cosy and friendly country pub with accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy friendly pub/restaurant with nicely decorated accommodation with everything needed for a night away. Great menu and tasty food... Both breakfast and evening meal. Would recommend if in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location, friendly staff and great food!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was slightly on the small size with my feet overhanging the end of the bed and it was pretty creaky every time I moved.

    The food in the restaurant was very good. Decent portion sizes at a reasonable price. Breakfast was very good too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows neeeded a good scrub as the wooden frames were dirty. Old building so they rattled with the wind. Room was small . The water pressure was very low so having a shower was not great.

    Breakfast was great. Staff very accomodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay but for the water issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water wasn't working - received a slightly discounted rate but I would have much preferred a working shower!

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nice clean and well presented room. Excellent breakfast. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Had a very enjoyable stay Well done
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent room,very clean,Food...super!. all in all a very nice place to stay.Staff very friendly and helpful. Lots of character its obvious that the proprietor has tried very hard to offer an excellent package and has suceeded in all aspects.Will be coming again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, very pleasant and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly welcome and the staff were extremely accommodating. The room was very clean and well furnished. The food, both evening meal and breakfast the following day, were outstanding. I would highly recommend this place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    The evening meal and the breakfast very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to go outside to get to your room, up some stairs. Not good if raining! Our room was booked as a small double room and it really was very small. Sink and shower were also small.

    The evening meal and the breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff ! We booked a table in the restaurant and the service and food was fantastic, Our room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was fab ! I will recommend to anybody and definitely be returning!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    The General manager and his staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very small and the windows were secured shut, therfore the room was very hot and clamy. The bathroom was like a closet the shower was the smallest I have ever seen and the sink was out of a dolls house.

    The General manager and his staff were excellent. The breakfast was fantastic. A very hard working team.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little small and so got stuffy quite easily. But we were only there for night so it served its purpose

    Breakfast was lovely, and very big! Staff were very accommodating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.0
    breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service shocking, knew they closed at 3pm, arrived at 2,52pm to find they closed early!! ruined our day at the races as we had to return early evening to check in.

    breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Not a bad night's stay but a tad overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small, tiny ensuite, but comfortable bed and had hanging space etc. Old plumbing made for a lot of noise when other guests were flushing toilets or showering, noise from road outside despite the double glazing.

    We had dinner and breakfast and both were very good. We chose this pub as near to Duxford air museum where we'd spent the day. Easy to find and plenty of parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel just needs a few tweaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little shabby needed a little bit of tlc, just small things that would take minutes to sort i.e. Bathroom shelf coming off and sink taps loose, also the shower tray fills up doesn't drain away quick enough so got a bit panicky as I thought it was going to flood. There's also a huge window in the bathroom that overlooks the main road and it's not got privacy glass so you must make sure the blind is closed .

    Lovely pub hotel, nice breakfast although you only get a hour time slot to have it , staff very friendly room comfortable and very clean. Hardly any noise apart from the odd vehicle passing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked very late because our baby daughter was too stressed to reach our original hotel and the staff were very accommodating of us. Even though the room wasn't designed to fit a travel cot they checked with us to make sure everything was ok. Great hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location to visite the Cambridge Folk Festival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small wash basin and shower. Noisy hot water supply for us (nr. 7) and other rooms.

    Friendly staff. Good beds and clean linnen every other day. Good breakfast en restaurant on site.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    Nice loaction and good breakfast but cramped room facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room and small double bed more suited to single stay. Staff didn't seem very knowlegdeable about local area.

    Breakfast was good. Nice location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice room but needs improvements
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the toilets of other rooms & something else that was noisy during the night

    The sink in the en-suite was adequate but the glass shelf above it made it difficult to use. This should be sited in the left hand corner or dispensed with. Air conditioning would be a good idea as this room gets hot when the sun is out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Excellent country Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The landlord was extremely friendly and went out of his way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The food was excellent. Fortunately we had good weather so we were able to sit outside in the courtyard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Saturday night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forgot to supply towels which was a bit annoying as we did not return till midnight but room was nice and clean. It was also close to the wedding reception which worked well. Would use again if in area.

    Brrakfast was good and looked after well

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Staff not that helpful. Shower very cramped and shelf over basin made it very hard to use. Too many decorative pillows - room tiny so where should you put them? Milk off in UHT pots. Disappointed.

    It was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.2
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sewerage in shower basin after running tap in bathroom sink. Still had to pay full rate for booking. Room was overpriced for size and facilities. Would not stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small double was small but it was well advertised as being small so I was not disappointed, it's only really suitable for one person This place would be lovely in winter but I stayed on a very hot day, this meant needing to have the window open at night which resulted in loud and constant traffic all night which led to very little sleep The bathroom made a loud odd noise every time the shower was on or loo flushed

    Great staff, good reasonably priced meals, comfy bed, good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    It was O.k.but for us it left a little to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arrangements to welcome us. Although the Management knew from our address which I had included when booking dinner and I gave an estimated time of arrival, the hotel was closed. We arrived by 3.30 and had to sit in the car for two hours. It would be a simple matter for the key to be left outside, as all the rooms are accessed by an iron stairway from outside. The courtyard is such that a key could be easily hidden with only the guests knowing where to find it. When we expressed our dismay it was pointed out that somewhere on your website, it mentions the afternoon closure, but we were unaware of it. They could have told us in their email confirming our dinner booking. Although we are not disabled and are still active, we are both in our early eighties and after driving over 200 miles, we were ready to access our room. We were not offered help with our bags.

    There were no croissants and no fresh fruit. Cooked breakfast was good and coffee too

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location for business traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A late find, but a perfect spot, and only a short drive from Cambridge and industrial parks for meetings the following day. Perfect poached eggs for breakfast ☺️ Lovely village environment and SO MUCH better than sterile, faceless Holiday Inns etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Would have been perfect if we had had a little more space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access to our room was via a fire escape which was difficult for us. Although our room was comfortable it was very small and the bathroom was even smaller. The shower was also very small and not at floor level so you had to use a wooden step to get in which I found tricky and my husband was unable to use at all.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and the food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    Welcoming and efficient staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that all seven rooms are up an outside metal staircase, over the kitchen fans, that can be slippery in the wet. Room was rather small, more cabin like than I was expecting.

    Welcoming and efficient staff. Bar and restaurant had good atmosphere and seemed busy. Good freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.1
    Very small bedroom and bathroom. Best to avoid Sundays!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small. Inn was closed when we got there (at about 7pm). It closes early on a Sunday and there is no food in the evening. apparently we and others had not seen this on the Website.

    Service was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    A lovely in a pleasant village with good walking nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived, the door was locked. Did not know arrival time was 5 pm. A kind person, Michael let us in. 1st room was small and we were moved to a large room. Food at restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    Food was first class, both breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom basins were tiny with a shelf above which made it very restricting.. One room had a bathroom macerator which was a bit noisy but we got used to it!

    Food was first class, both breakfast and dinner. Staff were attentive and friendly. Convenient location for Cambridge as Park & Ride close by. Rooms were clean and comfortable with kettle, coffee & tea, good space for clothes and cases. Beds were comfy. Double glazed window effective at keeping road noise out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely room, clean and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a funny noise everytime someone used the shower in our room and different rooms.

    The bed was super comfortable and although the room was fairly small, it was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    10
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We received a very warm welcome from the friendly staff. The room was cosy and clean. The evening menu was delightful, the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. We especially enjoyed the fish sharing platter. The breakfast was fantastic, so much choice in addition to the usual full English. I would certainly stay here again and can happily recommend this Hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.3
    Staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It didn't bother us as we were at a wedding, but just to note that the place does close in the afternoon. And they class themselves as a restaurant rather than a pub, so don't expect a stand-at-the-bar drinking type atmosphere.

    Staff were amazing. So helpful! Decent choice of beers. Really enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Great place for a short or longer break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!

    Just the place for us- a truly well managed country pub with friendly efficient staff and reasonably priced food and accommodation. The choice of beers etcetera was excellent. A rare place these days so well done to all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for our little trip away and excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast could have been a little hotter and be served with hot milk

    We had an excellent welcome and we're shown to our cosy room. We had a delicious evening meal and the waiting service was very good and also at breakfast we were greeted with a lovely smile. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Very convenient
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated a bigger bed and duvet Also ability to have breakfast early

    Table automatically reserved in restaurant for dinner. Good menu. Generous helpings. Friendly staff. Attentive but not rushing you

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced, Undersized, but Acceptable for a One Night Stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was weak, and blew between hot and cold. The staff were quite pushy about wanting us out at 11am, despite us being their only customers, so perhaps a bit of common sense would have been advisable considering we were happy to pay for late checkout. The room itself is very tiny, and reminded me of my times as a student! And the staff were variable in their moods and behaviour, to the point we felt in the way (to reiterate, this is despite us being their only customers in the entire hotel!)

    The bed was comfy, and the surrounding area was quite nice. Some of the staff, particularly the chap that served us breakfast, and the cleaner were kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a little small, shower small too. But otherwise very comfortable sized room.

    Great location en route to Bury St Edmunds from the South West. Lovely pub, excellent food. Breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.5
    Good location as my job was only just up the road. Small Room , Good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small, bathroom could hardly turn around in. Access to room and back to restaurant via outside staircase in the rain is not good. After 17:30 check in is inconvenient. Had to sit in car park for 30 minutes!

    Location, quality of food, cheerful polite and happy staff. Clean room. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.9
    Warm atmosphere and very welcoming staff.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely cosy atmosphere in the bar and dining room and our meal was most enjoyable and an excellent breakfast choice the next morning. The staff were good humoured and extremely helpful throughout, especially in helping to get my car going in the morning when I had a flat battery. We would highly recommend the whole experience and will stay again when next visiting Cambridge.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.5
    Second visit here and would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed ,lovely clean room with tea & coffee available. Breakfast was great , excellent choice , full English , omelette or just simply a bacon or sausage bap. Staff lovely sand very helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Perfect for a romantic get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to check in before 5:30, we arrived at 4:30 and couldn't gain access.

    Beautiful old pub, cosy, warm & welcoming. A clean comfortable bed room, with good food & service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    A delightful country inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but adequate for an overnight stay. Restaurant excellent , breakfast very high quality. Staff very attentive to our needs. Will definitely stay there again if in the area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    Excellent stay. Friendly staff. Good night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More space in room. Move the wardrobe out and put chest of drawers in its place creating bigger area to move around in.

    Friendly and accommodating staff Lovely restaurant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    a great stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as it was frosty in the morning, extra care needed on external metal stairs and walkway to get to breakfast.

    staff were really helpful and friendly, food - lovely

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    Great Spot for a Short Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would like thicker Bread for Toast at Breakfast

    All the staff were excellent from arriving to leaving, very friendly, excellent customer service. The evening meal was excellent, quality and portion size was spot on. The Bread & Butter pudding got full marks

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    5.4
    I could never recommend this hotel to anyone. It offered poor value for money!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. To gain access to the bed room I had to ascend an external open steel staircase from the car park to an entrance door that led into a narrow corridor and hence to my room. 2.The bathroom was very small with a tiny basin smaller than the one I have in my downstairs cloakroom at home. The bed room was the smallest double room I have slept-in. 3. The pint of real ale I ordered at the bar before dinner was sour and returned and replaced with a lager. 4.The £22.00, 8oz sirloin steak was 40% gristle. On leaving they took the cost of it off my bill after I complained. 5.On the second day I needed to have breakfast at 07.30am. I was told that on Saturdays breakfast was at 08.30am but they would make me a bacon sandwich but it never arrived. 6.On the second night when I got back at 6pm from the conference I had been attending I was told they could not serve me dinner until 8.30pm so I was forced to find another eating place, ie, the pub in the village. 7.The steel staircase was very slippy and dangerous when wet! 5.There was no separate lounge area for guests all space was occupied by diners.

    1.The breakfast was very nice. 2.the staff were also polite and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Warm welcome, very clean and great food.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness was excellent and the food was great too. Easy to find and free parking. Very handy location for Cambridge and surrounding routes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    The staff were wonderful, as was the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only criticism is the size of the bedroom which was more like a cell than a room and the access to the bedrooms (gained by way of a large fire escape!)

    The staff were wonderful, as was the food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.3
    good location in a quiet vilage
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe some fruit with the breakfast cereal would be nice

    the food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff really friendly . The breakfast was good too,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice stay with some disappointing details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extremely thin walls which meant hearing our neighbours getting very friendly in the wee hours. The bathroom had the smell of drains.

    Really nice pub, breakfast was great, comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.0
    Stopover for Chilton Hall Vineyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room (room 5), one side of bed against the wall making getting in and out of bed very awkward.

    Great atmosphere in the bar / restaurant and excellent food at lunch, dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Good location for Anglesea Abbey and Cambridge P&R
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room with access only one side of the double bed. Small hand basin in bathroom - difficult to wet shave over.

    Great 'full English' breakfast. Well serviced pub restaurant with good food. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small and we were on the front and could hear the road .

    The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The food in the restaurant was excellent. So was the breakfast. Room was a bit small, but the other things outweighed that, and we managed. Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.8
    Would stay here again. Good half-way stop for south coast trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly noisy as we were in a front room right on the road. (However, there was a noisy extractor fan near some of the other rooms so maybe we got the best deal!)

    Clean and comfortable room, friendly staff, good breakfast and a lovely meal in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    Friendly, welcoming pub, sadly on a very busy road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    road noise--can`t be avoided but means we won`t stay again. very good choice of cooked breakfast but very little on offer if you don`t eat cooked breakfast

    excellent staff, very clean, lovely evening meals, nice outdoor seating, convenient for Ely, Cambridge etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    Overall experience was good, owner, staff all very pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Showers a little on the small side, but can manage for a couple of nights stay.

    Overall experience was good, owner, staff all very pleasant and friendly, food was exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Ideal location for visiting Cambridge .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all .

    The White Hart Is ideal for visiting Cambridge and reasonably priced. Superb food in the pubs lovely restaurant .This is our second visit here and we are planning to return in the future as we were made to feel so welcome .

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: