Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The White Hart 4 stars

High Street, Stockbridge, SO20 6HF, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Stockbridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 522 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was in a great location for us, lovely decor and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was very quick and abrupt as was check out- I was not asked if we enjoyed our stay or anything at all. My partner slept very well but I did not due to noise from other guests above and what appeared to be either a generator or fridge outside of the room (15). It would have been nice to have been asked by the receptionist if everything was okay with our stay.

    The hotel was in a great location for us, lovely decor and bathroom. Good breakfast with a lot of choice and free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent rooms, very comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service could be improved at evening mealtimes

    Excellent rooms, very comfy beds Perfect location for a family wedding Staff very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realise that we had to order fresh milk for the rooms for tea and coffee.

    Excellent friendly service and clean and tidy rooms. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    it was excellent
    • Family with young children
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    Everything about the place and staff plus food was really good, i would certainly stay there again, on my own or with family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Would not return because of stuffy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely hot and stuffy. Unable to open window enough as it was locked in a position only an inch open.

    The location, parking and the bar/restaurant and one excellent staff member.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    very enjoyable stay we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    banging door very evident for a while in room 8 must have been underneath us

    The whole experience was brilliant,superb food nice and friendly staff easy check in and check out.....smashing countryside wherever you look,fishing abounds and the real coutry feel abounds in this place,even as we stayed on a weekend with world cup football on,the fans were well behaved and left quietly,fathers day party was well behaved and we will return very soon ...many thanks to the great staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    A great place to break a journey in a lovely viiage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food we found disappointingly heavy, in particular the steak pie even when slathered in gravy.

    The rooms were cozy,clean,comfy; bathrooms were outstanding. Better than one would expect from an Inn. Receptionist and wait staff particularly helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Good standard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom steams up alot, the fan in wall is not enough to clear the hot air. This reflects on the condition of the ceiling in the bathroom. Alot make the bathroom very hot too.

    Great breakfast, comfortable room and good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Within walking distance of town centre. Room not the largest (No 12), not sure is others are larger. However, very clean. Food excellent and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I was leaving too early for the normal full breakfast but a coffee and large bacon sandwich were made - food in the restaurant was superb as was the service Excellent all round. Thanks you again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect accomodation for a weekend fishing trip on the river Test
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast OK but nothing special. I presume some front facing rooms could be quite loud due to the proximity to the road.

    Very comfortable bed. Great space outside for drinking and dining in the sunshine. Perfect location for a quiet walk down the high street. Friendly staff and atmosphere. Plenty of parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some cooling system within the room and remote did not work, had it been checked?.

    Atmosphere and decor of place. Staff sorted a small issue we had with the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    arrived when car park full, so had to park off road, until lunch time had finished and before school mums arrived !

    The hotel has a lot of character, including creaky floor boards ! Breakfast very good especially when set up in the Warren room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    A really enjoyable stay and aim to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger bedroom but we were a last minute booking and they were full with people staying for a function

    Good atmosphere, staff seem really happy in their work and eager to please, very comfortable bed, excellent shower room ensuite, food exceptional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice place bad nights sleep..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is so creeky it kept me awake all night when I rolled over or my partner and the room is to hot! You can't turn the radiators off. There is a huge fan in the room which you need to have on full power which is very noisy. I had about 2 hours sleep. Not great!

    The pub is great and people that work there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Cosy, affordable place to sleep, eat & drink in this charming Hampshire town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved staff attitude: at all times friendly and professional & in spite of a big wedding group and a birthday party we were served promptly at bar and for food. Cosy, comfy, clean! Ideal location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great welcome and service, great beer and great food with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mind your head on the low ceiling beams!

    Great welcome and service, great beer and great food with a menu, both for dinner and breakfast, that should satisfy even the most discerning tastes. A lovely place to stay if you want a nice quiet and relaxing break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Book it you won’t regret it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was good could not fault staff hotel food all very good quality.well worth the visit and will return soon when using Portsmouth ferry as very convenient stop over.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great value, great service - we'll be visiting again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attentive staff who took a genuine interest in helping us get the most from our stay in the area. The room was great value for money and despite being in the main part of the pub, very quiet. Nice atmosphere in the pub and a fantastic breakfast menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    An enjoyable stay - attention to detail needs a little work. Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dusty and the toilet could have been cleaner. We were in room 12 and on Friday night the people in the room above had a shower and the water leaked through considerably into our room. (Which we did notify staff about ) Breakfast on Sunday morning was disappointing- not very warm and not as well cooked as Saturday morning- poached eggs had water in them.

    Lovely location, good sized room, comfy bed and large shower. Rooms fitted out nicely. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on Saturday morning was lovely, good choice - hot and freshly cooked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Loved our stay and the staff really made it feel special. Will definately be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been nice to have a couple of chairs in the bedroom

    The staff were excellent, warm and friendly and very accommodating of well behaved pets. The food was good with the breakfast exceptional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing, perhaps the only thing would be the outside are to the back of the hotel but not a deal breaker

    Everything was just incredible. Amazing room with brilliant eye to detail. Breakfast selection was amazing. People in the hotel couldn't have been more helpful. Great stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Evening meal and breakfast was very good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal and breakfast was very good! Breakfast was cooked to order with an excellent choice of buffet on show too. Staff are all very accommodating, a very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Unlikely to visit it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening menu was very average and quality disappointing. On one occasion staff congregated outside our suite door and were conversing loudly which disturbed our rest. Generally lacking in atmosphere. The manager on occasions was unfriendly and had a curt manner.

    Upgraded to a suite as the booking request for a double bed was not granted. Suite was very comfortable. Most of the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast menu was lovely with good combination on offer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows had gaps so it was cold. the staff bought us a heater and the room warmed up very quickly with the curtains closed in the evening. The cooked breakfast is not great there could be more of it.

    Great room and very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Boutique countryside Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Such a lovely place. Located right in the centre of a pretty little village, in the heart of a stunning countryside, this Inn makes a perfect base for walkers/hikers. The stunning historic building offers comfortable rooms, beautifully decorated in a mixture of rustic/industrial site. Spacious walk-in shower, super comfy king size bed, coffee machine in the room, fluffy bathrobes... Couldn’t wish for more. Delicious and plentiful breakfast in the morning, included in the price. The restaurant offers a good selection of meals, and the food is fresh and tasty. Staff very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much to ask. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would be happy to come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    I'll be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more space in the bathroom, but not a lot can be done about that!

    Lovely pub with rooms, comfortable bed and excellent shower. Standard double great for one person. And the room was well lit, so many hotel rooms are so dimly lit .... Very generous breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Brightening up January
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything went well from start to finish - nothing to criticise.

    We had dinner soon after we arrived and it was excellently presented. Next morning breakfast was cooked to order - lovely mushrooms. The whole experience was a perfect way to brighten up January and we will return

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Perfect one night stay with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean with great decor. The bathroom was large, clean, great shower and toiletries. Really enjoyed our stay, both evening meal and breakfast were very nice meals.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful just what the Doctor ordered before the madness of the Christmas festivites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Everything about the property and out stay with extra little touches as it was Christmas Eve. Satsumas, sweets, Prosecco and Beer in the room at no extra charge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Great hospitality and a wonderful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hospitality and a wonderful breakfast. The room was excellent and the staff and manager were very friendly. The property was nicely maintained and the dinner we had was excellent. Breakfast in the morning was outstanding and my request for a cooked vegetarian breakfast was perfect. Overall this was a great stay and we would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.3
    Overall ok but the bed issue left a slightly bitter taste in my mouth unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I offered a king room with 1 king sized bed but instead got two singles pushed up together that kept moving away from one another so had a terrible nights sleep which I told the manager whilst checking out and didn't even apologise!!!... I was not amused...

    The setting, the decor, the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    Room was OK for one night, wouldn,t stay any longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have never stayed in an hotel room before that didn't have a wardrobe. Also, because of the small high up windows, the room felt a little claustrophobic. Breakfast disappointing, limited fresh fruit, overcooked bacon and undercooked fried egg.

    Comfortable bed, clean room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Delightful stay in a well designed & comfortable inn; delicious breakfast & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    Very homely & comfortable; lovely room with some quirky, but great details; superb large shower room with walk-in shower, great beer, friendly, helpful staff & manager; excellent breakfast & convenient loacation for easy access to Winchester.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    A lovely hotel to stay in with family, a very cosy pub/hotel... amazing food also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the walls to be quite thin, could hear next door a lot.

    Lovely hotel, the rooms had everything you need in them and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom facilities were great, loved the shower. In a great location and can walk straight into the town, which has lovely shops and places to eat. The hotel food is very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful, such a friendly hotel, food brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few mishaps with our booking, their system needs looking at.Extra days were booked, unfortunately they had been lost in the system,luckily they had rooms available for the extra days.Could have been a very bad experience.

    Unique bedrooms, friendly staff made our family get together perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful location, well appointed and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good - I cannot think of anything that needed improvement.

    The rooms were clean, tidy and appeared newly decorated. Excellent showers. Staff were friendly and the food was very good, particularly the breakfast, where there was a superb menu choice. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Very comfortable hotel, good well appointed accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable hotel, good well appointed accommodation and facilities including coffee machine. Good food and value for money. All staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    Generally pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee machine in our room was broken, and so had been removed but not replaced. As such, we couldn’t have coffee in the room.

    The location was ideal, and the breakfast was of a very good quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    All in all it is a nice place to stay , staff nice and good food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have stayed before in room 3 which was great . This time room 8 not so good bathroom too small and bed not comfy . Needed to work but not much space to do so . Very small room. Food great but service on night one was appalling had to wait 30 minutes for a drink .

    The food was good and the place was really clean.Easy parking and nice and quite in the evening

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Good value, excellent accommodation and food... would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything... room decor lovely, beds very comfy, decent shower. Location good, suited is as we visited Winchester and Mottisfont. Food excellent and very reasonable, freshly cooked and hot! Staff very nice and friendly. Can't think of anything I didn't like.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location. Friendly reception staff, very quiet. Clean comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast with plenty to choose from. Staff were courteous and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.7
    Lovely room, good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pub was incredibly busy so getting a spot in the car park was virtually impossible. The fan in the en-suite ran all night and would not turn off resulting in no sleep. The manager initially offered me £10 off which was met with a rather sarcastic "as much as that" Then came up with a better offer of 50% off which I accepted but still would of preferred the sleep over the money.

    The room was nice crisp clean sheets and very good selection of tea and coffee along with 2 bottles of water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Very happy to stay at the white heart, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toast was cold morning...the cesar salad had too much dressing on it

    The room was very modern and with cute style...we loved having the nespresso coffee machine

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Really pleasant and comfortable stay, friendly staff and lovely food
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny things really - didn't have a coffee machine in my room like the last time I stayed and the doors into the bathroom were hard to open. Other than that all fine

    Perfect full English breakfast...!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Apart from that dinner was delicious. I will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rather rushed - the cooked part (no complaints about this is as was well cooked and presented) but delivered before I had finished fruit etc. and coffee also put on table in a cup whilst I was getting first course hence it got cold very quickly. Why not put it in something like a cafetière then it would stay hot! Also a lady started washing the floor whilst I was still eating and that does make you feel you need to leave!

    Bed very comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at breakfast was very slow.... Also there was a little nice outside our room at the back of the hotel....some kind of fan going on an off.

    The rooms were extremely comfortable and clean, good quality linen. Food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    For a short stop I would recommend it, not for longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit close to the pub and not really a good window. So it felt a bit dark and stale. One night we could not eat there and had to go to the other hotel for diner, strange.

    Easy parking and value for money. Breakfast menu was also good if you like the English breakfast options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Lovely place in history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silly thing but it would be useful. You have two keys to get into the stable rooms. One is for the front door, the other is the room key. Why not put a spot of paint (or nail varnish?) on the front door key so guests always know which is which.

    Stylish and quirky, far more impressive than I'd expected. Nice staff, tasty food with creative breakfast choices. Very comfortable bed and cosy. Need to go back in winter to bask in front of the pub log fire

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Very pleased, would stay there again and would recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was exceedingly comfortable. Room was rustic being in an old building but nice and warm. I had the vegetarian breakfast which was delicious and generous. My wife had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on toast which was the same. That set is up for the day! Also, the very old church is well worth a look, as is the high street with it's different aged buildings. Streams and a river cross under the road and a variety of shops, cafes and restaurants are scattered along both sides of the high street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    mixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room in the stables. One very small high window - dark room. very noisy. Soundproofing very poor. People walking about upstairs from 5am (staff possibly). Creaking floors upstairs with a generator/fridge/extractor fan or something similar which went on and off for what seemed like all night. Recycling lorry just outside window at 5.30. Delivery van at 4.30, with engine running and radio on. Bad night's sleep. Try and book room in main hotel and do not accept the stables

    Fabulous breakfast and evening meal - lots of choice. Nice tea bags in room. Great shower. Spotless, stylish room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely clean spacious bathroom with both a roll top bat and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely clean spacious bathroom with both a roll top bat and large walk in shower Large comfortable bed Nespresso machine and bottled water in the room Gorgeous breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Even better than we expected - a very positive experience, for a one night stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs being allowed in the breakfast room

    Fresh milk was provided in an insulated flask so I could still use it to make a cup of tea in my room the next morning. Removeable coat hangers, and a rail on which to hang things. Comfortable beds. Big shower and bathroom. Interesting vintage decor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    It was comfortable but disappointing, especially regarding early weekend breakfast and check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is too early for a weekend stay, finishing at 9.30 on both days. Checkout at 10 is also pretty grim given we booked Friday and Saturday nights. Double room is tiny and kept banging into things.

    The bed was comfortable and the hotel is very centrally located

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    We had a very enjoyable stay and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhere secure to store bikes would be helpful

    The room had everything we needed and was very nicely decorated with a modern shower. The receptionist was also very helpful in changing our room from a twin to a double when I had booked the twin in error.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel but they need to fix the fire alarm!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On my first night, the fire alarm went off at 12:45 am and 3:45 am. Apparently, it was a fault with the system. An apology from the hotel directly to me would have been appreciated

    Nice hotel set inside a pub, which was also very good. Food all round was excellent at both breakfast and in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable inn well located for Stockbridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 had absurdly nowhere to hang towels in use.

    Friendly staff. Excellent location. Particularly good breakfast menu. Comfortable room. Nice atmosphere in restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Highly Recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great good looking room, very clean & friendly staff!! Absolutely recommended! I would personally go back there if I am in town! Also good breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    We liked every thing on offer for our stay the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room although lovely it could of done with a comfortable chair

    We liked every thing on offer for our stay the staff were lovely and friendly made my husbands 70th birthday special to us

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shortbread in tin on arrival Not replenished for second night Ran out Of croissants on sunday abruptly told 'no more' Not enough hanging space or hooks in room 14 Needs a long mirror in room

    Cooked english breakfast Coffee maker in room Beds comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.8
    Staggered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comment. It met our overnight needs to the extent that we required.

    An excellent menu, well priced, and enjoyable. We have stayed at "better" hotels that could learn something from the 'White Hart'. But over-all it is just a Pub and cannot be rated higher than 2*. It benefits from a monopoly position, in a small town, in a tourist area. Clean and reasonably comfortable. We might well come again one day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice Pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been bigger,no wardrobe just a small rail.

    The pub has a nice atmosphere,food is good.If you like to walk,your right on the Test Way walk,it's about 5 miles to Mottisfont Abbey,well worth a go.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely old building, yet rooms still a very high standard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building, yet rooms still a very high standard with beautiful bathrooms! Great food and drink downstairs and the pretty highstreet of Stockbridge is right by you, the waterlanes are quaint! Had a quiet nights sleep, only woken by the dawn chorus. Easy parking and superb staff, Thankyou all!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I am a heater myself I think the room was slightly too warm.

    Breakfast is amazing, bed is really comfy and the overal interior is really amazing if you ask me

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.4
    Pretty average pub/hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms in the stable block have VERY thin partition walls and ceilings. Good if you like to eavesdrop on the other guests conversations and ablutions but not for me. Lots of fishing people stay there so expect inconsiderate slamming of doors and car doors at 6 in the morning. Not impressed with main meals on 1st night so we had bar snacks on the second. £6 for a dish of 3 tempura prawns and £5-50 for 3 x 1" cubes of pigs cheek! - don't bother and try one of the many other places in Stockbridge. Would we stay there again - no.

    Stockbridge and the immediate area very nice. Breakfast was also very nice with good selection, quality and presentation. Other than that a pretty average pub/hotel with pretty average / below average food for the price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Choice of breakfast was very good and the full english was excellent. The decor and furnishings were very nice. The whole place had a good vibe.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Renovation works paid off
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have been better - would not recommend the bacon sandwiches for example, but generally is basic food served OK.

    Great staff - very friendly & accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    good pub with rooms
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small niggles that could be ironed out to make it even better. e.g. The bedside lights were trendy but not much use as reading lamps. The room was a bit dark - (see above) Good shower but the lip on the shower tray very shallow so bath mat was soaked.

    Really friendly, helpful staff- very happy to accommodate a friend to join us for breakfast, which was very reasonably priced. Delicious breakfast. Nice decor. Lovely to be offered a small flask of fresh milk for our tea in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and comfortable hotel, excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We heard creaky floor boards and very noisy plumbing from the room above.

    The welcome was second to none. Dinner was delicious and the choice and quality of the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    I thought the room was good value for money and included an...
    • Solo traveller
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    popular spot for the locals - the restaurant/pub maintained a steady stream of customers. I forgot to ask for another flask of milk for my morning coffee - that is not a reflection on the White Hart but on me.

    I thought the room was good value for money and included an excellent breakfast. Staff was very helpful and attentive. The in room facilities included an excellent coffee maker (Italian brand w/the capsules) and they provided fresh milk for the coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Pleasent hotel. Staff undertrained. breakfast excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen open.

    Kitchen was not open at 4pm when we arrived. Shut again when we got back at 930pm. However they did make us a sandwhich. Room was not ready when we arrived at 4pm

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    A real gem of a find
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a wardrobe rather than open hooks and hangers. Would have liked a chair with a back rather than a stool.

    Bed was really comfy, great selection of teas, liked the flask of fresh milk rather than the individual pots of long life milk. Great choice on offer at breakfast, good food and good service. Plenty of storage and hooks for coats. Excellent shower with instant hot water

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Proper spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar shut at eleven even for residents, wed travelled 400 miles straight from work and we could only have one drink when we'd have liked another to unwind after a long trip, plus bar manager was more interested in some lad she was flirting with to serve us

    Excellent venue excellent food and beer

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    The hotel/pub has been extended and refurbished since...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no problems

    The hotel/pub has been extended and refurbished since our previous visits. The new designs, décor ,and facilities are very good and we had a comfortable break for our journey. The outstanding thing about the place was the quality of service and the demeanour of the staff. We use many hotels on our trips, and have to say that the service provided was outstanding. The staff dealt with clients promptly and pleasantly, the atmosphere was excellent, and all staff should be commended for their efforts. Very well done to all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Good value for money in a lovely, clean room. Perfect when you need to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have a plug for the bath but informed staff in the morning and they apologised and said they would get one in ready for the next visitors. Everything else was perfect.

    Room was lovely, very clean with nice touches such as fresh milk given to us in a flask, posh tea and coffee in the room. Nice modern decor in a rustic style. The food was delicious and staff were polite and friendly. The location was lovely, very peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The White Hart traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: