Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Wiltshire B&B and inn reviews
  4. Swindon B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of The White Hart

Reviews of The White Hart This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

The White Hart, Oxford Road, Stratton St Margaret, Swindon, SN3 4JD, United Kingdom

#3 of 15 B&Bs and inns in Swindon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1153 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    The price, excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we didn't like.

    The price, excellent value for money. Plenty of parking, staff very pleasant and helpful. We had b&b so only had breakfast which was plentiful, good quality and well coked. When we arrived late Sunday afternoon the dining area was full and obviously very popular.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    Very nice comfortable place and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit disappointed that no meal was served after 6pm on the Sunday because it meant I had to go somewhere else in an area I did not know having travelled a long way already.

    Location was perfect for me and easy to find. Rooms were really good with everything you could need - comfy beds, large shower, tv, seats, coffee .....

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    10
    Nicely designed and spacious rooms, really helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating, including the bathroom towel rail coming on and off with the card meant we could not warm the bathroom up over breakfast. Minor gripe on my part is I don't like rectangular loo seats - I don't have a rectangular bottom! I know they're fashionable (I'm in constructions and many clients are specifying them) but being a little small in the nether regions they're just not comfortable!

    Nicely designed and spacious rooms, really helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    8.3
    Generally good and comfortable in a quiet secured setting
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wanted an omelette for breakfast and was told not prepared. This was a bit disappointing when other egg products were available.Also I think 2 toasts on the plate would be preferable. At least ask the client how many are required.

    Very spacious bright room with facilities and very comfortable bed. Nice breakfast and service.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    It was a very good decision to book a room at the White Hart. Very pleasant stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot complain.

    Everything was perfect, definitely above of my expectations. I appreciate friendly approach of the staff and... breakfast. English of course!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.5
    It was quiet and clean really liked it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We came into the pub at 9:02 after being travelling al day and were turned away for food as we were 2 minutes late. I would suggest that food should be served till the latest check in time or room service should be made available. Doesn’t make sense to have the food time end before latest check in as everyone will think you are still serving food till that time.

    It was quiet and clean really liked it

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed it. A gem of a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was cold when we checked in and took ages to warm up

    The rooms are very clean, comfy, and spacious. My partner loves the croissants there, and I like the fact they have gluten free bread/toast at breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    The room was immaculate and very well presented, it was recently renovated and was modern and comfortable. The accommodation is in a separate block which meant we weren't kept up by the noise of the pub. There is a bus stop close by with regular buses into Swindon town centre so it was easy to get there and back. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was amazing and the drinks are reasonably priced. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this inn and would happily stay here again!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    Had everything I look for in location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accomodation block is a separate modern building. walkway between here and the inn was partly covered but still a potential to get wet if raining. Shower head in bathroom could be handheld or fixed on wall pole however this fitting was not stiff enough to hold head at a good angle for shower - had to stand against the wall.

    Large room with own thermostat to adjust room temperature. comfortable double bed. 40inch TV. modern bathroom with shower. bar/restaurant facility with good menu options. friendly helpful staff. plenty of adjacent parking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    Superb accommodation and fantastic staff throughout
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negatives, the White Hart met or exceeded my exceptions and they should be applauded for running such a confident, comfortable and friendly establishment. Well done to all involved.

    Very accessible hotel with plenty of parking close to accommodation. Check-in was very efficient and all staff were excellent. Fantastic bedroom much larger than expected, plus really good bathroom with walk-in shower facility. Separate table close to power point ideal for the laptop and comfortable working. Brilliant breakfast too. Really enjoyed my stay and I will return.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was happy with everything.

    Accomodation was excellent value for money. Bed was really comfortable, and breakfast was excellent. Couldn't fault our stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Very good and efficient staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we could find fault with.

    All rooms are spacious and clean and in a separate block to the pub.so it is quiet. The pub has really good food and as a result well frequented.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Can not complain about anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There could be something on the table at breakfast to put the used teabags in.

    The manager was most helpful. We had a small problem with the TV and he dealt with it there and then. All the staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We enjoyed every minute of our stay! We arrived on Friday evening and the restaurant was fully booked for the time we wanted to have dinner. However, they got us a small table for two and we enjoyed our delicious meal! The staff were very friendly. Breakfast exceeded our expectations as there were so many choices. We had all our meals at the hotel's restaurant and we were very happy with our choices. The room was very good too, soundproof, cozy and ideal for our weekend away from the city. Totally recommend!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.8
    Really great - would recommend to anyone, and already have!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly odd location in a residential area, but easy access to A419 and M4

    Great atmosphere in the pub - at last someone has got the lighting right, low and moody! Menu great, food lovely, service friendly. Very nice rooms - obviously brand new.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    10
    Rightly rated one if the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t think of any negatives.

    Amazing place, rightly rated as one of the best. Modern, spacious rooms, good WiFi, great food and easy access. Staff very helpful. Good area for a morning run- check out Swindon’s cycle paths. Sainsbury’s 400m away. Good security. Great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Everything, this accommodation was stunningly good. Facilities and comfort in the room were outstanding. Great location, not far to city centre, not far to motorway junction. Fabulous, great welcome, great accomodation, great breakfast, and bar and restaurant if required.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was great.

    Clean and spacious rooms. Food in the pub was great in the evening. We had a great full English breakfast in the morning. Lots of parking on site. Great atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    9.6
    Very very comfortable,clean and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in.We were made to wait until it was 3 o’ clock on the nose before the receptionist would even acknowledge our arrival. We understood that our room would not be ready until then but we just wanted to let them know we had arrived.Bit petty. And we were only talking half hour early anyway!!

    It was conveniently located for our journey,very good value for money,food was very good and room was very comfortable,clean and had everything needed,overall very pleased and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    10
    Quite a nice, restful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Extremely comfortable beds, good lighting, great bathroom. Food selection good in restaurant, did not have to venture into town. Bartender helpful with directions, provided ice for our drinks, also helped with luggage. Nice place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    Will stay there again and would recommend it to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Rooms were very good,bathroom size excellent. Food in the restaurant was very nice and plenty of choices, breakfast excellent staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    7.9
    Ideal business stop over.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee wasn't great and the shower head was gummed up with lime scale, but this is a common thing at ever hotel I've stayed at.

    The accommodation was separate to the bar/restaurant so it was quieter which was nice, the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The rooms are well presented and theres plenty of parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    The hotel was great value for money and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was great value for money and the breakfast was fab.The Sunday carvery meal was excellent and it was lovely to be served by waitresses who looked like they enjoyed their job and always had a smile.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Great night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could not fault anything wrong with the hotel to be honest.

    The room was spacious and had everything we needed. The room had a table and chair and really nice decor. The pub also did lovely breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    9.2
    Very good overnight stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed overnight as I was attending a business function. Great large room. Good sized bathroom. Super comfy bed. Just off the main A419 so brilliant location. Very well cooked breakfast. Exceptional value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    television reception was not very good although we didn't use it much so was not really a problem

    the bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in the breakfast was superb

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.5
    The bolt on my room door did not function without major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bolt on my room door did not function without major wrenching of the door to align it so the bolt would work. They did not give me a new room. I reported it to four staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, restaurant good, but requires planning to get to work for a specific time in the morni
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a little too far into swindon to get back to the motorway quickly at rush hour in the morning but with some planning this can be resolved.

    rooms were a great size, bathroom too. very comfy stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    Great accommodation , good breakfast and very convenient for all places in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really . On.y one point ,we are fairly elderly and the bathroom was excellent ,very modern and a big shower cubicle but all very smooth with nothing to grab on to if your are a bit unsteady

    The room was spacious and very comfortable . Good bathroom , points for charging electronic devices . Could not ask for more

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    Wedding Prep Venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location off the A419, took us 5 minutes to drive to the wedding! Definitely worth what we paid, as breakfast was excellent and the room really spacious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    Great Food, Atmosphere and really comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were stunning, lots of room and great shower! Breakfast and dinner were delicious and Sky Sports for the football and boxing which my partner loved!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    8.8
    High value for the traveller on the move.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a criticism, but it is a "just" a very convenient and excellent hotel to stop for great dinner and comfortable sleep.

    Rooms were first class, parking easy, location very good if you are just stopping to sleep. Very well run business.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay and thoroughly nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As above, the lack of a comfortable easy chair.

    We have stayed several times because the accommodation and food are good. The only negative comment about the room would be the lack of a comfortable easy chair.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.6
    Such a lovely hotel, we’ll be back if we’re in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could be a little more environmentally savvy (glasses instead of plastic wrapped plastic cups in bathroom, mini milk capules, replacing towels daily) great to avoid having individual shampoo bottles though.

    Comfort, brekkie, tea selection, quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Another pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable rooms. King size bed with good quality bedding and comfy pillows. Very large walk in shower. We ate in the restaurant the evening of our stay and enjoyed the meal. Breakfast the following morning was very good with an excellent choice of cooked or continental food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great value - highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was a little abrupt on our arrival - probably due to the restaurant being quite busy - however, see positive comments. TV was positioned ridiculously high on the wall - But I didn't watch it anyway !

    Quiet, clean and comfortable and just what I expect or wish for from a Hotel - as good a nights sleep or better than your own bed. Breakfast was perfect, lots of choice, freshly cooked and served with a smile. Bathroom was a good size and the shower spacious. Our family booked 3 rooms and everyone was more than happy with the White Hart . We were allowed into our room at 1pm even though earliest check in was supposed to 3pm - result. Decoration was modern but not sparse. Great photographs on the wall of the bedroom and in the corridor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly met our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike here.

    The room was excellent. Quite spacious with a luxury bathroom and very comfortable beds. The Pub/restaurant had a good selection of traditional meals very well cooked and presented. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    good valve for money and would stay there again if down in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had could not log onto the free wifi and we where not the only ones, was not that important as we where only staying for one night.

    The modern style of the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    8.8
    Still my first choice in Swindon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was not entirely clean. We had to use a fan which was kept in the wardrobe, and it turned out to be very dusty.

    The staff, the food, the size of the room and en suite, the comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay en route to somewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent a night in the 'hotel' part of The White Hart, in the annex out the back. It's a fantastic place to stay. Breakfast is served in one of the sections of the 'pub' next door in the morning and is a hearty breakfast to say the least. We skipped lunch! The accommodation is also very good. Quite new, super clean, extremely large and comfortable bed as well as a large room. Big flat screen TV (bring your HDMI cable or USB stick to watch something other than Freeview). Nothing at all to complain about. It's an excellent place to stay if you're passing through the area and need to stop down for the night. Free wifi throughout and it's just off a main road going from Oxford to the west. Check in is done at the cashier desk in the pub.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    Love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all!

    Everything! Huge comfy bed, spotless classic decor, quiet nooks and crannies in the excellent bar/lounge and fab food! A great stay for a great price!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    8.3
    The room was comfortable and the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extractor fan needed in the bathroom. Steamed up everytime you used the shower.

    The room was comfortable and the breakfast was good. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was very good, nothing we didn't like.

    Rooms exceptionally clean and well furnished. Bathroom excellent, lovely large shower. Great choice of breakfast food on offer, full English freshly cooked, plenty of cereals, juices, croissants, jams,pastries. Plenty of parking. Very happy indeed, will definitely stay here again on vists to family in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not sure if room service was available but would have been nice if it was.

    We were upgraded to the suite which was a nice surprise. Was easy check in and out. Excellent breakfast too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    10
    The white hart, swindon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was excellent

    The room is decorated to a high standard, and are lovely and comfortable , the breakfast was delicious so much choice to have, stayed here a few times highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    10
    A lovely comfortable accommodation which is linked to a busy but extremely friendly bar/restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in room 23; which was very tidy and neat, huge bed and very comfy, massive walk in shower and very modern clean ensuite bathroom. Breakfast had plenty of choice and brilliant staff service each morning making you feel at ease and relaxed. The bar is quite busy in the evenings but there are plenty of tables tucked away making it feel quite private and cosy. Lovely choice of evening meals and fair prices on all food and drink. Parking is free and plenty of spaces.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    10
    The bed was so comfortable, it felt like a memory foam...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was so comfortable, it felt like a memory foam mattress. All the furniture was high-end and really well maintained. The walk in shower was lovely and all the facilities were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    10
    Fabulous.Felt it was an excellent choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great!

    Loved it all.Could see everything had been upgraded.Room was excellent,very clean and bathroom was quite big with a super shower. Bedroom was a cut above premier inn.Colours and ambience of room far superior to others we have stayed in. Staff very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    Could not fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One small comment, when I booked it did not say that the restaurant closed at 6 on a Sunday. We planned on having a meal later but had to eat almost as soon as we arrived.

    Could not fault it. The carvery was superb, and the breakfast great. Will return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the provision of bedroom furniture was of a high standard and included wardrobe drawers table and two chairs. Also there was a lockable interconnecting door to the next room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    Great room, great price, great location! Would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet roll holder was too low. You had to pick the whole thing up to get at the paper. It would also have been beneficial to have a light over the mirror and tea making area.

    The room was very good, the bed very comfortable and a nice wide one. The walk in shower was a bonus as we are now at an age when stepping into a bath can be difficult.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    3.8
    Not a pleasant experience at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. Service is terrible. If you are not British or white, do avoid this place. The staff were rude to us, and in literally the next instance, extremely polite to a British couple. Such discriminatory practices have no place in today's world. 2. Village doesn't feel safe. Got racist shouts when we came towards the inn. (Not at the inn itself, but along the streets) 3. Rooms were hot in the heatwave. Fan provided were not strong at all, and barely blew air towards you. I guess it will be okay in autumn or spring, but not in the summer heat.

    Nothing to like about.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    8.8
    a comfortable stay in a location that was convenient for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    for breakfast I ordered poached eggs on toast - according to the menu the toast should have been buttered but wasn't and so it was soggy.

    the room was a good size, very clean and very comfortable. good size bathroom with a walk in shower staff very pleasant and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    9.2
    Great clean new rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would not add bed for 3rd child in a room. The double bed is, however, super big, so all our 3 kids fit in it.

    Great clean new rooms. Great breakfast. Very accessible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    Comfortable, welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Possibly because of where I live, but I noticed the traffic noise from the dual carriageway near the hotel. Some noise from inside when other guests let their room doors slam instead of closing them gently

    The room was very comfortable, complimentary tea/coffee available, huge TV on the wall!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    Great accommodation, fantastic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to compel about, fabulous stay.

    Everything! Our 2nd stay here and it is perfect for us. Clean, comfortable and staff are very attentive, polite and friendly. Quiet in the room, too, another plus, for us. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing brilliant atmosphere, good value and great staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of air-conditioning, was difficult to cool the room without opening the window which, due to the closeness of the traffic would have been noisy.

    Sound proof room. Airy, comfortable and very helpful staff. Great evening meal in the white heart.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    A very comfortable hotel which offers excellent service..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a warm welcome and all of the staff were pleasant and efficient. The accommodation is in a separate block with its own car park, making it easy to access. The rooms are very comfortable indeed, being spacious, well-equipped and clean. Breakfast was also excellent. A great place to stay, offering good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    Everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows too hard.

    Everything else. Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was good and good value. Good choice of beers in bar. Room was superb, walk in power shower. Good location, close to M4 & A419.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing night and breakfast - thank you.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find anything but signage for Reception took some finding.

    I loved the quiet night and slept extremely well. The breakfast was excellent. Loved the fruit salad and fresh tea in a pot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred the shower to be one you didnt have to adjust.

    For the price the room exceeded expectations. The bed was big and comfy, there were 2 chairs and a stool. Liked the fact accommodation seperate from main restaurant. The evening meal we had was delicious.Special mention to a lvely young girl called Eleanor who booked us in and served us that evening in restaurant. She was very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.3
    Staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location could be better. Would have been perfect if town centre was in walking distance

    Staff were fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. And value for money was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel with great food and convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C was not working properly but was able to open the window so not really an issue for me at the time

    Great hotel with excellent accommodation and food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    High standard for a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have preferred a non-slip mat in the (excellent) shower and the TV to have been mounted lower (slight crick in the neck).

    The style and quality of all the fixtures and fittings is excellent and the bed is large and comfy. Couldn't get over the fact that we had TWO decent chairs and a table, most unusual! The location is quiet considering the proximity of the main road (shielded by trees).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.2
    Great quiet hotel convenient to the motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have a fridge.

    Lovely comfortable room, extremely quiet, great facilities, clean, massive bed, very good parking, close enough to motorway, breakfast was superb and the staff were very professional and friendly. Will definitely stay here again if I need to stay somewhere in Swindon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely comfortable room with great shower.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The proximity to the main road meant it was a bit noisy with the window open but obviously can't be helped. Well situated for getting into Swindon so road noise easily compensated by this.

    Lovely comfortable room with great shower. Food at the pub was good and reasonably priced. The hotel building was very clean and modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.5
    basic room ok food personally not for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    just the location & the fact that it's a pub so people were allowed to smoke so all the seating outside was smoking no good when it's a hot sunny day as it was when we were there as smoke is constantly blowing over you

    Room was ok nothing special the food was alright don't think I would use again just because of the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Great stay at a great price..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Spacious clean room with a great bathroom and shower. Excelent meals in the restaurant. The staff are so helpfull and friendly and the place is well situated for visiting Bath, Bristol and lots of other local historical sites.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Preferred stop over in Swindon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great modern and comfortable rooms with good sized beds and excellent powerful walk-in shower rooms, the carvery was very enjoyable and the breakfast exceptional, staff helpful, we have stayed before and most certainly will be again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely stay here again.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that was lacking was there wasn’t an iron or ironing board in the room, but these were available from reception.

    Spacious modern room, very comfortable bed, excellent bathroom facilities with a high spec walk in power shower. There was a slight concern that there maybe noise from the busy main road but there wasn’t, you would think you were in the middle of the countryside because it was so quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.8
    Nicer than a chain, good amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food could have been better, but it was still an improvement on most motorway stops.

    Very convenient to have a restaurant onsite, staff were helpful, room was very quiet and clean, parking was easy and close.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Will definitely use the White Hart next time in the Swindon area. Excellent on all counts.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think of

    The White Hart is an excellent place to stay. The facilities are top quality but what makes it a cut above are the staff. Friendly and extremely efficient even under pressure on very busy evenings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Lovely facilities, location and service. We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have a bit of a problem getting up stairs, so would love to see a lift fitted!

    Friendly and professional staff. Excellent location. Clean, spacious and well-appointed rooms. First class breakfast.No hesitation in recommending the White Hart to everyone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.5
    Accommodation good and just right for a 'stop-over'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt the evening meal was a little disappointing - prawn starter good but pork main course a little dry. My husband felt the spinach which accompanied his sea bass was pretty tasteless.

    The room was spacious and clean - good size ensuite. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.8
    The room and restaurant/ bar area was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We was disappointed that the kitchen closed at 9pn so the last booking for a table was 08.30 which meant we had to eat somewhere else The heating in only working in the room when the card was in the the wall slot which meant the room was cold when we got back to it .but still a very nice place to stay

    The room and restaurant/ bar area was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75