Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Staffordshire hotel reviews
  4. Uttoxeter hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The White Hart Hotel

Reviews of The White Hart Hotel

6-8 Carter Street, Uttoxeter, ST14 8EU, United Kingdom

#9 of 10 hotels in Uttoxeter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 667 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.0

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2020

    8.0
    Nice hotel in a very good position. ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a disco in the restaurant bar area all night from 6pm to 11.3pm very noisy

    6 room was clean and bed was very comfortable. ..bathroom very nice

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was a little loud with a young crowd on the Saturday night, understandable on a feature day, but didn’t detract from stay as it didn’t go on too late.

    Clean and spacious rooms with good sized bedding and bathrooms. Newly laid carpets throughout. Central town location. Very well located for local racecourse.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2020

    8.0
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful, food was excellent

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2020

    9.2
    Nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cold in February. Couldn’t turn the heating up any higher as it was controller centrally.

    Spacious rooms

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2020

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a major issue with noise. The property is very old so the windows were single glazed- and even had a hole in one between the lead. Our room was directly above the bar so we could hear the speaker through the walls even at 4pm. There was a large (very loud!!!) birthday party on the Saturday night- the music was booming through the walls until 12:30am- when I finally snapped and had to complain to management. Oh, and a couple thought it would be ok to have a photo shoot/screaming match at 11pm directly outside our door! This was not ok- they shouldn’t have been allowed upstairs! I complained when we left, and said I was not willing to pay for the second night. No manager on the property so asked them to call. They did call on the Monday afternoon and a refund was issued for the second night which was much appreciated.

    Lovely building, and the decor was interesting! Staff were friendly and helpful. We ate food on the Friday night, had a mix of tapas and a chicken skewer- all really tasty. Well stocked bar. Room was lovely, bed really comfortable. Powerful shower over the bath. Breakfast on both day’s was great.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2020

    10
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 2 nights in a very comfy 4 poster bed. We enjoyed superb breakfasts and dined in their excellent restaurant both nights because the food was so delicious with very friendly service.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2020

    10
    Hotel very nice but check if they have any themed night on if you are going for the food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was above the toilets and all we could hear until midnight was the toilet doors slamming and the hand dryers going. Not good when we all had to be at work the following day by 8.30. Told by one member of staff breakfast was between 7.30 - 10.30 Sunday morning. Went down at 7.45 for breakfast to be told we do not serve until 8am the cleaner did make us a drink but had to rush our food to get to work on time. Was a little disappointed with the menu Saturday night we were not told when booking it was a country and Western night and the normal menu would be off. We had told my business partner's about the fantastic food you served and was disappointed with the temporary menu that evening. We would not have booked if we had known. The food was nice we had but did not really want a burger.

    Rooms very luxurious and comfortable stayed before so repeat customer. Booked 3 rooms this time for myself and business partners everyone liked there rooms.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2020

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy all night long Breakfast lousy coffee, not a good choice on offer

    Friendly staff couldn’t fault them

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2020

    8.3
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic although clean it wasn’t in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Our room was in the extended part of the building. Blackout curtains needed & furniture very cheap looking.

    The location was fantastic right in centre of town & a 10 minute walk to racecourse. Very comfortable bed & fabulous breakfast freshly cooked.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2020

    8.0
    good location and will use again but ask for a room at the back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were in a room above the pub and the noise went on until after midnight

    great breakfast, very clean and great staff

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2020

    8.0
    Perfect stopover and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Clean, tidy, everything worked and the staff were extremely helpful, courteous and informative

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault anything, had super evening meal in the restaurant and breakfast was amazing too! Really comfortable bed, lovely room and very helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2020

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room far too cold on a winters night Heating should be on earlier

    Food/bar

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2020

    10
    Friendly family business
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everthing but only couple of things.... Room was very basic not what is advertised and the pillows were very hard and not comfortable. Lack of staff around reception

    Staff excellent very friendly food superb. Had to send steaks back as over cooked but very quick to rectify.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2020

    8.0
    Fantastic location for the races
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room took a while to warm up

    Location excellent

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2020

    10
    Loved it...... 💙
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls in the bedrooms - you can hear everything (and i mean everything!!) through the walls. You hear whats going on and being said. Ear plugs a must for our next visit.

    Beautiful and unipue bar/restaurant area Lovely food, amazing, friendly staff. Great location, lots of pubs nearby. 10 minute walk to the racecourse. Comfy bed. Free parking.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2020

    9.0
    2nd visit great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little noisy last night as we are not late birds and were in bed at 1030

    Lovely bar area warm and comforting .great cocktails.good atmosphere aswel.locly choice of breakfadt altho did run out of couple of things juice

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2020

    7.9
    Good, but not great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a VAT receipt is unnecessarily difficult!!

    Generally a very nice place. Comfortable rooms but cold and a bit noisy due to very old windows. Food is absolutely fantastic!!!

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2020

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was expensive for what you got, 1 hanger in wardrobe, no bottled water, no side lamps, flat pillows, noise from bar area very loud, seemed more like a party pub than a hotel.

    Great location, friendly staff, lots of free parking, comfortable mattress, nice food in restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2020

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its an old building with character, don't expect soundproofing and double glazing but it was warm and comfortable, staff great, food good and a great lively cocktail bar in a good central position with ample parking

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms but awkward to get to and corridors narrow in places

    Clean, contemporary, nice cocktails, lovely food and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2020

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window latch in the bathroom was broken which was a little unsettling as it was next to the fire escape and someone could have gained entry if they knew about it. When we arrived it was extremely busy in the bar as it was a race day and mad friday. The staff initially had no record of the booking and took a while to sort it out. However, they did and were very helpful. The “reception” desk was not really in the best place for checking in but it was all ok in the end and we had a good stay.

    The location was good and the room was very big at the front of the property; despite the night being Mad Friday and a raceday, the room was well insulated against noise. The bed was comfortable and facilities good. The breakfast was great! The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the racecourse so accessible on foot.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2020

    8.0
    NYE racing with stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few too many stairs, old legs. Plastic glasses on NYE, understand why, but did not go the complete way on no glass. People were drinking out of bottles, wine glasses were not plastic. Shot glasses and cocktails were all glass. Perhaps more preplanning? Meal on the first night was exceedingly disappointing, mention it but no response!

    Good location, nice room. Spacious with a lovely bathroom, over bath shower, bit of a climb to get in and out of, not so young anymore. Bottle of water every day was a very nice touch. Staff were exceptionally helpful, special mention for Angie, bright, breezy and professional, lovey person. good accessible car park.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2019

    10
    Great stop over for the races
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find any faults

    Staff are excellent. Lovely decor. The rooms are great and the breakfast is top notch.

    Stayed in December 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!