Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Staffordshire hotel reviews
  4. Uttoxeter hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The White Hart Hotel

Reviews of The White Hart Hotel

6-8 Carter Street, Uttoxeter, ST14 8EU, United Kingdom

#6 of 9 hotels in Uttoxeter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 681 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2019

    8.8
    Really Nice place to stay as a couple, rooms are excellent, the odd inconvenience but wouldn't deter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were unfortunately above the smoking area outside, the hotel was very warm so we had to have with the window open which meant we got a good waft of cigarettes and as non-smokers this wasn't pleasant!

    Breakfast was lovely! Room super cozy, clean and luxe feeling!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2019

    7.5
    Hotel location was great, staff were lovely,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows were draughty , no glasses to use when brushing your teeth, no sanitary bags or tissues, no blind on bathroom window, waited for 40 minutes for breakfast on Sunday morning

    Hotel location was great, staff were lovely, Very clean rooms , food was lovely

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2019

    8.8
    Hotel clean an lovely the staff in the bar an restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came for the races but as your awear they were cancelled we phoned up hotel to cancell but were told they need 48hrs otherwise if we cancell u have pay full amount so we went down for the night but no offer of reduce rate as u no you pay more when the racing on their was only one bath an hand towel in the room couldn't turn radiator off in the room it was far to hot

    Hotel clean an lovely the staff in the bar an restaurant were so lovely credit to the hotel evening meal an breakfast were fantastic worth coming just for the food

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2019

    8.8
    Overall we enjoyed the stay and will return despite minor things it was a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom window was see through and there were no curtains leaving you with no privacy, the windows made The room very draughty and cold and the heating was turned off during the night and for the price you pay you would expect constant heating

    Loved the homely feel Of this hotel, the rooms were lovely and clean and the staff were amazing

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    8.3
    very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    outside very cold. old windows and the room was also very very cool. even with new hot heating system the isolation standard is not as usual in europe of today.

    very good staff. very nice style at bar and breakfast room. everything was very good. except room temperature during summer i would come back but not during cold winter day. big car park area behind hotel nice big breakfast big room

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    10
    What a fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    What a fantastic hotel...staff were amazing, lisa the manager was professional to a very high level and made you feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel room we had was so clean, comfy and relaxing. Thoroughly enjoyed our day and overnight stay. And the breakfast just topped it off. Highly recommended +++++

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    3.3
    A Disaster - avoid this venue at all costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On check-in on 1st January told restaurant closed due to gas leak - we would have to make alternate arrangements. Why had nobody called us to inform us? Came downstairs at 6pm for a drink prior to heading out to find bar closed, exit doors locked and no one around. After @10 minutes found a Chef who helped us but clearly, although we were paying guests who had reserved, decision had been made to close bar and hotel and send personnel home. A nightmare. Got taxi to a local pub, then later came home to find door on latch and no personnel - effectively no security

    Nice people

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    7.9
    The decoration of the public rooms and the bedroom were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration of the public rooms and the bedroom were very pleasing. However the bathroom fittings in the bedroom were of poor quality and in fact the shower screen was broken on our arrival and leaning against the bedroom wall. However the management did try to put this right in time for the next guests and the damage did appear to have been caused by misuse by the previous guests. The location and of the hot tap on the bath was not suitable for maximum usage of the hot water supply. The tap on the wash hand basin was stiff and wobbly making it interesting usage.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    7.9
    a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold when we arrived. The heating took about two hours to come through so my husband ended up bleeding the Air from the radiators to get them to work properly. Then there was no hot water. Again we were told it would be reset and available for the next half hour. It finally was hot enough to have a shower in the morning. Bathrobes provided were damaged and didn't have belts. Lights in the landings left on as emergency lights leaked light in the room so had to put pillow by the door and the old windows also let un noise from the street badly. Also the meal was not good in the restaurant. Wont stay again

    The staff were excellent and well organised. The room was very large with a large ensuite. The bed was confortable and there were toiletries available.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    5.0
    Thin Walls, poor Wi-Fi & tv signal. Very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin, our neighbours in room next to us made ridiculous amounts of noise all night. Wi-Fi is very poor. No tall mirror in room. No phone to call for help or room service. Broken iron. Broken towel rail.

    Although room was relatively clean it was overpriced.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2018

    6.3
    Nice room and nice venue
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for breakfast and told on the morning. No breakfast. Manager would not speak to us but the cleaner went and did some tea and toast for us. 10/10 for the cleaner 0/10 for management.

    Nice room and nice venue

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place, felt really at home there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitted sheets didn’t fit the bed properly so came off during the course of the night.

    Lovely place, felt really at home there. The staff were fantastic and did everything they could to make us feel comfortable. Food was amazing. It was clean and stylish. Everything you’d want for a night away!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2018

    10
    Races weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fantastic hotel with lovely staff ..... food and location.... very freindly ... just a lovely place for a break... the food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast was lovely... see you again soon xx

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    10
    The rooms food and staff were brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms food and staff were brilliant. The evening meal was quick and superb. Breckfast was so yummy with great choices. will be coming back again soon

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    8.8
    Modern appointments in Olde Worlde setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both the bedroom and en-suite were extremely cold at night, after the heating had gone off. Stark white, bare walls added to the coldness, in complete contrast to the warmth and decor downstairs. Sound insulation both external and internal were quite poor, both traffic noise and the activities of neighbouring guests being of some disturbance. Some food on offer outside of regular mealtimes would have been appreciated - the White Hart's loss being Weatherspoon's gain in my case!

    Very central location, with shops, pubs etc within a very short walking distance. Large car park a major bonus too in a town centre hotel. Very warm welcome from the young receptionist - other staff encountered also warm and friendly. Spacious, modern public area downstairs very smart. The room was very large and well lit too. Very large, comfortable double bed. The en-suite had the now unusual facility of a full sized bath (with shower over) - White Company toiletries were also a rare treat in a hotel room costing less that £100 per night. Breakfast was especially good, particularly the sausages which were the best I have had anywhere!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    10
    A great place to stay , we went to the Races , the hotel is very convenient for this trip .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am being very picky here , however some yogurt would have been a good addition to the lovely fruit and granola at breakfast time .

    The staff were very friendly and helpful . The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable .We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast , the surroundings in the bar area are lovely , especially with the open fire .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in evening

    Everything was good except went to run hot bath in evening for water to only be luke warm not hot enough bath in but room was lovely and modern and spacious would recommend for business etc but for privacy it's a very busy place over weekend

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot find anything that I didn't like about your hotel.

    Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Made you very welcome. The food was excellent and value for money and good choice of menu. The room was very nice, bed comfortable and the bathroom was absolutely first class. Definitely would visit again and recommend.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    2.5
    Not happy
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still waiting for manager to call me back or respond to my many emails. We found people having sex in our room! And was moved to a room that shouldn’t be let out to guests it had a quilt that diddnt fit the cover! No light shade no hot water no phone no information about the hotel! The kettle was on the blink the noise was terrible all night with banging on doors.service was poor along with communication very sad as payed boutique prices to below standard. Such a shame as the pictures looked great and they was really bizzy but no one should experience this

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    7.5
    The restaurant and bar were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame about the noice around 2am and some of the regulars in the pub that take over the place

    The restaurant and bar were very nice. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    10
    Fab grown up get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like

    The room was very cosy, bed was so comfy, shower was amazing. The bar area was fab food and drinks were very good. Very nice cocktails. Breakfast was really nice had fruit and crossiants while waiting for full English. Would definitely recommend and go again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    10
    Great stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was nice and clean. Bathroom is clean and size was good! Sheets are clean. Room size was good! Location was great as it is near everything! The staff was great and welcoming!!! The room smells nice and clean! First time staying here and would stay here again! Would definitely recommend it!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    8.3
    Lovely clean hotel in an excellent location. Lots of bars, shops and restaurants close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was excellent. But it was huge, so maybe you should offer diffrent sizes for example a kids size. The bar area only had stools & hight tables to sit on. On an evening i would rather sit on a chair and table. These were all reserved for meals.

    I loved the open fire as you walked through the door. The bedrooms were warm and well equiped. The bathrooms were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    5.0
    AWFUL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely disappointed with this ‘boutique’ hotel. Problem after problem from the word go! -No Parking on arrival -Given a different room to the one we had booked -Room was freezing and window wouldn’t close fully. -No hot water! -Dirty plastic cup left in bathroom and no soap/toiletries at all -Extremely thin walls -Lack of breakfast staff -Very very limited breakfast choice -No management present to speak to on leaving

    Food was excellent. Only thing that we couldn’t fault.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    7.1
    The good was delicious the staff were attentive and the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water wasn’t hot enough to have a shower or a bath and the room was a little plain.

    The good was delicious the staff were attentive and the room had al we needed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    6.7
    The best Uttoxerer has but still not good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was Very boring. No pictures on walls. Although recently renovated it had no character whatsoever. Minimal attempt at decoration

    The bar area and restaurant

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    9.2
    Overall a good stay, but not sure I would revisit!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was terrible, in rooms although OK in Bar while eating dinner. One of Dressing Gowns had make up around collar, so obviously had not been changed since previous guest

    Comfy Bed Nicely decorated room with character Great Staff - Very Friendly and Helpful Good evening meals and bar food Plenty of free parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    9.2
    Punches above it’s weight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints - all good

    Great location, friendly staff throughout. Spacious free parking Excellent restaurant and bar Perfectly situated for Uttoxeter racecourse

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    7.9
    Excellent facilities, would return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is obviously very old so the windows are single-glazed which meant I could hear outside (I remember hearing church bells every now and then). The dinner wasn't great, the steak was a little tough and the service a little slow.

    The room was large and the facilities were great. All staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. I really appreciated the White Company toiletries and Teapigs tea. The Wifi was good and the room temperature was adjustable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    10
    It was a lovely short break and everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was a listed building so the windows weren’t double glazed but really that was part of the charm of it. It gave it character. So no complaints

    The location the hotel the staff and food were all amazing. Wish we’d stayed longer.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent independent hotel. Fantastic value
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pot of tea at breakfast rather than brewing up in a cup would have been nice.

    Lovely building and room. Super decor. Staff really friendly and efficient. Good quality Breakfast cooked to order

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small downside was that we had some inconsiderate noisy neighbours but we had such a nice stay it was easily over looked.

    A perfect location, we went to alton towers for 2 days and found this lovely hotel on trip advisor. The staff were all so lovely and friendly, food was incredible and bedroom very comfortable! easily a 10/10 stay

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.9
    A great hotel with great food that was almost ruined by a few rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was unhelpful and rude at times. We felt like we were inconveniencing them by asking questions about breakfast and other facilities.

    The room was beautiful as was the food! We had an evening meal which was faultless and a beautiful breakfast which was also near perfection!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    I booked this property for friends and this is what they...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this property for friends and this is what they said- The White Hart was a lovely well decorated hotel. The staff were friendly and the food at the restaurant was a very high standard. All the guests I spoke to felt the same Patrick and Craig

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Full English breakfast was superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm even though we turned the radiators off but a fan was provided so was able to put that on to cool down

    Full English breakfast was superb

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    a decent town centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a wedding was being held in the hotel so it was quite noisy until late and we had to go elsewhere to eat as the hotel was packed

    location is in the town centre. room was clean and nicely decorated

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, the bar and restaurant downstairs was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is listed and so the windows are original glass (single glazed) which meant road noise outside and the wind was very noticeable during our stay

    Very friendly staff, the bar and restaurant downstairs was enjoyable with good food and drinks. The bedroom was modern basic and comfortable. We stayed here to visit Alton Towers and the location was great - only a short 15min drive away.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable....would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    52 steps up to our room carrying luggage !!!!!

    Beautiful, newly refurbished, ensuite bedroom. Very comfy kingsize bed. Lovely breakfast. Smiley, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    Good location and lots of parking at rear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff moving tables around at 01:30 am, small bar took ages to get a drink, also had nowhere to sit once we did actually get served, I understand they were busy and restaurant seemed very busy, either way this could do with being addressed.

    Good location and lots of parking at rear. A few minutes walk from some decent Indian restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Will be back. Perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors bang extremely loudly so at night you get woken up a lot.

    Beautiful hotel Staff so friendly Food was amazing catered to my dietary needs Room was beautiful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    v
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    don't think I could complain about anything so clean so plesant no problems at all thank you hope to stay again

    Every thing was very good staff room food exerlent would have no problem staying again or recommending you to anyone

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a password for WiFi in bedroom (the password-free network didn’t reach there) but there was no information about the WiFi or other hotel facilities in the room. An information pack would have been useful.

    Stylish decor, lovely friendly staff, huge well cooked English breakfast. Comfortable bed. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Failure by Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the fact that there was no record of our booking, considering we booked with Booking.com nearly 12 months in advance. In fact the hotel said they where thinking about not using yourselves as a broker in the future as your where incompetent, as this has happened on more than a few occasions.

    The staff went out if there way to keep us happy under the circumstances.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    Average stay bit pricey for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water from any tap or shower. TV wouldn't work properly had to keep fiddling with the Ariel cable. Was waiting for someone to help for over 15 minutes. Pictures only showed one room which was the biggest room so room was underwhelming compared to what was shown. Lots of noise could be heard from downstairs. One wall plug didn't work to charge phones aswell

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Greeted with a smile and helpful staff with a complimentary drink on arrival. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was spot on the following morning. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    Definitely would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it was freezing in the morning and the heating wasn’t working, furthermore the shower and the taps in the bathroom all stopped working and was not hot they were cold/luke warm. I then informed your staff member about the plumbing situation and she tried to get hold of the manager of the property and they were in responsive, also she said she would keep me informed and she didn’t so I feel asleep. Also the food was horrible and wasn’t up to my standard.

    I liked the bed comfort. And the size of the bed and bathroom was nice. The use of all the plug sockets were in all the right places. Also the lighting on the bathroom mirror

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable. Fantastic quality of rooms, bar and restaurant. Superb staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken quite early by the noise from a beer delivery, but I guess there isn't a quiet way to move beer barrels from an old street into the cellars of an old coaching house.

    Excellent breakfast and very friendly service. Great evening meal, which was very reasonably priced, and with definite man sized portions!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    I booked this hotel for my clients and this is what Petra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel for my clients and this is what Petra had to say- Thank you to everyone at the White Hart for such a wonderful stay and for making all of us feel so welcome. Everything from the hosting, the beautiful bedroom and amazing bed. To the proximity of the hotel to the best club in town simply made our stay unforgettable! Hope to visit again soon X

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, see you soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not turn the heating down in the bathroom and had to keep the bathroom door closed otherwise it made the room very hot. The building is listed status, I assume the windows are part of this listing status, as although all the rooms had been refurbished the windows were very old. Ours had a cracked window. On our first night there was a group of customers in the bar who did not reflect on the premises well. They were allowed to bring food in and it really brought the whole evening down as no one stayed in the bar due to this group and their mess. Management perhaps should not have let them run riot.

    The rooms were newly refurbished & very clean. The food was excellent, we had two evening meals and breakfast. The bar was good, a good choice of beers and spirits. The cocktail menu looked good but we did not get a chance to try them. Maybe next time!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    I booked for all my clients under my account and asked all...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for all my clients under my account and asked all to review. This is what Emily, Harriet and Megan said- I can not recommend the White Hart more. Everyone who worked there was attentive and welcoming. The food was divine, our room was clean, and the bed was outrageously comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.0
    Perfect location breakfast food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant smell in corridor to bedroom? Breakfast service a little disjointed the way it was served but food very good

    Perfect location breakfast food was good. Great bar!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Stay at White Hart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff made us feel very welcome the second we arrived. The Room was fantastic, comfy beds, the room was airy, well decorated and clean. The food at night was well cooked and well presented with a great choice. The barman (can't remember his name) was excellent he made us a few cocktails which were expertly presented. Great place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Lovely spacious hotel with the most comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some street noise early in the morning but that’s to be expected so if you’re bothered then take ear plugs

    Staff were very friendly and facilitated an earlier check in as we were going to an afternoon race meeting. Excellent breakfast with freshly cooked eggs to your liking. Really spacious bedroom with a great shower and such a comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Just what we were looking for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, friendly staff, comfy bed, excellent breakfast variety, menu for the evening meal was varied and reasonably priced, the rooms were spacious and very clean Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Very nice comfortable excellent service and lovely clean facilities would highly recommend the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very pleased with everything

    Once getting to the room we was then brought up a welcome drink of prosseco which we felt was a lovely touch on the welcome

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    It was a perfect weekend for my wife’s birthday, & we will definitely be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s too far away from my house!!

    The whole entire experience from beginning to end was exceptional. The staff, cleanliness and service were amazing. However the food was absolutely out of this world, I’d travel up again for 3 hours just for dinner!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfy. We were over the moon when we was giving a glass of prosecco each at check in. I requested a slate be delivered to the room with 'Happy Birthday' on it, and it was delivered, even with some cake on too! Very happy with our stay! Breakfast was amazing too!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay but lack of facilities nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to open windows in the bedroom as the front windows were tied together with an elastic band. The sash windows in the bathroom kept falling when trying to open them. A little unusual too to find a bar on the outside of the shower door and no rail on the wall to enable assistance into the bath.

    Bedrooms were clean and beds were comfy. Fresh flowers in the bedroom added to our welcome. Food was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Cinderella Room at a Princely Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that I had booked was not available. Our room was on the third floor and was obviously the room no one could be bothered with. The view from the bed was an ironing board, open shelves and open hanging space. No chair, no pictures no nothing. The room overlooked the outdoor smoking/drinking area which even with the windows closed was extremely noisy until gone midnight. The bathroom was of a good size but the bath water did not flow away and we only used the over the bath shower. We had dinner which was very good and Jess who served us was great. The table was so rough on the edges that it pulled the fabric of my dress. When I mentioned this I was told they had just been sanded down so there was nothing to be done. Breakfast was traumatic as Lisa who seem to do everything was on her own. Taking orders, keeping the one coffee jug filled and dealing with all the complaints. Even buffet breakfasts need two members of staff.

    The staff were very helpful and extremely apologetic. Lisa could do nothing about the room I had thought I had booked as it was already occupied. The scrambled egg was cooked to my liking and the coffee was good although we had one coffee pot between all the guests not good enough. Well stocked tea things in the room but only one sachet of milk each, good bottled water. Large car park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Cosy atmosphere in reception and bar, all newly restored.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were very basic. Sheet didn’t fit the mattress, valance was too short and not ironed. Plug in bath was broken. Towel rail fell apart in bathroom. Tea facilities were hidden in wardrobe. Some rooms had a coffee machine and others not.

    Cosy atmosphere in reception and bar, all newly restored. Enough parking space and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    We loved the warm and welcoming staff, Ashley and his team...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful building packed with character.

    We loved the warm and welcoming staff, Ashley and his team were outstanding 🌟Thank you to the whole team at the White Hart Hotel you made my birthday weekend special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very attentive, we were welcomed with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very attentive, we were welcomed with prosecco! The room was very spacious, clean and welcoming. We dined in the restaurant for dinner and had the included breakfast - the food was amazing and very high quality. We travelled to Alton Towers and it was only 20 mins away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Modern & lovely huge room and bar area was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets didn’t fit the bed properly & spring off as soon as we sat on it

    Modern & lovely huge room and bar area was great! Great place to stay for Alton towers just 15 mins away. Breakfast was nice. Check in was very friendly ... also fab tea in the rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    Very unhappy and disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were awful and smelt horrendous. Very unclean! Overall very disappointing.

    There is not one positive thing I can say about the awful experience I had staying here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Bed was comfortable, Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If had to pick some thing would be the tv was centred to the bed. Shower wasn't very powerful. Nothing else.

    Bed was comfortable, Staff friendly and helpful. Room was very well presented. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nothing like the ones advertised. This is typical to a point but our room was completely different. I enjoy a nice view but we were overlooking a cat park. Now I knew I wouldn't be getting green fields as the hotel is is the centre of a busy town but it was disappointing to hear glass bottles being emptied into big bins outside our window during the small hours of the morning.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was super comfy and we were offered a glass of prosecco on arrival which was a nice touch. Room was clean. Church bells rang out every half hour which I loved.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    poor customer service .poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no information book in the room regarding mealtimes, internet password ,no information about the local area ,meeting point if there was a fire .You had to plug the kettle in on the floor because the plug would not reach ,We requested a quite room but was given one above the entrance to the reception which was very noisy because it was used as a smoking area all through the night .It is poor value for money compared to other hotels that we have stayed in the area .The room looked like the refurbishment was incomplete

    The room was clean the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Our mini-moon was just what we wanted here! Relaxing atmosphere & amazing food had. Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows are old traditional (which are lovely!) But left the room slightly chilly & noisy when ppl were outside smoking or drinking ect.

    The room was very clean & comfy. Not what we requested but the staff went the extra mile to rectify! Food on the restaurant was exceptional, breakfast was just the same with all local & fresh food! 5* quality for food!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    It was not good and a wrong choice of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator to upper floors up to the third floor and no bell boys to take your luggage to the upper floors we ended leaving our luggage in the car and taking only our day to day needs No telephones in the rooms to communicate with reception for any assesstance

    The breakfast is fare but higene is not good The rooms are good so is the toilet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Superb value for money. Lovely staff and a wonderful atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I would stay again.

    The bed was a four poster and very comfortable. The bathroom was large and modern. The hotle was clean. The food was excellent large portions and value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked and paid the rate for deluxe king room and we certainly did not get that, it was room 21 which was on the top floor, it definitely was not a deluxe king room, it was very small unlike the rooms shown on the website, it had no phone, no wardrobe door and the bathroom window was painted shut, the dressing table was not in keeping with the new décor and imagine that was trying to be prevailed though out the hotel, the coffee and tea facilities were just plucked on the dressing table and the light bulb over the dressing table didn't work. As we didn't have a phone in our room we had to go downstairs three times to ask for somebody to replace the bulb, which was eventually done three in a half hours after we had asked for it to be changed. The room was not worth £195.00 a night. We came to celebrate a couple of very good friends of ours wedding, we were so looking forward to making it a good weekend only to be disappointed by our stay at The White Hart.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff with a warm welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking said king size bed but the bed was just two singles pushed together, myself or my partner would slip down into the gap a little bit through the night.

    Friendly staff with a warm welcome! Great food!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Was a lovely stay.

    Very friendly staff. Greeted at check-in, with a glass of prosecco. Bar and restaurant area very modern and inviting. Room clean and bright, excellent bathroom. Ate in restaurant and food well presented and tasty. Breakfast also great, and good selection of hot and cold food (all buffet style, but eggs prepared upon request). Would recommend for anyone visiting Uttoxeter .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic staff and a lovely place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our lights didn't work in the room which made doing makeup by the dresser harder but not impossible.

    We were warmly greeted by the staff and even offered a glass of prosecco on arrival. The room was spacious and well decorated to give a modern homely feel. Very comfortable and large bed (a great plus when having a 6'4 boyfriend who needs a bit more room!). Breakfast was full of variety: including cereal, toast, a full english, eggs freshly prepared for you in 3 possible ways depending on your preference, hams and cheese, fresh fruit, yoghurts and a selection of danishes, all of which was absolutely delicious! Great location for going to Alton Towers too as only 20mins away by car.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel only 20 minutes from Alton Towers in the heart of Uttoxeter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeted with a glass of prosecco on arrival which was a nice touch. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good quality and the food we had from the restaurant at dinner was very good. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!