Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The White Horse Hotel 4 stars

Norwich Road (Main A140), Eye, IP23 7ET, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Eye

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 401 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only possible, slight, problem was that we couldn’t find our way in 😉

    I don’t want to sound too gushing but everything (except finding Reception) was absolutely brilliant! Lots of little things adding up to a very special place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the 2nd time I had stayed at the white Horse and had a evening meal but this time I was a bit disappointed the steak was a bit cold and fatty and being served on a cold plate didn’t help also the onion rings were very greasy and the chips also a bit greasy but being not the complaining type I just eat it and went to bed shame really as the previous time the meal was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows didn't close properly so you couldn't block out the road noise and in summer it could do with some air con due to the noise level. The blind in the bathroom was broken.

    The food in the pub was brilliant and it is set in a lovely location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom had a shower over the bath so the best of both was available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room finished to a high standard. Everywhere spotlessly clean. Restaurant/Bar and food all good. Very good service. Considering the price, the quality far exceeded our expectations. Exceptional value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner which wasn't as good.Fish was soggy rather than crispy and it was strange to have a smoked cheese macaroni cheese for kids.

    Room was lovely and not cramped for a family room. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I did not like, its a very pleasant place for a short Suffolk visit at a very good price.

    A pleasant country hotel with excellent staff and a very good landlord and landlady who go well out of their way to be helpful. Also very popular with locals from surrounding villages which is always a good sign.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed our one nights stop here,The food was great and quickly served,All the staff were first class but we must make a special mention of the manager Florin, who is doing a first class job and made us feel special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit firm for my liking found it uncomfortable a good night sleep is essential as I have a back problem also the bathroom could have had a hand shower essential for doing those unreachable bits but these are only small criticism

    Staff restaurant rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we found fault with. There were even the newly laid eggs for sale via an honesty box.

    We booked there for bed and breakfast only, due to the proximity to a wedding we were attending. The breakfast menu was beyond our expectations and the service was exemplary. Our clean, comfortable room was very close to the main building and the bathroom facilities were excellent with all mod cons.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    third visit.....cosy and welcoming ,friendly and relaxed,go the extra mile.The food is good,of good quality....great breakfast selection and tasty dinners . The staff are without exception perceptive , kind and efficient .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location for exploring nearby Suffolk towns and villages. Comfortable room with a big en suite, and excellent shower. An efficiently run hotel. All staff were friendly and there was a good choice from the menu for breakfast, also in the restaurant for evening meal. Appreciated the fact that you could order a smaller portion of some of the menu choices. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and ensuite were very clean and spacious as shown on the booking.com website. The staff were friendly & helpful, and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative at all

    All staff friendly and helpful - they made us feel very welcome especially Florin, the Manager. Our room was modern, clean and spacious. The bar and restaurant was cosy and comfortable with a good choice of food which was excellent quality and piping hot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the road is disturbing when you sleep with open windows

    The room was big and comfortable. The dinner in the evening was lovely and the prices decent. The offer on the card offered a wide choice and the local beer was good. The breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a disaster. Despite advising them in advance that we would be in a hurry and requesting an early breakfast we arrived at 8am (when breakfast started) and waited 35min for 1x scrambled egg on toast and 1x bacon sandwich. A couple who walked in off the street after us at 8.15am were served with a full cooked breakfast while we were waiting. We ended up leaving before the scrambled egg arrived. So much for the advertised great breakfast.

    Dinner was fabulous - excellent food and great service. Really lovely rooms. Great place to stay - highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No door mat, coming straight off the outside walkway onto carpet-made us wonder how clean the carpets could stay? Widows wooden framed-not double glazed- and had some black mould build up. As the hotel sits directly next to a busy road the traffic noise was a distraction however it did not really disturb our sleep!

    Very comfy warm bedroom with spacious bathroom. Large screen TV , tea and coffee with biscuits and 2 small bottles waters. Lovely leather armchair and plenty of room to relax. Car park nearby by and entrance to the main hotel bar etc. A comfortable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can honestly say this is one of the nicest hotels I’ve stayed in. Nothing too much trouble. Everyone friendly and welcoming. Food excellent, room very warm and comfortable. Would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small point only but lack of a full length mirror in room

    Our room had been recently refurbished... clean and modern.Food very good and lots of choice for cooked breakfast..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extreme Lack of hygiene in kitchen. Staff not on shift entering the kitchen wearing filthy and muddy clothes and boots, throughout the entire service, chatting to friends/ co workers in the kitchen, whist we ate our dinner. Inattentiveness of Resturaunt staff. 35mins waiting for breakfast. Ignored by waiting staff throughout the dinner service and breakfast next day. Restaurant waiting staff never dressed in uniform and only dressed in their civvies and very off putting as clearly wearing clothes that they lounge around in at home and out of work, which were all untidy and unclean. It would appear that the waiting staff are just a load of teenagers who have just woken up and fallen out of bed into clothes that happened to be laying on thier bedroom floor that they were too lazy to iron. Their demeaner was as if they were press ganged into having to go to work. It was extremely apparent that they worked their hardest to avoid all contact with patrons eating within the restaurant in order to avoid work. We even watched as they hid from patrons to avoid serving them. We spent 25 minutes trying to get their attention, in a small restaurant and was ignored throughout the service. We eventually gave up.

    Room. Power shower. WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My card was charged for the rooms without me knowing, we had told someone we would all pay separately as I had booked 7 rooms on my card but no one had left a note to confirm so after breakfast the next morning found I had been charged for them all, when going through booking.com it is standard practice for them to debit card that morning without you having to be there to check out.

    Lovely pub and liked that the rooms were separate and away from the main pub. Very clean and tidy with all the facilities you would need and plenty of tea, coffee and milk. Shower was amazing nice and hot and powerful. Food was lovely and service great and didn't mind us putting our dinner reservation back as not everyone had arrived. Would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely modern clean rooms with a nice rest that serves good food. Even though we were next to a busy road you could hear nothing. Porridge is on the menu :) Fresh eggs only a £1 to take back home

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location for what we wanted very good Value for money Breakfast and dinner ten out of ten Staff impeccable and polite and could not do enough to assist 👍

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was really nice and modern without being over the top. It was homely. The breakfast times were really good and the choice was exceptional and they catered for my dietary requirements. Friendly staff who greeted us on arrival and in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very small request, perhaps a hook on the back of the bathroom door.

    Lovely room, very warm and spacious, lovely selection of tea & biscuits in the room, friendly staff, good breakfast, very nice stay thank you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like!

    Evening Dinner was excelent - very generous portions and attentive staff Breakfast was exeptional - great quality food and amazing value as included with romm booking. The choice was very good and staff were very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very friendly staff, excellent meal in restaurant, rooms clean bright and warm, no noise either. Great breakfast, second time we have stayed and it was better now than before, would def go back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Pub itself is was excellent, very comfortable and welcoming. All of the staff were very friendly and attentive. The rooms were spacious and modern and very nicely decorated. Will use again if in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems petty to find fault but the fried eggs in the morning were a little too crispy around the edges for my liking. And the Risotto in the evening was barely warm but they did heat it up again for me without a fuss.

    Loved the place. Large room tastefully designed. Well trained efficient staff. Great outdoor area for the kids. Food on the whole was excellent, especially the deserts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found there was no hot water to the shower (and no bath as an alternative) - but good hot water supply to the sink. Clearly a technical fault, but not fixed when brought to their attention. No offer made to reduce the room tariff to compensate - only when we raised the issue did they waive a drinks charge of under £8! Room rate was quite high at £89

    Lovely room - despite an issue with water supply. On the plus side, the bar and restaurant are lovely and the breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was superb. The rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Very clean and tidy. Excellent Wi-fi. The evening meal was very nice and the breakfast just as good. I would definately stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find anything we didn't like.

    Our room was very comfortable and the shower room up to date and modern. Everything there for our needs. We visited in the winter so it was great that the room was cosy and warm. Great choice of food & reasonably priced.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay here a lot and it's getting difficult to get in now as it is so popular.

    Super tasty egg, bacon and toast. Lots of variety and choice. I asked for extra hot water for my tea and was given it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A personal dislike automatic bathroom light - too bright for night time use. There was a little mold on bathroom ceiling

    Good value comfort - quite spacious room, recently re-furnished, lots of storage. Very good breakfast - efficient, speedy and tasty

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    honestly nothing

    booked this hotel more on convenient location and good price. found a superb place to stay - excellent clean large rooms, good restaurant and bar and good, friendly service. Plenty of parking with separate parking for rooms. Was expecting some traffic noise as it's on the A140 but the rooms are at the back well away from the road so 3 quiet nights were had by all. Restaurant is popular so advise to book although staff will fit you in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could have been more attentive on the first morning of my stay, but itwas very busy.

    Room was very clean and comfortable, excellent shower. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a quick lunch before going to the wedding and the food was really poor.

    Everything was fine and perfect for a one night stay as we were going to a wedding. The staff were very good and especially helpful as my husband had a very bad back and they brought ice to our room at 11 at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact the other guests were looking at me like they had never seen a black person in their whole entire lives. It was actually quite comical at times. I come from London where it is very cultured, so it was strange dealing with this whilst away. In terms of the hotel though I have nothing bad to say at all.

    Breakfast was amazing and was luckily included in our room rate. In the morning we asked the waitress what we could order and it turned out we were open to order anything from the menu. We opted for two breakfast meals some mornings mixing and matching from certain dishes. I had a lovely lady help us with dark brown hair, young- like in her 20s i wish I knew her name as I would've given her a shout out. She was so attentive and had really great customer service. Room was so beautiful and clean, shower and bathroom was great too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Everything at the hotel was top class.The staff, in particular, were outstanding. So very well trained they always had a smile on their face and nothing was too much trouble. We had a family occasion at the hotel, approximately 40 people including two young children. The food was excellent and again worked very hard to make the afternoon a success. They certainly succeeded. I will definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chips soggy and not very hot Felt had been boiled rather than fried 🙄. Could be easily remedied by a 2nd fry. Otherwise food was good and hearty and reasonably priced. Gets busy at weekends so need to book a table. Good all round place to stay as I will do again.

    Pics were acurate. Staff very happy and eager to look after you. Not a walking destination as directly on the A140 but easy to find Booked as close to my daughter

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really lovely hostess when we arrived, hugely accomodating in getting drinks from the bar for the room and also providing a iron, as we had a wedding the following day. Beautiful and remote spot and really comfy clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air in the room so had open the window at night then it got a bit cold.

    Both the bedroom and the shower room were excellent. The decor and the facilities were both very tasteful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chaotic breakfasts didnot appear to be enough staff on duty... asked for toast twice. Did not get. Milk came in dolls house size jugs - so had to keep asking for that, for coffee. Waste of time for staff doing this. They could have bean dealing with the toast order...

    comfy room with good size bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife was looking for the A/C controls and just happened to lift away the front panel of the in-room A/C fan unit. The filter was caked; I mean absolutely clogged up with dust and other particulars. We left a note, asking for it to be cleaned. Secondly, the boiler and control room must be close by the accommodation block we stayed in (room No.1) as all through the night a pump could be heard to start running, then when it stopped, there was a thumping / clanging noise. I know all about plumbing and it's called 'hammering'. It's when a flow is abruptly stopped by the closing of a valve and it sends a pressure wave through the plumbing pipework, creating that thumping clanging noise. It can be easily cured by installing a device which has a rubber diaphragm inside it, which absorbs all the pressure waves and therefore stops the 'hammering'. No more noise ............... Apart from that, the room was lovely, especially the shower.

    Everything apart from what I didn't like.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lighting in room. Probably a personal thing but I like bright lights.

    food was excellent and very good value. had asked for a room with a bath which ours did not have. were quickly moved to a room with a bath when we asked for it. Room very good size and comfortable. staff as always very friendly and efficient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred two comfortable armchairs instead of just one plus a straight backed chair without arms.

    The beds were v comfortable and room generally was nicely furnished. The restaurant was excellent and a good breakfast enjoyed each morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little small & mattress could have been more comfortable Partner also complained about soft pillows

    The friendliness of staff ease of check in Evening meal was great lots of choices

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two younger female evening staff on our 2nd day (19th July) were not friendly or welcoming and did not do much for the reputation of the hotel. Even though one of the girls took us to a table for the evening meal she couldn't be bothered to bring us menus and I had to ask for them 15 minutes later. Once again Gemma stepped in and provided a great service. My feeling was that if you cannot be pleasant to customers then find another job. They were sullen and miserable but I have not marked down the hotel due to the attitude of the two girls.

    Excellent, clean room with a walk in shower (no 10) and the bar/restaurant was fine. The staff were great on the first day/evening (18th July) and also reserved a table for us for the evening. Special thanks to Gemma who made us especially welcome but the other two girls, whose names I do not know, were also friendly, helpful and superb. The food was very nice and steak that I ate was perfectly cooked. My wife had crab and loved it. We even thanked the chef personally.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WOULD HAVE LIKED SOME MORE ARM CHAIRS IN THE BAR AREA.

    STAFF LET US CHECK IN AT 11.00 AND PUT OUR CASE IN THE ROOM - EVEN THOUGH IT HAD NOT BEEN SERVICED - AS WE WERE GOING TO A BOWLS MATCH AND WOULD NOT BE BACK UNTIL 7.00p.m. AFTER TRAVELLING FOR THREE HOURS FROM RICHMOND IN SURREY, WE ONLY CALLED IN FOR A COFFEE .BUT WERE VERY WARMLY WELCOMED AND ALLOWED TO CHECK IN EARLY TO SAVE TIME LATER. THIS WAS A GREAT HELP.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have had a wider selection on the breakfast buffet. Bed was very hard for us but that can be subjective depending on what you feel comfortable with. Evening meal service was slow but food worth waiting for. Room advertised with air conditioning but we didn't have any in our room. However, none of this would put us off staying there again.

    Friendly staff and helpful. Great evening meal and good menu. Good location and easy to find. Lovely big towels and heated towel rail was working so no damp towels. Great shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no shaver point nor long mirror. I found the bed particularly uncomfy, hard and rolled into middle, chairs in room also uncomfortable.

    quiet, separate entrance to pub, air conditioning, pleasant room, good shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a bath not just a shower. This is a small thing however. Wifi was rather erratic in the bedroom. We were there for a leisure visit so was not affected to much, but it would have prov d problematic if I was working.

    The staff were, without out fail, friendly and super, efficient. Even when incredibly busy with a private function and a very busy evening in the restaurant they went out of their way to be helpful and attentive. The whole place was very attractive and welcoming. A lovely place to come back to after a busy day!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room9 it was very humid so either fan or air con we asked for fan and one was provided

    Our regular stop and stay perfect for many trips in Suffolk

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room itself was pretty basic, (though good value for the money). Our room would have been greatly improved by a larger more comfortable bed.

    Friendly and efficient staff, decent food and beer. The breakfast was delicious, with locally sourced eggs. Excellent shower room. Good easy-to-access wifi. Very good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A large group of us stayed at The White Horse while attending our friends wedding and we were all so pleased with our stay! The staff were great & very welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of pub-like seating, as it is more of a restaurant than an Inn or Pub. Lack of accessible power points in our room.

    Food was very good. Service very good and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked 3 rooms (1,3& 4) as we were going to a wedding near by. The rooms were lovely, modern & spacious in the new block, comfy beds, very quiet considering the Hotel/Pub is on the A140. The grounds are nice, food in the pub restaurant great for quality & price & breakfast was also good. They are very popular for their food & the restaurant gets booked very quickly, we couldn't get a table till 8 o/c, I would ring ahead if you want to eat earlier & are staying there. Staff very helpful. Would I stay again - yes definitely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    For location this was nearby to where I needed to be. The property was ok and served its purpose. I would say it was priced a little higher than it should if im honest.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that would have been useful would have e been a Kate night sandwich, other than that thanks for a great weekend, we will be back.

    Fantastic breakfast. The omelettes are cooked to perfection and the big breakfast is superb. We need good WiFi as I work with sound and need to upload files overnight and the WiFi was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fruit salad or fresh fruit in bowls at breakfast.

    We left behind a shampoo and the staff had kindly kept it safe so we were able to pick it up the next day. Even though breakfast was busy with 32 farmers, the service was efficitne.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a vegetarian it was great there were 4 dinner options for me. However, they all contained nuts (bizarrely even the chilli) so I couldn't have any of them and had to eat a sandwich for my evening meal. The chef needs to recognise not all vegetarians eat nuts! Breakfast was a little easier but the addition of vegetarian sausages would have been nice.

    I really liked the quality of all the food and the service was excellent. The room was perfect, well equipped, quiet, spotlessly clean and comfortable. I would definitely choose this place again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somewhere comfortable to sit after supper. Additional lighting in bedrooms.

    Food was restaurant standard. Service excellent. Friendly welcome. Flexible approach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a personal thing but I prefer a bigger bed.

    The room was very clean with a great wet room/bathroom. Parking was plentiful and the hotel was easy to find. The food in the pub was very good and there was an excellent choice for breakfast, both continental and cooked. Very friendly staff and the bar and restaurant were both nicely decorated and had a good atmosphere. Very enjoyable stay, would recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a bar, but most of the space is taken up by dining tables therefore not much of a "pubby" atmosphere. Evening meals were good value. Steak pie very good. Square slice of lasagna in an oval bowl was a bit strange. Home made? Not sure.

    Good size room, loads of storage. Good size bathroom with large walk in shower. Excellent breakfast. Abundant, friendly and helpful staff. Large shed for storing our road bikes. Lots of quiet country lanes to cycle on. Considering its right on a busy A road, there was virtually no road noise.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not find any fault with the accommodation, food or service.

    Excellent accommodation, comfortable and spacious. The restaurant is lovely and the service very attentive. Efficient staff and very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not overly impressed with the menu, but the majority of people (and judging by the amount of people) obviously did. The deep fried fish was overcooked at too high a temperature and the frying oil needed changing , lending to a burnt outer batter coating.

    Good size rooms, very clean and well run operation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road noise was a problem at 5am

    The breakfast was excellent but would have appreciated boiling water in the tea pot. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant, efficient staff. Good breakfast included so went back again for dinner Monday evening as still in the area and had a lovely meal then too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault.

    I liked everything about this place. The room was very clean the shower was very powerful. The evening meals were to die for. We had two evening meals and both times we were not disappointed. The breakfast was the same couldn't fault it very nice indeed. Staff was very helpful and friendly would go and stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have to book well in advance as it fills up quickly.

    Everything. We stay here regularly. Good night's sleep, very clean, very comfortable, breakfasts are just great, bacon especially. Good evening meals. Wish all accommodation round the country was up to this standard.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant staff. The food at the a ccompanying restraunt/pub is excellent and extremely good value. Room was a good size and the bathroom was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly - Amazing shower! Overall we were really impressed, they were very accommodating - we were going to arrive very late on our first night so they left our room open with the key inside and we checked in properly in the morning which was great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of the food for dinner and breakfast was excellent. The staff are efficient but very friendly. The free WiFi in the rooms was definitley a plus for me.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints about the hotel, just very poor mobile signal in the area

    Quality of food was fantastic, good selection of beers & ciders. plenty of parking - a very good hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind.

    The evening meal was 1st class,breakfast was excellent room was very spacious,bathroom modern and spotless.staff extremely friendly and professional. 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: