Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The White Horse Inn

Abbey Road, Washford, TA23 0JZ, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Washford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 675 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely countryside inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the back of beyond, with nothing in the village

    Rooms on the upper floor above the lovely inn/pub with own bathroom. You had to climb a staircase which was so steep it was almost a ladder. The floor in the room was far away from even. The ceiling of the room and the height of the doors were quite low-ceilinged. But it was the most authentic stay we had in England on the whole roadtrip! That‘s what we had in mind when thinking of a countryside pub! Eating in the pub is also really good - freshly handmade english food on thr menu. After asking which beer they recommend we got a tasting probe of their tab beers which isnt quite common anymore today. Would stay anytime again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Will will be going back now that I have discovered it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable had everything I needed. A single room, great value for money. Food and beer excellent, and friendly staff. I had to leave before normal checkout time and a breakfast was arranged the night before. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    A most relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The White Horse is an old quirky inn in a lovely peaceful location a few miles from Minehead; the small Washford river runs between the pub and the large beer garden and it was really nice to watch the trout and the birds before breakfast. The food was excellent and bar prices very reasonable. We would most definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Easy to find, a picturesque location and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were narrow and steep and I found it difficult to take my case up to my room. However, a member of staff had said previously that she wold help me but wasn't around when I came in late! I arrived back from a small local music festival before the front door was closed as I didn't want to use the rear entrance in the dark late at night and alone. During a very hot spell at the end of June the duvet was far too warm and I couldn't find any lighter bedding as an alternative.

    The staff were pleasant and welcoming. At breakfast the owner was in charge and nothing was too much trouble for him and his wife. I had a simple delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Very happy with the White Horse Inn will definately recommend it and stay there again if in area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant really think of anything that I did not like about it.

    The staff were very friendly and the Inn was lovely full of character. It was nice and clean and the food was lovely too. I would definitely stay there again if I go back to this area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Had a great time. Looking forward to returning next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to miss breakfast twice as it didn't start until 9am. The takeaway alternatives were ok, but not as good as the real thing.

    Friendly service and great evening meals in rhe restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Traditional English Pub stay, offering great accomodation and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!

    A wonderful, traditional English Pub with great staff and patrons. We had a lot a fun here. Very quiet location, very comfortable good sized room with gorgeous bathroom. We were sorry to be only staying 1 night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Maybe just not for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible nights sleep in a creaking wooden bed. Mattress was very uncomfortable. Breakfast between 9 - 10 but you could have a sandwich or pastry from the bar the night before.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    very relaxing break, comfortable with good food & friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    occasional speeding car as you exit the pub to go to the garden - might warnings be put up for traffic as it approaches perhaps?

    location, comfort, friendly staff, food, garden, after hours access if we needed to pop outside with the dog, parking, unspoilt

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent - as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - we’ve been going at least once a year for 10 years so know what to expect.

    Love the location, home cooked food - breakfast and dinner, the ambience, that they are very dog friendly and as popular with the locals as the visitors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    The atmosphere within the pub setting was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though tey state there is parking it is often taken up by pub day patrons and difficult to find a spot.

    The atmosphere within the pub setting was great. The staff were friendly and accomodating. The old building was interesting and had loads of character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    An excellent choice for a visit to Exmoor. A pub with real character and friendly locals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to note.

    Nicely set away from the main A39. A pub with atmosphere. Very friendly clientele. Room has charm. Good selection on menu, some vegetarian options. Good hearty breakfast. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout. Very comfortable, & huge, bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Great Expectations and like Dickens let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately originally stayed in room 5 which was spacious and comfortable with a great bathroom and anticipated all would be the same. How wrong could I be room 4 (next door) was cramped, bathroom designed for small people with only a shower which was not the greatest. Worst of all was the bed, so uncomfortable it took hours to recover. The mattress was a thin spring type and induced ache like no other. The TV was minute and difficult to see from the bed. After a great stay last time this was a tremendous let down and could only return if guaranteeing room 5.

    The Dinner and breakfast were excellent in a pub atmosphere. The service was good and quality produce was used. 2nd time here and just as good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    A good place to stay while visiting the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs are difficult, but there is an alternative route to the bedrooms.

    A real country pub atmosphere, attentive and friendly staff, and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Slightly disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room fixtures very dated and stairs steep. Found going upstairs little difficult with my painful hip. Breakfast disappointing. Cooked food was good, but had to help ourselves for coffee from the machine and only few cereal boxes and no fruit nor yogurt.

    Bed was comfy and the room large. Shower better than most pub accommodations. Location perfect for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed our stay hope to return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too low however after a busy day sleep wasn’t long in coming

    The staff were so friendly and helpful, full of useful local information.. Food excellent something new each evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    This was the best room of the whole property!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was the best room of the whole property! We have been here a few times, and if/when we come back this would be our first choice! I have even booked it for a guest to stay in for when we get married in the area. It’s a great little place with yummy food! And they let us bring the dog! Wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Short break with WSR train theme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food in nice old fashioned pub. Bar staff friendly and helpful. Good cooked breakfast from 9am but can order a takeaway breakfast for early start.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant comfortable and just what I expected ( in a positive way )
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to constantly ask for my beer to topped up . This seems to be a universal thing.howevery this is not really a dislike more an observation !

    The friendliness and local beer !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent two day break, tried to stay longer but fully booked, unfortunate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs were difficult. There is a back way with easy access with luggage but no one informed us.

    Friendly, food good, wine limited but fine, rooms adequate, showers could be better but ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Great stay in lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Comfortable room in pretty country pub by a stream, log fire, good food (tasty full English breakfast included in price), lots of parking, all in a lovely part of the world. Recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely cosy pub stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of condensation mould in the bathroom but its ancient pub so what else would you expect?

    For the price we paid it was lovely! Great food, friendly staff, cosy room. Really enjoyed our stay. Lovely little touches like custard creams in the room and a good range of gins behind the bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Weekend of steam trains from Washford Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like going home !

    An excellent family run country inn .Friendly staff and fantastic food. A spacious and clean room, with a en suite with a hot, powerful shower and a bath. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely country pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely country pub & we had a very enjoyable stay here. The staff were very helpful & we had a great evening meal & breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Quaint & Comfortable Country Stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 2 (we stayed across two rooms due to booking an extra night) is not very comfortable. It's very small, the floor slopes heavily (I appreciate the Inn is over 300 years old) and the bathroom is very basic (electric shower which isn't very useful, and no bath) - disappointing as it was the same price as Room 1.

    Fantastic quiet country location. A stone throw from Dunster Castle & Minehead Beach. Very dog friendly (we had two) and lovely breakfast in the morning. Evening meals are very well priced and delicious. Room 1 is very spacious and comfortable, with a clean and modern bathroom. All tea making facilities included which is a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the rear over the kitchen, it was very noisy, room had black mould on ceiling and in bathroom. Difficult access due to very steep winding stair from bar and rear access via wooden fire escape under which to our concern were stored gas canisters.

    Good pub food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to visit, eat, drink and be happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One minor gripe/suggestion. A area with soft furnishings would be appreciated for residents to relax and read. All areas were geared up for eating.

    Very friendly staff and locals who all made us feel most welcome. The food was absolutely first class and a very good selection of wines, spirits and real ales. Good central location for getting about. The owners were excellent always willing to advise/assist as required.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Nothing is too much trouble and it feels like a home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have stayed here a few times and it's great. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the food is wonderful. Great atmosphere in the bar with locals and guests. Testament to a great pub is that when other pubs are struggling for custom there always seems to be a crowd at the bar in this establishment. Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    We will return 👏Proper Job 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike at all 😄 just a small sugestion 🤔 on the walkway out the back door it needs some grips on the wood as it could become very slippery 😱 that comes from past experience 😮

    All Good 👍Genuine interest from Owners in customer requirements a lot of thought has been applied towards making for the best of Welcome in The White Horse Inn 👏

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely Country Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 is very cramped, with an electric shower that isn't up to standard. Not much sunlight through small window.

    Fantastic quiet location. Right by stream. Great food and friendly staff. Room 1 (we had for one night) & 5 (friend's room) were lovely. Very dog friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A personal thing but we like two chairs in our room so that we can both sit down

    The room was comfortable and clean and our friends had an even better room number 3 which has been recently refurbished with 2 comfortable chairs and an amazing bathroom. The food was brilliant and there was plenty of it. When we were walking to get the bus to Minehead the Landlord came along and took us there, couldn't ask for better service than that

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Wonderfully quaint, excellent service
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I could comment on was the lighting in the room was a bit dim, but who cares about that?! Ha!

    Absolutely nothing was too much. They accommodated my food intolerances and we’re such lovely people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    I don’t mind giving an overall rating (as I already have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t mind giving an overall rating (as I already have done twice for this stop)with a comment if relevant, but object to being continually pestered by Booking.com to fill in a (meaningless) multiple choice questionnaire etc. Please stop this

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous Inn - would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous stay on 6 & 7th April. This is a small but friendly Inn with great a great atmosphere, spotlessly clean rooms tasty well cooked meals, nice selection of real ales and good gins. Special thanks to the wonderfully welcoming and efficient staff who made our stay so enjoyable. We (myself and my husband and our daughter who had her own room) are more than happy to recommend to others and hope to return ourselves in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bartender checking us in was a bit curt, the pub rather loud in the evening, our door very difficult to close and wifi password not provided anywhere. The breakfast had no baked beans which I thought was strange.

    Beautiful building with a pub right downstairs. Nice surrounding hills.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    All staff really friendly, pub is a lovely village one in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All staff really friendly, pub is a lovely village one in a lovely setting. Room was lovely and get was really comfy. Breakfast really nice. Could not flaw anything and we will go back again soon xx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    the bed was big and comfy and the food was lovely .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    radiator in the room couldn't be turned off due to thermostatic valve being broken was so room was very hot.

    the bed was big and comfy and the food was lovely .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    After all our previous visits we left feeling rather disappointed on this occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room size (#4); one chair between two; nowhere to hang clothes; central heating uncontrollable; small TV fair distance from bed; claustrophobic bathroom; a bar tab for food previously paid for.

    Having stayed at the Inn many times before its location and food did not disappoint.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    If your visiting the West Somerset Railway than stay here for value and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cider could have been colder but thats about all. Turn the fridge down a little!

    Excellent room, lovely bath area, hot water and space to move. The Pub itself was old fashioned but none the worse for that, great atmosphere and food was excellent. It was great to have a menu that was wholesome rather than fancy without substance. Car parking excellent. Great stay and would come again without question.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We have been to the White Hart on numerous occasions. Since the change of management we have enjoyed ourselves much more. The local farmers, etc seem to agree as the pub is always busy, and everyone is relaxed and having a good time. My husband has certain dietary requirements (due to a health problem), and nothing is too much trouble. It is also lovely to see well behaved dogs. We will continue to frequent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our day at the pub and resturant food was good
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was on full all night with no way of turning it off. It was very hot and stuffy and we had to sleep with the windows wide open. it was still too hot. Stairs were very steep

    i loved nearly everything about this pub

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    Good food and location but marred by attitude to no bedroom heating on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the temperature outside reaching minus 6 with windchill, there was no heating on in the room when we checked in at 4.15pm - despite having arrived at 12.00 midday for lunch, and being told the room would be ready by 2pm by staff at the bar. The radiators in the bedroom and bathroom were actually turned to off.....The room was very cold, - we could see our breath...and we were tired and just wanted to rest in a warm room. I went to the bar and was told that the heater was on a timer that came on at 5pm - we waited in the room which was very, very cold until about 5.15pm - still nothing. We went down to the bar again - and we were told that the owners son was due in at 6pm - and that there was an electric heater in the wardrobe. We went upstairs, grovelled under the bed for the extension lead (there were only two sockets in the room for the lights, the kettle, television, and the heater went in the fourth socket of the extension lead). We also had to pull the bed away from the wall to get at the other socket. It did start to heat up in the bedroom but the bathroom was very very cold - far too cold to undress in. By 6.15pm it was still cold and we went down to the bar again. The owners son had just arrived - the staff gave the impression that we were making a bit of a fuss......The electric shower was ice cold too - with bursts of scalding water. At 6.45pm, still in our walking clothes we went to the bar for food - and was told that there had been a problem with the boiler.. Things happen that cannot be foreseen. Boilers can break. We are all-season tent campers and wild swimmers, used to cold conditions.

    Clean, adequate rooms, excellent breakfast and good food in the restaurant. Friendly atmosphere in the bar - and pet friendly. The house wine at £14.50 was very, very good. Excellent location for walking - only about an hour stroll to the coast and varied inland walks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave to come home !

    The room was warm and cosy and made you feel so much at ease , the staff couldn't of done more to please and comfort you in any enquiries we had ! Couldn't fault it and can't wait to go back in a few months !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely, Quaint Accommodation and good value for money with the breakfast included.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room in need of a refresh, decor a bit dated but didn't detract from the overall experience. Drink a bit expensive

    Friendly and helpful staff, good food but drink a bit expensive. Nice location, probably better in the summer, very quaint, nice proper 'Olde Worlde' Inn. Good value with breakfast included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    This was a lovely couple of days away, lovely accomodation with great friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasnt anything not to like!!

    Booked a double ensuite bathroom for two nights. Easy to get to and sign posted. Area is beautiful, Food was great, staff very friendly, it was a cosy friendly pub. Bathroom was superb and clean also had toiletries, which i had forgotten to pack!!. Room was refreshed both days with tea and coffee. Will definatly be going back again!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    As above excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was a bit damp but nothing they could do about that.

    We had a very relaxed Comfortable stay lovely walks with our dog couldn't fault the white horse pub.. Even bought out complimentary chips while watching the rugby.. Thank you very much 2 very happy guests and there dog keep up the good work..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Some of the best food I’ve eaten. I would highly recommend it. Shame it was a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little more sound proofing. I could hear the conversations in the bar from my room.

    They made me a takeaway breakfast because I had to leave early in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    SUPERB
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything

    Staff, room, food, all exceptional. Will be booking again. Can't speak highly enough and I stay B & B a great deal. What a lovely place that makes you feel welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Overall a very pleasant stay, the inn would be highly recommended to others staying around that area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in room 1 which was very nice but the room was very cold, there was a moveable radiator which helped a bit. This isn't a complaint, it was -6c when I stayed so kind of expected it to be a little colder than normal. Breakfast time appeared late, I got the feeling that some people that stayed were on business so would be leaving before breakfast time.

    I liked everything about the inn, the food was very nice and the staff and pub overall very pleasant, I had the takeaway breakfast, due to work commitments I couldn't sit down for a cooked breakfast, however, the takeaway breakfast was good. The room (room 1) was very nice, the bathroom was very modern and had a lovely shower and bath

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and locals. We have been several times and always enjoy ourselves. Lots of good walks in the area and plenty of sightseeing - thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Fab!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault anything the food and breakfast was spot on it had a homely feel to the place It was our first visit and definitely won’t be the last,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Alright for what we had to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only eye level cleaning, ie dust on anything above head level ad they had a few things hanging from the ceiling where meals were served. The room also had a few problems, broken window catch and blind in the bathroom didn't work.

    Breakfast okay if you liked a full english but I usually have fruit and yogurt and none was available.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.5
    Nice location, nice room in the lodge. Welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. We didn’t like having to fight through the people at the bar to order food.

    The location, the quality of the room and good food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    I wouldn’t stay again !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in was on the top of the bar/restaurant . I want it a quiet place to escape busy London but that wasn’t one .. people was very loud up to 23.45 ... his from 9pm I was trying to read a book and watch tv but that basically wasn’t possible .

    The food was nice , full English breakfast included in the price , also on the evenings had dinner very freash and tasty !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Access to rooms a little difficult but only a minor issue and in keeping with may properties of the age.

    Friendly, helpful staff and the food was excellent, very pet friendly. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Would return
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a couple of issues with the room which only arose overnight and the owner was very courteous when approached and refunded some of our money even though we insisted we did not want a refund. I would not stay or recommend Room 1 to anyone exhausted from a long hike who wants to get to sleep before 10pm as it is above the kitchen and soooo noisy from cooking, noisy extractor fan and a radio so loud I thought we were in a club! However all that said - we did only pay £58 for the room including our dog! Would go back but would pay more and opt for one of the fabulous looking rooms in the new lodge!

    The staff and owner were lovely and could not be more friendly and helpful . The food in the bar and breakfast was good and arrived promptly. Location great. Lovely wood burning fire and great atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    A wonderful relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Ensuite Bath - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    lovely friendly place.room in lodge was immaculate, bed very comfortable, bath was huge. very dog friendly(we took our dog).food in pub was delicious. can't wait to go back there and stay again. 😁

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.1
    Good for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given that this was a modestly-priced B&B it was perfectly adequate. I booked a single room which was compact (but it's an old pub). Couldn't get the radio to work. It was a bit noisy until the bar closed. It was disconcerting that the door between the accommodation floor and the rest of the pub was locked at night (maybe for legal reasons to do with the bar?). You could only go in and out of the building via a fire escape until the door was unlocked at about 8.30am.

    The bed was comfortable and the room and shower room was clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent - will be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like.

    Warm welcome, clean comfortable room, excellent dinner and excellent and obviously freshly cooked breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very good value for money. Personally, I love the ‘out of Eden’ toiletries in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    relaxing and enjoyable break from normal routine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly and helpful staff, we enjoyed our meal in the evening as well as a really good full English breakfast in the morning.Very pleasant area to stay, would definitely consider staying again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    A Charming place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything we needed for an overnight stay. We paid for the cheapest room so knew there wasn't a huge TV or easy chair but the bed was extremely comfortable so a good night sleep was had by both of us. Tea, coffee, drinking, chocolate, milk, biscuits, toiletries, good bed linen, plenty of towels, hot water, warm room on such a cold night. Breakfast in with the price was plentiful. Good freshly cooked food available at extra cost but worth trying.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub is just downstairs. Double edged.

    Fantastic friendly service from our 1st step into the place till we left. Food was good, pity my i couldn't fit more in me. The pub is just downstairs. Dog friendly - what more can i say. If ever i am passing this area this would be my 1st choice to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for my wife’s birthday weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Bath - Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big thanks to all the staff for their good service and attitude to a very good stay. The food was very delicious and a good value experience only complaint being that for us it was just two much, felt guilty that we had to leave some but that happens when you get old. The room was excellent and very comfortable nice shower. Good breakfast set us up for the day, all fresh cooked excellent plenty of coffee and tea and more toast if needed. Thank you to everyone for making our stay such a pleasure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    So parking across the road from the Inn with a brook running...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing 10/10

    So parking across the road from the Inn with a brook running in the back round and just straight away you feel rested and ready for a nights stay. On arriving lovely warm welcome with a smile to our rooms. Everythingg explained about food that night and breakfast. The room (pictures from morning after) clean tidy with a warm touch, food both night and day great choice and well Cooked. If your worried about “will there be noise above a active Inn” cant tell you more than few pints sitting next to fire and by the time your head hits the pillow you will sleep right through. We will be back next year around summer time to enjoy and walk or two. Thanks everyone The White Horse Inn.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Ideal accommodation visiting the area with hosts of sightseeing or country rambling etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot

    The location is superb; very comfortable room; quiet; benefit of an excellent host; brilliant staff and really good food. All tole top rate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Lovely 😀😀😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Explanation of wifi connection in rooms - not explained as well as they thought although very valid reasons

    Very friendly staff, excellent food and so well placed for local attractions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    Very nice but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very nice place to stay. However, it does not warrant the extremely high rating that it had been given at the time we booked. The things that stopped it being more than about a 7.5 out of 10 for us were: No shaver point; no shelf in shower; towels hard; radiator not working in one room (but there was an electric one available); TV remote u/s; no wifi upstairs; breakfast only served from 9.00am to 10.00am; no cereal, fruit or yogurt at breakfast although the cooked meal was good.

    Dinner was very good. Overall a perfectly nice place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor of the room was slightly tired but that was reflected in the value price of the room. I would happily stay again as the room was clean and comfortable and the pub was in a lovely spot by the river.

    Very comfortable bed. Evening food in the bar was delicious and good value for money. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Great for walks. Come back to a lovely meal, fab pub atmosphere and smiley staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Bath - Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Switch that underfloor heating on early.

    Just put on the heating on early. Underfloor heating takes a fair bit longer to get the room aired, otherwise the new lodge was clean, quiet and perfect with having a dog. Great food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Just the job for a nights stop-over.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not till 9am..... which doesn't attract business people, as i wanted to be away by 8.30 at the latest. However, a packed breakfast of sandwich, drink, crisps & cake was given., which was appreciated. Just not the same, as reviews said how nice the breakfasts were!

    Very old country pub. Good home-cooked food. Quiet area, just off the A39. Bed comfy, great bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Too short!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike

    The friendly staff, the clean comfortable room and bed, the warm welcome from both staff and locals, the food and the excellent real ales.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite Bath - Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything apart from the weather and don't think they could do anything about that .

    Everything was really good from start to finish food excellent room very clean lovely setting , the staff were very friendly and helpful would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room was average, but to us this wasn't important as we arrived late and left early

    Was a lovely base to come back to after a long day of looking at wedding venues in the area. Bed was comfy and we both happily slept all the way through. Breakfast being included was a lovely bonus, but it was a little basic...but I still ate it all and thoroughly enjoyed it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    The management and staff where flexible and extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The management and staff where flexible and extremely pleasant and helpful,especially over our cars broken windsceen which was repaired on site. Breakfast and evening meals were 10/10.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    A great location and friendly pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and it took several hours with the heater to warm it up. The blind in the bathroom was see through! The bed squeaked badly.

    Good food, excellent bathroom and really pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: