Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The White Horse Hotel

Station Road, Leiston, IP16 4HD, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Leiston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 200 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.0
    Absolutely awful...had we read the reviews (which weren't on the booking site, we wouldn't have gone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water whatsoever.....shower non existent . Carpets all stained, floor in bathroom broken raised tiles, tv far too small for room, no wifi whatsoever and wrong code and password given, only one bedside table and lamp, noisy road outside....so can't open the windows, staff and builders talking loud and smoking outside the window. Dust everywhere as a lot of building work being done. Very dated decor.

    The beds were comfy and clean bedding, I am afraid that is all the good points covered.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    Over priced and disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was stained .The bathroom was in desperate need of renovation . I could here the person in the room next to us snoring as if he was in our room .The saniflow from the room above came down a pipe into the back or our toilet so was very loud when it was used . The breakfast was exceptable but did not warrant the price . The stay was in my opinion over priced at £154 for 2 nights in a twin room b&b like this,it should have been more like £80 I have stayed in a contractors b&b in London with a much better breakfast and better room for £22

    The room was clean as was the bedding .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    suited our purpose in exploring the surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leiston in general has little choice of evening restaurants and seems to have an abundance of take aways. To find a Sunday meal almost impossible without a long drive as the hotel is only suppying breakfasts at the present time

    A fair place to sleep at night but in need of general repair and decoration which we would expect the owners to attend to in short order as they have only been in occupation a few weeks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Would recommend it for clean beds, non greasy breakfast and safe parking! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a shelf for toiletries, but maybe we bring too many!

    Friendly staff and helped carry bag upstairs. Very tasty breakfast!! Great to have parking included. Excellent location for nearby abbey and Framlingham castle. Blackout curtains stopped any light outside coming through, so aided our sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Good price, lovely breakfast, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of lift, the milk in the little pots was off

    Helpful and friendly staff, lovely English breakfast, good size room with kettle and coffee / tea tray, pub downstairs, convenient location, car park on site, best price compared to other nearby places

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    I’m sure it will be much better when renovations are completed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations in progress difficulty in parking due to work vans tv didn’t work and hot water not always available I’m sure it will be

    Good location for us

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Convenient place to stay for Suffolk coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place needs a lot of TLC- handles barely attached to doors, cistern handle almost off toilet. Bathroom window wouldn't close, meaning a cold wind blowing in all night. Curtains are far too light & it's daylight in room at dawn. Didn't sample breakfast, which was too expensive at £7.50 a person, on top of £70 for the room. View from room is horrible- just of a busy cross-roads, but that's not their fault, nothing they can do about it.

    We've stayed at the White horse several times over many years; it's a work in improvement- slowly but surely it is getting a little better every time. The good: Friendly young receptionist, if a little scruffy. Wifi worked, the bed was comfy, bed- linen was spotless. Large rooms, large, clean bathroom. Nice feature wall of new wallpaper. Thick new stair carpet. The rest is stuck in the 70s, decor-wise. This used to be a really good hotel, decades ago- and could be again. We have faith in them....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Value for money, left HAPPY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in the room , had to have the bulb changed,no side lamps for reading in bed ( no plugs for same) .Realy needs bringing into the 21st century.

    Value for money, pleasent staff. Mine host a great host and no mean breakfast chef.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    2.5
    Diabolical!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. This is a hostel NOT a hotel. No water, food or anything. Avoid at all costs going near the place.

    This is not a hotel. This is a hostel. We only stayed one night. We wanted to leave sooner but we were tired after a very long journey and it was too late to find anywhere. We asked for our money back but they refused. This is the worst establishment you could ever dream of. Please take it off your list. It is a hostel for the down and outs. It is unbearable in every way.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.3
    Disgusting
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything and your recommendations

    No way would I ever return to this hotel spent two nights there for a family funeral wouldn’t recommend to anyone the room was very out dated the public area was a disgrace especially the lady and gents toilets they were filthy for the two days we were there with no toilet paper the food was non existent apart from a cooked full English breakfast which looked like it had been charcoaled also went out we were locked out at 11:30 pm by the owners who new we were out would definitely not recommend to anyone absolutely disgusting place we deserve a full refund booked all the time with booking.com and the last few hotels we’ve stayed at were awful so from now on we will look at other sites until booking.com check out the hotels they have on there list never again !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfy but basic, with good breakfast. Great potential after refurbishment is completed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car Parking was a bit hap hazard due to builders vans etc during refurb. Room was very basic. Needed another and larger mirror as the small one above the bathroom sink is a bit inadequate. No hairdryer. The bed valance was badly stained. Bathroom looked like it had been recently re-tiled, but finished off badly around the toilet. Shower temperature hard to control.

    Position for exploring the area was good. Top floor room was a good size, comfy and clean with plenty of light. Breakfast was good with buffet cereals and toast etc., and Full English served. Hotel is going through a much needed refurbishment and has great potential. Friendly staff always keen to help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    The staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building/rooms/decor all tired and in need of complete overhaul, but then again I’m not the one having to pay for it!

    The staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    It was ok and the convenience to my destination made it work for me
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No evening meal offered with only option being fast food takeaway from the high street. Very very soft bed. Poor wifi reception in my room - had to work downstairs in bar area. No parking available when I arrived.

    Friendly staff, convenient location to my destination

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    Will not be staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paintwork very grubby. The key to our room was left in the door all day to which the owner said 'no problem' even though I had left my tablet in the room. Carpets were ripped. We were asked what time we wanted breakfast, we were told it started at 7.30 to which we agreed, however, on Saturday it started at 8.30 which we were not told about and so had to leave the accommodation without any breakfast. Fried breakfast looked as if it had been cooked altogether in one frying pan. Left the bacon and sausage.

    Bed was ok. Towels changed every day. Toiletries renewed every day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    Don’t do it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon entering the room it smelt like stale urine. Carpet was peeling up off the floor. Stains all over the floor hate to imagine what this could be. Pumping music till 1am. People next door to us arrived back at their room late, which is fine but because the walls are so thin we could hear every word and they were just talking normally. Freezing cold shower in the morning, absolutely no hot water. Tap fell off for my husband when he had his freezing cold shower. It certainly was an experience we could laugh through but wouldn’t do it again. Good for a quick stop if you’re not bothered about cleanliness, noise and showering.

    The lady checking us in was polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub was occupied until late by a lot of youngster drinkers that were rowdy upon leaving - The doors to the rooms didn't close properly which I hadn't noticed - and resulted in another guest coming into my room at 3am (guess he thought it was his room!?) so if staying -make sure the door is slammed shut.

    Good location to where we needed to be in aldeburgh- basic and clean and tidy. Owners were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    Near to aldeburgh where we were visiting, clean but tired...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building needs a real refurbishment, breakfast room smelt damp, wooden toilet seats in bedroom 😫. Whole building needs a face lift and industrial clean.

    Near to aldeburgh where we were visiting, clean but tired bedroom, friendly staff member checked us in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel very tired and badly in need of updating! Carpets in room dirty, tiles coming up in the bathroom and no wardrobe.... not an issue for us as we only stayed one night....thank goodness! Breakfast was OK, we only had cereal and toast.... good value at £5 between us. We learnt that the hotel has now been sold so no doubt it will have a major refurb.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    The staff are trying hard, its very clean, its not very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its at a busy crossroads with a lot of traffic which starts early and ends late. Breakfast is only available after 8am. The room was OK for the price, very clean, but traffic noise was a bit irritating.

    The staff are trying hard, its very clean, its not very expensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    The bed was super comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was cold the first day but not the second.

    The bed was super comfy. The staff were excellent, the new managers couldn't do enough to make our stay great. The veggie breakfast was the best I've ever had. And the bar downstairs was awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Apparently Hotel is due for Refurbishment 18th May 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedroom [No.6] was extremely basic and shabby. Bedroom Radiator - Couldnt turn it on / Bathroom Radiator - Couldnt turn it off Windows - Couldnt close. / Drawer front fell off of Bedside cabinet. Shaver light not working / Sink & Bath - Water very slow to runaway. Toilet Seat - Loose / also only supplied with Half a Toilet Roll Cold Water Tap - Control knob broken

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    Clean beds, suited us for one night. Hotel needs some upgrading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wardrobe in room, or anywhere to hang anything, a simple rail would have worked, the room was plenty big enough. The ensuite, whilst clean, needs upgrading. Building is up for sale and hotel needs some TLC. The bit of bacon on my veggie breakfast :( No tea, coffee or juice offered and cutlery wasn’t clean.

    Clean room and comfortable beds, friendly staff. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    Can’t write much as we are too tired from not getting any sleep after staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken toilet seat broken electric plugs. Too loud both nights, had to get someone attention from the bar they had a “lock in” and we were locked out of the hotel. No one told us the main entrance was locked at half 11. Yet the party is the bar went on to at least 1 in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ALL ENQUIRIES board attached to the hotel - dismal and makes it look like it's closed Staff asked for payment when we checked in - we said we'd pay for everything together, i.e. after we'd had dinner, but they said there's NO RESTAURANT! -despite the menus on the website. They said that they (2 ladies) were only temp staff until the hotel is sold Second floor room (top floor) with narrow, steep stairs, so difficult access Only 1 bedside lamp (small double bed) because no socket on the other side Double socket for TV and kettle but only 1 socket was working so there was an ugly extension board plugged in (but at least that meant we could charge phones/camera) Bathroom - where do I start?! - basically a tatty 'wetroom' shoved in the corner of the bedroom - up a steep step to a tiled 'room' about 4ft square with a shower, old shower curtain (didn't want to touch it), old toilet at a peculiar angle, small basin. Needless to say the light over the mirror didn't work and the main light (string-pull) had brown string! We had to go out to eat and couldn't get back in until we went round the back and found a door open It's right beside traffic lights so there's very loud beeping every time someone crosses

    Easy car parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Value for money in a friendly pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more furniture such as 2 comfy chairs, more drawers and a bedside table on both sides of the bed.

    The room was large and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The hosts were great and helpful. The housekeeping staff kept our room spick and span

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    3.3
    horrendous costly for what was provided. only us staying there I wonder why
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff obviously no understanding of the role...heating broken down boiling hot had to cover radiator with duvet to get any sleep... breakfast room as truckdrivers cafe, help yourself milk bottle no butter just tub to scrape..I could go on... thanks a bunch trip-advisor

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value, comfortable (Room 1). Much better than a lot of the reviews, it's ok for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean, dry and warm, it had everything I needed. Not a palace, but perfectly good room and facilities for the money (a fair price), better than the usual budget type hotels. The hotel is much improved from when I last stayed a few years back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Good combination of pub-hotel offering spacious and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could do with a bit of a spruce up, room drafty and furniture a bit rickety.

    Good combination of pub-hotel offering spacious and comfortable accommodation, with all facilities on-hand. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant stay, loved the staff and the vibe and will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners have only been in a year and in that time they have replaced all carpets, when they get to the rooms they need to update the bathroom suites as very dated! Also they need to start doing bar snacks as no evening food offered

    Staff were amazing, always checking that we had everything we needed, location was great and atmosphere was really good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    It was where we wanted to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 'tired'. Although room was clean there were small things needing attention. Breakfast room was cold. We were on 2nd floor and stairs were quite steep. No lift.

    It was where we wanted to be. Room was warm and bed comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Adequate for the money.. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Either booking.com or the B and B mucked up a breakfast arrangements Also the hot water system broke down for our bath on the second day.. To be fare to the B and B they have us a breakfast to compensate.. But when we booked and when we paid all breakfasts should have been included..

    Room it's self was a good size and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water Broken windows

    Lovely lady runs the place you get what you pay for we enjoyed our stay but could do with a bit of updating tape on the windows hot water broke made the bed and left dirty cups the just small things that need improvement but it’s value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    location was ideal for our needs (Leiston fc)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very shabby. Heating in main room did not work, repair work to the Radiator left holes in the wall tiles uplifted and holes in bathroom wall

    location was ideal for our needs (Leiston fc)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Hotel is a work in progress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central heating didn't work. No mattress cover. No shelves in bathrm. No chairs in rm.no veggie options at breakfast.

    Loads of hot water. Bath.Clean.Black-out curtains. New bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    CHEAP AND LOW KEY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SHOWER DIDNT WORK VERY WELL, WINDOW VERY TRICKY TO CLOSE, NOISE FROM THE MAIN ROAD, FOUND OUT ONLY ON ARRIVAL THAT THE PUB HAS A DISCO UNTIL 1.00AM.

    ROOM WAS SPACIOUS

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    very good base for visits to local birding hotspots eg sizewell outflow rigs for gulls etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    the bed was the most comfortable ive ever slept on ! cycle storage overnight and access for early start birding,cycling to minsmere bird reserve ( 20mins +).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    Not a comfortable night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress on bed old, springs sagged and went "Boing" every time you moved, needs new one. Pillows flat & Curtains thin and let in street & car lights. Only one bedside table & light, no switch near bed for main light. No glasses/cups in bathroom. Food not available in Hotel and only take-aways in town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect base and a very good price for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Socket in room was a bit hazardous but did not bother me. Could be dodgy with children though . The disco in the evening was interesting but nothing some earplugs remedied. Again did not bother me but be aware this is at weekends only.

    Excellent value fit money, basic essentials available , staff very friendly. Breakfast was again very good, basic but perfect bacon sausage eggs and tea. Not much if you are after a big continental breakfast with fresh coffee. Only minutes from the coast. Very good base. Would recommend and visit again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice and would stay again. Loved the ghost stories from the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long wait for cooked breakfast.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good but took a while to get it. Myself and friend arrived first but ended up last to be served. We had an appointment at 9am but did not get away till 9.30. That was my only downside. Otherwise all other areas were very good. Would go back again but not on disco night which was very loud I was told.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit tired eg chips in enamel in bath. Also some obvious things that didn't really affect us, but... no hairdryer; no bath plug; no central heating as pub too hot ( but did bring an electric heater)

    Friendliness of the staff. Good location. Easy parking. Breakfast freshly cooked

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Good budget accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were nice however everything smelt dirty outside the room... as soon as you opened the door the smell of BO and beer was like a wall... I know it is above a pub however an air freshener wouldn't have gone a miss... All customers need to be made more clearly aware of the events every weekend which go on until 1am which you can most certainly hear thumping through the floor then out on the street after....

    The staff were very polite and helpful when finding somewhere to eat and smiley

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Very welcoming
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    The ladies running the Hotel are lovely. So helpful with comments about the area, including business opportunities. Room very spacious and clean. Central location with easy parking and nice garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    OK for an overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen is currently closed at the hotel so no hot food available. There are a couple of takeaways and Indian Restaurant fairly close but if you want somewhere reasonably smart within walking distance then this probably isn't the place for you.

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy at night - its on a junction in a town water was not really hot stairs very steep - perhaps they need to warn guests they put on the top floor

    Clean, comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    Convenient for our purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is quite run down and i feel the manager of this hostelry is doing a very good job with no help from the owner. It needs plenty of T,L,C.

    Very good breakfast. was clean and fresh towels both days of being there, The staff are doing a very good job

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Great value and friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had no hot water. The room smelt a little fusty - probably just needed a new air freshener.

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Sorted us out with early check in which we really appreciated as we had a wedding to attend. Breakfast was good too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    A good hotel that is making improvements and just carry on and it will be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coca cola was flat and the breakfast even though was good seemed to be of a poorer quality than what they could have done .The orange juice was of a savers batch ,but when they got it from the bar it was so much better.The window was broken and taped up and they were waiting for a glazier which they said they find it hard to get one in the area.The tv signal kept breaking up and so you could not watch the television programme at all.

    The hotel was well placed in Leiston and was easy to find,The beer selection was good the room was comfortable the dining room was nice.The room seemed to have been decorated and the bar attendant was very helpful as she seem to do most of the work receptionist and bar person.The place was clean and well kept

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    good 3 star hotel in excellent position for visiting Aldburgh and Thorpness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    overbath shower screen seal was broken and leaked water onto floor.TV was small for us oldies to see.

    after reading negative reports we were pleasantly surprised. staff were pleasant and room was clean. room had been decorated and had new carpets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Ok if you wear eye plugs for one night stop over.Will not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wardobe in room,Shower broken (Pipe broke a Head) & temp varies,Bed tight to tea making area. Traffic noise as only single glazing & on a junction.

    Clean Room & Good breakfast & tea/coffee supplies making drinks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.2
    Not very impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Young man on check in quite brusk.On very busy intersection, steep staircase for our age ( 74 ) to 3rd floor, broken taped up pane of glass in bedroom window, loose toilet seat, no toilet roll holder, no bedside light, no secondary double glazing. Remote for tv didn't work ( probably batteries flat ) breakfast milk in it's plastic bottle, no jug, loaf of bread in wrapper on counter top to help yourself to.

    Very little, tired, needs updating. Breakfast very good with pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was chosen for its proximity to Minsmere, the RSPB...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really late breakfast.

    The hotel was chosen for its proximity to Minsmere, the RSPB site just up the road. The room was big, the bed lovely and comfy, but 60 quid for a single person when I asked for a normal room, not a 4 bed, Breakfast was extra! Not that it mattered, cos it was from 09.00, and I was out bird spotting at 06.00! Loads of parking space, maybe cos I was the only guest?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    comfortable but a few little things missing as stated above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A mirror in the bedroom and a Hairdryer, Serviettes on the table at breakfast, and the broken shower head bracket fixed so it did not have to be hand held.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    3.8
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No key for property therefore if you went out when the restaurant was shut you were unable to get back in. No lock on the bedroom door from the inside therefore staff could just walk in. Staff were difficult to locate when requiring assistance.

    It was close enough to Dunwich.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.2
    It helps if you like disco music till late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One had to rely on someone coming out to ask where the way in was (called a hotel, it is really a pub-hotel). The person on reception, when one found it and him, could not find the booking.com booking. He looked on the computer and checked with someone else, and then took payment. On being asked about the room, said that check-in was not till two (by then it was 3.15). The room was OK, but - as the web-site does not tell you - they have a late licence. With a room over a pub, even two floors up, one knows that it could be noisy. However, with a disco that did not wind down until past 1.00 a.m., and stragglers and their noise and shouting not over, so that one could sleep, until 2.00 a.m. this was an expensive few hours' sleep (needing to be ten miles away by 8.00 a.m.). As for having booking.com 'genius' status, and being able to request an early arrival or late check-in by two hours and free, this just does not work : when one had returned at 9.30 a.m., the cleaner tried to come in at 9.50 (ordinary check-in out was 11.30), but she knew nothing about the request for a later departure. She said that she would enquire, but the answer was slow to come, and it was just that they needed the room for someone else who had booked with booking.com, so no.

    The bed was comfortable, and the bedlinen was pleasant to sleep in. The room had its own toilet, but no bath, only a fairly basic shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.6
    Poor description by Booking.com of a poor shabby hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Reception staff lacked any degree of customer care or customer service. They lacked any understanding and remained unhelpful. The hotel was generally clean but very shabby. Booking.com's website was unclear about what we were booking ie no breakfast included and no restaurant in the hotel. We had to travel some distance to find a restaurant. This has to be the worst hotel that we have stayed in. Very poor on the part of Booking .com in the way it described the hotel and its lack of facilities

    there was very little to like about this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful little place to stay and very close to shops and the Abbey which is close
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because I don't drive , it was a bit difficult to get to and from by public transport, the 3 hour wait for a bus ( if I miss it) to the station didn't help.

    It was a lovely room and the bed was really nice and I was asleep within minutes. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    some value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shabby room and hotel, reflects lack of investment in community as a whole broken things in room should be fixed before customer checks in!

    good location near the coast easy to find and park

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    On the whole I had a very pleasant stay, and would certainly go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was situated right on a crossroads, which was busy all day, with traffic lights which bleeped, so it was very noisy. It was very hot over the weekend so I had to have the windows open, and when the pub attached to the hotel closed at 1a.m. the patrons were very noisy when leaving. However, I did not lose too much sleep!

    I was attending a concert in the village, and the hotel was situated conveniently nearby. All the people I met were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.7
    Not as bad as the reviews suggest!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a distinct smell of damp in the room which we were told was paint (I've never smelt paint like that!)

    Clean and comfortable enough. Didn't have breakfast so couldn't comment on that.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.0
    Use when the area is fully booked, personally I'd rather commute from Ipswich next time!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi in room was none existent. The room had recently been given a lick of paint & if it had been done to a higher standard, together with the mould being cleaned from around the bath it would have been OK. The shower screen didn't fit the over bath set up & each time you used the shower, you stepped out of the bath into a mini lake & steam room; no working extractor. However this together with the fact that I had to leave my shirts hanging in the car, because there was no wardrobe, or even a rail to hang them on was astounding. Spend some money & bring the place up to speed & this will be a magnet for the area, as there are no pubs in Leiston that offer evening meals at all.

    The breakfast was adequate & the staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Good budget stay close to Suffolk attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror in the bedroom and hair dryer would have been nice (for my wife)! Bathroom extractor fan and shaving light not working.

    Good friendly service. Facilities basic but more than aqequate for the price. Lovely cooked breakfast (although says just continental on website).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.7
    Fine, for what we needed.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to hang clothes on in the room, no wardrobe, hooks etc. had to use the picture rail as we had outfits for 2 occasions to hang up.

    Good breakfast, freshly cooked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    We were made to feel really welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say really.comfy friendly hotel

    We were made to feel really welcome.was only a short stay but the service was brilliant.Family run business new owners who will do very well

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    Good value, lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a bit shabby but perfectly serviceable. The shower was a bit of a pain - water everywhere.

    Good value, lovely breakfast. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.6
    Customers first here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not such good wifi in the general area.

    The lady who runs the establishment was lovely. I had a couple of issues during my stay and she did everything to assist. Flexible and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    5.8
    Good location. Interior needing work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building looked rough due to renovation work taking place. The carpet in the room was old and needed replacing. Breakfast was served in the bar.

    The location was very handy for the theatre. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    2.5
    Never again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was dirty, we had booked 2 nights but left after one.

    Breakfast was cheap fatty bacon with black bits on it as though it had been cooked in a dirty pan. Toast had some sort of spread on it. I asked for a piece with no spread, it came eventually. We would never stay inb this hotel again and will warn people we know about it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    Great location for Minsmere Reserve and the hotel is being improved by the new manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radiator in our room didn't work and the windows are single glazed. Probably due to regulations as the building is quite old. The radiator wasn't a problem as I don't like a hot room. The bathroom one was great and the windows had thick curtains. I certainly didn't hear the overnight storm

    We were the only guests I think. The hotel was hit by a car in the summer and consequently, there is building work going on. That said, the hotel has had quite a lot of renovation since my last visit, including new carpets and appears to have been decorated.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    6.3
    Will do better when front rebuilt, restaurant reopened and new manager made her mark!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suffering from damage caused by a vehicle impact that destroyed the main entrance and closed the restaurant. Hence limited bar snacks on Friday and crisps only on Saturday! Leiston is not well endowed with restaurants. The Indian is excellent and the Seahawk fish & chip shop does have a serviced sit down area. Otherwise its a drive out to surrounding villages. My room was better equipped than many more modern establishments with drawers and wardrobe. However the plumbing was in need of tender loving care.

    I believe only residential hotel actually in Leiston. Good full English included despite booking saying continental!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    Minsmere close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washbasin small. Hotel looks a little tired, but is being progressingly improved (been here before and would happily come again).

    Great situation for Minsmere, excellent value, excellent staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    4.6
    Almost good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom's dirty carpet. The steep stairs, we are fit but nearly 80. The bathroom toilet flushed with great difficulty and the shower almost flooded the bathroom. The lack of double glazing made our front bedroom very noisy, the hotel is at a crossroad.

    What croissants? asked for tea, received a cup, asked for a pot and got it with a smile. Food o.k. reasonably comfortable bed. Clean sheets. Found an excellent fish and ship's restaurant in the town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    2.9
    Shouldn't be offered through booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old fashioned throughout in need of total refurb filthy, stained carpets in bedroom broken furniture in bedroom awkward shaped bath shower that sprayed the wall thin, tiny towels

    The breakfast was quite good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    homely and welcoming and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower over the bath and the mixer taps that would be the only thing but it wouldn't stop me going back as I found it very homely and that made up for the shower

    Breakfast was lovely and the bed was very comfortable a really enjoyable stay and the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.5
    Excellent location for Minsmere and access to a choice of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was 18th century and was in need of renovation. There was damp in some areas. Due to the status of the building there was no double glazing

    Excellent location for Minsmere and access to a choice of restaurants or takeaways

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Straightforward accommodation with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems at all

    It was what I wanted. Nothing special but a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: