Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The White Horse Hotel & Brasserie 4 stars

Market Place, Romsey, SO51 8ZJ, United Kingdom

#7 of 11 hotels in Romsey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 116 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.5
    Very little to disappoint. A good jumping off point for visiting locally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant was a little slow given there were only a few covers.

    Central location. Warm welcome. Efficient check-in. Comfortable room. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed.
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was too hot for me with not enough fresh air.There was a fan but it didn’t alleviate the stuffy feel even though the radiator wasn’t on.Room was fine,bathroom was ok but not very well designed in that the space was a bit limited when using the toilet,felt a bit cramped.Weather was terrible (can’t blame them for that!)-room looked out on roofs with the pouring rain audible all the time.Staff were Ok,not especially friendly and as I had already paid by PayPal I was annoyed at having to produce a card and hope I haven’t been charged twice (apparently not according to staff on leaving but will wait and see).Maybe i’m Just fussy but I’ve stayed in much better places and for the money I would have expected better comfort and breakfast included (which would have been an extra £14).

    Very conveniently situation in the middle of Romsey town centre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in good location with lots of shops surrounding...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t included in the price

    Lovely hotel in good location with lots of shops surrounding so everything you need is on the door step. Room was super cozy with everything you need. Had a great sleep

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    Sad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand bars for stairs down to en suite no hand bar to help getting in and out of shower which was over the bath. Staff did not explain about electric no instructions on how to use coffee maker hot water but plenty of signs saying price of things when this was booked it included free breakfast but no we had to pay extra and gratuities.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought Breakfast was included otherwise I wouldn’t of booked the room, it wasn’t a problem but I found the attitude of the receptionist a little condescending and not really sympathetic. When checking out I wasn’t asked if everything was ok with the room or thanked

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    A little expensive for no parking food etc. but would stay again on non holiday weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs Blockout blinds. Early sun woke us far too early, & room was far too light for good sleep

    Nicely re- furbished historic hotel, staff very helpfully.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely recommend and stay here again. It was a super charming hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the checkin staff could of been a little more friendly and on point. When I checked in I carried my luggage up many stairs to find my room was not cleaned or ready yet, we returned to reception where they stored my luggage but didn’t put my room number or name on it so left me feeling a little worried. (Although it was fine) The Wi-fi didn’t work for me, it was not clear if the bottled water was complimentary or not.

    The style and ambiance of the hotel and my room was great, my single room was really lovely spacious and charming. The bed was really comfortable. The location was perfect. I loved the coffee machine, the tea and the choice of toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel, ideal location for centre of Romsey, good food & would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little slow serving in the bar - it was a Tuesday night so the hotel wasn't busy - and at clearing tables in courtyard area - we sat down and 5 tables had old glasses / plates etc on them and took around half hour for the tables to be cleared (but not wiped down)

    The hotel is ideally located in the centre of Romsey, friendly staff, very clean rooms & well appointed bedroom & bathroom. Also good as it was 28C but the room had a fan which was great. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was very good, would be happy to eat there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant but marred by above niggles. Meal good on Saturday evening, drinks prices high.l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities need more thought. Toilet is too close to shower screen to enable use, ie, not enough room to wipe one's bottom! Test drive it for yourselves! And we are not over weight either. Bathroom could do with more shelving to put toiletries. Basin mirror needs lighting from both sides of mirror rather than from above for application of makeup. Likewise dressing table could do with lights either side. Plug for hairdresser is hard to reach under dressing table, I had to get down on my hands and knees to reach it, which at 73 is not easy. Coffee maker prob ok if that's your thing, but not much good for making tea or larger mugs of coffee, would much prefer a kettle. Better placed on chest of drawers, too much clutter on dressing table.

    Room pleasant, large enough, warm, bed comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Bar, restaurant and lounge very comfortable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom a little small, with no convenient workspace

    Bar, restaurant and lounge very comfortable and relaxing. Staff could not be more helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent quality hotel with a great kitchen and helpful / friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No direct hotel parking , but this was a very minor point as there is parking available very close to the hotel. Lack of a lift may put some people off , but not if your ok with a couple of flights of stairs ( no problem for us) .

    Room 110 was larger than expected, very smart and clean , very nicely decorated/ presented. Had everything we needed including a nexpresso coffee / tea maker. A good TV , very comfortable kingsize bed , and excellent on suite with powerfull shower. We had a great evening meal in the brasserie , it was not a budget meal !, but the quality was so good we felt the price was justified , so good we thought it was probably Michelin x quality ,so tasty !, we had one starter between us ( scallops) and two mains with a couple of drinks each, cost was around £90 . Very attentive, smart and friendly staff really could not fault it. The bar was also very nice with very comfortable seating and well decorated. Breakfast also offered an allocarte menu which we went for and again were not dissappointed ! ... good value for money around £10 each. Full English plus buffet is £14:50. Overall the hotel was excellent, lovely staff, did notice on the negative side no lift ( not a problem for us ) but may not suit an older or dissabled couple,although stairway was again very well decorated with quality hand rails. Parking was not directly available at the hotel but is available at public parking locations very nearby ( We were extra lucky and got a spot just opposite the front of the hotel next to a coffee shop. Great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, a nice town , would be happy to come back .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    very pleasant.... room was lovely and staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we were not disappointed the staff from reception to bar staff all made us feel very welcome they all seemed very pleasant and friendly and lots of smiling we will return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed - Mattress was soft.

    Reception staff were excellent and helpful. One of the serving staff in the restaurant was very good and she was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Romantic weekend stay in pretty town with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was slow at the restaurant for dinner - they apologised as they were busy. The room was very warm - it was a warm day. Quite a lot of stairs up to our room while carrying a baby was a little tiring but not a huge deal. I asked two waitresses where the baby changing table was and got blank stares - I managed to find it!

    Lovely setting with lots of outdoor seating and smart restaurant with delicious food. Perfect evening spent reading with a glass of wine outside. Nicely decorated room, clean and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    This is a lovely hotel in very many ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife and I were allocated a 'snug' double which turned out to be a quaint use of euphemism. This was a very small room for two people where the bed dominated the room so much that little space was left for free movement. It did come £20 cheaper than a standard double but this still did not represent good value for money. We were also located on the first floor immediately above the main hotel entrance. As a result this was a noisy room-particularly on a hot day when one wanted the window open-with guests and delivery people making for a broken sleep pattern! Next time I will make sure to ask for a specific room in a specific location when booking. Another concern was the lack of car park. There are long-stay public car parks which are five minutes walk away but travellers do need to think about the logistics surrounding that when booking. On a more petty note, a kettle and some teacups would have been welcome rather than the small coffee cups and nespresso machine provided but, on reflection, it would have been difficult to find the space to locate these.

    The hotel's location gives it excellent accessibility to the town of Romsey and is a stone's throw from the Abbey. The staff are excellent; very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is extremely well looked after with décor and cleanliness both of a high standard. It has real history and character which we loved. Although I did not dine at the hotel, the breakfasts were excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Good base for us to walk along the Test Way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels were replaced by new ones, which we had not requested for only 2 nights stay. The soap was missing on our 2nd day.

    Good choice of food at breakfasts. Attentive staff, plenty of coffee offered. Our bikes were safely stored inside a locked building overnight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    Usefull Hotel for wedding at the Abbey.
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to readjust sink plug to get water to run away. Push water seal back into place on shower door. Location of spare socket to plug mobile phone charger into was difficult to reach. Had to get on hands and knees to unplug coffee maker and plug in fan and phone. All hotels should be made to put spare sockets above desk height for easy access. Parking was a pain having to keep moving every 4 and 2 hours although overnight was free. Rooms way to hot, needed some form of aircon not just a fan. Had to keep curtains closed due to builders scaffold on next door.

    Location was excellent for a wedding at the Abbey. The rest was just an old refurbished coaching Inn with wonky stairs and no porter to help with luggage. Shower itself was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Pretentious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel does not fit any of the categories above. £145 was too expensive for "room only" in a small room at a tired hotel whose "broom cupboard" wardrobe contained a full sized ironing board, a large iron and a fan and two thick towelling robes (which incidentally you were warned not to steal or your credit card would suffer). If you have more than a shirt and slacks in your luggage - stay somewhere else. The room was furnished in a quasi Louis XV style reminiscent of the 1960's MFI whitewood range. An apparently standard English breakfast was £14.50 each - why stop at £14.50? Why not round it up to £30 for two. There was no car parking and the back gate was locked in the evening meaning from the public car park we had to find our way through a series of alleyways to walk around to the front of the building. Pretentious describes this place, suitable for junior executives whose bills are paid by their employer or someone with more money than sense. And who is clearly likely to inadvertently steal the dressing gowns. If this doesn't put you off I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

    Town centre location, comfy bed, quirky old charm,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Good location for access to all facilities in the town,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More variety on Menu. Coffee machine wasn't ideal for making tea. Water wasn't hot.

    Comfortable bed. Great location. Dressing gown and slippers provided.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay in Romsey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean comfortable and pretty room with good room amenities - iron, hairdryer, ironing board and coffee machine. Very clean. Good breakfast with plenty of choice for either continental or/and cooked. Friendly service and quick check out and check in. We were staying for a family event in the tack room and the food and service were excellent and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location and comfortable accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking and limited options to park in the town itself.

    Very comfortable room with very nice modern bathroom. Hotel location is excellent, in the heart of the town with all local amenities within a very short stroll.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.3
    Convenient hotel in centre of Romsey
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are rather thin stud walls and we could hear the person next door snoring. Tea's in room were not replenished. No car park. Possibly a little pricy to not include breakfast as bathroom was very small.

    This is a lovely old hotel right in the middle of Romsey town centre. The room was in the original part of the hotel and was probably part of a much larger room and converted into 3 rooms. The staff are excellent, very helpful and we were able to get something to eat late on when we returned from my work after a special event. There are lovely old lounges to sit in which have great character. Location is perfect

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    7.1
    Watch out for front bedrooms..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here a few years ago and had the same complaint. If your room is in the front of the hotel you get woken up 2 - 3 times by deliveries as there doesn't appear to be any rear entrance to the hotel. I woke up to a delivery at three in the morning....not good !!

    Nice cosy feeling hotel, the bar area was nice and the separate lounge was also relaxing. Restaurant also pleasant with a good choice of breakfast, not a horrible breakfast buffet...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location,clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't work the water heater. A normal kettle would have been preferable. The quilt had a nasty aroma. Door banging as the staff left

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.7
    A good hotel very well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived to book in -having pre booked and telephoned confirmation, but it took 20 minutes to find the booking at the desk-just like Fawlty Towers, with a not too clever male receptionist All the other staff were excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.5
    Nice location and reasonable value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was way too hot so I did not eat in the Hotel. Reception staff could be a little more organised.

    Nice decor downstairs and bar man very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Having to go home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go home

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Location and atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy fire doors clunking in the night a bit.

    Location and atmosphere. Good food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    No car parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Location, service and charm of place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was happy with everything.

    Location, service and charm of place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    My room wasn't ready until 15:15.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn't ready until 15:15. And they double-charged me: I stayed for one night only and they charged me for 2 nights!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Clean,quiet and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking facility

    Modern bathroom, comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Very helpful getting me a cab at short notice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast if not bought as part of booking

    Very helpful getting me a cab at short notice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Superb hotel with friendly and efficient staff. Rooms had everything required for a first class stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike at all.

    Location, comfort, cleanliness, safety. There was nothing at all to.dislike.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Lovely stay, staff helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, wine, staff, everything as it should be. Very refreshing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.2
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    I don’t know because I wasn’t able to stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Fan on in the room and a proper coffee machine, best night sleep I have had for ages

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Lovely Romsey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wi fi signal in my room.

    Everything excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Rooms a little small
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little small

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable,clean and convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive £190 for 2 nights single room not even breakfast was included

    Good location close to local transport comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    muddle over bill, no black current juice in bar, wild boar tough , room too hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    We didnt eat there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gesichtloses Businesshotel

    We didnt eat there. To expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very smart and good location

    Everything really

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    well presented hotel with pleasant staff and attractive decor. nicely placed in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine and we enjoyed our stay. the view from our room was marred by the existence of scaffolding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    Change the beds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was so squeaky, that every time I moved it squeaked and woke me up!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    The happy to help attitude we received when needing a change...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The happy to help attitude we received when needing a change around in the room from a single bed to a cot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    central location full of charecter, but limited restaurant menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff were mainly spanish and didn't have a thorough understanding of the area or how the hotel was run

    standard of decor was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.4
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gratuities put automatically on bills, even breakfast.

    The food was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff and hotel was of a high standard.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit soft.

    Very friendly staff and hotel was of a high standard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and polite staff. Beautifully clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Our third stay in this hotel, excellent dining and very comfortable if expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive

    Excellent meals in restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable stay. Nice staff. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel but no parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel but no parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no parking. Nightmare

    Staff were lovely and accommodation comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel and great bar selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alex the cocktail master was very good. Entertaining and very knowledgeable about whisky.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    Convenenient and Nice in Romsey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff a little jobsworth. (Staff mixed, some good others less so).

    comfortable rooms, nice outside space, some staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Central location in Romsey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say

    Excellent helpful staff - both at reception and in the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Great place for a week-end
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kindness of staff Comfort o the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant and bar staff were not at all helpfull

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable with high end standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Did not have breakfast took full advantage of a lay in and 11am checkout

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    7.9
    Nice restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms with annoyingly rattley furniture

    Nice restaurant

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    The restaurant was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking situation

    The restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.2
    Superb food and servicein the brasserie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small tea-making machine and cups in room

    Superb food and servicein the brasserie

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Delicious choice of breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious choice of breakfasts. Huge bed!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.9
    Quirky old place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky old place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.9
    Definitely a top Romsey Hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed in room 210, rather uncomfortable.

    Attentive staff, excellent breakfast and dinner, good humoured without being up itself.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Overall ambiance and friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall ambiance and friendly staff; nice feeling of being in a coaching inn!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Good, Clean friendly Hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meal nice enough but not value for money, missed breakfast because of the price.

    Room was nice, clean and quiet. Staff friendly and dogs facilitated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    A wonderful hotel with great charm and excellent facilities right in the heart of a wonderful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely ambience. Friendly staff. Great location and great value for money. A wonderful one night stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    5.0
    Room poor no wer to put things in bathroom to much furniture...
    • Couple

    Breakfast totally overpriced charged for items we never had.would not look at out complaint took ou email But to date no answer to our question From the manager.

    Room poor no wer to put things in bathroom to much furniture in room

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    5.5
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bath. No biscuits. Inconvenient socket near mirror. Chair too low for mirror. No soap dish or shelf in shower. Shelf too high in wardrobe and no drawers.

    The room was clean.

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: