Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The White Horse Hotel & Brasserie This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Market Place, Romsey, SO51 8ZJ, United Kingdom

#6 of 11 hotels in Romsey

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant but marred by above niggles. Meal good on Saturday evening, drinks prices high.l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room facilities need more thought. Toilet is too close to shower screen to enable use, ie, not enough room to wipe one's bottom! Test drive it for yourselves! And we are not over weight either. Bathroom could do with more shelving to put toiletries. Basin mirror needs lighting from both sides of mirror rather than from above for application of makeup. Likewise dressing table could do with lights either side. Plug for hairdresser is hard to reach under dressing table, I had to get down on my hands and knees to reach it, which at 73 is not easy. Coffee maker prob ok if that's your thing, but not much good for making tea or larger mugs of coffee, would much prefer a kettle. Better placed on chest of drawers, too much clutter on dressing table.

    Room pleasant, large enough, warm, bed comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    9.2
    Bar, restaurant and lounge very comfortable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom a little small, with no convenient workspace

    Bar, restaurant and lounge very comfortable and relaxing. Staff could not be more helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent quality hotel with a great kitchen and helpful / friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No direct hotel parking , but this was a very minor point as there is parking available very close to the hotel. Lack of a lift may put some people off , but not if your ok with a couple of flights of stairs ( no problem for us) .

    Room 110 was larger than expected, very smart and clean , very nicely decorated/ presented. Had everything we needed including a nexpresso coffee / tea maker. A good TV , very comfortable kingsize bed , and excellent on suite with powerfull shower. We had a great evening meal in the brasserie , it was not a budget meal !, but the quality was so good we felt the price was justified , so good we thought it was probably Michelin x quality ,so tasty !, we had one starter between us ( scallops) and two mains with a couple of drinks each, cost was around £90 . Very attentive, smart and friendly staff really could not fault it. The bar was also very nice with very comfortable seating and well decorated. Breakfast also offered an allocarte menu which we went for and again were not dissappointed ! ... good value for money around £10 each. Full English plus buffet is £14:50. Overall the hotel was excellent, lovely staff, did notice on the negative side no lift ( not a problem for us ) but may not suit an older or dissabled couple,although stairway was again very well decorated with quality hand rails. Parking was not directly available at the hotel but is available at public parking locations very nearby ( We were extra lucky and got a spot just opposite the front of the hotel next to a coffee shop. Great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, a nice town , would be happy to come back .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    7.9
    very pleasant.... room was lovely and staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we were not disappointed the staff from reception to bar staff all made us feel very welcome they all seemed very pleasant and friendly and lots of smiling we will return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed - Mattress was soft.

    Reception staff were excellent and helpful. One of the serving staff in the restaurant was very good and she was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    9.6
    Romantic weekend stay in pretty town with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service was slow at the restaurant for dinner - they apologised as they were busy. The room was very warm - it was a warm day. Quite a lot of stairs up to our room while carrying a baby was a little tiring but not a huge deal. I asked two waitresses where the baby changing table was and got blank stares - I managed to find it!

    Lovely setting with lots of outdoor seating and smart restaurant with delicious food. Perfect evening spent reading with a glass of wine outside. Nicely decorated room, clean and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    7.5
    This is a lovely hotel in very many ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife and I were allocated a 'snug' double which turned out to be a quaint use of euphemism. This was a very small room for two people where the bed dominated the room so much that little space was left for free movement. It did come £20 cheaper than a standard double but this still did not represent good value for money. We were also located on the first floor immediately above the main hotel entrance. As a result this was a noisy room-particularly on a hot day when one wanted the window open-with guests and delivery people making for a broken sleep pattern! Next time I will make sure to ask for a specific room in a specific location when booking. Another concern was the lack of car park. There are long-stay public car parks which are five minutes walk away but travellers do need to think about the logistics surrounding that when booking. On a more petty note, a kettle and some teacups would have been welcome rather than the small coffee cups and nespresso machine provided but, on reflection, it would have been difficult to find the space to locate these.

    The hotel's location gives it excellent accessibility to the town of Romsey and is a stone's throw from the Abbey. The staff are excellent; very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is extremely well looked after with décor and cleanliness both of a high standard. It has real history and character which we loved. Although I did not dine at the hotel, the breakfasts were excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    9.6
    Good base for us to walk along the Test Way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels were replaced by new ones, which we had not requested for only 2 nights stay. The soap was missing on our 2nd day.

    Good choice of food at breakfasts. Attentive staff, plenty of coffee offered. Our bikes were safely stored inside a locked building overnight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    5.8
    Usefull Hotel for wedding at the Abbey.
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to readjust sink plug to get water to run away. Push water seal back into place on shower door. Location of spare socket to plug mobile phone charger into was difficult to reach. Had to get on hands and knees to unplug coffee maker and plug in fan and phone. All hotels should be made to put spare sockets above desk height for easy access. Parking was a pain having to keep moving every 4 and 2 hours although overnight was free. Rooms way to hot, needed some form of aircon not just a fan. Had to keep curtains closed due to builders scaffold on next door.

    Location was excellent for a wedding at the Abbey. The rest was just an old refurbished coaching Inn with wonky stairs and no porter to help with luggage. Shower itself was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    6.7
    Pretentious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel does not fit any of the categories above. £145 was too expensive for "room only" in a small room at a tired hotel whose "broom cupboard" wardrobe contained a full sized ironing board, a large iron and a fan and two thick towelling robes (which incidentally you were warned not to steal or your credit card would suffer). If you have more than a shirt and slacks in your luggage - stay somewhere else. The room was furnished in a quasi Louis XV style reminiscent of the 1960's MFI whitewood range. An apparently standard English breakfast was £14.50 each - why stop at £14.50? Why not round it up to £30 for two. There was no car parking and the back gate was locked in the evening meaning from the public car park we had to find our way through a series of alleyways to walk around to the front of the building. Pretentious describes this place, suitable for junior executives whose bills are paid by their employer or someone with more money than sense. And who is clearly likely to inadvertently steal the dressing gowns. If this doesn't put you off I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

    Town centre location, comfy bed, quirky old charm,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    7.9
    Good location for access to all facilities in the town,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More variety on Menu. Coffee machine wasn't ideal for making tea. Water wasn't hot.

    Comfortable bed. Great location. Dressing gown and slippers provided.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay in Romsey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean comfortable and pretty room with good room amenities - iron, hairdryer, ironing board and coffee machine. Very clean. Good breakfast with plenty of choice for either continental or/and cooked. Friendly service and quick check out and check in. We were staying for a family event in the tack room and the food and service were excellent and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location and comfortable accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking and limited options to park in the town itself.

    Very comfortable room with very nice modern bathroom. Hotel location is excellent, in the heart of the town with all local amenities within a very short stroll.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    8.3
    Convenient hotel in centre of Romsey
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are rather thin stud walls and we could hear the person next door snoring. Tea's in room were not replenished. No car park. Possibly a little pricy to not include breakfast as bathroom was very small.

    This is a lovely old hotel right in the middle of Romsey town centre. The room was in the original part of the hotel and was probably part of a much larger room and converted into 3 rooms. The staff are excellent, very helpful and we were able to get something to eat late on when we returned from my work after a special event. There are lovely old lounges to sit in which have great character. Location is perfect

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2017

    7.1
    Watch out for front bedrooms..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed here a few years ago and had the same complaint. If your room is in the front of the hotel you get woken up 2 - 3 times by deliveries as there doesn't appear to be any rear entrance to the hotel. I woke up to a delivery at three in the morning....not good !!

    Nice cosy feeling hotel, the bar area was nice and the separate lounge was also relaxing. Restaurant also pleasant with a good choice of breakfast, not a horrible breakfast buffet...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location,clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't work the water heater. A normal kettle would have been preferable. The quilt had a nasty aroma. Door banging as the staff left

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2016

    6.7
    A good hotel very well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived to book in -having pre booked and telephoned confirmation, but it took 20 minutes to find the booking at the desk-just like Fawlty Towers, with a not too clever male receptionist All the other staff were excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2016

    7.5
    Nice location and reasonable value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was way too hot so I did not eat in the Hotel. Reception staff could be a little more organised.

    Nice decor downstairs and bar man very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2016

    8.8
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Access for disabled was difficult but we managed. Also no parking on site or arrangement with local car parks.

    Food, location, staff and ambience were fabulous

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    9.6
    A wonderful, relaxing experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to complain about.

    Everything about the hotel was excellent. The staff really put themselves out to make my stay comfortable. I arrived late Friday evening and was treated well in the restaurant. My breakfast in the morning was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful old inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't have breakfast as it wasn't included and we thought £14.50 was a bit steep. Instead we ate in That Little Tea Shop just off The Hundred for half the price.

    The premises were amazing and we had an example of some original wallpaper behind glass and doors in our room - real history!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2016

    10
    Very clean comfortable and generally an excellent visit and well worth coming back for another visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room size a little tight and decor could be more modern (but that's a personal preference)

    Location/building and food were all excellent and soundproofing !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant but spoilt by noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Receptionist who was not empathetic to our issue with the room. Late night noise from pub across road turning out which went on for nearly an hour

    Staff at breakfast who were wonderful. Decor of hotel. Local area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable,clean and convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    6.3
    Weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive £190 for 2 nights single room not even breakfast was included

    Good location close to local transport comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    6.7
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    muddle over bill, no black current juice in bar, wild boar tough , room too hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    6.7
    We didnt eat there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gesichtloses Businesshotel

    We didnt eat there. To expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    5.0
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very smart and good location

    Everything really

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.5
    well presented hotel with pleasant staff and attractive decor. nicely placed in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine and we enjoyed our stay. the view from our room was marred by the existence of scaffolding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    5.8
    Change the beds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was so squeaky, that every time I moved it squeaked and woke me up!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    The happy to help attitude we received when needing a change...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The happy to help attitude we received when needing a change around in the room from a single bed to a cot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    6.7
    central location full of charecter, but limited restaurant menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff were mainly spanish and didn't have a thorough understanding of the area or how the hotel was run

    standard of decor was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    5.4
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gratuities put automatically on bills, even breakfast.

    The food was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff and hotel was of a high standard.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit soft.

    Very friendly staff and hotel was of a high standard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and polite staff. Beautifully clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    8.8
    Our third stay in this hotel, excellent dining and very comfortable if expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive

    Excellent meals in restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable stay. Nice staff. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel but no parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel but no parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That there was no parking. Nightmare

    Staff were lovely and accommodation comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    10
    Great hotel and great bar selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Alex the cocktail master was very good. Entertaining and very knowledgeable about whisky.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    7.5
    Convenenient and Nice in Romsey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff a little jobsworth. (Staff mixed, some good others less so).

    comfortable rooms, nice outside space, some staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    10
    Central location in Romsey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative to say

    Excellent helpful staff - both at reception and in the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    7.5
    Great place for a week-end
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kindness of staff Comfort o the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant and bar staff were not at all helpfull

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable with high end standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not applicable

    Did not have breakfast took full advantage of a lay in and 11am checkout

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2017

    7.9
    Nice restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms with annoyingly rattley furniture

    Nice restaurant

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2017

    9.2
    The restaurant was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking situation

    The restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    9.2
    Superb food and servicein the brasserie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small tea-making machine and cups in room

    Superb food and servicein the brasserie

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    9.6
    Delicious choice of breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Delicious choice of breakfasts. Huge bed!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2016

    7.9
    Quirky old place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quirky old place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2016

    7.9
    Definitely a top Romsey Hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed in room 210, rather uncomfortable.

    Attentive staff, excellent breakfast and dinner, good humoured without being up itself.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    9.6
    Overall ambiance and friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall ambiance and friendly staff; nice feeling of being in a coaching inn!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    9.2
    Good, Clean friendly Hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meal nice enough but not value for money, missed breakfast because of the price.

    Room was nice, clean and quiet. Staff friendly and dogs facilitated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    10
    A wonderful hotel with great charm and excellent facilities right in the heart of a wonderful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely ambience. Friendly staff. Great location and great value for money. A wonderful one night stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly, welcoming staff. Great location and a lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2016

    9.2
    Location of hotel in centre of Romsey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of parking - ended up with a parking ticket!!

    Location of hotel in centre of Romsey. Friendly efficient staff. Enjoyable dining experience

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    9.2
    Great service, friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great service, friendly, helpful staff. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    7.5
    Lovely place to stay in a historic town, well positioned for places of great interest in Hampshire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heat in the bed room was just about unbearable!

    The restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    10
    Friendly attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly attentive staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2016

    9.6
    Handy Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No car parking on site.

    Central location and restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    8.8
    Welcoming friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking so had to find a long time car park and feed meter.

    Lovely comfortable room with fluffy white robes and shampoos etc

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2016

    5.0
    Room poor no wer to put things in bathroom to much furniture...
    • Couple

    Breakfast totally overpriced charged for items we never had.would not look at out complaint took ou email But to date no answer to our question From the manager.

    Room poor no wer to put things in bathroom to much furniture in room

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    5.5
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    No bath. No biscuits. Inconvenient socket near mirror. Chair too low for mirror. No soap dish or shelf in shower. Shelf too high in wardrobe and no drawers.

    The room was clean.

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2016

    5.8
    The room was tiny and the bathroom minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom Shower gels and soap Temperature Size of room Old fashioned chintzy feel

    The room was tiny and the bathroom minute. We couldn't both get in at the same time! The room was freezing when we arrived Overall rather old fashioned but clean and comfortable bed. No turn down service. Terrible coffee in the room - the packet said "at least 35% real coffee"!

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2016

    8.8
    The staff were excellent and the hotel was scupulously clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    My room, 208 was pretty small. There was no proper wardrobe, just a rail, But the worst feature was that it was so cluttered wth nick nacks. In the bathroom there was no self by the sink. Its a shame becuase as hotels go this was a very nice one

    The staff were excellent and the hotel was scupulously clean. Dinner in the restaruant was exceptional for a hotel

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable ,warm and quiet.
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast. Orange juice was very watery cordial .No proper fruit salad ( as usual) just a few pieces of poor looking whole fruit .Almost no attention from waitress.( I have been a number of times before and have always had a nice experience .VERY DISAPPOINTED.)

    Comfortable ,warm and quiet. I only need to have a good night's sleep as I visit my sister in the nursing home VERY near to this hotel..

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2015

    10
    This is a delightful small hotel wth a very long history .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    This is a delightful small hotel wth a very long history . It is central to the town and within walking distance of the station which is the msin transport entry to Romsey.

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    8.8
    Pet-friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 101 is directly above a function room with a delicate Tudor ceiling. You can almost hear what people are saying beneath you. Then if you want the windows open you hear the clock chiming beautifully 4 times per hour all night. Noisy !

    Pet-friendly. Comfortable, bright room & bathroom. Delicious dinner. Friendly, obliging staff.

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    9.2
    clean, comfortable, brilliant location for all local shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    no bad experience at all , the only thing is would have liked breakfast to be included in the fee as was quite expensive.

    clean, comfortable, brilliant location for all local shops etc.. staff lovely, would def recommend.

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    7.1
    Location very central .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mix up over room, reception said I had specified loft room, which I had not as I have difficulty on stairs, room on 1st floor given ,but no reduction in price.

    Location very central . Staff attentive

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2015

    9.6
    Excellent friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The single room was a little 'snug' but that having been said the ensuite shower room was a good size. Parking could an issue, I was lucky arriving early Saturday evening there was a space outside and no parking restriction on the Sunday.

    Excellent friendly helpful staff. The courtyard area was a tranquil, comfortable place to enjoy a drink and a bite to eat.

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    3.8
    Room was not clean bed and pillows uncomfortable small pokey...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    See above - and staff became very unfriendly after I complained about room - I could actually write my name in dust!!

    Room was not clean bed and pillows uncomfortable small pokey room not what I expected from a 5☆ hotel or my expectations too high stayed in far far nicer hotels and b & B's at half the price very disappointed - noisy

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2015

    9.6
    An excellent weekend away for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An excellent weekend away for us. Had a couple of very good meals in hotel. Without exception the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would certainly visit the hotel again.

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: