Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The White Star Tavern 3 stars

28 Oxford Street, Southampton, SO14 3DJ, United Kingdom

#10 of 31 hotels in Southampton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 577 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed on a Saturday night. Glad I was tired. Hotel downstairs exceptionally busy and thus noisy until the very early hours of the morning.

    The hotel dinners were amazing. Staff exceptionally helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a joke. No yogurt, no pastries. GBP 4.50 extra for a small bowl of fresh? fruit. Awful presentation. Some foods inedible like the oat meal. Underwhelming hotel. Could be a gem, but lacks proper cleaning/maintaining of hotel facilities. Rooms too hot, no proper AC. Very noisy location. Overpriced and overhyped. GBP 145 for a 'superior' room in this hotel is way too much. No good value for money.

    Nothing in particular.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is now a bit rundown and in need of some upgrade in the public areas. Service in the restaurant was slow because of few staff although not very busy. Breakfast was poor I thought.

    The room and bed was very comfortable and the walk in power shower was excellent. It is noisy near the street but that is to be expected as it is very busy in Oxford Street. The room was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast , but the staff were lovely so made up fir it

    I ordered the cooked veggie breakfast to be told they had no veggie sausages so would I be happy with extra mushrooms. Which I was ok with. The cooked veggie breakfast with veggie sausages was on the menu . We were only the 2nd couple down for breakfast they should have had them .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A traditional pub setting with good atmosphere located in the old town area. Staff (James) was really helpfull and looked after us during our stay. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we stayed on a bank holiday weekend and it was slightly noisy at night due to central location

    room and premises are very clean and tidy and everything you would need during your stay Staff are very friendly and helpful food is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn`t get fish and chips, this is what England is all about.

    They are very helpful and carry your bags upstairs. We had a large bedroom, but not all are this large.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs, the nice gentleman that checked me in was nice to carry my very heavy suitcase up for me. The view was over looking the roof but that was okay I wasn't there for the view the great room made up for it.

    The room was so nice, comfy bed but the shower was the best ultra modern bathroom it was great. The convenience of the pub down stairs was wonderful great service super friendly staff. Best fish and chips I have every eaten I come from Nova Scotia and have eaten fish and chips all my life but nothing like that and the breakfast was top notch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over £115 and £165 for the rooms was extremely expensive for the quality and location and overall experience

    Location, quality of food for evening meal and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This neighborhood is simply too noisy to get a decent night's sleep, even in a room on the top floor. Not just the tavern downstairs (that was the least of the problems) but the several bars nearby, the screaming quarrel out in the street at 4 a.m., the sewer-cleaning truck with clanking equipment at 11:00 p.m. (honest!), and the 6:45 a.m. vehicle backing up with not only a beep-beep-beep, but also a tape recording announcing loudly "This vehicle is backing up!"

    Two strong suits are the outstanding staff -- you couldn't ask for better or more customer-service oriented people -- and the abundant & well-prepared breakfasts, with lots of variety available. The room was well-equipped and I really appreciated having a mini-fridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people may not like the pub underneath with noise until midnight, however it’s a tavern so should be expected

    Great location, near Cruise terminal Food was very tasty Room was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some area's looked a little tired. Paint work needed touching up in small area's. But would be happy to go back and recommend it to friends & family.

    Restaurant area was lovely. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Very clean. Lovely spacious bathroom. Beer, water, milk, coffee machine, kettle was all great. Cooked breakfast was very good. Good selection of breakfast to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At weekends there can be a lot of noise from restaurants and bars surrounding the hotel

    Excellent food at lunchtime- didn’t get chance to eat there in the evening

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs an issue but male staff on afternoon check in gladly carried both suitcases up. Offer to assist down stairs by Melissa but happy to do myself. Due to historical tavern, passageways creak when walking to outside smoking area

    Melissa and her staff treated us both fantastically after our previous failed TripAdvisor holiday rental problems. Great tavern, food and position. Thanks Melissa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water the whole of the our stay (4 Days). We were offered a room to shower in but it was two flights down . We also had the ensuing bathroom toilet not working - it kept filling up with very smelly water, and the door to the ensuing wouldn’t stay shut. As I say the staff were really sorry and they were full so could not do anything for us . They did give us a 50% refund. The apartment standard is also not of the same quality as the other rooms. The ones we saw to shower in looked lovely.

    Nice to have the apartment and the manageress was very good trying to sort out the issues we had, the hotel itself let it down not the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to be fair.

    Lovely styling throughout. Quaint feel, and clearly an old building. Room finished to very good quality, the bed and pillows were very comfortable, while the bathroom was excellent and spacious. Nespresso machine included with plentiful supply of capsules. Room had safe and ironing board, which aren't always provided. Bar was very lively, with good food and a very decent breakfast provided too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything was perfect!

    Wonderful stay at the White Star Tavern. Staff are professional and friendly, service is excellent, rooms are very clean, cosy and tastefully decorated, bathrooms are spacious and modern, plus the breakfast is to die for!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely stay at the White Star Tavern on a Friday night. There was live music downstairs and quite a few people, but the room was quiet, tidy and cozy, with lovely vintage/Titanic-theme decor. Breakfast was delicious - especially the pains au chocolat!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn’t matter to me but there are a lot of stairs.

    Very comfortable and quiet despite being above a pub. Choice of places to eat. I enjoyed a very good Indian opposite. Good Breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    They decor is lovely and bed very comfortable. Free drinks and coffee machine. Very much enjoyed our stay . Plus excellent breakfast. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed a location close to the cruise terminal in Southampton and this was an easy walk. An old in with bags of character with tasteful modern decoration. Up a couple of flights of stairs, but the staff were really helpful with our cases. We didn't travel by car so can't comment on parking. We're looking up which other hotels the chain has for future visits! Try it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area wasn't very cosy, not a lot of side options /juices available. Pubs loo's we're filthy hadn't been cleaned from the busy night before. Loo rolls dirt stains everywhere.

    Room was beautiful beds were extremely comfortable! Team member who checked us in was lovely and they had prepared a list for breakfast to suit my dietary needs. (Allergys)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we first arrived there was some ambient noise from equipment outside the window, however this was deactivated before we came to sleep so it didn't effect our nights sleep.

    Very comfortable rooms, if slightly on the warm side. However I do like a chillier room than most when it comes to sleeping. The en-suite bathroom is very modern, and the shower is hot, powerful and spacious, great way to relax after a trip! The included breakfast is magnificent and with attentive staff makes for a brilliant start to the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was warm, which was nice, but we couldn't find how to turn the thermostat down when it got too warm.

    Our stay was very enjoyable, we found many items that other accommodation doesn't provide for like shampoo, soap and an iron. We would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is at the long term in College Street 4 mins walk away - but you have to be there at 8am in the morning to re-crage the meter. Bit of a pain but worth the stay at the White Star.

    We were staying at the venue as we were attending a wine tasting evening. Added bonus to stay at the same location. Very attentive staff and well stocked buzzy bar where we ended up after the tasting evening. Excellent breakfast. Loved all the memorabilia about the shipping line and the Titanic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs from the bar to the rooms very steep.The bar music was very noisy which could be heard from inside the bedroom and then there was noise outside until about 2 am which could be heard from the bedroom.The bacon wasn't very nice and no extra toast etc seemed a bit expensive for the value.

    Room was nicely decorated and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there wasn’t much choice for drinks in my fridge in our room and being no air con as was too noisy to have window open but fan was blowing hot air

    That the hotel acknowledged my special birthday requests to add that little touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - very hot in the room, even if you open the window - room is small. small like SMALL. - a bit on the expensive side vs other hotels in Southampton

    1)location 2) helpfull and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Narrow stairs (staff offers help with luggage if needed); slow internet connection (they use a free hotspot).

    Good price/quality, ample and comfortable room, kind atention of staff, fully renewed and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature was very warm even with the windows open. The kitchen did not have enough bacon for our group (8 people), at breakfast.

    Price. Location. Atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit warm, even with radiator turned off. nothing an open window couldn't solve! the only real downside to this hotel (and others in this area of Southampton) is the parking. public parking is nearby so that's not a problem in itself. however, you must feed the pay and display machine before 8AM each day as tickets cannot be paid past midnight. i wish they could work with the council to arrange a special daily ticket for hotel guests!

    pub/bar area is great. staff is very friendly and helpful. rooms are nicely decorated. shower great with quality toiletries furnished. Breakfast was tasty and quickly served. plenty to choose from off the menu.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bedsheets had dirt on it, the second day there was a paper label which says "King Size Bedsheet" still stuck on the sheets. I couldn't find the heating control for the room, and it ended up being super hot and super dry. We had to figure out how to open the window in the middle of the night. For breakfast, we have to explain three, four times what we want (Egg Benedict with Salmon) yet the order still comes back wrong. Yes, technically Egg Benedict is with ham / bacon and Egg Royale is with salmon, but we'd rather not have to learn this stuff at 9am in the morning. We just want our Egg Benedict with salmon! The waitress there was insistent on this technicality, rather than focusing on providing a good service.

    The bathroom was large and clean. Complementary water and milk was provided. The hotel staff was friendly and got us checked in quickly. Room was relatively quiet despite it being above a bar on New Year's Eve. The restaurant staff are generally quite nice, bar that one waitress at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms to hot, noisy outside so couldn’t have windows open. Having to get up out before 8am to put parking on car, considering not slept well put icing on cake!

    Nice wines

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a bad word to say !!!

    Location on oxford street is amazing as surrounded by lovely resteraunts and bars including the white star itself. Breakfast was amazing and the room was so much better than we expected

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were aware that the hotel is above a pub. Ear plugs were provided, but even on a Friday night the noise was minimal and totally stopped at approximately 22:30.

    It was modern, clean and high end finishes throughout.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. Email sent to you

    Everything about this hotel. Staff, location, cost all were exceptional. The cooked breakfast was well presented and delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar price for a Pint of Lager was, in my opinion, outrageous. Thankfully, we were going to a function elsewhere.

    Absolutely lovely here at The White Star Tavern. Room very spacious and clean. Towels and sheets lovely, shower works great. Breakfast was cooked superbly, think our waitress was new and being coached, but nothing to worry about. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The narrow, twisting stairs were a challenge with luggage, but the staff certainly was eager to help - and the stairways were part of the charm of the hotel. So no complaints.

    We spent two nights at the White Star Tavern/Hotel prior to taking the Queen Mary 2 on a Westbound Trans-Atlantic Crossing to New York. My party of four took a car service mini-van directly from Heathrow to the White Star Tavern: a very nice trip. The staff at White Star were truly outstanding (and very attractive....kudos to whoever does the hiring!). The service & breakfasts were terrific. The charm of the tavern & hotel were wonderful. The location is great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    These are cautionaries for travelers, not 'did not like' statements. No air conditioning in rooms - it was October and we just opened the windows. Not sure I would stay in August. Also, lots and lots of stairs and no elevator. Fine for us, but may not work for some. Staff did carry our bags up to and down from room.

    Loved the ancient building - over 300 years old. Loved the location - easy walking around central Southampton. The restaurant is good - especially breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is over a tavern. It is noisy from down below the rooms and on the street. The hotel is fine and well run but not quiet .

    The room was well appointed with everything you would expect. Nice bathroom and shower. Comfortable bed. Typical English breakfast menu.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was great, the rooms are very charming, excellent location to the cruise ports. Food was very good, great walking area. Hotel is located on a very social street in Southampton, many restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ONLY problem I had was lack of room assistance. I left early in the morning for the airport and since there was no lift I had to have my driver come up to my room to carry my bag down the steep stairs.

    Very comfortable room, very clean, great coffee in room! Loved all of it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb service, food, atmosphere and room facilities. All round excellent. Highlights for me: nespresso machine in the room, dark classic decor of the room, extremely good quality breakfast, great bar/pub downstairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arriving we were checked in by a very friendly and professional staff member and we even had a room upgrade which was very much appreciated. (Room 8 is lovely!). Breakfast in the morning was made to order and it was super tasty! All in all a perfect stay. Will definitely book again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fab comfy boutique room stayed in the titanic large comfy bed bathroom spacious with bathtub walk in shower and complimentary toiletries Complimentary coffee tea milk and bottled water also provided Staff fabulous service excellent will definitely return

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The (double) bed was 2 single mattresses. Main access to rooms from bar area up a narrow, steep stairs. Some noise from revellers at midnight for a while - were on the 1st floor and single glazing. (But it's a city pub after all !)

    The atmosphere and ambiance of an English pub with all it's history. Lovely room décor. Roomy en-suite with superb shower. Bath robes a nice touch (have to beg for them in a Marriott!). Lovely, freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com says there's a car park. There isn't. You have to park on the public car park round the corner, which is obviously another cost. Staff were very inflexible about check-in. Not a moment before 3pm and many people were waiting at half two and not allowed to check-in. Not enough staff working. Bar staff not exactly friendly and not enough of them for a busy place.

    Breakfast was decent. Pub and rooms nicely decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is little room for complaint, the price level for the small double room that I had was a little on the high side. There should be a trip hazzard notice for the small downwards steps in the building.

    Outstanding veggie breakfast and friendly service. It would be a nice touch for the linen napkins to be used every morning, the contrast between breakfast on days one and two was very noticeable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On street parking nearby was limited to two hour sessions, repeated return to vehicle was necessary to gain new tickets. Not an issue for us, but could effect longer stayers?

    A conveniently located guest house above a bar/restaurant with great facilities. Arrival was a little unusual.....with no dedicated reception or greeter. Once upstairs, it was well appointed, modern, large room with free mini bar incl fresh milk, new capsule coffee machine and lovely complimentary toiletries. Walk in shower was perfect, bed was comfortable and room quiet. Breakfast menu tempting...good choice and endless hot drink supplies! We will be back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sink did not drain properly. Need a better selection for breakfast

    Great old traditional pub - bags of atmosphere - good to see so many young people having fun

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were in the Ranger room and outside is a ventilation unit or something similar that runs all the time. It fades to white noise though. Also, it can be a bit of a wait to check in, but it wasn't a problem for us. Unfortunately on Saturday night some of the other guests decided to have a wrestling match or something similar on the floor above us at around 2AM, but that is not on the hotel. It could be helpful if there reception number was contactable during the night in case things that are not strict emergencies happen.

    The breakfast was very good, the noises of the pub were relatively muffled. Shower and toiletries were very nice, and the linens were lovely. I'd definitely return in the future if I am back in Southampton.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, the curtains were coming off the rail & mattress was a bit saggy in the middle. Breakfast a tad greasy but otherwise ok.

    Great room, ensuite bathroom with bath - and great shower. Staff very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The access to the reception isn't very fancy and that little stairs would perhaps benefit of better lighting or something that makes you feel less like you're going to a service backdoor. This is just a detail and in now way impacted what I thought about the place though.

    The breakfast options are varied and impressive, very fancy and tasty food. The hotel itself is gorgeous, very good taste in furniture, color schemes and decorations. The atmosphere is really fine, even the shower is beautiful and there is a eye for detail. The beds and rooms are very comfortable and we are taken care of very well. The personnel is very friendly and helpful. Fantastic place!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely noisy from our room the Titanic and the very loud music from below continued to the early hours of the morning . Also our bed dipped in the middle. Not very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard for my liking, but still slept well.

    Loved the bathroom, the amenities, the bathtub was awesome for a long soak after a long flight! Staff are absolutely fantastic. Definitely would stay again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The management and staff are superb. When our luggage was misplaced by the airline they went the extra mile to help us retrieve it for our cruise. They eventually secured our found luggage for our return. They really know how to care for their guests. You leave feeling like part of a family

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very narrow staircase to access rooms, would have been difficult for anyone with mobility issues.

    Location was great, room very comfortable and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Full breakfast included, which was very nice; had the lamb for dinner, and it was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did get parked outside but it's limited on street parking. There is a car park nearby as long as you are able to walk

    Excellent food , so tasty. Friendly staff. Convenient for cruise ship departure

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at breakfast was a little slow and I did recommend a buffet style breakfast to the manager, but he explained why this wouldn't be practicable, owing to the fact they had a limited number of guests.

    Bed very comfortable and despite being in a busy part of Southampton, I heard little noise. Food excellent and the manager and staff did everything possible to help me; booking a taxi etc, to get me to my ship. A big bonus for a lone lady traveller.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ROOMS COULD BE DUSTED MORE FREQUENTLY

    GREAT DECOR, RECEPTION, STAFF, ROOMS & FOOD (ESPECIALLY THE HOMEMADE ICE-CREAM. WOULD RECOMMEND TO STAY AS IT IS CLOSE TO THE CRUISE TERMINALS

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are spoiled, we missed air conditioning, but the fans helped.

    The Star White Tavern was a hotel full of personality, we loved the location close to lots of restaurants, pubs and public transportation. Each of the rooms is named for a White Star Ocean Liner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pub a bit rowdy at night but quietened down reasonably early.

    lovely large bathroom, room to move clean and very attractive. Close to all eateries, waterfront, and overall a lovely place. Staff very helpful polite and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift! The TV should not be mentioned as part of the room as its quality wise is the worst i have seen so far in a hotel room. Too much light and noise from the corridor is coming in thru the bottom of the door All over in dire need of refurbishment

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite noisy into the early hours.

    Good little hotel, really friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms and centrally located near bars and restaurants but the only downside of that was that it was quite noisy until the early hours and that is our only negative point really.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was ok but a little dated. It was very warm too...uncomfortably warm, however a fan was provided, but would have preferred to open the window. The room was on the front, so opening the window wasn't possible due to the noisy street. Also the music downstairs went on a bit late. It was more a pub with rooms rather than a hotel. If you like to have a fun night in the music bar below and roll into bed upstairs. Then it is great. not for quieter guests on a Friday or Saturday night.

    We liked the little extra touches in the room. Great selection of refreshments including a small bottle of red wine and a bottle of beer. Fresh milk in the mini fridge too. Very thoughtful. The breakfast was very good. And the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room was questionable and this hotel could use some tender loving care. The wifi was public, required local post code and phone number which never worked during our stay. It should be listed on the hotel site that there is no air conditioning and that windows are without screens.

    The location was close to a variety of sights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't put prices on the minibar

    The size of the room was good, the breakfast was lovely and it sounds silly but they actually give you a pint of milk to make coffee in the room not the silly little sachets

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looks a little tired and could do with a bit of TLC - but didn't ruin our stay

    Nice decor Bathroom top quality Complimentary toiletries very good Food excellent - breakfast and lunch Bed comfy Complimentary drinks well received

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water pressure to sink poor and plug did not seal sink so shaving was a pain. Room rather atmospheric and dark for a small space. Alright overnight but would not want to stay there if I had had to work in the room or it had been an extended stay.

    Great cooked breakfast. Much nicer than staying in a chain hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was charged full price for a bagel with butter. The breakfast choice was toasted bagel with crushed avocado, poached egg and cream cheese. My wife ordered this but was told there was no cream cheese, so she asked if she could have just a toasted bagel with butter, but was then charged the full price for a "bagel breakfast" That was disappointing.

    Staff were pleasant and approachable. Hotel in central location, good restaurants close by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking available. Stairways were very narrow. Prices above the norm.

    I liked the overall hotel & the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good as was the bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was warmly greeted at reception and then shown to my room. My room was exactly what I expected and very comfortable. I met with friend for dinner downstairs at the Tavern and had an excellent meal served by a very helpful and cheerful young lady. Breakfast was included in my rate but apparently the gas wasn't working in the morning so I was accommodated just a few steps away at Cargo (White Star picked up the tab). The location is excellent as you can easily walk into town for shopping and there is a beautiful park just one block away. Overall, I would stay here again on my next trip to Southampton.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Easily the best hotel we stayed in during our trip to the UK. The staff was super friendly and the room was in amazing condition. The booking even included a free pint of Fuller's beer. I can say for certain that if we go back to Southampton we will stay here. We loved it and the restaurant/pub downstairs was great too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dark room not enough lighting for my wife also no full length mirror, lighting were the desk was very poor so not able to use for putting makeup on. Room very hot so fans to cool it down.

    Location was good, all staff were very friendly & helpful, comfortable bed great shower. Plenty of night life around but can be noisy at the weekends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and spouse has mobility difficulty so steps were difficult.good location

    Location close to restaurants. Reasonable rates. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The White Star Tavern traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: