Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The White Swan 4 stars

16 Chichester Road, Arundel, BN18 0AD, United Kingdom

#8 of 13 hotels in Arundel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 701 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Superb stay would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to not like

    As we were exhibiting at the Goodwood Festival of Speed the staff went out of their way and provided full breakfast menu an hour early Fabulous friendly staff and really accomodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    underwhelmed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is basically a large pub its rather grubby, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfy, cooked breakfast starts at 7:30am which was to late for me there's continental out from 7:00am I would have given the hotel a slightly higher mark if it wasn't so expensive I paid £155 which is a London rate or a country hotel rate with perfect facilities, this hotel/pub is neither.

    The food is very good and the staff are really, really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    Served its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to make our own cup of tea at breakfast. Portions not at all generous. Evening meal nothing to write home about and atmosphere non existent.

    Handy location for where we wanted to be.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Room was very clean, but it was very hot and no fan was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar/restaurant/outside area was quite tatty all in need of a refurbishment!

    Room was very clean, but it was very hot and no fan was provided, could not open the window because of noise from extractor fans outside

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a seating area of three large octagonal tables just outside our window which became occupied by a large group of noisy ladies clearly having a business meeting and a bitch about staff. As it was so hot it was impossible to close the windows so we were treated to all their opinions for the whole of our first evening. They were fuelling their discussions with wine brought out from cars not bought from the bar!!!

    The staff behind the bar were excellent nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The food was excellent both for the breakfasts and evening meals.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    A comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a busy road, Had planned to walk into Arundel but would not recommend it.

    Room was as expected. Bed was comfortable. Car parking was good. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff all very friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noise of the extractor fans at night outside room. No mirror at suitable height for applying make-up.

    Staff all very friendly and attentive. Food very good and plenty of choice. Comfortable, spacious room. Being able to sit outside for drinks/food in evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The continental breakfast was terrible. Packet cornflakes, ricebubbles and wheatbix with watery coffee. It would be such an easy fix.

    Matt was friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only very tiny criticism I have is that the full length mirror was in a dark area by the door and the mirror in the main bedroom area was too high up for me (5"4) to see in. It's handy to have natural light and a mirror you can see in to get ready!!

    The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful from the ladies on reception, bar staff, night porter and the cleaners. They were happy to help with organising taxis and directions to places, letting us in late from our night out and so on. They were lovely to talk to and showed genuine interest in us as well as ensuring we had a lovely stay. The room was clean, spacious and quiet. We had a lovely stay, thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Breakfasts and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV reception in room very poor. Bathroom layout could be better. Traffic noise.

    Breakfasts and friendly staff. Easy parking. Good location for visiting the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we were forewarned that there would be the possibility of music til midnight I didn't know that we would be so near to the music (our rooms were all on the 20's landing) and the party would extend to the outside of the building. We had to keep the windows, closed on a very hot night, just to be able to listen to the TV. The music was turned off at midnight as promised.

    nice bar environment. A maintenance issue was dealt with promptly this feedback form needs another category. I was travelling with 5 adult family members - no children

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was good value, which we had included in booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single person in a room pays similar price to couple in another room. No single rooms.

    Breakfast was good value, which we had included in booking. Quiet rooms out the back. Good parking. Short drive into Arundel....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced for quality of product
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had single glazed windows, so noisy next to very busy road. No air/con. Lot of noise from showers in adjoining rooms and doors banging in corridors. Bar food was tasteless and over priced for what was bargain basement product. Cheap bread bun and almost total lack of halloumi in the pea and halloumi burger. Cask ale not well presented, suggesting either cellar or cellar man, maybe both, not up to keeping this sort of product.Breakfast choice and quality at best average and certainly not 4* standard.

    Scrupulously clean room and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    A nice weekend get away great for a stop over, wouldn’t go back for food any time soon. Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunalty I felt it was overpriced for what we got. Restaurant was dated and didn’t fit in with how it looked on the outside. Receptionist wasn’t there when we arrived

    Location was brilliant very picturesque. Bed comfortable. Room good size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place for a short break!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has nothing to do with the hotel, but just something to keep in mind. The inn is located just outside Arundel and we couldn’t get a taxi back to the hotel as it was a busy Saturday night (about 10:30 pm). We walked instead (about 25 minutes) and got a good adrenaline rush :-)Consider booking a taxi in advance if you are not a fan of walking in the dark.

    Very welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and reasonably large, enough space for two to not feel cramped. The bathroom was spotless and linen was nice and fresh. Beds in our twin room were fantastic, my friend and I agreed we had amazing sleep. Breakfast was delicious and the choice was great. Thanks a lot!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    It was a nice little hotel where we stayed for two nights at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check out morning was the fathers day and my partner and me had both the feeling that the breakfast lady were annoyed by us hotel guests coming to breakfast before the "fathers day breakfast Rushhour" was incoming. She placed us like : hm no...not there, no there isnt available either, probably there...!" What was a place at the end of the room in a dark corner. And we were pretty early for breakfast and no one was there... The check out girl wasnt even saying Hello and mostly unfriendly.

    It was a nice little hotel where we stayed for two nights at the end of our journey to the south Coast of England. The lady at the reception at that time we checked in was lovely, also the bar staff was pretty friendly. The room maids were super dog friendly! 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Good position for Arundel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (20) was over a wedding reception hall, so was noisy until late. The beds are too hard - so didn't have a great sleep :(

    The staff were friendly and the hotel kept clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant and comfortable, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did have a band practicing in the conference room (every 2 weeks), they did forget to mention this. Although this didn't really spoil the stay. Bathroom taps sit too close to wall so if you suffer with bad hands you may struggle to turn the taps.

    A warm welcome, although location is a major east/west trunk road was still quiet. The rooms are well maintained with basic tea/coffee facilities. The bed was hard yet comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The menu choice is substantial yet slightly over priced. Good place to stop off and have a refreshing drink. Overall a pleasant place to stay and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    a comfortable and enjoyable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    staff were friendly and helpful room was comfortably and very clean breakfast and evening meals were excellent overall I would recommend this place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were all really helpful, and made our stay stress free and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All fine!

    Check in was at 2pm. I called ahead to ask if we could check in earlier so that we could get to a wedding that started at 2pm. The room was ready for us well in advance. This was really appreciated!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were amazingly friendly, food on menu seemed a little pricey, but when it arrived it was superb with large portions.Building layout was a little haphazard, probably as a result of having numerous phases of build. super location on Main A27 but rooms are at the back and veery quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant. 1 wrong order (dinner) and a cold burger. Had to eat separately. Didn’t even get offered a free coffee as compensation 🙄

    Room was very quiet at rear of property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drinks a bit pricey. Having to get up and go to tea urn every time you want atop up at breakfast. Isolated, but we knew that when we booked.

    Good breakfast; Everything else is what you expect really.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Great breakfast and good sized room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No acoustic insulation - gotten awoken several times with neighbours slamming doors nd walking above us. Also the pillows were not very comfortable.

    Great breakfast and good sized room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    The bed was very comfy and our room was at the rear of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the very busy (and very fast) A27. We didn't attempt to walk along it into town like we had planned.

    The bed was very comfy and our room was at the rear of the property so it was quite quiet. Super thick curtains blocked the early morning light to allow us to sleep later 😴☺. Not having a car meant we used the local cab company to get into town and they were reasonably priced and very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Would definitely stay here again. A pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were only four coat hangers between two people. Even for a one night stay this is far too mean!

    The room was comfortable clean and plenty of space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Okay. Expected better food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't great for dinner. I don't feel it was worth the price. We spent £60, we feel was a waste. I would eat out next time I stayed.we have stayed once before and found the same issue.

    The room was good and the breakfast. The room was clean and modern and a very good find. Have stayed once before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant. Good staff, food and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was above a function room with disco music until midnight. DJ had a very loud voice.

    Very pleasant helpful staff. Comfortable areas to sit weather you were eating or not. Good access to various towns and events.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    A good break in a good hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked a night when a wedding reception and football club function was being held so it was noisy but did not seem to go on too late.

    The staff were very good and very helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced and the pace of service was good. I recommend the pork belly! The hotel is next door to Arundel Cricket Club which has a lovely thatched clubhouse, and as the weather was good we watched some cricket. Arundel is a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Ti.cks all the boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good choice at breakfast, dinner very good. Expected some traffic noise from the busy A27 but not so. Bedroom very well equipped, bed very comfortable and pillows extremely good - not many hotels have 5 star pillows, this hotel does.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    very enjoyable for our first break this year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My Gluten allergy was met with knowledge and I was very well catered for. The staff were all very friendly and nothing seemed to much trouble for them . The bed was vey comfortable and the room was cleaned every day.It

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Just a short drive into Arundel, so suited us perfectly . Shame receptionist soured our experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young receptionist who was the first person we met was very unfriendly bordering on rude! As she was our first point of contact, it didn’t fill us with confidence for the rest of our stay. Fortunately the evening receptionist and bar staff were excellent.

    Room was clean, modern and bed comfy. Staff in bar and restaurant very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.5
    Lovely hotel and great location for Arundel Castle. Great rooms but staff wise? Big disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying with my parter and elderly mother. Decided if eat in the restaurant as we had stayed this time last year and really enjoyed our stay. Sat at a window table at 6.35, ordered some drinks and a nice waitress took our food order just before 7. She did say we were busy and handed our order in quick as there was a large party in. We could see that you were short staffed, down to one young lady in the end. We eventually got our food about 8.15. My mum ordered fish pie which she had to leave as it was unfortunately very dry and tasteless. It was over priced to be honest. The bar man was very kind and understanding, I didn't pay for fish pie of course and he kindly sent some cheese and buscuits to her room as my mother , who is 87 was tired and hungry. It seemed that the large party food was vey slow coming out and we had to wait for that to finish. Love the hotel but won't eat there again. Sorry

    Great location. Delicious breakfast Comfy room and plenty of lovely white fluffy towels Bar staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Practical and was what I needed for the short stay. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a lot of loud voices during my stay which wasn't coming from the rooms, but was happening in the corridors. If it was happening from the other rooms, i could ring the front desk. I was just too tired and knowing I was there only one night, I just let it go. But I was surprised. Maybe they thought no one was staying that end of the grounds. It's not a big issue as otherwise I would have brought it up. It was not a business trip so it was okay.

    The staff were very polite, helpful and very accommodating, during my short stay for a wedding. I liked the grounds the White Swan held. Many rooms if you wanted a bit or quiet, or if you wanted to catch the tv, and even met some dog walkers who were able to bring in their dog. Very friendly place to do so. Calling transport for my needs and helpful advice front desk and managers. The sunday carvery looked great and about 95% of the tables were all reserved.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant middle of the road , value for money stay.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to main road and little chance to stroll in the area.. Good base for visiting Arundel Castle.

    A good value for money stay with a reasonable menu and adequate food. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing , average at best.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we were not booked in. Staff apart from the poor girl doing all the breakfasts were distant to say the least, rude at best. Said pets welcome and that there may be a charge. £20. not impressed. This should have been stated in capital letters. Asked for quite room, far from it . Dog mess everywhere. Worst 4* I have ever visited.

    Clean room, Nice Views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Our stay was fantastic and we would definitely visit again!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs redecorating.

    The food is locally sought and our evening meal was amazing! At breakfast there was a huge amount to choose from like cereal, fruit, continental and a long list of hot breakfast to suit everyone, and it was delicious. Staff were very friendly and accomadating. We found our stay very relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay despite the negatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise in morning from delivery to kitchens(room 5) Taps on bath difficult to operate Dim lighting in bedroom Twin bed too narrow Teacups in room too small. Hidden additional £20 dog fee, needs to be more prominent.

    Breakfast very good. Good dog walk opposite hotel. Sunday Carvery good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.0
    OK but would not be staying unless forced to.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not there long enough to make any suggestions.

    room was reasonably comfortable, Dinner was average for any pub. nothing sparkling, breakfast was good as it was freshly cooked( not a self service job). I had to find somewhere quick and price was important as it was a mercy trip ( hospital visit)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable nights stay with good food (albeit quite pricey) and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little on the small side but adequate.

    Cheerful and attentive staff. Ground floor room in quiet location. Relaxed atmosphere in restaurant which is large and airy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Practical choice for a visit to Goodwood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road outside is busy in the morning and turning right out of the the hotel needed care.

    The location is good for Goodwood, to enable an early morning start with good car parking. The restaurant had a good selection of food. The shower was powerful, with good temperature control.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Over priced and would not return in a hurry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were non attentive. When we arrived there was no one on reception and we had to go and find someone. The staff in the bar were miserable and rude and gave the impression that they didn’t want to be there. . They ran out of some spirits during the night. Had to ask for part of our breakfast order as it didn’t all arrive at the same time. Asked for a sandwich and without asking they smeared mustard all over it so unable to eat it.

    Plenty of parking spaces.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    A little disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very noisy. Single glazed window with some sort of very noisy conditioning unit outside which was going on and off all night. Around 2am we were woken by loud banging and crashing from downstairs. I have no idea what it was. Bar staff in the evening quite unfriendly. Generally felt we were an inconvenience to the staff.

    The receptionist on arrival was very friendly and helpful and organised a taxi into Arundel for us. Room very clean and spacious but was cold on arrival. It was ok once we turned the radiator on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent convenient and very enjoyable venue for large events - excellent for classic car meetings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint was that some of the corridor doors seemed to be slamming in the wind through the night - so a little disturbing...

    Receptionist was lovely, dinner (a classic car annual event) was excellent - the whole team really excelled themselves. I enjoy coming here...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was good and there was a nice range of options, but not necessarily memorable (other than the sweet potato fries, which were delicious!).

    The staff were excellent - so friendly and helpful, whether in the bar/restaurant or on reception. The bar itself was just what we wanted on a weekend walking break, especially as we were able to watch the rugby in the small area just off the main room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    Great welcome warm friendly and the building wasn’t bad...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great welcome warm friendly and the building wasn’t bad either.... great bar excellent food and real ales selection room clean spacious warm and bed very comfortable good mattress. Excellent breakfast too boot

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Charming pub hotel with elegant rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The old-style windows were a bit draughty

    The manager was very welcoming and helpful on places to visit nearby. My room was exceptionally quiet - at the back of the hotel overlooking fields

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Generally ok apart from the billing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a problem with the bill at check out there was a double charge for the room this was resolved however upon checking my account I have had £100 extra charge which I'm in the process of trying to resolve.

    The staff were very polite and service was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were hard and uncomfortable. Although my food was really good it was let down by the chips. Hand cut chips would have turned a good meal into a fantastic one

    The hotel was clean. The staff were great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Really relaxing head break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attentive. Room very clean and comfortable Good shower

    Comfortable rooms. Lovely food. Relaxed and comfortable bar and dining. Late check out. Attention to detail

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Very friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror over the desk for ladies to dry hair and makeup.

    Everything was excellent. Only one quibble in the room. Would be nice if had a mirror over the desk as the plug for hairdryer was there but no mirror. The other plug was the other side of the room but the mirror was at standing height (which I had to use) dried hair standing. Nice cooked breakfast. The food was delicious in the evening. Friendly chef. Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    I was told at reception breakfast was only served from 7.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told at reception breakfast was only served from 7.30am which was too late for my schedule. However on leaving at 7.15 other guests were having breakfast!!! Annoying!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    The room had been updated since our last day and was clean...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Still feel that the restaurant is a little overpriced

    The room had been updated since our last day and was clean and fresh; reception was very helpful opening the rear door to make access with the dog much easier! breakfast was great as always but a welcome change was tea and coffee at the breakfast table (better than the help yourself of previous stays).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Really enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been earlier than 8:30

    This hotel is a little out of town - approx 20 mins walk into Arundel. Lovely clean accommodation. Lots of hot water and large bath towels. Tea and coffee replenished without any problems. Reception staff and bar staff very friendly. We ate the fish and chips which was delicious but a bit pricey. Could have had a few more peas🤦🏻‍♀️. Breakfast staff were tired and uninterested - but there was a wedding party there the night before. So maybe that’s why they appeared tired . We were not disturbed by the party which was great . The breakfast was excellent .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Views were excellent - lots of countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was excellent but felt it was a bit pricey. Room fairly basic but comfortable.

    Views were excellent - lots of countryside. And despite being on the main road (A27) there was no noise in the room we had.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.0
    Tiring
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a continual humming out the bedroom window so had to keep the tele on all night to drown the noise out. Shower didn’t get hot so had to have a bath I the morning which made me late then I couldn’t empty the bath. All your night porter would say was sorry. I’ve driven past the hotel for years and thought how lovely it looked but won’t stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Was I very nice pub nice food nice room very good value
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint I have is we were in a room near the kitchen and could hear some sort of fan going all nite did not get much sleep

    Was I very nice pub nice food nice room very good value

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Spot On for what I needed!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good!

    The rooms were very nice. Food was excellent and served quickly. Nice selection of beers on the bar. Belinda on Reception was excellent! Very friendly and helpful. Lounge, bar and eating area very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    eveything perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing a very nice pub hotel

    booked the White Swan for a nights stay as driven passed many times and said how inviting it looked, and yes it was clean, friendly and fab food all you would want, will defiantly be staying again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing didn’t like was the pillows were not very comfortable... apart from that perfect!!

    The whole stay was excellent at the white swan! The food and restaurant were great!! Staff very friendly!! The free breakfast in with the price was so good as well. Will be back!! Excellent......

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Great location & lovely stagf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant is adequate but nothing more but with a little more attention it good be excellent.

    Very friendly & helpfull staff. The rooms were large, clean and had everything you you could need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    The friendly staff, the toiletries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very confusing on paying for my stay when we arrived! Was convinced to pay more then what we booked it for. Asked for champagne in the bedroom but didn’t receive any- with no explanation.

    The friendly staff, the toiletries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good stay but somewhat spoilt by the evening meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Mother and I had soup and roll when we arrived which was very good, great rolls and the soup was really hot - all arrived very promptly. Unfortunately, the evening meals (3 meals) were all tepid. We all had the same meal and they were all barely warm. The meals came out fairly promptly so I cannot understand why they would not have been hot. My Brother and I would normally have asked for them to be heated but, as it was my 89 yr old Mothers Birthday and she didn’t want a fuss, we let it go. It did spoil the taste of the food though

    Very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Efficient cleaning staff as everywhere was kept very clean. Room was very good with comfortable beds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    A little over priced for the facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the bath, wasnt hot it was only luke warm. The mattress was very firm & I think that all double rooms should have at least a king size bed these days, especially when the rooms are more than large enough. The rooms are a little tired, especially the paint work, this is more evident in the communal areas

    The breakfast was amazing & with a great choice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Great return to good hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good size, clean, comfortable room. Wonderful cooked breakfast, served with a smile. The staff are very friendly, cheerful and helpful.. Would definitely recommend a stay here - we are going back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.1
    Good place to stop
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor mobile phone reception in hotel which is a problem for business travellers

    Good food in restaurant and very nice breakfast, room was very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast buffet was lovely, room was a good size!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon trying to take a shower the shower head didn’t work properly. I phone the reception to rectify this and it took them over an hour and a half to come to my room. Other than that the room was as expected!

    Breakfast buffet was lovely, room was a good size!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far from perfect for the money ,several things in room needed attention ,the heated towel rail not working, The net curtain was shabby The vaance in bed no tvery clean,had marks on it Paint work on window frame poor Parts of the bar area smelt awful,smell coming from carpets

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    3.3
    Dirty and rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really hard and there was awful lot of dust in the room and bathroom which I am very allergic to! This has ruined the rest of my weekend as I now have swollen eyes and my sinuses are all blocked due to poor standard cleanliness in my room! The guy who worked on the bar in the morning with the dreadlocks had a terrible attitude no customer service skills what so ever. He also had bad hygiene and seemed like he didn't want to be there at all. He was very rude and I will not be coming back due to him. At breakfast All I could hear was a washing machining going which put me off my breakfast as well as the smell from the guy. I would not rate this 4 star after my stay.

    I like the hotel itself, as well as the Portuguese staff member was very good at his job.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    We had a pleasant stay ,evening meal poor, breakfast was delicious especially the porridge
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was poor ,we had ham/egg/ chips .The ham was under cooked .And eating our meal,we heard the chef shouting!!! Service please, which was very disturbing .

    When we arrived ,the receptionist was very welcoming .We had a problem she was kind and sympathetic ,and sorted it out for us .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable Hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We do not have any complaints - everything was great.

    Room was great and bed really comfortable. You can have Continental breakfast or full English, freshly cooked is available with tea/coffee or fruit juice. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Free parking is available on site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    A really outstanding stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would ideally have liked pots of tea or coffee served at breakfast rather than the self service flasks offered. Otherwise no complaints whatsoever.

    Excellent service from all the staff from reception to bar and restaurant. Very good choice of food for both dinner and breakfast. We did like the ground floor room which whilst not large was very satisfactory.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    The whole experience was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The bed was really comfortable. Excellent parking facilities. We had an evening meal there on Sunday - roast dinner which was huge and tasty. Plenty of options for breakfast the following day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television too small! Portions of food were on small size in the evening and rather pricey especially the steak. Busy road to get in and out of.

    Nice room; good bathroom facilities & pleasant restaurant. Food was OK, breakfast better than evening meal.Good for parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Not the best stay I've had here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting woken up around 4am by someone vomiting perhaps in another room or outside, then noise from an extractor or heating made it hard to sleep. Not the best value for money. Breakfast started at 8:30 on a Saturday and I had to leave for work. I'd stayed here quite a few times, dinner wasn't the best this time.

    The room was nice, everything worked and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: