Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The White Swan Hotel 4 stars

Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 6NH, United Kingdom

#17 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1986 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Location was good and the bed was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. We waiting 10 mins to even get in the breakfast room and then we waited 30 mins for really average food. Staff attitude poor..

    Location was good and the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    Charming Hotel; great location; NO PARKING, Plumbing issues; high charges for late checkout
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plumbing in our room was an issue; the toilet "ran" most of the night making sleep difficult! We were to exhausted to call down for someone to fix the toilet as it was already 11:00 p.m. When I went to the Manager to discuss this she was helpful and apologetic-- and in return did not make us pay the ridiculous amount requested for late checkout. THERE IS NO PARKING AVAILABLE AT THIS HOTEL!!! This should be explained up front and not at check in! We had to park about 2 blocks away in public parking and drag our suitcases into the hotel -- and up stairs. No assistance was offered and I don't believe that assistance IS offered ..not acceptable in my opinion. LOTS OF STAIRS -- they do have a lift but there are doors going to different rooms with a few stairs in between -- anyone wishing to stay here should know about this.

    Location was excellent as it is right in the center of town. The room was nice - large and accommodating. The beds were comfortable - no issues. The view in our particular room was not great but that wasn't an issue for us as we were only staying one night. Wi-fi worked well. Staff was friendly but not overly helpful. Breakfast was good -- small cold buffet and hot food was served-- staff was friendly and courteous. Highlight of this hotel is it's charm as it's very old English with lots of leather chairs and fireplaces.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - one of the most pleasant hotel stays for a very long time.

    Very friendly and efficient staff. Rooms had everything to make the stay very comfortable - even a cafetière with fresh coffee. Very impressed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Our wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to come home 😥 We loved it so much.

    Absolutely everything 😊 The building was beautifully decorated and immaculately maintained. The staff were outstanding and couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay visiting Stratford upon Avon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was a wee bit on small side but not really a problem as we were out all day and also most of evening until late. Restaurant very nice and evening meal was good, but can I say it was "not a substantial portion", hence we ate out for the last 3 of our 4 night stay in the pub across the road, where the quantity and quality was better and cheaper.

    Nicely appointed bedroom and facilities were excellent. Lovely breakfast which was included in room price. Spoiled for choice from continental to the Full Monty! Location right in heart of the city and a short walk to shops, bars and restaurants alao transport (we used rail so 10 mins walk).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed - Quality has dropped so much in the last year
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was uninterested and unhelpful overall - the bartender was outright rude. Very few of the people who work her are English, so when we really needed help getting directions to a parking lot - theirs was not open and we were driving around for hours - no one could help us. Not did they care. I used to LOVE this hotel and stay her annually, but I was shocked this year at how much the service has dropped and how unfriendly I found the place. I was traveling with my son, who I was excited to share the place with, but overall it was not a good experience.

    The location is great overall - if you are not driving (the parking lot is hard to find and during my recent visit, not open at all). But it is walking distance from many important Shakespeare locations including the RSC and Shakespeare's birthplace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location Fabulous staff & plenty of choice at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did however find the room rather small.

    Location was perfect!! Staff both in the bar & the reception were helpful & very pleasant. I would recommend it to my family & friends. Breakfast choices were great & cooked & brought to you fresh, I really dislike buffet style breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Really good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a bit of an altercation checking in. My mistake but I was certainly told where I’d gone wrong!

    Fantastic situation, very clean, beautifully decorated room, great big bath and rain shower. Loved the fresh milk in the fridge and the biscuits. Good selection of teas (including decaf and herbal).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful location, beautiful rooms, great breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, beautiful rooms, great breakfast and lovely staff. I requested an early check in as we were travelling from Gatwick after a very early arrival and Sol arranged early access to one of our rooms - hugely appreciated. Definitely will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very nice with a high quality and luxury feel, and the bed was very comfortable. Lots of nice little touches like a fridge, fresh milk, chocolates, water and one beer all included with the room. The extra bed they set up for my daughter was very comfortable. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Hotel was lovely, lots of history and character. Would like to have stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    A good ,clean friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking and because we were going to the afternoon show at the theatre we asked if we could leave our bags and we were not allowed to.

    Friendly staff,nice room,good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Air conditioned room was a luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The provided iron took out the sockets in our bedroom and we only noticed that fact at 9pm and nobody was called to fix it that evening hence no telly, fridge didn't work, no mobile charging, no kettle which was really annoying and rather inconvenient as to start the next day you would want the same things again like kettle and tv While having breakfast, it was sorted within minutes as the faulty iron was identified Luckily the air con was on a different circuit

    Air conditioned room was a luxury Breakfast was superb Location excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything that I didn't like

    Everything. Bed was very comfy. Bathroom was lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast selection. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Had a most perfect stay. Good room and extremely polite, helpful staff at all levels of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great little fridge in room. Plenty of fresh milk and good selection of teas, coffees etc! Some free magazines to peruse in any spare time. Perfect - extremely thoughtful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, high quality interior design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not working properly in the first two nights,so it was very hot because outside was hot.

    Great location, friendly staff, high quality interior design. We had a good time there. Staff are exceptionally hard working and kind people, we will definitely going back there and recommending the White Swan Hotel to our friends。

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Central location, restful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking, because there isn't really any hotel parking. Only on street or other facilities that overcharge.

    The room was cool on a stuffy evening. I slept well after a long transatlantic flight and it's an interesting place to stay. Very heritage. Very Stratford upon Avon. Good choice of breakfasts included in the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Book this hotel you will not be disappointed fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Fantastic hotel loved it all great room special touches chocolates under your pillow bottled water free beer in the fridge great staff lovely bar and restraunt area it was superb

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place, would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was broken. WiFi signal poor.

    Bed was comfy. Breakfast was tasty. Large tv. Nice building. Right in the centre of town. Friendly/helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Great overall experience lovely atmosphere bathroom great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive for one night ☺️

    Great overall experience lovely atmosphere bathroom great nice complimentary beer and water in fridge. Would definitely recommend 😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit snug! But only there one night so not a problem really .

    Staff where very helpful and friendly, very atmospheric hotel. Evening meal was delicious and excellent choice for breakfast. Would return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Apart from below generally good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 201 air con not working room red hot at night had to open windows to try and cool it kitchen extractor must be close as constant smell of cooking

    Apart from below generally good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The air con was a godsend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was a godsend! Very comfortable room. Beautiful surroundings. Great food. Lovely staff! Convenient location for every possible thing to do on our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Bedroom was very comfortable and clean very nice bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff were not very good first morning forgot our order as she got distracted by other guests second morning had to ask for our tea we had requested as they had forgot that as well

    Bedroom was very comfortable and clean very nice bathroom location fantastic as was building staff on reception very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Friendliness of the staff, great breakfast, cleanliness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendliness of the staff, great breakfast, cleanliness of room, great new decor. Nice atmosphere in the evening, complimentary water, biscuits and beer in the room. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, excellent breakfast, old historical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was a bit hit and miss but we luckily got a space on the car park behind the hotel - quite expensive though.

    Very comfortable, excellent breakfast, old historical building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel in central Stratford
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the fan to drown out the noise of guests walking about on the floor above as the rooms have no carpet; just floorboards with a large rug under bed. Can imagine that without the fan it would’ve been quite loud.

    Fantastic central location in the middle of Stratford-upon-Avon, very close to most Shakespeare Trust Properties if you’re a fellow enthusiast. Shakespeare’s Birthplace is literally on the road behind the hotel. Clean, spacious rooms with good amenities and a large, comfy bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful and allowed us to leave our bags in the storage room while we went sightseeing on our last day. With breakfast in bed on a Sunday and late checkout, it was bliss!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Great spot, lovely friendly staff, full of pleasant surprises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking although nearby, is not possible on site, would be a nuisance when wet

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was comfortable. Location is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay as usual, rooms, staff, service, location ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park, you have to park on a very expensive car park at the rear of the hotel.

    Excellent stay as usual, rooms, staff, service, location , breakfast all wonderful, great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Can’t wait to go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bill should show discounts before and after for clear reading you have no way of knowing if it has been applied correctly

    Great rooms , facilities great location brilliant food well thought about and good quality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Overall excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Storage in bedroom could have been better.I was a single occupant in a double room.Very little drawer space.Many hotels seem to expect guests to stay only overnight with insufficient accommodation for clothing storage.

    Bed v. comfortable. if

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from window but it's expected due to hotel being in narrow street and I guess that's the way it is.

    Very comfy bed, very clean and very nice and helpful staff. Very central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Don't give White Swan a miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin flooring may give sounds when you walk on certain areas

    It is a quaint property, yet very modern inside. Comfortable beds. Delicious breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Altogether an excellent play to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hollandaise sauce at breakfast was a little disappointing and too acidic it did not take away from an excellent breakfast

    Excellent location, amazing building, very friendly staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    A lovely relaxing stay; we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking on a busy Saturday.

    Beautiful room. Spacious bathroom. The breakfast was delicious. The Staff were friendly and helpful. Very close to sops and amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location of hotel, easy to access the local sites from venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait for someone to arrive at reception to checkout. Paying for carparking

    Nice breakfast, friendly staff. Warm welcome on reception at check-in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    An outstanding experience in historic charm with all modern comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was of the highest standard. I recognise that car parking is an impossibility in the location - but a deal with one of the local car parks might be worth considering. It added £18 to the cost of our stay, which is a lot for one night.

    We were given a very warm welcome and made to feel as if we mattered, from reception to lift. Our room was spacious and comfortable: thought had been given to the weather, and we arrived to find a fan working in the room. The bathroom was spotless and roomy, the bedroom itself equally so. The extras of toiletries, complementary water, biscuits and beer were a pleasant surprise. Given the hotel's location, we had expected to find it noisy, but it was very quiet indeed. We ate in the hotel restaurant and had a delicious meal there; breakfast was equally enjoyable (though we did not receive our toast - but the breakfast itself was so substantial that this hardly mattered!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Lovely ...will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disabled room with a wet room..water goes every where. Poor bathroom lighting for doing makeup. No shelves in bathroom near sink to put toiletries on.

    Hotel style. Room size and quality. Complimentary water and range of hot drinks Breakfast choice and quality fab Very polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Sumptuous decor, polite staff, would def stay again but in a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very humid, air con didn't really do its job properly inside the room. The main aircon for the whole hotel was just outside the window so rather noisy. Breakfast pancake a bit hard.

    The bath, the break, the decor or room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable. This is a great place to stay for anyone visiting Stratford-upon-Avon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room cleaning was a little slow. On the second day, our room had not been cleaned by the time we returned at 3pm.

    The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent. The waiters were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Staff wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything perfect

    Staff wonderful. Food excellent. Room almost perfect - only issue being my other half's problem with the shower i.e. he couldn't fit his head under it - although he has been described previously as being 'ridiculously tall'.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Extremely comfortable and well catered for - made the trip for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room (111) was amazing, friends stayed in 3 other rooms and all said the same. Bar was well stocked and friendly and breakfast menu was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    The look of a 17th-century Inn, the feel of a modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to and from our room with our bags was more complicated that would have been ideal -- it was an ordeal getting our luggage from the lobby to the room. There is also no parking on site, which was a hassle.

    The hotel is in a charming and quirky old building. Each of the rooms is named after a Shakespearean play -- we were in the Twelfth Night room, which was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was large, with excellent facilties. We were only there one night, but we enjoyed it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    A fabulous comfortable relaxing stay in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gluten free menu. Possibility of his/her robes would be good.

    An excellent grade 2 listed hotel and very plush. Warm, friendly and helpful staff. Room immaculate and well presented. A good nights sleep in quiet surroundings in a comfortable bed. Ground coffee a welcome extra with a fridge full of drinks if required. Good facilities. I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it was a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.5
    Nice place, but expected better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with our room and found the front desk staff to be unsympathetic, unhelpful and uncommunicative in resolving the issue.

    The rooms are spacious, the mattresses firm and the bathrooms are very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Really first rate experience, I could not recommend highly enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent; the room was beautifully air conditioned and the bathroom was exceptionally good....didn't have to force my 10 year old in to the bath as I normally do...all in all a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and staff they surprised us with cakes to welcome us back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed loads of times; but this time found the room a little dark and quite small it was not the best room but very clean.

    So central for everything hotel wonderful especially the breakfast. The parking not so good If you can't get a space by the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, friendly and efficient staff, good food and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't really anything we didn't like! As I said the bedroom was a bit dark but that was acceptable for the age of the property. I also wasn't too sure about wall painting.

    We loved the location and the fact we could walk to most of the interesting attractions. We also loved the hop on hop off open top bus. The staff were excellent and a special mention to Martina who located an item I had left and posted it back to me. That's what you call service! The breakfast was first class, served by very efficient and friendly staff. Our evening meal we ate out in a small restaurant but if we had been staying for another night we would have had dinner in the hotel. Our bedroom was a bit dark but I suppose that is what you get in a property of that age. In all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could have easily stayed for another evening if our time hadn't been restricted. Thank you. All comments by Alexander's wife!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    I think Shakespeare himself served us our meal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really can't find fault!

    The breakfast was delicious. I had the eggs Florentine and they were truly lovely and served with a very pleasant smile. We also had dinner here which was also fabulous. I was there with my 96 year old dad and my son, and from the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and the receptionist was really nice and made us feel so relaxed. I would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend it. A great atmospheric feel to our visit to this wonderful, historic town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel more than complemented a lovely visit to Stratford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV was not easy to operate using the remote control. The room was cold to begin with. Otherwise it was excellent.

    The hotel more than complemented a lovely visit to Stratford.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    very pleasurable stay in nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking had to pay £10 at adjacent multi.Bedroom a little cramped.Drinks very expensive.

    Staff very good,location great only a short walk to the river and all amenities.Very comfortable bed and nice bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Luckily with 17 friends to make a good weekend but would have to think hard about staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of parking, had to pay extra £20 per day to park on a public car park a walk away !! Dining area was very dark and unwelcoming

    Bathroom was excellent along with the tea making facilities and the extras such as iron, hairdryer etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Another hotel with a lot of style but questionable substance, or maybe I was just unlucky?
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in a rather noisy part of the hotel with fans from the cinema next door being on to some extent all the time. The room itself was also rough around the edges with the bathroom having had a fair few knocks over the years! The cooked breakfast left a lot to be desired and was lukewarm and nearly tasteless. The continental part of it was good however and so satisfied myself with pastries and coffee.

    The location was good with parking to the rear (shame it's not free for guests). The feel of the place is very nice and in-keeping with the town it finds itself in. The bar is full of lovely areas and sitting outside in the sun was a great thing to be able to do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Excellent ,fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like having to leave.

    The staff were so helpful and lovely. The food was excellent . Our party of 17 all thought the hotel was of an excellent standard. Our room (The Macbeth)room was fantastic and really made our stay memorable, I will definitely be returning to this hotel again soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    A great and atmospheric place for a stay in Stratford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a bit dysfunctional

    Lovely room in an old and atmospheric pub with far more comfort than one would expect for a city centre old pub at this price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    A perfect relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect - there is nothing you can improve on.

    Excellent customer service - staff had the perfect balance of friendliness/professionalism. Walk -in power shower was a pleasant surprise. Hotel was extremely clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing ambience at hotel complemented two evenings theatregoing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Super bathroom. Helpful, friendly staff. Superb breakfast. Robes and slippers provided. Lovely paintings and artwork throughout hotel yet maintaining historic character.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Room and Bathroom were almost spa like!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and Bathroom were almost spa like! Dinner and Breakfast were both quite delicious. Due to the information we were sent when we booked, we were able to drive into town and find the parking lot described with no problem. Very Helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    A perfect Inn for our needs in Stratford-upon-Avon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast. We talked with the manager of the inn who was very pleasant and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there, before walking to the Royal Shakespeare Company Theatre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The hotel was very well placed for our visit to RSC and a friend living in Shirley.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    car parking was a bit of a nightmare and expensive at £14 per night. There were parking places inside the hotel gates.

    The best hotel breakfast I've had; scrambled egg and bacon ; superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Gorgeous hotel with great staff. Brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super rooms, really comfy beds with beautiful decor and facilities. Really nice staff. Lovely complimentary welcome drink at the bar and a delicious breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.0
    Stayed at much better hotels with good food and accomadation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and dark with no natural light or view, apart from the fire escape. The full English breakfast was disgusting to say the least, we were offered something else however based on the quality of the food and the way it was cooked it was not worth the risk; how difficult is it to cook a breakfast without overcooking everything!! We were reimbursed for both breakfasts but it was an extremely disappointing start to the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Far better than the Q hotel we normally stay in, we'll be regulars from now on when we visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaking floorboards in corridors, inevitable in a property of this age, waking me early in the mornings! View onto a fire escape, with some noise from ventilation

    Extras in room e.g.fresh milk, home made biscuits, filter coffee, mints on pillow! Large bedroom and bathroom, well decorated and maintained Superb choice and quality of breakfasts Helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    perfect hotel, would love to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    excellent breakfast room is small but has everything included and very quiet free water/milk is an added bonus right in the middle of the town, close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    We’ll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors were not soft closing so it was quite noisy especially in the morning.

    Breakfast and service was excellent. The bathroom was particularly spacious. It was my partners birthday and they left a selection of cakes in the room for him.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant enough, good location but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the look of the rooms on the website - but accepted we probably weren't paying enough (£134 per night) to get one of the best rooms. Then on checking in, they said they had upgraded us, so our hopes were high. The room was ordinary to say the least and considering that was an upgrade, I can only assume we would have been very disappointed indeed if we'd been given the original room.

    Good breakfast choice, well cooked. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Great Tudor style hotel in the heart of Stratford
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very slow, and while the cooked food was good, the children were left very hungry because the buffet offered almost nothing to eat for them. There was a plate of cheese and ham, and some basic cereal, but all the pastry had run out (we were there at 8:45). In general, the food in the pub was not the most exciting, and some of the staff had difficulties understanding English. However, if you don’t have young kids who need to sleep at an early hour then there are lots of choices for dining and breakfasting around the hotel.

    Location was excellent, right in the heart of Stratford, next to the most important sites. Quaint hotel, with a pub attached to it at ground floor. The pub is run by fullers, which limits the choices of drinks to the fullers brands. Rooms were comfortable, newly renovated, with air con. We stayed in a character room, which had extra space but had no additional character to identify it with. The hotel has Shakespeare’s quotes throughout, which adds a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    It was my husbands birthday and he enjoyed himself immensely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pancakes needed to be freshly made not warmed up. The Bakewell tart needed a lighter hand and warming it would have helped.

    The room. The food and the staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Perfect central location steeped in history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slightly long wait for breakfast (but it was delicious).

    Lovely character & history. Lots of quiet corners to chat in, great clean room and lovely facilities. Real milk with the tea too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place for a short stay in Stratford
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking but there is a car park round the back of the hotel, which was about £15 for 24 hours.

    Highly recommend this for couples and families looking to explore Stratford for a day or two. Right from the beginning the staff were friendly, charming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a grand double which was comfortable and stylish. The bed was super comfy and the bathroom was lovely - in particular the roll top bath was fabulous! Bath robes, slippers, minibar and were all great additions. The location was perfect as it's on the doorstep of everything you want in Stratford. We were also given 10% off food and drink during our stay and 15% off the next booking. Really had a great time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Seaside pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and wine menu was going through a change over period which meant little of the food or wine we wanted was available.

    Great location right on the seafront.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    As a group of four women, we were very satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy walking distance to everything you would want to see. You really feel you stepped back into Old England especially in the dining rooms. Couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not fault of the hotel but it’s rather expensive to park. No free parking for hotel customers.

    The full hotel experience was excellent- professional service from staff, room was excellent and food was exquisite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location friendly staff lovely old pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view in the room was of heating pipes which were noisy we like to sleep with the window open but too noisy room also a little small. Prefers bath to a shower. Don’t want to sound too negative because we really enjoyed our stay!

    Cosy friendly atmosphere staff all very pleasant and well trained dining room really nice busy place popular with locals and tourists

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic. Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Fabulously renovated with wonderfully comfortable rooms and bathrooms. The beds are extra comfy with a turn down service and they have one of the best in-room breakfast menus I’ve ever seen. I now stay here every time I come to Stratford-Upon-Avon for work and hope to bring my partner for a weekend break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Met all our expectations, we would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s like a maze inside which gives it character but it may not be so good for less mobile guests

    Nicely styled hotel, very convenient for rsc and other attractions. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: