Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Wife of Bath Restaurant with Rooms 5 stars

4 Upper Street, Wye, TN25 5AF, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Wye

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Creaky bed! Could have done with a grab handle in the shower (over bath) & a more convenient mirror for shaving.

    Very good food. Nice quiet location. Happy, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    A pleasure to stay at this accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A delightful property with added attention to detail. Charming, characterful rooms. Restaurant within the property was an added bonus, with delicious food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful Place with Wonderful People
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was all fantastic!

    The service and people who run this property are lovely and so smiley, even at 7:30am! The property is so well finished and the interior really smart to make a wonderfully welcoming place. On arrival your room is a drop of sherry, fresh fruit and some yummy nuts with ample toiletries and extra comfy dressing gowns, perfect for a little getaway. The restaurant and food is fantastic, we honestly were not expecting it to be so good, but it was one of the best meals we had on our 3 week trip through Europe. Breakfast also was a delight with plenty to keep you going all day!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really any good for a business stop over. Breakfast at 8.00 am! Alternative option was basic given room per night charge. Small sugar bowl of cereal and fruit and pastries. At £100 per night poor value compared to local alternatives.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Just lovely :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk for a hot drink and shower pretty average.

    Super service, lovely room and wonderful breakfast. Stayed for our wedding night and it exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    When we arrived, there was a problem with the shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    When we arrived, there was a problem with the shower. The plumber was working on it and finally was able to fix it temporarily. The host did everything to make things right for us. We were offered free drinks and he gave us a huge discount. Great way of problem solving! Apart from that, the room was lovely. It had a Nespresso machine, fresh fruit, a little bottle of sherry, books and a handwritten card from the management. The attached restaurant serves great Spanish food. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Perfect country getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was quite a lot of noise in the kitchenette in the morning which we assume was from either the other guests or cleaning staff. Not the best way to wake up!

    We had a wonderful stay at WOB and would highly recommend the property. The rooms were very comfortable and wonderfully decorated. The breakfast was fantastic and service was brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    We enjoyed our stay and overall the food was very good, but probably wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very basic and shower didn't work properly. Main course at dinner was too salty and feedback from chef was "that's how it's supposed to be", which was a bit arrogant. They did refund 50% of the cost of the main course, but probably thought I didn't know what I was talking about - but, I do! I've eaten paella in hundreds of places - including my own kitchen over 30 years, so I know when it's too salty because I was unable to eat it...

    Lovely location, nice bedroom and generally good quality food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Service excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit noisy as it was by the stock cupboard. Also room was not a fan would have been nice.

    Service excellent .Food was fantastic and wine was both different and good value .Wye is a lovely location with nice pubs and walks .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a bit softer than we are used to, but otherwise couldn’t fault it!

    Lovely room and decor, friendly staff, fantastic meal in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice looking room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very, very dirty No airconditioning Not enough parking places available, which meant walking a long distance

    Nice looking room Nice restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in pretty village setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No anti slip mat in bath/shower

    Lovely room Good electric fan - essential in current heat Fabulous food - dinner and breakfast Honesty pantry stocked with wine, beer & soft drinks (realistically priced too) Outside seating area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Boutique accommodation, terrific team, divine food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have stayed for 2 days.

    We stayed in a room in the cottage, quite elegant and simple interior, there were some lovely touches; a handwritten note to welcome us, a little sherry and some fruit. There is also a Nespresso machine. The restaurant is amazing and the team there very professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower was a bit hot/ cold . Was difficult to find a balance.

    Excellent location. Room was very comfortable and clean. Staff were amazing and very attentive. Had dinner there and the food was well presented and tasty. Definitely would go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable beds, great modern shower, contemporary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite dark and could have done with more lights

    Lovely comfortable beds, great modern shower, contemporary furnishings, attentive staff, fantastic food. Fully recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Stay at wife of Bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave. Would have loved to stay longer

    A beautiful place, excellent restaurant, great location and marvelous staff. Handy to town facilities and nearby sites of interest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Pretty prefect!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our bedroom was not great repairs needed and shower wasn’t powerful enough.

    The staff were brilliant!! The tapas was delicious and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely stay at a lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    We enjoyed a most "imaginative" dinner, excellently cooked and excellently served. The same was true of the breakfast. Hats off to the chef! And a special mention for the staff, who were helpful, friendly, and all you would want restaurant/hotel staff to be.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    The rooms were gorgeous and really clean, homely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were gorgeous and really clean, homely and spacious. The food was amazing and the staff really friendly and professional. Position wise it is in the heart of Wye which is a beautiful village. Great place to stay in fabulous surroundings!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful, romantic and memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt check out of 10.30am on a Sunday was a little early, that said we were able to relax and take our time over breakfast so didnt feel rushed.

    Service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, the room was beautiful. We are in the tapas bar (not the main restaurant) and it was fantastic! Very relaxed, excellent and wine and the service was wonderful. I can't fault any of it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    You come for the excellent food and you stay for the friendly and impeccable service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You come for the excellent food and you stay for the friendly and impeccable service. The iberico pork chops to share were divine and cooked to perfection. We had to check out early, so check it the night before and the kitchen kindly prepared a hamper breakfast, which was perfect and just what needed to eat on the road. The room was lovely, decorated with personal touches, definitely a boutique feel and not a chain! The bathroom was spacious and clean and towels fluffy. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will most likely stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful, pricey but well worth a visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor thing I would suggest that needs improving is the quality of their shower, it’s was a bit weak for my liking, but I’m being picky!

    The whole experience from checking in, a drink at the bar, our room, the meal and the breakfast was wonderful! I would definitely recoemmend a visit!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Good quality accommodation in the village of Wye.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one comfortable chair to sit on in a room for two people. No flannels provided. The room was a little on the cramped side. Sound passes easily between rooms, and you can hear what is going on in the adjacent room. There is no fish option at breakfast.

    Good clean and comfortable bedroom with most facilities. Good service generally. Good quality breakfast with a reasonable choice. Restaurant for dinner is also very good, with a good selection of dishes, but on the expensive side.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Just a delightful place for a meal with the benefit of staying over in a gorgeous room. Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bed, Spanish themed artworks, decor and ambiance, the welcome from well trained happy staff, added personal touches like snacks and sherry in room, honesty pantry,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    great place ,great staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    minibar in room instead of outside on landing.no rubber mat in bath also a hand rail would help to get in and out safely

    the quality and choice of food was exceptional. The staff was very attentive and the Superior room is worth the extra if it is available as it was for us

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    Fantastic food, quite village location, small but quaint room, uncomfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Hard and uncomfortable bed. Breakfast needed something else.....

    The Food was exceptional and the staff were very accommodating to me (being Gluten Free)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath/shower tap was left on shower which is not a nice surprise.

    A "calm" room with a great coffee machine and some fabulous almonds which were complimentary. Excellent barman and good service in the restaurant. Full English breakfast was exemplary. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Very cute room, nice extra touches!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was no milk in the room for the complimentary tea/coffee. The fridge didn't open easily as it was inside a small cupboard. Also my partner is over 6'2ft so the shower head was at his eye level!! Too small for him, I personally enjoyed my shower!

    The room was very cute and loved the extra touches of free fudge, fruit and sherry! The breakfast was very nice as well as the staff who were helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Lovely!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room with lots of extra touches, a glass of sherry, bottle of water, fudge and fruit! Very sweet and the staff could not have been more helpful. Would definitely go back. Breakfast was lovely too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    I was using our room the morning of my wedding to get ready...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was using our room the morning of my wedding to get ready with my bridesmaids. The staff were beyond amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Cannot thank them all enough. Beautiful clean room. Gorgeous food. Thank you wife of bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Occasional poor reception on some TV channels. Shower pressure and temperature could have been better.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent service, comfortable accommodation and good food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    One night of bliss! We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really interesting spanish take on a traditional cooked breakfast. Excellent level of quality for a very reasonable price. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    First Class!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A great place to stay, which I would highly recommend. The breakfast was outstanding. Staff were very good and attentive. Will stay again when I am next in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    A lovely place. Wonderful staff. Spotlessly clean. Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glad I was travelling solo as trying to get two people’s toiletries into the bathroom would have been impossible. Only a tiny shelf for storage. Having said that, the shampoos etc supplied by the hotel were very good quality, with an excellent makeup mirror.

    Food was excellent, decor and design of the restaurant and bedroom was well thought out and pleasing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    A great little place to stay in Kent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more surface to place personal items on would be great otherwise brilliant

    The Location was ideal for an overnight stay away from the bussle of busy traffic but close enough to major road networks together with a high standard of customer service I is a fabulous place to stay good food as well. A complimentary welcome with fruit and nuts water and plenty of tea and coffee making facilities was more than we had expected. Dinner was fabulous

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    fine, other than not getting what you told us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fact you told us dinner was included & I paid for that & had to settle for tappas at the bar which was not what we both wanted.you should compensate us not where we stopped.

    everything was fine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    All one could wish for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spanish themed food cannot be faulted. And an excellent range of Spanish and International wines. The staff were helpful and friendly. Spanish cooked breakfast recommended. Ideally located for Chanel Tunnel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Good stop for the weary traveller. Close to Canterbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One should be aware when booking that some of the rooms are above the restaurant (which serves Michelin star food). This means there is the restaurant noise in the evening. There are cottage rooms as well.

    This was a wonderful place. The rooms are themed around Canterbury Tales(so very appropriate for the region) The rooms were well equipped with coffee, tea and welcome goodies. Also, we needed to leave early in the morning to catch the tunnel train. The staff were so helpful and kind. They helped provide a to go breakfast. We travel with small children and it was considerably helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Breakfast was extraordinary ans extremly delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was switched off this it has been a bit cold when we arrived!

    Breakfast was extraordinary ans extremly delicious!!! The room was beautifully designed and perfectly equipped.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic Overnight Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only very minor downside is that breakfast doesn't start until 08:00 (Oct 2017) which isn't ideal if you want to get away early!

    Great stay. Staff really polite and overall a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay. Lots of parking and a quiet spot for a good nights sleep. Excellent food and service overall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    A lovely place for a spoiling couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast took a little long but muffins were freshly cooked so not really surprising !

    Dinner was completely delicious and the breakfast one of the best we have ever had. The staff were so helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Excellent. The second time we have been in a month.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Continental breakfast is not very useful if one has a day's walking planned - too many sweet things and empty calories. Not enough to give one sustained energy for a few hours, if one doesn't fancy a cooked breakfast.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, with top quality white cotton sheets. The room was clean, quiet and the bathroom spacious. Dinner in the restaurant is excellent and very good value. Management and staff are helpful and charming. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and perfect for walking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful, old building, nicely restored.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest the dinner was a real dissapointment, wasn't worth the money at all :(

    Beautiful, old building, nicely restored. Lovely village. Great breakfast, nice, but really small room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Lovely little find, a real treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Perfect place in every way. Loved all the little extra special touches added. Staff so friendly, room delightful, quaint and quirky.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.8
    A bit of a dump!
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs in the bathroom Remnants of a number two in the toilet upon arrival! Was very put off by this and wouldn't stay again because it has mentally scarred me!!!

    Restaurant great- would recommend eating here Staff helpful and pleasant Nice decor in the bedroom Breakfast hamper a nice idea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Noisy and limited breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very disappointing, one drink each, no fruit and just one order. Only non mediterranean dish was a muffin and granola combi. Granola very dry with just one spoon of yoghurt. Noise in pub went on till 00.15 and staff cleaning up with loid music on.

    Nice village feel and very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not open the window in the bedroom and it was very hot. However we had a fan but it was a little noisy.

    The meal we had at the restaurant was really nice so was our breakfast. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    QUAINT, BEAUTIFUL, QUIET, ROMATIC. LOVELY PLACE TOO STAY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I COULDN`T FAULT THIS IF YOU ARE NOT SURE GIVE THEM A CALL THEY ARE VERY HELPFULL AND FRIENDLY TOO.

    THE BREAKFAST WAS A LITTLE DIFFERENT TO WHAT I WOULD EXPECT BUT THE MEAL WAS EXCELLENT FANTASTIC TASTING FOOD GREAT SERVICE AND THE QUAINT PLACE IT SITS IN THE SURROUNDING VILLAGE IS OLDY WORLDY , GIVE IT A TRY, THEY ALSO RUN A RESTAURANT AT NIGHT DOWNSTAIRS AND A BAR TOO.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything- food- flavour choice service and environment - room- spacious well appointed beautiful decor comfortable clean Staff- friendly attentive interested. A really personalised experience with lots of Wows and gifted suprises

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good if cooked breakfast was served earlier.

    Very pleasant and comfy room and welcoming staff. Very quiet area. I was leaving early in the morning, they had left me a cold breakfast basket :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Great base from which to explore Kent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to think of any. Perhaps an added extra special for the dinner menu.

    Wonderful staff, Most obliging. Very comfortable room and facilities especially the extra treats of cold drinks in fridge and bottle of wine, gratis. Generosity of hospitality! Most tasty food, Spanish themed. I felt well cared for!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really good. Awesome muffin. Excellent coffee, unlike most of the other british hotels. The small town is lovely and well suited for a small walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Wouldn't change a thing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were warm and friendly. The room was decorated in a thoughtful, considered way with tasteful furniture and pictures and attention paid to every little detail.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    4.2
    Definitely NOT fabulous - very spartan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spartan room with nowhere to put anything, not even a shelf. And why would anyone go to Wye for a semi-Spanish dinner in an extremely noisy restaurant. Everything was done to make ordering form the menu as complex as possible. The whole thing was bizarre. And then to add service without asking.

    Nothing to like

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Everything you need in one place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little loud whilst the restaurant is open but the pros far outway the cons

    Wonderful location, beautiful decor and brillant staff. We had a delicious dinner and could then walk up the stairs to our lovely room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay and great food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, lovely room fantastic food and clean. Even a nespresso machine in the room for coffee, wine and beer in the pantry plus sherry on the mantlepiece for a night cap.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Gem of a hotel in a sleepy village location, perfect for relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose the hamper instead of the cooked breakfast but wish we hadn't. Nothing wrong with it but in hind sight the cooked breakfast would of been more to our taste than croissants etc. However if you want to stay in bed longer it's a perfect option.

    This is a little gem of a hotel in a sleepy village location. The staff were friendly & it was a lovely quiet hotel. The room had lovely little touches like bottled water, fruit & fudge. It was in walking distance of some restaurants which we took full advantage of.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Lots of great personalised touches, complimentary drinks,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of great personalised touches, complimentary drinks, sweets and fruit left etc for us. Really enjoyed the option to have breakfast in the room and relax in the morning for no extra charge. Amazing restaurant, great spanish food and drink, again with lots added extra dishes and sides to make it feel special.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Delightful stay, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra touches such as the fruit, fudge and sherry left in the room made you feel very welcomed. The staff went above and beyond to make you feel relaxed and no request was too much. The room was clean and modern

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful village location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    we only paid £59 and was staying for one night but had we stayed longer or paid the full asking price for the room I would not be to pleased. We had no heating in the room as it was broken we did say to the manager but he said it was broken and he didn't think he could fix it. the fact he knew it was broken but still sold the room without stating it had no heating and the bath room was so cold we didn't have a shower, spoilt all there hard work they have put into this beautifully decorated B&B. Also they have put roller blinds at the window which let in the light either side of the window they would have to put curtains up to solve this problem. the pillow's are cheap silent night ones and so is the duvet, if your paying over £100 you would expect better standard. I think if the manager stayed in the rooms he would know what area's need to be improved. We stayed in the Franklin room.

    The village is so nice, it has a lovely safe feeling but has a buzz with wine bars and all types of local shops. The wife of bath is in a very good location and a very attractive building. there was plenty parking space but I do feel they could use some of it for an outdoor seating area in the summer months. The breakfast hamper was so cute with high quality produce, delivered to the room at 8am in a picnic basket.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful friendly hotel, very high quality and super clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to the bathroom was hard to shut but that is it! Wonderful hotel nothing to complain about other than that

    Wonderful friendly hotel, very high quality and super clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Honestly the best hotel i have ever stayed at with a beautiful restaurant. I will be back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's hard to pin point anything that was not to like. The restaurant which served beautiful food you can hear them until pretty much midnight but if you are downstairs this will not effect you and i did sleep through it.

    The staff where fantastic. No ask was too much. The extra details like nuts, fudge, fruit and sherry in your room along with earplugs and a pantey to help yourself to extra water and wine was such a welcoming and friendly nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful evening with a warm and friendly staff in a beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was a bit reluctant to flush properly. Otherwise perfect.

    Loved the details on the refurbishment. The decor was beautiful. Also loved the extras in the room. Super friendly staff too and one of the best G&Ts I've ever had. Thanks for a great trip.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Extra little touches were very thoughtful, sherry in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been some more surface areas in the bedroom to put things on, a bit too sparse. Extra lighting for getting ready would be good as would a full length mirror.

    Extra little touches were very thoughtful, sherry in the bedroom, breakfast hamper delivered to your door etc.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    blissful, delicious food and attentive staff. loved the breakfast hamper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building, beautifully and sympathetically decorated. Very generous refreshments left in the room from a glass of madeira and tapas to nepresso coffee machine

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    A gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    As someone that stays in hotels 3/4 nights a week this was a wonderful find, the staff could not of been more helpful and facilities in the rooms were excellent overall 10 out of 10

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    Great stay at the Wife of Bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative is that we booked a rate that had 'full English breakfast included' but we were told it had been a mistake, so we were given a continental breakfast hamper to the room (which we enjoyed a lot) but didn't take the English breakfast as we were told it would be an additional 10 pounds per person / per day. One more suggestion would be to put a bit more light in the car park at night & have fresh juice at breakfast rather than fizzy.

    Friendly staff who offered suggestions about the area. We loved the little touches like welcome note / nibbles in the room. Location is remote but we were looking for somewhere to take nice walks etc so it was perfect. If you have a car it would be better to get around, but we came by train and it was easy enough. We ate one evening in the restaurant which was excellent. The bar has a nice vibe, lots of choice and the best part is that from the room you don't hear any noise at all even if the bar was busy. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Atmosphere,very clean, staff were friendly & helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't know, was very pleased with everything really, it was a convenient place to stay as I was on business in the area

    Atmosphere,very clean, staff were friendly & helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful little boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff and rooms and the food in the restaurant was gorgeous.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet too warm. No lounge area.

    The breakfasts and the little extras in the room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Super clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location right in the town, lovely breakfast hamper delivered to our room. Absolutely spotless room and comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully decorated and the restaurant and bar were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully decorated and the restaurant and bar were great. Food was delicious and breakfast was refreshingly different.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    I loved the little touches, like the personalized hand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the little touches, like the personalized hand written note and the dish of almonds with some dry sherry!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Good drinks good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very relaxing and nice bar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    We stay there because of the restaurant, though we may look for other local accommodation next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small double bed, small bedroom (no 3)

    Very good restaurant for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75