Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Willows Guest House 3 stars

Bambers Green, Takeley, CM22 6PE, United Kingdom

#2 of 9 hotels in Takeley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 999 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.2
    Close to London Stansted Airport , good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Guesthouse was 7-8min drive from London Stansted Airport. Quadruple room was very specious. Parking was provided. Would stay again as a sleepover before the flight.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Convenient spot to get to Stansted airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - could have been a bit cleaner

    - well-priced breakfast - convenient check-in - airport transfer for only 5£ - convenient location if you arrive late or have to leave early to Stansted airport

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Brilliant restful stay if travelling early or late from Stansted airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All great

    Everything, its a great location with a lovely view, owner was lovely and kind. Room was beautifully decorated ans spacious. The airport transfer is great and very simple to arrange. Would recommend ans use again without hesitation.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    we were very satisfied with the stay and the pick up and drop off and the pub in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    we liked the country atmosphere and the surroundings and the vicinity of the pub and the great menu, it is the second time i have stayed there and i really enjoy the experience

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    We loved staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like, once we had found it! An iĺluminated sign that can be seen from the road would be good for first time visitors, like us, who arrive in the dark.

    Everything. Friendly hosts, a comfortable room with small kitchen area and patio with garden furniture and the most massive breakfast. The cats were a lovely added bonus. We loved this place and will definitely stay here again, if flying from Stansted or in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay, extremely close to the airport, only 5 minutes drive made to feel welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the breakfast was a little pricey for a continental breakfast.

    We stayed here for a night before our flight the next day from Stansted Airport. The facilities were excellent and good value for money. The owner was very friendly and attentive. Overall a good experience

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    WE ALL ENJOYED OUR STAY THERE -EVERYTHING WAS EXCELLENT
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    IT IS AN ECXELLENT COUNTRY STYLE GUEST HOUSE VERY CLOSE TO STANSTED AIRPORT.EVERYTHING WAS TERIFIC,THE ROOM WE STAYED WAS BIG AND VERY CLEAR-WI FI ACCESS WAS EXCELLENT -SU,THE LADY HOSTESS WAS REALLY KIND AND READY TO ΙNFORM US ABOUT ANYTHING WE NEED.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast for 7pds was a disappointment. Toast, croissants, au pains with chocolate, cereal, jam and cold cuts. No english breakfast or fresh coffee- but instant coffee was available in the room.

    We had a midnight check in and The hosts were clear with instructions and also good enough to accomodate this request. It was a clean and comfortable room for the overnight. The shuttle service also was really nice and well priced. The room comes with tea and coffee and milk satchets ( complimentary) and also instant soup that one can buy- great for the likes for us, who had long journeys. Overall i would stay here again but wouldnt go for the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Quiet and well kept guest house, perfect overnight stay for the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from any amenities such as local shop or pub for food if walking, but only a few mins by car. The plus is it’s a very quiet location.

    Very close to Stanstead airport so a perfect spot for an overnight stay before an early morning flight. Owners very kind and helpful, offering a shuttle service to the airport for a reasonable price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, the owner was very personable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, the owner was very personable. Helped us find a place to eat and how to find the airport in the morning. Very comfortable room, with two very friendly cats that brightened up our stay. Thanks very much, will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Even if we arrived at night and left early in the morning,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if we arrived at night and left early in the morning, was the staff really nice and helpful! Very comfortable room and nice hotel! Quiet neighborhood and not far from Stansted Airport, perfect for early flight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was anything to dislike about it and would stay again

    Evetything, the lady that saw to us was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the snacks in the room for a £1 were great, really quiet and comfortable would recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    The host was lovely and super helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was lovely and super helpful! She picked us up from the airport very promptly and the rooms had tea and biscuits which added a nice comforting touch :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location clean and well presented room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a taxi wasn’t as easy as thought if you have an early flight and your flight time doesn’t fit in with the transfer available with the hotel would recommend ordering taxi in advance however only a minor set back

    Clean,comfortable beds and amenities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful place to relax before or after the flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were problems with water while showering.

    Peacefullness after hustle and bustle in London. The host picked us up at Stansted ( 5 pounds), it took about 10 min to get to the place Though there are no pubs or cafes around the property, you can find noodles, oatmeals, tea, coffee, milk and some cookies in the room. There is also a possibility to order pizza. We enjoyed our last evening sitting in the garden with a cup of tea and watching the dog and cats playing around. The room ( for 4 people) is nice and cosy, comfortable beds. Taxi to Stansted was 14 pounds.( the host booked it for us)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Cute and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not get to see much as arrived late and left early!

    Cute and clean. Great pick up service from airport in the evening & very friendly. Great airport service in the morning too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice quiet location which was surprising considering how close it is to the airport had a relaxing couple of evenings after work bathroom was immaculate and sufficient facilities to make some meals or bring in takeaways staff are always on hand if needed well done😃

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    I highly recommend the Willows Guest House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I highly recommend the Willows Guest House. It is just 5 minutes from the airport and you are warmly welcomed by the landlord. You feel immediately comfortable and welcome! The rooms are nice and lovingly decorated and the garden invites you to linger. The Willows offers excellent service. In addition to the pick-up and transfer to the airport, the host also takes care of the physical well-being and brings you on request to the nearest pub incl pickup. In this way we would like to say thank you again and when we are back in Stansted, we will definitely book the Willows Guest House again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Thoughtful attention to detail and quiet scenic location 5 minutes drive from airport .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive is a bit uneven and could do with smoothing out.

    Arrived late, all was left for us to check in including a lovely message giving a welcome and useful info and instructions. Nice touch was the food available whigh you pay for if you use it. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Fine by me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good, clear and thorough communication. Friendly reception. Sensible pricing. Good onward transport facilities for a stated price that was not steep (unlike another comment I had no expectation that a connection to the airport would be provided free of charge).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Convenient and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit tired, throws and cushions need a clean.

    Booked last minute when the property we had booked cancelled at short notice. Prompt and friendly response from the Willows and so convenient for Stansted airport. Bed comfy and a lovely welcome from the resident cats.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Lovely place with Reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The property is just 5 minutes to the airport. The place is lovely, clean and well-prepared. Everything is provided better than some properties downtown with the same grade. You also can ask Kevin and Su to pick up from and to the airport. Overall, we had a pleasant stay even just one night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Works perfectly for single night bookings and perfect location for the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late and the self service check-in worked perfectly. Our room was perfect. Kev and Su provided many little extras - great for cabin bag only travelers. The continental breakfast was lovely and great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay at a beautiful guest house
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kev was a fantastic host and the Guest House is stunning. The room was very clean, and the bed very comfortable. We only had one neighbour who was very quiet and so we slept well. We availed of the transfer service to and from the airport which was great. The resident cats were an extra bonus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Fab overnight stay. Comfortable. Immaculate. Brilliant location x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuggly bannister .. just one of our party was fearful x

    Our host drove us to the airport for the princely sum of £5... which was a bargain ... we paid ^£15 the night before to get there from airport x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Everything I had hoped for and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect

    Charming welcoming owners. Clean, spacious accommodation. Very comfortable bed. Snacks and drinks available in room. Quiet beautiful location. Willing to take me to Airport at dawn the following morning. I cannot wait to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location if your flight is very morning and you don't want be late;) So lovely place.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing:)

    Lovely garden and perfect location if your flight is very morning and you don't want be late. Just 10 min by car on terminals! Quiet place , good to sleep deep before trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    It was ok. Very English! Pretty thatched roofs on the main house!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small beds!

    We stayed here on an emergency basis. The room was clean. We were told we'd have a queen bed and had 3 singles for the 2 of us--but it was ok. We got there unexpectedly late and staff was kind.The room had facilities to make coffee and overall it was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value for the money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not so easy to find the location after midnight ...

    Very nice hosts : we arrived 15 mn after the check in limit and they managed to let the bedroom keys on the door and also the way to find the room was indicated ... Big rooms Stuff for breakfast or diner at disposal in the room for few money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Location perfect for early flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect for catching early flight. Very comfortable and quiet. Good to have transfers to airport. Such a short stay 7hours only. But allowed us to get to airport in time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.0
    Thankfully only a one night stay. Wouldn’t stay again as far too expensive and noisy for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cabin we stayed in was very tired and needed updating. The terrible smell of dogs in reception. The constant banging of a gate and a cockerel at 4.15am weren’t ideal, even though we had to be up early, thankfully.

    Locality to the airport was good. Parking was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Pleasant but remote and no food on premises
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing around. Out in the countryside. No food on premises. Continental breakfast only. Cats everywhere. Towels didn’t smell fresh. TV was faulty. Lift to and from airport - car stank of dogs (Sue shows dogs).

    Sue was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    For a single nights accommodation between international...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    For a single nights accommodation between international flights, the beds where very comfortable, the temperature was great, shower great, hosts friendly and helpful. Fantastic position away from noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in process was very accommodating considering we didn't get in until 1am. The beds were comfy - we struggled to get out of them in the morning and the bathroom was a good size with everything we needed. There were small thoughtful details throughout our experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    This is a lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely place to stay. We were amazed by how peaceful it feels -- if I have another awkward flight from Stansted, I'll definitely be booking again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    A Very homely place with lots of attention to detail and added comforts to make it special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some drainage issues with the shower but not a major problem.

    Lovely quiet setting, friendly people and friendly animals. A ‘busy’ setting with lots of spaces and places to sit and catch the sun with a cold wine after lots of driving.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing and didn't live up to reviews, for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large muddy potholes from car park to accommodation meaning we had to physically carry suitcase to avoid it getting filthy. The doggy/catty smell in reception was very off putting and the cats walking around the counter not very pleasant. Ok if you like animals I guess. The room was small, only one bedside table and precious little room to get the other side of the bed. Furniture generally tired and definitely dated. The carpentry in bathroom was somewhat crude and the basin plug didn't work. Apart from that it was ok for one night I guess, but will go for modern hotel next time.

    Bed was comfy, good provision of tea, coffee etc. Proprietors helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Amazing room, tentative owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road coming in was a little bumpy - I’m glad it was my Mum and a taxi driving there not me

    We didn’t meet the owners as we checked in late and left early but we had a welcome note from them which was absolutely lovely!! Beds were super comfy too! The room was perfect and very high standard!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the property is close to airport, the owner did Airport rons, but we found a bit noisy at 4am,we really just wanted a lay-in, convenient for those going away..

    Lovely little place, close to family for visiting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Excellent, as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like Max, the Old English Sheepdog, (wrong breed, sorry Su!) not winning his Show. Next time! And we didn't see the new puppies! Margaret and Peter.

    We've been returning to Su and Kevin's for some years now and have always found it first-rate. Excellent airport drop-off and pick-up facilities. Keeping up with the dogs progress is an added bonus! Margaret and Peter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location, very quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, very quiet and comfortable. My children say : "it's the Snow White's House". Indeed. And perfect check-in for our late flight. Thank you very much for the free airport shuttles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Charming place for people who are looking for a more "British" experience, and a very good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A sign on the road would have been helpful, as I had trouble finding it. Granted, we were concentrating on driving on the left side, but we got directions easily.

    Although it is only 5 minutes away from the airport it feels like you are in the middle of nowhere. The centuries old thatched cottage that is part of the owners home and reception area was lovely. Kev was super helpful, helping us plan our exploration of the area, recommending the pub owned by Jamie Oliver's parents, and other equally wonderful sights and experiences. And it was waaay cheaper and nicer than the airport hotel the airline put us in later. It was a lovely, quiet place to explore from and unwind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Good stopover for the airport. I do however think it would be a good location for a few days stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Ideal location for an early morning flight from Stansted. Sue and Kev the owners are very helpful and kind. The accommodation is of a good standard. Good shower and comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    The detailed information email received when we booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. With stay there again.

    The detailed information email received when we booked. It was especially helpful since we were arriving late after 23:00 hours (11pm). Also the airport shuttle was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    I arranged a pick-up from Stansted Airport Car Rental...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's true their car is a bit dirty and "doggy" smelling! But they live in the country and they obviously have dogs, and I'm a dog lover too - so I didn't mind!

    I arranged a pick-up from Stansted Airport Car Rental Village and Su & Kev were very kind to wait for me there, as I was held up re-fuelling my vehicle. (It was brand new and the petrol cap was completely stuck, and could not be opened!) I called Su and Kev and explained the problem, and they kindly waited an extra few minutes for me after 10pm, without charge, even though they could have charged me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    British comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was lovely and comfy. The coffee and tea selection and various extra food offerings were a great touch and perfect options for late/early flights. The staff was very friendly and the room was cozy and comfortable beds, hot shower and warm towels. Lovely overnight stay and easy to do an early flight from!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Can't praise this B&B more highly- will always stay there
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Booked this for my husband and he raved about it-the microwave in the room was fantastic- snacks were provided. Everything was reasonably priced & the staff could not have done more

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and efficient pick up and drop off to and from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and efficient pick up and drop off to and from the airport. Very short transfer and despite close proximity to the airport had a restful sleep. Lovely property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful chalet style accommodation giving a home away from home feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful find and so close to Stanstead Airport. Booked the night before arrived late afternoon and was warmly welcomed. We were given some local info regarding local pub restaurants, a very short drive away, and directions to the local Tesco's for fuel. The chalet type room we were given was incredible. It had a separate lounge/dining area with TV and microwave and a good selection of snacks which can be purchased via an honesty box system. We both had an excellent nights sleep and would certainly use the Willows Guest House again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    We only stayed a short time but the staff were lovely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed a short time but the staff were lovely and made us feel right at home, they even picked us up and dropped us off right at the airport themselves!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place, so thoughtfully & efficiently run!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is difficult for you not to wake up when others leave the hotel (chatting with the driver etc), but understandable.

    The staff were incredibly friendly & helpful, printing our boarding pass, enabling late check-in, organising the shuttle car. I was very impressed with the little touches, tea & coffee, little breakfast items for £1. Rarely do you find a place with such thoughtful & efficient treatment. Lovely...thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    About as good as it gets!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The access road was muddy and slippery due to recent heavy snow melt but this is beyond the control of the owners of The Willows.

    I have stayed at The Willows on a previous occasion and find it to be just about perfect for an overnight stay (or longer) in a quiet and peaceful location despite being just 3 kms from a busy airport, Excellent value and doubt that it can be beaten at this price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to get there. If you book one night, you get 2 transfers for free, if you book three nichts, you still only get 2 transfers, making it more extensive.

    Quiet!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Great for one night stay near to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation is in the area where are no bars or restaurants nearby, but for the one night - airport transit stay, you can't expect more. As I said, our stay was really valuable. Thank you.

    We liked everything. Our stay was really valuable, beds were comfortable, everything was clean and smelled like home. Su is very friendly and nice, we used the airport transfer service for a very fair price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect choice for overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many things to do around if you don't have car but perfect for overnight between flights.

    Very cozy and clean room in a lovely cottage. The lady was very friendly and helpful. I will recommend it 100% or will come back if I need to.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely cold outside on our visit and heating not adequate in the bathroom for the cold conditions.

    Attention to detail. Little extras provided and care taken over these.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall, great location, charming, clean room and lovely couple (welcome)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, no fault with our stay.

    From the moment we were picked up at the airport to the welcoming manner of the owners. We really loved the location and the people. Our room was immaculate and loved the charming nature of the B&B. We were only staying for one night and had an early morning flight the next day. Definitely would like to revisit in the summer and see their beautiful garden properly. Wish we could have stayed longer to try the breakfast :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Great place to stay pre flight from stanstead
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very strong smell of dogs in reception was Off putting but would not deter us from staying again.

    Perfect for pre flight stay. The owners were very helpful and friendly. Would definately stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Our staying there was comfy, good location situated beside the airport and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities and decor needed some updating. No coffee or tea free of charge nor welcome drink.

    Location wise was excellent and the couple running the place were really helpful and nice. Great comfort and served our purpose.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    A really good stay, very convenient and economical for an early departure from Stansted Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked some shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom but everything else was great.

    The proprietors will collect and return you from/to Stansted Airport for a very modest fee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Friendly, welcoming and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall I loved my stay. They picked me up and dropped me off from the airport, even took me to the local pub for dinner. If something could be improved, and it is minor, it would be the bathroom - nicer hand soap and a shelf in the shower for body wash, S & C etc.

    Great communication from Kev & Su. Picked me up from the airport with no stress. Very friendly and welcoming. The room was homely and comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay at the Willows Guest House.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Cosy room in a cottage with friendly service and an easy shuttle to the airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy house and room, private entrance to room, microwave in room so it's easy to warm up own food, very friendly cats on the premises, comfortable bed. Very easy and inexpensive shuttle to and from the airport, and the owners are very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Affordable accommodation close to stansted airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very small. Driveway/house was hard to find in the dark. A well lit sign on the street would be good.

    Option of three single beds was nice. Complementary tea/coffee and biscuits etc. Also it was nice to have cheap drinks and food to purchase.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay and friendly, helpful staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only there for a few hours to sleep before our flight but they had everything we needed including water/snacks, hairdryer, warm towels.

    Lovely place! Staff were very accommodating and friendly. We needed a late check-in because a family member was having a serious operation and they were extremely helpful with this. They even left us a note with all the information we needed and to tell us they booked us a taxi for the morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    MOST SATISFACTORY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    LATE AT NIGHT AND TIRED THE HOUSE WAS DIFFICULT TO FIND . MAYBE I MISSED WRITTEN DIRECTIONS.

    SUE WAS VERY HELPFUL WITH OUR NEW DAYS PLAN . WELCOMING AND EASY.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not related to the B&B. We took a taxi to the Willow and that was awful. The taxis have to be ordered at the airport, which is fine, but they had to call our taxi more than once and then he looked at us and said the Willows has transport. He was reluctant to take us and walked super fast to his car. When we got to the B&B, he let us out at the end of the drive, told us to walk and sat in his car as we got our luggage. The host at the Willows called to complain and we appreciate that. Just beware ...

    My second time staying here, it is a convenient location for catching a flight. The host is super nice and the room was perfect for our family of 4. The bed was so comfy, I fell right to sleep. The host gave us a ride to the airport the next morning. Perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Good to spend a night between flights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mix of humidity and mothball smell in the room and lack of the hair dryer in the bathroom. Also unbearable cat smell at the reception area. The owners offer to print your boarding passes for the charge of 3 pounds - nice option, but for this price is basically a rip off.

    Very close, literally 5 mins from Stansted airport, comfortable bed and kettle in the room. Pretty nice breakfast, but a little overpriced. Airport shuttle at certain hours - nice gesture.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    Very nice cottage in the middle of the countryside !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just internet connection poor

    Very nice cottage in the middle of the countryside ! Rooms really nice decorated and it is just few minutes away form the airport . Recommended !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    The great location, friendly staff and clean and cozy rooms made for an excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious and private. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of outlets available in convenient locations. The staff was friendly and especially helpful with directions into the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Very nice place to stay while waiting your next flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think only one thing - you need to count that transfer to the house at very late evening is possible only by taxi. We wanted to have cheap bed near Stansted airport for one night, but haven't taken in account that transfer to the place in the late evening will also cost some money.

    We liked many small things - the instructions sent to me by email with the precise information how to find house and what are the options, the directions printed specially for us, so we could understand where is our room in the middle of the night, the option to have a cup of tea at late night, fast transfer to the airport. You feel that all this is thought carefully and the hosts know how to make your stay easier.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Convenient and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really accommodating when we turned up near the end of check in. Loved that we had our own lodge. The facilities were really good and the beds were really comfy!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    The Willows provided everything we needed, conveniently near the airport at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Here and there the decor needs an uplift. Throw away the plastic flowers in the bedroom and paint the bedside table.

    Our host was charming and gave us a lift without charge to the airport in the morning. Sheets and towels very fresh and clean. Very nice to have breakfast delivered to the room and good choice of things to eat and drink. Quiet rooms, easy to sleep in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    We found that the location was perfect and the stay was very comfortable. We would certainly return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a small leak from the bathroom sink which made the room wet in places, however it was not a major issue. Unfortunately there was noise from people walking over head in the middle of the night.

    We found that the owner was very welcoming and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and the room was well equipped and cosy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Cosy and friendly
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a bit old but clean

    Cute and cosy hotel. There is a service of picking up from and driving to the airport from the owners! For a night sleep until the next flight it's perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Owners very friendly and personable - they really want to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took 4 tries over half an hour to contact the property by phone to get picked up at the airport. The owner explained there was a mishap with her Bluetooth device, so I am sure this is rare.

    Owners very friendly and personable - they really want to make your stay amazing. They also do airport pick ups and drop offs, which is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Willows Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: