Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Windsor Hotel 3 stars

South Parade, Whitley Bay, NE26 2RF, United Kingdom

#15 of 18 hotels in Whitley Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 633 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here twice before. Excellent hotel with very friendly staff. Short walk from the local Metro station, town centre and seafront. Will be staying here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    People are warm friendly and helpful, overall very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could be more storage in bathrooms. Television kept freezing then screen went black then turned over to different channel, needs to sorted out.

    Staff were very pleasant and welcoming, room was clean bright spacious, bed was comfy, plenty of draws with double wardrobe. Shower was good also had separate bath. breakfast was various juice, yogurt, toast conserves cereal tea, coffee plus choice of cooked breakfast. Brilliant location for places of interest you would wish to visit. Whitley is having a make-over and is starting to look and feel a family resort again. Plenty of restaurants. cafe's/bistro's to choose from, Very good value, would highly recommend. Worth a visit, we will return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    Absolutely horrendous and unsafe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was 40 plus kicking off while hotel in 29th June. one night porter managing whole hotel. This all went on til 6am in the morning. Police were called twice didn't turn up no security so decent people in hotel were at risk my 11 was distressed. Left next day no apology and 90 quid down for the pleasure. Room was clean and nice sheets shame we didnt get to sleep in them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was OK, the bed has been well used, squeaks a lot and dips in the middle. The room was very warm and the curtains let through quite a lot of light.

    The hotel itself is very nice, the location is fantastic for the metro, beach, bars, restaurants and centre. The staff are mainly friendly and helpful with one exception who was just a little 'off'. The bar is nice and stays open until 1am which is good. Private gated parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Potentially a good hotel but my stay was not great !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked for two nights and only stayed for one night as my business was completed quicker than expected. I would have stayed the second night but I was tired and frustrated as various couples with no manners had returned late and were quite noisy. Everyone anticipates a bit of noise but this was beyond that level. One couple had an argument in the hall at 2.45am and should really have been reprimanded. I checked out the next day and reception were apologetic. I even got a call after I had left, to tell me that the guilty couple had checked out and did I want to comeback. All in all, this was not the hotels fault but it put a serious dampner on my stay. Maybe an alert night porter is required ? My only other concern was the number of boarded up buildings in the street which was such a negative contrast to the beautiful views of the lighthouse from the windows in the bar !

    The hotel has a pleasant reception with bar and restaurant also on the ground floor. The bar was quiet but served good food and beer with the bar staff also being very pleasant. The restaurant has a good reputation but I stayed on a Monday night so it was closed. The room itself was spacious and clean with tea making facilities. All in all, the hotel has the potential for a great stay bearing in mind that it is only 100 yards from the sea front and beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.3
    Too loud, too bright, too uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was almost directly opposite a bar that stayed open late. There was noise well into the night and the lights from outside made the room bright even with the lights out. Throw in the thin pillows and scratchy sheets to get a lousy nights sleep.

    The location was close to where I needed to be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.8
    Unpleasant.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    having no management around or staff on at night or to help you with anything ,except a rude security guard .was that bad we didn't stay handing our keys back at the desk and made a 3 hour journey home . And got home for 3am in the morning Ruined my weekend as we was traveling And waiting for management to ring me back over my complaint and to receive my refund . I wouldn't of minded if the room was clean I would of stayed but finding Jonny wrappers and rubbish round the room , no remote for tv or anything the kettle was minging never had a wipe down with a cloth .. Just wasn't nice and with being pregnant I ain't risking picking something or or worse..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    Happy staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 29 window wouldn't stay open or close .from outside you would be able to enter room from walking roof also trash on roof . I really think this room shud be shut down until repaired .Tv old and no sound

    Staff excellent they changed our room instantly very polite and looked happy in there work

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Staff were fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street it is on was VERY derelict. Also our room was facing the ONLY nightclub in Whitley bay so was awake until stupid o clock because of the noise.

    Staff were fantastic! Rooms were clean and big bathroom great value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable enough,day reception staff very nice but no wi fi in my room a big minus
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my room unable to access any wi fi connections at all A whole list came up but none the passwords given would Connect to . I was provided with a couple of options by reception staff but none worked They need to point out this single room surrounded by buildings at the back is a no wi fi zone I sat to do what I needed to do in the foyer for 3 hours which as it was so quiet I could do but it wouldn’t have been an option if it was busy I walked past 2 members of staff on the way to breakfast but no one came to let me know what the breakfast option was As another gentleman came in after me & was offered his usual cooked breakfast but the member of staff didn’t come over to me (there were only the 2 of us in the restaurant so they couldn’t miss me ) I assume if breakfast is included it’s just the cereal & toast that was self service Not an issue if that’s the case but let guests know if that’s the case or at least acknowledge they’re there

    Friendly helpful daytime reception staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault the property in anyway

    We were given a room with a four poster bed and a view of the sea. It was unbelievable we will definitely be staying here again. We had fresh towels everyday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Good for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a problem with extremely long wait and mostly do it yourself, was blamed on the staff, but was annoying.

    Good value for money and Whitley Bar has a very nice prom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The place was lovely the staff were so kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was lovely the staff were so kind and helpful. Especially Steve in the bar and Laura who was in reception and helped my daughter change room as hers was not suitable. Great place highly recommend and we will be back 😁

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was short staffed but the staff that were on duty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the bathroom was broken and a one hour wait at breakfast because of staff shortages which were caused by bad mismanagement

    The hotel was short staffed but the staff that were on duty were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    The stay all in all was good, however there is a club\bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay all in all was good, however there is a club\bar across the way which creates a lot of noise and the windows don’t do any sort of job at blocking out the noise! If you want a good night sleep I would maybe suggests asking for a room at the back! The windows do need to be updated though!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located right opposite a night club got no sleep noise was horrendous even with the windows closed which also made the room really hot seeing as it was a small room.

    It was fairly clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    very good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing would stay again.

    The room was very quiet at night no doors slamming like in some hotels .great that there was off street parking so close to the seafront. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful, would go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was conveniently situated with friendly staff but could do with a bit of updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable. The mattress needs replacing; it had lots of saggy bits and was not supportive. As the room was large there was room for a king sized bed which would have been nice.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was plenty of room in the car park. The hotel was close to the promenade and not far from the Metro station. The room was quite large and had plenty of room in the wardrobe and drawers. The bathroom was huge with a bath and shower cubicle. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom. The TV received lots of channels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    A lot of money for not a good stay ☹️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the shower, complained twice but was not rectified. Bed was like a rock, very uncomfortable. Incorrect restaurant menu in the hotel room, went for dinner in restaurant to be told they don't do what was in room anymore. Only one disabled parking space which was being used by someone without a blue badge. Breakfast was not very good, scrambled egg with cold smoked salmon blobbed on the plate.

    Staff were polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.3
    Not the best hotel by a long shot, especially as this was a birthday treat for my partner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The corridor leading to our first room stank of cigarette smoke. Our first room had mould and the paint was flaking off, very dated with every floor board creaking, the view was of a derelict building across the road and the bed was about to fall apart just by sitting on it. The carpet wasn't fitted correctly so had curled up and frayed at the edges which made if feel like we had gone back in time. Receptionist and myself looked at lots of other rooms and eventually settled on room 30, which wasn't great but the best of the ones I had looked at. The photo's on Booking.com need to be updated as these do not reflect the current rooms. Whilst the hotel had a free car park, this had litter and cigarette butts around the hotel rear entrance door, which had not been cleaned away for the whole weekend. The bar was very low on stock and only had 2 lagers on tap; no bitters, which were just cans of John Smiths. To get service, we had to go and find the staff member who kept disappearing after serving one drink. A lot of the buildings around this hotel are nearly all derelict, and therefore dirty and making this part of Whitley Bay look very run down. I am glad that our days were spent sight seeing as this hotel was not comfortable enough to spend a whole day in.

    The shower had good water pressure and we had tea and coffee facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Would like contact regarding this booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the hotel except stuff in breakfast was great

    Very poor. Had booked 2 double rooms and it end up being 2 big rooms 2 beds and a partition wall separating the two walls that you can see through the wall. Got pictures if need to see. Could have a convo with my parents in the next room.. was not very private at all and made us feel uncomfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic place to stay.. will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleaning - it was clean but not thorough.. only half of the towels were shifted by the maid but the deskstaff changed immediately with huge sorrie!..

    Wonderful place to stay - close to everything - fantastic parking facilities for guests - quiet place to sleep in lovly rooms - 2nd time we are here and will NOT be the last

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having stayed at the Windsor many times, starting with the front desk staff from the manageress Sarah, desk staff Laura, and Kelly. The excellent Chef John, to night porters have almost become a second family to us. Very recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Loved it and going back in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and had a lovely feel to it. Comfy, clean bed and floors. Breakfast was gorgeous. Only fault I could find was that the curtains were a bit dated 😁 which was nothing. Excellent value for money, clean and lovely atmosphere. Perfect. Definitely going back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant and convenient for the beach and middle of town. Plenty, safe parking.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo or shower gel. There was a bottle of hand wash, which we were told , did all, when we asked, but not good enough really.

    Comfortable and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    We had a brillient weekend and enjoyed staying at the Windsor Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The Hotel was home from home with good customer service the staff was fantastic. With good food thanks to the two chefs John / Dave would recommed it to everyone. So looking forward on our return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    glad it was only a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mould around the bath in our room. The rest of the family had lovely bathrooms. We had a comfy bed but the others did not. Our room was warm but the others were uncomfortably hot. Seems to be the luck of the draw with the Windsor. We have stayed there many times before but not for a long while. Buildings all around it have closed down so perhaps we will stay in a different location next time. The beach at the end of the road though is still lovely and the children enjoyed the stay.

    Convenient for the beach. Staff were friendly and helpful. Car park at the back, although in the past it was opened by buzzing reception. Now it is open to all so not quite so safe

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    Miserable
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wi -fi (room out of range) TV didn't work No food and breakfast was dreadful - only some Weetabix and hot water with tea-bags/coffee sachets - and this at £5.50 - really awful

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff very friendly and helpful and apologetic for problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant not available on Friday Night only Bar meals. Poor TV reception in rooms no BBC or BBC2

    Staff very friendly and helpful and apologetic for problems.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Suited my purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was advertised that Bar Meals were available until 20:30 on Sunday they stopped serving at 20:00. Can understand the decision as it was Easter Sunday and very quiet but a notice on reception would have been appreciated.

    This is the 4th or 5th time I've stayed at the hotel and this was the best room I've had

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very dated. Facilities poor. Rooms not checked before admissions. Had to change rooms three times before satisfied. Would definitely not stop here again. Nor recommend it. Very poor value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.0
    Good location, expensive for state of accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated accommodation, could do with a thorough clean, especially in bathroom. Tea facilities were poor, kettle should be thrown away, dirty, old and small. Did not use dining room because we were put off by room facilities. No beds in the hotel were king size which also made the stay uncomfortable.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Great stay. Good location, really spacious rooms.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great find. Super location, near beach, town centre and station all a few minutes walk. Large well equipped room. Decor a little dated but clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Easy parking outside or in hotel car park. Definitely returning soon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    for the price the hotel is what we were expecting & we will definatley be staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the downside is the carpet & decor could be upgraded & the bed replaced as it had a dip in the middle but for the price it was what i was expecting.

    the staff were very polite & helpfull ,the room was nice & big the bed & bathroom were clean & lovely & warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Excellent facility nice and clean and positionaly very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were very clean and tidy and the hotel areas looked fine. Check in was pleasant and done in no time at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We normally always use the premier inn but we were very pleased with the Windsor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Location for where I was going.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of lighting in room. No lights near any of the mirrors for applying make up

    Location for where I was going. Friendly staff. Clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable for a couple of nights but bed would be uncomfortable for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel decor dated , radiators needed bleeding and bed was uncomfortable but room was ok for what price we paid

    Hotel fairly quiet, near shops, bus route, restaurants and near the sea and staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.8
    Absent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was supposed to be our wedding anniversary, we arrived at 14.00. Went out and had a nice meal at Sambucas. Plan was to take it easy then out for an evening meal and see a band as we live in the country and its quiet. Partner decided to get pissed on the afternoon while I stayed in hotel. When I went out to find them on the evening they were drunk and sitting with members of the opposite sex. I went home that evening and went back collected my drunk partner on the next morning. They were so drunk they had run up a hotel bar bill and stole a mans wallet and coat. I was able to sort things out with the hotel receptionist who was very helpful. I have now moved out. Oh, and by the way, Im the husband. Happy days.

    I went home.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    5.4
    Frustrating says it all.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second visit. I have to say my first room was much better but I had s problem with WiFi in both. My room was next to a flat roof, no view and near air conditioning so I had a continual hum all night. WiFi wouldn’t connect ( again) and the TV kept sticking, pixels distorted the picture and although the receptionist came upstairs to turn on the tv in I realised she was also unable to sort any technology issues. So although I got a good rate for the room I had a frustrating sleepless night. The morning staff were ok but didn’t say or do anything to make up for my bad experience.

    The bathroom was clean and shower very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    4.6
    Room was ok staff were excellent but food was a major disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong unpleasant smell in hallway on first floor believed to be cannabis. The breakfast was majorly overpriced for what was served all dairy yogurts out of date bread stale,cooked breakfast I would of been ashamed to serve especially at the price you charged

    The Only thing we liked was the staff they were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Simply fantastic :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was simply fantastic - smiling helpful staff - parking in a safe place - large superclean rooms with fair sized comfortable bed and lots of space - modern and beautiful bathroom :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Cheap and cheerful, take ear plugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that really put a dampener on our stay was our room facing the Night Club. We stayed Thursday and Friday Night and had the Boom Boom music from 2200-0200. 0200-0300 was the shouting of revellers in the street. So glad we missed Saturday?

    Hotel was overall fine. Did not use bar or dining facility.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect breakfast,quite and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    It was just what we wanted, no fuss and nothing to bother us. Room very clean bath room very clean. Staff very polite, breakfast was just fabulous

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    Staff were friendly & polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was uncomfortable, shower and toilet flush was broken, room was too hot and heating was not able to he turned down

    Staff were friendly & polite

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Clean . Lovely location . Very friendly staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just couple bits of carpet worn . Everything else was spot on .

    Wonderful hotel would definitely stay again . Spotlessly clean . Couple bits of carpet worn . But not dangerous. Very friendly helpful staff . We had a bar meal we both really enjoyed it . And good price .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Staff really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a real pity about the invasive proliferation of televisions. There's even **2** in the small breakfast room.

    Staff really friendly. Excellent with guide dog, Big room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Good but marred by incompetence on reception
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One very unprofessional lady on the reception needs to go on a customer service course. Unbelievably rude. We felt unwelcome and just another punter.

    Good position, spacious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Simple will go back as we have family close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest the furnishings were a little worn but you get this in any hotel but very clean, and the in house people were very good and friendly

    The toilet was spotless but could do with a little TLC the rooms are very sound proof poor wfi but who cares, we were on a break, the restaurant and bar staff were excellent especially the girl who was training ( I should have asked her name) sorry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    comfortable friendly clean hotel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    i was pleasantly surprised when I got to my room the pictures don't do the room justice it was very clean and well worth the money and the staff were all very helpful and the breakfast was lovely I would definitely recommend it ,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    Wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby. In need of upgrade - chip in bath, tatty carpet - and attention to cleanliness - not dusted in a while -and simple things like a lamp at each side of the bed would be nice. First room given the toilet wouldn't flush and second room was opposite a nightclub but nobody told us. Curtains could do with blackout lining. No toiletries in bathroom. General impressuon is the owners have given up. Shame coz it looks like it had been nice once upon a time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    2.9
    You don't have a wee graphic for shocking option. You might need it for this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The room was smelly, I could be wrong but we eventually opted for vomit as the stench from the carpet. The bed was very soft, in the same way as sleeping in a marshmallow would be soft. We asked for tap water in the bar and were told we could have ice but not water?

    What did I like? Not much. It was run down, tired and dull. The chef, who propped up the entrance foyer on arrival had a really heavy cold but fortunately ensured not to be blocked up by continually clearing his throat in a loud, repetitive manner. Needless to say we skipped eating in this dump.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little shabby in places (for the price we paid I’m more than happy with that though) but clean and warm. A nightclub opposite which can be a little noisy

    Perfectly placed for a very short walk into town and to the beach. Our room was a good size with both a bath and shower in the bathroom and a big window with a sea view. Staff very friendly and helpful Good parking at the Back of the hotel. Some excellent places to eat within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable value for money. Good sized, clean, room and dogs welcomed.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard. Even though warned, it was a shame that there was not much evidence of catering for restricted diets. When asked, there wasn't any problem with providing some gluten free toast, but the breakfast buffet was a bit limited. Not a major problem really but, something for the staff to consider - when we left there was no apparent concern to find out if we had enjoyed our stay, which does not encourage one to revisit!

    The room was a good size and there was plenty of room for our dogs' bed. Whilst the decorations are a bit tired, everything was clean. Friendly greeting when we arrived and our dogs were made to feel welcome too. Easy walk to the sea front, which is undergoing a major renovation project and will be interesting to visit again to see when it is finished.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Generally happy with our stay and later than the usual 10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door would be better if it opened the other way ( into the room)

    Generally happy with our stay and later than the usual 10.00 check out, ours was 11.00.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.4
    Whitley bay has had its day
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy, the walls are thin and the plumbing clanked

    The best bit is reception. It's a warren of at least 80 rooms on narrow corridors that have been adapted over time to cross from adjacent houses the room was enormous with a huge 80's bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Apart from the bed and night club our stay was very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been comfier it was too soft , and the night club across the road doesn't help with sleep at weekends

    The room was a good size , comfortable , clean and bathroom also a good size

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    Parking was enough and good whenI found it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    was asked if I had a car and only later I noticed there was parking at the back but was not told.were not told anything about meals ,the information in the room was dated 2014.Curtain rail fell when I tried to open Curtain in the morning.Was not friendly at all

    Parking was enough and good whenI found it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Value for money for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room meant single bed-not unreasonable but these days feels a bit dated.

    the room overlooked the street and consequently might have been noisy, but I closed the window & managed to get a good night's rest. Not the most memorable of hotels, but reasonable value for money and fine for one night. I didn't try the breakfast as Riley's Fish Shack -two miles away on the beach- was too tempting and offered a great breakfast for about £6.50!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Budget accommodation.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitted sheet would have looked better than valance sheet. Cups & Kettle dusty. Curtains didn't cover window at the side so privacy limited.

    Slept very well. Comfy bed. White sheets. Under bed immaculate. Bathroom spotless. Very large room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Apart from lack of wifi would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertised as free wifi but could not get wifi in my room at all, no signal. When I asked about it I was told they cannot guarantee in the rooms so its pot luck depending on which room you stay in

    Large spacious room, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfectly adequate. Great staff!!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking through Booking.com! I asked for a twin room for two people for one night but when I got to reception we had a booking for a double room for one person for two nights. Not very clever! Luckily there was a spare twin room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    A GREAT HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was two floors up, and at the end of the corridor with flights of steps, which made it a bit difficult with the suitcases.

    Such a large spacious room and bathroom with a bath. Also the breakfast was excellent, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The light that didn't work was fixed within a few minutes of us asking. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    DOG FRIENDLY HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slighty shabby in places

    I booked a double room for me, my daughter and our dog Trevor - we arrived late but the young girl on reception was very nice, friendly and helpful - the bar area is very spacious and the bar maid was very friendly - the bedroom was large and airy the decor was clean and light - the room was spotless the bed linen was clean but a small stain - the bed was comfy (dipped in the middle) - both the chair and vanity stool was stained with the vanity stool being too wet to sit on to do my make up - bathroom was very large with a bath, separate shower cubicle a vanity sink and toilet and fully tiled walls and was spotlessly clean - the hotel could do we a revamp as it was a little shabby in places but we will definitely visit again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    It is the first time I have been back to Whitley Bay since 1951! So many changes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shut down the disco/ nightclub across the street!!!

    The room was fairly large which meant we could move around easily. The bed was very firm, which I appreciated. Overall it was comfortable. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    The hotel filled a need but is in need of a re-vamp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room 38.The covering on the bedroom chair was filthy, the mattress was lumpy and really uncomfortable and there was a large soft spot on the floor by the side of the bed nearest the door and the bar is only open in the evening.

    The location was great, parking was good,the room was clean and the bathroom and shower were good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Positon of hotel was spot on for the beech.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nightclub was opposite and became very loud late night. Sound proofing the rooms at the front might help.

    Positon of hotel was spot on for the beech. Although hotel was old, the renovation that has been done is of a pretty good standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    Was ok not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud at night as of nightclub close in room to warm . iron also wasn't working. staff not pleasant on arrival not great customer service .

    Lovely location a close walk to seafront

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like how you advertised the hotel, you said breakfast was included when we got there it wasn't so we just paid bed at £150 for 2 nights,then we would have to pay £8.50 each for breakfast totaling £34.00 which we didn't bother as a matter of principle

    Not much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Staff where friendly, huge room n bathroom, allowed to take...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows was a little to hard for my liking. The hotel was very warm, it was a sunny weekend but the hotel was like a sauna hard to cool down.

    Staff where friendly, huge room n bathroom, allowed to take our dog too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbish under the bed. Room very hot. Needs fan. Bar ran out of Fosters and John Smiths. Bar maid kept disappearing for long periods. Expensive breakfast. Thank God for Weatherspoons.!

    Lift to all floors. Big room. Great shower. On site parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    The first room we were given was so hot I cold not breath...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel seemed a bit shabby & run down.

    The first room we were given was so hot I cold not breath & I am a cold person. The then changed us to a family room that was very large but the bed was just one that pulled down from a unit, there was also a put you up single bed & vey large cot. the double pulldown bed was not too bad but I wold not describe it as comfortable. The staff were mostly helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Tiring and a little stressful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to local bars and clubs made the hotel noisy and as we were travelling with small children this made getting them to sleep difficult. Family room on second floor accessible by lift which was great, but then i had to get the pushchair up and down small flights of stairs which was difficult. The bathroom door wouldn't close was too big for the frame. Couldn't get into the car park so had to leave our car on the street. The double bed in the room was some sort of torture device and I only managed an hour's sleep at a time and was up at 5. Overall not brilliant for families but not the hotels fault. Better for younger couples looking for a base for a night out.

    The receptionist was friendly and the room was clean, if a little basic. They'd set up the travel cot for my 12 month old and has set out blankets which was very thoughtful. Hotel easy to find, and 2 minutes walk from the sea front.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the price tag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms, one was fine the other not so! The second room was very dated and in some disrepair but the worse thing is, it was dirty and grimy. Breakfast was ok but they had ran out of bread!

    Good location, friendly staff and private car park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Not a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unfriendly when booking in the lady was lovely.The next day I said Good morning no-one even acknowledged me. The barman was a very friendly helpful lad.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    The Weekenders
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very hot and the beds were very uncomfortable. Thought it was a little expensive for what it was. Also found someone's house keys at the back of the bedside table....obviously not cleaned properly, nether was the bathroom!

    It is very close to town and beach. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: