Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Wiremill Sleep Boutique

Wiremill Lane, Felbridge, RH7 6HJ, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Felbridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 497 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    The lake is incredible as a view for breakfast, room pretty average, stagnant water smell, YUK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt really badly of stagnant water/sewage The hair-dryer provided, fused and smoked in the plug socket No wi-fi code provided on arrival and no-one was at the desk later when we got back to ask.

    Lovely location.... can't beat it really and the breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    The lake view saved the day, otherwise it would have been dreadful!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed in the Anitaja room was very uncomfortable with a saggy mattress. Something I have never seen before, which I actually think is a hazard: a square toilet bowl with a round toilet seat. Just try to picture that!!! In fairness it was a good laugh but rather uncomfortable. If you travel for business for more than one day and need to hang your cloths, you are stuck. There is a 20 cm hanging rail between the wall and a column and only one hanger in the room!!

    The location is brilliant, next to the lake with dinner and breakfast served overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    lovely location, but needs a experienced overhaul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smaller than expected, a bit musty smelling, and noisy (?water pump) running thoughout night meant keeping windows closed and disturbed night sleep. Broken blind looked bad. Glass door to bathroom meant at night either floodlighting room, or bumbling around in the dark. At booking- asked for an early breakfast, but this message did not get through.

    Staff were friendly and chatty. Lovely location over looking the lake. Very peaceful general ambience. Some nice touches with good quality complimentary tea/coffee/snacks/toiletries etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Great place but WIFI not up to standards
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Koper Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    My last stay there was hence why i re booked this time non and as i was on business i had reports and work to do which i couldn't.

    Stayed before and really like the hotel very good location and good food and drinks. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff are pleasent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice surroundings and nice staff, but not living up to reputation and not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    We visited Wiremill some years ago and were overwelmed with stay and service and the food. Maybe we had too high expectations. Room had become rather worn down. Bathroom was damp and cold even though the outside was warm. No ventilation made the bathroom totally foggy and the interior did not feel super clean anymore. In the room the wallpaper had started to be a bit torn and spotty and the bed a bit worn out. Generous with water and popcorn on the room. Had a ceasar salad in the evening that was no jump for joy. Felt that they had it ready made in the fridge. Nothing special. (A few years ago food was marvellous and made with love!) Staff had too much to do so the tables were not cleaned fast enough to make place for new guests. Last time we stayed the breakfast was one of the high scores (fresh fruit, youghurt, freshly baked bread, nice eggs, good coffee). This time, it was sad :( The restaurant where breakfast was served was the same as the evening pub and the cleaner had not yet cleand up food and drink from floor or tables. A few choices from menu to order, but all was toast, bacon, egg and with some additions. No fruit, no corn flakes, no possibility to order extra toast with jam or such. Coffee was machine made and fairly ok.

    The surroundings were as nice as before and it is really a fine place for a hotell, nest to a little lake with birds and evening sun. Seems to be a popular pub for locals. Prices in the restaurant was affordable. Very nice staff but they had a heavy workload in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly,we contacted the hotel to ask if we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spiders everywhere in our room! Didn’t notice at 1st due to being so tired. Loads were dotted hanging from webs! Bed sheet was dirty

    Staff were very friendly,we contacted the hotel to ask if we could check in early. Luckily we could, helped loads with the jet lag

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    2.9
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prata Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The approach, (condition of road). Parking, (had to use parking in local water sport/fishing area). The room (according to the sign in the bar all of the six boutique rooms )were on the lower ground floor/ basement, it felt like going down to a dungeon, small window, looking out onto a walkway, shower room was smelly, dank and mouldy not at all pleasant.) The breakfast was only what was on a printed menu which consisted of the usual full English, there was toast that we could have but only with honey, no cereals or fresh fruit. Very unsatisfactory. I'm not quite sure how they can claim to be of 'boutique' standard, not in my expectations. Would I return, definitely not.

    Can't think of anything. Oh yes I can the bed was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    A pleasant stay but a little over priced for the overall service .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mynt Style
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was missing a few things which would of been useful, like a wardrobe or dressing table. also noisy from above all day through the ceiling constant walking around. and had next to no real communication with staff upon arrival other than here's your room enjoy .

    Location lovely. Room not as great as expected but still nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    2.9
    An experience I would rather forget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Koper Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was incredibly bad! The property on arrival looked rundown and unloved! The room was dark, dingy , cold and very well worn. Brown paintwork which was chipped and peeling. The room smelt of damp. Ceiling and walls paint were peeling . Damp mould was all along one wall. The bed was worn and very uncomfortable. The shower had mould , loose tiles and the radiator was rusty! The toilet seat was a round seat on a square toilet. It was one of the worst rooms I have stayed in. In hindsite we should have immediately gone back to reception , complained , asked for a refund and gone elsewhere.

    The whole experience was horrible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely setting shame about the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very small and feel as though they are below ground. Having read other reviews I was suprised previously reported issues had not been addressed. The room felt very damp it was a very hot day but no windows had been opened to air the room prior to our arrival. Our nights sleep was not good the mattress had definately seen better days. The room felt like a neglected part of the Wire Mill which is a shame it could be so much better with very little effort.

    The location is lovely. It was a lovely day and the area around the Wire Mill is very pretty. The staff were lovely and very welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely tranquil setting, not so good for disabled guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Koper Style
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food cold. No where to hang anything in bathroom. No dressing table in bedroom

    Large. Comfortable bed, very clean room, view of lake setting lovely. Staff extremely,y helpful. Tea and coffee facilities in room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    The staff were extremely polite, attentive and helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mynt Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was damp and overall abit run down and not quite what you would expect for the price.

    The staff were extremely polite, attentive and helpful and the food was yummy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and good value, best bits were the view, the pims and the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dont order Sunday lunch around 6 pm - it was just warm and the roast potatoes were hard. However, the veg, beef and real yorkshire pud, even tho just warm, were good. Bit unnerving was being unable to lock the window - no window fixing I could see - I kept dreaming that someone could get in while we were sleeping despite a wooden screen on the outside.

    Bed was big and fairly comfy. Location lovely spot. Excellent breakfast and I recommend the Pims, it contains real fruit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had high expectations for the food after highly recommended on the website but unfortunately food did not meet expectation.

    The terrace on the lake was lovely. The bed very comfortable and stay was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Very cosy place to stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mynt Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The food was amazing, and the whole atmosphere was very nice! Also the beers were so good! :) The rooms were clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed this place :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Booked a night for my son and his partner for a double...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Koper Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a night for my son and his partner for a double birthday celebration. The change of menu has reduced this to a 1980’s pub meal experience. Slow service. Food.....ok. We won’t be back to eat. We will be back for a drink because the view across the lake is beautiful. I can’t comment on the room. Son & partner were very polite but having read previous reviews I wish I’d returned to CJ’s in East Grinstead again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Avoid!
    • Solo traveller
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in my room was worn out, with springs which could be felt at the surface. The beding was stained. The carpet was stained, the toilet was leaking and the bathroom extractor fan did not work. When I sat down for breakfast, which only opens at 8, the table was dirty with food from the night before, perhaps because the cleaners had only just started to work that room. I had advised in advance that I required gluten free food. This challenged the menu presented to me, they offered me oats, which are full of gluten! I asked for a derivative of the Full English leaving out the wheet based items such as sausages, 25 minutes later they gave me a single small mushroom, small tomato and two very small and equally hard pieces of bacon. It was a miserable experience. A good staple for people who cannot have gluten are good old fashioned cornflakes, but they do not have any cereals. So, all in all this was a poor experience for me.

    Location on a small lake

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Fab food and a super place to stay with an epic view of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mynt Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are under the kitchen so you can hear people walking over head but it was already 8am so not a huge deal. My steak was a little small but the quality was excellent.

    Excellent staff. Fab room. We had the Mynt room with the bath in the room which was amazing. Felt like a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Other than a few things great stay for one night well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Koper Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little on the small side. But ok for one nights stay. Room did slightly smell of old stagnant water until you get used to it. But it is an old mill and surrounded by water. Door in the corridor that leads to the rooms slams, this get a little annoying when your in your room. Although the roon was very clean one of the previous gests had squashed 30-40 mosquitoes around the room lights which could have been cleaned prior to our stay. Free WiFi that doesnt work in the bedrooms shame!

    We loved the large bed. Ensuit was great. Loved the setting of the old building. Staff friendly. We only had breakfast which was great and included in the price. All in all great value for the money we paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    It’s your basic b&b you get what you pay for but it was...
    • Family with young children
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit damp smelling and walls cracked here and there Just a bit out the way from reality. I think a vehicle is essential if you stay here and plan to go to East grinstead town.

    It’s your basic b&b you get what you pay for but it was ok. Tidy and cleanish and nice staff very comfortable bed and pillows , I would stay again if need be

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    A disappointingly small and tired room with no usable wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was tired and small. Wouldn't describe it as a Boutique Hotel (makes it sound much better than it is). Bed needs replacing. No usable wifi signal in the room so had to go into the pub. No desk to work at in the room, so not great for business use.

    Staff were helpful and the room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great country gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great stay - the bedrooms are really lovely with huge comfy beds! The breakfast is delish and the setting on the lake is fabulous, especially as the sun was shining the whole time we were there!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    great location and good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Koper Style
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was satisfactory or better

    The staff made every effort to help. They arranged early breakfast platter as I was leaving before breakfast was available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Lovely unique place to stay. Very relaxing. Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was a bit slow due to them being very busy. It didn't really matter, we weren't going anywhere and more staff would have meant the price would be higher. It was excellent value for money.

    Food was very good. Such lovely views over the lake watching the surfing and boats. Very relaxing. A nice walk as well. Excellent value for money. Staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Nice food in the pub but dont bother with the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prata Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom felt grotty and there was no shower gel. There needs to be another bedside lamp so that if you need to use the bathroom in the night you dont have to stumble around in the dark

    The bed was comfy and the towels were large and really soft but everything else was lacking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful lake, really lovely location and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two nights here, first night was perfect couldn’t fault it and the breakfast what really good, however the second night we found a trail of ants in our room, two spiders which we wasn’t really bothered about but then at 1am in the morning (there was no staff around) we came across a slug ..yes, a SLUG.. on the ceiling of our room .. like what??? This made us very uncomfortable and the breakfast the morning after was terrible ... I emailed them after our stay as when we woke the manager was not to be found anywhere, I’ve received no response from them what so ever

    Beautiful lake, really lovely location and nice bar/eating area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    The food was amazing and the staff were really acomadating. The view over the lake is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a damp smell once the bleach smell had worn off I had booked hoping for a bath like in the pictures. In the morning we had lots of ants 🐜 all over the bedside table

    The food was amazing, and the staff are really friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    The Wiremill is truly a hidden gem & we couldn't have stumbled across a better place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mynt Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was we would have liked to stay another night, unfortunately it was fully booked.

    The room was comfortable & clean. The surroundings were stunning & the weather was good so we were fortunate enough to be able to sit by the waterside with all the beautiful lighting & have drink in the evening. Staff couldn't have been more helpful (even booked us a taxi to the races ready for our arrival) & the food was incredible. We had our evening meal & breakfast & everything was delicious. Despite it being busy, we didn't wait long to get our meals. I'd go as far as to say it was the best breakfast I've ever had! Really couldn't recommend more highly. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    Not the best. Place urgently needs work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelt of drains and mould quite overpowering in the room. Room small and cramped.

    Nice venue. Lovely old building but in need of some basic maintenance. Excellent shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    No thanks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi abysmal, food terrible how can u mess up a Cheese Ploughman’s they did. Bedroom carpet dirty stained and got stuck in bathroom door every time you tried to open the door.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Interesting but not very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room onto car park noisy needs double glazing. Extractor fan sounds like an aircraft on till 12pm.

    Staff lovely building interesting and funky food great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Our second visit this year planning to return....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mynt Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building itself is in need of some tlc but an old watermill isn’t an easy project!

    The location makes you feel you’re on holiday! We had supper and breakfast and enjoyed a menu that was appetisingly different. The staff are enthusiastic and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight damp smell in room. Rooms are below the level of the lake but it didn't spoil our stay.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. View was brilliant. Bed was comfortable and huge. Only one bedside light but at least there was a light 😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Quirky value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an old mill which stands in damp ground and the rooms have a slight stagnant water smell to them which is hard to get rid of. The quirky building has beams and low ceilings around which makes it tricky for average fella need to duck a lot of the time. It is also in the flight path for Gatwick which makes it ideal for a stay over before travelling but not so perfect for a romantic getaway.

    There’s no doubt that this is a quirky place to stay. It’s a beautiful setting and the food, which is delicious, is as quirky as the building. The staff are friendly and the rooms are well appointed and represent great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Fine as somewhere just for a night.
    • Couple
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit tight on space especially bathroom. General smell of damp in the area around the bedrooms. Bathroom no extractor fan and shower floods floor.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Good nights sleep good restaurant not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of damp leading to bedrooms No information in rooms regarding menus in resturant and general info about area staying at

    Very good evening meal good choice on menu Value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our brief stay, will be staying again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Mynt Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave after only 1 night.

    Loved the feel of the place, completely understand what they are doing with the place. Had an evening meal which was lovely! Didn't dislike anything, however my wife would have liked a dressing table with a mirror so she could have dried her hair near a socket as mirror's a long way off.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    A lovely place to stay over for the night and would love to see it in summer
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast choice was limited if you want a quick getaway. Service did not start till 8

    The location is ideal for Gatwick airport, 20 minutes in the rush hour The bar was a very relaxing place for an evening drink

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    As a place to eat and drink = would come again. As a place to stay = probably not again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prata Style
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On first arrival not entirely clear where to check in. Room felt small with only two hooks for coats or clothes. Nice looking shower but the floor gets flooded and towel rail too close to the toilet. Dead flies on the ceiling and some mould on the grout = not a good look. No headboard which felt a bit odd. No bin in the bedroom for old tea bags etc. Posh tea bags but basic coffee and uht milk. No shampoo only shower gel provided. Breakfast was a little unclear what was included for hotel guests.

    Very friendly and attentive staff. Food delicious and a good range of drinks on offer. Very good breakfast. Pretty old mill with good views. Bed was comfy - popcorn and water a nice touch, large TV with a good range of channels. Would say good for a one night stay due to space in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay and will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Koper Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two single mattresses which made it huge but not so good if you want to stay cuddled in. Some of the garden furniture in the pub needs some tlc.

    Brilliant welcoming staff and clean comfortable room with lots of yummy food options. Walk in showers are lush but could do with toiletries also being supplied.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Very comfy, excellent staff, loved the popcorn, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Koper Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very clean but smelt of drains. Maybe fill in the large hole around drainage holes in the floor?

    Very comfy, excellent staff, loved the popcorn, breakfast great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely but brief overnight stay. Would like to come back for a weekend sometime in the spring/summe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a hotel for moving cases around due to the stairs but this is not a usual airport hotel.

    Lovely location, comfortable rooms with nice amenities. Extensive menu to choose from and food well presented. Close enough to Gatwick Airport for a relaxing night befoe flight stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Great for a short stay but could do with extra home comforts.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Koper Style
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I stayed for 5 nights and felt the rooms were not really geared up for that length of trip. There is no wardrobe, only a few hooks on the wall so not great for hanging shirts/dresses etc. there was also no daily maid service so tea/coffee did not get replenished, although a fresh bottle of water did appear on the third day. There were no hair dryers, apparently because previous guests had taken them. Last point to note is that the walls between the rooms are paper thin, so expect an audience if you sing in the shower.

    Beautiful location on the lake and a lovely homely pub with plenty of room and a varied menu. Rooms are quirky and bed was comfortable. Good for a 1 or 2 night stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Really helpful staff, great location, and delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing and the heating wouldn’t work Got woken up early on Sunday morning by the sound of glass bottles being recycled!

    Stylish bathroom and nice comfy extra large bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    Gorgeous old building and great location a hidden gem close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little dusty.

    Gorgeous old building and great location a hidden gem close to the airport. Food was excellent especially breakfast. All the staff bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. we will certainly return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    We will definately be returning. A great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for our sheets to be changed as there was a stain on them and unfortunately we had very noisy room neighbours through the night with shouting and door banging.

    The room had a great boutique feel and was well equipped (love the popcorn!) The bathroom was clean and great for the size. The staff helped quickly when needed and with a smile. The food and service was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, perfect get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prata Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so lovely- bed was really comfy and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. Staff were really friendly. It’s a great location, quite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Staff were well friendly and attentive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I haven’t got any !

    Staff were well friendly and attentive. Food was lush and would love to go back in the summer with my girl friend to have a wander round the lake and maybe enjoy one of the other boutique rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    Staff were friendly and the heating was broken so they...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't very comfy, two single mattresses pushed together to form a king sized but it was noticeable underneath. Breakfast started at 8 and I left at 6:30.

    Staff were friendly and the heating was broken so they provided me with a good heater.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely boutique hotel in a very nice setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't a hair drier provided, or I couldn't find it, luckily I had brought my own. However, twasn't a socket near a mirror, so it was tricky to use it. A sliding door on the bathroom would be an improvement as there isn't much room.

    Lovely boutique hotel in a very nice setting. Comfortable bed, nicely decorated room, great bathroom. Delicious complimentary artisan popcorn. Very nice staff, even though they were under pressure as there was a birthday party. We didn't eat there, but when we stay again, which we will, we will definitely have dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.3
    Lovely location, lovely helpful staff . Tired musty rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Mynt Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms seem very neglected . Beds are old and musty there is thick dust around the edges of the room , strong smell of damp in the room , no where to hang clothes . I got us moved to another room (we were in the room with the bath) the carpet was soaking wet from a faulty radiator and that was the source of the smell. We were given another room which was better but also quite dirty . The place needs love and care and a good clean and basic maintenance. We were given a discount for the inconvenience.

    Lovely location and nice restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Underwhelming but tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know why it’s described as boutique. We had a oblong toilet with an oven seat which didn’t fit. 3 coat hangers on a 8” rail to hang clothes. Small towel rail which doesn’t hold 2 bath & hand towels. No coat hooks, 2 same sized windows one with one curtain and other with 2. Cheapest bed going with a thick topper as it’s saving grace. We asked for a few extra t bags and milk twice and never arrived. Small niggles but collectively not a good example of boutique... having a different feature wallpaper in each room is not boutique.

    Beautiful positioning at the side of a lake.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful experienceBrian
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to fault our stay.

    The genuine friendliness of all the staff And the warm welcome we received was incredible. We had an amazing New Year's Eve.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice location for a night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mynt Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy in the morning as pub/restaurant is above. Could hear chairs & tables being moved about.

    Nice cosy room & romantic. Comfy bed with a free standing bath. Decor in line with the country pub feel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Really nice place to have an over nighter, with dinner, bed and breakfast all under one roof!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room lacked space to put anything away, there were hangers on the wall but nowhere to put a bag away. No hooks or ledges or anywhere to put anything in the bathroom, apart from the floor. We were there for one night so none of this was really a problem.

    The location, food and staff. Everything was really lovely!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    An untouched romantic perfect setting maintained to the highest cosy standards by lovely staff -
    • Couple
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slight drainage smell in bathroom

    The only gripe I have is that I had sent two emails to advise them that it was our anniversary and tried to call to see if I could either upgrade the room or buy a bottle of fizz to put in there something to make it a little special and received no response 😟

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bed, decent food, not really a boutique hotel in our opinion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not as large as pictured, no wardrobe not a lot of space to store clothes if staying longer than 2 nights. Sink not attached in the bathroom, also toilet seat did not fit the toilet.

    Bar was lovely and quaint

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Excellent location close to Lingfield racecourse, lovely rooms and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prata Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could benefit by adding extra storage for clothes

    very comfortable king size bed and walk in shower in the ensuite Food in the restaurant at the property was excellent would definitely recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Such a friendly and romantic place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in need of the refurbishment being completed before it was available to guests to be honest. It really needs a large mirror in the main room, the ceiling being seen to and a wc/shower door handle that doesn't fall off. But this didn't impact our stay to any great extent to be fair. The new shower room was lovely.

    Lovely place, beautiful location and very friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic facilities, lots of soft towels, hotel goodies and one of the most comfortable beds ever. Would definitely stay again at any time of the year.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    after a hectic day of meetings and a long drive this hotel was perfect to relax in a nice atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mynt Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing,10 out 10

    I liked everything about the hotel, the staff were very friendly the bar/restaurant had a lovely warm friendly atmosphere and the room was spotless and the bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    It wasn't what I expected for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prata Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding this place is ridiculously hard in the dark. THERE IS NO LIGHTING WHATSOEVER FROM THE MAIN ROAD, TO THE HOTEL, WHICH IS DOWN A LONG DARK ROAD THAT TWISTS & TURNS. It seems you are lost and there couldn't POSSIBLY be a hotel because you see nothing, and you drive in blind faith. Reflective markers put in the ground along the way would help SO MUCH. A few more signs to assure you, yes, this is right. The room is below par. Although it is kitted out all modern, there isn't anywhere to set your stuff!!! Please remedy! There is a pouf for 1 suitcase, nothing for the other, except the floor. There are teensy bedside tables, only 1 lamp for 1 reader on 1 side. :-( 2 hooks make do as a closet. Well, for coats, purse, and nice clothes you want to wear the next day....NOT ENOUGH! There were 4 towels rolled up on the bed, but no where to put them if you want to get in bed. Or use them. 1 heated towel rack in bathroom holds 1 MAYBE??? 2 towels... Please please please add a towel bar, more hooks in the bath! Another piece of furniture to put a suitcase or just anything on. How about a folding luggage rack to use if needed, but goes behind the door? Bed not so great. Yes, it was HUGE. Very excited. Then sat on it. Oh. :-(

    The breakfast menu from the bar is SUPERB. The multi-level old mill, previously a forge, on a beautiful pond/lake is a cool building. The restaurant & bar are very atmospheric. It is so easy to check in, deposit your luggage, then walk back to the gastro-pub for dinner. REAL candles in wine bottles at the table are very cool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Boutique, quirky and unique
    • Solo traveller
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had wow factor but for full price I wouldn't expect bath taps to wobble because of cracked floor tiles, would want a hairdryer too

    Staff very friendly, lovely eggs benedict for breakfast and breakfast finishes at 11am. Lakeside location beautiful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.7
    Too many stairs to be convenient with luggage, damp smelling room, they tried hard though
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room smelled damp, the whole place smelled damp as it's next to a lake and parts of the hotel are half below ground. There was no mirror in the room and no desk. Wifi also appeared nonexistent in the bedrooms, and people were working on laptops etc up in the bar. There was also a lot of noise overhead from bar? kitchen? -noise of large objects being rolled around, right up until half eleven pm. I also was not keen on the breakfast - I don't need a prosecco menu first thing, I just want to eat and go, maybe a simple fry-up. The location means you more or less have to eat in their pub at night, but again the menu was not for me - all burgers and steaks, only a few other options. Finally there were a LOT of stairs to get to reception, to get to my room, to get to the bar-restaurant. This place is NOT for you if you have any mobility issues. I'm afraid I did not enjoy my stay.

    The location was quite near where I needed to be. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Lovely location. Great staff. Loved it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Absolutely lovely place to stay. Evening meal excellent. Staff brilliant. Am in the area occasionally for business and would stay again only disadvantages are dogs cannot stay ( though they are welcome in the bar and restaurant) and breakfast started too late (0800) for me to be able to sample it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Very nice, even if the wake up call was way too early for Sunday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prata Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was extremely loud at 7:30am! Lots of banging and shouting and general noise that could be heard in our room below

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating ... food in the bar was excellent both for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    AMAZING FOR FOOD & DRINK. AWFUL FOR SLEEPING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very moldy. The ceiling in the bedroom was dripping on my head. Room very noisy.

    Bed was huge and very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Cozy stay, light evening meal, will return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mynt Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was awkward as I was tired and I didn’t know where to go so I was roaming around, in the end I had to go up to the bar

    Staff were really nice and accommodating

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    2.5
    Dark, damp and don't give a ........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mould and rotting bathroom floor that gave way breaking the tiles and nearly slicing my husband's foot open. We asked to speak to someone and was told the manager would be in at 11am and would ring us, they did not. I emailed the pictures I took to head office, to give them a chance to avoid this review, no response.

    The building was qurkie and the employees friendly, sadly I can't say the same about the management or head office.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and would recommend.
    • Couple
    • Prata Style
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choices were a bit strange would have preferred something a bit more traditional.

    lovely location, bed very large and comfy. staff very helpful and friendly. the free gifts were a lovely idea and much appreciated especially the popcorn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Surprisingly pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    We made the booking and it was only after that we read the opinions of the place and very nearly canceled. We are very glad we didn’t! Other people may have their opinions for disliking the Wire Mill but we thought it very satisfactory and enchanting. The view out onto the lake is great. It is on three levels and quaint and unique as obviously a converted mill would be. The staff members were very helpful and talented. The food was great. The rooms are small but acceptable and the bed was very comfortable. The wi-fi was a struggle in the room but ok elsewhere. A well kept secret hideaway and worth a return visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Most of the staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aluminaja Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not impressed with the restaurant or the breakfast.

    Most of the staff were very friendly. The room was quite comfortable. Unfortunately the weather was bad when we visited, but I think that the surroundings would be very pretty in the right conditions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    on booking out we mentioned our grievances which they said would be looked into
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bron Style
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room smelt of damp, the shower area needed renorvation we was not told the room service did not include bed making unless requested the room was deno poor b/fast choice i.e 1beverage+1main b/fast

    comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    Until they upgrade all the rooms I would avoid this place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tunsten Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should make it clearer on the booking that breakfast is only served FROM 8am, oh and the fact you can only check out AFTER 8am. I needed to leave for work by 7:30am and there was no information in the room stating the times or wifi code or anything. I went up to the bar to ask about breakfast and they said they couldn't offer it any earlier as no one would be working, but promised me a continental breakfast outside my room by the time I left. I went back to my room, then had a panic about the check-out time as they said no one would be there that early. Back up to the bar I went and they stated I couldn't check out in the morning, so would have to do it tonight. It's a shame the chap didn't mention that before, as I clearly stated I was leaving early. I paid the bill and then double-checked about breakfast and he assured me I would get some and to stop worrying. Well of course when I woke up the next day and opened my door, nothing. I was soooooo cross and disappointed. And of course there were no staff to ask about it. Ridiculous. On top of the breakfast issue and lack of room info, I didn't have the promised hairdryer either as stated online. I only realised this after showering and standing around with dripping wet hair. As there are no internal room phones, I had no choice but to let it dry naturally, as no way was I going back up to the bar in that state!! Eventually I got into bed, only to find myself rolling down one side. The king size bed turned out to be a couple pushed together, but the crazy thing is they were different brands and heights! It was sooo uncomfortable! On top of this, the toilet seat was broken and the carpet didn't look like it had been cleaned very well. I wrote a letter and left it on the bar asking to be contacted about all the trouble, and in fairness the manager called me back and handled my complaint really well.

    The staff were really friendly on arrival. The manager dealt with my complaint professionally.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.8
    For a nights stay it was fine but I didn't like the room we had,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prata Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom didn't have a window and smelt musky plus the fact it had been doused in bleach didn't make it a nice room to use.

    Staff friendly and accommodating. Bed comfortable and quality bed linen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money, food very nice & lovely location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Prata Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi did not work in the room had to go into the bar to use.

    The location of the hotel is beautiful & the hotel itself is a lovely old building, which has been modernized in the bedrooms but not lost its character. Staff very friendly & helpful. I would recommend eating here as the food is very good at a reasonable price. You would definitely expect to pay more for the quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: