Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Lothian hotel reviews
  4. Edinburgh hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Witchery by the Castle

Reviews of The Witchery by the Castle This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Castlehill, Royal Mile, Edinburgh, Old Town, Edinburgh, EH1 2NF, United Kingdom

#2 of 157 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 286 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    10
    Magical!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite - Vestry
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t really know. It really exceeded my expectations!!

    Amazing atmosphere. Attentive staff. Coffee and breakfast in the room was wonderful. Food at the restaurant was delicious! Wait staff again, amazing!!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    10
    Would 100% recommend, perfect for romantic vacays!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Heriot
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that got minus points was that every time someone walked at the stairwell it felt like they were right in our room or trying to get in. This was sort of expected though for the suites being in an old and creaky building. Sort of added a spooky touch to the stay.

    We stayed at the Heriot Suite for our 10th anniversary and it was magical! Nice views from the old windows, huge comfortable bed, right next to the Edinburgh Castle, mind blowing decor and atmosphere. For the first hour we were just like giggly children in a royal fairytale. I think it will be very hard to top this hotel experience! Breakfast was delivered outside our door in a hamper per our request to not be disturbed. Took advantage of the bathtub twice during our one night stay, no regrets :) After check out we were able to leave our luggage in the hotel for the rest of the afternoon without extra charge.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    9.6
    if you want to live like a prince, -ess of some centuries behind, then you should choose Witchery!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything excellent! The staff, the room was amazing - like living in the midieval!, & the breakfast was delicious! Eggs benedict, florentine & we had almost everything we've asked for. The position right some steps from the castle on the Royal Mile!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    10
    The food was sensational.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Library
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was perfect!

    The food was sensational. The location unbeatable. The little extra touches (cookies, champagne, luxury bath products, fresh milk for coffee) made the visit extra special. The staff especially the night porter were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The Witchery is a once in a lifetime must.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    10
    Highly recommend this hidden gem.
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Suite - Library
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There genuinely wasn’t anything to dislike. How do you learn from perfectionists.

    Highly recommend this hidden gem. Very good value for last minute bookings.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    3.8
    Overrated, pretentious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no warning about the insanely steep stone stairs that were absolutely treacherous. I have a knee issue and had I been warned, I would never have booked this hotel. Also, we left after one night, even though we were booked in for two because something in the room made me very ill. The manager did not refund the second night, even though we left at 9a, well before check out. At nearly 500.00 USD a night forn2 rooms, this is unacceptable

    Location is spectacular. This is definitely an experience type property. The rooms and decor are utterly unique , unlike anything you’ll find anywhere but the are not comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    10
    Absolutly Loved our room Very Decadent, As a tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Old Rectory
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutly Loved our room Very Decadent, As a tourist location was perfect rigjt on the Royal Mile, The resturant is amazing definatly a must for a meal, The first Bar when you leave going down the mile has live entertainment after 21:00 with amazing Soup and cheese platters

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    9.6
    Just book it. You wont regret it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Turret
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on the first day wasn't quite right - they forgot our bacon and the tattie scones werent cooked right - but they did say it was the chefs first day on breakfast.. Service at dinner was also a little poor.... but these are really minor gripes. We loved this place and would definitely come back.

    Loved the room - it was perfect for our honeymoon. Stayed in the Turret Suite. Champagne and cookies in the room each day. Parking at the sister hotel was also much easier than we expected - we got great service from Jacob at Prestonfield, and then the witchery ordered us a taxi back when we left. Dinner was also amazing - we just had the £40 set menu - but it was absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    9.2
    Absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect.

    Amazing rooms, amazing staff, amazing restaurant and breakfast. If there were rooms available on other nignts would love to stay longer but very very expensive.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    10
    I had a magical time at witchery, the food room and staff were wonderful you must go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Suite - Old Rectory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The morning delivery of food is on stairs to suites, it’s odd to walk through. Made carrying bags downstairs a challenge, it but mostly I felt bad for staff.

    The staff was wonderful and accommodating. The food was the best I had in Europe, my travels included Paris and London. The fish was feasher at Witchery. I really felt very well taken care of and can highlt recommend it. It’s worth every cent!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    9.2
    We want to visit the hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Inner Sanctum
    • Stayed 1 night

    very little to say

    All in all a great experience with fantastic comfort and fantastic decoration. Breakfast in the room was pleasant. We will like to come back!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    10
    We had the weekend of a lifetime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Inner Sanctum
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Witchery is absolutely packed with character, and in an incredible location (literally right beside Edinburgh Castle)! The suite was fantastic, the food gorgeous, and the staff were warm, welcoming - they couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    9.2
    Like being in a dream I didn't want to wake up from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Old Rectory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only a couple of minor issues. No Sky/netflix/satellite TV. (although to be fair I didn't want to spend my time watching TV anyway). The cd player wouldn't play most of my cd''s, we got it swapped for another one, but again it was very temperamental. I was disappointed that I couldn't play my favourite music. The price was astronomical!

    The room was amazing. Opulent, gothic, glamorous, luxurious - like something out of a fairytale or Hammer horror movie set. The bath was enormous and really deep - big enough for two. I especially liked the free champagne, the eggs florentine and Blair the waiter. I can understand why the Witchery is known for being in the top 10 most romantic hotels in the world. I was there for a total of 45 hours and left the room only once for a 3 hour outing. It lived up to my high expectations and made my 50th birthday a memorable experience.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    8.8
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would say that if you have mobility issues, to contact the Witchery so you can be allocated the right suite. There are spiral stone staircases, steps into bed and the baths are deep and hard to negotiate. The carpet runner in our suite was loose and we both tripped over it and some of the seating wasn't very comfortable which meant we couldn't fully use the suite.

    The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to help. The food was good and the gothic atmosphere both in the suite and the restaurants, great fun. A great place to celebrate. The Witchery is in a great location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    9.2
    A good one off experience next to the Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite - Inner Sanctum
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little tired in places, but some might say it added to its character.

    It is a magical one time experience. Champagne, bottled water, soft white linen and towels and lovely toiletries. The food was good and the service on reception was exceptional.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    7.9
    We stayed in the Heriot Suite full of gothic delights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite - Heriot
    • Stayed 3 nights

    'Fraid the wood panelling needed a dust and we were itching to use some wax on the furniture!

    We stayed in the Heriot Suite full of gothic delights. Staff were helpful - especially Blair who found a leather hole punch for us. Daily bottle of champagne, bottles of water, biscuits and a small bottle of milk each day all helped to make the stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay in an amazing building and beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Heriot
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike - everything was great.

    The Heriot Suite was fantastic - in particular, the amazing bathroom. Excellent facilities and service from all the staff. Very enjoyable breakfast in the candlelit restaurant. Perfect location close to the castle, along the Royal Mile in Old Town. Wonderful experience and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.8
    As We expected. A good weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Sempill
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bar would be very good for pre dinner drinks or to come back to after a day out. We ate at the Witchery with friends on the first night. It was straight into the meal. As we hadnt seen eachother for a long time, a chance to catch up first without having to go somewhere else would have been nice.

    Food very good. Staff very accommodating. Rooms had everything you could want.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    10
    After even a nights stay here you will bewitched into world...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Old Rectory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After even a nights stay here you will bewitched into world of drama, theatrical wonderfulness and opulence that will remain forever in your top list of experiences! Thanks here from both of us personally for the staffs’ attentive service and politeness shown to us at every point of our stay and exceptional food that remains on our waistline as memento of a fabulous weekend! Kind Regards to you everyone at The Witchery Brian and Sharon Hawks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    Wow wow wow amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Old Rectory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have nothing bad to say about The Witchery

    What an amazing place, we stayed in the old rectory which faces onto the royal mile, the suite was absolutely beautiful, all reds and golds, the bathroom was stunning with an amazing ceiling, when we walked in classical music was playing, there was a bottle of champagne on ice and home made cookies, bathrobes and slippers , we had a full Scottish breakfast in the candlelit dinning room the first morning then a continental hamper bought to our room the next morning, this hotel is quite pricey but I think it is worth every penny, we only came home today but we are already thinking about going back next year

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    Just WONDERFUL 💜💜💜💜💜💜💜
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn’t have made a better choice! Wanted to give my son and his girlfriend a night to remember before she goes back to China for a year. Thank you all so much for making it so wonderful for them 💜

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Delightful stay at The Witchery in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Turret
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurants (Witchery and Secret Garden) while lovely, were overpriced.

    The Witchery is a luxury spot. Everything was first class. We stayed in the Turret and it is a lovely suite. Remember, there is no elevator and there are a few stairs to climb. Being greeted by chilled champagne was marvelous. The picnic hamper breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The location could not have been better - what a treat to see the Oman Cavalry and the pipe bands go by the window - that was truly special. There were so many delightful spots within walking distance of the hotel: shops, restaurants, pubs, historical sites.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and a place for special occasions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Library
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was mixed with one being very friendly and chatty whereas others were quite disengaged and dismissive. Shower on tub is a bit tight(great for bath but not ideal for shower). Tub is starting to show signs of age.

    The room is an experience. Spacious and unique. Large living space with concealed kitchenette for those who want to stay in which is tough because it is in such a prime location, right next to the Castle. Doors and cupboards concealed to maintain the carefully crafted atmosphere. Walking into the room with music playing was a nice touch. Plenty of chairs and cushions if you like that. Comfy bed too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful once in a life time experience suite was outstanding staff was excellent would stop there
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Inner Sanctum
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Access into hotel while tattoo is on makes this very annoying whilst you could walk up a side street to hotel this isn’t permitted instead a long trek around battling through crowds and security I’m sure the witchery and the security should be able to come up with a temporary pass for residents

    The Witchery is more of an experience than a hotel we stopped in the inner sanctum suite it was outstanding but I wouldn’t recommend stopping there unless you are able bodied because of the turret style stone staircase and also if you are not a fan of the tattoo avoid during August can be very hard to get back to the hotel as all side streets are closed with no access available regardless wether you are stopping at the witchery or not ( something the witchery should look into / perhaps a pass for access) but to sit in our room with the windows open having a glass of champagne with the whole of the tattoo match past after the show made up the trek for us personally ( breathtaking) Restaurants again the rooms themselves beautiful but meals while good very pricey for a limited choice unless your a sea food fan.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    10
    A very romantic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Road up to the hotel was blocked due to the Edinburgh Tattoo so we had to drag our luggage up the hill. That said, it was worth the slight inconvenience!

    The opulence of the decor (antiques and atmosphericly themed rooms) makes this hotel incredibly special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    10
    Such a romantic get away and so aesthetically appealing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Library
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Such a romantic get away and so aesthetically appealing. The staff are amazing, nothing was too much effort. I had an incredible experience here would highly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    10
    Witchery Experience.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Heriot
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent one night stay in the Heriot room. Fantastic staff throughout. Breakfast was superb. Well worth a stay for a special treat.

    Everything was superb. Nice bottle of champagne upon arrival. Staff were fantastic. Especially the nice chap that served breakfast. Brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.6
    I have traveled a lot on business and leisure and this was the nicest place I've stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Turret
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    We loved just about everything. The decor, cleanliness, comfort and amenities were fantastic. Champagne and water delivered every day was a treat. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful room and service, spoilt a little by the building work out side and windows boarded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Guardroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Windows were covered over with Perspex stopping a view from the window. Workman on a roof directly out side our window were extremely noisy shouting at 8.30 in the morning. This reduces the over all experience

    Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.2
    As Above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Turret
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty much all good - although being on the hill - to walk there will keep you fit !!

    The standard was, as to be expected. The sheer luxury was plain to see and fantastic to experience. A cost well worth spending for a very special occasion (partner's birthday). Not an every day experience for us but one definitely to be savoured !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    10
    Loved the total luxury and decadence of our suite - Heriot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Heriot
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t fault a thing.

    Loved the total luxury and decadence of our suite - Heriot. Staff engaging and proud to show their rooms. Piped music to set the mood and the breakfast hamper was totally amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay in an amazing romantic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Guardroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The attention to detail by the staff was excellent nothing was too much. The food in the Secret Garden on Friday evening was amazing. The breakfast in the Witchery restaurant was fantastic too as was the hamper breakfast we had in our room Sunday morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely, relaxing and a bit quirky!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Heriot
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a bit small and slightly too hard for my taste. It took a long time to run hot water in the bath approximately 10 minutes. I assume this is due to the nature of the building, we weren’t in a hurry so once we realised it wasn’t a problem. But it would have been an issue if I were rushing to meet a deadline.

    Wonderful atmospheric rooms, the lovely dining room equally atmospheric, the bath and the Penhaligan toiletries, the nespresso coffee machine (have one at home and it spoils me for most other coffee!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    10
    Sumptuous suites in the heart of Edinburgh, ideal for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Sempill
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A sumptuous and luxurious set of rooms that are associated with the Witchery restaurant. Room replenished with champagne each day and as you would expect from such a fine eatery, a wonderful breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    SPOOKTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite - Sempill
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't that much not to like, maybe a spruce of the decor here n there maybe.

    Not expecting the suite we got! Really fancy and decorated superbly in a heavy gothic style, was creepy at night but that added to the fun of it! Will be booking again soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.3
    We loved the apartment but were very dissappointed by the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Guardroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was extremely disappointed in the food. Evening meal, the lamb wellington was far too rare and the breakfast was overcooked to the point of being almost inedible!

    Liked the room and it's facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    10
    Mmmmm what to say, magical, magnificent, mysterious but overall memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Problem with the TV, remote need a new battery but was replaced. Couldn’t close the tv cabinet when leaving

    It was a fabulous experience from start to finish. Smashing breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    9.6
    luxury experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Vestry
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The luxury and style.

    Lovely friendly staff, exceptional accommodation. A wonderful experience of luxury and style. That the more refined travellers would appreciate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    The attention to detail was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Guardroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attention to detail was amazing! Champagne and water in an ice bucket in the room was a very nice touch! Breakfast served in the room was also an added bonus. Staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    9.2
    A superb experience very atmospheric with top class staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Vestry
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The condition of the kitchen area ,kick board fell on my foot ! Also full fat milk left for tea a choice would have been better.

    The restaurant food and service were excellent. We had breakfast in our room which was really lovely. The extra touches like Witchery chocolate and chilled water and homemade cookies were a lovely treat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    10
    Out of this world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Suite - Sempill
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Access for people who have even mild inability walking would be very difficult

    The whole experience was incredible. Food acomodation and staff all exceeded my expectations

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.6
    A luxurious City retreat, with a magical spell binding theme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Library
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was not much we didnt like dont have any negitive feed back.

    The whole experince was magical was like travling back in time.. 1st class experince, memories that will last forever. Best wishes stuart.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    10
    The most memorable and magical place I have ever had stayed, I feel very lucky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Library
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, the staff were so attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

    The suites are unique and completely breathtaking...the photos do not do them justice. The welcome was very friendly, lots of lovely extra touches in the suites which made us feel very special. We ate in the Secret Garden on our first night, the food was outstanding and the atmosphere took our breath away. Candlelit breakfast in the Witchery Restaurant was lovely. I am vegan and the staff and chef really went out of their way to make my eating experience fabulous. This is a truly amazing place and so well placed to soak up lots of local history without travelling very far. Thank you to The Witchery at the Castle for a truly memorable weekend. Even when our flight was cancelled the staff cleared a table for us in the restaurant so we could organise an alternative flight. They provided us with tea and biscuits which they wouldn’t accept payment for. So kind and made us very like old friends. Thank you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.6
    Magic by the castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite - Vestry
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was across the road from the main reception and dining area so in Scotland jackets on to go eat

    The property was steeped in history, unique, quirky, loved every detail

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ultimate get away in the centre of the city, great location and amazing rooms, not sure they have changed at all since the last time we visited 15 years ago but still excellent. Love the champagne on arrival and the room was very warm. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.8
    Short and sweet but great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Sempill
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    kitchen not very clean and several staff smelled badly of body odour serving meal at night

    Quirky Rooms straight out of a Harry Potter set, Breakfast and guy serving was awesome Meal at night was superb one of the best.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    7.5
    Really special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we couldn't put the fires on (although the room was warm) it would have been nice to have the effect of a fire. Despite many chairs there wasn't really a chair to sit in & chat.

    We were away for a romantic break, our suite was gorgeous, very luxurious and somehow special. The breakfast was delicious and an experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    6.7
    Interior and decoration is magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Inner Sanctum
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking service. Personnel very junior. Haven't seen a supervisor - nether in restaurant. Reception clumsy. Breakfast below standard. Reservations in restaurant was a drama even when making bookings in advance

    Interior

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    9.6
    A true historic escape fit for royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel isn't licensed to provide hot food room service unfortunately. That's literally my only wish for the place. Also, the rooms are quite dim and there's no way to add much brightness so if you're looking to take photos, you should bring a wide-angle lens. The floors are not sound proof so if the people above are stompers or loud talkers they WILL wake you up.

    The room is a complete treasure. It's a proper apartment suite with kitchenette, large bathroom, sitting room, massive bedroom, and foyer. The manners of the staff are superb and while they don't do room service for hot food, it's still well worth the price to stay. They even put on classical music every day in the room after they've been to clean it, as well as offering a full turndown service. The location is unmatched being only a few buildings away from the castle. The room we stayed in was on the second floor so the views weren't that impressive but I would imagine the top floor would be wonderful. There are antiques throughout, provided by a local shop, which really added to the ambience. The products available in the rooms are plentiful and varied, and the staff put in a fresh bucket of ice with complimentary champagne, still and sparkling water, and homemade cookies EVERY DAY. I've never been so impressed with service. The bed is comfortable (albeit a bit firm) and the complimentary breakfast was lovely and served in our sitting room each day. Be sure to book a dinner reservation in the Secret Garden room in the restaurant section of The Witchery when you stay! The food was sublime!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite - Sempill
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything good

    Accommodation sumptuous, staff attentive. Breakfast in room scrumptious. Evening meal portions comfortable and not breaking the bank.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.6
    Staying at the Witchery was magical!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Armory Suite we had was big and luxurious. The bed was a super comfortable four poster bed and it was easy to feel cozy in the slippers and bathrobes, drinking champagne and eating homemade cookies. The staff is friendly and the full Scottish breakfast far more than you can eat, including also cereal, croissants, fresh orange juice, bread, toast, jam, honey etc. The suite is equipped with everything you could possibly need, like a TV and DVD player with various DVDs, a coffee machine and fridge, a blow dryer and even a hair straightener. The location close to the castle is perfect as you're right on the Royal mile in the middle of the beautiful old town. There's even a night guard who will come and get your bedroom ready for you, uncover the bed etc. This place is magical and well worth a visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    Don’t miss out on great memories and a place to remember for a life time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Sempill
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the food was fresh made to order from the breakfast to the meals with in the witchery hotel restaurant. Nothing was of any issue when asking for little extras. Which to be honest I thought we would have been charged for. But we were not charged only for our meal at night. The rooms are more than decadent. They standout from anything else i have seen. There are a few up to date plugs to charge items. But are you really there to work, use mobile phone or lap tops or even spend time on electronics. You pick this hotel for time to slow down around you allow you to savour the moments with family or friends. To take in the amazing rooms and the views that go with them. To lie in and soak in hand made extra large baths and double showers. We had no need to leave our room. Anything and everything we needed was there and what we didn’t have the staff went out of their way to get it for us. We only stayed two nights the turret which is to die for then the following night we stayed in the sempil. Both had their own statement of charm and elegance. Can’t wait for next year to stay in the rest of the rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    8.8
    Romantic but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Turret
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We weren't told that breakfast was included so only had a continental breakfast our first morning. We had dinner one evening and were disappointed with the taste and quality of the meal, which was the most expensive of our entire trip. Steak was tasteless and tough and veggies were undercooked and seriously under seasoned. They included an unusual mushroom, a slightly seared onion wedge and whole garlic cloves. For 40 pounds I expected an amazing meal. We had better in pubs for half the price.

    The room was amazing, pillows and bed thw most comfortable the whole trip. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    10
    Incredible, atmospheric, luxury and brilliant service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Heriot
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small points: no shower (despite incredible roll top bath), bit cold and despite it being clearly identified when you book there is NO parking anywhere near. Nearest is at the bottom of a massive hill and its expensive.

    The character of the accommodation was amazing staying in the Heriot Suite with amazing period features. Breakfast was amazing delivered to you room. Location was excellent, very near town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    7.1
    Lovely place but need to up theur game to reflect orices
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite - Library
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was very very underwhelmed with the meal in the restaurant . Breakfast was poor. It’s was overpriced fir food which did not meet my expectations !

    It was a beautiful place.,staff were very attentive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    10
    Royal treatment on The Royal Mile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Old Rectory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Witchery is a must stay while in Edinburgh. Located at the top of the Royal Mile it is a perfect location to see the sites. We booked for one night on our way to London. Firstly, once we got to our room, we didn't want to leave. The Rectory was beautiful, warm and welcoming. The bathtub and champagne were beconing but dinner reservations downstairs in The Secret Garden were waiting. Fabulous! Very good food and so romantic. Back up in our room we enjoyed the chilled champagne and huge bathtub. The bed was so comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was in The Witchery restaurant. Another stunning room and the food was, again, very good. Sadly, we only stayed one night but with a promise to return for a longer stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    Simply delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Sempill
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was wonderful.

    WE LOVED IT! We stayed in The Semphill - no view - but why would you want one when you have the sumptuous interiors? So gorgeous. We loved Edinburgh and we will definitely stay again at The Witchery. (We are keen to try out the other rooms as they have their own themes.) Staying here is a real treat. Would be appropriate for a romantic getaway or for a honeymoon. Very private. We have travelled a lot in Europe and my husband and I agree: the best hotel we have ever stayed at. The service was excellent, superb. We arrived early from an early morning flight and the head waiter at the Witchery restaurant helped us out. We had a lovely breakfast and he looked after our bags until they could be transferred to our room as reception staff were yet to arrive. He really went out of his way to help us and to take care of us. It was appreciated. Probably the best hospitality we have received on all our travels. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    10
    The Witchery and Edinburgh bewitched us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Heriot
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, everything exceeded our expectations.

    The room was enchanting, the service was perfect as is the location. We thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon at the Witchery and we will back to stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing suite, will definitely stay again if we can afford! Don't bother with restaurant for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Guardroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a table for dinner and had high expectations. Unfortunately dinner was not worth the high price tag at all. Main and dessert were great but the scallops I had for starter were some of the most tasteless I've ever had. The service also left a lot to be desired- having to wait quite a while to order and then even longer when we wanted to leave.

    Absolutely amazing suite-beautifully decorated with everything you could want or need. Champagne, cookies and chocolate on arrival were the perfect welcome. Breakfast the next morning was great- we opted for the cooked breakfast in the exquisitely panelled dining room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    Intimate, luxurious, and indulgent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Library
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was superb. The room (the Library) was astomspheric and well appointed, with a view of the Royal Mile. Champagne each night and the basket breakfast each morning made our stay romantic and dinner in both the Secret Garden and Original Dining Room are not to be missed. Service is top notch and we felt like royalty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Totally unique and memorable,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Sempill
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The suite was quite fantastic; difficult to describe; it was so atmospheric, beautifully furnished and decorated. Very romantic! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was excellent. Going back soon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.3
    Location, ambience, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bar which would have been good before dinner or later in evening; some of the facilities in room weren't great-eg Shower, hairdryer, TV .... given the cost, although appreciate its a very old building so challenging I guess

    Location, ambience, food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    9.2
    Close to the castle, with lots of history. Very good, but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Inner Sanctum
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the hot water completely died during the middle of my shower. The property is very old and some fittings are in need of repair. Some modern bright lighting would have been beneficial

    We stayed in old suite with lots of historical memorabilia. Food and service was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    2.5
    Extremely Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite - Heriot
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had waited for years to come here. It was such a disappointment. I called prior to arriving to be told the car parking available was a 5 minute walk but 11 minutes of stairs with luggage later I made my way into reception flustered and slightly annoyed. On arrival staff were rude and dismissive. As a young woman I did not feel welcomed. I felt judged by staff that I could afford it or that I was entitled to be there. There was no magic in the room due to the unenthusiastic tour and lack of general effort. We hoped this would change at dinner. There was no small talk from staff and no explanation of the menu. When our fillet steak arrived one was not cooked how we asked. We didn't send it back as we were just wanting a swift exit. We only drank liquid at breakfast as the cooked option in the restaurant was so unappetising and underwhelming. On leaving I expressed that I was unhappy. I was asked if anything could be changed but by this time it was too little to late and I just wanted home. I emailed to complain with some correspondence back and forth with the end result stating I would be sent a voucher. A week later I recieved a voucher for £100, which is less than 20% of the value of my stay and dinner combined. Overall this was very disappointing considering how long I had anticipated this stay after booking 6months prior.The guest book and online reviews were filled with compliments so I hope I am the only one who has had to endure this poor treatment. I would never return. I expected so much more for the price I paid. It has put me off returning to Edinburgh as a whole. This should have been a magical trip but it was a complete let down.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    Magic at The Witchery!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Library
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Witchery is an experience unlike any other hotel/accommodation that I have stayed in previously. The library, the room that we had was like staying at hogwarts! You can sometimes be misled with themed hotels but The Witchery is a class above with its decorations, its first class amenities and it's amazing location. The restaurant which we booked upon arrival was also beautifully decorated. The food was fresh and the wine was strong! The staff at the hotel were polite, helpful and friendly and the breakfast the following morning was plentiful and catered to everyones tastes. I would stay here again, it was an absolute delight.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    10
    the BEST hotel we ever stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the water on the shower is a bit small which is understandable as it is the old building

    the best hotel we ever stayed. it is really nice experience staying in the hundred years castle. the staff there is providing the best service in the world. the location is right in the centre of city ... super convenient

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    9.6
    Charming hotel top. Itch service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Sempill
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tough finding a plug which could accommodate chargers.

    li we had a lovely room with lots of space and very beautifully decorated the staff was exceptional and the dinner on our arrival was fabulous

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    10
    Can’t think of a better place to spend our Anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Inner Sanctum
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely place, beautiful room, very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Heriot
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet seat

    Delicious room service breakfast

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    10
    An amazing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Vestry
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was top notch. Room was amazing. Food in the secret garden was deliscious and the full Scottish breakfast was oustanding.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    9.6
    Other-wordly beautiful hotel with luxurious restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Library
    • Stayed 1 night

    Romantic vibes, central location, steeped in history, fabulous restaurant... everything!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    7.9
    Lovely place for our Ruby wedding celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Vestry
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some fittings need attention

    High level of excellent service

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    10
    New favorite hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Heriot
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service was perfect. The room was amazing and the bath was like no other. Will be back for sure!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    9.0
    Bed was a little hard but got comfortable later
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite - Armory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet after flush ran nonstop had the adjust several times

    Bed was a little hard but got comfortable later

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast, good service and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast, good service and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Witchery by the Castle Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: