Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Wordsworth Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Grasmere, Grasmere, LA22 9SW, United Kingdom

#16 of 22 hotels in Grasmere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 916 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was a little difficult for me to move around on crutches , it was a little small and tightly packed in with beautiful furniture.

    when I stayed at the wordsworth hotel and spa , I was unfortunately on crutches after and accident the previous week , the staff were nothing but helpful , opening doors , sitting me closer to the buffet at breakfast and generally assisting anyway they could to make things easier for me. The lady in the spa was also very accommodating! ... what a wonderful wonderful stay !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room (room 9) was extremely hot which made sleep difficult. The room had 3 fans and an aircon unit but was still impossible to keep cool. The bathroom was even hotter with no ventilation. We reported this to reception on our second day and they said they would look for an alternative room even though the hotel was busy. They said they would contact us in our room or by mobile but we didn't receive any further communication during our 4 day stay.

    A beautiful setting in a wonderful village. Mainly very good but our room was too hot and a staff member did not follow up on their promise to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely warm weekend so had to have the window open, shame about the kitchen extraction right below the window, didn't spoil the stay though.

    Great staff, great service and fabulous food - thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous place very clean and well furnished food amazing and the staff were wonderful they go the extra mile to make sure everything is ok such a lovely stay here and will be back soon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was extremely small, although beautiful decorated it was very difficult to get around the bed or even into the shower! I honestly never slept at all as our room was so hot, we had to leave a fan on all night and it was still unbareable! At checkout I told reception about this and they were extremely unhelpful, the breakfast was ok except the staff got nearly everyone in the rooms orders incorrect! I would not stay again unfortunately

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was brilliant

    Whilst we booked a 'Superior Room', we were given a complimentary upgrade to a luxury suite for our 3 night stay. Lovely rooms and bathroom; very comfortable hotel all round with nice atmosphere, friendly but professional staff all levels; breakfast and dinners in the restaurant and bistro all excellent; lovely relaxing swimming pool and gardens. A wonderful relaxing place to stay after our daily walks over surrounding fells. Will certainly be back and recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 15. This was a very noisy room. You can hear the creaking floor board all night, sound of wardrobes closing keeps you awake and very close to staircase where the door bangs shut everyone someone walks past. Staff hover the area outside the room door approx 2pm every day. This woke us up when we tried to have an afternoon siesta after the sleepless nights. This is the first time I have ever had to complain about accommodation.

    Lovely hotel and grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We are regular visitors. A comfortable hotel, unusual for the Lake District because it has a spa and pool-always welcome when the weather is inclement or after a long walk. Comfortable restaurant, great service, food is well presented, wine list is quite large, rooms are clean with coffee-making facilities. Beautiful grounds with tables and seating. Calm lounges for pre-dinner drinks. Some of the basic rooms have no views of mountains-don't criticize the hotel (as some have done) if you don't get a view from the courtyard rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Met expectations, and no disappointments

    Great hotel in a great location. Staff were friendly on welcome, room was basic but comfortable, lovely quiet garden, and great food in the 'signature' restaurant. Both Veggie and Gluten Free catered for with no fuss. Hotel is convenient for Stone Arthur walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the decor in the room was not to our taste too dark and you could not see out of the window however it was comfortable

    The location was stunning, the cream tea was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staffs rudness & ignorance (staff names Marin i think - female) with a sharp tongue. Other than this one ignorant individual - the rest of th staff were amazing. She should thank them for no formal complaint. Blonde recpetionist (sorry i forgot your name) she was absolute lovely and idol for customer service etiquette.

    Everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of breakfast at £17.50. We avoided and went to one of the many cafes in Grasmere. WiFi is unreliable, which is so unnecessary these days.

    The grounds. Size of the ground floor accessible room and ease of access to car park (we were cycling the Fred)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Majority of the staff, whilst polite were very unhelpful. Yes we were a fairly large group (12) dining together however were split up on separate tables as apparently couldn't possible serve us on one table. A couple of members 5 mins late so sent out of the restaurant as had to order in the bar and as three wanted something different off the same menu were moved to a different sitting 30 mins later. The restaurant staff were clearly unhappy with us and in my opinion very unprofessional, tutting, ignoring thank you, the list goes on making quite an unpleasant eating experience. We were not rowdy or loud. There was only three other tables of two's so clearly not rushed off their feet. Very disappointed, whilst lovely food was very expensive. This hotel really needs to embrace the outdoors and the events the local community are putting on. They could learn a lot form other parts of the country and Europe. Do not recommend and will not visit again.

    Location was great for a sporting event. Room clean, well presented, Food good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We always enjoy our stay here.

    Location and newly refurbished rooms, very fresh looking. Staff friendly and very helpful. Always enjoy our time in the Spa area, very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms overwarm but to be expected as old property with thick walls! Appreciated opening windows and desk fan!

    Staff service and very pleasant bar and lounges with very scenic location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked two nights and then decided to book an extra 3 nights. The hotel was good enough to keep us in the same room but then charged us for the 3 nights which we had already paid for and not the two cheaper nights which we had not pay for. I was not very impressed.

    Breakfast had a very good choice and very tasty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing i didnt like at all.

    One of the nicest hotels i have stayed really nice little village and hotel spot on great bar inside and food was excellent, the staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 18 should not be allocated - noisy refrigeration directly under it and the heat from the kitchen was too much for my husband, who normally sleeps very well. Had to be moved, luckily to a very nice room on the second floor (room 36). As my husband is the only driver, it's vital that he gets a good sleep and rest, especially as we had my 100 year old mother with us. We had continental breakfast each morning and there was considerable confusion. We asked the waiters each morning what we were allowed to eat to which they just grunted. The result of which we ate from the very limited cold buffet and just ordered tea and toast. At £12.50 extra each I thought this was a ridiculous waste of money. Better organisation is obviously needed at breakfast. We can't comment on the dinners, as we went next door to the Bistro. If it hadn't been for these issues, I would have given them higher marks. Unfortunately, we didn't think it value for the money we spent. Not being swimmers, we can't comment on the spa facilities.

    The choice of beautiful lounges and well kept gardens. Location was excellent with lots of nice walks nearby. Village lovely and peaceful in the evenings. Good fresh air. We had a la carte meals two nights running at the hotel's Dove Bistro which were nice and imaginative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our grown up daughter stayed in Room number 9 - please check when you book that you don't get this room. It must be near the hotel boiler as it is far too hot to sleep in. The hotel has installed a ceiling fan, added a portable Dyson fan and provided an air-conditioning unit! Without the air-con it is too hot to sleep. However, trying to sleep with the air-con unit on is not an option either. My daughter was woken up every time the unit kicked back on. There is also a steel platform outside the window and so it isn't safe to leave the window open. Altogether uninhabitable! I took this up with the hotel - they were not interested. Please avoid this room. Also check whether dinner is included in the price you pay. Our price apparently included dinner for 1 of the 3 nights we stayed but we were not told this in the booking confirmation and the hotel staff didn't point it out to us either - so we paid but didn't get a dinner. Again the hotel were not interested.

    We were a party of 3 and bedroom 15 at the front of the hotel was newly decorated and had a lovely view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I was picky the rooms are slightly dated now compared to some other local hotels.

    On arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was a lovely touch as we were celebrating our 40 years wedding anniversary. Staff, food, facilities and location all excellent. Spacious room with big comfy bed and additional sitting room. Stunning views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the restaurant. Chaotic! Both mornings I was there. Seems to be lots of staff but no particular system. Trying to get a pot of tea took 15 minutes both days and had to get cross with the third waiter I asked, before finally being served with it. Room was beautiful (26) but be aware that the bath is extremely high. I am 4’10” and really struggled to get in & out of it.

    Beautifully maintained. Looked like it had been refurbished quite recently. Amazing location in the heart of the Lake District.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room (courtyard) was horrible but the staff changed us immediately to a better room on the second floor but it was still quite small. I presume this was because we were there with quite a good deal

    Nearly everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    service at breakfast quite poor. Rooms were very warm to level of being uncomfortable (and we come from sub tropics!) and no way to cool off to allow good sleeping conditions.

    The location and general ambience was good. Beds comfortable. Dinner service good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Requires sound insulation - I didn't choose this hotel to listen to neighbouring guests' conversations. Some excellent people, especially Bar and Breakfast. Pack your own hair-dryer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! They said it was excellent.

    I treated my daughter and her boyfriend to an overnight stay for her birthday. A big thank you to all the staff who made them feel special - the birthday card and wine was a nice touch 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dove bistro evening meal was fairly average. Staff were very friendly but the food was over-rated.

    Everything was excellent, breakfast was especially good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to send the breakfast back as it was cold and still cold when replaced. The changing rooms in the spa were dirty.

    Our first stay at the Wordsworth. We regularly visit Grasmere and the location of the hotel is just fabulous. Set in beautiful gardens. Staff were fantastic and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit dated, rooms are a bit worn out. They are clean, but our room had stains on wall and carpet was not really clean. It is very warm in the hotel but that is maybe due to the type of guests which are staying here (over 55+). Walls between rooms are also not very thick so you do hear things.

    Staff were great! Very friendly and service minded. Location is perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A supplement paid for scallops as a starter produced a miniscule offering. Having been told coffee was included in the dinner price we were later billed for the petit fours which accompanied it. Unfair.

    Excellent lounges/warm and welcoming reception area/courteous and friendly staff/no problems with parking/very central location/very good meals at breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go home.

    Fantastic hotel, very friendly helpful and professional staff. Excellent food in lovely surroundings. Would recommend it and certainly stay again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities and comfort of the hotel where exceptional.The treatments available at the spa where excellent and obviously the location in Grasmere was beautiful with plenty to see and do .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel looking a bit tired,there was a gap at the base of the window in room 42

    Breakfasts were good,bar staff very helpful checking in was easy shown to our room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodated the extras that I requested very well. I thought that the breakfast took a long time to arrive, but when it did arrive it was excellent. The location is fantastic for walks and views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very impressed with quality of the food and service. We had a lovely 4 course dinner and staff could not have been more welcoming. Swimming pool and jacuzzi were great for relaxing in with nice views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot

    Comfortable rooms, traditional rather than contemporary but very very hot and unfortunately I was unable to open the window. Personally I found the hotel lounges and reception areas to be far too hot. The best thing about the hotel is the wonderful staff, throughout and they made our stay most enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and rooms in particular were very hot. The bedroom blind was a bit worn, which was a pity.

    The staff were all amazing, happy, friendly, welcoming. The beds were comfortable. Spacious bathroom. Location is perfect. Really good parking which is essential in the Lake District.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We we're here for two days, nothing to complain about during our stay.

    Free up grade on arrival, beautiful room, very clean & well presented,tea/coffee,large TV, iron, hairdryer,robe & slippers, great pool, jacuzzi and steam room, fantastic breakfast, first rate service from very attentive and professional staff..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was closed after midnight when we go to have few more shots, there was no one on the reception desk after the mid night. There is nothing to do after midnight at the village which Is a bit common thing in the small villages in the UK.

    This hotel has exceeded my expectations, the stuff were friendly and helpful they have been upgraded our room for free at the time of arrival, the location is nice it is small village with many hotels and clothing stores around but there is no grocery stores around if you fancy a snack which is not is the hotel menu. My trip was on snowy day in the winter I really enjoyed the architecture and views, the spa was clean and not crowded, the pool, jacuzzi and sauna are all indoors, and the temperature of all three is as it should to be. I didn’t find any steam room. There are two Resturant in the hotel, as I remember they were called The Signature and Dove bistro. The chef there was again exceeded our expectations, at first sight it looks like a little over priced for the hotel Resturant but after i had a food on the table clearly it was done by highly experienced chef which worth the amount i have paid. The breakfast was good as well and it was included in our room price. The bedding was clean and bed was comfortable king size bed, there were plenty of pillows and blankets stored in the corridors so there is no need to call reception for it. Carpark is at the end of hotel which is big enough for probably around 20 cars.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I just wish the spa had a small gym and that we could have sorted spa treatments in time

    The whole experience was superb with nothing to fault the staff or the room or the food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on day 2. The staff weren't attentive, breakfast turned up cold and had to be sent back and my porridge didn't turn up at all.

    Goody Blakes is fab for an evening meal. The curries are wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dated and needs a revamp inside and at the front the so called spa was not open all week even thought they said it was fully booked????

    The location was good and the hotel was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bistro next door, which is part of the hotel, served lovely food but the staff could have been better.

    A lovely hotel in the middle of Gardner’s. The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor meagre breakfast, it was lukewarm with overdone bacon. The room was too hot which made sleeping very difficult. We had the ceiling fan and the bedside fan on, opened the window and turned off the radiator but it was still uncomfortable.

    its location could not have been bettered and staff were generally friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lighting in the bedroom waas too dim to read comfortably.

    we liked everything and appreciated our upgrade to the four poster room. It was very comfortable but just one little niggle-we did find the lighting too dim. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only compliant -on arrival the male staff member who checked us in was not very welcoming and when we asked several questions about the hotel he was not particularly helpful. The rest of staff were very helpful .

    Lovely breakfast and in such a great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I did not like

    Everything about the Wordsworth is excellent plus the fact we was complimentary upgraded to a suite. I highly recommend this hotel and spa, it is also family friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many areas of the hotel were well worn & scruffy. Room was very hot even with heating switched off & window open however a fan was available in the wardrobe.

    Breakfast was excellent quality & staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very poor especially considering how great the previous nights meal was

    Fantastic location and the staff were excellent and nothing was a problem for them.Lovely rooms and comfy beds. Evening meal was perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were a bit abrupt. But most were very friendly and very accommodating.

    They catered well for me being gluten/wheat free. The food was hot and of good quality. We ate in the Bistro as 4 courses isn’t really our thing. The location is fantastic and the hotel was spotless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Surprised that bills were not presented for signing in the bar and bistro. Thuis led to some corretions being required on the final bill.

    All good. Especially enjoyed the real fires.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault I found was the lack of support in the pillows.The fact that I have a neck problem and need some neck support spoiled my stay through lack of sleep due to none supportive bed pillows.

    I liked the friendliness of the majority of the staff @ the comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    It was my boyfriend’s birthday so treated him to a weekend away. Everything about the weekend was absolutely great. Staff were friendly and food was great both breakfast and evening meal. A special thanks to the people at reception who were very helpful and to Nabila in the restaurant for being so friendly and agreeing to take our photos.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in a room with lovely views but needs updating a bit but very comfortable and relaxing.

    Relaxing, good food and excellent facilities. Would definitely go again and recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd day breakfast spoiled by service and attitude. Food was still as good junior staff as good as first day but senior staff could learn from the younger ones.

    I was up graded so room far exceeded my expectation. Breakfast on first day excellent - food and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second stay at the Wordsworth and I will definitely be coming back soon! The facilities are excellent and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Friends who I stayed with struggled to fit their child’s pram and cot in their room and the staff were quick to offer them a bigger room at no extra cost.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ONE of the Reception staff very abrupt needs to remember there customer service skills... doesn't cost anything to be polite.

    Well located hotel lots of local interests around the hotel just a lovely place to stay, enjoy and relax..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a bit cramped because of the wedding and I’m sure some walkers where also using the car park. The gentleman on reception did kindly come out and offer assistance with finding a place safe to park. The room was very hot! We had the window open but it rained so had to shut it. There was a ceiling fan, a desk fan and an air conditioning unit all switched on but just seemed to circulate the warm air.

    The hotel is beautiful and picturesque. The staff where fab, even though there was a wedding on, they still offered to take our bags to our room. We received a free room upgrade from standard to superior which was a lovely surprise. The room was gorgeous and had a small selection of complimentary spa products in the bathroom and some amazing gingerbread from a local shop that I had heard was amazing!! The staff again where fantastic and couldn’t have been more helpful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really good experience - sparkling clean, comfortable bed, good breakfast, and we were looked after by very nice staff. Sadly we didn't have time for the spa area, but we will definitely give it a go next time we're here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa area very untidy not cleaned up plastic cups all over the place not one clear surface the male changing room towels all over the floor unused slippers in the shower the bin overflowing a right mess this was 1830 at night on sat..it shuts at 2100...worst spa for cleanliness I have visited...needed someone to tidy up after the day spa customers

    Staff very friendly and helpful food very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was a bit late for us ,we prefer to eat earlier but it was excellent .

    The bed was very comfortable and the room had a nice view looking over the village.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely room on the top floor with pleasant view and very quiet. Spotlessly clean. Staff very friendly especially the receptionist who gave us a very good welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the reception area & Bar, the hotel was a bit tired. However our room was lovely as we were very kindly upgraded to a suite.

    Location excellent. Nice fire in reception area. Great staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our sink was blocked for all of stay in spite of reporting - didn't feel staff had guests interests at heart - not 4star service

    Excellent location - perfect for walking - beautiful countryside Good breakfast warm comfortable rooms - good ample free car parking Lots of places to eat in Grasmere and nearby Ambleside

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cumbrian Breakfast nothing special. Bacon hard, sausage not very nice.

    All the staff were very friendly. The room was great, much better than we expected having read some reviews..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a little small and shower controls fiddly, some instructions would have been nice

    Comfy bed,warm and clean room .Pool area good and a real homely feel to the place.Breakfast ,in fact all food excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely room, plus side there was a bath after a long day's walk. Helpful friendly staff, the man on reception actually showed us to our room and gave us helpful information.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be good to have been informed that the courtyard room was rather dark due to lack of views of countryside. Not too big a problem at this time of year but would be disappointing in Spring/Summer.

    Excellent breakfast menu and attentive staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at dinner on the first evening was a little slow, however this was more than compensated for at dinner on the second evening.

    We received an upgrade to Room 15, a Grasmere Village View room which is far better than the smaller Courtyard rooms overlooking the car park at the rear. We didn't check the make of bed, but it was extremely comfortable and comparable with a Hypnos.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not enough staff to cover breakfast. Left waiting for 20 minutes. Order for tea and coffee forgotten. Never offered a second drink or additional. Once in four day Stay asked if everything was satisfactory and on last day ran out of buffet apart from cereal.

    Beautiful location, hotel very welcoming

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was spot on

    Just to say the hotel was superb, the staff really looked after us and as it was my Wife's birthday they had even left a birthday card and bottle of wine in the room for when we arrived. the food was superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was over priced. We booked because of the spa however this was closed. I would not have booked at the price I did if I'd have known. We were not notified of this by the hotel or booking.com until our arrival.

    Great staff,clean rooms and great surroundings!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checking in staff seemed a little stressed when we checked in - felt they needed to be more professional in their approach to guests.

    The Wordsworth was good value and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advertised wifi but no wifi in our room. We booked room only as breakfast was £17.50 each and while myself and wife normally only wanted coffee, cereal and toast, to have to pay £35 for that seemed very expensive.

    Location and a warm and comfortable Hotel with well equipped rooms and deco.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm with no facility to turn down the heating as it was underfloor.

    Cosy & comfortable room. Great location & facilities. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property looks a bit dated, could do with some external work to tidy it up. Service at breakfast was incredibly slow, staff blamed the fact that everyone had arrived at once, however, a good hotel should be able to manage such an occurrence. We were made to feel a nuisance for requesting a cup of tea.

    Great location with a large car park at the rear of the hotel. Our room was small but very clean and the decor was modern.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: