Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Wrea Head Hall Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4 stars

Barmoor Lane, Scarborough, YO13 0PB, United Kingdom

#3 of 28 hotels in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 285 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not one thing we didn’t like.

    We liked everything about Wrea Head. We have just travelled through Europe and England. This is the best hotel by far!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening dining was split between two rooms. The food was excellent, but it appeared that the atmosphere in the other room was better than in ours where there were only a couple of tables occupied.

    Discovered the hotel by chance, but it was excellent. Everything was well maintained and clean with a high standard of decoration. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the garden. Food was excellent, in particular the salmon and scrambled eggs I had for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room we stayed in had a very lumpy mattress and window sash rattled in the night keeping us awake. We have reported these faults to the management on leaving and would not stop us staying again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too late at 8.00 start. Staff at breakfast could have been more efficient and begin on time.

    The barman was very good, all the staff very pleasant. Beautiful location and grounds.Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Flies and bugs trapped in the windows on the terrace.

    The stars of Wrea Head Hall are the cleaners.........In most write-ups they seldom get mentioned but at this Hotel they are the stars. Without doubt this venue is in the Premier Division when it comes to cleanliness. Breakfast (English) is a little lightweight and the Restaurant is probably a little expensive for what it is! But try the Cheesecake its off the "chart". When rating hotels its all too easy to slate one for this or that! However, Wrea Head is one you should put in your notebook to visit real soon...........

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been friendlier. Breakfast head waiter decided he didn't need to write down my order as he did other customers and asked me twice about what I ordered and didn't bother entirely on the 3rd forgotten ordered dish. The desert of toffee pudding with banana ice cream left Alot to be desired. The ice cream tasted like something bought from the frozen section in Iceland and the cake was alright to say the least. That was disappointing but as everything else was spot on I still look forward to going back.

    Location (which was beautiful quiet and relaxing), cleanliness, and mostly the bathroom it was a dream! In the pic you can see where I started running myself a well deserved bubble bath and it was even better then it looks! Dinner was superb the soup was divine and my swordfish main even more so. 3 course meal All for £30 which I found a little pricey but worth it for the standard of dishes served.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I didn’t like.

    There wasn’t a bad thing I could say about the place enjoyed every second of being there! Lovely room with a nice view, breakfast was lovely and a great choice definitely a place I’d recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the twin beds. Me and my husband felt a little disappointed as we have stayed before in a different room with twin beds that were generous size for two people to share, but this time beds only just big enough for one person!

    Very peaceful. Relaxing. Excellent service. Beautiful historic building. Fantastic gardens. Love the slipper bath and rain shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn’t very nice and needed refurbishment. Would have liked more toiletries and maybe some small touches like bottle of water in the room etc. Also we had no bathrobes and slippers - I would expect a few more touches for the price we paid.

    Lovely room, the food was excellent and the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing of any relevance.

    Beautiful country house in a nice location on the edge of Scarborough. Comfortable rooms, with good beds, quality linen, an excellent strong shower and 'L'Occitaine' toiletries (if you like that sort of thing). Stayed Friday and Saturday nights and the main menu changed between nights which was appreciated. The staff were very attentive and the manager was obviously very interested in guests being looked after in every way. My wife is Gluten intolerant, has a nut allergy and is a Pescatarian, but the restaurant was very flexible and provided multiple options for all meals during our stay. The food was excellent and this really made the weekend. Breakfast was really freshly cooked and not just pre-cooked and kept on hot plates in the kitchen. Would recommend to anyone, but certainly a good option if you have food allergies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband had no issues at all. He thought the bed was extremely comfortable. I loved the comfort also but the pillows were not as comfortable for me.

    The easy comfort and also being looked after so well by the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hooks beside the bedroom door to hang outdoor coats rather than having to put damp coats in the wardrobe.

    Very nice property with excellent views of the surrounding countryside. Comfortable room with excellent en suite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one dish out of 8 people was not as liked as much as everyone else but only due to making the wrong choice

    Staff were wonderful, helpful and ensured we had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    hotel is spotlessly clean. Bathroom was lovely, bed very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice. All in all a lovely place to relax and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a little small and we needed to go round a second time and eventually parked in front of the hotel.

    Very good selection of food available at breakfast we didn't eat at the hotel in the evening. The size and comfort of the bed. Plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside, which is probably one I experience in most hotels, is the thickness of the duvet. In order to sleep, we had to open both windows to avoid frying during the night. It would be a nice touch to offer a lighter duvet for those of us who overheat in bed.

    Cleanliness and surroundings, top quality furnishings great shower!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't genuinely think of anything to dislike. Was a lovely experience.

    Beautifully situated and tastefully decorated property. Exceptional staff who are extremely polite and nothing is too much trouble. Lovely food presented well. Definitely will be stopping again real soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As you enter reception you are made to feel very welcome. The staff really looked after our every need. They gave us good information about places to eat and visit locally. The food served in the hotel was excellent. Looking forward to visit again very soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very helpful and courteous ... bed nice and comfy .... food was excellent and well presented . Fabulous Hotel set in beautiful and well kept grounds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smart though dated, ~ the bathroom shower control details were not understood & unusable ~ the illuminated tv screen screen did not work as the management knew ~ the controls on the bath were loose & hard to use ~ which @ £160-00 per night was not wjat was expected!!!

    Traditional hotel ~ good welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    mattreses could be better . The second room we were given was a super king bed and was better. However, we both felt we have slept on far superior beds for the same kind of price of the stay.

    The fact that we did not like the bed in our room and they moved us to a better room without a quibble . Excellent Service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Had booked standard room but these are on second floor with limited head space at each side. As I’m 6’4” manager did me an upgrade to first floor room at good price, great views over gardens, spacious room, fabulous bathroom. Breakfast superb, had dinner once in hotel, bit pricey, found nice pub (Blacksmiths Arms) a few miles away with good food, much better ales and more atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room quality was poor for the amount paid. On 2nd floor no view looked at other roofs. Damp penetration from flashing to roof. Didn't start breakfast until 8am so had to miss it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, couldn't be better!

    Hotel is easy to find, a beautiful building in wonderful surroundings, staff are friendly and very accommodating, room was very comfortable and the breakfast was great. Would highly recommend as a base to explore the local area, lots to see and do nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way we were told to arrive half an hour early for dinner because the chef liked it that way. It felt like we were ordered to do so.

    A lovely hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Delicious food. Excellent bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn’t,t working properly because it had a problem otherwise the whole experience was fantastic

    The food was fantastic breakfasts especially. Staff were really pleasant and very efficient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Whoever designed the shower cubicle should have another look. The second, moveable, head did not have a catch to keep it in place when water was switched on. The shower head flew off and very high pressure water cascaded in all directions.

    Excellent, helpful staff. Very quiet location and, because of the clientele there was not really any noise at night. Breakfasts wonderful, though portions were large for us. The one evening meal we had was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, and their is just a lovely peaceful atmosphere about the place. The meals are divine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More veggie/vegan options for the breakfast and in the restaurant

    Gorgeous setting, the views from the bar were lovely. Amazingly large bed and gorgeous roll top bath. Luxury toiletries were a great addition. Food at the restaurant was brilliant. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot fault anything

    Everything was perfect. Beautiful hotel and grounds,friendly and attentive staff, delicious food.A wonderful place to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we encountered was the amount of stairs we had to climb to get to our rooms. People with poor mobility would find it challenging.

    Food was excellent and staff were very attentive. We will certainly come again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar facilities, at certain times the bar was not attended by any bar staff.

    the peace and quite of the country side, but not too far from the Town Centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food available during afternoon, staff informed us of places to eat that turned out not to serve food. No room service food available out of hours. Have to book afternoon tea 24 hours in advance, very limited catering throughout, right down to no bar snacks with pre dinner drinks.

    Beds were really comfortable, bathroom was very nice. Night porter for supplying us with biscuits and crisps late at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar in an otherwise excellent room . Slight lack of tables outside of the bar area . Otherwise nothing

    Room , shower amongst the best ever bath room very well designed . Food and drink very good , even do corkage for a tenner ! Staff lovely nice location very peaceful . Excellent clear bill on check out , something other hotels would be good to copy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very good but sometimes a little bit too 'experimental' for our personal tastes. Unfortunately I have a severe walking disability and the downstairs room was occupied. Getting upstairs was very difficult and painful and we would therefore only return if the accessible room was available as there is no lift.

    The peaceful atmosphere and beautiful surroundings were very conducive to relaxation. I have a walking disability and the staff were extremely helpful and kind. The beds were very comfortable with crisp cotton sheets and we slept better than we had for months!! We enjoyed sitting out on the patio in the afternoon sun in fabulous surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with the shower in our wonderfully large wet room. What a shame.

    Hotel ambiance was fabulous. Wonderful refurbishment A mixture of modern art and sensitive decoration. Food was good. Very peaceful site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the menus could do with a change.

    The setting is lovely, we were able to sit out on the terrace for drinks and admire the gardens. The food in the restaurant was of a high standard and the staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first morning we had an English breakfast which was over cooked.

    The room was spacious and had a lovely view. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was perfect. We can recommend the eggs benedict and eggs royale for breakfast. The evening meal from the indulgence menu in the restaurant was superb. Every member of staff made us feel more than welcome and we're so helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel was top class , the premises was out of this world , the staff was friendly and helpful , the room was excellent , the views was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bedroom windows very cleaned , stained from outside the building, a little noise on the corridor, staff maybe? noise coming from the floor on top. Room temperature really warm through the evening.

    The food was amazing and delicious... staff members very friendly, location amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV in the room didnt work, Meal of fish served up raw - took 35min to get a replacement and even then it was served up with the original accompaniments. Breakfast was swimming in fat. Would not recommend eating there - expensive and not of reasonable quality.

    Staff were friendly and the building and grounds had the potential to be very attractive but is very much work in progress

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hairdryer in the bedroom. I think somebody had smoked in the room and the windows were sealed so could not get any fresh air into the room. No snacks available at the bar. I stayed there to attend an event at the Open Air Theatre which was very handy, however the advice of waiting for a taxi in the taxi rank wasn't acceptable as the queue was very long and we waited over an hour for a taxi. The hotel should have agreed with a local taxi company to pick up hotel guests at a specific location.

    It was very quiet and set in a beautiful location. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    No replacement of bathroom shampoo gels etc for whole 3 day visit . Breakfast ltd and eggs overcooked .No bottled water Barman very friendly and arranged excellent sandwiches on first night due late arrival

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Did not really have any dislikes. Cannot blame the hotel for a day of bad weather!

    The proprietors have invested heavily into this hotel with everything done to a high standard. The restaurant menu was imaginative, varied and to a good standard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I could suggest an upgrade, a make up mirror with a chair.

    The best English hotel we have stayed in. Faultless from arrival to departure. An excellent breakfast set us up for a day of touring.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the number of flights of steps up to my room. I think some guests might find this a problem. I don't think a lift can be accommodated in the property.

    All the staff were very pleasant, kind and helpful. This includes everyone. Another good signal of quality is that all of the guests were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I love croissants so disappointed no pastries at breakfast!

    Luxurious accommodation with fabulous staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we loved sitting on the terrace watching the cricket on the village pitch. The food was delicious and ample sized portions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say anything negative

    Room was lovely. It had 2 double beds, both really comfortable . Nice ensuite too. Enjoyed our light snack too, sandwiches and salad. Lovely quiet hotel, peaceful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very much. In the dreadful weather, an indoor pool would have been a bonus, but that apart everything was very well managed for us.

    We were very well looked after by all the staff. They were attentive throughout, but not pushy.The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent,with a great choice of wine, and good advice from Daniel. This hotel is set in lovely grounds though the weather prevented us from seeing much of them. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked to have been able to choose from a few distinct Vegetarian options for both starter and main courses.I know it's not a vegetarian restaurant but something a little more enlightened than variations on Pasta or Goats Cheese would have been welcome.What we had was very nice, but shame it felt like a struggle to sort. In our experience meat eaters also like vegetarian food.

    Food was very good ,breakfast very good, evening meal a bit of a struggle as we're vegetarian but when sorted the meal was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful building with an atmosphere expected of North Yorkshire. Very quiet place, hidden in garden among hills spotted with sheeps, very close to the sea. Lobby very spacious, quiet with view on green surrounding. Rooms comfortable, with homelike feeling. Staff very friendly and helpful, specially Kevin. We had a great time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No table set for us for breakfast on Sunday morning no one around and when waitress finally turned up told us we were too late for breakfast despite having been waiting since before serving ended made worse as was my birthday and her terrible attitude

    Room was gorgeous staff very attentive until Sunday

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were well cooked and the buffet was comprehensive other than the omission of croissants and a bread selection.Holdays are an indulgence so the more the merrier.

    The restaurant was excellent and good value.The setting was picturesque,quiet and a good base for touring the area.We even easily made a full day trip as far as Durham.The staff were kind,friendly and knowledgeable and the slightly worn bits made the hotel non-intimidating and a whisper free zone. The grounds and the views were a constant pleasure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well - the only odd bit was the formality and quiet of the dining room - but maybe it was just an odd Wednesday night. Four other tables were full, but no one was saying a word - it was like being in Downton Abbey for a couple hours! Of course, that made us want to giggle out loud.

    The property is just stunning - an English country estate in the heart of Yorkshire, surrounded by rolling green hills dotted with sheep and stately trees. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. Our suite on the second floor was huge, with a giant four-poster bed - best night of sleep I'd had in days. I would go back in a second! The food at dinner was really well-prepared and delicious (baked halibut was sensational). Breakfast was Eggs Benedict perfection!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a bit more car parking space, but I think they plan to expand this.

    Well located quiet rural location on town fringe . Nice old building with character and modern facilities. Good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was amazing everything about it was top class I would definitely recommend this hotel. The room was brilliant, food excellent, staff so friendly xxx

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    one minor thing was the two chairs in the room were a little uncomfortable

    the bath in the room was good because you could watch some TV while you were soaking also the views from windows are stunning the breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint would be about the very thick duvet which made us so hot we didn't sleep too well. It would be great in cold weather but not in warm conditions. Perhaps a lighter duvet plus a blanket which could be removed if necessary.

    Everything was wonderful - the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spacious and extremely well designed, the food was delicious and the building really beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The garden, setting and views were delightful. Altogether we had a great experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom window was in a very poor state, it was a lovely metal Art Deco frame that had great potential, but was rusty and unloved. The window was covered with a blind to disguise it's uncempt state, it would have been nice to have seen it cleaned and restored.

    The staff were most courteous and attentive. The breakfast was excellent towels and bed linen also. A lovely country house tastefully decorated and well appointed. I would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely and the food was great. Put that with the lovely grounds and its location in scarborough its a great place for a quiet break

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suppose it could have been a freebie but that's not realistic really.

    Fantastic value sandwich amongst other things eg room,breakfast bar area etc

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a bit better spread for continental breakfast. Perhaps provide some cold meat/cheese and fresh fruit?

    Very spacious room and bathroom. Very quiet and beautiful location. Plenty of parking. Convenient for Whitby, Scarborough and the Moors.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the minute we arrived we were made welcome and the staff were lovely the property was unbelievable a beautiful setting and the perfect place for us to enjoy even in winter. The room was fab the breakfast was gorgeous plenty to choose from for every taste. Will definitely be going again but will definitely book a longer trip next time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was Amazing, but a little rich for my palate, which meant that the portion size could have been reduced... Perhaps offer a 'lighter option' on the menu?

    The wonderful, warm 'family' welcome extended by Anne and Len!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a bit of a letter down, steak was bland and the breakfast which we had brought to our room was standard and no butter or milk was provided

    The room was everything we wanted

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about our stay - peace and quiet, beautiful location, lovely staff, clean throughout even though going through renevation works. The food was exceptional too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is not clean. There's visible spider net on chandelier. The heater is extremely hot and too close to the shower which can easily get hurt. Me and my husband were both hurt by it TWICE! Not friendly to foreigners. Have attitude problem.wont recommend this hotel!

    Dinner was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything everything just perfect

    Beautiful surroundings and lovely well kept country house with lots of old features room very clean and comfortable bathroom was spotless with a large shower food excellent and staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location a little out of the way and own transport needed to reach other local facilities.

    Friendly and helpful staff and very good food. The hotel stands in an excellent setting and our room was very comfortable, well equipped and clean. Would certainly consider a return visit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Such a comfortable bed, excellent bathroom, lovely public spaces. Staff are fantastic - can't do enough for you. Food is a mix of more traditional and modern and so tasty and good value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel was being renovated. Therefore the decorators were in and the carpets were awaiting replacement on the floor we were allocated. The bathroom was very small.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The grounds and building where outstanding and the rooms where high quality. The food was amazing, very filling. This is an all round amazing hotel to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was beautiful. We stayed in the luxury king room for 2 nights. Spacious, beautifully decorated. The huge bed was to die for. The bathroom was amazing. Lovely green marble tiles and a bright white suite with a roll top bath. Kevin on reception was professional, friendly and very welcoming. The communal areas are warm and inviting. The food was absolutely superb. We would highly recommend the hotel. We couldn't fault it

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was fab.

    The bathroom was amazing so was the room. It was a twin room with huge comfy beds. The dressing gowns were big, so often they are not big enough, lovely to snuggle down in.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room.

    Our room was very small and apparently will be upgraded. The hallways were being decorated so not a very scenic route. However, once you got into the main hotel it was lovely and restaurant good. Garden extensive and beautiful. Staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: