Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Wrea Head Hall Country House Hotel & Restaurant This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Barmoor Lane, Scarborough, YO13 0PB, United Kingdom

#3 of 28 hotels in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 308 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, excellent food and drink. Wonderful staff. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. very clean
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Being upgraded to a ground floor bedroom without asking as I’m on crutches. Friendliness of staff. Amazing food and the cleanliness was wonderful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing. Friendly Yorkshire people. Just excellent and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can think of nothing.

    Bed fine. English breakfast great, cooked to order, wide choice. First rate! Hotel and grounds beautiful, very relaxing ambiance. Staff great, helpful and friendly. Excellent sandwiches in the bar, dinner menu varied and excellent too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.2
    The Inn is lovely - great location, beautiful grounds and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Inn is lovely - great location, beautiful grounds and common areas. The breakfast is well done, I did not eat dinner on the property and instead chose some lovely pubs nearby. Staff were friendly and overall my experience was very enjoyable. Worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.2
    THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OUR STAY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I FOUND DIFFICULTY RE CHOICE FROM THE DINNER MENU, HOWEVER MY HUSBAND HAD NO PROBLEM.

    BED VERY COMFORTABLE.SPLENDID PUBLIC ROOMS.HOTEL IN PLEASANT SURROUNDINGS.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable I hope to be able to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Set in a lovely quiet location, comfortably furnished, good food, friendly and helpful staff. Traditional in the best sense of the word. A very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel, stately home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mold in shower room, shower did not drain. Correctly which resulted in over flow. Pigeons waken you up at 4am in the morning couldn't get back to sleep. Complainted about this manager very accompanied. .

    Beautiful hotel, stately home. Staff friendly and rooms stunning. Environment very peaceful. Would most certainly go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, lovely building. Lovely bedrom and bathroom, very clean. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building, with lovely views. Not far from scarborough. Lovely friendly staff, clean bedroom and bathroom. Warm welcome and helpful advice about parking and getting to the open air theatre we were going to in the evening. Cooked breakfast made to order in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.1
    Nice & quiet location.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When wanting to use my phone I had to keep going out of my room as I didn’t get any signal in my room & could only get WiFi if I held my phone next to wall that had mirror on it

    Nice & quiet location. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Relaxing and felt there was nothing to think about except what to eat and drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!!

    The attention to detail given by all the staff was exceptional. The decoration of the hotel was beautiful. Old world standards rarely seen now.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    10
    Great hotel at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel. Had stayed here some years ago but the new owners have certainly done a great job in refurbishing the hotel. Our room was great with a comfy bed and a great view over the countryside. The afternoon tea was excellent as was the breakfast, Will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    6.7
    Very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather warm and we had to sleep with the windows open which were rattling all night and disturbed our sleep. Although the breakfast was nice we had to ask for glasses on the table and teaspoons as we didn't have these on our table. We weren't asked if we would like sauce or anything else come to that. We weren't asked if everything was OK in the restaurant. In the grounds we notice a sign advertising something had fallen down and was just left there and a pile of rubble etc just left near the car park also an overturned table in the garden outside our room. These are only little things but I feel they should have been attended to as it spoilt what were lovely gardens and grounds. The location was also an issue for us as we were planning on walking the 2 miles to the Open Air Theatre but it looked a very long trek and further than we were anticipating hence we had to rely on taxis there and back which was an added cost we hadn't anticipated. I would stay somewhere more central next time.

    Extra large bed and the bath in the room was an unexpected bonus. The breakfast was nice and there was lots of choice. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Do yourself a favour. Stay at the Wrea Head.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not one thing we didn’t like.

    We liked everything about Wrea Head. We have just travelled through Europe and England. This is the best hotel by far!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location for a short get-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening dining was split between two rooms. The food was excellent, but it appeared that the atmosphere in the other room was better than in ours where there were only a couple of tables occupied.

    Discovered the hotel by chance, but it was excellent. Everything was well maintained and clean with a high standard of decoration. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the garden. Food was excellent, in particular the salmon and scrambled eggs I had for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room we stayed in had a very lumpy mattress and window sash rattled in the night keeping us awake. We have reported these faults to the management on leaving and would not stop us staying again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable, lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast too late at 8.00 start. Staff at breakfast could have been more efficient and begin on time.

    The barman was very good, all the staff very pleasant. Beautiful location and grounds.Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    If you find yourself in Scarborough sometime soon............check this place out for yourself.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Flies and bugs trapped in the windows on the terrace.

    The stars of Wrea Head Hall are the cleaners.........In most write-ups they seldom get mentioned but at this Hotel they are the stars. Without doubt this venue is in the Premier Division when it comes to cleanliness. Breakfast (English) is a little lightweight and the Restaurant is probably a little expensive for what it is! But try the Cheesecake its off the "chart". When rating hotels its all too easy to slate one for this or that! However, Wrea Head is one you should put in your notebook to visit real soon...........

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.3
    An interesting visit to an even more interesting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff could have been friendlier. Breakfast head waiter decided he didn't need to write down my order as he did other customers and asked me twice about what I ordered and didn't bother entirely on the 3rd forgotten ordered dish. The desert of toffee pudding with banana ice cream left Alot to be desired. The ice cream tasted like something bought from the frozen section in Iceland and the cake was alright to say the least. That was disappointing but as everything else was spot on I still look forward to going back.

    Location (which was beautiful quiet and relaxing), cleanliness, and mostly the bathroom it was a dream! In the pic you can see where I started running myself a well deserved bubble bath and it was even better then it looks! Dinner was superb the soup was divine and my swordfish main even more so. 3 course meal All for £30 which I found a little pricey but worth it for the standard of dishes served.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely relaxing weekend away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing that I didn’t like.

    There wasn’t a bad thing I could say about the place enjoyed every second of being there! Lovely room with a nice view, breakfast was lovely and a great choice definitely a place I’d recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic opportunity to unwind, feeling very happy, will definitely stay again, but in a different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the twin beds. Me and my husband felt a little disappointed as we have stayed before in a different room with twin beds that were generous size for two people to share, but this time beds only just big enough for one person!

    Very peaceful. Relaxing. Excellent service. Beautiful historic building. Fantastic gardens. Love the slipper bath and rain shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.5
    Really enjoyed the stay, beautiful place and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom wasn’t very nice and needed refurbishment. Would have liked more toiletries and maybe some small touches like bottle of water in the room etc. Also we had no bathrobes and slippers - I would expect a few more touches for the price we paid.

    Lovely room, the food was excellent and the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful country stay, with excellent staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing of any relevance.

    Beautiful country house in a nice location on the edge of Scarborough. Comfortable rooms, with good beds, quality linen, an excellent strong shower and 'L'Occitaine' toiletries (if you like that sort of thing). Stayed Friday and Saturday nights and the main menu changed between nights which was appreciated. The staff were very attentive and the manager was obviously very interested in guests being looked after in every way. My wife is Gluten intolerant, has a nut allergy and is a Pescatarian, but the restaurant was very flexible and provided multiple options for all meals during our stay. The food was excellent and this really made the weekend. Breakfast was really freshly cooked and not just pre-cooked and kept on hot plates in the kitchen. Would recommend to anyone, but certainly a good option if you have food allergies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    10
    Totally relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My husband had no issues at all. He thought the bed was extremely comfortable. I loved the comfort also but the pillows were not as comfortable for me.

    The easy comfort and also being looked after so well by the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hooks beside the bedroom door to hang outdoor coats rather than having to put damp coats in the wardrobe.

    Very nice property with excellent views of the surrounding countryside. Comfortable room with excellent en suite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely people and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one dish out of 8 people was not as liked as much as everyone else but only due to making the wrong choice

    Staff were wonderful, helpful and ensured we had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    8.8
    Brillaint - lovely short break, will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    hotel is spotlessly clean. Bathroom was lovely, bed very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice. All in all a lovely place to relax and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.9
    It was very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a little small and we needed to go round a second time and eventually parked in front of the hotel.

    Very good selection of food available at breakfast we didn't eat at the hotel in the evening. The size and comfort of the bed. Plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    10
    Lovely place and good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside, which is probably one I experience in most hotels, is the thickness of the duvet. In order to sleep, we had to open both windows to avoid frying during the night. It would be a nice touch to offer a lighter duvet for those of us who overheat in bed.

    Cleanliness and surroundings, top quality furnishings great shower!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    Beautifully situated and tastefully decorated property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't genuinely think of anything to dislike. Was a lovely experience.

    Beautifully situated and tastefully decorated property. Exceptional staff who are extremely polite and nothing is too much trouble. Lovely food presented well. Definitely will be stopping again real soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As you enter reception you are made to feel very welcome. The staff really looked after our every need. They gave us good information about places to eat and visit locally. The food served in the hotel was excellent. Looking forward to visit again very soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Had a fabulous stay and would definitely recommend to family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very helpful and courteous ... bed nice and comfy .... food was excellent and well presented . Fabulous Hotel set in beautiful and well kept grounds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    8.8
    O.K.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smart though dated, ~ the bathroom shower control details were not understood & unusable ~ the illuminated tv screen screen did not work as the management knew ~ the controls on the bath were loose & hard to use ~ which @ £160-00 per night was not wjat was expected!!!

    Traditional hotel ~ good welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    8.8
    The fact that we did not like the bed in our room and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    mattreses could be better . The second room we were given was a super king bed and was better. However, we both felt we have slept on far superior beds for the same kind of price of the stay.

    The fact that we did not like the bed in our room and they moved us to a better room without a quibble . Excellent Service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    7.1
    Lovely special hotel for romantic break but worth paying for a good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Had booked standard room but these are on second floor with limited head space at each side. As I’m 6’4” manager did me an upgrade to first floor room at good price, great views over gardens, spacious room, fabulous bathroom. Breakfast superb, had dinner once in hotel, bit pricey, found nice pub (Blacksmiths Arms) a few miles away with good food, much better ales and more atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed as a beautiful old house
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room quality was poor for the amount paid. On 2nd floor no view looked at other roofs. Damp penetration from flashing to roof. Didn't start breakfast until 8am so had to miss it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    10
    A wonderful weekend break on the Yorkshire moors!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, couldn't be better!

    Hotel is easy to find, a beautiful building in wonderful surroundings, staff are friendly and very accommodating, room was very comfortable and the breakfast was great. Would highly recommend as a base to explore the local area, lots to see and do nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The way we were told to arrive half an hour early for dinner because the chef liked it that way. It felt like we were ordered to do so.

    A lovely hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Delicious food. Excellent bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    10
    Excellent top class hotel Could not fault the staff. The food was as good as you would get anywher
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower wasn’t,t working properly because it had a problem otherwise the whole experience was fantastic

    The food was fantastic breakfasts especially. Staff were really pleasant and very efficient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    9.6
    A very lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Whoever designed the shower cubicle should have another look. The second, moveable, head did not have a catch to keep it in place when water was switched on. The shower head flew off and very high pressure water cascaded in all directions.

    Excellent, helpful staff. Very quiet location and, because of the clientele there was not really any noise at night. Breakfasts wonderful, though portions were large for us. The one evening meal we had was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    This is my favourite hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, and their is just a lovely peaceful atmosphere about the place. The meals are divine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    9.6
    Luxury hotel in a gorgeous location perfect for a romantic night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More veggie/vegan options for the breakfast and in the restaurant

    Gorgeous setting, the views from the bar were lovely. Amazingly large bed and gorgeous roll top bath. Luxury toiletries were a great addition. Food at the restaurant was brilliant. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    10
    Wonderful, will become our new favourite place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot fault anything

    Everything was perfect. Beautiful hotel and grounds,friendly and attentive staff, delicious food.A wonderful place to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent in every way. It will be fabulous once all refurbishments are complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only problem we encountered was the amount of stairs we had to climb to get to our rooms. People with poor mobility would find it challenging.

    Food was excellent and staff were very attentive. We will certainly come again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar facilities, at certain times the bar was not attended by any bar staff.

    the peace and quite of the country side, but not too far from the Town Centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    7.1
    Comfy beds and room was lovely for two singles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food available during afternoon, staff informed us of places to eat that turned out not to serve food. No room service food available out of hours. Have to book afternoon tea 24 hours in advance, very limited catering throughout, right down to no bar snacks with pre dinner drinks.

    Beds were really comfortable, bathroom was very nice. Night porter for supplying us with biscuits and crisps late at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.8
    Very restful stay in a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No mini bar in an otherwise excellent room . Slight lack of tables outside of the bar area . Otherwise nothing

    Room , shower amongst the best ever bath room very well designed . Food and drink very good , even do corkage for a tenner ! Staff lovely nice location very peaceful . Excellent clear bill on check out , something other hotels would be good to copy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    9.6
    We had a very pleasant short stay and would love to return if the accessible room is available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was very good but sometimes a little bit too 'experimental' for our personal tastes. Unfortunately I have a severe walking disability and the downstairs room was occupied. Getting upstairs was very difficult and painful and we would therefore only return if the accessible room was available as there is no lift.

    The peaceful atmosphere and beautiful surroundings were very conducive to relaxation. I have a walking disability and the staff were extremely helpful and kind. The beds were very comfortable with crisp cotton sheets and we slept better than we had for months!! We enjoyed sitting out on the patio in the afternoon sun in fabulous surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    9.2
    Quiet site with good rooms and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a problem with the shower in our wonderfully large wet room. What a shame.

    Hotel ambiance was fabulous. Wonderful refurbishment A mixture of modern art and sensitive decoration. Food was good. Very peaceful site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe the menus could do with a change.

    The setting is lovely, we were able to sit out on the terrace for drinks and admire the gardens. The food in the restaurant was of a high standard and the staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.2
    We will certainly make a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On the first morning we had an English breakfast which was over cooked.

    The room was spacious and had a lovely view. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was perfect. We can recommend the eggs benedict and eggs royale for breakfast. The evening meal from the indulgence menu in the restaurant was superb. Every member of staff made us feel more than welcome and we're so helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Everything about the hotel was top class , the premises was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about the hotel was top class , the premises was out of this world , the staff was friendly and helpful , the room was excellent , the views was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.2
    I've hada fab weekend in a fab hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bedroom windows very cleaned , stained from outside the building, a little noise on the corridor, staff maybe? noise coming from the floor on top. Room temperature really warm through the evening.

    The food was amazing and delicious... staff members very friendly, location amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV in the room didnt work, Meal of fish served up raw - took 35min to get a replacement and even then it was served up with the original accompaniments. Breakfast was swimming in fat. Would not recommend eating there - expensive and not of reasonable quality.

    Staff were friendly and the building and grounds had the potential to be very attractive but is very much work in progress

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    8.3
    Handy for the Open Air Theatre however....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hairdryer in the bedroom. I think somebody had smoked in the room and the windows were sealed so could not get any fresh air into the room. No snacks available at the bar. I stayed there to attend an event at the Open Air Theatre which was very handy, however the advice of waiting for a taxi in the taxi rank wasn't acceptable as the queue was very long and we waited over an hour for a taxi. The hotel should have agreed with a local taxi company to pick up hotel guests at a specific location.

    It was very quiet and set in a beautiful location. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    7.9
    Small country hotel .Nice old building with pleasant lounge and atmosphere let down by small things
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    No replacement of bathroom shampoo gels etc for whole 3 day visit . Breakfast ltd and eggs overcooked .No bottled water Barman very friendly and arranged excellent sandwiches on first night due late arrival

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.6
    An excellent short break (4 days). Pity it's so far away for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Did not really have any dislikes. Cannot blame the hotel for a day of bad weather!

    The proprietors have invested heavily into this hotel with everything done to a high standard. The restaurant menu was imaginative, varied and to a good standard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in Scarborough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If I could suggest an upgrade, a make up mirror with a chair.

    The best English hotel we have stayed in. Faultless from arrival to departure. An excellent breakfast set us up for a day of touring.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    9.6
    Friendly oldie world hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the number of flights of steps up to my room. I think some guests might find this a problem. I don't think a lift can be accommodated in the property.

    All the staff were very pleasant, kind and helpful. This includes everyone. Another good signal of quality is that all of the guests were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I love croissants so disappointed no pastries at breakfast!

    Luxurious accommodation with fabulous staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we loved sitting on the terrace watching the cricket on the village pitch. The food was delicious and ample sized portions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    9.2
    Can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't say anything negative

    Room was lovely. It had 2 double beds, both really comfortable . Nice ensuite too. Enjoyed our light snack too, sandwiches and salad. Lovely quiet hotel, peaceful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    9.6
    Short, sweet stay at Wrea Head
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very much. In the dreadful weather, an indoor pool would have been a bonus, but that apart everything was very well managed for us.

    We were very well looked after by all the staff. They were attentive throughout, but not pushy.The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent,with a great choice of wine, and good advice from Daniel. This hotel is set in lovely grounds though the weather prevented us from seeing much of them. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful, relaxing place to stay, if your looking for a Bucolic Idyll, then this is it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked to have been able to choose from a few distinct Vegetarian options for both starter and main courses.I know it's not a vegetarian restaurant but something a little more enlightened than variations on Pasta or Goats Cheese would have been welcome.What we had was very nice, but shame it felt like a struggle to sort. In our experience meat eaters also like vegetarian food.

    Food was very good ,breakfast very good, evening meal a bit of a struggle as we're vegetarian but when sorted the meal was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    10
    Beautiful building with an atmosphere expected of North...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Beautiful building with an atmosphere expected of North Yorkshire. Very quiet place, hidden in garden among hills spotted with sheeps, very close to the sea. Lobby very spacious, quiet with view on green surrounding. Rooms comfortable, with homelike feeling. Staff very friendly and helpful, specially Kevin. We had a great time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No table set for us for breakfast on Sunday morning no one around and when waitress finally turned up told us we were too late for breakfast despite having been waiting since before serving ended made worse as was my birthday and her terrible attitude

    Room was gorgeous staff very attentive until Sunday

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    10
    If a Lancastrian admits itwasr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfasts were well cooked and the buffet was comprehensive other than the omission of croissants and a bread selection.Holdays are an indulgence so the more the merrier.

    The restaurant was excellent and good value.The setting was picturesque,quiet and a good base for touring the area.We even easily made a full day trip as far as Durham.The staff were kind,friendly and knowledgeable and the slightly worn bits made the hotel non-intimidating and a whisper free zone. The grounds and the views were a constant pleasure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    10
    Lovely Stay in the Yorkshire Countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well - the only odd bit was the formality and quiet of the dining room - but maybe it was just an odd Wednesday night. Four other tables were full, but no one was saying a word - it was like being in Downton Abbey for a couple hours! Of course, that made us want to giggle out loud.

    The property is just stunning - an English country estate in the heart of Yorkshire, surrounded by rolling green hills dotted with sheep and stately trees. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. Our suite on the second floor was huge, with a giant four-poster bed - best night of sleep I'd had in days. I would go back in a second! The food at dinner was really well-prepared and delicious (baked halibut was sensational). Breakfast was Eggs Benedict perfection!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    8.8
    Nice old building with modern facilities and good food in good rural location for a quiet get-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a bit more car parking space, but I think they plan to expand this.

    Well located quiet rural location on town fringe . Nice old building with character and modern facilities. Good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    Amazing Relaxing Easter Weekend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel was amazing everything about it was top class I would definitely recommend this hotel. The room was brilliant, food excellent, staff so friendly xxx

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    8.8
    very nice break would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    one minor thing was the two chairs in the room were a little uncomfortable

    the bath in the room was good because you could watch some TV while you were soaking also the views from windows are stunning the breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    10
    A lovely place for a relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only complaint would be about the very thick duvet which made us so hot we didn't sleep too well. It would be great in cold weather but not in warm conditions. Perhaps a lighter duvet plus a blanket which could be removed if necessary.

    Everything was wonderful - the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spacious and extremely well designed, the food was delicious and the building really beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The garden, setting and views were delightful. Altogether we had a great experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    10
    My first country house stay and a lovely experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom window was in a very poor state, it was a lovely metal Art Deco frame that had great potential, but was rusty and unloved. The window was covered with a blind to disguise it's uncempt state, it would have been nice to have seen it cleaned and restored.

    The staff were most courteous and attentive. The breakfast was excellent towels and bed linen also. A lovely country house tastefully decorated and well appointed. I would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wrea Head Hall . Will be back here in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely and the food was great. Put that with the lovely grounds and its location in scarborough its a great place for a quiet break

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    9.6
    A welcome break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I suppose it could have been a freebie but that's not realistic really.

    Fantastic value sandwich amongst other things eg room,breakfast bar area etc

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    9.2
    An excellent three-day break in very pleasant surroundings. Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a bit better spread for continental breakfast. Perhaps provide some cold meat/cheese and fresh fruit?

    Very spacious room and bathroom. Very quiet and beautiful location. Plenty of parking. Convenient for Whitby, Scarborough and the Moors.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    10
    From the minute we arrived we were made welcome and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From the minute we arrived we were made welcome and the staff were lovely the property was unbelievable a beautiful setting and the perfect place for us to enjoy even in winter. The room was fab the breakfast was gorgeous plenty to choose from for every taste. Will definitely be going again but will definitely book a longer trip next time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2016

    9.6
    Wrea Head Hall - A Glorious Gothic Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was Amazing, but a little rich for my palate, which meant that the portion size could have been reduced... Perhaps offer a 'lighter option' on the menu?

    The wonderful, warm 'family' welcome extended by Anne and Len!

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: