Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Wroxeter Hotel 3 stars

Wroxeter, Wroxeter, SY5 6PH, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Wroxeter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 37 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating. The rooms were over priced for how they are. Little things like the chair in our room was faux leather and the leather was cracked and peeling. The shower was tatty. Some evidence of black mound. The corridors were very noisy as laminate style flooring and the doors really banged. You could hear people talking in the room next door. We went upstairs and beautiful carpets on corridor then inside the rooms the rooms and carpets are very dated. The restaurant and main function room was lovely. The hotel itself could be wonderful. Breakfast was chaotic and we had to ask for coffee/toast/cups/plates/butter very odd service!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms outdated, but adequate. They were busy, but the staff (temporary?) were a bit overwhelmed. I was staying overnight for a party. When I entered my room, I discovered that the door to the adjoining room (occupied by strangers) was unlocked. I didn't want to unpack or have my shower to start getting ready until it was locked. It took 3 trips down to Reception (which was not manned all the time) until someone finally prioritised sorting this over serving drinks in the bar. This was stressful and made me late. That was unacceptable.

    Nice rural location. Great views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room awas ok but the matress was very thin and soft allowing you to feel the frame of the bed. The shower had a problem staying hot.

    Thr food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was poor, wallpaper peeling off the walls and curtains were badly hung and didn't meet. The bed was extremely hard and was twin beds put together, no cover was put over the join so there was a hard ridge down the middle. We had a phone call, from the Wroxeter Hotel asking if we wanted/needed a disability room! We said no but on the Booking.com web site they said it was the only room remaining. We, quite rightly (we think), didn't expect a disability room and we got one! The bathroom was very dated and frankly was like an 'Old people's Home' bathroom. It was very noisy as there was a wedding being held when we arrived, we understand that there would be noise but we felt we should have been informed when the Hotel rung regarding our stay! There were children running up and down outside our room and as the flooring in the corridor was wood there were people in high heel shoes walking about until very late. We didn't feel our custom was of importance to the staff as they were very busy.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite remote but we liked that it was peaceful and surrounded by green fields interesting to see alpacas in the next field this is mainly a hotel for weddings and functions but great for us

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding on at time of stay so bar packed/ no room for guests other than at wedding. Wedding guests extremely noisy & bad language until 2am. Impossible to sleep for noise- would not have booked if we had known wedding on that day. Reception not manned most of time. When tried to ring reception using internal phone by dialling zero just got normal outside line recorded message. Took 3 attempts to get through to reception . Shower leaking do just a trickle. St £130 per night would have expected a lot higher standard all round.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only real fault was the starter we were given was not the one ordered this was due to new menu which we were not given as we had to order our food in the morning due to a wedding taking place.

    Nice hotel. Booked because it was very close to vineyard which we were visiting. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding on whilst we were staying and young children staying at the hotel who were awake at 5.30am in the morning crying which woke us up so i had a very disturbed sleep, and as the staff were busy with the wedding the bar was not always manned so we and the other guests were left waiting for staff to come and serve us. Although the food was excellent in the restaurant and we enjoyed it, i felt at £130 for the room for the night was slightly expensive compared with similar hotels i have stayed in.

    The food in the restaurant was excellent, the hotels grounds were excellent to relax in and sit outside with a drink or two.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our greeting was a scowl and a pointed check of the time. There was a bare minimum of tea and coffee in the room and only shower gel in the bathroom. The staff were only interested in the wedding party and practically ignored us and the other independent guests. Breakfast was advertised as 8-9.30, but at 8.45 there was still nothing laid out and we had to chase everything we ordered. We have stayed in two star hotels far better than this!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's nothing I didn't like. My only criticism would be that the room we stayed in could do with a slight refresh. However, it was clean, extremely comfortable, a good size and had all the facilities I would expect.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There was a wedding on the day that we arrived, including an evening event for 100 people, with many staying over in the hotel. Despite this, the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and we never felt ignored. The quality and presentation of the food in the restaurant was extremely good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For £150 I expected a little more, like extra blankets in the rooms (didn't really want to go to desk at 3am when I needed one).

    Very clean, excellent location, hotel grounds are gorgeous. Wait staff at restaurant were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Disabled Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple of the bare staff were ignorant. There was a wedding on and they forgot about our restaurant booking, made us wait and stuck us in a side room. They did give us a free bottle of wine and apologised when we expressed our dissatisfaction

    Location very pretty

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a poor selection of food only cereals and juice at the buffet table. If we didn't have a glance at the breakfast menu we wouldn't have know what was on offer. There was mold all along the window sill and the shower head broke off. But that proble was resolved by a very nice lady on reception.

    Bacon was cooked perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls, heard doors opening and closing all night and even heard the guests in the room next door using the toilet!! Beds were uncomfortable, 2 small pillows on bed. Heating was over powering, it got way to hot throughout the night. Food at night was bland and not very nice, breakfast was the best part of our stay!Too expensive for the service and room we had , would not return here again.

    The drive up to the property was nice, hotel was clean. And breakfast was nice. But thats where it ends!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website pictures versus reality are outrageous. Decor extremely outdated in corridors but can forgive that... shower cubical had mould. Shampoo and hand-wash in public bathroom style dispenser on the wall. TV was tiny. Stains on carpet and chairs. Duvet cheap and thin. Side lamp stretched across bed (as only 1 socket) and fell on head in the night. Can hear everything going on in other rooms and corridors... Staff rude. Rowdy wedding guests whilst I was there and manager screamed at them (half way through a conversation with me at the reception) Phoneline didn't work in room. Reception very frosty when asking to call a cab. Raised a complaint bit still no outcome - they couldn't care less. Breakfast looked nice but all tasted of dirty oily pan. Would recommend trying to find anywhere before you settle for this as very overpriced. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

    The location was good. But then again there aren't many hotels in the area we were travelling but grateful we had somewhere to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing just perfect tripadviser gave some bad remarks but untill you try yourself we could not fault it at all will be putting tripadviser right

    the room was really clean fab toilet shower room comfy bed our waitress was a dream really helpfull very courteous made our evening meal/breakfast a pleasure a big asset to the hotel will certainly stay again many thanks alan julie golding

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really other facilities in the hotel ie a light lounge area . Only the dark area near the bar.

    Within walking distance of the wroxeter vineyard which was our purpose for visiting the area,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was. Dirty , no TVs remote and staff could'nt provide one , lipstick on glass I was given , staff new nothing about the menu and were reluctant to go and find out

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took 45 minutes to serve a cup of coffee as they forgot to switch on the machine! We felt as if we were in the way a little as they had a wedding reception. Our evening meal was served in a small room on our own with nothing else in there.

    Food was very good, staff friendly. Nice view from bedroom. good location from local vineyard where we had a wine tasting booked.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds and the staff as well as the food. Nice & quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate shelving by mirror in bathroom. Only one comfortable chair in roomy bedroom

    Comfy bed, friendly staff, food very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower facilities not just a bath no curtains on the 4 poster bed No bottled water in room room not 100% clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bar staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheerful receptionist, lovely food at breakfast and evening meal. Close to the vineyard and ruins. Both worth a visit. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cant think of anything

    the staff were really friendly made you feel really welcome even tho they were very bust with a wedding

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Disabled Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wet room smelt damp. Room was dated. Fried egg had a solid yoke

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Handy for Roman Vinyard and Roman city. Both within easy walking distance. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a bit of a 'refresh'

    Nice staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have stayed here twice now. Is perfectly comfortable but quite expensive for the standard of furnishings etc which are quite tired. You are paying for the location and views. Breakfast is a little disorganised but tasty

    Staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. Slept well and rooms have all you need.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I enjoyed watching my friend get married & spending time with my hubby.

    Poor service at the bar(very little staff) during the wedding we attended. Uncomfortable sleep due to bed & noisey guests (tv blaring all night till early hours) Then during breakfast a very long wait to take our order.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms a little dated but nothing too much too worry about. Breakfast took an age to serve and there was only one other person in the dining area! Nice when it arrived though.

    Dinner was good and staff friendly. Plenty of parking and room was warm.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I arrived at 6pm my room was cold and the temperature outside was just 3 C I asked for an early morning call, but did not get one My fried eggs at breakfast were like leather and the toast was cold. This then when I was the only person having breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel sent me a menu the day before for my evening meal only to find when I sat down at the table 3/4's of it was not available but they could do me a vegetarian version of a meal and I'd have to pay extra for beef to be added.

    While it was a clean hotel I was not impressed by the fact no full menu was not available.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Twin room at back of hotel a little small. And no real view. Room 15

    Very comfortable hotel, with friendly and helpful staff. Food was excellent but a bit pricey. Breakfast was very good with vegi options and even kippers.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room smelled of cigarette smoke and left smell on my clothes. Toilet had remnants of previous occupant. Not nice!

    Clean sheets and comfortable bed. Room with nice view and spacious bathroom. Good breakfast and value for money.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Duvet very thin on bed , Sadly everything about hotel was good, let down by thin duvets , why do hotels skimp on something as important as ensuring guests have a good nights sleep ? Why is it premier inn are one of the few hotels that get this ?

    Location, nice room hotel , food was good Service was good

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Family with young children

    the room had webs and a massive spider in it so my daughter was awake nearly alnight and we couldnt get it as its very high ceilings,needs a makeover.

    set in lovely surroundings

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the bill for the food wasnt ready and even though i paid for the bed and breakfast it hadnt been taken off the bill , they need to be a bit more organised in this area.Dont use ur sat nav as it takes you through the lanes .

    Lovely area , staff were plesant but not very organised , nice large bed plenty tea and coffee. Food was pretty good but we had to wait quit a while for it but overall it was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no lift to take luggage up to rooms. Window in bathroom should be frosted or have a net curtain - it was right next to the toilet! Generally hotel needed a bit of a revamp. breakfast was fine but staff rather abandoned us once hot food was served - we had to seek someone out to order fresh tea.

    Location was great as we were visiting the Vineyard and also went to the roman ruins. Bedroom was large and comfortable with 4 poster bed! Lovely views from the room had the weather been better.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location, right next to a10th century church and easy walking distance to the Roman city site of Wroxeter - not many hotels could boast that?

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very uncomfortable mattresses Dirty bathroom and dusty uncleaned window sills etc not filthy everywhere but just such a shame that a lttle extra effort could have made it so much more enjoyable

    Lovely setting surrounded by fields and animals including Llamas amazing church on the grounds dating back to Norman times roman ruins a stones throw away Reasonable price

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff seemed overworked and somewhat undertrained for the resposibilities that had been handed over to them..They worked hard and did their best to support managemnt, however, managemnt respponsibility needs to be addressed to coninue to support this lovley hotel. I would have been more comfortable to had a shower as the bathroom could easily be redesigned to accommodate this thus providing facilties appropriate for todays market.

    The environment was comfortable enough for our stay. Quiet location and obliging staff. Food good and nicely presented

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. Wish I'd arrived earlier as dinner menu looked delicious.

    Everything! Had a great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed in a well proportioned room, excellent bathroom, huge English breakfast cooked to order in a splendid dining room. Very attentive staff morning and evening. Great value too.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the top parts of the four poster bed had not been polished or dust removed for some weeks.

    Position/place of hotel size of room style and furniture food was good and always hot

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor is a bit tired and some parts are in need of a good dusting. However the bar area was being renovated as we left.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room (four poster room) was quiet and the bathroom was very clean. Hotel is set in beautiful surroundings - could see llamas from our bedroom window. Evening meal was excellent though not cheap. Walkable to the Roman City ruins and Roman Vineyard.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only downside we found was whilst in our room, number 15 we could here the couple next door in 16, talking as clearly as we would had they been alongside us. Not sure whether they were just very loud or the insulation was poor!!!

    We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We had an evening meal here and our breakfast the following morning. The food on both occasions was very good and the staff helpful and very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They didn't provide a seat in the accessible shower. Only 1 loop of music in the restaurant, it would have driven me crazy after a few more meals

    If you want a hotel in quiet surroundings then you can't do better than The Wroxeter. The food was good and the staff cheery and helpful. We ate in the restaurant for every meal.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had a disabled room which had very small beds not very comfortable I'm sure other rooms are better our room was a bit dated but we got a very good deal on rates so can't grumble to much

    Good pub down the road with great food

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to say everything was excellent

    Clean rooms food excellent staff were fantastic and helpful highly recommend will stay there again no danger

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough staff for wedding

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dis-like

    An outstanding hotel and staff who cant do enough for you!!

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    The bed was little to hard.

    The friendliness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The disabled toilet in the room

    The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff and location

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Uncomfortable bed

    Great staff, friendly service, nice rural situation

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    .

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff,room,breakfast were very good indeed.Will be back soon.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    staff didn't seem to know what time breakfast was! There was mould in the grout of the tiles in the shower.

    comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was fabulous and the breakfast was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The setting is fabulous. The staff are beyond good. Loved every minute

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely friendly staff Excellent meal and value. A lovely stay Perfect position to visit winery and English Heritage Roman ruins. Will return!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No separate shower cubicle, not made aware that there was a wedding on

    Very pleasant staff, comfortable room, nice location

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked an earlier check in

    Clean and tidy room,fantastic food in the restaurant,peaceful location

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, Breakfast & Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Under trained staff who were too few in number

    Very nice room

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception staff a little cool

    surrounding countryside

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had only booked 1 night

    The hotel, the room, the food, the staff etc etc

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Absolutely everything.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad shower- needs more pressure

    Beautiful piece of countryside Good bed

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: